View Full Version : Josh Campbell
19-10-2024, 04:09 PM
Get him removed from the squad altogether. 👍🏻
19-10-2024, 04:10 PM
This season he's been utterly hopeless. Disgrace for the equaliser. Needs to be binned.
19-10-2024, 04:11 PM
Times up but I doubt Gray will see it.
19-10-2024, 04:11 PM
Have him train with the kids until he ****s off to non-league football. Awful, awful, awful player.
19-10-2024, 04:13 PM
Gray will make him captain next week.
uphallhibby
Yip, pathetic just before their equaliser, not good enough never will be
Sent from my motorola razr 40 using Tapatalk
How anybody ever thought he should be starting us beyond me. He's now regressed to being an utter liability even as a squad player.
Probably in from the start in the Derby then
NC1875
19-10-2024, 04:14 PM
Gray will make him captain next week.
Probably. Two people who get the club apparently.
And two people who’ll get us relegated.
Wouldn’t get a game for Dunfermline.
Johnny Clash
19-10-2024, 04:28 PM
Josh made a few important mistakes today in the short time he was on the pitch.
yerauldda
19-10-2024, 04:28 PM
Can’t actually fathom how so many managers have stuck by him. An utterly woeful football player.
19-10-2024, 04:29 PM
How he managed to secure a professional football contract is truly staggering.
19-10-2024, 04:30 PM
Losing possession in the building up to the equaliser was absolutely brainless - genuinely baffling how he even gets on the park
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
19-10-2024, 04:30 PM
Josh made a few important mistakes today in the short time he was on the pitch.
He was absolutely woeful. Same last game.
Shouldn't be in a Hibs squad but unfortunately he's the most likely sub to come on if he isn't starting.
Suburban Hibby
19-10-2024, 04:31 PM
JDH, Amos, KennaH and Campbell- not a player between them
Should not be seen in a first team squad again. So weak its frightening.
Green-Hibee-7
19-10-2024, 04:40 PM
Seems a nice lad, but I’m sorry in the last two weeks he has directly cost us points. This cannot go on.
He was running down the pitch and as I’ve seen a million times, he simply can not stay on his feet or control a ball.
As soon as Gray mentioned the importance of him, I knew we were in trouble. Utterly horrific.
supermcginn
19-10-2024, 04:48 PM
Up there with Michael Nelson for the most limited player I've seen play for us, horrendous.
EVENTUALLY
19-10-2024, 04:50 PM
Seems a nice lad, but I’m sorry in the last two weeks he has directly cost us points. This cannot go on.
He was running down the pitch and as I’ve seen a million times, he simply can not stay on his feet or control a ball.
As soon as Gray mentioned the importance of him, I knew we were in trouble. Utterly horrific.
Spot on. I had the fear when Gray talked him up, couldn't actually believe it when he spoke of him in the No.10 position.
He is an extremely limited player who should simply not play for Hibs again.
Willis1875
19-10-2024, 04:50 PM
If you want to surrender possession of the football bring on Josh Campbell….Baffling
Row H
19-10-2024, 04:51 PM
This season he's been utterly hopeless. Disgrace for the equaliser. Needs to be binned.
Pots and kettles
19-10-2024, 04:51 PM
Used to defend Josh, thought he was showing a lot of promising attributes under Johnson especially that would have been effective in this league for us. But his regression (perhaps more just a return to normality) has been staggering and I grimace at the idea of him playing for us at the moment.
19-10-2024, 04:53 PM
Continuing to use him will play a big part in the inevitable sacking of Gray.
19-10-2024, 04:56 PM
Guy is an amateur. Never been good enough.
duffers
19-10-2024, 05:01 PM
I can’t think of a “home grown” player I’ve disliked more. Absolutely embarrassing attempt at running the ball into the corner
Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 05:03 PM
Least he didn’t get sent off though :wink:
19-10-2024, 05:09 PM
It isn't Campbell's fault that managers keep playing him.
19-10-2024, 05:12 PM
Least he didn’t get sent off though :wink:
Good one, aye.
Josh up there with some of our worst ever on current form. Dreadful.
Row H
19-10-2024, 05:15 PM
Good one, aye.
Josh up there with some of our worst ever on current form. Dreadful.
:yawn:
19-10-2024, 05:16 PM
Utterly miles out his depth
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
19-10-2024, 05:20 PM
He’s a football fan who won a lottery ticket to play for Hibs - he has no elegance on the ball, no clarity in his play and decision making, has no vision for a pass, all he really has is basic fitness and some strength. Not just a poor midfielder but a very poor SPFL footballer who shouldn’t be anywhere near the side, even on the bench.
19-10-2024, 05:33 PM
Losing possession in the building up to the equaliser was absolutely brainless - genuinely baffling how he even gets on the park
Losing control with nobody near him then committing a stupid foul. That’s what he gives us.
Imagine bringing on this guy when trying to see a game out. It’s beyond any sort of comprehension.
19-10-2024, 05:36 PM
Imagine bringing on this guy when trying to see a game out. It’s beyond any sort of comprehension.
The fact is that there isn't much better on the bench either. We are a shambles from top to bottom. The potential at the club is huge, not with the folk we have though.
Cantona70
19-10-2024, 05:52 PM
He’s a young boy trying to do a Man’s job and unfortunately he’s not good enough. All heart and not enough quality.
19-10-2024, 05:54 PM
He’s a young boy trying to do a Man’s job and unfortunately he’s not good enough. All heart and not enough quality.
He's 24 and played over a hundred games for us. Wouldn't class him as a young boy any more.
Agree with the rest of your post though.
19-10-2024, 05:57 PM
The fact is that there isn't much better on the bench either. We are a shambles from top to bottom. The potential at the club is huge, not with the folk we have though.
Don’t change for the sake of changing then. Hoilett with his experience would have helped us hold on to the ball. Myko would have continued to give us a bit of presence. Bringing those two on when you’re trying to see out a game was another bad call from Gray. They’re mounting up.
19-10-2024, 05:59 PM
He’s a young boy trying to do a Man’s job and unfortunately he’s not good enough. All heart and not enough quality.Young? He's 24 [emoji1787]
19-10-2024, 06:13 PM
Just back and was fairly calm during the game
Neve usually shout at individual players
Josh Campbell broke that tradition today
What on earth he was thinking of trying to cut in when 2 minutes earlier he had done the right thing in the opposite corner taking the ball to the flag.
I’m lost for words for him now, the Motherwell foul for the first goal then not tracking him, now with today almost unforgivable.
So many Hibs players making the wrong decisions, basic basic stuff
Worrying
19-10-2024, 06:58 PM
I’m sick of reading about this supposed hard working player - he’s got the heart of a mouse.
On the ball, if he doesn’t lose control he’ll take the safe option, goes missing in games when we need people stepping up and his tackling is diabolical, as is his pressing. He never gets near anybody.
All his hand waving and pointing is to make it look like he’s busting a gut - I’d rather he concentrated on tracking runners.
Like many people, Gray’s confidence in him and insistence he was a key player had alarm bells ringing very early on. Implying he was the ultimate modern midfielder.
I’m sure he’s an easy guy to manage, a good trainer and may even be likeable but that should never be enough to get a game for Hibs.
That pathetic bit of play which highlighted his lack of ability and football intelligence has cost us 3 points when they were most needed - an absolute liability.
19-10-2024, 07:00 PM
I’m sick of reading about this supposed hard working player - he’s got the heart of a mouse.
On the ball, if he doesn’t lose control he’ll take the safe option, goes missing in games when we need people stepping up and his tackling is diabolical, as is his pressing. He never gets near anybody.
All his hand waving and pointing is to make it look like he’s busting a gut - I’d rather he concentrated on tracking runners.
Like many people, Gray’s confidence in him and insistence he was a key player had alarm bells ringing very early on. Implying he was the ultimate modern midfielder.
I’m sure he’s an easy guy to manage, a good trainer and may even be likeable but that should never be enough to get a game for Hibs.
That pathetic bit of play which highlighted his lack of ability and football intelligence has cost us 3 points when they were most needed - an absolute liability.Genuinely kick the ball 20 yards down the line and run - you might get a foul, or a throw at worst you give them a throw in there corner
Genuinely can't believe what he done there
I don't think he would get a game for any other team in the spl
Can see his career going down the danny handling route imo
coldingham hibs
19-10-2024, 07:02 PM
That pathetic bit of play which highlighted his lack of ability and football intelligence has cost us 3 points when they were most needed - an absolute liability.
Agree, we will never progress with Campbell, absolute waste of a jersey. Conceding a foul when he should have had comfortable control of the ball was criminal. Needs as far removed from Easter Road as possible.
19-10-2024, 07:04 PM
Genuinely kick the ball 20 yards down the line and run - you might get a foul, or a throw at worst you give them a throw in there corner
Genuinely can't believe what he done there
I don't think he would get a game for any other team in the spl
Can see his career going down the danny handling route imo
Somebody described him on here last week as a “useful option to come off the bench”. I remember thinking at the time that I had no idea what attributes he had that would make him in any way useful under any circumstances. Today more than proved it.
19-10-2024, 07:06 PM
Some people bought hibs **** over the summer of how big a player he was going to be this season
He’s the one I’d release tomorrow
If he was playing for a Motherwell, st Mirren etc
I’d be mortified if we were in to sign him
Sums up where we are just now imo, he’s a youngish laddie from Edinburgh and Hibs fan so he must be good…….right hibs
Hibees1973
19-10-2024, 07:08 PM
If he was put on the transfer list only championship clubs, possibly lower would be interested.
19-10-2024, 07:35 PM
Quite mental that we turned down money for him in January (i think)
1875M
19-10-2024, 08:12 PM
Better players in the junior leagues.
19-10-2024, 08:27 PM
Campbell has always been a brutal sub to bring on when you need to see a game out. Takes him an eternity to get into any game, touch of an elephant, doesn't retain posession well, and brainless.
How Gray hasn't noticed that by now is astonishing. Add that to the shambolic Youan situation and I'm gutted to say that Gray is looking like a dreadful appointment.
19-10-2024, 08:39 PM
Bursik absolutely shocking at the 3rd
It was, however Campbell's man who scored the winner as he was dreaming marking no one at the edge of the box - genuinely wtf is he doing at the 3rd?
He honestly had an absolute nightmare for the 2nd week in a row
19-10-2024, 08:42 PM
If I see Campbell in a Hibs strip again I swear I’ll do time.
19-10-2024, 09:09 PM
Campbell has always been a brutal sub to bring on when you need to see a game out. Takes him an eternity to get into any game, touch of an elephant, doesn't retain posession well, and brainless.
How Gray hasn't noticed that by now is astonishing. Add that to the shambolic Youan situation and I'm gutted to say that Gray is looking like a dreadful appointment.
