View Full Version : Is Levitt getting a fair chance?

RossScott1991
28-10-2024, 05:32 PM
The derby saw Moriah-Welsh getting put on in what you’d say is possibly Levitts best position. (Don’t think anyone actually knows at this point what his best position is) And also Jake Doyle-Hayes returning to action after (allegedly) being frozen out despite being in training for a while. His first game in who knows how long. A guy we have seen given numerous chances but has been part of highly unsuccessful Hibs midfields for a few seasons now.

This summer Gray gave Josh Campbell a vote of confidence talking about how he sees him fit in and how he is capable of playing the number 10 role. Can’t help but feel it should have been Levitt who got this treatment and maybe a guy Gray could have looked to improve and got the best out of before completely writing him off, which seems to be the case now.

The fee and wages spent on him alone are obviously big for Hibs

Id have liked to have seen him get a chance at some point with Kwon and Triantis sitting behind him but with Newell now back available (again) it’s obvious we will revert back to that and Hoilett will be pushed back out wide left. His Hibs career is clearly one the management consider over, but is there anyone that thinks he never got a fair crack at it or we actually have seen enough to deem not good enough?

28-10-2024, 05:39 PM
I thought those subs were just blind panic, with no real thought put into them.

28-10-2024, 05:41 PM
It's easy to forget how awful Levitt has been when he has played.

Most of his time in the team has been in a 442 getting hung out to dry with Joe Newell in midfield though, so it's probably reasonable that questions are still being asked.

I don't think he's good enough, far too many deficiencies in his game. Might prove to be a number 10 but seemingly he's never really played there. We've built teams to get the best out of Latapy and Scott Allan, both of whom shared Levitt's deficiencies but it feels like an injustice to be mentioning Levitt in the same sentence as those 2 as he doesn't appear to have quite the same qualities.

Playing him deeper is asking to be relegated.

28-10-2024, 05:45 PM
To me it looked like SDG wanted legs on the pitch. NMW was terrible though but I have sympathy given where he was asked to play. Levitt would have been a good shout in retrospect as NMW never got close to influencing the game with or without the ball. JDH might not be the worst sub in these situations. He is pretty composed and tidy on the ball. He isn't shy of taking one for the team either. Just what you need to see out the dying minutes of games. He might not be a starter but I can see him getting opportunities in teh weeks to come. Not sure NMW is close to the level we need

28-10-2024, 05:48 PM
No disrespect to you OP but I feel between now and at least January or the end of the season there are going to be a few players who will be better thought of because they're not playing.

The truth is guys like Levitt, McKirdy, and Rocky for example aren't playing because they've just proven to not be good enough. We'll probably see the odd cameo from guys like them in the hope they can contribute something at some point but imo we're now just waiting to get rid of half of the squad.

28-10-2024, 05:48 PM
As much as it seemed clear as day at the time that NMW wasn’t a good sub on for Youan, I’m no convinced Levitt can have many complaints about being overlooked.

If you’re not getting a game then you have to impress when you get mins off the bench. Levitt is consistently poor.

28-10-2024, 05:55 PM
If he doesn’t even get off bench possibly off in jan window

28-10-2024, 05:56 PM
Levitt has been pish majority of the time he's played for us, lets be honest. Has wee spells in games when he gets on the ball and looks for a pass, which he's actually good at. Then usually follows it up by giving the ball away needlessly.

Really wanted it to work for him at Hibs. Just can't see it happening now.

28-10-2024, 06:02 PM
I did think it was odd bringing on JDH. He needs to go along with Levitt, Kenneh and the others that aren't good enough. It's a really sad indictment of our recruitment that we seem to have many more poor midfielders than good ones.

28-10-2024, 06:05 PM
It's easy to forget how awful Levitt has been when he has played.

Most of his time in the team has been in a 442 getting hung out to dry with Joe Newell in midfield though, so it's probably reasonable that questions are still being asked.

I don't think he's good enough, far too many deficiencies in his game. Might prove to be a number 10 but seemingly he's never really played there. We've built teams to get the best out of Latapy and Scott Allan, both of whom shared Levitt's deficiencies but it feels like an injustice to be mentioning Levitt in the same sentence as those 2 as he doesn't appear to have quite the same qualities.

