View Full Version : Sportsound

Badabing
24-10-2024, 05:21 PM
They've really outdone themselves this evening with both Preston and Levein providing unbiased punditry. They're not even trying to show that they're impartial. Preston was actually cheering when they scored.

24-10-2024, 05:24 PM
They've really outdone themselves this evening with both Preston and Levein providing unbiased punditry. They're not even trying to show that they're impartial. Preston was actually cheering when they scored.

Eh? Its a Scottish team playing in Europe. You'd imagine no matter who was on they'd want the Scottish team to win.

24-10-2024, 05:26 PM

And both of them work for the BBC

I really don't see the problem here.

If Hibs were in it they'd have Yogi Hughes and John Collins.

24-10-2024, 06:01 PM
Weird thing to get annoyed about

24-10-2024, 06:04 PM

Tbf, Sportsound or any other Scottish sports broadcast are usually openly pro Scottish clubs in Europe

24-10-2024, 06:05 PM
Can't level that at them when it's a Scottish club in Europe. Different if it were a domestic game.

24-10-2024, 06:11 PM

It’s a waste of oxygen to go on about BBC bias nowadays. With the likes of Alan Preston, Willie Miller and Paddy Bonner employed regularly and freely using ‘we’ as a matter of course, impartiality is obviously not an issue, like it or not.

24-10-2024, 06:16 PM

Preston cheering when Hearts score is old news. I assume Fatso is there as well to make up the Three Stooges?

24-10-2024, 06:18 PM

what I don’t understand about that stain on the shoe of a program :

I get they focus on the uglies so they dedicate a featured match to that whilst others endure the scraps from Open All Mics

They then inflict extended coverage on Open All Mics wtf do people need to do to rid themselves.

The saturated coverage of the uglies even when they are not playing adds to their promotion at the expense of others in scottish football.

24-10-2024, 06:23 PM
Can't level that at them when it's a Scottish club in Europe. Different if it were a domestic game.
You must have missed his Agueroooooooooooooooooooooo when they scored a second v St Mirren on Saturday. It's ridiculous.

24-10-2024, 10:03 PM
You must have missed his Agueroooooooooooooooooooooo when they scored a second v St Mirren on Saturday. It's ridiculous.

I did miss it thankfully but it was my point. That was a domestic match and they are hideously Jambo friendly

25-10-2024, 11:56 AM
And both of them work for the BBC

I really don't see the problem here.

If Hibs were in it they'd have Yogi Hughes and John Collins.

2 Celtic fans ;)

25-10-2024, 09:58 PM
They've really outdone themselves this evening with both Preston and Levein providing unbiased punditry. They're not even trying to show that they're impartial. Preston was actually cheering when they scored.That's just a normal show.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

26-10-2024, 03:25 AM
I no longer listen to Sportsound or Off The Ball. My mental health has improved significantly.

26-10-2024, 06:21 AM
For years it has got worse

When have I switched on to try and get some after match reaction it’s usually always focused on Aberdeen or Celtic imo

Then from 5.30 its calls to regular fans who are always the same fans from same clubs podcasts never just the average joe - not a go at the podcast guys btw. But much preferred it when it was random punters who had just been and were raging.

Can’t stand the music selection from 5.30 where a player or pundit picks 3 tracks, just a nonsense.

26-10-2024, 07:09 AM
I no longer listen to Sportsound or Off The Ball.

I stopped listening about 18 months ago, I suspect their listener figures have dropped off a cliff.

WestCoastHibby
26-10-2024, 08:03 AM
Off the Ball has declined terribly in recent years and really should be put out to grass. Stuart often sounds like he’s one bad cold from “times up” and Tam just repeats the same old tropes
Even worse when Suzy McCabe is on: she’s terrible

26-10-2024, 09:44 AM
I no longer listen to Sportsound or Off The Ball. My mental health has improved significantly.

Yup…

26-10-2024, 01:36 PM
Stopped listening to Sportsound long ago, sick of the Jambo love in. However, tune into off the ball or catch up on their podcast most weeks. Never fails to give me a laugh, good to hear some non old firm biased football chat and quite enjoy Tam’s ‘old skool’ humour. Hope they continue to air for a while yet.

26-10-2024, 02:58 PM
Off the Ball has declined terribly in recent years and really should be put out to grass. Stuart often sounds like he’s one bad cold from “times up” and Tam just repeats the same old tropes
Even worse when Suzy McCabe is on: she’s terrible

Decided to catch some of it today for the first time in ages. Yep, absolutely brutal.

Hibees1973
26-10-2024, 03:05 PM

Is a painful listen.

Kenny MacIntyre is brutal.

As for Preston. Kind of expected from him. Even Michael Stewart manages to realise it's a job and remains reserved. Think Preston just revels in it and realises he has a captured audience. Don't get that kind of thing from ex-players on Radio 5 live.

Sportsound is tin-pot.

26-10-2024, 04:05 PM
Is a painful listen.

As for Preston. Kind of expected from him. Even Michael Stewart manages to realise it's a job and remains reserved. Think Preston just revels in it and realises he has a captured audience. Don't get that kind of thing from ex-players on Radio 5 live.

Sportsound is tin-pot.

That's why I never listen to it.

26-10-2024, 04:12 PM
Is a painful listen.

Sportsound is tin-pot.

The difference in quality of football broadcasting from 5Live and Radio Scotland is alarming, and the standards are night and day.

With both being under the umbrella of the BBC, the chasm between the production standards of both should never be so wide. It never used to be back 15/20 years ago and beyond.

26-10-2024, 06:00 PM
The difference in quality of football broadcasting from 5Live and Radio Scotland is alarming, and the standards are night and day.

With both being under the umbrella of the BBC, the chasm between the production standards of both should never be so wide. It never used to be back 15/20 years ago and beyond.

Yes it is shambolically bad

percy veer
26-10-2024, 06:02 PM
Very unprofessional line cutting out every 2 mins wasn't even bad weather

26-10-2024, 07:54 PM

Is that not why Craig Paterson left? Craigie was extremely professional and you had guys like Jim Spence around as well. They then went down the route of bringing in a raft of ex-pros - many of whom are no more than fanboys. Pat Bonner gets freebies to see every game his beloved Celtic play. He offers zero insight whatsoever.

The only fairly recent addition I’d give a semblance of praise to is Rory Loy. But I haven’t really listened this season so not sure if he’s still around. The difference in professionalism and quality compared to the 5 Live team is off the scale.

26-10-2024, 08:37 PM
The good news is that we aren't funding it through our TV licence, because that's only for telly. The radio funds itself. Phew.

26-10-2024, 08:49 PM
Is that not why Craig Paterson left? Craigie was extremely professional and you had guys like Jim Spence around as well. They then went down the route of bringing in a raft of ex-pros - many of whom are no more than fanboys. Pat Bonner gets freebies to see every game his beloved Celtic play. He offers zero insight whatsoever.

The only fairly recent addition I’d give a semblance of praise to is Rory Loy. But I haven’t really listened this season so not sure if he’s still around. The difference in professionalism and quality compared to the 5 Live team is off the scale.

That's what I think og Ian Wright. You’d get as much insight from any fan on the street.

Jackie Charlton and Bobby Robson were great pundits.

26-10-2024, 08:50 PM
The good news is that we aren't funding it through our TV licence, because that's only for telly. The radio funds itself. Phew.

Does it? I never knew that.

I remember not paying my TV licence and arguing with them on the phone once years ago that I didn't watch live TV. They said if you listen to the radio you must buy one.

Told them I only used Spotify 😂

26-10-2024, 09:19 PM
Stopped listening to it in the summer of covid which became a Jambo pity party with Tom English ranting manically every week. Unlistenable..