The focus is all on Campbell but what seems to be almost forgotten is that he also brought Levitt on. I can’t think of a worse double substitution to make when you’re trying to hold on to a lead.
No idea what he was trying to achieve by bringing them on. Was clear there was going to be a big chunk of additional time but we just decided at that point that you didn’t really need to bother trying to get up the park.
19-10-2024, 09:10 PM
The focus is all on Campbell but what seems to be almost forgotten is that he also brought Levitt on. I can’t think of a worse double substitution to make when you’re trying to hold on to a lead.
No idea what he was trying to achieve by bringing them on. Was clear there was going to be a big chunk of additional time but we just decided at that point that you didn’t really need to bother trying to get up the park.Campbell has direct involvement in goals 2 and 3
No wonder the focus is on him
It really was a shocking sub by Gray
19-10-2024, 09:12 PM
No idea what he was trying to achieve by bringing them on. Was clear there was going to be a big chunk of additional time but we just decided at that point that you didn’t really need to bother trying to get up the park.
Levitt did nothing wrong though? In fact, he actually plays a good ball into Campbell that he should just take up the pitch into their corner. Instead, he struggles to get the ball under control and loses it.
19-10-2024, 09:18 PM
Levitt did nothing wrong though? In fact, he actually plays a good ball into Campbell that he should just take up the pitch into their corner. Instead, he struggles to get the ball under control and loses it.
I’m no really having a pop at Levitt, more at Gray. Levitt was never going to add anything to help us see it through. Lack of options might have done for him but when you’re desperate to Phil’s on to a lead and you’re bringing the two of them on you’re not helping yourself.
19-10-2024, 09:24 PM
Bringing on Campbell and Levitt to close out the game was a disasterous decision and that's on Gray. Campbell is nowhere near as good as Gray made out at the start of the season. In fact he's been awful. And Levitt is simply a waste of a jersey.
TimeForHeroes32
19-10-2024, 09:55 PM
Bringing on Campbell and Levitt to close out the game was a disasterous decision and that's on Gray. Campbell is nowhere near as good as Gray made out at the start of the season. In fact he's been awful. And Levitt is simply a waste of a jersey.
Keeping Newell on the park after what happened in the Motherwell game was a the reason we got beat today if trying blame Gray not bringing on Campbell. Yes he might not be good enough but he wasn’t reason we got beat today
Want blame anyone on park blame Newell for being a sh*tebag, Boyle for diving in, Marv for falling asleep at a cross or even better that wee idiot in goals
30-11-2024, 08:47 PM
Was good to see Josh score today. Hopefully, he can build on this positive moment.
You can see what playing for the Hibees means to him.
Was good to see Josh score today. Hopefully, he can build on this positive moment.
You can see what playing for the Hibees means to him.
The boy gets a hard time from some fans, some of the criticism is justified much is not and very much over the top.
Donegal Hibby
30-11-2024, 09:07 PM
As a fan of Campbell I was delighted for him . I think sometimes the criticism is justified though a lot of it is OTT and I’ve been shot down a few times about him on here …
Hardworking player who gives 100% and knows what it’s about to play for the Hibees being one of our own …
Josh has a good knack of getting into good goal scoring position and I thought he took his goal well today .
Well done Josh :applause:
30-11-2024, 10:11 PM
Said it on the match day thread I think, but I really do think Campbell would make a better striker than a midfielder.
He is a good finisher, has instinctiveness, is good in the air, mobile and athletic. But he lacks some of the basics required to be a CM at the level he is playing at.
30-11-2024, 10:16 PM
Today is how we should use Campbell. When a game is stretched and runners can get in and get a chance that suits him.
We should never be playing him when we want to control a game or bringing him on when we want to see one out. But if there are spaces late in a game or whatever, then the one thing he’s good at is making runs and getting on the end of things.
30-11-2024, 10:18 PM
Said it on the match day thread I think, but I really do think Campbell would make a better striker than a midfielder.
He is a good finisher, has instinctiveness, is good in the air, mobile and athletic. But he lacks some of the basics required to be a CM at the level he is playing at.
He's technically nowhere near good enough to play in midfield for us. But he has an insane engine and when in front of goal, can find the back of the net.
Never an out an out striker, couldn't play up top on his own, but as a false 9 type role, I could see it.
darwenhibby
30-11-2024, 10:18 PM
Interesting!!
I’ve gone from thinking we need someone like Campbell in the team who gets Hibs to panicking when we bring him on.
When he scored! The emotional outlet he gave from him was brilliant.
Showing what it means to play for Hibs.
A striker??
Why not!
Delighted for Josh Campbell and all the team today!
30-11-2024, 10:20 PM
Number ten.
30-11-2024, 10:24 PM
Number ten.
A number 10 who struggles to pass the ball?
beensaidbefore
30-11-2024, 11:14 PM
Folk on here are like a broken record. Give the guy a break,ffs! He bursts his arse for the team whenever he gets the chance and has contributed more to Hibs than the majority of his doubters on here.
davym7062
30-11-2024, 11:17 PM
Folk on here are like a broken record. Give the guy a break,ffs! He bursts his arse for the team whenever he gets the chance and has contributed more to Hibs than the majority of his doubters on here.
yep :agree:
30-11-2024, 11:23 PM
I thought the goal was a fantastic finish and it probably is his biggest asset but unless he was doing it 10-12 times a season I just don’t think he’ll ever be a justified starter. Too many glaring weaknesses and to say he is mobile and athletic is just something I find hard to fathom. His lack of pace and athleticism I’d say is one of his downfalls as he’s technically not too bad.
30-11-2024, 11:33 PM
Would probably agree more of a forward/second striker sort of role
Good in the air, good leap and good finisher.
He’s at his best when he’s in/around the box and having shots at goal
Donegal Hibby
30-11-2024, 11:40 PM
Spot on … he won the flick on that lead to our equaliser against Aberdeen while taking a sore one to the back of his head … now against Motherwell at 2-0 which is a dangerous score line he puts the game to bed …
As you say he gives a 100% for the team and has contributed time and time again…
https://youtu.be/lPa6QllAy7A?si=QguT0er-KzP8Za3-
01-12-2024, 07:29 AM
I thought the goal was a fantastic finish and it probably is his biggest asset but unless he was doing it 10-12 times a season I just don’t think he’ll ever be a justified starter. Too many glaring weaknesses and to say he is mobile and athletic is just something I find hard to fathom. His lack of pace and athleticism I’d say is one of his downfalls as he’s technically not too bad.
People can see things differently but I would say it's the opposite way round from what you are suggesting. He is one of the strongest runners in the team IMO, but his technique (whilst at times good) is way too inconsistent for a midfielder.
01-12-2024, 07:34 AM
Would probably agree more of a forward/second striker sort of role
Good in the air, good leap and good finisher.
He’s at his best when he’s in/around the box and having shots at goal
01-12-2024, 07:36 AM
Spot on … he won the flick on that lead to our equaliser against Aberdeen while taking a sore one to the back of his head … now against Motherwell at 2-0 which is a dangerous score line he puts the game to bed …
As you say he gives a 100% for the team and has contributed time and time again…
https://youtu.be/lPa6QllAy7A?si=QguT0er-KzP8Za3-
just watched the video…. He loves a goal against Aberdeen ! I’d forgotten how many he’s scored against them.
01-12-2024, 07:45 AM
I would say technically he is not great cannae control or pass a ball has a habit of giving the ball away and conceding daft fouls ( DU away ) looks to have regressed so far this season after being much hyped
On the plus side has a fantastic engine can go box to box will run all day is a Hibby and always gives 100% but has had plenty of chances this season and has failed to deliver
If he can continue to chip in with invaluable goals his technical failings will be forgiven
I like Josh's attitude but he isn't technical enough to play in the middle deeper on the pitch, as some have said in and around the box he's very comfortable and playing further up the pitch suits him.
01-12-2024, 08:31 AM
Really glad for the guy he scored should give him a boost. Wouldn’t be the biggest shock if he starts on Saturday
01-12-2024, 08:38 AM
Really glad for the guy he scored should give him a boost. Wouldn’t be the biggest shock if he starts on Saturday
I agree but I really hope he doesn't. We need to keep the ball as well as we can. Keep using him as an impact sub but not when we're trying to see a game out.
01-12-2024, 08:40 AM
I agree but I really hope he doesn't. We need to keep the ball as well as we can. Keep using him as an impact sub but not when we're trying to see a game out.
Think his energy in closing down Celtic may be useful as happened at Ibrox however like you don’t think he will start but certainly an option
01-12-2024, 09:46 AM
Delighted for Josh he has a knack for getting goals from time to time
01-12-2024, 09:59 AM
I would say technically he is not great cannae control or pass a ball has a habit of giving the ball away and conceding daft fouls ( DU away ) looks to have regressed so far this season after being much hyped
On the plus side has a fantastic engine can go box to box will run all day is a Hibby and always gives 100% but has had plenty of chances this season and has failed to deliver
If he can continue to chip in with invaluable goals his technical failings will be forgiven
See this supposed ‘fantastic engine’ he has? Surely if that were true he would be much more heavily involved and noticeable in games would be not?
He’s been very guilty of letting players breeze past him all season so where is this amazing engine then? When he came on last Tuesday he let a full-back who’d been bombing up and down the park for 75 minutes sprint away from him like he wasn’t there.
This ‘energy’ and ‘amazing engine’ is fast becoming the 2024 version of ‘unseen work’. The guy cannae tackle and never gets near anyone yet folk are now saying how athletic and mobile he is. It’s mental.
Like I say - if he was consistently ghosting into the box and finishing like he did yesterday he could almost justify a spot in and around the team - but it’s just not happening and at his age he should have nailed down a starters slot if he was good enough.
01-12-2024, 10:03 AM
Think his energy in closing down Celtic may be useful as happened at Ibrox however like you don’t think he will start but certainly an option
'Energy' he's been blowing out his arse most games this season.
That's why he's not been playing.
OK he scored a goal yesterday but let's not make him better than he actually is.
01-12-2024, 10:17 AM
See this supposed ‘fantastic engine’ he has? Surely if that were true he would be much more heavily involved and noticeable in games would be not?
He’s been very guilty of letting players breeze past him all season so where is this amazing engine then? When he came on last Tuesday he let a full-back who’d been bombing up and down the park for 75 minutes sprint away from him like he wasn’t there.
This ‘energy’ and ‘amazing engine’ is fast becoming the 2024 version of ‘unseen work’. The guy cannae tackle and never gets near anyone yet folk are now saying how athletic and mobile he is. It’s mental.
Like I say - if he was consistently ghosting into the box and finishing like he did yesterday he could almost justify a spot in and around the team - but it’s just not happening and at his age he should have nailed down a starters slot if he was good enough.
