View Full Version : Hearts home - build up thread

20-10-2024, 07:19 AM
Tough to start another build up thread after yesterday’s disaster / horror show / collapse.

Sunday 27th home we play Hearts with a 12 kick off. Game is sold out (possibly the odd single seat available via ticket exchange).

Hibs are on a terrible run - 1 win in 8 games. Losing 5 out of the 8 games so far. Last home win and only win this season was St Johnstone on 14th September. We also kept a clean sheet that day. It’s also the only game this season Hibs haven’t conceded a goal. So basically we always lose a goal to the opposition each week!

Hearts have played one more game than Hibs with 9 games and also sit on same points 5. They also have only won 1 game in 9 and 2 wins in last 14 games. They won 4-0 yesterday against St Mirren. Hearts haven’t won an away league game since 6th April. The new manager has started well but if he loses the derby Hearts fans will be asking questions again.

Hibs last Derby win was April 2023 - 1-0 - Nisbet winner. Hearts unbeaten in last 4 derbies but 3 draws. The last home derby for Hibs saw x2 penalty misses and a last minute winner.

Hibs are a mess right now and have no idea what team Gray and co will play. I doubt they even know what to do after yesterday.

The club captain Newell is unavailable for getting sent off - Triantis will be back which should help the midfield.

Hibs have to decide whether to play 3 or 4 at the back which means possibly 2 up front. We seriously lack speed so expect Boyle to start but I would also start Youan as he seems to do well in these games.

Hearts lined up with a formation like a 4-4-2 yesterday. The left back area of Hearts is weak spot. Hearts will have Grant back from suspension also.

This is a massive game for the club - it’s a derby and anything can happen but feels like Hibs going to need a miracle to even get a draw in this game. Draw will probably suit Hearts more than Hibs too.

Last season the last minute home Derby loss felt like a pivotal moment for Monty as following that Hearts went on a good run and Hibs became worse and don’t think Monty never recovered.

If there was ever a game to get some fans back onside it was a Derby win for Gray but we are conceding goals so easily and we are the lowest scorers in the league with Ross County on 8 goals.

Over to you Hibs…show me you have some mental toughness and quality..

20-10-2024, 10:48 AM
This game should take care of itself, but with really only the manager a true Hibbie it must make it hard to instill it into foreign players what this means to us.
They are professionals they should still want to win every game!!!

NC1875
20-10-2024, 10:54 AM
This game should take care of itself, but with really only the manager a true Hibbie it must make it hard to instill it into foreign players what this means to us.
They are professionals they should still want to win every game!!!

We’ve had teams with many hibbies in it and still **** the bed most times against them.

I’d very surprised if we get anything from the game with this bunch of losers to be fair.

One saving grace is Killie and Ross County play each other so we could potentially only be 1 point adrift at the bottom.

Good times. Trust the process

20-10-2024, 10:55 AM
Can’t exactly describe what changes Gray made at half time yesterday but would like to see something similar from the start against Hearts.

Triantis in for Newall, got a rotten feeling Campbell will start though.

Right back is a problem area, with both RB’s being taken off for being ***** yesterday I don’t know what to do about that area.

Iredale did fine when he came on, Gayle deserves his start up front in a 2.

InvertedFullBak
20-10-2024, 11:03 AM
I think we’ll see a change in shape next weekend. We played very well once we changed to 3 at the back. Played a lot more for2rd thinking and on the front foot. Probably the best we’ve played all season being honest.

20-10-2024, 11:09 AM
I’m actually trying to forget we have a derby game on Sunday. Dreading the thought.

20-10-2024, 11:14 AM
I am looking forward to it in a strange sort of way.

Nobody is outplaying us despite the horrific results and I cling to a hope, however unlikely, that everything goes right for once.

FTH.

20-10-2024, 11:26 AM
Look.

Maybe they will actually decide to field eleven maroon traffic cones this time.

20-10-2024, 11:29 AM

Nobody is outplaying us despite the horrific results and I cling to a hope, however unlikely, that everything goes right for once.

FTH.

Said on another thread that there is no way the game is a complete write off. We’re crap because we lack the mentality to see things through and deal with the pressure late on in games. Despite a lot of what is said, we create chances most weeks and we will next week as well and we aren’t going to get completely outplayed or anything like that.

Do I think we’ll win the game? Not really, because I don’t trust us not to give away some idiotic goal or goals. But it’s not impossible that we could.

20-10-2024, 11:56 AM
Said on another thread that there is no way the game is a complete write off. We’re crap because we lack the mentality to see things through and deal with the pressure late on in games. Despite a lot of what is said, we create chances most weeks and we will next week as well and we aren’t going to get completely outplayed or anything like that.

Do I think we’ll win the game? Not really, because I don’t trust us not to give away some idiotic goal or goals. But it’s not impossible that we could.

Problem is, what we lack most is what you most need to win a derby.

If we were a bit lacking in inspiration but had a miserly defence, an ability to nick a goal, a few leaders and a bit of grit them I’d maybe have hope.

If you were actually to design a side incapable of winning a derby you’d probably go with this one.

If “a bunch of players who can sometimes look half decent when things are going their way” was what was required then maybe. But it’s not going to be enough.

HarpOnHibee
20-10-2024, 12:01 PM

FTH.

Teams are not outplaying us because they're not setting themselves out to outplay us. They're only too happy to sit back and watch us do nothing with the ball, then it's just a case of picking us off when the inevitable mistakes occur. Nothing to do with things going right for once. Our style of play doesn't work.

20-10-2024, 12:05 PM
Teams are not outplaying us because they're not setting themselves out to outplay us. They're only too happy to sit back and watch us do nothing with the ball, then it's just a case of picking us off when the inevitable mistakes occur. Nothing to do with things going right for once. Our style of play doesn't work.

We're chucking away winning points, must be working to some extent as we're doing enough with the ball to be ahead late into games. Biggest problem is teams know those inevitable mistakes will occur any time up to 5pm or however long a game lasts.

20-10-2024, 12:05 PM
Look.

Maybe they will actually decide to field eleven maroon traffic cones this time.

1-0 Hearts

20-10-2024, 12:06 PM

So it was some sort of masterclass by Goodwin yesterday to be 2-1 down going into stoppage time?

Tactic my erse.

20-10-2024, 12:11 PM

We're chucking away winning points, must be working to some extent as we're doing enough with the ball to be ahead late into games. Biggest problem is teams know those inevitable mistakes will occur any time up to 5pm or however long a game lasts.

20-10-2024, 12:12 PM
So it was some sort of masterclass by Goodwin yesterday to be 2-1 down going into stoppage time?

Tactic my erse.

His sub he put on with 10 mins to go did score the winner so decent management.

They also had the ball in the net 4 times in 90 mins. Obviously one goal was offside but the right hand side caused Hibs issues all game - we subbed our starting right back - we subbed the replacement Cadden 5 mins later then we changed our shape and still had issues on the right.

HarpOnHibee
20-10-2024, 12:12 PM

We score occasional goals from half chances and opposition teams switching off defensively for a moment. If you put a hundred generic crosses into the box or take a hundred pop shots at goal a small number of those will result in goals. But it's a whole lot of effort for very little return. Where as the teams we play against only need a handful of chances in order to outscore us in a game, because they focus on carving out real chances, rather than wasting energy on a high volume of chances that have little to no chance of hitting the back of the net. It's the same every time.

20-10-2024, 12:17 PM

They also had the ball in the net 4 times in 90 mins. Obviously one goal was offside but the right hand side caused Hibs issues all game - we subbed our starting right back - we subbed the replacement Cadden 5 mins later then we changed our shape and still had issues on the right.

Not sure any of that is relevant to the point I was replying to.

It was 4 times in about 102 minutes anyway.:greengrin

20-10-2024, 12:18 PM
Problem is, what we lack most is what you most need to win a derby.

If we were a bit lacking in inspiration but had a miserly defence, an ability to nick a goal, a few leaders and a bit of grit them I’d maybe have hope.

If you were actually to design a side incapable of winning a derby you’d probably go with this one.

If “a bunch of players who can sometimes look half decent when things are going their way” was what was required then maybe. But it’s not going to be enough.

The thing is, you only need to go back a couple of days and that lot would all be saying exactly the same about their side.

I don’t actually disagree with anything you say about us by the way. As much as we’ve all been here and seen how derbies go, if you just look at the two teams there are a lot of similarities. As I said, I don’t have any confidence in our players doing what they need to do to get a win but I do think it’s a 50/50 game.

20-10-2024, 12:20 PM

Cadden was subbed because he was injured to be fair. Not that that makes him any less pish right enough.

20-10-2024, 12:24 PM
Cadden was subbed because he was injured to be fair. Not that that makes him any less pish right enough.

Wasn’t aware of that.

I don’t get the Hibs and Hearts similarities chat.

They have a keeper who wins games for them and makes saves. 99.9% of time he plays amazing against Hibs. Would be nice if he had a howler on Sunday.

They have a back line who give up goals but had a clean sheet yesterday.

Midfielders who add goals.

They also have Shankland who loves to score against us and can score out of nothing.

They aren’t Real Madrid but anyone who doesn’t see Hearts as massive favourites need their heads checked.

NC1875
20-10-2024, 12:26 PM
The thing is, you only need to go back a couple of days and that lot would all be saying exactly the same about their side.

I don’t actually disagree with anything you say about us by the way. As much as we’ve all been here and seen how derbies go, if you just look at the two teams there are a lot of similarities. As I said, I don’t have any confidence in our players doing what they need to do to get a win but I do think it’s a 50/50 game.

That same Hearts squad finished 3rd last season, they just pumped St Mirren yesterday. It’s safe to say if they turn up against this bunch of weak minded losers they will win the game. And comfortably.

He's here!
20-10-2024, 12:27 PM
Tough to start another build up thread after yesterday’s disaster / horror show / collapse.

Sunday 27th home we play Hearts with a 12 kick off. Game is sold out (possibly the odd single seat available via ticket exchange).

