View Full Version : Just do it now Hibs

27-10-2024, 02:11 PM
Gray out.

Seen enough now to convince me that his decisions are costing us

FastEddieFelson
27-10-2024, 02:15 PM
Gray isn't going anywhere. And rightly so.

Mcbizz1998
27-10-2024, 02:18 PM
And then what? Who we appointing?

Walkerbaws
27-10-2024, 02:19 PM
The new man would be left with the same bottom of the league squad though

27-10-2024, 02:20 PM
Well if he’s staying we’re going down simple as that. Nothing today, last week or the week before that is convincing me otherwise.

27-10-2024, 02:20 PM
No decent manager with half a brain will touch this job.

Club is a rudderless ship with a very poor squad of players.

LunasBoots
27-10-2024, 02:21 PM
New man would still have the same relegation fighting squad

A descion will have to be made if we get cut a drift at the bottom

27-10-2024, 02:21 PM
Gordon's out. Root of our problems.

27-10-2024, 02:22 PM
At some point Hibs have to tough it out and stick with a manager for more than 10 games. Not sure if that guy should be Gray, but the board have to put on their big boy pants and decide. And soon.

Chorley Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:23 PM

Correct.

Sacking Gray solves nothing, and I say that as someone who thought it was ridiculous giving him the job in the first place.

Nothing changes until the Gordon family leave, preferably alongside Kensell, McKay, McPherson and all the crap coaches too.

27-10-2024, 02:25 PM

Bang on. Changing manager after manager after manager isn’t changing anything, we need to focus on the actual problems.

random sub
27-10-2024, 02:25 PM

Hate to say it but I agree. Not convinced Gray is the right manager but it should never have got to this mess of a mix of players and poor club governance.

27-10-2024, 02:30 PM
Correct.

Sacking Gray solves nothing, and I say that as someone who thought it was ridiculous giving him the job in the first place.

Nothing changes until the Gordon family leave, preferably alongside Kensell, McKay, McPherson and all the crap coaches too.

Problems go beyond Gray but he is costing us. Should never have been appointed. A reasonably competent manager would have us picking up more points.

We wouldn’t be good but we’d be better than this.

thebausburst
27-10-2024, 02:33 PM

Assuming we can’t lure McInnes, then Robinson before he signs a new deal.

27-10-2024, 02:34 PM
In fact I’d go as far as saying that if the club were to sack Gray now it would be the act of absolute cowards. There was always the chance it was going to take a rookie manager a bit of time to get a squad up to speed. There are still problems all over the pitch at full back and goalie positions.

If they don’t back him to sort those problems then that would be cowardice.

27-10-2024, 02:43 PM
In fact I’d go as far as saying that if the club were to sack Gray now it would be the act of absolute cowards. There was always the chance it was going to take a rookie manager a bit of time to get a squad up to speed. There are still problems all over the pitch at full back and goalie positions.

If they don’t back him to sort those problems then that would be cowardice.

The earlier they admit yet another mistake gives the next man more time to keep us up.

Admit their mistake and allow the black knights to make whatever changes to the football side are needed. Starting with Ian Gordon being kept away from football decisions and Kensel having to justify why he should be kept on for the commercial side only. Then let them review the football structure and whether Mackay, Marshall, Gray and his coaching team are the best men for their roles or not. With some hard nosed short term pragmatism thrown in to make sure we aren’t relegated this season.

27-10-2024, 02:44 PM
Gordon's out preferably.

27-10-2024, 02:51 PM
Guardiola couldn't get this squad to a much better level.

Replacing the manager has long been too easy an 'answer' from a board that have repeatedly failed.

Musselbound
27-10-2024, 02:52 PM
Assuming we can’t lure McInnes, then Robinson before he signs a new deal.

I think he signed one this week.

Mcbizz1998
27-10-2024, 02:53 PM
I’d rather go down with SDG in charge and let him rebuild than let these clowns in charge sack him and bring in some other fud who will probs get us relegated anyway.

It will be a cold day in hell before I turn on David Gray.

27-10-2024, 03:01 PM
New Saints manager is doing fine with the same ***** players Levein had.

Gray is tactically terrible. It's borne out in our performances and comical defending.

He will take us down if this carries on.

27-10-2024, 03:07 PM
Just had a wee look on X

Fans arguing amongst each other.

What a ****in mess.

27-10-2024, 03:09 PM
I’d rather go down with SDG in charge and let him rebuild than let these clowns in charge sack him and bring in some other fud who will probs get us relegated anyway.

Really. I wouldn’t.