Playing him deeper is asking to be relegated.

think he’s got a right to feel aggrieved at never getting a chance with a more solid base of Kwon & Triantis behind him. He’s judged solely on trying to play alongside the likes of Newell & Campbell.

I don’t think he’s the mid-long term answer, but he’s different to all the other midfielders and we should have given him a run seeing if Triantis & Kwon can cover his deficiencies and allow him to focus on passing between the lines and threading balls through for the forwards, which none of the others can do

28-10-2024, 06:17 PM
He done little when in the team after first joining and has done less in his limited appearances since. Players that are trying to stake a place in the team need to do more whern they get the oppurtunity. Does he deserve another chance? It's not like we're winning so sure. Do I expect him to be fighting for that chance and to give something more if given the opportunity? No.

He does offer something a little different to what we've got with a good range of passing and good vision (Hoilett has shown similar qualities) but the rest of his game is severely limited, massively outweighing those attributes. Too slow, too weak, too passive.

28-10-2024, 06:25 PM
I think Levitt gets a harsh time overall

He started well for us, showing his composure and quality on the ball especially and then like everyone else struggled with the 442. Let’s not forget it was a 442 with Youan and Tavares on the wing.

Hes not great defensively and then went on a poor run of form and his confidence looked affected.

I’d be trying him in with Kwon and Triantis as they’re a lot more physical and energetic.

I think in trying to get a hard working and physical team we’ve went a bit too far that way. I watch us and think we have a lack of quality and composure

Let him get on the ball, dictate and get shots away and we’d see a different player

28-10-2024, 06:48 PM
I'm sure there is a footballer in there somewhere, probably not been giving as much of a chance this season, don't think he's shown enough for me when played overall.

Can see why some would want to give him a proper chance as a no 10.

Greenwich_Hibby
28-10-2024, 07:13 PM
Unless he is played as a 10, he offers nothing.

28-10-2024, 08:50 PM
A reason for the ball being hit long repeatedly yesterday was in some way down to not having anyone in the midfield working to make themselves available to receive the ball and then make passes in a more forward area.

Levitt is maybe one who could have provided some of that yesterday, but he does have a bad habit of falling deeper and he may have ended up being another one to pass back and sideways to each other before knocking back to Expiteta to shell.

28-10-2024, 09:02 PM
Maybe he’s been absolutely hopeless in training and others like JDH and NMW busting a gutt to make an impression to the management team.

McGruber
28-10-2024, 09:32 PM
Unless he is played as a 10, he offers nothing.

I agree, but would play him as a 10

28-10-2024, 09:47 PM
Don’t think he can complain really. He’s not done enough since he’s been here.

He’s got so much ability but that’s not enough on its own. A lot of his failings are obviously down to him but we’ve not helped with the shambles we’ve been. If you take a player like him you need to have an idea how you’re fitting him in to your team and compensating for the things he can’t/doesn’t do. We’ve never got that right.

andrew70
28-10-2024, 09:55 PM
Short answer is yes, he’s a good footballer but like many at the club has under achieved.

A better coach gets more out of him imo. Not fancied by Gray though.

28-10-2024, 10:41 PM
Kelty Hearts

Bye bye Dylan

28-10-2024, 10:45 PM
Seriously

Kelty ****ing Hearts

And people are asking if Levitt had his chances?

Short answer - he's had way more than his share of chances

Do we go back to Motherwell away & Hibs have a free kick, 30sec from full time & a top 6 spot

Levitt elected to play a wind assisted flat straight ball (no angle) straight to the well keeper & 11 sec later we are bottom 6

Brainless

PHeffernan
28-10-2024, 11:54 PM
Don't see Levitt getting another chance whilst we are deep in the clarts.
Triantis, Kwon and Newell look nailed on meantime with the rest of the midfielders fighting for a single place.

NMW and JDH were brought on by Gray on Sunday afternoon for their industry.

P.S. is Campbell injured? or was JDH, who was rumoured to be deep frozen out with Kenneh, preferred?

Levitt definately has something different to offer from the rest of the midfield, hence still in the squad and we could see him dripped back into the team if we can start getting points on the board starting on Wednesday and then throughout November.