Hibs are on a terrible run - 1 win in 8 games. Losing 5 out of the 8 games so far. Last home win and only win this season was St Johnstone on 14th September. We also kept a clean sheet that day. It’s also the only game this season Hibs haven’t conceded a goal. So basically we always lose a goal to the opposition each week!

Hearts have played one more game than Hibs with 9 games and also sit on same points 5. They also have only won 1 game in 9 and 2 wins in last 14 games. They won 4-0 yesterday against St Mirren. Hearts haven’t won an away league game since 6th April. The new manager has started well but if he loses the derby Hearts fans will be asking questions again.

Hibs last Derby win was April 2023 - 1-0 - Nisbet winner. Hearts unbeaten in last 4 derbies but 3 draws. The last home derby for Hibs saw x2 penalty misses and a last minute winner.

Hibs are a mess right now and have no idea what team Gray and co will play. I doubt they even know what to do after yesterday.

The club captain Newell is unavailable for getting sent off - Triantis will be back which should help the midfield.

Hibs have to decide whether to play 3 or 4 at the back which means possibly 2 up front. We seriously lack speed so expect Boyle to start but I would also start Youan as he seems to do well in these games.

Hearts lined up with a formation like a 4-4-2 yesterday. The left back area of Hearts is weak spot. Hearts will have Grant back from suspension also.

This is a massive game for the club - it’s a derby and anything can happen but feels like Hibs going to need a miracle to even get a draw in this game. Draw will probably suit Hearts more than Hibs too.

Last season the last minute home Derby loss felt like a pivotal moment for Monty as following that Hearts went on a good run and Hibs became worse and don’t think Monty never recovered.

If there was ever a game to get some fans back onside it was a Derby win for Gray but we are conceding goals so easily and we are the lowest scorers in the league with Ross County on 8 goals.

Over to you Hibs…show me you have some mental toughness and quality..

Not really true. A phrase to be filed alongside 'the formbook goes out the window in derbies'.

Facts are Hearts win the heavy majority of derbies (149 wins vs our 89 according to Soccerbase). We only dominate the fixture when we have an unquestionably superior team (Turnbull/McLeish eras).

I'd take a draw right now.

20-10-2024, 12:29 PM
I can't believe I'm saying this but i don't even think I'm going to watch the Derby . Absolute certainty to get pumped stupid

20-10-2024, 12:35 PM
Wasn’t aware of that.

They have a keeper who wins games for them and makes saves. 99.9% he plays amazing against Hibs.

They also have Shankland who loves to score against us and can score out of nothing.

They aren’t Real Madrid but anyone who doesn’t see Hearts as massive favourites need their heads checked.

This season none of those differences have been apparent though. Our records could hardly be more similar. It’s only a couple of weeks ago they did exactly the same thing as we did yesterday. Lead a game, stupid sending off, capitulate. They’re also one of the few teams who have actually conceded more than us as well.

Your post about their strengths doesn’t reflect where and what they actually are at the moment IMO. As I say, I’m not saying we’re going to win the game or anything like that, I’m not confident that at all. But we have a team with an equal record (with them having played one game more) so i do see us as being fairly similar.

Jakhog1
20-10-2024, 12:41 PM
Taking my wee boy to his first Derby and after yesterday's result and other games throughout this season and last he is losing interest fast, told me he doesn't want to go although I expect he will change his mind nearer game time, he was proper upset yesterday and it's a common occurrence every week now

20-10-2024, 12:41 PM
That same Hearts squad finished 3rd last season, they just pumped St Mirren yesterday. It’s safe to say if they turn up against this bunch of weak minded losers they will win the game. And comfortably.

‘If’ they do. As I keep saying, I’m not confident we will come out on the right side of the result but, having calmed down after yesterday, I fully expect it to be a game that has very little in it. We’re not going to get outplayed, we rarely do. There are a lot of ‘ifs’ about the performance of both teams IMO.

HarpOnHibee
20-10-2024, 12:44 PM
Taking my wee boy to his first Derby and after yesterday's result and other games throughout this season and last he is losing interest fast, told me he doesn't want to go although I expect he will change his mind nearer game time, he was proper upset yesterday and it's a common occurrence every week now

Take him fishing, golfing, to watch paint dry. It's not too late. He need not suffer as we have.

20-10-2024, 12:48 PM
Wasn’t aware of that.

They have a keeper who wins games for them and makes saves. 99.9% of time he plays amazing against Hibs. Would be nice if he had a howler on Sunday.

Yippee for the Gorgie galaticos. Bolt with the massive favourites nonsense.

20-10-2024, 12:49 PM
I agree defensive capitulations have cost us but it is instructive that,leaving out the OF,only 3 teams have lost less goals than we have and nobody has scored less. Seems pretty obvious where the real failure to win games lies.

Jakhog1
20-10-2024, 12:56 PM
Take him fishing, golfing, to watch paint dry. It's not too late. He need not suffer as we have.

Sometimes I feel like that but it's part and parcel of being a supporter, funnily enough I was speaking to him about taking up golf next year and he is keen at least we will get value for money.

He's here!
20-10-2024, 01:02 PM
Sometimes I feel like that but it's part and parcel of being a supporter, funnily enough I was speaking to him about taking up golf next year and he is keen at least we will get value for money.

My daughter's the only one who still goes to games and even then she much prefers the women's matches. My sons lost interest yonks ago and play other sports which is unquestionably a healthier, more productive use of their time than shelling out to watch Hibs. The 'part and parcel of being a supporter' thing doesn't really wash when a club the size of Hibs offers you almost relentless rubbish for you money. It's reasonable to expect more.

20-10-2024, 01:10 PM
My daughter's the only one who still goes to games and even then she much prefers the women's matches. My sons lost interest yonks ago and play other sports which is unquestionably a healthier, more productive use of their time than shelling out to watch Hibs. The 'part and parcel of being a supporter' thing doesn't really wash when a club the size of Hibs offers you almost relentless rubbish for you money. It's reasonable to expect more.

I’ve been saying for a few season now that it’ll be my last season ticket but as usual I buy one as I like my seat and it’s day out with my son. I’m really now at the point that if there’s not a major change in this regime it seriously will be my last ST.

The modern football passing around at the back alone had me frustrated every week and that’s before we start on the consistent underachieving and complete mismanagement at Hibs. Some of the footballing decisions are quite difficult to actually believe. I don’t think you could make more a mess if you were actually trying to **** things up. Things have to change now.

leith lynx
20-10-2024, 01:14 PM
1-0 Hearts

Already? Ffs

20-10-2024, 01:26 PM
If we can avoid the red cards, I actually think we'll win.

Bizarre, I know, but I've already put £50 on a home win

20-10-2024, 01:37 PM
If we can avoid the red cards, I actually think we'll win.

Bizarre, I know, but I've already put £50 on a home win
The new manager made a few tweaks and got the best out of them If he hadn’t arrived I might been with on putting money on
But I think they will harass us into making mistakes and beat us
They will simply want it more than us
That's two games in a row we have just gone to pieces when a man down late in the game But we have also lost late goals in a few other , games throwing away leads
Am not sure gray knows his best team ,and his subs are dire a make us worse .

Hillsidehibby
20-10-2024, 02:31 PM
I was the lone Hibby in a group of Jambos last night and they all said they would be happy with a draw.
2-2 it is then.

He's here!
20-10-2024, 02:31 PM
Yippee for the Gorgie galaticos. Bolt with the massive favourites nonsense.

They're not 'massive' favourites but it'll be a surprise if they don't win.

Looking at the league table I hadn't realised Rangers only have 16 points. The new Hearts boss will be quietly setting their sights on a tilt at the top four despite their dire start.

20-10-2024, 02:44 PM

Looking at the league table I hadn't realised Rangers only have 16 points. The new Hearts boss will be quietly setting their sights on a tilt at the top four despite their dire start.

You do realise they are level with us on points? On a similar point you do realise this is the forum for the green half of Edinburgh?

20-10-2024, 03:18 PM

Your trolling is legendary :greengrin

He's here!
20-10-2024, 03:56 PM
You do realise they are level with us on points? On a similar point you do realise this is the forum for the green half of Edinburgh?

As in we should only post supportive things about the club? Happy to oblige if there was anything positive to say, but the club these days is a joke. Admitting that Hearts' fortunes are more likely to be turned around than ours is just plain honesty.

20-10-2024, 05:03 PM

We all know the script flash, Hibs will contrive to **** up a derby under almost any circumstances.

20-10-2024, 05:06 PM
Your trolling is legendary :greengrin

aye been busy this weekend as Hearts finally win…

20-10-2024, 05:14 PM
I’ve been saying for a few season now that it’ll be my last season ticket but as usual I buy one as I like my seat and it’s day out with my son. I’m really now at the point that if there’s not a major change in this regime it seriously will be my last ST.

The modern football passing around at the back alone had me frustrated every week and that’s before we start on the consistent underachieving and complete mismanagement at Hibs. Some of the footballing decisions are quite difficult to actually believe. I don’t think you could make more a mess if you were actually trying to **** things up. Things have to change now.

Ditto.

Its just too wearing and pointless now.

20-10-2024, 05:15 PM
Our goalie and two centre halves will need to stand up to the test that the derby brings. And cope with a stand full of away fans behind them second half. They will need to show a steel that hasn't been evident so far. I would start Rocky in there.

David. Why not set us up to attack and press them all over the park to get the fans right up for it and on-side. Go for the throat from the off. We must be more direct and aggressive in our attacking play.

With the state we are in If we start slow and ponderous for a 12noon Sunday K.O we are not taking advantage of being at home, and if the first goal goes against us the atmosphere will die off and frustration will kick in.

20-10-2024, 05:23 PM
Our goalie and two centre halves will need to stand up to the test that the derby brings. And cope with a stand full of away fans behind them second half. They will need to show a steel that hasn't been evident so far. I would start Rocky in there.

David. Why not set us up to attack and press them all over the park to get the fans right up for it and on-side. Go for the throat from the off. We must be more direct and aggressive in our attacking play.