Yes our problems are deep rooted but our football is horrendous and this is with players Gray wanted and signed.

Gray will always have special place in all our hearts but I’m not letting sentiment get in the way by saying Gray is not and never we’ll be the answer I’m afraid.

For me it’s time for the BKG to be given control of the footballing side of the club to see what they can do.

27-10-2024, 03:10 PM

Replacing the manager has long been too easy an 'answer' from a board that have repeatedly failed.

He could though. St Johnstone guy immediately has them winning.

27-10-2024, 03:12 PM

I'm not saying I want him out, yet, but why do you say rightly so? This must be the worst start for any Hibs manager I can remember. He has absolutely no credit in the bank to fall back on. He's a complete novice and it's showing. If he was sacked he couldn't have any complaints. We're heading for relegation at the minute. His decision making is costing us dearly.

27-10-2024, 03:14 PM

I reckon Pep could :greengrin

27-10-2024, 03:15 PM
Will make literally no difference. Entire club hierarchy need to go.

27-10-2024, 03:17 PM
Killie improved with a new manager. So did Aberdeen, St Mirren, Dundee, Motherwell. Hearts may be improving with same.

Hibs have spent a lot of money signing ten players. We are much worse under Gray.

The constant late goals will be his legacy. All the more tragic because he is famous for scoring one.

He is unable to cure our Achilles heel and if we stick with him, his tactical naivety can relegate us.

I'd love to hear a reason for keeping him.

fiolex1
27-10-2024, 03:27 PM
Same movie every week. Youan hasn’t played a competitive match in several weeks and straight in the squad was woeful and should’ve been hooked at half time. Miller possibly the worst right back to wear the green. Tactics of hoof ball to the two smallest men on the park. Triantis not learning from mistakes and gets a stupid yellow in first 5 mins and walks a tight rope the rest of the game.Not seeing games out with poor game management. Same post game comments every week.Hearts were there for the taking. We are rotten with no bottle to see games out. Something needs to change, lose to Ross County and that will be him done.

27-10-2024, 03:28 PM
Gray out.

Not even out of single figures in matches.
Give him a chance to at least learn from mistakes.
This place is nuts

jakeshibs
27-10-2024, 03:29 PM

Aye ok, it was them that missed the sitters in front of goal :greengrin

27-10-2024, 03:29 PM
Apart from Turnbull, I can't think of a former club legend who has been a success as a manager. John Collins? Well maybe.

27-10-2024, 03:42 PM
Killie improved with a new manager. So did Aberdeen, St Mirren, Dundee, Motherwell. Hearts may be improving with same.

Hibs have spent a lot of money signing ten players. We are much worse under Gray.

The constant late goals will be his legacy. All the more tragic because he is famous for scoring one.

He is unable to cure our Achilles heel and if we stick with him, his tactical naivety can relegate us.

I'd love to hear a reason for keeping him.

Ah yes. Here we are again. The same argument made against Monty almost word for word and it didn’t work. Like it didn’t when we punted LJ. Or Maloney. Or Ross.

We punted an experienced and consistent manager in Ross and went with a young coach in Maloney. We filled the squad with mince like Hauge and Delferierre and Melkersen and the like and understandably the manager couldn’t get a tune out of them. We then went in a totally different direction in LJ who changed it up week on week but we were left with glaring inadequacies in the squad. Never mind that, we will get in a manager who has a very strict vision and enjoyed success with it at his previous, well run club, but the squad we had wasn’t compatible with that style of play. We didint back him well enough that winter. Still, we’ll punt him despite knowing what we were getting for a rookie manager.

And here we are, not with his reported top choices in Murray and McCowan, but with a squad with glaring inadequacies. And we have some people thinking repeating the same process will maybe, maybe work. Sixth time lucky, eh?

fiolex1
27-10-2024, 03:43 PM
Same movie every week. Youan hasn’t played a competitive match in several weeks and straight in the squad was woeful and should’ve been hooked at half time. Miller possibly the worst right back to wear the green. Tactics of hoof ball to the two smallest men on the park. Triantis not learning from mistakes and gets a stupid yellow in first 5 mins and walks a tight rope the rest of the game.Not seeing games out with poor game management. Same post game comments every week.Hearts were there for the taking. We are rotten with no bottle to see games out. Something needs to change, lose to Ross County and that will be him done.

ChuckNor
27-10-2024, 03:44 PM
Utterly ridiculous thread. Gray is clearly being let down by the recruitment of one of the worst goalkeepers we are ever likely to see at Easter Road. He has cost us so many points this season already.