29-10-2024, 05:00 AM
Kelty Hearts

Bye bye Dylan

Levitt was one of our better players that day, did his job well. Not to blame for our defeat IMO.

29-10-2024, 05:06 AM
It’s all about opinions, but you shouldn’t be ‘given’ a chance, but ‘earn’ the chance to play in the first team.

I haven’t seen Levitt do enough in the games I have seen him in to say he is worthy of a recall, and presumably every day at training the coaching staff assess whether he is or not.

I would not be upset if we could offload him in January.
, but again that’s just my opinion.

29-10-2024, 05:16 AM
It’s all about opinions, but you shouldn’t be ‘given’ a chance, but ‘earn’ the chance to play in the first team.

I haven’t see Levitt do enough in the games I have seen him to say he is worthy of a recall, and presumably every day at training the coaching staff assess whether he is or not.

I would not be upset if we could offload him in January.
, but again that’s just my opinion.

That should be the case for every player, yet i could name a few who seem to start all the time that fail to do enough in the games?

Not that i want Levitt in the team, but on Sunday when Hoilett came off he probably would have been a better option.

29-10-2024, 06:02 AM
Levitt is not one of our youth players coming through. He’s a senior pro on very high wages who’s had more than enough opportunities in games big and small to show what he can consistently bring to the team.

He’s failed at that the sooner his wage is freed up the better.

29-10-2024, 06:22 AM
Don't see Levitt getting another chance whilst we are deep in the clarts.
Triantis, Kwon and Newell look nailed on meantime with the rest of the midfielders fighting for a single place.

NMW and JDH were brought on by Gray on Sunday afternoon for their industry.

P.S. is Campbell injured? or was JDH, who was rumoured to be deep frozen out with Kenneh, preferred?

Levitt definately has something different to offer from the rest of the midfield, hence still in the squad and we could see him dripped back into the team if we can start getting points on the board starting on Wednesday and then throughout November.

Campbell not injured, just left out of the squad, confirmed by Gray.

29-10-2024, 06:26 AM
If JDH is fit and has his head in the game he will be a decent addition to our midfield. In my opinion he offers more than Campbell, Newell, Welsh, Amos, Kennah, Levitt etc.

29-10-2024, 06:41 AM
Campbell not injured, just left out of the squad, confirmed by Gray.

Is it not just me that thinks this is absolutely bizarre?

Many won’t rate Campbell etc and that’s fine, but Gray clearly does and has used him loads this season

Came on as a sub last week and previously started

Doyle Hayes not been seen since the friendly against Edinburgh city in pre season

Then Campbell is completely dropped whilst Doyle Hayes not only gets in the squad but gets his first sub appearance of the season against hearts?

Then there’s similar with Youan.

All seems quite random

29-10-2024, 06:45 AM

Many won’t rate Campbell etc and that’s fine, but Gray clearly does and has used him loads this season

Doyle Hayes not been seen since the friendly against Edinburgh city in pre season

Then Campbell is completely dropped whilst Doyle Hayes not only gets in the squad but gets his first sub appearance of the season against hearts?

All seems quite random

The whole thing feels very desperate. It's like Gray has ran out of ideas tbh.

If JDH isn't one of the players who Mackay was referring to as being frozen out, who exactly is it? Unless he meant Kenneh alone. Although at this rate I wouldn't be surprised if he made the next match day squad.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Chorley Hibee
29-10-2024, 06:58 AM

All seems quite random

Like our owners and our board, he's now just hoping that throwing enough **** around will result in something sticking.

That's the 'process' they're all talking about.

It's desperate stuff.

29-10-2024, 06:59 AM
Maybe he’s been absolutely hopeless in training and others like JDH and NMW busting a gutt to make an impression to the management team.

A very good point. People forget that the management team don't just see players on a matchday like we do.

I always think the same when people are clamouring for Smith to get a game in goals.

29-10-2024, 07:03 AM
Dylan "leave it" Levitt.
Leave it for others to tackle and do the hard yards.
Had plenty chances. Oot.

29-10-2024, 07:11 AM
Jesus. Why do we always want to go backwards with players thinking they've just become better after being dropped for months.

He's been another complete waste of money. Lightweight and just not very good.