Agree with almost all of this
Countless times this season he has been guilty as have plenty others of not picking up their man and letting them get a clear run on goal
Agree he cannae tackle either giving away soft fouls his passing is either too hard too soft or to the opposition so not technically brilliant His first touch is too hard and his second touch is usually a tackle I often scratch my head trying to figure out how he made it to our level but yes he can get up and down the park some might call him a headless chicken with zero awareness if he could read the game better he would be more involved he has proven that he can contribute with goals with his late runs into the box
SDG and Neil McCann last night certainly rate him but to me he is same old same old Josh of last season and not good enough for Hibs but if he can go on a run and start scoring he will earn his starting spot or be useful off the bench as our options are not great as we go into a busy period
Was pleased for him when he scored good to finally put a game to bed but has to be said Motherwell were poor
01-12-2024, 10:21 AM
'Energy' he's been blowing out his arse most games this season.
That's why he's not been playing.
OK he scored a goal yesterday but let's not make him better than he actually is.
Think he is one of these guys that need to play regularly however he has done a role in these sort of games in the past recent visit to Ibrox included. Not saying he should start just that it wouldn’t be the biggest surprise if he did.
01-12-2024, 10:30 AM
A great finish but another fantastic assist from Gayle - laid it perfectly on a plate for him and gave Campbell the best chance possible of scoring.
You could see the sense of relief with the celebrations as like the support I guess, the players may have felt one more was needed to put the game to bed.
01-12-2024, 10:32 AM
A great finish but another fantastic assist from Gayle - laid it perfectly on a plate for him and gave Campbell the best chance possible of scoring.
You could see the sense of relief with the celebrations as like the support I guess, the players may have felt one more was needed to put the game to bed.
Yes two brilliant assists by Dwight in the last couple of matches such an intelligent player
Donegal Hibby
01-12-2024, 10:46 AM
just watched the video…. He loves a goal against Aberdeen ! I’d forgotten how many he’s scored against them.
He gets in to good goal scoring positions .. the header he scored from against Aberdeen was a quality finish.
01-12-2024, 10:52 AM
Spot on. One swallow does not a summer make. He's not good enough and by this stage, never will be.
Welcome to come off the bench with 15 left when we've got a 2 goal lead, but if we're looking to him to start or wield influence in tight games, we're bang in trouble
Donegal Hibby
01-12-2024, 11:06 AM
Think he is one of these guys that need to play regularly however he has done a role in these sort of games in the past recent visit to Ibrox included. Not saying he should start just that it wouldn’t be the biggest surprise if he did.
Interesting article about N Cadden and Campbell …
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/pundits-unanimous-on-star-wholl-turn-major-hibs-asset-this-season-as-ace-who-could-turn-goalscorer-named-4890498
supermcginn
01-12-2024, 11:12 AM
Couldn't have worded it better myself. Totally agree with all of this.
01-12-2024, 11:35 AM
I think its clear his main attribute his running ability. I think its the main reason he's got to our level.
The third goal yesterday was an example of that. The defender has a huge headstart on him and he makes up good ground to get into the scoring position ahead of him.
That doesn't mean I think he is good enough, by the way. He does let players ghost by him and isnt great at tackling but I think that's down to daftness more than anything.
01-12-2024, 11:43 AM
Agree with almost all of this
Countless times this season he has been guilty as have plenty others of not picking up their man and letting them get a clear run on goal
Agree he cannae tackle either giving away soft fouls his passing is either too hard too soft or to the opposition so not technically brilliant His first touch is too hard and his second touch is usually a tackle I often scratch my head trying to figure out how he made it to our level but yes he can get up and down the park some might call him a headless chicken with zero awareness if he could read the game better he would be more involved he has proven that he can contribute with goals with his late runs into the box
SDG and Neil McCann last night certainly rate him but to me he is same old same old Josh of last season and not good enough for Hibs but if he can go on a run and start scoring he will earn his starting spot or be useful off the bench as our options are not great as we go into a busy period
Was pleased for him when he scored good to finally put a game to bed but has to be said Motherwell were poor
So you said Campbell had a good engine then someone disagreed with that and now you don't think he has a good engine? Make your mind up:greengrin
01-12-2024, 11:45 AM
Well done to Josh Campbell, he has his deficits, they all do, but he can grab a goal. Rather than a pile on of negativity, I prefer to focus on what he did in the game yesterday. He has a part to play for Hibs this season and I'm backing him to keep it up when called upon. Reading the last series of comments and shaking my head. Can we not save the negativity for when we get beat next and just enjoy a much needed win?
01-12-2024, 11:49 AM
So you said Campbell had a good engine then someone disagreed with that and now you don't think he has a good engine? Make your mind up:greengrin
I said yes he can get up and down the park
Please read my post
If he could read the game better he would be more involved and all his running around would pay off
I did say I almost agreed with everything 😂
01-12-2024, 11:50 AM
I said yes he can get up and down the park
Please read my post
Ah sorry missed that, apologies Billy!!
01-12-2024, 11:55 AM
Ah sorry missed that, apologies Billy!!
👍
01-12-2024, 12:11 PM
Well done to Josh Campbell, he has his deficits, they all do, but he can grab a goal. Rather than a pile on of negativity, I prefer to focus on what he did in the game yesterday. He has a part to play for Hibs this season and I'm backing him to keep it up when called upon. Reading the last series of comments and shaking my head. Can we not save the negativity for when we get beat next and just enjoy a much needed win?
100% agree.
The guy has scored 13 goals in 91 games playing for the team he adores. You could see how pleased he was yesterday. There's not many midfielders, let alone Hibs fans who have a better scoring rate than that for the Hibees.
I know he's not been great this season, but the fans have to try and find a way to be more supportive of players like him rather than the constant abuse. It's not a surprise to me that Hibs best performance was away from the negative atmosphere that Easter Road has become.
Neil McCann was certainly impressed with him yesterday. McCann reckons his box-to-box abilities make him a Hibs player to keep an eye on for the rest of this campaign. He added: “You see if he (SDG) can unlock Josh Campbell, I think there's so much in that boy. He's got a real brilliant engine, he can go box to box. If he (SDG) can unlock his goal threat, I think it will serve Hibs really well this season. Dwight Gayle, he shouldn't be bullying your two centre-backs. But the initiative for Josh Campbell, maybe it's just a little release of pressure and confidence, that 2-0 up, I can take a wee chance now. If he can get that from that boy, I think he's a player that can really light up Hibs' goalscoring charts.”
Great to have some positivity after a game for a change!
01-12-2024, 12:30 PM
Campbells game means he’s in permanent oscillation between ‘not good enough’ and ‘one of our own’ status. I think he’s probably got this season to step up or he’ll go down the leagues.
Donegal Hibby
01-12-2024, 12:38 PM
:agree: Contributed yesterday and took his goal well .. I’ve no doubt he will do it again for us too .
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1863191858685288652?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
01-12-2024, 12:40 PM
He is a good player we just need to find the right players around him, he will score goals, as for the way he gets treated by many, I would just ask give him some support instead of grief.
Dont get me wrong he has been rubbish at times, but with more confidence and support who knows.
Hibiza
05-12-2024, 04:41 PM
He's technically nowhere near good enough to play in midfield for us. But he has an insane engine and when in front of goal, can find the back of the net.
Never an out an out striker, couldn't play up top on his own, but as a false 9 type role, I could see it.
Forgive me but he's certainly a false 9. Stick in Josh
ErinGoBraghHFC
05-12-2024, 05:28 PM
I’ve been a pretty vocal critic of JC but I could see him being far more effective as a False 9. He clearly has an eye for goal, ability to be in the right place at the right time and a knack for arriving into the box late. I honestly just don’t see him as a function-able playmaker, I don’t think he’s technically gifted enough for that role, but that doesn’t mean he isn’t capable of being used in a more offensive role where he’d be on the ball less.
One of the problems that I have with the past 4 Head Coaches is trying to shoehorn square pegs into round holes. Wasn't it Gray earlier this season who said that he saw Josh as a 10?
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-reveals-ambitious-plans-homegrown-hero-striker-admission-4691359
05-12-2024, 06:05 PM
I’ve been a pretty vocal critic of JC but I could see him being far more effective as a False 9. He clearly has an eye for goal, ability to be in the right place at the right time and a knack for arriving into the box late. I honestly just don’t see him as a function-able playmaker, I don’t think he’s technically gifted enough for that role, but that doesn’t mean he isn’t capable of being used in a more offensive role where he’d be on the ball less.
Yeah, I could see that.
I struggle to get my head around him - so many positive attributes yet some proper deficiencies so it’s hard at times to see where he fits into a cohesive team.
False 9 probably allows best use of his best attributes without leaving us vulnerable to his weaknesses being exposed.
In spite of being considered to be a midfielder he never really looks like one - like he’s something else playing there to help out.
cameronw-hfc
05-12-2024, 06:19 PM
Josh imo can only really be used in the same type of role Mcginn does for Scotland/Villa. Off the striker, almost up front at times getting in and around the area.
Works for SJM because he's good enough technically and runs all day, think Josh could make himself a useful player in that role. He won't be involved on the ball as much, his role would be to get up and support the cf and get in and around the box.
Anywhere else and he isn't technically good enough to play in the prem imo.
Doesn't score enough from midfield to justify playing him, average to really poor on the ball, runs around a lot but often aimlessly..
Get him up front, keep him away from the ball when it's deeper and let him chase defenders and press up top, otherwise I don't see how he can stay a Hibs player. Shame as I don't remember a Hibs player being as desperate to make it work at us as much as Josh is.
05-12-2024, 07:51 PM
I’m embarrassed to display my lack of understanding of modern tactical jargon, but what does a “False 9” mean?
An attacking midfielder?
I’m embarrassed to display my lack of understanding of modern tactical jargon, but what does a “False 9” mean?
An attacking midfielder?
More like a deep forward but hasn't got the same skill levels as a proper 10 to create things.
05-12-2024, 08:41 PM
An attacking midfielder?
It was sort of invented when Spain had a bucketload of great midfielders and no good strikers. A "false 9" is a striker who runs about all over the place, takes part in aspects of play but is mainly there to allow midfielders and wide players to get into scoring positions. They're not there to score goals or have chances created for them per se, although they'll always be in positions where the odd chance will drop to them so they'll get goals, just not as many as a traditional goalscoring striker who is the focus of a whole team's creativity.
A bizarre almost decoy sort of player who you'll want to be quick, hard-working, intelligent and have a decent finish on them. A decent enough fit for Josh Campbell, you might think.
05-12-2024, 08:55 PM
An attacking midfielder?
Good explanation and history here
https://learning.coachesvoice.com/cv/what-is-a-false-nine-explained-messi-kane-firmino-fabregas/
05-12-2024, 09:31 PM
Any role in the attacking third requires players to take the ball under pressure or with your back to goal. Campbell struggles with this due to his lack of technique.
