View Full Version : Who’d be a manager?
Donegal Hibby
29-10-2024, 10:12 AM
Being a manager seems to be a totally cut throat job with little or no time given to turn things around compared to years ago and I often wonder what a effect it has on the person wellbeing both physically and mentally when it seems like the world is against you when things are going wrong …
Doesn’t necessarily mean the managers a bad one in some cases , could be he’s just chosen the wrong club or been unlucky…
In Erik ten Hags situation he didn’t do well and spent badly though is there also a case of players letting him down like Rashford who’s on serious money but seemed to have an attitude that he’d do what he wanted too?
I was thinking about this as I checked the Wigan forum and noticed a fan saying Maloney looked like a guy stressed as he was always touching his face ( his post match interview from last night’s game ) …
https://youtu.be/5EWlGtj3rX4?si=QCobhjEHXhKFCU-a
Is there a case for fans giving managers more time and dare I say less abuse when things aren’t going well and maybe showing a bit more support ? Or is that asking to much in modern football? .
Jock O
29-10-2024, 10:16 AM
Good luck with this one, I suspect you will have some of your "followers" on here frothing at the mouth trying to think how to reply to this. https://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon12.pnghttps://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon12.png
In response he doesn't look comfy at all there, not that he ever did but his lack of eye contact also is telling. Not sure the shaved head has the same impact for him it did for Scott Brown either.
H18S NX
29-10-2024, 10:18 AM
It's a results business m8,managers rise and fall by it.
Donegal Hibby
29-10-2024, 10:46 AM
Good luck with this one, I suspect you will have some of your "followers" on here frothing at the mouth trying to think how to reply to this. https://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon12.pnghttps://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon12.png
In response he doesn't look comfy at all there, not that he ever did but his lack of eye contact also is telling. Not sure the shaved head has the same impact for him it did for Scott Brown either.
Which is strange considering the excellent career the guy had you’d think he’d be more than use to doing interviews now as he must have done his fair share of them in the past .
PHeffernan
29-10-2024, 10:57 AM
I'm sure when Mr Ten Hag looks at his bank balance, house, car, investments etc he will be just fine.
He can chuck football at any point and live a life of luxury.
Young Maloney won't be short of a bob or two either so no need to worry about him either.
29-10-2024, 11:02 AM
Being a manager seems to be a totally cut throat job with little or no time given to turn things around compared to years ago and I often wonder what a effect it has on the person wellbeing both physically and mentally when it seems like the world is against you when things are going wrong …
Doesn’t necessarily mean the managers a bad one in some cases , could be he’s just chosen the wrong club or been unlucky…
In Erik ten Hags situation he didn’t do well and spent badly though is there also a case of players letting him down like Rashford who’s on serious money but seemed to have an attitude that he’d do what he wanted too?
I was thinking about this as I checked the Wigan forum and noticed a fan saying Maloney looked like a guy stressed as he was always touching his face ( his post match interview from last night’s game ) …
Is there a case for fans giving managers more time and dare I say less abuse when things aren’t going well and maybe showing a bit more support ? Or is that asking to much in modern football? .
Players get it just as tight.
Bursik had been completely written off by most after a handful of games this season. The centre halfs too. The players job is to play football, if they're not doing that well then the fans aren't happy.
It's the managers job to get the best out of the players he has. When you're not doing that, or when fans don't think you're doing that, then you're in trouble. SDG isn't doing it.
SDG had nae managerial experience, so he's learning on the job, but he'll need to learn faster cos he won't get long at the current rate of performance.
As to the "stress" point...I couldnae really care less. These guys know what they're getting into, they've worked in football long enough. If they don't want the stress of management, don't go into management. Nobody forces them.
Not alot to enjoy about football now.
Saint Hibee
29-10-2024, 11:16 AM
If you consistently fail in your job, you're at risk of losing it. I'm not sure football is unusual in that regard.
29-10-2024, 11:39 AM
It's like any other job.
If you're not good at it you wont be around long.
29-10-2024, 11:42 AM
I'm sure when Mr Ten Hag looks at his bank balance, house, car, investments etc he will be just fine.
He can chuck football at any point and live a life of luxury.
Young Maloney won't be short of a bob or two either so no need to worry about him either.
so it’s “Mr Ten Hag” but “Young Maloney” :)
sorry always find the formal addressing of managers / whatevers curious in this day and age :) just can’t seem to find it in many other walks of life apart from school, uni, court or a doctors surgery
Houston7
29-10-2024, 11:47 AM
If you consistently fail in your job, you're at risk of losing it. I'm not sure football is unusual in that regard.
Yes, like many jobs, football is a results business. However, how many jobs are judged on Social Media by folk who think they could do better & think it is fair game to hide behind a keyboard, while posting abuse?
Donegal Hibby
29-10-2024, 11:48 AM
Players get it just as tight.
Bursik had been completely written off by most after a handful of games this season. The centre halfs too. The players job is to play football, if they're not doing that well then the fans aren't happy.