29-10-2024, 07:18 AM

All seems quite random

I think it’s just a rookie manager, without a clear idea of what he wants to do and lacking the skills to get the best from players.

Thought there were some strange decisions on Sunday. Even in the case of Youan, not so much starting him but starting him in that game after not getting him on the park in previous weeks. Doyle-Hayes coming on for the first time in 14 months in a game like that. Even Moriah-Welsh has been relatively out of the picture and he comes on in a position that isn’t his.

Paulie Walnuts
29-10-2024, 07:24 AM
I think it’s just a rookie manager, without a clear idea of what he wants to do and lacking the skills to get the best from players.

Thought there were some strange decisions on Sunday. Even in the case of Youan, not so much starting him but starting him in that game after not getting him on the park in previous weeks. Doyle-Hayes coming on for the first time in 14 months in a game like that. Even Moriah-Welsh has been relatively out of the picture and he comes on in a position that isn’t his.

We’re fumbling about in the dark hoping to stumble upon something that works imo.

29-10-2024, 07:26 AM

All seems quite random

All points to Gray just throwing everything into the mix and hoping something works.

Mainstandman
29-10-2024, 07:30 AM
I'd rate Levitt along with a few others in the squad who have basically no impact on the game, a body to pass the ball on and that's it. He's has plenty of chances to show himself and taken none of them. He doesn't show the desire and attitude of a professional athlete and will just meander around lower level Scottish teams for years to come. The Motherwell pass and his trade mark look away pass to the opposition.

Like many of our players they are working their own path rather than understanding their role in the team. Luke McCowan is a great example of how you can step up to a bigger level, sure he is better skillwise but his professionalism and team ethic are the key things here.

We have so few top class professionals in our squad. The players try but how many on Sunday really played as if it everything depended on it. I didn't look at that bench and think there was anyone on there dying to get on and impact the game. We have an unspoken acceptance of averageness in the squad.

29-10-2024, 07:36 AM

All seems quite random

Campbell did have a terrible time at Tannadice. Maybe that influenced Gray’s thinking?

Not worse than Bursik, Miller or Newell and the first 2 started against Hearts, with Newell expected to return to the side asap.

I quite like Campbell but his form this season hasn’t been good and imo he can have no real complaints. It wasn’t that weird a move for Gray to decide to move on from him.

JDH coming in from the cold was bizarre though and poses lots of new questions. Has he been fit all along? Are we likely to see more of him going forward?

TrinityHFC
29-10-2024, 07:59 AM
Campbell did have a terrible time at Tannadice. Maybe that influenced Gray’s thinking?

Not worse than Bursik, Miller or Newell and the first 2 started against Hearts, with Newell expected to return to the side asap.

I quite like Campbell but his form this season hasn’t been good and imo he can have no real complaints. It wasn’t that weird a move for Gray to decide to move on from him.

JDH coming in from the cold was bizarre though and poses lots of new questions. Has he been fit all along? Are we likely to see more of him going forward?

What is bizarre about JDH playing? He’s obviously had fitness issues. He has been training and there needs to be some point unless he is retiring that he is sharp enough to play again. That was this week. If he stays fit we will see more of him, if he doesn’t then we won’t.

29-10-2024, 08:03 AM
What is bizarre about JDH playing? He’s obviously had fitness issues. He has been training and there needs to be some point unless he is retiring that he is sharp enough to play again. That was this week. If he stays fit we will see more of him, if he doesn’t then we won’t.

Maybe you thought it was obvious.

Has he not been training and playing in the odd reserve match for ages though?

I’ve got no inside info but he appeared to be one of those often suggested to have been frozen out. If not him then who are the players MacKay and Hibs seem so keen to shift in the big rebuild at the end of the season?

FWIW - I like JDH as a player.

Paulie Walnuts
29-10-2024, 08:43 AM
Maybe you thought it was obvious.

Has he not been training and playing in the odd reserve match for ages though?

I’ve got no inside info but he appeared to be one of those often suggested to have been frozen out. If not him then who are the players MacKay and Hibs seem so keen to shift in the big rebuild at the end of the season?

FWIW - I like JDH as a player.

I don’t really get the whole players frozen out thing.