Never went back to it and don't miss it with a multitude of podcasts to choose from these days.

26-10-2024, 09:22 PM
Stopped listening to it in the summer of covid which became a Jambo pity party with Tom English ranting manically every week. Unlistenable..

Never went back to it and don't miss it with a multitude of podcasts to choose from these days.

Yes that was genuinely ridiculous

27-10-2024, 05:32 AM
Yes that was genuinely ridiculous

He still holds the Guinness world.record for the longest on-air job interview for director of communications at Hearts…. :)

27-10-2024, 06:23 AM

It also goes to fund BBC radio stations.

hibbydog
27-10-2024, 06:37 AM
They need to change the pundits as they are getting annoying. Same old nonsense from Preston, Levein, Monotone Miller and Tom bloody English all the time. How many years have they been on?

Even other channels pundits become annoying after a while, Sutton, Shearer, Richards etc.

I’d be quite happy if everyone sacked all their pundits and recruited new ones.

27-10-2024, 08:03 AM
He still holds the Guinness world.record for the longest on-air job interview for director of communications at Hearts…. :)

Amazed he didn’t get the job consultancy rates would have been good though :greengrin

Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 08:27 AM
The sportsound pundits are just there to indulge certain clubs such as OF, hearts and Aberdeen. They probably realise they lack quality and knowledge so instead go down the “banter route” and try to sensationalise things. Liam McLeod on comms is absolutely brutal too. Need a proper voice for the radio and not someone who just screams down the mic and licks the co commentators arse

27-10-2024, 09:01 AM
The sportsound pundits are just there to indulge certain clubs such as OF, hearts and Aberdeen. They probably realise they lack quality and knowledge so instead go down the “banter route” and try to sensationalise things. Liam McLeod on comms is absolutely brutal too. Need a proper voice for the radio and not someone who just screams down the mic and licks the co commentators arse

I've never known a commentator who has quite such an insistence on giving listeners time updates so often, to the point in can be in half minute increments. Team nicknames and stand names as well - don't think he's a bad commentator as such, just has some really odd quirks that are hugely annoying.

You can see it on their live text page as well that BBC Scotland have clearly taken an editorial decision to ham up the 'ain't Scottish football mad' side of things. It's like acknowledging they're miles short on quality guests, so it's all banter and 'wha's like us'. Problem being that it's utterly naff.

27-10-2024, 09:29 AM
I only listen to Sportsound if I’m driving. Last weekend there was a classic cringe moment when Preston was raving and screaming about a Jambo goal, when he was silenced by someone announcing a disallowed goal in the Celtic v Aberdeen game. For the next five minutes Preston went on and on like ten year old schoolboy about being snubbed …….. embarrassing but typical of the Sportsound circus.

27-10-2024, 09:31 AM
Aye all the jambo stuff is a pain in the erse but they were all over us under JR when we finished 3rd, some way OTT praise.

27-10-2024, 03:34 PM
I had other plans today so listened to sport sound in the car. I'd forgotten how embarrassingly amateur it is; McLeod rehashing boring stats that bear no relevance to the actual game taking place while Mikey Stewart repeats his stick of the day (today's schtick, Miller can't defend, so he repeats it ten times in case we weren't listening the first time). For minutes on end you have no idea who even has possession, anything. Scott Allan isn't great either. Just terrible.

27-10-2024, 03:35 PM

You might be disappointed!!!

The BBC's UK radio and TV services are*financed by the television Licence Fee*(all owners of television sets in the UK are required to buy an annual licence). The BBC also earns extra income through the sale of programmes overseas and of books, videos, tapes and other products linked to BBC programmes.

27-10-2024, 03:37 PM
Pat Bonner got the Celtic game again.

I wonder how many consecutive Celtic games he’s licence fee paid cheerleaded for now, or if he’s ever done a non Celtic game?

If he’s asked to do St Mirren v Ross County does he just say he has a dentists appointment or something?

Mcbizz1998
27-10-2024, 04:11 PM
I’m amazed anyone listens to it tbh. It’s 2024 ffs.

27-10-2024, 04:18 PM

I wonder how many consecutive Celtic games he’s licence fee paid cheerleaded for now, or if he’s ever done a non Celtic game?

If he’s asked to do St Mirren v Ross County does he just say he has a dentists appointment or something?

To my knowledge he’s never not done a Celtic game.

27-10-2024, 04:19 PM

Must be great for your football team to have a dedicated match commentator funded by the taxpayer.

27-10-2024, 04:28 PM

I think he’ll be contracted for Celtic games only, just as Miller covers every Aberdeen game except when Aberdeen don’t have a game, when he’ll lower himself to earn a few bob punditing on a riff raff game.

03-11-2024, 03:07 PM
Striking how the whole programme is elevated by having Pat Nevin as the colour commentator.

ChuckNor
03-11-2024, 04:07 PM
What are they saying about the penalty?

03-11-2024, 04:14 PM
What are they saying about the penalty?

Nothing. They didnt even go to our commentator at FT to summarise. All about Rangers. Nevin speaking well as usual.

10-11-2024, 01:49 PM
I hadnt realised until turning on the car radio earlier what GREAT form Hearts have been on, how fantastically they played in their European adventure, ive even heard them drag out an eEXCELLENT performance in week 1 at Ibrox when they ‘should have’ won. And how sorry they feel for Lawrence Shankland :dunno: (this one really puzzled me)

Its like sportsound are contractually obliged to fall over themselves fellatioing the famous. They are 11th in the table FFS.

…and breathe.

10-11-2024, 02:29 PM
Nothing. They didnt even go to our commentator at FT to summarise. All about Rangers. Nevin speaking well as usual.

Thank god they didn't go to ER. It was wee fat Bri the jambo that was commentating.

10-11-2024, 05:06 PM
I hadnt realised until turning on the car radio earlier what GREAT form Hearts have been on, how fantastically they played in their European adventure, ive even heard them drag out an eEXCELLENT performance in week 1 at Ibrox when they ‘should have’ won. And how sorry they feel for Lawrence Shankland :dunno: (this one really puzzled me)

Its like sportsound are contractually obliged to fall over themselves fellatioing the famous. They are 11th in the table FFS.

…and breathe.

Another 2 goals from The Huns and they’ll be 12th. :greengrin

10-11-2024, 05:29 PM
Another 2 goals from The Huns and they’ll be 12th. :greengrin

Are you taking points off Hearts as well Jim😀

10-11-2024, 06:15 PM
Are you taking points off Hearts as well Jim😀

Ach, there was me thinking we were equal on points but down on goal difference. Still, we’ll win our game in hand to leap above them.:greengrin

21-12-2024, 02:36 PM
Still going on about a penalty decision at a game last weekend. Painful.

21-12-2024, 02:48 PM
Still going on about a penalty decision at a game last weekend. Painful.

Michael Stewart being an ignorant arrogant tosser as usual

21-12-2024, 02:52 PM

These mistake are made and given pretty much most weeks in favour of Sevco yet it’s swept under the carpet and it’s nothing to see here!

The one time it goes against them and the officials are shocking, really poor blah blah blah. Corruption, cheats…….

Time to move on

HarpOnHibee
21-12-2024, 02:59 PM
These mistake are made and given pretty much most weeks in favour of Sevco yet it’s swept under the carpet and it’s nothing to see here!

The one time it goes against them and the officials are shocking, really poor blah blah blah. Corruption, cheats…….

Time to move on

It wasn't even a case of something going against them either. The foul clearly began outside the box. As per the rules, the set piece is given where the foul begins, not where it ends or where the player lands. It was embarrassing but not at all surprising to hear the SFA come out to tell their favourite club what they wanted to hear.