With the state we are in If we start slow and ponderous for a 12noon Sunday K.O we are not taking advantage of being at home, and if the first goal goes against us the atmosphere will die off and frustration will kick in.

We simply have to get after them from the off, get the crowd up and try to take advantage of the fact they’ve been playing on the Thursday night. No pissing about making 300 passes before we go forward. Simple football, get balls in to the channels for the likes of Boyle to get after, get their defence turned and make them work.

Gray has to come up with something a bit different be it system, personnel, approach or whatever. He can’t just do the same thing that he’s been doing week in, week out and just wait on the inevitable collapse defensively.

20-10-2024, 05:28 PM
Dreading it. No worse feeling than watching a full away end having time of their lives in our stadium. And it will probably happen.

Ron and his laddie have taken all joy of supporting Hibs. All joy.

20-10-2024, 05:44 PM
The state we are in atm it’s pretty hard to feel optimistic if I’m being honest. Hearts are hardly great themselves but yesterday will have been a nice wee confidence booster and they just have a different mentality to us when it comes to Derbies. Derbies are everything to them so even when they aren’t doing well they always manage to get themselves right up for it. As much as we laugh at hearts sometimes for treating us like a cup final, I can’t help but Wish we were a bit more like that sometimes and maybe we’d win a few more. Let’s be honest, we’re pathetic v hearts far too often.

I have no doubt next Sunday will be the latest in a long long line of let downs and another kick in the teeth for us fans.

Sorry for being a downer, I’m just so pissed off at Hibs atm and finding it difficult to see anything other than a loss next week.

20-10-2024, 05:49 PM

Being level on points with Hearts who have just experienced their worst start to a league campaign is nothing to take consolation in. What an opportunity to get a half decent lead on them early doors that we have wasted.

kentao
20-10-2024, 05:59 PM
Hearts are 15/8 on skybet at least we can all make money out of the situation.

20-10-2024, 06:25 PM
We all know the script flash, Hibs will contrive to **** up a derby under almost any circumstances.

To the delight of a few on here.

Hibees1973
20-10-2024, 06:46 PM
Can almost predict what will happen.

Some in the team will show some pseudo fight, bordering on reckless.

We will miss a glaring chance then lose a goal on the breakaway. Then one of our clowns, maybe Miller or Obita will get sent off which will lead to the game spiralling out of control and us losing by at least 3 goals.

It's gone beyond farce now. Really don't know where to start to turn this round but sadly Gray is out of his depth.

Can only see a character like McInnes instilling a semblance of organisation in this squad.

Hopefully we can limp towards January and not being cut adrift. Then McInnes can tell Malky to eff off and leave him to sign some players suited for this league.

I'm not saying McInnes is going to sort us long term but we need someone like him in now to get some steel and function in this team to make us safe this season and competitive going forward.

20-10-2024, 06:46 PM
They play midweek in Europe so hopefully be gubbed on Sunday.

20-10-2024, 06:47 PM
They play midweek in Europe so hopefully be gubbed on Sunday.

I wouldn’t be surprised if they prioritise the derby and rest a few on Thursday.

20-10-2024, 06:47 PM
I worry things might get quite toxic next week if it goes pear shaped.

I do think it will be aimed rightfully at the board first though

20-10-2024, 06:48 PM

Something like £400k if they win midweek? No chance

20-10-2024, 06:59 PM
Something like £400k if they win midweek? No chance

Nothing matters to Hearts more than beating Hibs. Nothing. The new manager has been in the building less than a week and he’ll be well aware of that already.

20-10-2024, 06:59 PM
Being level on points with Hearts who have just experienced their worst start to a league campaign is nothing to take consolation in. What an opportunity to get a half decent lead on them early doors that we have wasted.

I think you misunderstood the post you replied to.

It wasn't a suggestion that we should take any consolation in it, it was a response to another poster that predicted Hearts being in the top four... despite them having had exactly the same ****ty results as us

20-10-2024, 07:03 PM

If we lose next week it’ll be worse than quite toxic. It’ll be open season and nobody, even Gray, will avoid it.

I pray it doesn’t come to that. For all the chat about how bad we are, and we are bad, it doesn’t take very much to get you up the table in this league. I just really hope we can start turning things round.

Murphys Touch
20-10-2024, 07:03 PM
Out of nowhere their whole club will be kicking their lips at the prospect of pumping us next week

Our whole club will be going into it petrified

That alone means we are right up against it and need to gods to be shining on us

20-10-2024, 07:04 PM
Nothing matters to Hearts more than beating Hibs. Nothing. The new manager has been in the building less than a week and he’ll be well aware of that already.

£400k and 6 points from 6 puts them in with a great chance of qualifying for the next stage. I'd be hugely surprised if they rest anyone.

Hibs Go Bragh
20-10-2024, 07:13 PM
We simply have to get after them from the off, get the crowd up and try to take advantage of the fact they’ve been playing on the Thursday night. No pissing about making 300 passes before we go forward. Simple football, get balls in to the channels for the likes of Boyle to get after, get their defence turned and make them work.

Gray has to come up with something a bit different be it system, personnel, approach or whatever. He can’t just do the same thing that he’s been doing week in, week out and just wait on the inevitable collapse defensively.

The problem is if we go a goal ahead or even 2-0 up the whole stadium is still going to be nervous. Hearts will know even the slightest bit of pressure they’ll be back in the game.
The keeper and defence have created this and it’s become a habit now. This would be a really really good time to prove we are capable of breaking that habit. Please Hibs!

20-10-2024, 07:17 PM
The problem is if we go a goal ahead or even 2-0 up the whole stadium is still going to be nervous. Hearts will know even the slightest bit of pressure they’ll be back in the game.
The keeper and defence have created this and it’s become a habit now. This would be a really really good time to prove we are capable of breaking that habit. Please Hibs!

I’d settle for going 2-0 up so we can find out to be fair.

Far bigger issue for me is them going in front. If that happens, the place will just turn and it won’t be pretty.

Contador
20-10-2024, 07:23 PM
Reality is, even without their convincing 4-0 win yesterday they would probably still turn up and beat us, getting a result in this fixture no matter how good or bad their form is typically what they do most of the time.

I see nothing character wise about this squad that suggests they'll have the fire required for it. Unfortunately no matter the personnel at Hearts they treat this fixture more like a cup final.

Any sort of defeat and I fear its the beginning of the end for SDG.

20-10-2024, 08:05 PM
Reality is, even without their convincing 4-0 win yesterday they would probably still turn up and beat us, getting a result in this fixture no matter how good or bad their form is typically what they do most of the time.

I see nothing character wise about this squad that suggests they'll have the fire required for it. Unfortunately no matter the personnel at Hearts they treat this fixture more like a cup final.

Any sort of defeat and I fear its the beginning of the end for SDG.

Agreed. This is a must win for David Gray to keep his job. If he goes, the rest of them all go as well, starting with Malky.

Hibees1973
20-10-2024, 08:22 PM

Exactly.

The squad know they are chicken hearted, we know it, all the other clubs in the SPFL know it. All the evidence is there from the first 8 games this season. Panic sets in late into games and we constantly lose late goals. Gray won't be able to solve that between now and next Sunday.

The team, no matter who is in it, crumble under the slightest pressure. Opposition managers target our full backs. They are the weakest in the league.

It's got that bad we know someone is going to melt under pressure and bottle it. It's just a question of who it is. This weak mentality has infected the whole squad now.

Only a change in manager (know there must be change further up) is going to alter the course we are on.

20-10-2024, 08:42 PM

This Hibs team just folds like a pack of cards under any sort of pressure. It doesn't matter whether you were at the game yesterday, watching on a dodgy firestick or just watching the scores on Sky Soccer Saturday, when we went down to 10 men every single Hibs fan knew we would conceded one goal a least. We have no backbone whatsoever.

If we are lucky enough to still be in the game with 10 minutes to go next week, the whole stadium will be a bag of nerves cause we know what's likely to happen.

20-10-2024, 08:46 PM
Out of nowhere their whole club will be kicking their lips at the prospect of pumping us next week

Our whole club will be going into it petrified

That alone means we are right up against it and need to gods to be shining on us

Yep it’s quite incredible the turnaround in a few weeks. After a “positive” showing v rangers and hearts not being able to buy a win yet alone score a goal, they now go into the game with more confidence than us. Typical Hibs

20-10-2024, 09:37 PM
Got the feel of a “ must not lose” for David Gray.

I feel that a defeat will see pressure come perhaps not so much from the stands (the supporters anger will be aimed towards Mackay & Kensell) but from the BK group.

They’re not going to sit and watch a downward spiral develop, and free of sentiment, they could push for a very quick change.

Hopefully there will be anger within the squad at the manner of yesterday’s collapse, and we’ll see a Hibs team getting properly wired in from the start - playing in a more direct and quicker paced style. We saw how we can produce that in the second half for large parts yesterday up till Newell’s dismissal.

Like everyone else, Hearts won’t need to create a lot of chances against us to score. If you get 3 shots on target you’re probably scoring two of them. Our trump card next week could be Boyle - his direct running should cause problems and hopefully open up the Hearts defence and hopefully we can see some goals ourselves.

I'm Spartacus
20-10-2024, 10:31 PM
If we lose this derby then there has to be huge huge structure changes within the club, not one player cares.

21-10-2024, 08:58 AM
I’m actually really looking forward to the game - with all the doom and gloom a win would be pretty enjoyable considering the circumstances.

MKHIBEE
21-10-2024, 09:03 AM
If we lose this derby then there has to be huge huge structure changes within the club, not one player cares.

Only if we lose?

21-10-2024, 09:07 AM
To the delight of a few on here.

I'm as happy clappy as they come but saturday has knocked the stuffing out of me. Nothing at Hibs is bringing me any joy whatsoever at the moment.

I think thats the same for a lot of people.

21-10-2024, 09:08 AM

Of course the vast majority of the players care. They just aren't very good at football.

21-10-2024, 09:09 AM
I'm as happy clappy as they come but saturday has knocked the stuffing out of me. Nothing at Hibs is bringing me any joy whatsoever at the moment.