27-10-2024, 03:45 PM

I'd certainly be open to Guardiola getting a crack of the whip, just to check your hypothesis

27-10-2024, 03:45 PM
This place is nuts

He’s not learning from his mistakes though. That’s the issue

27-10-2024, 03:48 PM

Go back to the team for the game thread and see how many Hibs fans wanted Youan in the side.

As for Triantis: who’s your alternative and how is Gray to prevent the ref giving a nonsense yellow?

uphallhibby
27-10-2024, 03:50 PM

If they don’t back him to sort those problems then that would be cowardice.This 100%, we knew he was a rookie manager and we knew there were lots of problems with the squad, he needs this season minimum to be properly judged

Sent from my motorola razr 40 using Tapatalk

27-10-2024, 03:50 PM

I'm on the same page as you, Don.

I don't think there's anything wrong with the squad, or manager

We're doing right things, just need to keep going.

27-10-2024, 03:51 PM
This 100%, we knew he was a rookie manager and we knew there were lots of problems with the squad, he needs this season minimum to be properly judged

What about a season in the Championship. Does he need that as well?

27-10-2024, 03:54 PM

Gray didn't miss them either.

27-10-2024, 03:54 PM
Utterly ridiculous thread. Gray is clearly being let down by the recruitment of one of the worst goalkeepers we are ever likely to see at Easter Road. He has cost us so many points this season already.

You can’t blame everything on that one player. I’m no fan of his but Gray is making so many mistakes himself.

uphallhibby
27-10-2024, 03:55 PM
What about a season in the Championship. Does he need that as well?That's a risk but I will take it, who do you have in mind to take over if DG leaves?

27-10-2024, 03:56 PM

Yet he keeps picking him. Smith must be utterly woeful in training.

27-10-2024, 03:57 PM

Our football is horrendous, we have won once all season and sitting bottom of the league. We’re doing things right. Really!

What things are we doing right?

27-10-2024, 03:58 PM

I don't like sacking managers constantly.

But critically analyse some of his recent games, substitutes particularly. All his changes seem to make things on the pitch worse. We're becoming experts at losing leads; yet his old skool image and whatis all about being able to shut up shop, be hardworking, direct and hard to break down when we need to be. It's not exactly working out like that. More powderpuff than ever.

27-10-2024, 03:58 PM

Why doesn’t he drop him then?

Docker
27-10-2024, 03:59 PM
Gray out.

I actually thought the starting 11 and formation was pretty brave and actually worked out quite well. We went back to front and conceded lots of possession which was not great to watch but we restricted them to very few chances and created more clear cut chances ourselves over the course of the game. Unfortunatley(again) the substitutions were garbage and gives a big message to Hertz that we were going to try and hold on to what we’ve got. This changes the whole momentum of the game negatively - just like Dundee/Motherwell/Dundee Utd.
His inexperienced game management is costing us big time.

27-10-2024, 04:03 PM
You can’t blame everything on that one player. I’m no fan of his but Gray is making so many mistakes himself.

Exactly. He cost us a win against Dundee by making the negative subs and having the team sit back, exactly the same happened today.

27-10-2024, 04:24 PM
I'd certainly be open to Guardiola getting a crack of the whip, just to check your hypothesis

He must be bored at these clubs with limitless budgets by now and fancies a real challenge :greengrin

I equally believe SDG could go to the Etihad tomorrow and guide City to a treble without doing much...

27-10-2024, 04:29 PM
This place is nuts

If Gray wasn’t under pressure, it would be nuts. Fans care about the club, want to watch attractive, winning football, to be competing at the right end of the table and not be kicked in the nuts every week. Nothing unreasonable about that.

We should all start to worry when a failing team doesn’t get questioned or criticised. That will be a problem.

K-Zazu
27-10-2024, 04:33 PM
Gray is going nowhere.

27-10-2024, 04:36 PM

They own the club. How would you make this happen?

It’s his train set.

27-10-2024, 04:37 PM
Gray is going nowhere.

In management?

Paul1642
27-10-2024, 04:37 PM

That requires a buyer. Seeing as the BK group can’t own a higher % of the club it’s not likely.

27-10-2024, 04:39 PM
That requires a buyer. Seeing as the BK group can’t own a higher % of the club it’s not likely.

They own the club. How would you make this happen?

It’s his train set.

They've said they've turned down various offers.

Stokesy's on fire
27-10-2024, 04:39 PM
Kensell out first. He has to go. But I also agree that David Gray is not ready to manage Hibernian.