21-12-2024, 03:13 PM
Stewart is basically blaming everything that went wrong at Hearts on Craig Levein 🤣

Used to like him. Canny stand him.

Credit where credit's due though. Talking about how bad things are doon Georgie way. That's what I pay my licence fee for.

21-12-2024, 03:28 PM
It wasn't even a case of something going against them either. The foul clearly began outside the box. As per the rules, the set piece is given where the foul begins, not where it ends or where the player lands. It was embarrassing but not at all surprising to hear the SFA come out to tell their favourite club what they wanted to hear.

Totally. No other team outwith those two would have had as much airtime.

21-12-2024, 03:45 PM
Are we getting any credit yet

21-12-2024, 03:47 PM
Plenty credit for us on sportsound today, from every pundit.

21-12-2024, 04:12 PM
it's almost like that's how things work

Green_one
21-12-2024, 04:15 PM
Hearts are in pain. The euro result was awful. :na na:

Dropping out of Europe might help them. Let’s hope not :cb

Musselbound
21-12-2024, 04:19 PM

Had to switch off when he started his daily or weekly rant. Beyond parody now.

21-12-2024, 04:24 PM
How on earth is Jane Lewis still in employment? She is woeful!

21-12-2024, 04:27 PM
Are we getting any credit yet

No this is Jambo.fm keep up !

21-12-2024, 04:28 PM
It wasn't even a case of something going against them either. The foul clearly began outside the box. As per the rules, the set piece is given where the foul begins, not where it ends or where the player lands.

Haven't the incident being discussed here, but I don't think that's the rule. As I understand it, if a foul starts outside the box but continues inside, it's a penalty.

E.g. "If a defender starts holding an attacker outside the penalty area and continues holding inside the penalty area, the referee must award a penalty kick."

From https://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/lawsandrules/laws/football-11-11/law-12---fouls-and-misconduct

21-12-2024, 04:31 PM
Haven't the incident being discussed here, but I don't think that's the rule. As I understand it, if a foul starts outside the box but continues inside, it's a penalty.

E.g. "If a defender starts holding an attacker outside the penalty area and continues holding inside the penalty area, the referee must award a penalty kick."

From https://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/lawsandrules/laws/football-11-11/law-12---fouls-and-misconduct

👍

Murphys Touch
21-12-2024, 04:57 PM

I would agree with you if that’s the rule

That isn’t the rule - I think they’ve got a right to be angry as VAR should see this and correct it.

However, this happens every week to other teams and it’s swept aside. If anything, it’s just showing the investment in VAR is pointless

Cat Stanton
21-12-2024, 05:00 PM
I would agree with you if that’s the rule

That isn’t the rule - I think they’ve got a right to be angry as VAR should see this and correct it.

However, this happens every week to other teams and it’s swept aside. If anything, it’s just showing the investment in VAR is pointless

Let's not continue the argument/discussion on here - it was bad enough having to listen to hours of it on sportsound!

21-12-2024, 05:09 PM
Stewart is basically blaming everything that went wrong at Hearts on Craig Levein 🤣

Stewart doesnt see that they’re just a small second club in a Smallish city.
Going out of a crap european tournament to a pub team and being bottom of their league well need i say more.
Deep down Craig levein knows this is the natural order for hearts.
You could probably even chuck multi millions of pounds at them and they wouldnt fair well.

26-12-2024, 10:56 PM
How were they today? Did we get credit this time?

30-12-2024, 09:02 AM
Listened to the Scottish Football Podcast this morning, a complete and utter waste of time. Far better off going to the Hibs Observer Youtube channel.

30-12-2024, 09:28 AM
Richard Gordon confirmed at the end of yesterday’s show the pundits were all agreed the ref got the decision correct to disallow the Motherwell goal.

30-12-2024, 09:56 AM
What if peak “Jambodom” was achieved under Vlad and never to reach the dizzy heights thru doped up financials again? Tainted love indeed.

30-12-2024, 09:57 AM
Richard Gordon confirmed at the end of yesterday’s show the pundits were all agreed the ref got the decision correct to disallow the Motherwell goal.

Scared to give an opinion against Rangers simple as

30-12-2024, 10:13 AM

Even on Sportscene they agreed it was a foul and quickly moved on Watt had brushed against the Keeper

Looked soft to this viewer goalkeeper error

Watts later goal just offside Goalkeeper didn’t look too clever there either and went down for Motherwell’s first in instalments

Superb finish for Motherwell’s second

Cannot believe Voldemort didn’t start with Cerny and Igamane got what he deserved

30-12-2024, 10:23 AM
The decision to disallow the goal for the foul on the keeper was mind blowing.

Softest (and worst) decision I think I’ve seen.

leith lynx
30-12-2024, 11:01 AM
Biscuits Preston was on the radio straight after the Boxing Day derby reporting from another game and he sounded so crushed and downbeat, like a spoilt brat who didn't get what he wanted for Xmas, the icing on the cake! Pleasing.

12-01-2025, 06:09 AM
Jumped in the car yesterday to hear Mickey Stewart’s dulcet tones saying it was never a red yesterday yellow at worst ? :confused:

VAR got it spot on imho stonewaller

12-01-2025, 06:20 AM
Got in the car about 5.20 - maybe we missed the positive stuff on hibs

But all it seemed to be was how bad we were and mistakes still in us.

Whilst I agree there seems to be a lack of genuine acknowledgement that we might just be a half decent footballing team perhaps

Where as Aberdeen Real Madrid were world beaters 3 months ago.

Absolute clowns that lot.

12-01-2025, 06:43 AM
This mob are best ignored. When they talk and make references to players having mistakes in them they are grasping at negativity because they have nothing else.

Show me a player at our level that doesn’t have a mistake in them.

Just don’t listen to them.

12-01-2025, 06:50 AM
This mob are best ignored. When they talk and make references to players having mistakes in them they are grasping at negativity because they have nothing else.

Show me a player at our level that doesn’t have a mistake in them.

Just don’t listen to them.

If defenders made zero mistakes in football then each game would end 0-0.

12-01-2025, 07:04 AM

Whilst I agree there seems to be a lack of genuine acknowledgement that we might just be a half decent footballing team perhaps

Same as you. I'm not so sure we did though. Amazed sitting there listening to how bad the goalie was, how much we would have boo'd if Gayle never scored v County, how much the manager was lucky to stumble on the formation, this is not a great Hibs squad, I wonder what Bill Foley thinks after his critical comments etc.

Lost all respect now for Mikey Stewart the guy is a total clown, the way he conducts himself is unprofessional, he deliberately gets worked up and try's to stir controversy.

Do you think when he wakes up he argues over what to have for breakfast and his partner says Mikey just ****ing shut up and eat it.

Again driven all the way home and not heard from the Hibs manager. Listened to Kenny Mac tell me what was on the programme earlier and what is coming up on the programme about five times though. Why does he always summarise in bullet points what a manager has literally just said? Why when an incident is being described involving relatively unknown players on open all mics do they still not know to tell the audience what ****ing team they are on about?

I now get the feeling in 20years time I'll be talking about Richard Gordon fondly as the good old days.

12-01-2025, 07:09 AM
I listened for the first time in years post match.

Preston was basically saying that the only reason we were 2 ahead was because of Motherwell mistakes.

That much is obvious - in fact Kettlewell said himself that pretty much all goals DO come from errors.

But if you listened to him, you would think that first half was relatively close. Motherwell didnt get a sniff, and thats because we were all over them - I was disappointed we only had 2 goals.

They improved in the 2nd half, and were probably worthy of the one goal.