It may well just be that I’ve picked it up wrong, but it felt like there was a suggestion there was quite a few of them and like you I felt JDH was a certainty to be one. It now appears it’s Kenneh and Amos and that’s it. Is that all it’s ever been, or is that because we’ve changed our mind already and brought some back into the fold? JDH and McKirdy being the ones that spring to mind.

As for JDH, I think he’s crap. A bottom 6 player in every way imo.

29-10-2024, 08:43 AM
JDH made sense. He can put a foot in and challenge and if we wanted to shore up the midfield a little then he was the most obvious midfielder on the bench to do so.

29-10-2024, 09:41 AM
I don’t really get the whole players frozen out thing.

It may well just be that I’ve picked it up wrong, but it felt like there was a suggestion there was quite a few of them and like you I felt JDH was a certainty to be one. It now appears it’s Kenneh and Amos and that’s it. Is that all it’s ever been, or is that because we’ve changed our mind already and brought some back into the fold? JDH and McKirdy being the ones that spring to mind.

As for JDH, I think he’s crap. A bottom 6 player in every way imo.

:agree: the bit in bold.

He's a poor quality midfielder, and it's only time and absence from the team that's changed peoples opinions on him (in my opinion anyway). He's a much worse version of Joe Newell than Joe Newell, I don't think JDH has a single attribute that makes him a better centre mid than Joe, not even close, and Newell who gets utterly slated on here for being ***** on the regular.

I dinnae expect JDH to play much anyway. He'll get a few appearances off the bench, but that'll be instead of Campbell/Amos/NMW/Levitt and none of them are any good either so it'll not change much.

Paulie Walnuts
29-10-2024, 09:57 AM
:agree: the bit in bold.

He's a poor quality midfielder, and it's only time and absence from the team that's changed peoples opinions on him (in my opinion anyway). He's a much worse version of Joe Newell than Joe Newell, I don't think JDH has a single attribute that makes him a better centre mid than Joe, not even close, and Newell who gets utterly slated on here for being ***** on the regular.

I dinnae expect JDH to play much anyway. He'll get a few appearances off the bench, but that'll be instead of Campbell/Amos/NMW/Levitt and none of them are any good either so it'll not change much.

Agree about Newell. I don’t mind Newell, I don’t think he’s great, don’t think he’s awful, but he’s superior in almost every aspect of the game than JDH.

29-10-2024, 10:47 AM
JDH made sense. He can put a foot in and challenge and if we wanted to shore up the midfield a little then he was the most obvious midfielder on the bench to do so.

Aye but to move Moriah-Welsh to the left. Move Kwon up closer to Myko.

I don’t think it made any sense at all and the way the game went thereafter showed that.

If it had been a straight swap for Triantis on a yellow I might have seen some logic but it just left us disjointed and with no real way of getting up the park.

29-10-2024, 11:08 AM

All seems quite random

I don't think replacing a sub who had a brutal cameo the week before with another midfielder who most would say is a better player is an any way 'absolutely bizarre'. A relatively straightforward managerial decision.

JDH is not everyone's cup of tea but he can control a ball and generally uses it well - no issues with him being brought on for a few mins.

Saint Hibee
29-10-2024, 11:23 AM
What's the deal with Amos?

29-10-2024, 11:26 AM

I'm not sure there's anything going on with Amos other than him not being deemed good enough to get a game.

29-10-2024, 11:37 AM
I'm not sure there's anything going on with Amos other than him not being deemed good enough to get a game.

Was told by Gray he wasn't in his plans.

Been telling anyone who asks him why he isn't playing.

Mainstandman
29-10-2024, 11:43 AM

Forgot about him. We've become obsessed with someone who played somewhere rather than the player - i long for some of our unsung signings - Fontaine, P.McGinn, Fyvie guys like that who wanted to pay for Hibs.

supermcginn
29-10-2024, 12:09 PM
I don't think replacing a sub who had a brutal cameo the week before with another midfielder who most would say is a better player is an any way 'absolutely bizarre'. A relatively straightforward managerial decision.

JDH is not everyone's cup of tea but he can control a ball and generally uses it well - no issues with him being brought on for a few mins.

Absolutely agree, JDH isn't great but he's a far better player than Campbell.