7-Zip_Mike
27-10-2024, 04:40 PM

100% this

27-10-2024, 04:41 PM
I don't like sacking managers constantly.

But critically analyse some of his recent games, substitutes particularly. All his changes seem to make things on the pitch worse. We're becoming experts at losing leads; yet his old skool image and whatis all about being able to shut up shop, be hardworking, direct and hard to break down when we need to be. It's not exactly working out like that. More powderpuff than ever.

I dont want us to sack SDG, but you are spot on with what you say, it cant carry on.

27-10-2024, 04:56 PM
I dont want us to sack SDG, but you are spot on with what you say, it cant carry on.

Sacking SDG on its own isn’t enough.

It does need to happen unfortunately but it also needs to come alongside the news the black knights will be running the club and looking for his replacement.

Fergos
27-10-2024, 05:04 PM

The culmination of 10 poor / very average transfer windows on their watch has without contributed to us being bottom of the league. Add in their poor Manager appointments…and we are where we are - bottom of the league.

27-10-2024, 05:09 PM
A massive issue I have is the club openly acknowledging the playing squad is a mess that will be rectified next summer when all these players are out of contract

Problem is we're relying on 8 or 9 of them as regular contributors.

Will that be resolved by sacking SDG? I doubt it, but we need something to change pronto.

Cabbage-Patch
27-10-2024, 05:14 PM
Gray out.

Have to agree, should never have been appointed in the 1st place . A defensive coach during the tenure of the 3 previous managers. A defence which got them all sacked yet our owners think he was the man to take us forward. Refuse to believe another manager could not get more out this squad than Gray seems to be. Mentality has to be questioned losing all these late goals. Hate to say it but even Mackay would be a better short term option at this stage until a new manager can be sourced via the Black Knights.

Cat Stanton
27-10-2024, 05:51 PM

Gordons out. And take their apostrophe with them.

Cat Stanton
27-10-2024, 05:51 PM
Gordons out. And take their apostrophe with them.

All joking/grammatical pedantry aside, I'm afraid they (or some of them) are indeed the problem. That recent interview with Ian Gordon was frankly alarming. Admitting all the multiple things he had got wrong just demonstrated that he's a rich man's son given a toy to play with that he doesn't know how to work. Club's in a total mess. I didn't really want Gray appointed (for fear of his reputation being tarnished) but the dire situation we are in goes beyond him.

27-10-2024, 05:55 PM
. A defensive coach.

Why is this lie still doing the rounds?

BS44
27-10-2024, 05:56 PM
Hibs were fine today.

27-10-2024, 05:57 PM
I
Miss
Monty

27-10-2024, 05:58 PM
Gray is going nowhere.

Neither forwards or backwards. I think that's maybe the point.

badabing67
27-10-2024, 06:02 PM

Ex-Sunderland and Middlesbrough head coach Tony Mowbray named favourite for Championship job (https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/ex-sunderland-and-middlesbrough-head-coach-tony-mowbray-named-favourite-for-championship-job-4827457)

Cabbage-Patch
27-10-2024, 06:25 PM
Hibs were fine today.

If you think losing yet another late goal at home to your fiercest rivals to stretch our Derby run to 1 win in 15 games is "fine" then your standards are obviously very low:confused:

Cabbage-Patch
27-10-2024, 06:28 PM
Ex-Sunderland and Middlesbrough head coach Tony Mowbray named favourite for Championship job (https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/ex-sunderland-and-middlesbrough-head-coach-tony-mowbray-named-favourite-for-championship-job-4827457)

Take him back in a heartbeat but is his health not questionable? Just be our luck him coming in and turning it around to be taken ill again.

27-10-2024, 06:30 PM
What are we doing?

27-10-2024, 06:30 PM
Hibs were fine today.

I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea but Si Ferry’s tweet and replies give a decent indication of what the rest of us are seeing.

https://x.com/siferry8/status/1850515859652952066?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

I know not everyone like Ferry but I think it’s fair to say he’s not got an agenda against Gray and his opinion is an impartial one.

27-10-2024, 06:32 PM
If you think losing yet another late goal at home to your fiercest rivals to stretch our winless Derby run to 15 games is "fine" then your standards are obviously very low:confused:

Things are bad but the winless derby run is only 5.

27-10-2024, 06:32 PM
Hibs were poor today.

I agree.

MJ hibs
27-10-2024, 06:34 PM
I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea but Si Ferry’s tweet and replies give a decent indication of what the rest of us are seeing.

I know not everyone like Ferry but I think it’s fair to say he’s not got an agenda against Gray and his opinion is an impartial one.