But the truth is we were pretty comfortable, against a team above us in the league, and while - as Gray said - we are far from finished article, we have wrung the best out of what we have these past few weeks.

I am back to not listening to these plums.

12-01-2025, 07:16 AM
I actually shouted at the radio when all MS could talk about was the Motherwell goal.

His focus on Smith and the Dundee game a few weeks back was just bizarre, nothing positive to say about our form or how we’ve actually been playing.

The Bill Foley comment was just plain weird.

A bunch of lady bits, the lot of them.

12-01-2025, 07:21 AM
I actually shouted at the radio when all MS could talk about was the Motherwell goal.

His focus on Smith and the Dundee game a few weeks back was just bizarre, nothing positive to say about our form or how we’ve actually been playing.

Blamed Smith for his wall and his positioning

We are night and day compared to Dundee away

I wonder if we have an ‘ identity’ yet ?

12-01-2025, 07:23 AM

That’s what I mean always negative

Where as it does feel like if this was a run hearts / Aberdeen were on it would be painted in a much more positive perception

Hibs for years have always felt like an easy target for BBC, and I just don’t get why?

Back to sportsound and old duffers like, Preston, bonner and miller sum it up really. Past their sell by date.

The fan phone in at the end is farcical too. Much preferred Jim Traynors when any fan could and would phone in rather than bbc calling their vetted fans for an opinion.

No offence to our pundits btw. They all speak very well of Hibs.

Just think it was more open to other fans opinions most weeks.

12-01-2025, 07:26 AM

Where as it does feel like if this was a run hearts / Aberdeen were on it would be painted in a much more positive perception

Hibs for years have always felt like an easy target for BBC, and I just don’t get why?

Back to sportsound and old duffers like, Preston, bonner and miller sum it up really. Past their sell by date.

The fan phone in at the end is farcical too. Much preferred Jim Traynors when any fan could and would phone in rather than bbc calling their vetted fans for an opinion.

Tuned in to hear about Hibs all I heard was Willie f#cking Miller droning on about about Aberdeen I mean were they even playing?

12-01-2025, 07:29 AM

As soon as I got back in the car the first thing I heard was MS and this identity crap, think it was dundee utd they were talking about, it's the same crap each week with MS now, he adds nothing, I'm guessing Preston was the person at the game and he was having to ask what happened with most incidents, the whole programme is just very amateur now

12-01-2025, 07:31 AM

Not sure its still true but the Editor of BBC sport used to be a Hearts fan.

In the current lineup you have the likes of Stewart, Preston, Levein, McLaughlin, and Paul Mitchell who are all Hearts fans.

There are no "Hibs minded" commentators or pundits on the BBC - either TV or radio.

Even Motherwell have the idiot Craigan as the co-pundit yesterday - its laughable.

12-01-2025, 07:45 AM
I think Hibs fans are, on general, pretty fair and understand where our team is at any given time.

Probably some found themselves agreeing with sportsound and their comments when we are poor but when things have dramatically changed and it’s there for all to see, the sportsound’s comments and narrative yesterday is just not on and reeks of a lazy agenda against Hibs.

The Hibs boy on the phone in actually agreeing with them is just strange, why not stick up for us when we get the chance?

Or perhaps it’s me that sees it wrong.

12-01-2025, 08:19 AM
WAs listening in for the 1st half. Best bit was during the VAR review of Boyle's goal when they crossed to the Fat Jambo on the touchline for his view.
"I've seen a replay and this is going to be ruled out for offside." he says adamantly.
Cue the immediate background p.a. announcement and cheer as the goal is confirmed.
"Oh, wow", is all the Fat Jambo can say as he chokes on his previous words.
Loved it.

Newhaven
12-01-2025, 08:19 AM
Just do yourself a favour and don’t even turn the station on

A bigger bunch of Hibs haters you’ll be hard pressed to find

InvertedFullBak
12-01-2025, 08:24 AM

It kinda started when Colin calderwood handed Richard Gordon his backside over a comment over CC being linked with another managers job.

Since the Gordon regime started we haven’t done ourselves any favours by the numerous faux Puax incidents both on and off the park. We’ve made ourselves an easy target Im afraid and they’re always quick to jump on it

12-01-2025, 08:26 AM

Generally agree with the rest of your post but there's a bit of revisionism going on here. Your Call with Jim Raynor was the Celtic and Rangers show, absolutely no other talking points than how the OF had done today (and how they'd do tomorrow if neither of them had played). I always used to play a wee game where I'd count the Celtic/Rangers VS any other team calls and it was usually something like 10 to 1.

12-01-2025, 08:49 AM
Generally agree with the rest of your post but there's a bit of revisionism going on here. Your Call with Jim Raynor was the Celtic and Rangers show, absolutely no other talking points than how the OF had done today (and how they'd do tomorrow if neither of them had played). I always used to play a wee game where I'd count the Celtic/Rangers VS any other team calls and it was usually something like 10 to 1.

100% agree with was of course OF orientated but I usually enjoyed the meltdowns

12-01-2025, 08:53 AM

Agreed, stopped listening years ago to this muppetry.

12-01-2025, 09:27 AM

To be fair there are quite a few on here as well

12-01-2025, 09:27 AM
Listened to it on the way home game from probably 520 or so. Craigan with a very critical review of Motherwells style which thought given the season they have had thus far was very disrespectful to Kettlewell. Zero about Hibs until after 6 then long and dull bit talking about Celtic. Heard nothing about St Mirren and United game assume both that and Hibs game covered earlier. So grating having Preston and McLaughlin two very anti Hibs people covering and interviewing our players. McLaughlin asked josh Campbell about interest from other teams. Suppose just the way it is but imo very much a transparent agenda. So much positive to say about Hibs at present but choose not to. Compare and contrast with Hearts especially if they win today.

12-01-2025, 09:33 AM
WAs listening in for the 1st half. Best bit was during the VAR review of Boyle's goal when they crossed to the Fat Jambo on the touchline for his view.
"I've seen a replay and this is going to be ruled out for offside." he says adamantly.
Cue the immediate background p.a. announcement and cheer as the goal is confirmed.
"Oh, wow", is all the Fat Jambo can say as he chokes on his previous words.
Loved it.

Excellent.

Will be one of the highlights of the season today on Sportsound with Aberdeen playing Hearts.

Will be one of the worst shows of the season for non Aberdeeen and Hearts fans to have to be tuning into.

Regardless of who wins, it’s guaranteed to be superlatives aplenty.

Will give it a wide steer today.

12-01-2025, 09:34 AM
Sportsound is the pits. There is undoubtedly an anti Hibs bias, whether scripted or just an unwritten rule. The idiots, and we know who they are, because they comment before, spontaneously during the games or immediately after the games, are at liberty to gratuitously slag off, belittle or play down anything Hibs. Sportscene pundits, because it reports long after the games, tend to have a more considered, realistic view of that day’s gmes. They can’t ignore the evidence and have to give a more balanced and honest account or they would lose face. Yesterday’s programmes are a prime example of this …… Stewart, Preston and gang taking any opportunity to have a go and on the other hand McCann and the other geezer singing our praises. It’s almost comically like ‘good cop, bad cop’.

12-01-2025, 09:36 AM
Sportsound is the pits. There is undoubtedly an anti Hibs bias, whether scripted or just an unwritten rule. The idiots, and we know who they are, because they comment before, spontaneously during the games or immediately after the games, are at liberty to gratuitously slag off, belittle or play down anything Hibs. Sportscene pundits, because it reports long after the games, tend to have a more considered, realistic view of that day’s gmes. They can’t ignore the evidence and have to give a more balanced and honest account or they would lose face. Yesterday’s programmes are a prime example of this …… Stewart, Preston and gang taking any opportunity to have a go and on the other hand McCann and the other geezer singing our praises. It’s almost comically like ‘good cop, bad cop’.
You do know the other geezer scored a good few goals for us aye?