It's the managers job to get the best out of the players he has. When you're not doing that, or when fans don't think you're doing that, then you're in trouble. SDG isn't doing it.
SDG had nae managerial experience, so he's learning on the job, but he'll need to learn faster cos he won't get long at the current rate of performance.
As to the "stress" point...I couldnae really care less. These guys know what they're getting into, they've worked in football long enough. If they don't want the stress of management, don't go into management. Nobody forces them.
Maybe players do get it tight though unless it’s something serious they aren’t likely to be sacked .. in Rashfords case at Utd when he was partying it up in Dublin even though I think he got a substantial fine it was basically a slap on the wrist with what money he’s made from football , always thought he was one Utd player that’s attitude stunk which let ten Hag down.
I suppose nobody does force them though it’s a bit like us fans in your just drawn to football because it’s something we love and we can’t do without even when things are bad too , probably much the same for them as well ..
One big example of a manager I thought wasn’t given time and unfairly treated at his club was Steven Schumacher when he moved to Stoke City from Plymouth.. it wasn’t just about Gray but managers in general even though Gray must be under pressure even if he seems to be handling well ..
Just think being a football management in general is probably a very high pressurised job where there’s little time and no patience shown nowadays .
29-10-2024, 12:18 PM
It's like any other job.
I'm rubbish at mine and they insist on keeping me around. That's the Northern Ireland Civil Service for you.
29-10-2024, 12:28 PM
If you get the pay off some get, I would! I just find it strange that if managers performance isnt up to scratch they get sacked by if players arent they dont (although they can get sold at some point)
29-10-2024, 12:48 PM
If you get the pay off some get, I would! I just find it strange that if managers performance isnt up to scratch they get sacked by if players arent they dont (although they can get sold at some point)
I think you can sack a player in the same way they sack a manager. All depends on the contracts as to what it costs a club.
There’s nae point keeping multiple managers on the books at once. Only one person can do the job. For players it’s different.
29-10-2024, 12:53 PM
Not a job I would want or really understand why others would due to the stress that goes with it, must absolutely consume your personal life. One upside is you can be rewarded quite handsomely for failing at it...
29-10-2024, 01:00 PM
It's like any other job.
Few managers in other professions get summarily dismissed because their team isn’t delivering the desired results. On the other hand, few managers walk away with such lucrative compensation either.
I think - but don’t have the facts to back it up - that football clubs get more success with longer term appointments. Abramovich’s Chelsea bucked that trend for a while, but have now cycled through a number of managers with limited success.
In our case, without the resources of the elite, I would think that having a longer term plan is the best way to get a competitive advantage.
I do loathe modern football though, and its demands for instant results. Moronic fans who could nae manage a market stall apparently are allowed to call the shots.
29-10-2024, 01:02 PM
This is because of player contracts and the value they represent for clubs as assets.
What’s really weird is that ‘transfer fees’ for the best managers haven’t kept up with players, as in most cases the manager is the single most important figure at the club.
29-10-2024, 02:01 PM
Not alot to enjoy about football now.
Agree with that and I'm finding it harder and harder to get excited about watching any game. Spent Sunday morning cooking for the week with the wife yelling through when a goal was scored in the Arsenal-Liverpool game. There was a day I wouldn't have missed a minute of that game.
Sioux
29-10-2024, 03:31 PM
This is because of player contracts and the value they represent for clubs as assets.
What’s really weird is that ‘transfer fees’ for the best managers haven’t kept up with players, as in most cases the manager is the single most important figure at the club.
According to managers: :nlgwa
NC1875
29-10-2024, 03:40 PM
They’re well paid if they’re good at the job.
And it must be the only job in the world where you get well paid even when your ***** at your job.
Then you even get a wee bonus when they have to sack you for being ***** at said job.
I can’t really have any sympathy for them.
29-10-2024, 09:07 PM
They’re well paid if they’re good at the job.
And it must be the only job in the world where you get well paid even when your ***** at your job.
Then you even get a wee bonus when they have to sack you for being ***** at said job.
I can’t really have any sympathy for them.
There are loads of managers, especially down south, who have made a successful career out of being sacked.
29-10-2024, 09:08 PM
There are loads of managers, especially down south, who have made a successful career out of being sacked.
Mourinho has made £millions from being sacked.
30-10-2024, 08:08 AM
If a manager can consistently perform on line with the wage levels at their club they will have a long career.
If you are below that as Ten Hagg was or Gray is then your position is at risk.
It’s a well paid profession and I have zero concern for the fate of sacked managers. Like everyone else in society, they maybe need to find something more suited to their skill set.
Almost everyone on here would love a crack at it.
30-10-2024, 08:33 AM
Pedro that was at huns sacked again
30-10-2024, 09:14 AM
Mourinho has made £millions from being sacked.
Think he made millions from winning 2 trebles, La liga, 3 premier league titles etc.
30-10-2024, 09:17 AM
Think he made millions from winning 2 trebles, La liga, 3 premier league titles etc.
Aye! Them as well to be fair :greengrin
30-10-2024, 03:04 PM
Two champs leagues two europa / UEFA cups also