They hired monty to get us playing out from the back and it didn't work.

Cabbage-Patch
27-10-2024, 06:36 PM
Things are bad but the winless derby run is only 5.

Apologies I meant to say 1 win in 15 derbies

27-10-2024, 06:37 PM
He’s not learning from his mistakes though. That’s the issue

The issue is you think he’s going to learn all he needs to in two months?
Just mental

27-10-2024, 06:37 PM
The issue is you think he’s going to learn all he needs to in two months?
Just mental

He'll learn more in the Championship anyway.

27-10-2024, 06:38 PM

Hard watch about sums it up.

I also saw a clip of Neil Lennon speaking on Sky after the game and thought he was fair and right in his analysis. Said that although we ended up with some decent chances we were poor in general and there wasn’t any real patterns of play. Again I think that’s fairly accurate, I don’t really see what Gray is trying to create. I think he’ll be here for a bit yet but I’m seeing nothing to make me think he’s going to get us moving forward.

27-10-2024, 06:38 PM
A better manager gets more from this squad.

Cabbage-Patch
27-10-2024, 06:40 PM

Yup, we are awful to watch. Pass backwards and sideways with the occasional hopeful lump up the park that never finds anyone. Interesting his analysis of the the defence aswell. Miller and the two CBs are never SPL standard

27-10-2024, 06:41 PM
They hired monty to get us playing out from the back and it didn't work.

There’s a balance to be had between the two.

27-10-2024, 06:41 PM

Entitled to his view but it's hardly like Alex Ferguson handing down his verdict.:greengrin

27-10-2024, 06:42 PM
A better manager gets more from this squad.

We've been saying that for four managers now.

27-10-2024, 06:48 PM
Gray out.

Disagree. Hibs played quite well today. We need to stand by Gray and the club.

Growth and development are required. Not - chimp like - impulsive managerial roulette.

Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2024, 06:48 PM

****ing disgraceful owners. Ruining our club.

27-10-2024, 06:51 PM
Apologies I meant to say 1 win in 15 derbies

Thank god we did get that win, or we'd be looking at the prospect of the 22 in a row record being broken.

27-10-2024, 06:52 PM
We've been saying that for four managers now.

I don’t think there is a good manager between the last 4

27-10-2024, 06:52 PM

This 🇳🇬

27-10-2024, 06:53 PM

Growth and development are required. Not - chimp like - impulsive managerial roulette.

Hibs were awful today, like really bad.

InvertedFullBak
27-10-2024, 06:57 PM
They won’t bin him and we might get a result on Wednesday then the “ we’ve turned the corner “ fan boys will be out on force. Fast forward to February / March and we’re still down the wrong end of the table in a relegation battle. Gray then gets binned , it’s too late and it’s Hamilton all over again.

27-10-2024, 07:01 PM
Monty would have us in a better place than SDG

27-10-2024, 07:01 PM
They won’t bin him and we might get a result on Wednesday then the “ we’ve turned the corner “ fan boys will be out on force. Fast forward to February / March and we’re still down the wrong end of the table in a relegation battle. Gray then gets binned , it’s too late and it’s Hamilton all over again.

Or we get a win on Wednesday, and another on Sunday and the players (and fans) then stop being a bunch of nervous wrecks with 10 mins to go.

27-10-2024, 07:03 PM

I didn’t think there was any chance we would sack him but I’m starting to change my mind.

It sounds like the black knights are starting to get more involved, the guy Phil something? Was at East Mains last week apparently and there’s the rumour of Kensell and Gordon going across to Vegas for a meeting before then. I just don’t think they’ll look at what we’re watching and think he’s the man to take us forward.

27-10-2024, 07:10 PM

“Played quite well today”, were languishing at the bottom of the league after ‘playing quite well ‘ for a quarter of the season. We’ll be sleepwalking into relegation at this rate. How many bad results and questionable tactics/substitutions do we need to endure? If he wasn’t SDG he’s haven been hounded out of ER by now. Should never have been given the job in the first place.

27-10-2024, 07:15 PM
Hibs were awful today, like really bad.

We weren't good but we've been worse this season

InvertedFullBak
27-10-2024, 07:17 PM
Or we get a win on Wednesday, and another on Sunday and the players (and fans) then stop being a bunch of nervous wrecks with 10 mins to go.

Fans might stop when the players stop chucking away leads with 10 mins to go.

Mikey_1875
27-10-2024, 07:23 PM
It was never the time for a rookie manager. Unfortunately I’d rip the band aid off now. I’d also fire Kensell for his part in hiring a long list of dud managers and then let the BK group run the process for filling those positions.