12-01-2025, 09:36 AM
Listened to it on the way home game from probably 520 or so. Craigan with a very critical review of Motherwells style which thought given the season they have had thus far was very disrespectful to Kettlewell. Zero about Hibs until after 6 then long and dull bit talking about Celtic. Heard nothing about St Mirren and United game assume both that and Hibs game covered earlier. So grating having Preston and McLaughlin two very anti Hibs people covering and interviewing our players. McLaughlin asked josh Campbell about interest from other teams. Suppose just the way it is but imo very much a transparent agenda. So much positive to say about Hibs at present but choose not to. Compare and contrast with Hearts especially if they win today.

They had interviews with Campbell, Gray and a Hibs fan between 5 and 6, didn't they?

It didn't seem too off to me, bar the question about Campbell potentially leaving which felt random. Gave us credit - David Gray's favourite word - for turning it around, but mindful that the season could go either way. Pretty much the general feeling from this message board.

12-01-2025, 09:39 AM
You do know the other geezer scored a good few goals for us aye?

To be honest I didn’t pay much attention, so didn’t latch on to it.pray, do tell.!:greengrin

12-01-2025, 09:48 AM
I'm surprised no one has mentioned Martin Geissler yet - a bigger jambo you couldn't meet.

He previously presented the now redundant "The Nine" on the BBC Scotland channel but is now a regular on BBC radio scotland current affairs programs and he seldom fails to utter yet more verbal diarrhea about his beloved team.

He's apparently produced a masterpiece of work entitled "The Romanov Years" which will be broadcast over nine seperate episodes on BBC Sounds.

It could be quite interesting I suppose but it would go against the grain for me to tune in.

12-01-2025, 09:49 AM
To be honest I didn’t pay much attention, so didn’t latch on to it.pray, do tell.!:greengrin

Brian Graham formerly of this parish. Good few goals was a bit hyperbole but not the worst striker we’ve ever had.

12-01-2025, 09:53 AM

The Foley comment went unchallenged (“Foley was very critical of David Gray” or words to that effect) - and was a complete fabrication. There is no evidence at all of Foley being critical of Gray.

Se7enUp
12-01-2025, 09:53 AM

Easy target for the BBC, the media, the refs and the football authorities because we're a relatively high profile club that never has a tantrum, so they can 'boss' us without fear of getting it back with both barrels.

12-01-2025, 09:59 AM
Brian Graham formerly of this parish. Good few goals was a bit hyperbole but not the worst striker we’ve ever had.

He was probably and McCann the most praising of Hibs from the BBC's "coverage" this weekend.

The radio was a total joke, you could tell they are all seething about our recent revival. During match commentary there was praise given to Hibs always with the caveat that Motherwell are making mistakes and are terrible. When Motherwell scored all they could talk about and were desperate for it to happen was the home crowd to turn hostile, nervous etc... "That will really test this Hibs team, see if they have indeed improved". We score 3-1 job done. all were pee'd off!!

There 100% is a dislike for us on Sportsound, and in general the BBC.

12-01-2025, 10:02 AM

BBC commentary team was three Jambos and the most uninformed pundit and Hibs hater - Craigen.

All absolutely spewing at our surge up the table

12-01-2025, 10:10 AM

Was he not only on sportscene? i cant mind hearing him on the radio on the way home

12-01-2025, 10:11 AM
Was he not only on sportscene? i cant mind hearing him on the radio on the way home

Yes. He was the other geezer to Neil mccann on sportscene.

12-01-2025, 10:17 AM

Tbf, Smith was at fault for the goal. Ridiculous positioning.

12-01-2025, 10:24 AM

I'd also question Obita turning sideways instead of staying square on to maximise his block.

12-01-2025, 10:27 AM

Not his biggest fan looked to be hit right at him I expected it his top left

SonOfDavidFrancey
12-01-2025, 10:37 AM
Sorry to swim against the tide here but some of the responses to the programme seem a bit OTT. For example, yesterday - a good range of voices (Josh Campbell spoke very well, the fan was balanced) and even if the points Michael Stewart makes may be unwelcome listening at times they are ‘debate’ / ‘controversy’ points and worth listening to.

I agree there is a flaw in the programme where they attach club cheerleaders (Miller, Bonner etc) to their ‘own’ teams (the equivalent of giving Pat Stanton a job whenever Hibs are on) and I think they could do with relegating some of the dinosaurs like Biscuits to the Chick Young role of covering a championship match, but I don’t tune in expecting it to be Hibs Radio.

The idea that there is a deep seated bias is imo a bit silly.

Murphys Touch
12-01-2025, 10:40 AM
I think Hibs fans are, on general, pretty fair and understand where our team is at any given time.

Probably some found themselves agreeing with sportsound and their comments when we are poor but when things have dramatically changed and it’s there for all to see, the sportsound’s comments and narrative yesterday is just not on and reeks of a lazy agenda against Hibs.

The Hibs boy on the phone in actually agreeing with them is just strange, why not stick up for us when we get the chance?

Or perhaps it’s me that sees it wrong.

I’m same as you - it’s not Hibs radio. I thought they were extremely fair on Hibs…we led the fans phone in piece and were extremely complimentary of Gray and the turn around.

Most comments mirror the feelings on this forum…yet out of an “non-Hibs” mouth it means they are anti- Hibs. Amazed people that rant about it still listen

12-01-2025, 10:45 AM
Sorry to swim against the tide here but some of the responses to the programme seem a bit OTT. For example, yesterday - a good range of voices (Josh Campbell spoke very well, the fan was balanced) and even if the points Michael Stewart makes may be unwelcome listening at times they are ‘debate’ / ‘controversy’ points and worth listening to.

I agree there is a flaw in the programme where they attach club cheerleaders (Miller, Bonner etc) to their ‘own’ teams (the equivalent of giving Pat Stanton a job whenever Hibs are on) and I think they could do with relegating some of the dinosaurs like Biscuits to the Chick Young role of covering a championship match, but I don’t tune in expecting it to be Hibs Radio.

You’re probably right about ‘deep seated’ …. but it’s a superficial, childish and petty bias that several of the pundits have. You don’t hear them continually ridiculing or overcriitsizing Aberdeen’s demise or the Jambos for that matter.

Murphys Touch
12-01-2025, 10:48 AM
You’re probably right about ‘deep seated’ …. but it’s a superficial, childish and petty bias that several of the pundits have. You don’t hear them continually ridiculing or overcriitsizing Aberdeen’s demise or the Jambos for that matter.

But they have and they do. Extremely blunt on Hearts after Europe and the Derby…..Aberdeen got slaughtered during the Jim Goodwin/Barry Robson/Glass era

We rightly got it more but flick through .net you get the same criticisms. We just don’t like hearing it from others as it sounds like gloating.

Have a look on P&B, every fan thinks Sportsound is biased

12-01-2025, 10:57 AM

But we KNOW the pundits have connections to other teams, usually hearts rangers and Aberdeen, and these pundits’ post playing careers are linked to these connections, from the after dinner circuit to hospitality! Its ‘silly’ to imagine they are all objective old fashioned journalists.

I dont think you can get a clearer example than MS. Hearts fan. Spent literally hours criticising us and our players in a personal way, while Hearts were getting the soft glove treatment, despite our position being almost identical. While its true MS was saying things about Hibs that we were also saying on here, the difference was it didnt go both ways for the marooned at the bottom of the table team. Its true that they were performing better than the table suggested (they were and still are 4th in xg),but we were and still are 3rd in xg.