Paulie Walnuts
29-10-2024, 01:28 PM
Forgot about him. We've become obsessed with someone who played somewhere rather than the player - i long for some of our unsung signings - Fontaine, P.McGinn, Fyvie guys like that who wanted to pay for Hibs.

To be fair fans can be bad for that as well.

When he signed we had people telling us it was an unreal signing. The laughable ‘rate the signings’ thread the other week had numerous references on it to the fact a lot of the players were coming from Championship teams, had cost fees etc so they must be good.

29-10-2024, 01:33 PM
To be fair fans can be bad for that as well.

When he signed we had people telling us it was an unreal signing.

To be fair to Amos - unlike Levitt, he hasn't really been given a chance. Has Amos even started a league game? One admittedly poor showing at Kelty.

Not convinced that Kwon and Triantis have been that much better, barring the odd game. Mediocre signing after mediocre signing.

EGL2000
29-10-2024, 01:36 PM
Yes, when given a chance shown absolutely nothing to justify him starting. Get him punted in Jan when we might be able to still squeeze a fee out of him.

Paulie Walnuts
29-10-2024, 01:37 PM
To be fair to Amos - unlike Levitt, he hasn't really been given a chance. Has Amos even started a league game? One admittedly poor showing at Kelty.

Not convinced that Kwon and Triantis have been that much better, barring the odd game. Mediocre signing after mediocre signing.

Only started against Inverness in the cup last season and Kelty this season. Never started a league game.

I’m surprised he’s been bombed out to be honest, especially if we’re still willing to give Campbell and JDH a game.

EGL2000
29-10-2024, 01:37 PM

I am still don't understand why so many were happy with Triantis coming back. Was a part of the problem last year!

29-10-2024, 03:47 PM
I am still don't understand why so many were happy with Triantis coming back. Was a part of the problem last year!

He really wasn't a big part of our problems last year. Done well when played in midfield.

EGL2000
29-10-2024, 03:56 PM
He really wasn't a big part of our problems last year. Done well when played in midfield.

Based on about 2 games one of which we eased past Livi in. Just think we need alot better and performances this season really haven't changed my mind. He's already made a large amount of errors that have cost us over two seasons.

29-10-2024, 04:02 PM
Based on about 2 games one of which we eased past Livi in. Just think we need alot better and performances this season really haven't changed my mind. He's already made a large amount of errors that have cost us over two seasons.

We need better than literally every player.

29-10-2024, 04:31 PM
Last time I thought we had a competent midfield was the home game vs Motherwell at the end of last season.

It probably didn't do any harm that we had both Hanlon and Stevenson keeping the left side of our defence tight, something we didn't see often enough last season.

But Triantis and Newell deeper with Campbell more advanced seemed to work really well that night - and that was why I was happy Triantis was coming back (it was also a good night's work from the then caretaker manager). The much lauded Lennon Miller had a quiet night that night.

IIRC Triantis had a couple of good games in midfield earlier in the season against Rangers and Celtic although I might be wrong - he was definitely quite good in the game at Ibrox when he took his infamous free kick, dropping back into defence when needed from his midfield role, which looked quite a good way to play in Glasgow to me.

The opposition in the league cup was of a fairly poor standard but if truth be told, the midfield has been a mess all of this season. I've mainly attributed this to the poor form / lack of ability of the more advanced player of the 3 but was definitely heartened by the shift Hoilett put in there at the weekend. Feels harsh on Kwon, but it's maybe looking to me like Newell and Triantis deeper but with Hoilett more advanced is the most balanced option out of what we have available, whether that is a middle 3 in a 451 or a 352.

Hibiza
29-10-2024, 05:21 PM
Think that Levitt is decent ( not a world beater ) , the inclusion of JDH on Sunday was ???

29-10-2024, 06:34 PM
Levitt, like JDH has had numerous chances to stake a claim for a starting spot and has blown it all too often, we need better and hence why they're not playing.