He would be rotten as a false 9.
Good to see him scoring last week and maybe he can contribute from the bench at times. Never ever going to be good enough to start regularly for Hibs.
EDIT - also when people think of the best false 9s. It’s guys like Fabregas, Firmino and even Messi FFS. Being kind to Campbell, he’s more similar to maybe a Tim Cahill but even then he doesn’t have the same (relative) strengths. It’s just a bad shout IMO
05-12-2024, 09:36 PM
More like a deep forward but hasn't got the same skill levels as a proper 10 to create things.
It was sort of invented when Spain had a bucketload of great midfielders and no good strikers. A "false 9" is a striker who runs about all over the place, takes part in aspects of play but is mainly there to allow midfielders and wide players to get into scoring positions. They're not there to score goals or have chances created for them per se, although they'll always be in positions where the odd chance will drop to them so they'll get goals, just not as many as a traditional goalscoring striker who is the focus of a whole team's creativity.
A bizarre almost decoy sort of player who you'll want to be quick, hard-working, intelligent and have a decent finish on them. A decent enough fit for Josh Campbell, you might think.
Good explanation and history here
https://learning.coachesvoice.com/cv/what-is-a-false-nine-explained-messi-kane-firmino-fabregas/
Thanks for those explanations.
06-12-2024, 06:21 AM
Any role in the attacking third requires players to take the ball under pressure or with your back to goal. Campbell struggles with this due to his lack of technique.
Good to see him scoring last week and maybe he can contribute from the bench at times. Never ever going to be good enough to start regularly for Hibs.
EDIT - also when people think of the best false 9s. It’s guys like Fabregas, Firmino and even Messi FFS. Being kind to Campbell, he’s more similar to maybe a Tim Cahill but even then he doesn’t have the same (relative) strengths. It’s just a bad shout IMO
He has started regularly for Hibs in teams further up the league than this one
06-12-2024, 07:02 AM
Josh might be a lovely lad, a good Hibs supporter, but he's also a poor footballer for this standard.
He has had the odd goal which in my opinion skews peoples opinion of him, lets be honest here, if everyone is fit, he should be nowhere near a starting spot, and remember we are 2nd bottom of a pish poor league.
He took his goal well last week, he can get all over the park well too, but his quality on the ball is very poor, and for him to contribute to a better Hibs team, then that has to improve a lot.
06-12-2024, 07:51 AM
He has started regularly for Hibs in teams further up the league than this one
And?
06-12-2024, 09:26 AM
Josh Campbell has been piss poor for ages, comes in and scores and all of a sudden there's chat about him being a "false 9". He's not.
Rocky Bushiri rank rotten for seasons on end, comes into the team, has a couple of good games, and there's chat about making him captain and giving him a new deal.
Gies peace man :faf: the absolute fickle nature of the football fan.
We'd probably get posts about how McKirdy could be our lord and saviour if he manages to score at the weekend :greengrin
06-12-2024, 09:39 AM
Josh Campbell has been piss poor for ages, comes in and scores and all of a sudden there's chat about him being a "false 9". He's not.
Rocky Bushiri rank rotten for seasons on end, comes into the team, has a couple of good games, and there's chat about making him captain and giving him a new deal.
Gies peace man :faf: the absolute fickle nature of the football fan.
We'd probably get posts about how McKirdy could be our lord and saviour if he manages to score at the weekend :greengrin
Big game for Rocky tomorrow needs to concentrate and remain focused for 90 minutes plus the 10 minutes added on if they need a goal
C’mon Rocky
06-12-2024, 09:59 AM
The negativity on this thread is getting tiresome! Thirteen goals in 91 games is a pretty decent return IMO.
06-12-2024, 10:02 AM
Funny I was thinking exactly that until I read your post and I agree. He's a funny player, he's not technically good enough to go play in a deep midfield role, nor as a proper 10. Would I play him in a 2 with someone like say Vente or Gayle? Yeah I would to be honest.
06-12-2024, 10:10 AM
Funny I was thinking exactly that until I read your post and I agree. He's a funny player, he's not technically good enough to go play in a deep midfield role, nor as a proper 10. Would I play him in a 2 with someone like say Vente or Gayle? Yeah I would to be honest.
Vente and Campbell as a front 2 would be right up there with a Rowan Vine and Paul Heffernan combo for me.
06-12-2024, 10:11 AM
But he's had plenty games in a 2 and he's not good enough. Most of this games this year he's played off the striker.
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2024, 10:20 AM
The negativity on this thread is getting tiresome! Thirteen goals in 91 games is a pretty decent return IMO.
Josh Campbell is a good player . Time and time again he’s earned us some valuable points with being in the right spot at the right time , some of the finishes he’s had are top quality too like against the huns , header against Aberdeen and the one against Motherwell wasn’t particularly easy either though all you here is the negativity over and over again from the same posters …
Campbells just a scapegoat and if it wasn’t him it would Rocky , Youan or somebody else . Sad thing is we even hear it after they’ve done well which I suppose some can’t say for its like admitting they were wrong so they just continuously condemn them no matter what they do….
As you say the negativity is tiresome :rolleyes:
06-12-2024, 10:31 AM
Josh Campbell is a good player . Time and time again he’s earned us some valuable points with being in the right spot at the right time , some of the finishes he’s had are top quality too like against the huns , header against Aberdeen and the one against Motherwell wasn’t particularly easy either though all you here is the negativity over and over again from the same posters …
Campbells just a scapegoat and if it wasn’t him it would Rocky , Youan or somebody else . Sad thing is we even hear it after they’ve done well which I suppose some can’t say for its like admitting they were wrong so they just continuously condemn them no matter what they do….
I think it's absolutely lazy to say that negative comments about Campbell or Rocky are scapegoating them. They've been out the team for extended periods because they were poor. Unless you also think the various managers are scapegoating them too?
Seems like it's different for you when you're happy to lay into Newell for being poor though...that's fine eh :aok:
06-12-2024, 10:38 AM
(Puts on Roy Keane voice) - THAT'S HIS JOB!
He has a goal involvement something like 1 in every 5 games. For a player in our front 3 or 4 attacking positions, it's not good enough. We need better, we have better already.
Campbell should go onto have a good career at St Johnstone or Raith, Ross County maybe. That's his level.
06-12-2024, 10:44 AM
He has a goal involvement something like 1 in every 5 games. For a player in our front 3 or 4 attacking positions, it's not good enough. We need better, we have better already.
Campbell should go onto have a good career at St Johnstone or Raith, Ross County maybe. That's his level.
He's got 1 goal in his last 27 games, yet folk talk about him being one of the front 2.
I don't think he'd get a game at St Johnstone just now. Maybe Ross County ahead of that Aussie guy who looks dreadful.
06-12-2024, 10:49 AM
But he's had plenty games in a 2 and he's not good enough. Most of this games this year he's played off the striker.
I think that's fair. I just remember his spell under Lee Johnson where the laddie was very useful in the final third for both goals and assists. I don't think that ability to do something magically disappears. But you can't wait around forever for it to show it's face again.
06-12-2024, 11:43 AM
Like a few others classed as " not good enough for Hibs". Simon Murray is a recent one that springs to mind and now starring in a team above us in the league.
06-12-2024, 11:52 AM
Like a few others classed as " not good enough for Hibs". Simon Murray is a recent one that springs to mind and now starring in a team above us in the league.
Not sure what your point is but, are you talking about Simon Murray when we sold him years ago, or Simon Murray in the summer when its said he wanted to go to Dundee and got a 3 year deal there at 32 year old?
What about the others classed as "not good enough for Hibs" like Drey Wright and Jair Taveres, also starring for teams above us in the league?
06-12-2024, 11:53 AM
Josh imo can only really be used in the same type of role Mcginn does for Scotland/Villa. Off the striker, almost up front at times getting in and around the area.
Works for SJM because he's good enough technically and runs all day, think Josh could make himself a useful player in that role. He won't be involved on the ball as much, his role would be to get up and support the cf and get in and around the box.
Anywhere else and he isn't technically good enough to play in the prem imo.
Doesn't score enough from midfield to justify playing him, average to really poor on the ball, runs around a lot but often aimlessly..
Get him up front, keep him away from the ball when it's deeper and let him chase defenders and press up top, otherwise I don't see how he can stay a Hibs player. Shame as I don't remember a Hibs player being as desperate to make it work at us as much as Josh is.
See when we're trying to invent roles to suit the guy that also seem to include him not being on the ball too much... surely that tells it's own story?
As weird as it seems now I was actually quite a defender of him a couple of years back but he's been under performing and not improving for far too long. His best bet would be to just start concentrating on playing much better like anyone else? He generally plays in an advanced role which gives him ample chance to show off his attacking abilities.
Talk of an underperforming player being a 'scapegoat' is also just nonsense.
06-12-2024, 11:57 AM
Could be a good example for Josh. Drop down to League Two for a period and build your career up from there.
06-12-2024, 12:12 PM
Like a few others classed as " not good enough for Hibs"
He isn't good enough for Hibs.
Paulie Walnuts
06-12-2024, 12:27 PM
Josh Campbell hasn’t scored a goal that’s earned Hibs points in over a season now, so it’s most definitely not time and time again that he’s doing that.
06-12-2024, 01:33 PM
And?
Pretty obvious you made a point he wasnt ever good enough to be a regular for Hibs when he already has been one.
Don't think I've ever known a support to dislike so many of their own players, it's been Hanlon, Stevenson, Rocky etc, in the past.can't wait till we sign multi million pound players to finally see quality.
06-12-2024, 01:49 PM
Right but he's been part of a squad that has been dire for 4 years. If we accept his best season was under Lee Johnson, we finished 5th and he barely played in the run in, when we finally put together some decent form.
If we are happy that Hibs finish 8-12th every year then Campbell will fit right in.
Spudster
06-12-2024, 01:53 PM
Josh Campbell hasn’t scored a goal that’s earned Hibs points in over a season now, so it’s most definitely not time and time again that he’s doing that.
He scored in a 3-0 win on Saturday :confused:
Or is this some bizarre criteria where it has to be the decisive goal? Remember we have won 2 league games this season:2-0 and 3-0
06-12-2024, 01:53 PM
Don't think I've ever known a support to dislike so many of their own players, it's been Hanlon, Stevenson, Rocky etc, in the past.can't wait till we sign multi million pound players to finally see quality.
There's a huge difference between not liking a player and not rating a player.
I've not seen anything that suggests people don't like the players.
06-12-2024, 02:09 PM
Since he converted to an attacking mid under LJ he's played about 80 games, scored 15 and 11 assists. That's not all though, as when you take in to consideration how many minutes he has played (4651), that's the equivalent to 51.67 games, which means a goal or assist every other game, with a broken ankle in the middle of that spell.