I cant actually believe you can listen to it and think we get treated the sane way as hearts and aberdeen.

12-01-2025, 10:57 AM
A few weeks ago Mickey Identity Narrative Stewart, every time there was a small defensive error by Hibs player he was going on and on about it laughing and joking about how bad we were. Have seen the errors by other teams but he was not as apoplectic about their errors.

12-01-2025, 10:59 AM
But they have and they do. Extremely blunt on Hearts after Europe and the Derby…..Aberdeen got slaughtered during the Jim Goodwin/Barry Robson/Glass era

We rightly got it more but flick through .net you get the same criticisms. We just don’t like hearing it from others as it sounds like gloating.

Have a look on P&B, every fan thinks Sportsound is biased

Every week Hearts got pummeled in Europe they were unlucky and plucky. Not sure where you heard them being blunt, maybe after we won the derby, at which point it would be too weird to continue the love in.

cubehindthegoal
12-01-2025, 11:03 AM

If the lesser Edinburgh team from gorgie were on the run of form we are, their manager and team would be hailed as world beaters on BBC radio and tv. It sticks in their craw to even consider saying similar about is in the same situation. Hearts infested radio show, BBC is Hearts sevco celtic and a little of aberdeen centric … we are very much ignored at best, and actually still put down when we achieve as we have done over the past month or two.

GGTTH though, f them.

Murphys Touch
12-01-2025, 11:09 AM
Every week Hearts got pummeled in Europe they were unlucky and plucky. Not sure where you heard them being blunt, maybe after we won the derby, at which point it would be too weird to continue the love in.

Why listen to it every week then!

12-01-2025, 11:13 AM
A few weeks ago Mickey Identity Narrative Stewart, every time there was a small defensive error by Hibs player he was going on and on about it laughing and joking about how bad we were. Have seen the errors by other teams but he was not as apoplectic about their errors.He started going through Hibs revival match by match and abandoned the theme when he realised the derby win would have to brought up. Concentrated on how bad we were when we beat Ross County at home, as though that defines that run.

delbert
12-01-2025, 11:13 AM
A few weeks ago Mickey Identity Narrative Stewart, every time there was a small defensive error by Hibs player he was going on and on about it laughing and joking about how bad we were. Have seen the errors by other teams but he was not as apoplectic about their errors.

No surprise, look at the balance of yesterdays Hibs game on Sportssh*te, jambo sympathiser Michael Stewart asked for his comments, 3 rampant Jambos commentating, Paul Mitchell, Alan Preston and summariser at pitchside Brian McLaughlin, with the ‘balance’ provided by Motherwell’s very own Stephen Craigen, you couldn’t even make it up !!

12-01-2025, 11:18 AM
Why listen to it every week then!

Purely to annoy you.

12-01-2025, 11:22 AM
Not his biggest fan looked to be hit right at him I expected it his top left

Obita also jumped out of the way of the free kick.

12-01-2025, 11:26 AM
He started going through Hibs revival match by match and abandoned the theme when he realised the derby win would have to brought up. Concentrated on how bad we were when we beat Ross County at home, as though that defines that run.

But the sounds of it MS and the others on the Sportsound team are hurting at our revival.
Long may it continue.

12-01-2025, 11:31 AM
No surprise, look at the balance of yesterdays Hibs game on Sportssh*te, jambo sympathiser Michael Stewart asked for his comments, 3 rampant Jambos commentating, Paul Mitchell, Alan Preston and summariser at pitchside Brian McLaughlin, with the ‘balance’ provided by Motherwell’s very own Stephen Craigen, you couldn’t even make it up !!Craigen was the fairest towards us yesterday by far, even though he had a slant towards 'Well.

12-01-2025, 11:44 AM
Obita also jumped out of the way of the free kick.

Didn’t want to get hurt

12-01-2025, 01:29 PM

would they put pundit cheerleaders from either side of the uglies to commentate on a non-Glasgow Derby game - say Bonner comment on a Rangers versus Dundee United? Or back kn the day Ally McCoist on a Celtic V St Mirren? Ye we have rent-a-muppet tag team of Biscuits Mcluaghlin and Aussie Yam spouting forth about the Hibs…

12-01-2025, 01:33 PM
would they put pundit cheerleaders from either side of the uglies to commentate on a non-Glasgow Derby game - say Bonner comment on a Rangers versus Dundee United? Or back kn the day Ally McCoist on a Celtic V St Mirren? Ye we have rent-a-muppet tag team of Biscuits Mcluaghlin and Aussie Yam spouting forth about the Hibs…

They regularly use Buscuits for our games. I think cos he's pals with Kano and Yogi's cousin and is from Leith that's a Hibs connection in their eyes. Jokeshop!

Pat Bonner couldn't ever do a no Celtic game. He has no clue about our game in general and only has a (very limited) knowledge of Celtic players. It's embarrassing listening to him try to remember the names of players.

12-01-2025, 01:41 PM
I thought the Hibs fan who was on yesterday was pretty decent. Mirrored a lot of my own thoughts and stuff I hear from other Hibs fans pretty regularly.

Better than that Matty guy they sometimes have on anyway........

12-01-2025, 01:55 PM
I thought the Hibs fan who was on yesterday was pretty decent. Mirrored a lot of my own thoughts and stuff I hear from other Hibs fans pretty regularly.

Better than that Matty guy they sometimes have on anyway........

To be fair that's a pretty low bar.

12-01-2025, 03:41 PM
To be fair that's a pretty low bar.

He’s an idiot. :agree:

12-01-2025, 04:36 PM
Absolutely magnificent from Willie Miller tonight and I’ll paraphrase as I won’t try to do the exact quote but the main words are there.

What is wrong with football these days? Fans staying behind to applaud that performance!!! They should be roundly Boo’d.:top marks:greengrin

PHeffernan
12-01-2025, 05:10 PM
No surprise, look at the balance of yesterdays Hibs game on Sportssh*te, jambo sympathiser Michael Stewart asked for his comments, 3 rampant Jambos commentating, Paul Mitchell, Alan Preston and summariser at pitchside Brian McLaughlin, with the ‘balance’ provided by Motherwell’s very own Stephen Craigen, you couldn’t even make it up !!

There was a solution to that for Hibs fans who were able to attend the game yesterday. They could have got off their hoops and attended the game as supporters. By taking that action they would not have been able to hear the BBC match commentary that they appear to loathe so much...
I reckon they love Biscuits Preston that much that can't bare to miss his chat.

P.S. This season Hibs average attendances at home are 2,000 per game less than Hearts and 1400 less than Aberdeen so more Hibs supporters are definitely required.

scm70nyd1973
12-01-2025, 05:20 PM
He’s an idiot. :agree:

Matty - an idiot - never - he’s braw - hope he doesn’t tune in here 🤭

12-01-2025, 05:23 PM
Not Sportsound but Mcafadden said before the game, on Sky, that Hearts are in a good place just now.

They’re 11th in the league ffs. When we were in a similar position, nobody was talking about us being in a good place, even once we’d picked up our first couple of positive results. Narrative is so different with them.

scm70nyd1973
12-01-2025, 06:01 PM
Not Sportsound but Mcafadden said before the game, on Sky, that Hearts are in a good place just now.

They’re 11th in the league ffs. When we were in a similar position, nobody was talking about us being in a good place, even once we’d picked up our first couple of positive results. Narrative is so different with them.

Mind you - I think that they are in a good place right now and I hope they stay there 🤭😂

scm70nyd1973
12-01-2025, 06:08 PM

Mind you - I think that they are in a good place right now and I hope they stay there 🤭😂

12-01-2025, 06:08 PM

Zactly - if ever you needed an example about how the two clubs (us /them) are spun thats it.