I think thats the same for a lot of people.

Of course it is. That's not what my post was about. It was aimed at the very small minority of posters on here who seem to revel in our misery.

HarpOnHibee
21-10-2024, 09:14 AM

There needs to be huge structure changes regardless. A derby result should have no baring on that at all.

21-10-2024, 10:55 PM
Always a nervous wait before the Derby, very crucial one for both teams who both need 3 points, 0-0.

Crutch
21-10-2024, 11:26 PM
Always a nervous wait before the Derby, very crucial one for both teams who both need 3 points, 0-0.
Exact same for me.

0-0 seems near impossible given the state of our defending of late. But convinced it’ll happen. See it being one of those where neither team leaves particularly happy, or raging.

22-10-2024, 12:03 AM
I just find the thought of derbies so depressing due to our history of them

We can be the third best team in the country, in form and hearts the worst and they’d still beat us. If it was the opposite way hearts would still win.

Even this weekend, hearts will be the favourites with the new managers, players and last week results.

You’re hoping for an upset and if it was the other way about hearts would probably win.

I want to try and convince myself that we’ll finally get a win over them, turn the corner, everything will click and the players will stand up and be counted etc but I just can’t see it.

Gray keeps saying we need to improve in both boxes.

The two keepers and two strikers are the main ones. Both of theirs are capable of winning the game for them, ours aren’t. I like Myk, but he’s not got than air of match winner about him yet or that he’ll produce something from nothing.

Hope I’m proved wrong

sauzee1989
22-10-2024, 12:12 AM

We can be the third best team in the country, in form and hearts the worst and they’d still beat us. If it was the opposite way hearts would still win.

Even this weekend, hearts will be the favourites with the new managers, players and last week results.

You’re hoping for an upset and if it was the other way about hearts would probably win.

I want to try and convince myself that we’ll finally get a win over them, turn the corner, everything will click and the players will stand up and be counted etc but I just can’t see it.

The two keepers and two strikers are the main ones. Both of theirs are capable of winning the game for them, ours aren’t. I like Myk, but he’s not got than air of match winner about him yet or that he’ll produce something from nothing.

Hope I’m proved wrong

Funny thing is hearts are underdogs according to bookies which is crazy 2/1 👀

22-10-2024, 03:16 AM
Not one? Don't agree there. Many of them care, they just aren't very good.

Exactly.

The squad know they are chicken hearted, we know it, all the other clubs in the SPFL know it. All the evidence is there from the first 8 games this season. Panic sets in late into games and we constantly lose late goals. Gray won't be able to solve that between now and next Sunday.

The team, no matter who is in it, crumble under the slightest pressure. Opposition managers target our full backs. They are the weakest in the league.

It's got that bad we know someone is going to melt under pressure and bottle it. It's just a question of who it is. This weak mentality has infected the whole squad now.

Only a change in manager (know there must be change further up) is going to alter the course we are on.

Tbf, a lot of our fans utterly ***** themselves too. 10 minute to go, every bad pass brings moans and groans. It doesn't help.

22-10-2024, 06:30 AM
Funny thing is hearts are underdogs according to bookies which is crazy 2/1 👀

Now I understand how most folk will see this but it's almost as if Hertz haven't won an away game in months.

22-10-2024, 06:37 AM
Now I understand how most folk will see this but it's almost as if Hertz haven't won an away game in months.

Exactly. Its Hearts ffs. Play Thursday night as well, fair enough at home.

22-10-2024, 06:46 AM
Not one? Don't agree there. Many of them care, they just aren't very good.

Tbf, a lot of our fans utterly ***** themselves too. 10 minute to go, every bad pass brings moans and groans. It doesn't help.

Nolite Te *******es Carborundorum.

Unfortunately, they've ground us down over a number of years and that's why the support is like that. It's the inevitability of what's coming next.

WestStandWillie
22-10-2024, 07:17 AM
It’s going to be the usual insipid game of chess from both sides.

The last 5 Derbies have shown that there’s precious little between both sides.

2-1 Hibs, bit of class from Gayle to win it.

22-10-2024, 07:18 AM

Step up Hibernian to help them right that wrong

22-10-2024, 07:23 AM
Step up Hibernian to help them right that wrong

Cheers for validating the first bit of my post Stuart. :greengrin

He's here!
22-10-2024, 09:07 AM

Hope I’m proved wrong

It's not true that Hearts always win the fixture even when we're the better team. Yes, in our greatest era (early 50s) we had an issue with derbies but throughout the late 60s and 70s we thoroughly dominated them. McLeish's side also put the fear into Hearts.

Where Hearts mostly cash in is when both sides are of relatively similar standard. It seems we have to be the better team by a distance to really take a hold of the fixture. And unfortunately those times are rare.

Contador
22-10-2024, 10:17 AM
I don't see them playing on Thursday being of benefit to us tbh, if anything it may suit them.

With it being at home it's a chance for the new manager to get his ideas across before/during/after a competitive fixture. Hearts have a fairly large squad this season and alongside the 5 subs they will be able to rotate no bother - they only gave Shankland 60 mins on Saturday as an example.

If they get a draw on Thursday it will be a huge lift for them as they will qualify out the league phase with a win at home to the Romanian mob that they are still due to play, further feel good factor for them going into Sunday compared with us who are in the mud.

You often hear the best managers, Klopp, Pep, Arteta talk about rhythm of players playing games. Can often have a benefit which can negate any fatigue concerns.

22-10-2024, 12:59 PM
I don't see them playing on Thursday being of being to us tbh, if anything it may suit them.

With it being at home it's a chance for the new manager to get his ideas across before/during/after a competitive fixture. Hearts have a fairly large squad this season and alongside the 5 subs they will be able to rotate no bother - they only gave Shankland 60 mins on Saturday as an example.

If they get a draw on Thursday it will be a huge lift for them as they will qualify out the league phase with a win at home to the Romanian mob that they are still due to play, further feel good factor for them going into Sunday compared with us who are in the mud.

You often hear the best managers, Klopp, Pep, Arteta talk about rhythm of players playing games. Can often have a benefit which can negate any fatigue concerns.
Only problem with your comment, is the players they have at their disposal.
Best team in Scotland at the moment, Celtic and look how well they are doing in Europe!
Hertz have not got any great players, and another game midweek, so we have to start the game fast and hope they are slightly fatigued.

Contador
22-10-2024, 01:42 PM
Best team in Scotland at the moment, Celtic and look how well they are doing in Europe!
Hertz have not got any great players, and another game midweek, so we have to start the game fast and hope they are slightly fatigued.

Not for one minute suggesting they do have a quality squad, but the point remains that in modern football with 5 subs, size of squads enabling rotation, sport science etc the impact of a busier schedule doesn’t hit as hard fatigue wise as it used to, and per original point it’s also offset but the rhythm of having games, particularly with a new manager.

Starting well is imperative, but them having a midweek game gives me zero extra comfort when it comes to worrying about our ***** collapsing yet again towards the end of the game.

snedzuk
22-10-2024, 02:09 PM

3 points available against them and 3 against Ross County next Wednesday night. We play this weekend a day after County so if Hearts are fatigued against us on Sunday, won't we be next Wedensday. Whatever the result on Sunday, next Wednesday's result is a biggie and we need to be on it for that, regardless of Sunday.

22-10-2024, 02:13 PM
We played Rangers, St Mirren and Killie all after they played in their euro games - lost 2 - drew 1

22-10-2024, 02:28 PM

Against a Hibs team who have managed only 5 league wins at home all calendar year! Opposition was Dundee, Ross county, Livingston, Motherwell (bottom 6) and St Johnstone. Horrific

22-10-2024, 02:37 PM
Against a Hibs team who have managed only 5 league wins at home all calendar year! Opposition was Dundee, Ross county, Livingston, Motherwell (bottom 6) and St Johnstone. Horrific

It's going to be a long week with both Hibs and Hertz fan forums full of people telling everyone how crap we are.

ruthven_raiders
22-10-2024, 03:08 PM
It's not true that Hearts always win the fixture even when we're the better team. Yes, in our greatest era (early 50s) we had an issue with derbies but throughout the late 60s and 70s we thoroughly dominated them. McLeish's side also put the fear into Hearts.

Where Hearts mostly cash in is when both sides are of relatively similar standard. It seems we have to be the better team by a distance to really take a hold of the fixture. And unfortunately those times are rare.

Absolutely my dad took me to plenty derby games in the 70s and we totally dominated that era, so can be some again .....

22-10-2024, 03:19 PM
It's going to be a long week with both Hibs and Hertz fan forums full of people telling everyone how crap we are.
Telling it like it is:confused:

22-10-2024, 03:59 PM
Telling it like it is:confused:

Aye but we all know we are struggling. It's Derby week ffs and all I can read is that Hertz are a great price at the bookies and we are a bunch of no hopers despite the fact we both have the same amount of points.

It's an absolutely massive game for us on Sunday and it's definitely one we can win.

22-10-2024, 04:06 PM
The Hibs social media accounts are celebrating the anniversary of the 6-2.

Hard to believe that's 24 years ago. Almost as long as it was between the Greatest Game in History in 1973 and the 6-2.

They are certainly due a hammering from us but it sure as hell ain't coming this Sunday from that Hibs team.

23-10-2024, 07:20 PM
Starting to look forward to this now.

Probably get banned now for saying that.

23-10-2024, 07:39 PM
Hearts 15/8. Bookies know they are pish away and will be straight off the back off a European game.

Feel this is a bit similar to the 1-0 Nisbet game.

OK that's as much positivity as I can muster....

24-10-2024, 12:26 PM

Probably get banned now for saying that.

There will defo be goals. Two poor defences.

3-2 Hibs

24-10-2024, 12:44 PM

Probably get banned now for saying that.It'll never catch on.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20241024/fd2ebbccc10b6f48453dbb8f821d72e7.gif

24-10-2024, 12:47 PM
Just under 50 seats available at £60 a pop in the executive seats
Lets get right behind the team and we can get the result we all want.

24-10-2024, 02:44 PM
Fancy Kwon to score from outside the box.

