View Full Version : The taste of drink is repulsive.

14-10-2024, 05:45 PM
Suddenly for no reason, i've no inclination to drink alcohol. The taste of beer or lager has become horrible?

Anyone else had this?

Not really a huge drinker, more a saturday binge drinker of between 8-12 pints, but not anymore?:confused:

14-10-2024, 06:23 PM
Has your pub been taken over by Ushers Brewery by any chance.

One for older posters

14-10-2024, 06:30 PM
Has your pub been taken over by Ushers Brewery by any chance.

One for older postersDrybrough's Keg Heavy did that for me[emoji6]

pollution
14-10-2024, 06:42 PM
Suddenly for no reason, i've no inclination to drink alcohol. The taste of beer or lager has become horrible?

Anyone else had this?

Not really a huge drinker, more a saturday binge drinker of between 8-12 pints, but not anymore?:confused:

Post Covid reaction ?

I have the same for steaks/chops/stews after Covid

14-10-2024, 06:51 PM

Anyone else had this?

change in diet, eating habits or taking a course of tablets?

14-10-2024, 06:59 PM
change in diet, eating habits or taking a course of tablets?

No change of diet or tablets, but i have Crohn's and have had a flare up for the last couple of months?:confused:

Paul1642
14-10-2024, 08:22 PM
No change of diet or tablets, but i have Crohn's and have had a flare up for the last couple of months?:confused:

Maybe your body telling you that it doesn’t agree with alcohol at the moment :(

Lendo
15-10-2024, 06:38 AM

Anyone else had this?

My last pint was on Christmas Day. I hadn't intended on stopping drinking this year but I feel like I need to see it through now. I have genuinely not missed it. Much happier, healthier and fitter (bank account is happier too). I am pretty sure I'll not be going back to drinking again.

15-10-2024, 06:52 AM
My last pint was on Christmas Day. I hadn't intended on stopping drinking this year but I feel like I need to see it through now. I have genuinely not missed it. Much happier, healthier and fitter (bank account is happier too). I am pretty sure I'll not be going back to drinking again.

I've found myself thinking about stopping drinking more and more. The biggest thing that is putting me off is the social pressure of refusing a drink when I'm out which probably seems like madness.

I don't really drink in the house anyway. I'll maybe have the odd drink on a Saturday night but for the most part I'd rather have a coffee. I always liked a drink when I was out though and I'm probably a bit of a classic binge drinker. I can go a week or 2 without touching a drop then if I'm out it's all in. I also like a pint by myself if I'm out somewhere with no wife or kids in tow and the opportunity for half an hour of peace presents itself. I still enjoy the latter but the former is increasingly not enjoyable, or rather the aftermath isn't. I can handle a physical hangover albeit they are getting worse but mentally I'm all over the place after a session now. A horrible anxiety and lethargy that hits hard then lingers for days and leads to all sort of other bad habits around eating badly and not exercising.

I'm thinking January might be the time to start. Load of people will be doing 'dry January' anyway so if I refuse a drink it will go a bit more unnoticed.

Lendo
15-10-2024, 08:14 AM
I've found myself thinking about stopping drinking more and more. The biggest thing that is putting me off is the social pressure of refusing a drink when I'm out which probably seems like madness.

I don't really drink in the house anyway. I'll maybe have the odd drink on a Saturday night but for the most part I'd rather have a coffee. I always liked a drink when I was out though and I'm probably a bit of a classic binge drinker. I can go a week or 2 without touching a drop then if I'm out it's all in. I also like a pint by myself if I'm out somewhere with no wife or kids in tow and the opportunity for half an hour of peace presents itself. I still enjoy the latter but the former is increasingly not enjoyable, or rather the aftermath isn't. I can handle a physical hangover albeit they are getting worse but mentally I'm all over the place after a session now. A horrible anxiety and lethargy that hits hard then lingers for days and leads to all sort of other bad habits around eating badly and not exercising.

I'm thinking January might be the time to start. Load of people will be doing 'dry January' anyway so if I refuse a drink it will go a bit more unnoticed.

Getting grief from my pals for not boozing was probably the hardest part to deal with. It's a sad world where we have to explain to people why we are choosing NOT to drink. After a few nights outs though people realise you're being serious and are committed to it so tend to just accept it and leave you alone. It's tough trying to find the motivation to go out at all when you know you're going to be sober. I will most likely go along in the afternoon/early evening, have a few non-alcoholic beers then head home early.

Just having my Saturday and Sunday mornings back and being able to be productive has been the biggest upside for me. Not having a hangover means I'll get to ParkRun, or out with the camera, I'll most likely cook something (whereas before I would be getting takeaways)

15-10-2024, 11:45 AM

Getting grief from my pals for not boozing was probably the hardest part to deal with. It's a sad world where we have to explain to people why we are choosing NOT to drink. After a few nights outs though people realise you're being serious and are committed to it so tend to just accept it and leave you alone. It's tough trying to find the motivation to go out at all when you know you're going to be sober. I will most likely go along in the afternoon/early evening, have a few non-alcoholic beers then head home early.