InvertedFullBak
27-10-2024, 07:41 PM
I didn’t think there was any chance we would sack him but I’m starting to change my mind.

It sounds like the black knights are starting to get more involved, the guy Phil something? Was at East Mains last week apparently and there’s the rumour of Kensell and Gordon going across to Vegas for a meeting before then. I just don’t think they’ll look at what we’re watching and think he’s the man to take us forward.

The longer we’re at the bottom of the league the more Foley and his boys will ramp the pressure up on Hibs. They’re not pumping £6m into a team for them to sit back and watch them struggle at the bottom of the league are they ?

27-10-2024, 07:45 PM
The longer we’re at the bottom of the league the more Foley and his boys will ramp the pressure up on Hibs. They’re not pumping £6m into a team for them to sit back and watch them struggle at the bottom of the league are they ?

£6m is pennies to them.

Just_Jimmy
27-10-2024, 07:46 PM
SDG isn't the only problem at Hibs, however, he's not the solution either.

Utter misery everything to do with Hibs right now.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

InvertedFullBak
27-10-2024, 08:23 PM
£6m is pennies to them.

That’s irrelevant. When you invest into a business you look to progress. This isn’t happening. Something has to change in the eyes of foley etc.

AdidasHibernian
27-10-2024, 09:28 PM
It worries me genuinely that people honestly think we played well today.

Yes we had the best chances but we look so flat and devoid of any plan as a collective on the pitch. Hearts are absolutely rotten yet somehow manage to do their usual against us and avoid defeat.

Our defence and keeper are terrible and the fact it is so predictable that every time we enter the last quarter of a game we as fans know what's coming sums it up. I love Gray and will always be a legend. I was on fence about him getting job and agree that he is out his depth I feel however the problem is if we sack him honestly, who is wanting the job? These players are Bottlers and more worrying than usual is most of the teams that have struggled over the last few years look better than us. I can't honestly see where we as a team get a string of results against? Teams will be rubbing their hands knowing they have us coming up currently.

The problem stems from the top down as we all know but fans coming on trying to make excuses for SDG? He openly wanted the job and got it, so has to do better as some of his changes in games have been beyond belief. Hope he can turn it round but it looks grim.

Chorley Hibee
27-10-2024, 10:03 PM
It worries me genuinely that people honestly think we played well today.

Yes we had the best chances but we look so flat and devoid of any plan as a collective on the pitch. Hearts are absolutely rotten yet somehow manage to do their usual against us and avoid defeat.

Our defence and keeper are terrible and the fact it is so predictable that every time we enter the last quarter of a game we as fans know what's coming sums it up. I love Gray and will always be a legend. I was on fence about him getting job and agree that he is out his depth I feel however the problem is if we sack him honestly, who is wanting the job? These players are Bottlers and more worrying than usual is most of the teams that have struggled over the last few years look better than us. I can't honestly see where we as a team get a string of results against? Teams will be rubbing their hands knowing they have us coming up currently.

The problem stems from the top down as we all know but fans coming on trying to make excuses for SDG? He openly wanted the job and got it, so has to do better as some of his changes in games have been beyond belief. Hope he can turn it round but it looks grim.

It's the same every week, mate.

People telling us all how unlucky we are and that we've a good team, the signings have strengthened us, we just have to give it time etc, etc.

We're absolutely garbage.

Every stat going backs that up, 6 wins in our last 30 league games the most damning one.

27-10-2024, 10:14 PM
In amongst everything else, it’s been a bit overlooked that in the last 10 minutes of a derby, in an effort to see the game out, we thought it was a good idea to bring on a player who hasn’t played for 14 months. Forget the tactical impact and whatever else, how on earth could that have been a good idea. Everything about that decision, the impact it had on the team, players being out of position, the pressure it invited on us made it as bad a decision as you’ll see for me.

Donegal Hibby
27-10-2024, 10:25 PM
We weren't good but we've been worse this season

Rarely see good football played in derby games .. more frantic, physical battles. I got shot down earlier for saying we played ok …

In that remark I made I thought we pressed them well and limited them to very little while we had the better chances, seeing after their 4-0 league and European win folk on here had us down for getting a pumping I thought we played ok.

Lack of being clinical and another mistake has disappointingly cost us from getting a victory again though ☹️

andrew70
27-10-2024, 10:42 PM
Rarely see good football played in derby games .. more frantic, physical battles. I got shot down earlier for saying we played ok …

In that remark I made I thought we pressed them well and limited them to very little while we had the better chances, seeing after their 4-0 league and European win folk on here had us down for getting a pumping I thought we played ok.