None of this takes into account the fact that he's a constant pest, leads the press well and is happy to put the boot in when needed.
We'd be delighted if we signed someone with those numbers and attributes.
06-12-2024, 02:15 PM
Since he converted to an attacking mid under LJ he's played about 80 games, scored 15 and 11 assists. That's not all though, as when you take in to consideration how many minutes he has played (4651), that's the equivalent to 51.67 games, which means a goal or assist every other game, with a broken ankle in the middle of that spell.
None of this takes into account the fact that he's a constant pest, leads the press well and is happy to put the boot in when needed.
Wouldn't be surprised to see him start behind the strikers against Celtic and let him press and harry them.
Paulie Walnuts
06-12-2024, 02:24 PM
He scored in a 3-0 win on Saturday :confused:
Or is this some bizarre criteria where it has to be the decisive goal? Remember we have won 2 league games this season:2-0 and 3-0
It’s not bizarre criteria at all. It’s constantly said in football that a player has scored a goal to win the game etc.
Regardless of that fact though, he’s scored 1 goal in his last 27 games for us, so even scoring at all isn’t something he’s doing time and time again.
I’m aware we’ve won two games this season.. I’m not sure what that has to do with the topic at hand though.
supermcginn
06-12-2024, 02:29 PM
With those stats it's very surprising he hasn't even made the matchday squads on a few occasions this season, including our biggest game of the season against Hearts.
Or maybe he just isn't very good.
06-12-2024, 02:35 PM
With those stats it's very surprising he hasn't even made the matchday squads on a few occasions this season, including our biggest game of the season against Hearts.
Or maybe he just isn't very good.
Lewis Stevenson was in and out of the squad at his age as well and is rightfully regarded as stalwart, if not legend, at this club.
06-12-2024, 02:37 PM
Some players just can't hack it at a higher level, and Hibs are most definitely higher level than Dundee - maybe not in league position at the moment, but certainly in terms of expectation and demands from fans, and the opposition approach to games. Fact we think Simon Murray would improve us, shows just how far we've fallen. You could count on 2 fingers the current Hibs players who would get a game for us 5, 10 or 15 years ago.
06-12-2024, 02:38 PM
Josh does not get a lot of love for one of our own. What has happened to the conveyor belt.
We had a right back that was thrown into the deep end and under the bus for half a season and done admirably well but never seen again.
In recent years we had guys like Shaw and Fraser that were on the fringes but again never showed quite enough.
Just doesn't feel like we get that many coming through. We're almost getting on for a generation since the last 'golden generation' are we not.
06-12-2024, 02:45 PM
I've bitten my tongue and not commented on this thread all week.
I can't believe that some of the posters on here can consistently knock a Hibs player. I understand some fans don't think a player is good enough or simply don't like them but it gets really boring repeating it again and again and again and again.
One thing that can never be doubted is Campbell's commitment and effort. We moan time and again about the squad lacking these exact qualities.
Can they not give it a rest and just get behind a Hibs player.
A player who just left The Rangers last summer and is currently playing in Series A in Italy stated that one of the things that made him not play well at Ibrox was the abuse he got online and at games from his own support.
I dread to think what the likes of this thread would do for Campbell's confidence if he reads this.
On a week when he comes off the bench and scored as well.
06-12-2024, 02:51 PM
I can't believe that some of the posters on here can consistently knock a Hibs player. I understand some fans don't think a player is good enough or simply don't like them but it gets really boring repeating it again and again and again and again.
One thing that can never be doubted is Campbell's commitment and effort. We moan time and again about the squad lacking these exact qualities.
A player who just left The Rangers last summer and is currently playing in Series A in Italy stated that one of the things that made him not play well at Ibrox was the abuse he got online and at games from his own support.
I dread to think what the likes of this thread would do for Campbell's confidence if he reads this.
Who is this? Cannae work it out.:confused:
06-12-2024, 02:53 PM
It was in the Record today. Can't remember his name.
Paulie Walnuts
06-12-2024, 02:57 PM
Likewise. Doesn’t appear to be anyone that’s left Rangers for the Serie A?
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2024, 03:10 PM
I think it's absolutely lazy to say that negative comments about Campbell or Rocky are scapegoating them. They've been out the team for extended periods because they were poor. Unless you also think the various managers are scapegoating them too?
Seems like it's different for you when you're happy to lay into Newell for being poor though...that's fine eh :aok:
I have absolutely no issues with any manager dropping any player if their form drops and they are playing poorly that’s why we have a squad…
In Campbell and Rocky’s case both in the last two games have either played well or contributed to the team in a positive way though there’s still relentless negativity aimed at them which is almost definitely scapegoating imo …
If you had looked on the Newell threads you’d have seen I actually have praised him for his performances in our last two games , stuck up for him when he was getting called out for having a few beers and a bit of normality in his life …
I certainly haven’t Joe Newell cast in stone one way or the other the same way some have with Campbell and Rocky to be fair :aok:
06-12-2024, 03:21 PM
Valuable context. But there's 4 assists there in the League Cup against lower league teams.
I also cannot agree that he's effective at pressing or that his general energy translates into anything of value for us. And if we counted his contributions towards giving goals away, it cancels out half his goals.
As for relentless negativity etc that some others bemoan. Someone suggested that basically Campbell has been used incorrectly and maybe if we change his position and configure the team around him, we'll get more out of him. That is what prompted people to share their views on him.
06-12-2024, 03:30 PM
Valuable context. But there's 4 assists there in the League Cup against lower league teams.
I also cannot agree that he's effective at pressing or that his general energy translates into anything of value for us. And if we counted his contributions towards giving goals away, it cancels out half his goals.
As for relentless negativity etc that some others bemoan. Someone suggested that basically Campbell has been used incorrectly and maybe if we change his position and configure the team around him, we'll get more out of him. That is what prompted people to share their views on him.
If we were to compare him to one of the competitors for his position in Dylan Levitt then general energy > general lethargy. I know which one I’d rather have pressing to win the ball off me.
I’m a bit undecided on him. Such a mixed bag. Some decent stats if you want to view them as such, some great attributes, some excellent performances and contributions but for every single one of these an opposing argument can be legitimately provided.
1875Sean
06-12-2024, 03:54 PM
Not sure what your point is but, are you talking about Simon Murray when we sold him years ago, or Simon Murray in the summer when its said he wanted to go to Dundee and got a 3 year deal there at 32 year old?
What about the others classed as "not good enough for Hibs" like Drey Wright and Jair Taveres, also starring for teams above us in the league?
Taveres Is hardly starring for Motherwell
06-12-2024, 04:13 PM
Taveres Is hardly starring for Motherwell
I agree but he started the other night for them.
I wouldnae particularly say Simon Murray has been starring for Dundee either.
Donegal Hibby
06-12-2024, 04:29 PM
Joe Newell called a meeting with the players which seemed to have a positive effect , maybe we could get him to do one on here too .🤔
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-12-2024, 06:40 PM
An attacking midfielder?
Cesc Fabregas Euro 2012, that’s the best way I can describe it.
06-12-2024, 06:53 PM
It was in the Record today. Can't remember his name.
Think you mean Fabio Silva who went to La Liga not Serie A?
06-12-2024, 06:59 PM
He scored the winner against Barcelona last weekend. Has been playing really well for Las Palmas as the coach trusts him and he’s score 5 goals in 11 games. Only scored 4 in 18 at Rangers.
Spudster
06-12-2024, 09:59 PM
It’s not bizarre criteria at all. It’s constantly said in football that a player has scored a goal to win the game etc.
Regardless of that fact though, he’s scored 1 goal in his last 27 games for us, so even scoring at all isn’t something he’s doing time and time again.
I’m aware we’ve won two games this season.. I’m not sure what that has to do with the topic at hand though.
My point is that if we have won 2-0 and 3-0 then all five of those goals are discounted as none of them were the decisive goal. Just seems a mental criteria to judge anyone on IMO.
07-12-2024, 08:21 AM
That's the man.
Point stands
07-12-2024, 12:02 PM
There's plenty of players at Hibs just now that are clearly not good enough. That's why we are hovering at the bottom of the league.
07-12-2024, 12:06 PM
I like Josh Campbell but he’s not that good.
He struggles to get game time in a really bad hibs midfield.
Once we get our act together recruitment wise I can’t imagine him getting any game time at all.
Being one of our own doesn’t mean we need to turn a blind eye towards his quality
Donegal Hibby
07-12-2024, 12:22 PM
I like Josh Campbell but he’s not that good.
He struggles to get game time in a really bad hibs midfield.
Once we get our act together recruitment wise I can’t imagine him getting any game time at all.
Being one of our own doesn’t mean we need to turn a blind eye towards his quality
Don’t know about that .. think he’s a very handy player to have coming on like he did against Motherwell when some of our other players are tiring.. gives us fresh energy and like he showed he’s capable of getting us a goal too.
07-12-2024, 12:49 PM
Don’t know about that .. think he’s a very handy player to have coming on like he did against Motherwell when some of our other players are tiring.. gives us fresh energy and like he showed he’s capable of getting us a goal too.
He’s alright coming into a game when we’re already 2-0 up and on top. As well as Motherwell showing little to no threat.
I’m not sure he’s a great bringing on in other circumstances.
Everyone has his opinion on him. I just don’t think he’s that good and we need much better.
07-12-2024, 12:54 PM
There's plenty of players at Hibs just now that are clearly not good enough. That's why we are hovering at the bottom of the league.
Josh Campbell scored 9 goals and got 5 assists in a team that qualified for Europe. The idea he can't be part of a successful hibs squad is demonstrably silly.
07-12-2024, 01:09 PM
Josh Campbell scored 9 goals and got 5 assists in a team that qualified for Europe. The idea he can't be part of a successful hibs squad is demonstrably silly.
The idea he can is absurdly worse.
supermcginn
07-12-2024, 01:20 PM
Yet he's been left out again today and hasn't started regularly at all recently even though we have been at the bottom of a terrible league, sometimes he doesn't even make the squad. Delighted he isn't playing today as his frequent losing of possession would kill us.
07-12-2024, 01:38 PM
Any sub offers ‘fresh energy’ but by and large bringing him on hasn’t been successful recently - particularly when we’ve been clinging on. This myth that he gets about the park better than others is getting tiresome.
I’ve not doubt you’ll be lamenting missing his ‘pressing’ today i.e shuttling between players and getting nowhere near the ball -but the truth is that his occasional attacking contributions are heavily outweighed by his glaring weaknesses.
07-12-2024, 01:42 PM
SDG stopped bringing him on for a spell because he kept losing the ball and costing us goals. Hope he can come on and maybe score the equaliser today. Just don't bring him on when we have a narrow lead or holding on for a draw.