12-01-2025, 06:33 PM
Didn’t want to get hurt

I know having the ball leathered at you on a cold day hurts.

I'd hope wimping out and conceding a goal hurts more.

13-01-2025, 05:57 PM
Heard that prick Michael Stewart saying hearts revival goes on and now unbeaten in 6 !!

Obviously conveniently forgot they got cuffed in the derby !!

Matty Fairney hopefully you can put the prick right the next time you’re on sportsound

13-01-2025, 06:27 PM
I know having the ball leathered at you on a cold day hurts.

I'd hope wimping out and conceding a goal hurts more.

Many’s a two tun mouldmaster battered oaf me skinny legs on a cauld Saturday morning on the playing fields of Aboretum

Still wear their badge with pride after taking one for the cause

13-01-2025, 06:30 PM
Heard that prick Michael Stewart saying hearts revival goes on and now unbeaten in 6 !!

Obviously conveniently forgot they got cuffed in the derby !!

Matty Fairney hopefully you can put the prick right the next time you’re on sportsound

Definitely trolling

14-01-2025, 04:32 PM
The Muppetry of the Pundits…

unfortunately my Adobe PhotoMix account doesn’t seem to work anymore so no more photoshopping

25-01-2025, 04:04 PM
They can **** right off, Hun presenter, open all mike's are Huns are hearts. Usually squeaky (Preston)voice doing our game, today we had Robertson. Willie Miller only does Aberdeen games, likewise Bonnar only does Celtic games.
It's an old boys club and should be called out.

HIBS NUTS
25-01-2025, 04:48 PM
They can **** right off, Hun presenter, open all mike's are Huns are hearts. Usually squeaky (Preston)voice doing our game, today we had Robertson. Willie Miller only does Aberdeen games, likewise Bonnar only does Celtic games.
You couldn’t get a more anti hibs, commentating, than Alan Preston, he seems to do hibs every week.

Hibees1973
25-01-2025, 04:58 PM
This thread has almost become unreadable. It has become really tedious.

Don't we all know Preston is a Yam supporter with a mic. Sportsound clearly happy to give him a paid platform to commentate/support Hearts. I've listened to other Radio channels and there is no other broadcaster like him. No comparison.

If you don't like it stop listening to Sportsound when the Yam are playing.

25-01-2025, 05:00 PM

Don't we all know Preston is a Yam supporter with a mic. Sportsound clearly happy to give him a paid platform to commentate/support Hearts. I've listened to other Radio channels and there is no other broadcaster like him. No comparison.

If you don't like it stop listening to Sportsound when the Yam are playing.I didn't get to where I am today by reading threads that are unreadable.

25-01-2025, 05:02 PM
Did anybody else watch open all mics when it turned to BBC towards the end of the games?

That hearts ******* Brian Mclaughlin farted during the Hearts match report 😂, I couldn’t believe my ears so I rewinded it to check and he definitely did.

I’ve obviously recorded it so if anyone’s got any contacts at the red tips willing to pay a significant sum for me to send it on to them, let me know.

25-01-2025, 05:09 PM
You couldn’t get a more anti hibs, commentating, than Alan Preston, he seems to do hibs every week.

To be fair, he does show more emotion reporting on Hibs performances than most of the others even if he is Hearts biased. It the fact that, in his eyes , every Hearts goal or move is “ brilliant play” that gets on my tits.

25-01-2025, 05:24 PM

All valid complaints about apparently a neutral national broadcaster

25-01-2025, 05:32 PM

Pat Bonner is the same

Cabbage-Patch
25-01-2025, 05:37 PM

Sportsound has been honking for years now and I can no longer listen. Final straw was Richard Gordon leaving who whilst die hard Aberdeen fan at least appeared to pretend to be non bias a lot of the time.

It's a total Rangers Hearts love in. All our games are commentated on by Jambos. Every team has thier own pundit except us. Dinosaurs like Willie Miller and Chick Young still employed in 2025 is mental. Needs done away with and something more fresh for next season.

25-01-2025, 05:42 PM
There was a slight variance from the norm today as they had Paul Mitchell covering the hertz game.

Ah but wait, Paul is a man of the cloth and a self confessed jambo.

Just another one of the gang employed by BBC scotland.

25-01-2025, 05:56 PM
We have more BBC licence fee funded club cheerleaders than rational, unbiased guest footballing commentators on BBC Scotlands flagship football broadcast.

It’s been allowed to evolve into this now almost unlistenable mess of a programme which is a real pity.

25-01-2025, 06:03 PM
Did anybody else watch open all mics when it turned to BBC towards the end of the games?

That hearts ******* Brian Mclaughlin farted during the Hearts match report 😂, I couldn’t believe my ears so I rewinded it to check and he definitely did.

I’ve obviously recorded it so if anyone’s got any contacts at the red tips willing to pay a significant sum for me to send it on to them, let me know.

I assume it came out of his mouth.

25-01-2025, 06:36 PM
All valid complaints about apparently a neutral national broadcaster

Politically neutral - it’s supposed to be

25-01-2025, 07:37 PM
Politically neutral - it’s supposed to be

Supposed to

25-01-2025, 07:43 PM
I switched the coverage off at half time.

Derek Ferguson “hearts are my 2nd team” was waxing lyrical while they biscuits, Robbo and co were taking the usual pish.

Then Hibs scored and not a single mention after the goal was announced. Just went back to VAR, Kettlewell, Aberdeen are crap and Hearts are great aren’t they.

25-01-2025, 08:08 PM
Amazed people still actually listen to that pish. It's like a Hertz reunion.

25-01-2025, 08:41 PM
Just as a matter of interest has anyone ever made a formal complaint to BBC Scotland regarding the coverage of Hibs on this joke of a programme and if so what was the response. I never listen to it personally but I am still concerned how they are allowed to get away with the blatant bias. I doubt if any other club in the UK is treated similarly.

25-01-2025, 09:45 PM
I don't suppose people have thought, former hibs players go on to better things, whilst former hearts players can't get a decent gig?

25-01-2025, 10:10 PM

Derek Ferguson “hearts are my 2nd team” was waxing lyrical while they biscuits, Robbo and co were taking the usual pish.

Then Hibs scored and not a single mention after the goal was announced. Just went back to VAR, Kettlewell, Aberdeen are crap and Hearts are great aren’t they.

Ferguson did play for them to be fair

25-01-2025, 10:35 PM
I put it on bbc1 after the Hibs game, but even watching it rather than just listening, it’s a shambles. Idiots just shouting over each other, be as well listening to a bunch of dafties sitting at a table in the pub talking crap about hearts/rangers as putting this on. First time in a long time, and the last

The Baldmans Comb
26-01-2025, 05:13 AM
The last time I listened to this drivel was around the last time I paid the licence fee as David Francy was always good for a laugh commentating.

Do Scottish people still pay the licence fee to an official state broadcaster that never hides exactly where it's allegiance lies. ❓ Madness. ❓

26-01-2025, 09:08 AM

Yup.

Pre game for every match they went to the pundit at the ground for the team news, they then discussed it in the studio and talked a wee bit abut the respective clubs. Apart from one game, ours moved straight onto the championship, and yep talked in detail about those games too.

26-01-2025, 10:47 PM
Yup.

Pre game for every match they went to the pundit at the ground for the team news, they then discussed it in the studio and talked a wee bit abut the respective clubs. Apart from one game, ours moved straight onto the championship, and yep talked in detail about those games too.

no interview with the manager which has happened a few times with Hibs from mammory.