Lack of being clinical and another mistake has disappointingly cost us from getting a victory again though ☹️

we never pressed them at all, we allowed their centre halves to play with the ball at will.

you have a low bar if you think we played well.

our centre halves were comfortable but you can have 3 opportunities to clear a long throw and fail to do the basics.

we are so poor with little room for improvement given the bench etc.

Donegal Hibby
27-10-2024, 10:53 PM
we never pressed them at all, we allowed their centre halves to play with the ball at will.

you have a low bar if you think we played well.

our centre halves were comfortable but you can have 3 opportunities to clear a long throw and fail to do the basics.

we are so poor with little room for improvement given the bench etc.

Not well but ok , genuinely thought we were better than them .

Different opinions as I thought a lot of their over 60% possession was their defence passing it back in forth because we pressed them and didn’t give them the opportunity to pass it forward . It was only in the last ten minutes I felt we dropped off and allowed them to come at us which sadly resulted in them equalising .

andrew70
27-10-2024, 11:05 PM
Not well but ok , genuinely thought we were better than them .

Different opinions as I thought a lot of their over 60% possession was their defence passing it back in forth because we pressed them and didn’t give them the opportunity to pass it forward . It was only in the last ten minutes I felt we dropped off and allowed them to come at us which sadly resulted in them equalising .

The subs cost us the win again. Simple as that.

However we never played well. He didn’t want to get beat you can see that in the set up but the next few games are must win so he has to let the shackles off.

All in all very disappointing. Get the ball down and play football. We’ve got some good ball players but the ball is constantly going over their heads.

hibeejeebies
27-10-2024, 11:18 PM
Is Ian Gordon Predator in this scenario?

27-10-2024, 11:54 PM
We were disjointed, slow, ponderous, shapeless and devoid of confidence or urgency. We have some decent players but not enough and too many complete impostors. The squad is weak and the manager just is not a manager at the standard we need. That’s another game at home where we haven’t taken three points and this time it was against the second worst team in the league. We are not going to transform overnight and we could easily remain around where we are, locked in a relegation fight.

Given the amount of money that has been spent in recent years it is an unanswerable indictment of those in the charge of the club that they have brought us to this. Kensell, Gordon and MacPherson should be asking themselves some tough questions right now, followed by removing themselves from any executive authority at the club.

Donegal Hibby
28-10-2024, 12:09 AM
The subs cost us the win again. Simple as that.

However we never played well. He didn’t want to get beat you can see that in the set up but the next few games are must win so he has to let the shackles off.

All in all very disappointing. Get the ball down and play football. We’ve got some good ball players but the ball is constantly going over their heads.

Myko came on for Gayle and scored four minutes later . Both Youan who I thought had drifted out of the game a bit and Hoilett were changed on 61 and 83rd minute after putting in a very good display/ shift for the team with NMW and JDH I don’t think had anything directly to do with costing us the win …

Also thought the team Gray picked was about as attacking as he could have picked and both teams went long at times .
Typical derby really IMO . Should really have won it as we had some good chances too.

andrew70
28-10-2024, 12:14 AM
Myko came on for Gayle and scored four minutes later . Both Youan who I thought had drifted out of the game a bit and Hoilett were changed on 61 and 83rd minute after putting in a very good display/ shift for the team with NMW and JDH I don’t think had anything directly to do with costing us the win …

Also thought the team Gray picked was about as attacking as he could have picked and both teams went long at times .
Typical derby really IMO . Should really have won it as we had some good chances too.

Youan should have stayed on, NMW offered nothing in the ‘10’. As for JDH for Hoilett that beggars belief. IF you make one of these subs then Rudi should have been on for both but you didn’t need to make the Youan one especially.

Of course it had a lot to do with conceding, we lost our shape, we had nothing up front and kept getting deeper and deeper. 4 centre mids on the park doing nothing and he put Kwon up next to Myk. Clueless management, again.

It was attacking on paper but certainly not the way he set them up. It was pathetic.

28-10-2024, 06:23 AM
Monty would have us in a better place than SDG

Monty was an utter donkey but I agree. Says it all. We keep on outdoing ourselves with ***** managers.

timewilltell
28-10-2024, 06:40 AM

Doing right things? 😂😂😂 Just keep going? 😂😂😂

28-10-2024, 06:41 AM
Monty was an utter donkey but I agree. Says it all. We keep on outdoing ourselves with ***** managers.