Donegal Hibby
07-12-2024, 01:52 PM
Any sub offers ‘fresh energy’ but by and large bringing him on hasn’t been successful recently - particularly when we’ve been clinging on. This myth that he gets about the park better than others is getting tiresome.
I’ve not doubt you’ll be lamenting missing his ‘pressing’ today i.e shuttling between players and getting nowhere near the ball -but the truth is that his occasional attacking contributions are heavily outweighed by his glaring weaknesses.
It has been successful in the last two games though for some to say that is probably too hard ..
No quite happy with the team and would imagine Campbell will come on at some point though wither that’s to help hold onto something or limit the damage remains to be seen …
Hope all our players do well and don’t really have any agenda against any of them .
07-12-2024, 01:58 PM
It has been successful in the last two games though for some to say that is probably too hard ..
No quite happy with the team and would imagine Campbell will come on at some point though wither that’s to help hold onto something or limit the damage remains to be seen …
Hope all our players do well and don’t really have any agenda against any of them .
More than happy for anyone in a Hibs top to do well - pointing out a players poor performance is not an ‘agenda’.
07-12-2024, 02:29 PM
Well, here he comes!
Donegal Hibby
07-12-2024, 02:30 PM
More than happy for anyone in a Hibs top to do well - pointing out a players poor performance is not an ‘agenda’.
He hasn’t been in the last two games though or do they not count :confused:
07-12-2024, 03:05 PM
Did you see his attempt at tracking Devlin for Aberdeen’s 2nd goal?
Donegal Hibby
07-12-2024, 03:22 PM
Did you see his attempt at tracking Devlin for Aberdeen’s 2nd goal?
You see his flick on for our third ?
K-Zazu
07-12-2024, 04:12 PM
I don’t think anyone has an agenda against players like Campbell, they just aren’t good enough. It’s as simple as that.
Hibiza
07-12-2024, 04:15 PM
Josh , like many others : simply not good enough.
07-12-2024, 04:16 PM
I don’t think anyone has an agenda against players like Campbell, they just aren’t good enough. It’s as simple as that.
Used to say the same against Benny Brazil and a host of others, all it does at a game is help to drain any confidence the player may have.
Fitbaw is mostly a confidence game, with skill added.
Donegal Hibby
07-12-2024, 04:19 PM
Disagree totally 👍
Paulie Walnuts
07-12-2024, 04:25 PM
Of course they don’t.
We’re bottom of the league and have been garbage for years, coinciding, but not exclusively because of, guys like Josh Campbell getting game time.
There’s no agenda. He’s not good enough. That’s it. The fact that those who are peddling the idea there’s an agenda are also the ones on other threads suggesting guys who can’t get regular starts in crap Hibs teams deserve contract extensions and captaincies or that our transfer window was 9/10 whilst bottom of the league should tell its own story.
07-12-2024, 04:32 PM
Of course they don’t.
We’re bottom of the league and have been garbage for years, coinciding, but not exclusively because of, guys like Josh Campbell getting game time.
There’s no agenda. He’s not good enough. That’s it. The fact that those who are peddling the idea there’s an agenda are also the ones on other threads suggesting guys who can’t get regular starts in crap Hibs teams deserve contract extensions and captaincies or that our transfer window was 9/10 whilst bottom of the league should tell its own story.
I think you perhaps have a higher opinion of what reality is or the apparent importance of some randoms on a football forum.
This team is full of crap players but they are Hibs players and when I am at Easter Road they get my support.
07-12-2024, 05:48 PM
A couple of moments today Josh has the chance to take on his player and get into a good position for a chance, failed both times as he just didn't look confident enough in his own abilities imo.
The bad has outweighed the good in recent times for Josh.
Murphys Touch
07-12-2024, 05:51 PM
A couple of moments today Josh has the chance to take on his player and get into a good position for a chance, failed both times as he just didn't look confident enough in his own abilities imo.
The bad has outweighed the good in recent times for Josh.
But he won a flick on once against Aberdeen (after arguably costing us a goal)
Paulie Walnuts
07-12-2024, 11:28 PM
I think you perhaps have a higher opinion of what reality is or the apparent importance of some randoms on a football forum.
This team is full of crap players but they are Hibs players and when I am at Easter Road they get my support.
My reality of what Josh Campbell is is aligned with where we are as a team.
08-12-2024, 07:37 AM
I assume that if Obita has 2 good games then you’ll stop saying we need to replace him, or that he’s no a good enough defender?
Can't deny Josh's commitment and love for the club but like a good few players at ER right now he isn't good enough for where we want to be, most of them are bottom Premier to top Championship level.
08-12-2024, 08:57 AM
But he won a flick on once against Aberdeen (after arguably costing us a goal)
Scored last week also
08-12-2024, 09:20 AM
I’m sick of seeing him in a Hibs top.
I thought the decision to bring him on yesterday was bonkers, especially when it meant moving someone else from a position they were doing well enough in.
Not really worth giving him stick now, Gray is the one that deserves it for using him continuously.
Donegal Hibby
08-12-2024, 10:02 AM
I assume that if Obita has 2 good games then you’ll stop saying we need to replace him, or that he’s no a good enough defender?
Where I’m at with our fullbacks is Miller is probably the best of them defensively. I don’t think either Obita or C Cadden are good when it comes to defending ..next to Bursik , Obita has probably made the most mistakes this season..
I have no agenda against Obita and if he plays well I will praise him for it rather than condemning for it which is sadly happening to other players on here .
08-12-2024, 10:18 AM
Where I’m at with our fullbacks is Miller is probably the best of them defensively. I don’t think either Obita or C Cadden are good when it comes to defending ..next to Bursik , Obita has probably made the most mistakes this season..
I have no agenda against Obita and if he plays well I will praise him for it rather than condemning for it which is sadly happening to other players on here .
It’s ok for you not to rate Obita cos he’s not played well, but if anyone else thinks Campbell or Rocky aren’t good enough (based on long term poor performances) then it’s scapegoating and an agenda, cool.
People aren’t condemning Josh for playing well, at all.
Donegal Hibby
08-12-2024, 10:28 AM
It’s ok for you not to rate Obita cos he’s not played well, but if anyone else thinks Campbell or Rocky aren’t good enough (based on long term poor performances) then it’s scapegoating and an agenda, cool.
People aren’t condemning Josh for playing well, at all.
Campbell has been fine in our two previous games which he has made a contribution in , yesterday he was fine again though the knives are still out ….
Speaking of yesterday the first goal we lost is why I’ve been critical of both our fullbacks.
As to Rocky I think he’s been excellent in our last few games though if you want to keep giving him stick for past performances fair enough 👍
08-12-2024, 10:37 AM
Campbell has been fine in our two previous games which he has made a contribution in , yesterday he was fine again though the knives are still out ….
Speaking of yesterday the first goal we lost is why I’ve been critical of both our fullbacks.
As to Rocky I think he’s been excellent in our last few games though if you want to keep giving him stick for past performances fair enough 👍
You seem to think “Campbell has been fine in our 2 previous games” and “Rocky has been excellent in our last few games” is how to judge players and everyone judging them on how they’ve been in their last 40 games is wrong and has an agenda. It’s ridiculous.
Donegal Hibby
08-12-2024, 10:56 AM
You seem to think “Campbell has been fine in our 2 previous games” and “Rocky has been excellent in our last few games” is how to judge players and everyone judging them on how they’ve been in their last 40 games is wrong and has an agenda. It’s ridiculous.
No but you can praise them if they play well in games rather than having a knife out at them constantly .. I could with Obita as I think he’s cost us a fair few points this season and the first goal came from a cross into our box from his side again but seeing the quality of opposition we were up against I think he should be given a break.
Folk wanting to continuously moan about certain players that they develop a wee hatred for even when they do well isn’t for me…
I’ll leave you now to enjoy yourself with this👍
08-12-2024, 10:59 AM
No but you can praise them if they play well in games rather than having a knife out at them constantly .. I could with Obita as I think he’s cost us a fair few points this season and the first goal came from a cross into our box from his side again but seeing the quality of opposition we were up against I think he should be given a break.
Folk wanting to continuously moan about certain players that they develop a wee hatred for even when they do well isn’t for me…
Rocky has had plenty praise for how he’s played recently, that doesnae suit your agenda against Hibs fans who disagree with you though.
I’ll leave you to enjoy that 👌
08-12-2024, 11:55 AM
Seeing as you think Josh deserves huge credit for winning a flick on against Aberdeen how would you analyse him losing his man (how many times?!) at the corner which led to his man getting a flick on that Newell put into his own net?
You accuse folk of having agendas yet you seem utterly blind to the bad bits and want to give him massive credit for being ‘fine’ in games.
I don’t think he was fine yesterday - his supposed strength according to hibs.net myth is his box to box engine. I’ve never seen a player who is so easy to get past. Celtic players were walking past him. A midfielder who consistently has little impact on games.
Badge
08-12-2024, 12:36 PM
Sticking to the last four games in which Rocky has started we have conceded 10 goals. In the four games immediately before that in which Rocky didn’t start we conceded 4 goals.
Interested to get your thoughts on that.
08-12-2024, 03:44 PM
Sticking to the last four games in which Rocky has started we have conceded 10 goals. In the four games immediately before that in which Rocky didn’t start we conceded 4 goals.
Interested to get your thoughts on that.
Don't know about DH but my own thoughts on that are that Rocky's presence on the pitch or the lack thereof would have made little difference to conceding 3 at Parkhead or to the 10 man 4 goal collapse at Dundee. On the other foot, his MOM performance vs Aberdeen may just have been a turning point in our season.
Donegal Hibby
08-12-2024, 04:18 PM
Don't know about DH but my own thoughts on that are that Rocky's presence on the pitch or the lack thereof would have made little difference to conceding 3 at Parkhead or to the 10 man 4 goal collapse at Dundee. On the other foot, his MOM performance vs Aberdeen may just have been a turning point in our season.
Agree with what you say 👍…also the four games before Rocky came in as it currently stands where hertz
( 11th ) , Ross County ( 8th ) , Dundee Utd ( 4th ) and St Mirren ( 7th ) …
Since Rocky came in we have played Dundee , Aberdeen , Motherwell and Celtic who are 6th , 2nd , 5th and 1st which we have taken an extra point from too.
Hibiza
08-12-2024, 04:22 PM
Campbell would struggle to get a place in the Scottish championship league .
Badge
08-12-2024, 04:26 PM
Thanks.
I was thinking that in the 4 games prior to Ekpiteta’s injury we were looking a bit better defensively and he was coming on to a game following a sticky start to the season. I just don’t feel we look at all comfortable defensively when Rocky is in the team and that is not just this season. I certainly haven’t seen anything in these last 4 games that would make me want the club to be offering Rocky a new 2 year contract as has been suggested.