The Rebel
26-01-2025, 10:57 PM
no interview with the manager which has happened a few times with Hibs from mammory.

There’s definitely a mammary or two on Sportsound on a weekly basis 😅

Hibees1973
02-03-2025, 09:24 PM
Was listening to the post match comments of John Robertson today.

I must admit to a grudging admiration of wee Robbo, no matter how many times he left me in the pits of depression in the 80s & 90s.

His comments today were very fair and complimentary towards Hibs and David Gray, in particular. I felt him giving positive comments on Hibs, comes a lot more easier for him than the likes of Preston or Stewart, who both at times, seem to have a hidden agenda (and not a very well hidden one) on Hibs.

Cabbage-Patch
03-03-2025, 03:57 AM
Was listening to the post match comments of John Robertson today.

I must admit to a grudging admiration of wee Robbo, no matter how many times he left me in the pits of depression in the 80s & 90s.

His comments today were very fair and complimentary towards Hibs and David Gray, in particular. I felt him giving positive comments on Hibs, comes a lot more easier for him than the likes of Preston or Stewart, who both at times, seem to have a hidden agenda (and not a very well hidden one) on Hibs.

He grew up a hibby apparently. My old man was mates with his brother George growing up.

03-03-2025, 06:05 AM
Did you hear Goodwins interview in the run up to them kicking off against Aberdeen, it's almost unhinged, he is so bitter. I'm glad Nisbet ruined his day.

03-03-2025, 06:11 AM
He grew up a hibby apparently. My old man was mates with his brother George growing up.

Wasn't he a Rangers fan according to an unearthed match programme interview from years ago?

He's here!
03-03-2025, 06:28 AM
Wasn't he a Rangers fan according to an unearthed match programme interview from years ago?

No definitely a Hibs fan as he's often acknowledged. Think one of his other brothers played for Rangers.

McLeish looked into signing him for Hibs when we were in the First Division but he opted for Livi. Think he felt the yam connection was simply too strong. Would have been good to see him scoring for us for a change!

03-03-2025, 07:34 AM
Did you hear Goodwins interview in the run up to them kicking off against Aberdeen, it's almost unhinged, he is so bitter. I'm glad Nisbet ruined his day.

I don’t think I’ve shouted as many swear words at a radio as I did when he was on.

Total gaslighting that went completely unchallenged by the reporter.

03-03-2025, 11:36 AM
Listened to some of the bbc sports podcast earlier, strangely the sound quality was a bit off, it was like they were recording near some huge crowd making a real racket :wink:

Agree about Robertson, he was speaking in very positive terms about Hibs

Cat Stanton
03-03-2025, 08:53 PM

What was he saying?

03-03-2025, 09:41 PM
What was he saying?

He was still talking post match about them getting a goal chopped off midweek

03-03-2025, 09:48 PM

It was more annoying than that - talked about us getting six points because of goals being disallowed against us incorrectly. Gaslighting.

03-03-2025, 09:49 PM

We got back to the car and heard his pre match through before the Aberdeen game.

He mentioned twice with no prompting required that hibs had been fortunate with decisions from var against Celtic and Dundee United.

Would love a reporter to have mentioned that Dundee United are top of the favourable decisions going for your team table
and the fact the decision they got at Easter road and penalty not go against them in the same match. Sounded so so so bitter.

03-03-2025, 09:50 PM
It was more annoying than that - talked about us getting six points because of goals being disallowed against us incorrectly. Gaslighting.

He’s acting like a man under pressure who’s throwing excuses about so no one focuses on his team collapsing twice in a few days. Late goals to drop 5 points - showing a soft centre and a weak mentality in his team.

Excuses like he’s using will work through to the players and they’ll look for excuses too instead of standing up and taking responsibility. IMO

03-03-2025, 09:51 PM
He’s acting like a man under pressure who’s throwing excuses about so no one focuses on his team collapsing twice in a few days. Late goals to drop 5 points - showing a soft centre and a weak mentality in his team.

Excuses like he’s using will work through to the players and they’ll look for excuses too instead of standing up and taking responsibility. IMO

He's in no way under pressure. He's just a complete and utter ****.

03-03-2025, 09:54 PM
He's in no way under pressure. He's just a complete and utter ****.

I think when he’s under pressure that shines through even more.

04-03-2025, 06:08 AM
He also mentioned that celtic got an apology on the VAR decision regarding the ball being out of play, I'm not sure if that's the case.

04-03-2025, 07:12 AM
He also mentioned that celtic got an apology on the VAR decision regarding the ball being out of play, I'm not sure if that's the case.

You are right, its not the case.

Collum spoke to Dundee Utd on the Thursday, but didnt speak to Rogers - which tells you what Collum thought about the decision.

Goodwin is getting confused with the KMI panel (including journalists and ex pros) considering 4-1 that VAR got it wrong. That panel has no more weight than 5 guys down the pub.

I listened to Goodwins interview, he was ranting like a deranged man about the VAR stuff, clearly rattled by Hibs (embarrassing that he was moaning about a decision against Celtic, really).

What was - once again - irritating, was that his interviewer didnt pull him up on his nonsense about an apology to Celtic.

I am sure he thinks hes just defending his club, but given his - again unchallenged - statements about Porteous, and his total bollocks about Wednesday night, he is demonstrating that he is a total walloper.

04-03-2025, 11:28 AM
You are right, its not the case.

Collum spoke to Dundee Utd on the Thursday, but didnt speak to Rogers - which tells you what Collum thought about the decision.

Goodwin is getting confused with the KMI panel (including journalists and ex pros) considering 4-1 that VAR got it wrong. That panel has no more weight than 5 guys down the pub.

I listened to Goodwins interview, he was ranting like a deranged man about the VAR stuff, clearly rattled by Hibs (embarrassing that he was moaning about a decision against Celtic, really).

What was - once again - irritating, was that his interviewer didnt pull him up on his nonsense about an apology to Celtic.

I am sure he thinks hes just defending his club, but given his - again unchallenged - statements about Porteous, and his total bollocks about Wednesday night, he is demonstrating that he is a total walloper.

It’s the lack of challenge or correction to these statements that’s frustrating - and why I’m calling it gaslighting.

He’s just presented a different reality to what’s actually happened, their goal was definitely and demonstrably a handball. To cite it as a perfectly good goal is to deny the evidence. He *might* have a case that VAR didn’t have a cast iron conclusive angle on it and it *might* be the case that whoever he met with thought VAR shouldn’t have intervened, but if VAR hadn’t disallowed it, they’d have gotten away with a handball goal.

The fact he was talking about clear and obvious being the criteria for checking shows he doesn’t know the application of VAR.

It doesn’t help then that the pundits are also poorly informed on the VAR process as they just accept what he’s said.

04-03-2025, 12:06 PM
If you keep telling yourself something is true when it’s not you actually just believe it

Goodwin classless fraud

SDG - absolute class win or lose

04-03-2025, 01:59 PM
It’s the lack of challenge or correction to these statements that’s frustrating - and why I’m calling it gaslighting.

He’s just presented a different reality to what’s actually happened, their goal was definitely and demonstrably a handball. To cite it as a perfectly good goal is to deny the evidence. He *might* have a case that VAR didn’t have a cast iron conclusive angle on it and it *might* be the case that whoever he met with thought VAR shouldn’t have intervened, but if VAR hadn’t disallowed it, they’d have gotten away with a handball goal.

The fact he was talking about clear and obvious being the criteria for checking shows he doesn’t know the application of VAR.

It doesn’t help then that the pundits are also poorly informed on the VAR process as they just accept what he’s said.

Good point about clear and obvious.

If I had £10 for every pundit who used the same phrase without understanding the rules I would be a wealthy man.