Think we'll lose, but reckon he'll score.

Sioux
24-10-2024, 04:07 PM
Fancy Kwon to score from outside the box.

Think we'll lose, but reckon he'll score.

Good for you.

TheHibernator
24-10-2024, 05:07 PM
Just under 50 seats available at £60 a pop in the executive seats
Lets get right behind the team and we can get the result we all want.

The fans have been consistently brilliant for years now, the team gets far more support than the performances deserve. The support will have little effect on the result as has been proven many times.

24-10-2024, 06:33 PM
On current form, the Jambos should be favourites to win the Derby, but the bookies don’t agree. I can see them changing the odds after their win tonight.

24-10-2024, 06:41 PM
On current form, the Jambos should be favourites to win the Derby, but the bookies don’t agree. I can see them changing the odds after their win tonight.

Don’t think tonight changes much. Thought they would win and they did.

They started quick tonight which they obviously did on Saturday as well. We need to do that ourselves on Sunday. No excuses not to.

24-10-2024, 06:45 PM

They're actually longer than they were yesterday for some reason, 19/10. Not sure why. And 21/10 with 365.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 07:56 PM
Just noticed Critchley's post-match comments tonight when he was asked about the derby:

'It's drummed into you from day one. The staff who've been here for years leave you in no doubt what this game means.'

You sometimes wonder if this is drummed in in a similar way at Hibs or whether our derby record is partly down to mamagers/players not being quite so fired up about the fixture. It always seems like a matter of life and death to Hearts.

24-10-2024, 08:01 PM
Just noticed Critchley's post-match comments tonight when he was asked about the derby:

'It's drummed into you from day one. The staff who've been here for years leave you in no doubt what this game means.'

You sometimes wonder if this is drummed in in a similar way at Hibs or whether our derby record is partly down to mamagers/players not being quite so fired up about the fixture. It always seems like a matter of life and death to Hearts.I think our modern day equivalent is we have a drum, or the CEO's wee band of brothers do.

24-10-2024, 08:10 PM

You sometimes wonder if this is drummed in in a similar way at Hibs or whether our derby record is partly down to mamagers/players not being quite so fired up about the fixture. It always seems like a matter of life and death to Hearts.

Well, yes. But they haven't won anything at all for 12 years, and haven't won the League Cup for over 60 years.

Their obsession with Hibs is almost sexual......and who can blame them?

Hibees1973
24-10-2024, 08:17 PM

I wouldn't over state what it means to them. It means as much to us.

It's just words.

The difference is since the 80's they have mostly had a better side than us. That is why their record is way better since then. It's a simple as that.

Contador
24-10-2024, 08:27 PM
Well, yes. But they haven't won anything at all for 12 years, and haven't won the League Cup for over 60 years.

Their obsession with Hibs is almost sexual......and who can blame them?

Some of my most enjoyable days following Hibs have been wins against them.

I would 100% be happy to be accused of being obsessed with them if they memorable days were more frequent.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 08:36 PM

It's just words.

The difference is since the 80's they have mostly had a better side than us. That is why their record is way better since then. It's a simple as that.

That only partly explains it. Their overall win record is 149 v our 87. Those 62 extra wins haven't all come since the 80s by any means.

24-10-2024, 08:38 PM
Some of my most enjoyable days following Hibs have been wins against them.

I would 100% be happy to be accused of being obsessed with them if they memorable days were more frequent.
Likewise mate, I'm just making the point that - for them - they are ALL that matters.

24-10-2024, 08:43 PM
That only partly explains it. Their overall win record is 149 v our 87. Those 62 extra wins haven't all come since the 80s by any means.

How many have come since the 80s? A fair chunk I'd think.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 08:47 PM

Quite possibly (can't be arsed counting!) but my dad used to say the Famous Five often struggled in derbies. I think it was only the late 60s/Turnbull era where we truly turned the tables for the first time.

24-10-2024, 08:57 PM
I know none of it really matters but if I keep reading about their derby record and how good they’ve become over the last week I might not bloody bother!

I’m not going to come out with all the bravado about how we’re going to beat them and whatever, but I certainly don’t fear some kind of one sided hammering that some folk are predicting.

There was hardly anything in the games last season and I don’t think Sunday will be any different. We need to be the team that edges it for a change. We really ****ing need it.

**** the Hearts.

24-10-2024, 08:59 PM
Quite possibly (can't be arsed counting!) but my dad used to say the Famous Five often struggled in derbies. I think it was only the late 60s/Turnbull era where we truly turned the tables for the first time.

Hibs have a storied history of ****ting the bed unfortunately. Even the tornadoes and famous five. Maybe Sunday will be different.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 09:08 PM
Hibs have a storied history of ****ting the bed unfortunately. Even the tornadoes and famous five. Maybe Sunday will be different.

We can but hope.

My own memories, incidentally, of those 80s/early 90s derbies is that while Hearts went on two hefty unbeaten runs (17 and 22 games I think) a big number of those were draws. I remember hearing Darren Jackson talking about it and saying they never went out thinking Hearts were going to beat them but that even tho Hibs dominated a lot of the games Hearts just seemed to find a way not to lose. The worst for me was the 94 cup tie at ER when we battered them before Foster's breakaway goal. Utter disbelief.

24-10-2024, 09:36 PM
We can but hope.

My own memories, incidentally, of those 80s/early 90s derbies is that while Hearts went on two hefty unbeaten runs (17 and 22 games I think) a big number of those were draws. I remember hearing Darren Jackson talking about it and saying they never went out thinking Hearts were going to beat them but that even tho Hibs dominated a lot of the games Hearts just seemed to find a way not to lose. The worst for me was the 94 cup tie at ER when we battered them before Foster's breakaway goal. Utter disbelief.

Everything the fat wee nuisance hit ended up in the back of the net in those days.

As for Sunday, all the momentum is now with them and it is most certainly not with us. Like every derby I will go into it with hope... but I'm worried.

24-10-2024, 10:10 PM

Derby record horrendous no doubt but think they only beat us twice in the entire 1970s?

24-10-2024, 10:20 PM
I see the word hope a lot when it comes to hibs and derbies

It’s more of an expectation for them

The unfortunate difference between us

24-10-2024, 10:29 PM
Hearts have conceded 1 more goal than we have in the league. Just as abit of perspective when people focus in on our dodgy defence and get caught up in Hearts now being world beaters after getting their first (like us) win of the season, and beating some minnows from Cyprus..

24-10-2024, 10:33 PM
Hearts have conceded 1 more goal than we have in the league. Just as abit of perspective when people focus in on our dodgy defence and get caught up in Hearts now being world beaters after getting their first (like us) win of the season, and beating some minnows from Cyprus..

They've played a game more than us in the league though.

I get where you're coming from. Have to admit I was a bit taken aback with all the Hearts win predictions in the predictions league.

24-10-2024, 10:37 PM
They are currently on a run of 4 derbies unbeaten, a 1-0 win and 3 draws, the last of which was due to the diving bassa Vargas's cheating (which was less of a penalty than what Triantis got booked for v Motherwell).

There isn't much between the sides and it's a great chance to kick start our season. As always, the 1st goal will be massive. Their new manager bounce will come to and end soon enough, let's make it Sunday and end their run of 4 unbeaten to boot.

24-10-2024, 10:38 PM

I'm a nerd for football stats so I did have a look.

Since derbies resumed in 1983 after 4 years without one, they have won 67 and we have won 31 :rolleyes:

Shocking really, but not as shocking as the fact they were already 26 wins ahead of us by 1983... even after our 15 years of dominance from '65 to '79.

Anyway, that was then and this is now. Into them Hibs ffs!

He's here!
24-10-2024, 11:16 PM
They are currently on a run of 4 derbies unbeaten, a 1-0 win and 3 draws, the last of which was due to the diving bassa Vargas's cheating (which was less of a penalty than what Triantis got booked for v Motherwell).

There isn't much between the sides and it's a great chance to kick start our season. As always, the 1st goal will be massive. Their new manager bounce will come to and end soon enough, let's make it Sunday and end their run of 4 unbeaten to boot.

Are they not just two unbeaten? They lost at Aberdeen in the league game before the new manager arrived.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 11:19 PM

Since derbies resumed in 1983 after 4 years without one, they have won 67 and we have won 31 :rolleyes:

Shocking really, but not as shocking as the fact they were already 26 wins ahead of us by 1983... even after our 15 years of dominance from '65 to '79.

We only won 3 from 1983 to 1989 and zero from 1990 to 1994. Actually quite surprised we've won as many as 31 in that time.

24-10-2024, 11:38 PM
Born 86, had a couple of good spells with mid 90's for a bit then late 90's and early 2000's.

Stubbs and Lennon era not to bad but overall it's hearts and especially in the big games.

Really hope the players turn up Sunday and can't wait for it.

24-10-2024, 11:39 PM
Are they not just two unbeaten? They lost at Aberdeen in the league game before the new manager arrived.

4 derbies unbeaten. Mentioned it in my 1st paragraph and where I said 4 unbeaten in the 2nd paragraph it was a reference back to that, though I can see how it could be interpreted as meaning just their matches in general.

25-10-2024, 05:43 AM

It's just words.

Let’s also never forget the gimps years of cheating.

OstKurve Hibs
25-10-2024, 06:01 AM

Notice he says "by the staff who have been here for years". Al our staff who lived and breathed the club and had been here for years got their books from these cretins.
Whos gonna drum into new players what the derby means now m kensell himsel, Ian Gordon ? Pair of bell ends don't have a clue about the club and never will. ****in non sense

25-10-2024, 06:06 AM
Notice he says "by the staff who have been here for years". Al our staff who lived and breathed the club and had been here for years got their books from these cretins.
Whos gonna drum into new players what the derby means now m kensell himsel, Ian Gordon ? Pair of bell ends don't have a clue about the club and never will. ****in non sense

Maybe the manager that has been here since 2014? Or Martin Boyle? The club captain?