You could criticise Obita yesterday, if you applied the criteria you have, that the cross came from his side. Anyone who’s seen the match or the highlights can quite clearly see Obita is defending 2 players on his own (he’s marking Kuhn who waits for Alistair Johnson to overlap then plays the ball to him, Obita was doing a good job, and AJ’s marker watches him run behind Kuhn and doesn’t help Obita at all)m which is why the cross came in
The main person culpable for Celtics first goal is Lewis miller, who watches Engels run onto the ball but doesn’t make any move to defend him, preferring to mark a guy who wasn’t moving towards the ball and would have had a much more difficult shot even if he received the ball
08-12-2024, 06:52 PM
You could criticise Obita yesterday, if you applied the criteria you have, that the cross came from his side. Anyone who’s seen the match or the highlights can quite clearly see Obita is defending 2 players on his own (he’s marking Kuhn who waits for Alistair Johnson to overlap then plays the ball to him, Obita was doing a good job, and AJ’s marker watches him run behind Kuhn and doesn’t help Obita at all)m which is why the cross came in
The main person culpable for Celtics first goal is Lewis miller, who watches Engels run onto the ball but doesn’t make any move to defend him, preferring to mark a guy who wasn’t moving towards the ball and would have had a much more difficult shot even if he received the ball
Think Cadden passed on Johnston to Obita but Jordan imo should have closed down better. Also think one of the centre backs has to cover the front post probably Rocky.
Donegal Hibby
08-12-2024, 08:11 PM
I think it was against hertz I seen Rocky having to go out and cover on the left side in a similar situation trying mark two men because Obita was up the other end . He went to mark shankland though the ball bounced over the two of them and landed at the other hertz player , I remember Rocky getting criticised for it and in defending him I said he shouldn’t have been put in that position in the first place so I do take it you have a valid point there in Obita should have got more help in that situation….
In saying that there’s been others like this one 4:12 in where our fullback is at fault IMO ….
https://youtu.be/JXltEwmFgdI?si=-_TuuXyQMEbXIr3k
That isn’t the only time either and for what it’s worth I think Cadden is also as guilty on the other side. Both Cadden and Obita’s main strength is getting forward in attack in trying to create goalscoring opportunities but both are defensively weak again IMO . Are both creating enough and getting above average assists to other players in their positions in our league is something I wonder about? …
I mentioned this before but I watched Wycombe a while back and they had a fullback playing ( ex Aberdeen) who blocked , tackled and cut out about every cross the other team tried to put in the box and in truth the CH ‘s had very little to deal with the whole match . The Wycombe commentators where singing his praises which I could see why , he was excellent…
My gripe about Cadden and especially Obita is I think over the last couple of seasons teams have found it to easy to get the ball in our box because they aren’t great defending or caught out of position regularly like in 4:12 …
Because of the quality opposition we are after facing which are levels above ours that probably force teams to make mistakes I think this is one time we should give the players including Obita a bit of leeway . In truth I thought it was about as good as I’ve seen us play there in a long time which is a credit to them .
08-12-2024, 08:48 PM
[QUOTE=B.H.F.C;7837196I’m sick of seeing him in a Hibs top
I thought the decision to bring him on yesterday was bonkers, especially when it meant moving someone else from a position they were doing well enough in.
Not really worth giving him stick now, Gray is the one that deserves it for using him continuously.[/QUOTE]
“ Sick of seeing him” - that comment just about takes the biscuit.
08-12-2024, 11:40 PM
Campbell would struggle to get a place in the Scottish championship league .
Bollocks.
Donegal Hibby
09-12-2024, 03:12 AM
Seeing as you think Josh deserves huge credit for winning a flick on against Aberdeen how would you analyse him losing his man (how many times?!) at the corner which led to his man getting a flick on that Newell put into his own net?
You accuse folk of having agendas yet you seem utterly blind to the bad bits and want to give him massive credit for being ‘fine’ in games.
I don’t think he was fine yesterday - his supposed strength according to hibs.net myth is his box to box engine. I’ve never seen a player who is so easy to get past. Celtic players were walking past him. A midfielder who consistently has little impact on games.
I think he does deserve credit for winning the flick on against Aberdeen because if he hadn’t we might not have got the equaliser, he also got hurt doing it though got up quickly when we scored to celebrate our goal like the good Hibby he is ….
Motherwell game he came on again and contributed in a good way though you totally fail to mention that for some reason :confused: , Yet jump to the Celtic game , ok … you want to have a go again in criticising him though I thought we played really well , as well as I’ve seen us play there in a long time against a vastly superior team … Josh Campbell was very much a part of that .. it was a real team effort that was encouraging..
As to being utterly blind to the bad bits i have seen a team recently with togetherness , spirit , character that’s fighting for the manager.. the bad bits for me have actually been how eager folk want to hang our manager and certain players recently.. I wish I was blind to this as I find it deeply disappointing to be honest.
09-12-2024, 09:26 AM
Thanks.
I was thinking that in the 4 games prior to Ekpiteta’s injury we were looking a bit better defensively and he was coming on to a game following a sticky start to the season. I just don’t feel we look at all comfortable defensively when Rocky is in the team and that is not just this season. I certainly haven’t seen anything in these last 4 games that would make me want the club to be offering Rocky a new 2 year contract as has been suggested.
Since he finally started using Iredale in a three/five at the back, it’ll be interesting to see that formation when Marv is back. Think that’ll suit O’Hora better as well as he played on the right of a three before he came here.
I'd be dropping O'Hora and going with Iredale, Rocky & Marv.
And I still think we should be looking at signing someone better than all 3 in January, although there are other priorities.
09-12-2024, 02:02 PM
And I still think we should be looking at signing someone better than all 3 in January, although there are other priorities.
If Rocky could learn how to head a ball he’d be in with a shout. But he wouldn’t get a start ahead of the other three for me.
09-12-2024, 03:20 PM
I think he does deserve credit for winning the flick on against Aberdeen because if he hadn’t we might not have got the equaliser, he also got hurt doing it though got up quickly when we scored to celebrate our goal like the good Hibby he is ….
Motherwell game he came on again and contributed in a good way though you totally fail to mention that for some reason :confused: , Yet jump to the Celtic game , ok … you want to have a go again in criticising him though I thought we played really well , as well as I’ve seen us play there in a long time against a vastly superior team … Josh Campbell was very much a part of that .. it was a real team effort that was encouraging..
As to being utterly blind to the bad bits i have seen a team recently with togetherness , spirit , character that’s fighting for the manager.. the bad bits for me have actually been how eager folk want to hang our manager and certain players recently.. I wish I was blind to this as I find it deeply disappointing to be honest.
I posted on this thread that I thought Campbell’s goal v Motherwell was superb.
You’ve criticised other players so why are you different?
I was specifically talking about you ignoring Campbell’s shortcomings and over egging his supposed qualities. If he improves I’ll be happy but the truth is that players playing to the level he does at the moment are more likely to see us regress than improve. He is not a guy I trust in any sort of big situation as he generally goes missing - yet you claim he wins us points regularly.
It’s something we probably need to respectfully disagree on.
09-12-2024, 04:21 PM
I’d not be looking to make any changes until we’re forced to.
Donegal Hibby
09-12-2024, 06:51 PM
I posted on this thread that I thought Campbell’s goal v Motherwell was superb.
You’ve criticised other players so why are you different?
I was specifically talking about you ignoring Campbell’s shortcomings and over egging his supposed qualities. If he improves I’ll be happy but the truth is that players playing to the level he does at the moment are more likely to see us regress than improve. He is not a guy I trust in any sort of big situation as he generally goes missing - yet you claim he wins us points regularly.
It’s something we probably need to respectfully disagree on.
I have criticised players like Newell and Obita though I have also said that I thought Newell has played well recently and defended him when we was out socialising on a Sunday afternoon , Obita, I’ve said against Celtic should be given some leeway like the rest of the team .. Campbell for me in recent games hasn’t been bad and if anything has contributed in two of our last three games though there’s still a fair bit of criticism aimed at him which I think is a bit unfair…
It use to be Hanlon and Stevenson getting it tight on here at times though with them now gone it’s Campbell and Rocky.. I suppose that’s just the nature of the beast unfortunately.
If you don’t like him that’s fair enough though I like him and think he’s a useful player to have like Rocky is too . I disagree he generally goes missing in any sort of big situation as I’ve seen him turn in a MotM performance against Sevco where he grabbed a fantastic equaliser , hat trick against Aberdeen in what was a massive game too .
To be perfectly honest I don’t mind if people don’t like him or hate him though I don’t like to see when it escalates like Rocky asking why we hate him , Youan getting racially abused on line , Mckirdy getting boo’ d coming on as a sub , JDH and Youan having spate’s with fans getting dragged away ..
just don’t see how giving our own players a hard time helps in anyway at all . Ones that do get it are normally the ones that need a bit of support too.
So as you say it’s something we will need to respectfully disagree on S 👍
09-12-2024, 08:19 PM
I have criticised players like Newell and Obita though I have also said that I thought Newell has played well recently and defended him when we was out socialising on a Sunday afternoon , Obita, I’ve said against Celtic should be given some leeway like the rest of the team .. Campbell for me in recent games hasn’t been bad and if anything has contributed in two of our last three games though there’s still a fair bit of criticism aimed at him which I think is a bit unfair…
It use to be Hanlon and Stevenson getting it tight on here at times though with them now gone it’s Campbell and Rocky.. I suppose that’s just the nature of the beast unfortunately.
If you don’t like him that’s fair enough though I like him and think he’s a useful player to have like Rocky is too . I disagree he generally goes missing in any sort of big situation as I’ve seen him turn in a MotM performance against Sevco where he grabbed a fantastic equaliser , hat trick against Aberdeen in what was a massive game too .
To be perfectly honest I don’t mind if people don’t like him or hate him though I don’t like to see when it escalates like Rocky asking why we hate him , Youan getting racially abused on line , Mckirdy getting boo’ d coming on as a sub , JDH and Youan having spate’s with fans getting dragged away ..
just don’t see how giving our own players a hard time helps in anyway at all . Ones that do get it are normally the ones that need a bit of support too.
You say “don’t like him” but you know that’s not what people are saying. Nobody doesn’t like them. Some folk just don’t rate them. It’s very different.