Totally agree, perhaps donkey isn’t the right word but since Jack Ross, all the appointments have either been rookie managers or English no mads with very little knowledge of the Scottish game.

I really wanted David Gray to do well but his substitutions are costing us points and he is simply not learning by previous mistakes. E.g I would’ve had no issue with Triantis being taking off at the time Hoilett was as he was on the booking but to add in JDH who has not played for 14 months, take off the best player on the pitch and move MOM Kwon up top was just crazy bonkers and disrupted the whole team. Very similar to the week before when bringing on two sub after newells sending off.

Now we are all captain hindsight’s on here but we are all astute enough to know that disrupting the midfield at crucial stages in the match is mental and also send outs a negative message to both the opposition and us that the management are digging in for the result. It’s almost a signal for the opposition to attack more and heap pressure on us and encourage them to score.

28-10-2024, 06:54 AM
Totally agree, perhaps donkey isn’t the right word but since Jack Ross, all the appointments have either been rookie managers or English no mads with very little knowledge of the Scottish game.

I really wanted David Gray to do well but his substitutions are costing us points and he is simply not learning by previous mistakes. E.g I would’ve had no issue with Triantis being taking off at the time Hoilett was as he was on the booking but to add in JDH who has not played for 14 months, take off the best player on the pitch and move MOM Kwon up top was just crazy bonkers and disrupted the whole team. Very similar to the week before when bringing on two sub after newells sending off.

Now we are all captain hindsight’s on here but we are all astute enough to know that disrupting the midfield at crucial stages in the match is mental and also send outs a negative message to both the opposition and us that the management are digging in for the result. It’s almost a signal for the opposition to attack more and heap pressure on us and encourage them to score.

I would wish someone would ask the question about the subs.

I really didn’t get it - who was meant to be playing on the left ?

I dont think NWM or JDH did much when they came on in a crucial area of the pitch.

Subs mess up organisation for defending long throws etc.

We don’t have many options but JDH sub was completely baffling before Rudi.

28-10-2024, 07:19 AM

I dont think NWM or JDH did much when they came on in a crucial area of the pitch.

I agree. The subs totally ruined the balance of the whole team.

Players were just running about all over the place the last 15 mins not knowing where they should be.

The best form of defence is ATTACK!!

Hibiza
28-10-2024, 04:00 PM

JDH : oh no 😩😩

28-10-2024, 04:06 PM

Even if he wanted to take Hoilett off, which I didn’t think he needed to as he still seemed to be getting about the park fine, I don’t know why he didn’t just bring Rudi on. Moving Moriah-Welsh, moving Kwon to bring on someone who hadn’t played for 14 months was bonkers.

28-10-2024, 04:06 PM
I agree. The subs totally ruined the balance of the whole team.

Players were just running about all over the place the last 15 mins not knowing where they should be.

The best form of defence is ATTACK!!

only way for Hibs

31-10-2024, 08:01 AM
Things are not getting any better on the field and Gray doesn’t even look like he even wants to be in charge.

Make the change now before it’s too late.

sauzeelegod
31-10-2024, 10:05 AM

Of course he could

03-11-2024, 05:22 PM
This simply can’t go on

7-Zip_Mike
03-11-2024, 05:27 PM
One wee observation- why is the whole coaching team around SDG when a decision ie sub is being considered? Smacks of man lacking confidence in his own decision making to me. I would, respectfully, say time is up. No prizes for being a good guy. A manger who cannot defend leads into the last 10 mins of games like we have seen this season, sorry needs someone else at the helm.

03-11-2024, 05:29 PM
One wee observation- why is the whole coaching team around SDG when a decision ie sub is being considered? Smacks of man lacking confidence in his own decision making to me. I would, respectfully, say time is up. No prizes for being a good guy. A manger who cannot defend leads into the last 10 mins of games like we have seen this season, sorry needs someone else at the helm.

Happens at literally every club. Nothing to do with lacking confidence. Any manager should trust his staff for input on decisions.

10-11-2024, 12:14 AM
Gray, just go

23-11-2024, 07:50 PM
Gray, just go

23-11-2024, 08:06 PM
Are we seriously just going to go through another torturous weekend with no announcement? Taking the total piss.

23-11-2024, 08:15 PM
Just heard that Gray said he was going nowhere after the game today.

23-11-2024, 08:19 PM
Gray shouldn't resign. It's on the board to do the decent thing and offer him a package.

23-11-2024, 08:19 PM
Just heard that Gray said he was going nowhere after the game today.

Also said he’s happy with the players effort levels and desire.