25-10-2024, 06:07 AM

Bet 365 has the knuckle draggers at 21/10, they were 2/1 and we have shortened in odds to 5/4
Keep the faith as the bookies certainly have faith in us.

OstKurve Hibs
25-10-2024, 06:26 AM
Maybe the manager that has been here since 2014? Or Martin Boyle? The club captain?

I should have been more clear, I meant more on the non playing/coaching side.
I think it's important to have as many folk as possible that grew up supporting the club to work there, its builds culture throughout the whole club.
Seems like we have lost that since we got taken over.

DIXIHIBS
25-10-2024, 06:35 AM

Even the tornadoes? Hibs hardly lost a game to them throughout the whole 70s. Quick check, may be wrong, but from 68 onwards Hibs only lost twice in the following 10 years, hardly shi##ing the bed.

25-10-2024, 06:37 AM

We only lost one derby in the 1970's however they spent several years in the lower leagues and teams only played each other twice in the league in those days.

25-10-2024, 06:39 AM
Bloody hell, let's just beat them and stop all this whining.

25-10-2024, 06:41 AM
I should have been more clear, I meant more on the non playing/coaching side.
I think it's important to have as many folk as possible that grew up supporting the club to work there, its builds culture throughout the whole club.
Seems like we have lost that since we got taken over.

I really don’t think that makes much of a difference. We’ve had loads of folk like that in the building and still been rank rotten in derbies. I’ve no doubt the players will know what the game means and will be desperate to win.

25-10-2024, 07:14 AM
Even the tornadoes? Hibs hardly lost a game to them throughout the whole 70s. Quick check, may be wrong, but from 68 onwards Hibs only lost twice in the following 10 years, hardly shi##ing the bed.

I wouldn't class the 1-4 at the piggery as the Tornadoes either as we had that big numpty Roddy McKenzie in goals.

The usual Tornadoes X1 only played against Hearts twice, 2-0 at ER and the 7-0 both in 72-73.

25-10-2024, 07:22 AM
Bloody hell, let's just beat them and stop all this whining.

25-10-2024, 07:22 AM
As crap as we have been this season still hilarious Hearts haven’t won the league cup for so long - 62 years ???

25-10-2024, 07:38 AM
I'm doing Tornadoes Hospitality with my brother in law for his 40th. Really looking forward to it, us being at an absolute low ebb isn't great though.

He's here!
25-10-2024, 07:56 AM
As crap as we have been this season still hilarious Hearts haven’t won the league cup for so long - 62 years ???

For a club of their size their overall record, like ours, is one of underachievement. It's their derby record which tends to mask that.

25-10-2024, 08:02 AM
For a club of their size their overall record, like ours, is one of underachievement. It's their derby record which tends to mask that.

They've turned the derby into a trophy that they play for every year.

25-10-2024, 08:20 AM
If I was the Bookies I'd be looking at it and saying "Hibs have performed a lot better than their results so far would suggest"

Eventually that converts into good results

We've been the better team at Ibrox, Tannadice, Rugby Park. We were the better side vs Motherwell and St Johnstone at home.

We've had 2 bad games (St Mirren and Celtic) but the good performances outweigh the bad.

Kwon & Triantis are a solid midfield base.

Boyle Hoillett and Gayle will cause all teams in our league problems.

We need to play the game in the opposition half though as our troubles are all at the back (and the separate issue of Elie Youan's attitude) - but I see why the bookies have us slight favourites and we have personal and professional pride to play for, in front of a sell out crowd and a wider TV audience

25-10-2024, 08:35 AM

Or Daz, that should get the point over

25-10-2024, 08:39 AM
If I was the Bookies I'd be looking at it and saying "Hibs have performed a lot better than their results so far would suggest"

We've been the better team at Ibrox, Tannadice, Rugby Park. We were the better side vs Motherwell and St Johnstone at home.

We've had 2 bad games (St Mirren and Celtic) but the good performances outweigh the bad.

We need to play the game in the opposition half though as our troubles are all at the back (and the separate issue of Elie Youan's attitude) - but I see why the bookies have us slight favourites and we have personal and professional pride to play for, in front of a sell out crowd and a wider TV audience

They have simply priced it wrong. Quite often in recent years this has been the case in derbies, where they start the week with Hearts around 2/1. As your average punter doesn't take advantage of early prices and waits til the weekend to put their acca on, the price will steadily move now. Would expect Hearts to go off at 7/5 or similar, with us out to maybe 8/5

The bookies aren't great at Scottish football, they don't care half the time.

25-10-2024, 09:07 AM
Hibs 2-0 easy peasy

Contador
25-10-2024, 10:13 AM

Utterly depressing stuff. Its no wonder they approach the fixture with such bravado.

Even if we are to win Sunday it doesn’t even make a dent although I guess we have to start somewhere. The problem we have is that the club doesn’t seem to be on any sort of trajectory to suggest we can be more competitive over a longer period. Whilst they are scooping up European cash 3 years on the bounce.

25-10-2024, 04:12 PM
Utterly depressing stuff. Its no wonder they approach the fixture with such bravado.

Even if we are to win Sunday it doesn’t even make a dent although I guess we have to start somewhere. The problem we have is that the club doesn’t seem to be on any sort of trajectory to suggest we can be more competitive over a longer period. Whilst they are scooping up European cash 3 years on the bounce.

I read earlier, 1 win in the last 14. Utterly pathetic stuff.

25-10-2024, 04:24 PM
I read earlier, 1 win in the last 14. Utterly pathetic stuff.

If that our record, it’s a shocker

Hibees1973
25-10-2024, 04:31 PM

One key issue is the 4 games against each other most seasons since the 80s. This compounded our horrific derby record.

25-10-2024, 04:45 PM
They have simply priced it wrong. Quite often in recent years this has been the case in derbies, where they start the week with Hearts around 2/1. As your average punter doesn't take advantage of early prices and waits til the weekend to put their acca on, the price will steadily move now. Would expect Hearts to go off at 7/5 or similar, with us out to maybe 8/5

The bookies aren't great at Scottish football, they don't care half the time.

Have to question why Tony Bloom hasn't piled on Hearts big style and brought the odds on them down to being massive odds on favourites.

25-10-2024, 05:11 PM
Hibs 2-0 easy peasy

I was thinking 3 0 Hibs :greengrin

25-10-2024, 05:14 PM

Agree with that good to see a balanced post. 👍

Donegal Hibby
25-10-2024, 05:42 PM
Jumbo McLaughlin at it again in Boyle interview , don’t know why we just don’t ban him from ER …

https://youtu.be/exLXfneviAA?si=nEdW56uaZ5YmN9p3

25-10-2024, 05:43 PM
Genuinely think we're getting a surprise on Sunday and beating them comfortably by a few. With firepower like Gayle, Myko, Hoilett, Boyle, Youan, we're absolutely causing them problems and their defense has conceded more than ours, plus it's at Easter Road with a sell out crowd.

Hibs 3-1 Hearts

25-10-2024, 05:46 PM

Aye, a very good record against Hearts. Lost many games they shouldn't have, though. So do all Hibs teams.

25-10-2024, 05:47 PM
Jumbo McLaughlin at it again in Boyle interview , don’t know why we just don’t ban him from ER …

Guy is an utter clown and one of the first I think of in the 'get it right up you' terms whenever we beat Hearts.

Hopefully the twat is asking the questions post match on Sunday through tears and snotters, as Gray and Co beam with delight.

25-10-2024, 05:52 PM

The main reason for the poor wins comparison is that our spells of dominance came when the clubs only met twice per season. Hearts domination came after that became 4 games per season.

25-10-2024, 05:53 PM

https://youtu.be/exLXfneviAA?si=nEdW56uaZ5YmN9p3I'm thinking and hoping this could be known as the Martin Boyle derby, as a direct result of what a poppy thieves fan the size of a burger van in a cheap suit had to say.

Will come back and bite me no doubt but what the hell..........

Intae thum Hibs.

25-10-2024, 05:55 PM
F@&k the Hertz

25-10-2024, 05:59 PM
Aye, a very good record against Hearts. Lost many games they shouldn't have, though. So do all Hibs teams.

The Tornadoes X1 as we know them played Hearts twice, both in 72-73 and won 2-0 and of course 7-0.

Under Turnbull we lost twice to Hearts, I think it was in 15 or 16 games, not 100% sure.

25-10-2024, 06:12 PM
I was thinking 3 0 Hibs :greengrin

Do I hear four?

25-10-2024, 06:16 PM
Do I hear four?So, 5-4 to the thieves after we are 4-0 up going into the last 10 minutes, just before our 2 big substitutions and red card?

25-10-2024, 06:27 PM

We need to play the game in the opposition half though as our troubles are all at the back (and the separate issue of Elie Youan's attitude) - but I see why the bookies have us slight favourites and we have personal and professional pride to play for, in front of a sell out crowd and a wider TV audience You forgot to mention our piss goalie oh more than likely throw one in on Sunday.

25-10-2024, 06:28 PM
Genuinely think we're getting a surprise on Sunday and beating them comfortably by a few. With firepower like Gayle, Myko, Hoilett, Boyle, Youan, we're absolutely causing them problems and their defense has conceded more than ours, plus it's at Easter Road with a sell out crowd.

Hibs 3-1 Hearts

Need to be at them for 90+ mins with no passengers

25-10-2024, 06:32 PM

There's been times when I've disagreed with a lot of your posts, but not this time, you're absolutely spot on.

25-10-2024, 06:39 PM
My daughter's the only one who still goes to games and even then she much prefers the women's matches. My sons lost interest yonks ago and play other sports which is unquestionably a healthier, more productive use of their time than shelling out to watch Hibs. The 'part and parcel of being a supporter' thing doesn't really wash when a club the size of Hibs offers you almost relentless rubbish for you money. It's reasonable to expect more.Unfortunately it's not too hard to understand how this situation has come about. It's representative of my core group of Hibs fans and their families, not irrecoverable, but we are well past the point where following Hibs was top of their list of things to do.

25-10-2024, 09:30 PM
Unfortunately it's not too hard to understand how this situation has come about. It's representative of my core group of Hibs fans and their families, not irrecoverable, but we are well past the point where following Hibs was top of their list of things to do.