Just having my Saturday and Sunday mornings back and being able to be productive has been the biggest upside for me. Not having a hangover means I'll get to ParkRun, or out with the camera, I'll most likely cook something (whereas before I would be getting takeaways)

I read something online the other day, about how daft it is that if you say you don’t want a drink, you get all sorts of gip from people, but the moment you say you’re on medication or anything like that, people don’t hassle you at all.

I don’t drink (or extremely rarely) and still get funny looks when I meet people and I ask for a soft drink or decline when they’re getting a round in. It probably helped me that I’m quite bloody minded like that, the more people nipped at me about it the more I dug my heels in and refused, but most people accept it and don’t bother.

15-10-2024, 12:07 PM
I very seldom drink nowadays, family gatherings or birthday celebrations and that's about it.

15-10-2024, 12:19 PM

I stopped drinking about two years ago, maybe more, out of choice. Got fed up of the fear the day after and of spending a lot of money on a night out.

I probably have a smaller group of friends now, but I have a much better time with them. We might go climbing, out for a meal, go to a comedy night - it still works out cheaper and generally each night out feels a bit different, rather than just a repeat of the previous Saturday.

I also feel so much healthier and my mental health has come on leaps and bounds. I hadn’t noticed how long after a night out I was still carrying the mental burden of it. It also forced me to deal with issues rather than try to blank them out.

It’s difficult for the first month or so, and you may lose a small amount of friends but generally speaking it’s the best thing I’ve done in a long time.

I’ve also given up caffeine and similarly my mood has had a drastic improvement. Way less up and down than before.

15-10-2024, 12:40 PM
I hope this is just a temporary thing, as i really enjoy a night out. I dont suffer from hangovers and feel that i night out does not affect the day or days after.

And i have some very good friends in my drinking circle, who i'd miss if i stopped drinking, because if i did stop drinking i think i'd stop going to the pub.

15-10-2024, 01:44 PM
I hope this is just a temporary thing, as i really enjoy a night out. I dont suffer from hangovers and feel that i night out does not affect the day or days after.

And i have some very good friends in my drinking circle, who i'd miss if i stopped drinking, because if i did stop drinking i think i'd stop going to the pub.

Don't mean to scare you but the same thing happened to my mum when I was wee. One day, drink all of a sudden tasted disgusting. It is still the same 38/39 years later. She will occasionally try one at a celebratory event (a wedding, etc.) but more often than not, it will not be finished. Even more so after eating a meal - she couldn't even stand a sip of even heavily diluted alcohol after eating.

She forces a whisky down her if she has a cold.

15-10-2024, 02:24 PM
Don't mean to scare you but the same thing happened to my mum when I was wee. One day, drink all of a sudden tasted disgusting. It is still the same 38/39 years later. She will occasionally try one at a celebratory event (a wedding, etc.) but more often than not, it will not be finished. Even more so after eating a meal - she couldn't even stand a sip of even heavily diluted alcohol after eating.

She forces a whisky down her if she has a cold.
:shocked:You have scared me, :greengrin

15-10-2024, 02:49 PM
I'm still drinking. I'm still enjoying it. I'm still not getting hangovers! ☺️

None of my regular drinkmates have stopped either.

I've often wondered what would happen, for say a temporary temperance stint, pills aside. I pretty certain we'd all still turn up but I think buying rounds might get a little awkward. There might be mutterings.

I don't know!

In the last 40ish years or so we've been drinking together it's never happened 😆

15-10-2024, 02:51 PM

Anyone else had this?

Have you had Hypnotherapie and asked that your memory of the treatment gets erased?

15-10-2024, 03:15 PM
Have you had Hypnotherapie and asked that your memory of the treatment gets erased?
Naw. :greengrin

15-10-2024, 05:46 PM
Hangovers did for me. New year 2008 was the last. Don’t miss it even in a social sense. When at nights out I last till the nonsense starts and I take my leave. That usually coincides with the slow inevitable rise in decibels.

15-10-2024, 06:01 PM

This is me as well, but I've no inclination to give up as I like a binge once every 6 weeks or so. It's a good release and nice to talk ***** now and again with pint in hand.

15-10-2024, 06:26 PM

Naw. :greengrin

But you would say that, wouldn't you...

15-10-2024, 08:21 PM
But you would say that, wouldn't you...

16-10-2024, 07:29 AM
It's the volume that gets to me. Long gone are the nights of 10 or more pints. I usually have at most 3 now and move onto vodka.

In fact more and more am I taking the car to gigs and don't drink. It doesn't really bother me.

16-10-2024, 10:11 AM
It's the volume that gets to me. Long gone are the nights of 10 or more pints. I usually have at most 3 now and move onto vodka.