RossScott1991
01-11-2024, 09:37 PM
https://youtu.be/_8jVLcQhNcE?si=q04kmCvw0jZwhopC

im still convinced there’s a player in there. Came to Hibs and got put in a 4.4.2 that barely anyone plays in modern game. Watched some of his highlight reel that made him an exciting prospect in the first place.

genuinely believe he could kick on if given more of a chance than odd 5/10minutes. A lot of those finishes running onto at edge of box.

he’s shown a couple of flashes of similar goals with us

02-11-2024, 07:18 AM

im still convinced there’s a player in there. Came to Hibs and got put in a 4.4.2 that barely anyone plays in modern game. Watched some of his highlight reel that made him an exciting prospect in the first place.

genuinely believe he could kick on if given more of a chance than odd 5/10minutes. A lot of those finishes running onto at edge of box.

It’s funny to think he’s a signed Hibs player, because he looks exactly like what we’re missing right now

02-11-2024, 07:28 AM
It’s funny to think he’s a signed Hibs player, because he looks exactly like what we’re missing right now

He does.

Although another midfielder who plays deep, can’t / won’t run, and lets players run off him all day long is not what we need at all. And we’re assured he’s a deeper midfielder.

An attacking midfielder to get decent shots off, arrive late in the box, to play passes and connect the front 3? We’re absolutely screaming out for that imo and he looks like he should have everything it takes to be able to do that. Never played there before though, seemingly?

02-11-2024, 07:58 AM

Ah the old 'there's a players in there' quote.

Still without doubt the most used phrase on this site describing over half our squad.

Not good enough. Had plenty chances. Lightweight and just looks totally lost on the park. Just because players get dropped for a few weeks/months for some reason a number of Hibs fans think they suddenly become better.

21May16
02-11-2024, 08:04 AM
Of course he’s not.

We decided to put NMW on the left wing last Sunday for Youan. Even McKirdy gets a run out chasing the game on Weds. we play Hoilett out of position in behind the forward, JDH makes his first appearance in about twenty years and Levitt is on the bench and never gets on, he would have been decent to play last Sunday with Newell suspended.

02-11-2024, 08:25 AM
Ah the old 'there's a players in there' quote.

Still without doubt the most used phrase on this site describing over half our squad.

Not good enough. Had plenty chances. Lightweight and just looks totally lost on the park. Just because players get dropped for a few weeks/months for some reason a number of Hibs fans think they suddenly become better.

We paid good money for him because he’d been good at our level. He’d got a good few caps for Wales tae.

As much as I can argue against the fact he’s been crap for us…I cannae help but think there is a player in there.

Marcondes was crap here tae, I also think he’s still a good player.

21May16
02-11-2024, 08:32 AM
We paid good money for him because he’d been good at our level. He’d got a good few caps for Wales tae.

As much as I can argue against the fact he’s been crap for us…I cannae help but think there is a player in there.

Got to agree. Out of all the ***** that’s kicking about the now hes the most confident in will go have a good career for himself.

Victor
02-11-2024, 08:39 AM
Going back to the original question the answer is obviously, no. Maybe the question is, why not? If it is about confidence then he is not going to gain any by sitting on the bench. If it is attitude, then it’s not going to improve by putting McKirdy on ahead of him. If he doesn’t get any game time over the next couple of weeks, you would have to ask, why is he even on the bench?

02-11-2024, 08:43 AM
Levitt is a strange one - even when I watched him at Dundee Utd his body language was of a player either thinking he was above everyone else, or now at Hibs, a bit of a sulk. He never looks like he actually enjoys playing the game. He has flashes in games where he shows real promise and an eye for a pass, but in general play his actual possession retention and simple passing deserts him. He’s also lazy defensively and too often fails to track runners off the ball. Maybe lazy is harsh, more disinterested in that part of being a midfielder.

Played as a 10, behind the striker(s), perhaps worth trying especially with Kwon and Triantis behind him. In a flat midfield, required to battle and forage for the ball - absolutely no chance.

The JDH inclusion and actually giving him minutes in a frenetic derby - that was simply utter madness from Gray.

02-11-2024, 09:12 AM
Levitt is physically fit but gets almost zero game time apart from the odd few minutes, obviously not quoted but needed to fill the bench. He was good in his 1st loan at United but was part of a team relegated. What has happened to him?

02-11-2024, 10:29 AM

Marcondes chucked it when he realised how **** our team was apart from Maolida.

Dundee Utd fans I know weren't bothered when Levitt left. More bad games than good was their reason.