I'm not so worried about people giving the game a miss when the team are crap. It happens. I get much more worried when I hear about people giving it up because they feel a loss of connection with the club, loss of community feel to it etc. That bothers me.

25-10-2024, 09:41 PM
I'm not so worried about people giving the game a miss when the team are crap. It happens. I get much more worried when I hear about people giving it up because they feel a loss of connection with the club, loss of community feel to it etc. That bothers me.We are all getting on a bit, but there's some long standing fans and ST holders in the general group I'm part of and I don't think there's ever been a less " connected" feel about our general Hibs discussions and the direction we have been travelling, a fair bit of it seems to flow from how the board are running the show.

CB Hibs 68
25-10-2024, 09:47 PM
You forgot to mention our piss goalie oh more than likely throw one in on Sunday.

Nothing like a wee bit of optimism .Honestly Hibs fans are so negative.Watched Hibs for 55 years .Anyone that rocks up at ER these days know what to expect.If you can’t be bothered that’s your issue.Go and enjoy golf ,swimming ,cinema whatever.Who cares .Let those that do support the team and we have sold out a thank you for not giving up and supporting Hibs .End of rant

25-10-2024, 09:48 PM
One of my Rangers mates after the earlier Rangers v Hibs game at Ibrox made comment as to how big the Hibs team looked in comparison to previous Hibs teams and other clubs he'd watched Rangers play against.

It would be nice to see a derby where it’s our own players who have the physical advantage and that we make that work in our favour.

25-10-2024, 10:07 PM

I really don’t understand why the club tolerates his presence at Easter Road given his quite open affiliation to our rivals and constant negativity towards our club.

I don’t know if our big security man who is a presence on match days is also in situ for press briefings -
If so, he should really be grabbing McLaughlin by the shirt collar and launching him through the front doors and be told never to come back.

25-10-2024, 10:08 PM
One of my Rangers mates after the earlier Rangers v Hibs game at Ibrox made comment as to how big the Hibs team looked in comparison to previous Hibs teams and other clubs he'd watched Rangers play against.

It would be nice to see a derby where it’s our own players who have the physical advantage and that we make that work in our favour.

Between the back four, Kwon and Triantis and Myko up front, we should have the advantage on that front. If they stick with a similar team to his first two games, there’s not a lot of big players in there.

If we do have that advantage I hope we don’t try to overuse it. Last week, Miller going over to the other side of the park to take a throw in for example. Still need to try and play then use that advantage when we can.

25-10-2024, 10:09 PM
The main reason for the poor wins comparison is that our spells of dominance came when the clubs only met twice per season. Hearts domination came after that became 4 games per season.

That's true but as has been said we often outplayed them in the 80s and early 90s. The difference more often than not is they somehow find a way to get the job done and we don't. We can all think of numerous examples of that.

Hopeful this Sunday will be different.

K-Zazu
25-10-2024, 10:20 PM
I really don’t understand why the club tolerates his presence at Easter Road given his quite open affiliation to our rivals and constant negativity towards our club.

I don’t know if our big security man who is a presence on match days is also in situ for press briefings -
If so, he should really be grabbing McLaughlin by the shirt collar and launching him through the front doors and be told never to come back.

It just doesn’t feel right at all, Boyle was looking a bit awkward about some of the questions too.

26-10-2024, 08:05 AM

If I was Boyle I would absolutely pushed back with that stupid statement from fat lad about being in this movie before. I can’t remember a time when Boyle has been at the club when we’ve been bottom of the league.
Pretty soft stuff from Boyle if you ask me, instead of agreeing he should have absolutely denied and challenged his opening statement.

26-10-2024, 08:06 AM
If I was Boyle I would absolutely pushed back with that stupid statement from fat lad about being in this movie before. I can’t remember a time when Boyle has been at the club when we’ve been bottom of the league.
Pretty soft stuff from Boyle if you ask me, instead of agreeing he should have absolutely denied and challenged his opening statement.

Not watched it but can’t be as bad as Ekpiteta purring about Critchley, had to turn it off

26-10-2024, 08:26 AM

Don’t be so stupid, it’s Hibs. We tolerate this and meekly accept it. We would need a backbone first of all to stand up for ourselves.

26-10-2024, 09:22 AM
Don’t be so stupid, it’s Hibs. We tolerate this and meekly accept it. We would need a backbone first of all to stand up for ourselves.

You can't be banning journalists because they ask awkward questions.

Cooshed Kid
26-10-2024, 09:38 AM

No, you can't. The result would be only sycophants and those lacking curiosity would attend. Many if not all of our current problems probably exist because there was insufficient challenging of the narrative spun by Ben Kensall or the family from within the club. We need people with the knowledge and guts to say, "in what universe would this be a good idea?" when necessary.

26-10-2024, 09:49 AM

Nope. It's their job.

Paulie Walnuts
26-10-2024, 09:53 AM

He's here!
26-10-2024, 10:03 AM

I've just watched it and I can't see much wrong with the question. He doesn't say to Boyle that we've been bottom of the league before, just that we've often struggled in recent years. It's the truth.

He's here!
26-10-2024, 10:03 AM

Unless you're Rangers.

He's here!
26-10-2024, 10:05 AM
No, you can't. The result would be only sycophants and those lacking curiosity would attend. Many if not all of our current problems probably exist because there was insufficient challenging of the narrative spun by Ben Kensall or the family from within the club. We need people with the knowledge and guts to say, "in what universe would this be a good idea?" when necessary.

Agreed. If anything I think most journalists tend to shy away from asking the really searching questions the fans would like answers to.

26-10-2024, 10:06 AM
It just doesn’t feel right at all, Boyle was looking a bit awkward about some of the questions too. He is a member of the press for the National Broadcaster. He may be a Jambo but his questions were pretty much what you would expect. Not sure I want us to go down the The Thes route and ban members of the press.

Boyle looked nervous to me and not his usual bouncy self. He had plenty opportunity to spin the questions round and sound confident but he didn't and just went full media training. I think I would rather he took a wee gamble and put the focus on Hearts. Saying they had just played a tough game and might have it still in their legs, we are at home, sell out crowd, we are equal on points but we have a game in hand and the players are determined to turn this round and give Gray the chance to prove he can be a great Hibs manager. At this point we don't have any further to fall so a bit of gallousness might spark us. As it was he was like a wet weekend but all that matters is he is charismatic on the park and plays like he can. As someone else says it could be the Boyle Derby.

26-10-2024, 10:46 AM

Does Fat Bri ask the Hearts contingent awkward questions? Did he tell Critchley he had no knowledge of Scottish football at his unveiling?

HarpOnHibee
26-10-2024, 10:48 AM
The only right way to shut any member of the press up is to do it on the pitch. People like him may come to twist the knife, but the club are the one's sticking it in to themselves in the first place.

snedzuk
26-10-2024, 10:51 AM
He is a member of the press for the National Broadcaster. He may be a Jambo but his questions were pretty much what you would expect. Not sure I want us to go down the The Thes route and ban members of the press.

Boyle looked nervous to me and not his usual bouncy self. He had plenty opportunity to spin the questions round and sound confident but he didn't and just went full media training. I think I would rather he took a wee gamble and put the focus on Hearts. Saying they had just played a tough game and might have it still in their legs, we are at home, sell out crowd, we are equal on points but we have a game in hand and the players are determined to turn this round and give Gray the chance to prove he can be a great Hibs manager. At this point we don't have any further to fall so a bit of gallousness might spark us. As it was he was like a wet weekend but all that matters is he is charismatic on the park and plays like he can. As someone else says it could be the Boyle Derby.

This - he looked out of sorts to me, but apart from Gayle post Utd I think any players you see speaking do. It's like there's something in the water at East Mains.

26-10-2024, 11:06 AM
This - he looked out of sorts to me, but apart from Gayle post Utd I think any players you see speaking do. It's like there's something in the water at East Mains.

If we were top of the league, flying and scoring for fun, I would imagine that the players would be having a lark around at press conferences.

As it is, we are bottom of the league, playing pish and the players know - as well as we do - that words without actions are pointless.

Lets wait til the post match press conference after the Boyle hat trick.

snedzuk
26-10-2024, 11:10 AM
If we were top of the league, flying and scoring for fun, I would imagine that the players would be having a lark around at press conferences.

As it is, we are bottom of the league, playing pish and the players know - as well as we do - that words without actions are pointless.

Lets wait til the post match press conference after the Boyle hat trick.

It isn't a new thing though. Mostly they seem to have lost a 20 and found a quid.

Pete70
26-10-2024, 12:16 PM

We can if they appear to have an agenda against us. Huns didn’t seem to have any trouble doing it.

Donegal Hibby
26-10-2024, 12:17 PM
Short interview with Boyler here …

https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1850089547939676181?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

26-10-2024, 12:21 PM
We can if they appear to have an agenda against us. Huns didn’t seem to have any trouble doing it.

Following the Huns lead doesn't seem like a good idea to me. There was no agenda against them, they just didn't like the questions that were being asked.

Hibees1973
26-10-2024, 01:41 PM
Must admit I find it amusing reading about the Yam just now.

How they have embraced the analytics and technology. I smell sh*te. They have a team of waifs and strays garnered from the like of Ross Co, Motherwell & Ayr Utd FFS.

They are already blowing out of their own ersehole just after a couple of wins.

I despair at the mess we are in due to the Golden Quadrant. We are in a sorry state and with what we have i have not been confident going into any game for some time.

But the day we aspire to the poppy thieves will be the day I stop supporting Hibs.

HendoDelivered
26-10-2024, 03:00 PM
Tony Bloom in attendance tomorrow apparently. (For them)

26-10-2024, 03:51 PM
It'll be a draw I reckon.

HarpOnHibee
26-10-2024, 03:57 PM
Following the Huns lead doesn't seem like a good idea to me. There was no agenda against them, they just didn't like the questions that were being asked.