In fact more and more am I taking the car to gigs and don't drink. It doesn't really bother me.

Same here, was in Liverpool at the weekend catching up with friends who I haven’t seen since 2019. There was 14 of us, I stayed on the pints until about number six which is far more than normal then into the shorts for me. The good thing was though I was up at breakfast at the hotel next day for 9am without even feeling I had been on the bevvy. Definitely can’t do the volume of 10-12 pints any more.

16-10-2024, 11:47 AM
I could never completely and dogmatically give it up as I enjoy a drink too much at certain times and occasions... Christmas, weddings, holidays etc. But I'm another one who has noticed myself drinking less and less generally. I recently went weeks without a drink and didn't even notice. My partner had to ask "are you off the drink or what?" and then I realised I'd basically been sober for a month. I used to log off at 5pm on a Friday and immediately crave a glass of wine or a pint, and now i'm just not that interested.

Its a trend nationally I think and there's some mad statistics about how little young people and students are drinking now compared to a couple of decades ago.

16-10-2024, 12:26 PM
Is the downward trend in pints maybe due to them being generally crap?

Tennents is known as a cooking lager. Like a lot of others processed to within in inch of its life. And don't get me started on all the fake "foreign" beers and lagers brewed in England that I'm surprised Trading Standards allows them to use their original name!

Craft beers you just about get to like and enjoy that are regularly replaced by something else with a more advertising friendly name!

It's not easy being a pints drinker these days.

16-10-2024, 02:15 PM

Tennents is known as a cooking lager. Like a lot of others processed to within in inch of its life. And don't get me started on all the fake "foreign" beers and lagers brewed in England that I'm surprised Trading Standards allows them to use their original name!

Craft beers you just about get to like and enjoy that are regularly replaced by something else with a more advertising friendly name!

Tennents has a bad name with a lot of folk yet a good well kept pint is a really decent drink. I have the occasional pint in my local Winstons and it’s excellent.

16-10-2024, 02:38 PM

I reckon cost is a huge factor, as is the tightened drink driving laws.

I worked in a pub part time when I was at uni and we had a group of regulars who would pop in 3 evenings a week on the way home from work, drink 2 pints spending just over a fiver then jump in the car and drive home. The latter was irresponsible even then but nothing compared to how against the law it is now. The former is dreamland stuff in 95% of pubs these days, you'll spend over a tenner for 2 pints in a whole host of places now.

People's work habits have changed too. The days of the 9-5 Monday to Friday in the office, on the tools etc are long gone. The percentage of people working those traditional hours now is shown to be less than 10% and between 15 and 20% of people work from home. Those lunchtime or post work pints are a thing of the past for a lot of people.

16-10-2024, 07:03 PM

That’s just not true about tennents. The idea that it’s highly processed is a load of *****.

19-10-2024, 10:04 AM
It's Saturday, time for another try.🍺🍺🍺

The Tubs
19-10-2024, 10:06 AM

Our motto is perseverance. Alcohol-induced nirvana awaits.

KdyHby
19-10-2024, 10:12 AM

Anyone else had this?

Happened to me during a bout of C19. Could not drink alcohol for about a year. While I now enjoy a drink now and then, I stop after about 4 drinks

19-10-2024, 09:21 PM

Didn't bother, that shower today scunnered me, couldn't be arsed going out after that ****show.

19-10-2024, 09:39 PM
Didn't bother, that shower today scunnered me, couldn't be arsed going out after that ****show.

****ing Hibs.

First they drive you to drink then they drive you away from it.

20-10-2024, 03:04 PM
****ing Hibs.

First they drive you to drink then they drive you away from it.

20-10-2024, 04:50 PM
Panic over, out this afternoon and it tastes lovely. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

20-10-2024, 06:43 PM
Currently doing Sober October and I can honestly say it hasn’t bothered me once.

Bridge hibs
20-10-2024, 07:11 PM
Currently doing Sober October and I can honestly say it hasn’t bothered me once.

I used to do sober October followed by cant remember November 🫣

22-10-2024, 04:10 PM
I rarely drink Sunday-Thursday these days but still enjoy a couple of beers in the house on a Friday and Saturday or few more if I’m out. I did sober October in 2022 but I enjoy a drink too much to ever give up. I’ll be boosting the takings in Robbie’s post-match on Sunday.

24-10-2024, 10:17 AM
I used to do sober October followed by cant remember November 🫣

I’ll be doing no Lilt February if that helps.

MKHIBEE
24-10-2024, 10:28 AM
I’ll be doing no Lilt February if that helps.

Havent they stopped making that, or called it something else?

24-10-2024, 10:30 AM
Havent they stopped making that, or called it something else?

Its now Fanta Pineapple and Grapefruit

24-10-2024, 10:44 AM

Well that makes everything a lot easier.

MKHIBEE
24-10-2024, 10:53 AM

If it had been called that from the beginning I never would tried it.