K-Zazu
09-12-2024, 08:34 PM
I’m convinced you work for Hibs and have been put on here to keep everyone positive in these tough times, or your related to Josh Campbell 😂😂
Donegal Hibby
09-12-2024, 08:56 PM
I’m convinced you work for Hibs and have been put on here to keep everyone positive in these tough times, or your related to Josh Campbell 😂😂
Glad I don’t work for Hibs as to keep some on here positive you’d either need to be a miracle worker or a doctor dishing out large doses of happy pills on the hour 😂😂
09-12-2024, 09:01 PM
Glad I don’t work for Hibs as to keep some on here positive you’d either need to be a miracle worker or a doctor dishing out large doses of happy pills on the hour 😂😂
Many on here understand that Hibs are currently like an old Volkswagen, but they fail to understand that they can’t expect it to perform like a Bentley.
10-12-2024, 04:37 PM
https://x.com/edinburghsport/status/1866528759291019304?t=r_a0QUZH5VlvM2mEMq7HVA&s=19
Interesting insight.
We definitely are harder on our own.
10-12-2024, 04:42 PM
https://x.com/edinburghsport/status/1866528759291019304?t=r_a0QUZH5VlvM2mEMq7HVA&s=19
Interesting insight.
Personally think its the exact opposite and players who come through the academy get much more leeway from fans. Especially players we know are Hibs fans.
10-12-2024, 04:45 PM
Personally think its the exact opposite and players who come through the academy get much more leeway from fans. Especially players we know are Hibs fans.
Thats got to be a joke surely? Hanlon and Stevenson? Porto? Constantly ripped into by our own fans.
10-12-2024, 04:49 PM
Thats got to be a joke surely? Hanlon and Stevenson? Porto? Constantly ripped into by our own fans.
Did you see the reception and respect Both Hanlon and Stevenson got when they left? Aye, folk moaned about them at times, but its football, every player will get it eventually.
10-12-2024, 04:52 PM
There’s players got a lot, lot worse than them. They were just her for so long that they were spoken about a lot more.
10-12-2024, 05:15 PM
Just speaking for myself, but I was a massive supporter of all three of them, right up to the end of their times at Hibs.
I’m critical of Josh Campbell because I just don’t see the basic qualities/attributes I think you need for this level. Cannae fault his attitude. Would never doubt his desire.
10-12-2024, 05:15 PM
Did you see the reception and respect Both Hanlon and Stevenson got when they left? Aye, folk moaned about them at times, but its football, every player will get it eventually.
So as they got a nice leaving gift the 15 years of dogs abuse online and from the stands doesnt count? Not for me. :aok:
Paulie Walnuts
10-12-2024, 06:36 PM
So as they got a nice leaving gift the 15 years of dogs abuse online and from the stands doesnt count? Not for me. :aok:
Paul Hanlon spent 8 of those 15 years with the fans singing about how winning the cup was all because of him. The two of them spent the final 8 years of their Hibs careers rightly being considered legends.
The two of them got criticism at times, but that’s hardly a surprise when you’ve been part of a team that got relegated, part of a team that got battered in a cup final by your local rivals etc. There’s not a chance it was worse than others over the piece imo.
10-12-2024, 08:07 PM
Interesting insight.
Don't think there much insight there at all - he admitted he's underperformed. The bit about academy boys getting it tighter seemed a bit like self pity and I don't agree with it at all. The old "I care too much" nonsense is another sympathy vote getter.
People suggesting that Lewis, Paul and Porto were subject to regular abuse must be sitting somewhere different to me in the ground - as far as I know they're all held in very high esteem. They got criticism at times but nothing massively vitriolic compared to other players I can think of who were not part of the academy. Long serving guys will always have ups and downs with the crowd.
Does Josh get more stick than guys like Newell, JDH, Levitt, Miller, Rocky, Youan etc etc? I don't think so, and I can't remember them being part of our academy. Even Boyler has been criticised heavily this season- and guess what? He's under performed too...
10-12-2024, 08:14 PM
Don't think there much insight there at all - he admitted he's underperformed. The bit about academy boys getting it tighter seemed a bit like self pity and I don't agree with it at all. The old "I care too much" nonsense is another sympathy vote getter.
People suggesting that Lewis, Paul and Porto were subject to regular abuse must be sitting somewhere different to me in the ground - as far as I know they're all held in very high esteem. They got criticism at times but nothing massively vitriolic compared to other players I can think of who were not part of the academy. Long serving guys will always have ups and downs with the crowd.
Does Josh get more stick than guys like Newell, JDH, Levitt, Miller, Rocky, Youan etc etc? I don't think so, and I can't remember them being part of our academy. Even Boyler has been criticised heavily this season- and guess what? He's under performed too...
Nothing personal but I don't think I agree with a single word of this.
10-12-2024, 08:28 PM
No offence taken - happy to accept we’re all entitled to our opinions.
Surprised you disagree for instance that Boyler has under performed this year or that Youan and Rocky get more stick than Campbell but we all see things differently
10-12-2024, 08:31 PM
You seriously don't think Boyle has underachieved this season?
Paulie Walnuts
10-12-2024, 09:11 PM
Donegal Hibby
10-12-2024, 09:31 PM
Being a Hibs fan at Hibs since a young boy I’d say now as a player caring too much is understandable in Campbells case and maybe the criticism/ abuse might affect him slightly more which is why he’s saying it …
Normally IMO the players that are getting the grief are ones who have lost form , hit a bad patch or aren’t as good as other players in the team but become a target for relentless criticism/ abuse when they are the ones most needing a bit of support and encouragement .. how giving them a hard time or worse benefits them or the club in the long run I could never quite figure out 🤔
Se7enUp
10-12-2024, 10:46 PM
Yes he does get more stick. Just look at hibs.net to work that out. The Josh Campbell thread count shows a ridiculous number of posts slating him.
Donegal Hibby
11-12-2024, 12:49 AM
Does Josh get more stick than guys like Newell, JDH, Levitt, Miller, Rocky, Youan etc etc? I don't think so,
Genuine question , have you ever called these players out as having “ A HEART OF A MOUSE “ though ?
11-12-2024, 06:10 AM
Genuine question , have you ever called these players out as having “ A HEART OF A MOUSE “ though ?
Stevie Mallan got called out for it almost weekly. Another who got it far worse than Campbell does.
DIXIHIBS
11-12-2024, 06:44 AM
Totally disagree with players getting stick for not being good players. That's on the manager for picking them. Totally agree with players getting stick who ARE good players but are underperforming or not giving 100%. Campbell probably falls into the first category but fans do turn on him very quickly compared to others imho.
11-12-2024, 07:13 AM
No offence taken - happy to accept we’re all entitled to our opinions.
Surprised you disagree for instance that Boyler has under performed this year or that Youan and Rocky get more stick than Campbell but we all see things differently
Apologies missed the Boyle bit which i absolutely agree with. Genuinely think Josh gets more stick than anybody else but not a hill I am going to die on.
As long as we all get behind everybody on Saturday that's all that matters right now.
11-12-2024, 07:44 AM
As long as we all get behind everybody on Saturday that's all that matters right now.
Agree completely.
I think during the week everyone is more than entitled to debate the merits of our players on here but on matchday everyone wearing that Hibs jersey should get full backing.
11-12-2024, 07:50 AM
Agree completely.
I think during the week everyone is more than entitled to debate the merits of our players on here but on matchday everyone wearing that Hibs jersey should get full backing.
Absolutely. Starting to get a bit nervous about Saturday already.
Murphys Touch
11-12-2024, 10:52 AM
He gets stick because he's not very good in games - a point that Josh slightly makes himself.
And I also disagree that youth academy players get it worse. If you look through all this thread we claim that Josh's work rate, commitment, energy, passion is never in doubt.....and I guarantee ALL posts about Louis, Hanlon, Porto, Deeks, Ian Murray etc say the same....but ability and PERFORMANCES are slaughtered
Now look at threads with Joe Newell, Yoaun, Ryan McGovern, Liam Craig etc and tell don't me that the insults are only about ability and performances. Our academy players are never doubted on the "non technical" expectations but others are.
11-12-2024, 11:21 AM
Agree completely.
Also agree. I would add that the team always gets backed at ER. That includes Josh Campbell or anyone else.
No idea why so many folk on here get upset when they read things that are critical of players on here. Never used to be this way.
Hibiza
11-12-2024, 03:32 PM
Josh all the best but :😭
14-12-2024, 04:10 PM
Boooooooooooooooo
14-12-2024, 04:11 PM
Even out with the goal he done really well today
Won a massive amount of headers in our own box and defended well
Won the second pen too actually
14-12-2024, 04:12 PM
goal machine
end of and fact
14-12-2024, 04:13 PM
Well done with the goal today Josh. Keep it up and you never know some of these anti Hibs player posters might change their minds!
Donegal Hibby
14-12-2024, 04:18 PM
I have said in the past that Campbell is a good player to have and that contributes to us , today showed that .. delighted for the guy because I genuinely think he gets a raw deal on here at times …
Well done Josh :applause:
14-12-2024, 04:21 PM
Massive part of today's win
14-12-2024, 04:29 PM
I have said in the past that Campbell is a good player to have and that contributes to us , today showed that .. delighted for the guy because I genuinely think he gets a raw deal on here at times …
Well done Josh :applause:Well said, I've not been his most loyal supporter but in the times we are in he is definitely bringing something to the table
14-12-2024, 04:45 PM
Wins headers in his own box, pings up the other end and puts the stamp on a win.
Well done Josh.
NC1875
14-12-2024, 04:49 PM
Even out with the goal he done really well today
Won a massive amount of headers in our own box and defended well
Won the second pen too actually
Opinions. Outwith his goal I thought he was terrible as usual. Not the time to complain today after a win though.
14-12-2024, 05:49 PM
Opinions. Outwith his goal I thought he was terrible as usual. Not the time to complain today after a win though.
Won the penalty that put us in front and was one of a few that actually defended cross balls well. Not sure what else he could have done and if teh front three showed anywhere near the drive and determination Josh did to get into the box for his goal we would be much further up the league. He has plenty flaws but he may be an important player for us in the next month
14-12-2024, 05:51 PM
Gave the ball away at the edge of our box yet again, lucky for him this time it didn't cost us. But popped up at the right time, great run. Never a starter for us but impact sub if played as far forward as possible.
14-12-2024, 06:37 PM
Gave the ball away at the edge of our box yet again, lucky for him this time it didn't cost us. But popped up at the right time, great run. Never a starter for us but impact sub if played as far forward as possible.
You mean when he had the ball passed out to him under pressure, took a heavy touch and recovered possession? Aye, jail him.
14-12-2024, 06:40 PM
The worst midfield goal machine we've ever had.
14-12-2024, 06:43 PM
Well done Josh !
14-12-2024, 06:45 PM
richard_pitts
14-12-2024, 06:46 PM
You mean when he had the ball passed out to him under pressure, took a heavy touch and recovered possession? Aye, jail him.
Indeed. Boyle gave it away at 2-1 and the keeper had to make a save, yet he gets no criticism. 2 very important goals in three games for Josh. He also won the second penalty