Precisely this. Whether McLaughlin has an agenda against us or not is irrelevant. He's asking questions that we've given him the opportunity to ask. The solution is entirely on the pitch.

26-10-2024, 05:37 PM
I think we'll win tomorrow and there will be a few goals.

3-2 Hibs

Saint Hibee
26-10-2024, 05:51 PM

3-2 Hibs

A Youan hatrick!

26-10-2024, 05:57 PM

3-2 Hibs

Same, staring to genuinely think we'll do them. Saying that, I reserve my right to change my mind as soon as the line-up is out.

26-10-2024, 06:04 PM
Forget all the crap about banning journalists just get on with winning the game. This mob think they are world beaters as usual. Hibs need to turn up and compete and cut the mistakes. It would helpful if we could keep 11 players on the pitch. Gray can help by getting the players organised and not picking Campbell

26-10-2024, 06:06 PM
Get intae them

percy veer
26-10-2024, 06:13 PM

Boys a clown jambo fan boy, never asks the difficult question to them and you can see his smug purple fat face when he's asking us, been to few after dinner gigs and he's exactly the same, one of the speakers referred to him as humpty dumpy and he was visibly boiling

26-10-2024, 06:16 PM

He can use his analytically proven skills to work out how he’s getting robbed for a pie and bovril

Knobber

26-10-2024, 06:26 PM

I'm sure he'll be treated like royalty by our clubs corporate crew tomorrow.

Hibees1973
26-10-2024, 06:31 PM
I'm sure he'll be treated like royalty by our clubs corporate crew tomorrow.

Ben with his perma tan will be shmoozing the room.

'Do you like my screens'. 'How's your prawn sandwich'.

26-10-2024, 06:33 PM

Defo.

Latapy'sVolley
26-10-2024, 07:25 PM

Was it not Kensell who steered us away from a Brighton link-up?

26-10-2024, 08:02 PM
Was it not Kensell who steered us away from a Brighton link-up?

We had a link-up with Brighton in 2021

NC1875
26-10-2024, 08:33 PM
We had a link-up with Brighton in 2021

That not the season they sent the boy on loan to them who turned out to be decent. Can’t remember his name

Just had a look. Alex Cochrane it was

26-10-2024, 08:49 PM
Boys a clown jambo fan boy, never asks the difficult question to them and you can see his smug purple fat face when he's asking us, been to few after dinner gigs and he's exactly the same, one of the speakers referred to him as humpty dumpy and he was visibly boiling

Yep he is absolutely torture. His pro Hearts agenda is nauseating and defo has an issue with us. His cringey chat with Levein when he won at ER last season said it all. Screams jambo

26-10-2024, 08:51 PM
Nope. It's their job.

You can be annoyed about it if he isn’t consistent with other teams though

26-10-2024, 08:56 PM
Yep he is absolutely torture. His pro Hearts agenda is nauseating and defo has an issue with us. His cringey chat with Levein when he won at ER last season said it all. Screams jambo

Thought he was a jambo ?? Not like it’s a secret is it?

26-10-2024, 09:03 PM
Thought he was a jambo ?? Not like it’s a secret is it?

He clearly is one

26-10-2024, 10:07 PM
That not the season they sent the boy on loan to them who turned out to be decent. Can’t remember his name

Just had a look. Alex Cochrane it was

We never ever had an actual link up. Was talked about but when the new executive turned up they realised there was nothing actually agreed. Bloom wanted to buy in later but Ron’s family wanted to keep control.

26-10-2024, 10:37 PM

Who?

**** the Hearts. Forever and always. Come what may, I'll wake up Monday morning happy I'm a Hibs fan.

If SDG can't get the team up for it for a Derby to save his job, then unfortunately it'll be SDG out for me, which I don't think any of us would've ever wanted.

26-10-2024, 11:04 PM
Who?

**** the Hearts. Forever and always. Come what may, I'll wake up Monday morning happy I'm a Hibs fan.

If SDG can't get the team up for it for a Derby to save his job, then unfortunately it'll be SDG out for me, which I don't think any of us would've ever wanted.

He shouldn't need to get them up for the derby.

I'm Spartacus
26-10-2024, 11:09 PM

Seemingly the chat from within the club and the ticket allocation, could be mince though.

andrew70
26-10-2024, 11:16 PM
He shouldn't need to get them up for the derby.

No but he does need to set them up correctly and have everyone know their jobs.

God knows what our tactics are at the minute. A long ball to Myk is about it.

Donegal Hibby
26-10-2024, 11:36 PM
No but he does need to set them up correctly and have everyone know their jobs.

God knows what our tactics are at the minute. A long ball to Myk is about it.

Think that’s a tad harsh.. we have played some decent stuff at times IMO .. again individual mistakes have cost us dearly so far , hopefully don’t make any today and keep it tight with Boyler , Hoilett and big Myko doing the damage….

26-10-2024, 11:51 PM
Josh Campbell is scoring the winner tomrorow.

andrew70
26-10-2024, 11:55 PM
Josh Campbell is scoring the winner tomrorow.

preferably today

Rob
27-10-2024, 12:10 AM
preferably today
Well some of the added time is getting ridiculous, but I guess 10 hours of added time would be a bit much

andrew70
27-10-2024, 12:13 AM
Well some of the added time is getting ridiculous, but I guess 10 hours of added time would be a bit much

They’d be in the club by then.

27-10-2024, 12:16 AM

Assume Brian “Ann” McLaughlin will continue in traditional fashion and refer to him as “Tony”.

27-10-2024, 12:55 AM
F*** the Hearts. That's all.

27-10-2024, 12:56 AM
Tony Bloom in attendance tomorrow apparently. (For them)Will there be grovelling yams greeting him in the style they ushered agent Romanov in?

Will he book the windowless suite in Edinburgh's finest hotel with no windows?

Green Reaper
27-10-2024, 12:57 AM
Assume Brian “Ann” McLaughlin will continue in traditional fashion and refer to him as “Tony”.

Mr Bloom surely

*and I'm not calling you Shirley

Donegal Hibby
27-10-2024, 01:11 AM
F*** hertz …. Get behind the team everyone and stay with them things change at times ! …

https://youtu.be/e13KjAdArvc?si=g7xQwxfj8BXzuULj

We are Hibs :flag:

https://youtu.be/Rp-Qsp3jru4?si=oUSnQWbfS32kQCf7

27-10-2024, 05:35 AM
6am and some floodlights are on.

Assume groundsperson is cutting the grass - great dedication. Least that’s one thing we don’t moan about !

At the risk of going all Roy Keane on you. I think praising the groundsmans dedication for cutting the grass is a bit much, that’s his job, cutting the grass is what he’s meant to do. 😜

27-10-2024, 05:38 AM
At the risk of going all Roy Keane on you. I think praising the groundsmans dedication for cutting the grass is a bit much, that’s his job, cutting the grass is what he’s meant to do. 😜

Haha! Fair point - Keeping things positive. Think these folk often don’t get recognition for the job they do like the ticket office staff etc.

27-10-2024, 05:52 AM
Just getting ready to drive down and I can't wait until kick off time. **** the Hearts, we can do this today.

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

27-10-2024, 06:21 AM

I second that

Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2024, 06:23 AM

Murphys Touch
27-10-2024, 06:27 AM
After all is said and done - boys have got the opportunity to go out there and get a result that will make us happy.

I hope Gray starts with a team that has got match winners and quality in there and blow an average hearts team out the water with pace, power and fight. Let’s attack at all costs, make them worry about us. If we are conceeding too many goals and not scoring enough…let’s not try and defend! Ultimately f*** the hearts and go for them

Any keeper

Miller
O’Hora
Marvin
Obita

Kwon
Triantis

Boyle
Youan
Holliet

Myk

Just go for it man, they are average too.

27-10-2024, 06:31 AM
Even after the sxxx start to the season we’ve had win next 2 games we’ll be floating around mid table and all will be forgotten……for now at least. Like a few have highlighted on here, our performances have been better than our results so I’m counting on Lady Luck casting a spell over our team today and right some of the wrongs we’ve endured this season. Hibs to win….fxxx the hearts!

27-10-2024, 06:35 AM
After all is said and done - boys have got the opportunity to go out there and get a result that will make us happy.

I hope Gray starts with a team that has got match winners and quality in there and blow an average hearts team out the water with pace, power and fight. Let’s attack at all costs, make them worry about us. If we are conceeding too many goals and not scoring enough…let’s not try and defend! Ultimately f*** the hearts and go for them

Any keeper

Miller
O’Hora
Marvin
Obita

Kwon
Triantis

Boyle
Youan
Holliet

Myk

Just go for it man, they are average too.

That’s the team I’d be going with today, perhaps with Gayle up top but good to come on 2nd half. Please NO Campbell at 10! If he wants a CM at 10 play Levitt who can at least control the ball and occasionally play good offensive passes. Get all the players on the pitch that can hurt them from the first minute, that’ll get the crowd going. Who would hearts rather not see in that starting line up? They’ll not be pleased to read Boyle, Hoilett and Youan starting that is for sure!

27-10-2024, 06:38 AM
It would be lovely to see a starting line-up that doesn’t make you wince. A starting XI that doesn’t automatically make you think Myko will be isolated all game and we will be full of huff and puff in midfield without any creativity.

And please, no Josh Campbell.

27-10-2024, 06:40 AM
It would be lovely to see a starting line-up that doesn’t make you wince. A starting XI that doesn’t automatically make you think Myko will be isolated all game and we will be full of huff and puff in midfield without any creativity.

And please, no Josh Campbell.

Can't see Josh starting however this would be a decent game to do so in terms if energy and getting about the pitch

27-10-2024, 06:43 AM
Can't see Josh starting however this would be a decent game to do so in terms if energy and getting about the pitch

Nope. It certainly wouldn't.

27-10-2024, 06:45 AM

An oasis of sense amongst the desert of angst and hand wringing.

27-10-2024, 06:52 AM

I could do that for Hibs today if they asked me. We need more than that.

27-10-2024, 07:07 AM
I could do that for Hibs today if they asked me. We need more than that.

You sure you could PH? :flag: