View Full Version : Croatia v Scotland game tomorrow.

11-10-2024, 08:16 AM
The game is on Viaplay YouTube channel, anyone know of any pub likely to show it?

He's here!
11-10-2024, 08:54 AM
I read it's more of a livestream with no commentary. Not sure if pubs would show that?

11-10-2024, 09:07 AM
The game is on Viaplay YouTube channel, anyone know of any pub likely to show it?

Had the exact same question for the Portugal game on Tuesday

11-10-2024, 09:08 AM
I read it's more of a livestream with no commentary. Not sure if pubs would show that?

Aye, it's just on the off chance as I'll not be at home to watch it.

11-10-2024, 09:09 AM

There will be a commentary I believe.

He's here!
11-10-2024, 09:32 AM
There will be a commentary I believe.

Maybe been updated in that case. BBC said a couple of days ago it was just the live stream without commentary.

11-10-2024, 09:49 AM
Little interest with commentary or not.

11-10-2024, 10:24 AM

Thanks for letting us know. 👍

K-Zazu
11-10-2024, 10:26 AM
Can’t the BBC just buy the rights of Viaplay? Not sure how it all works tbh tho.

11-10-2024, 10:30 AM
Can’t the BBC just buy the rights of Viaplay? Not sure how it all works tbh tho.

Surely there was a bid from BBC & ITV like last time… Maybe Viaplay taking a stand against lowball offers?

11-10-2024, 10:44 AM
Surely there was a bid from BBC & ITV like last time… Maybe Viaplay taking a stand against lowball offers?

Seemingly they couldn't come to an agreement.

11-10-2024, 10:52 AM
Seems a bit odd that Premier Sports didn't take those rights when they bought back Viaplay's UK operations.

11-10-2024, 12:14 PM
So we get to watch wall to wall England games but not Scotland ones. Laughable

11-10-2024, 12:15 PM

But still came on the thread to tell us

Rumble de Thump
11-10-2024, 12:44 PM
Kitty O'Shea's

11-10-2024, 01:18 PM

And on "S"TV,too.

11-10-2024, 01:21 PM
Who do we blame for that?

11-10-2024, 01:32 PM
I didn't realise viaplay have a youtube channel, it's on there

11-10-2024, 01:44 PM
I didn't realise viaplay have a youtube channel, it's on there

Well spotted. 😉

Brummie_Hibs
11-10-2024, 01:45 PM
Look at me! Look at me!! Mum, mum, look at me!

11-10-2024, 02:16 PM
Look at me! Look at me!! Mum, mum, look at me!

Awe did you notice, :faf:

He's here!
11-10-2024, 02:24 PM

I gather Viaplay were asking the same price as they did for the opening games, but with the next set of games not exactly 'must see' after Scotlad lost the first two nobody fancied paying that much for them.

11-10-2024, 02:31 PM
Just received an email from Innis & Gunn stating that their taprooms will be showing the game.

11-10-2024, 02:58 PM

Least it gets your post number up though

11-10-2024, 03:05 PM
It would be great if you could link the YouTube feed with the bbc commentary, but both will be probably at different times

Brummie_Hibs
11-10-2024, 03:19 PM
Awe did you notice, :faf:
Yes, with big, black, weary eyes and a large glass of wine.

Where are my vallies...

11-10-2024, 03:29 PM
Who do we blame for that?

Take your pick

ruthven_raiders
11-10-2024, 04:18 PM
Least it gets your post number up though

Maybe to be to fair to that post, Scotland haven't been on free to access that much over recent years, that I lost the connection to watching Scotland, only when they reached a major tournament I got excited again, we see England all the time on TV....needs sorted.....I am more concerned with Hibs and will be out when the game is on, still I will check on the score.

11-10-2024, 04:47 PM
Who is Viaplay? Is it the old Setanta?

Edit. Seemingly they were Nordic Entertainment Group that bought Premier Sports that was owned by Setanta.

Why do Scotland take these **** companies to show games.

11-10-2024, 05:09 PM
Scotland v Belgium under 21’s, live on Scottish National team youtube channel, 7pm KO

11-10-2024, 05:12 PM
Stupid international break

davhibby
11-10-2024, 05:22 PM

Edit. Seemingly they were Nordic Entertainment Group that bought Premier Sports that was owned by Setanta.

Nobody in Scotland had anything to do with it. They bought all of the uk rights to Uefa internationals except from England games. Uefa have been selling all of the rights across Europe themselves for years now, and really should have some sort of break clause if the rights holders don’t actually have a TV channel to show the games on. Hopefully the deal runs out after next months games

andrew70
11-10-2024, 05:23 PM
Done a wee bit for footy insights on previous encounters:

https://footyinsight2.wordpress.com/2024/10/10/croatia-v-scotland/

11-10-2024, 06:25 PM

11-10-2024, 06:26 PM

****ing hate it.

11-10-2024, 06:46 PM
Hopefully we play Doak tomorrow from the start.

11-10-2024, 06:51 PM

Exactly. I've absolutely no interest in these games.

11-10-2024, 06:52 PM
Hopefully we play Doak tomorrow from the start.

Doubt it. It’ll be more of the same. Couple of players out wide that are t actually wide players.

badabing67
11-10-2024, 07:30 PM

Does that mean its free. Sorry if already asked in another post

11-10-2024, 07:33 PM

Just to be clear, they don’t own Premier Sports’ UK operations any more. They sold it back to Premier Sport, hence why it’s back being called Premier Sport (the channel that shows the League Cup, Scottish Cup and SPFL games) rather than Viaplay.

No idea why the Scotland rights weren’t included in the sale back to Premier Sport

11-10-2024, 07:34 PM
Does that mean its free. Sorry if already asked in another post

11-10-2024, 07:35 PM
Premier Sports and Setanta were both founded by the same guy. Can we stop giving him our football please?

11-10-2024, 07:40 PM
Premier Sports and Setanta were both founded by the same guy. Can we stop giving him our football please?

Premier Sports have nothing to do with this though other than any involvement in why these rights weren’t bought with the rest of Viaplay’s UK rights when they bought the UK operations back.

The rights were bought by Viaplay not Premier Sports. Premier Sports didn’t own the rights to this prior to PS being bought by Viaplay.

11-10-2024, 07:54 PM
only tuned in to watch the last 26 seconds of the u21'S playing at the SFA's favourite stadium, great timing to see the 2nd goal :rolleyes: FT Scotland 0 Belgium 2, going by the comments we were Rank

11-10-2024, 08:29 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/how-to-watch-scotland-vs-croatia-fans-face-tv-blackout-century-first-4817946

11-10-2024, 08:35 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/how-to-watch-scotland-vs-croatia-fans-face-tv-blackout-century-first-4817946

I get its **** it isn't on normal TV. But surely something being streamed for free on YouTube in 2024 isn't the biggest deal?

Totally understand it would never happen for an England game etc.

cubehindthegoal
11-10-2024, 10:21 PM

Gap in the market there if they don’t. Actual football!

cubehindthegoal
11-10-2024, 10:24 PM
only tuned in to watch the last 26 seconds of the u21'S playing at the SFA's favourite stadium, great timing to see the 2nd goal :rolleyes: FT Scotland 0 Belgium 2, going by the comments we were Rank

Our coaching is fundamentally rank, but self preserving and congratulatory … above that level, it’s even worse … needs a radical change … it’s why we are many many miles behind, and even our “best” clubs get smashed into oblivion in Europe.

But soon as it’s challenged at any of those levels, the rank and file self protect … not going anywhere soon as a football nation on any higher level than we manage at the moment I’m afraid, unless some honesty breaks through. Can’t see it though, we are rife with self preserving parochial prejudicial people throughout the system of Scottish football. Sad as f

Ggtth though … most of us i’ve known are real, through the years … sad environment we play in though

Cammy
11-10-2024, 10:39 PM
Any suggestions for a pub to watch the game in Playa del ingles?

12-10-2024, 08:19 AM
Whoever owns the rights or who's streaming, it's still amateur stuff, I've got to the stage where I don't care a hoot about the Scotland team, I'll watch if it's on but I ain't fussed.

12-10-2024, 08:27 AM
Assuming this article which is behind a pay wall captures the situation and why we can only access the game via YouTube

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-13950541/Inside-TV-row-tearing-Scottish-football-apart-Hot-air-politicians-proving-big-turn-fans-writes-STEPHEN-McGOWAN.html?ns_mchannel=rss&ns_campaign=1490&ito=social-twitter_dailymailsport

WellingtonHibby
12-10-2024, 08:37 AM

But interested enough to read the thread and comment,aye?

12-10-2024, 09:48 AM
But interested enough to read the thread and comment,aye?

Looks like it's back to being cool to slag off Scotland and the TA.

12-10-2024, 10:34 AM
Exactly. I've absolutely no interest in these games.

Careful now, comments like this can attract criticism, there shall be no individual thoughts on Hibs.net please.

12-10-2024, 10:37 AM
Whoever owns the rights or who's streaming, it's still amateur stuff, I've got to the stage where I don't care a hoot about the Scotland team, I'll watch if it's on but I ain't fussed.

Same.

12-10-2024, 10:53 AM
Careful now, comments like this can attract criticism, there shall be no individual thoughts on Hibs.net please.

He could always start a thread for people not interested in the national team. 🤔

The thread was simply started to give people an idea of where they would be able to see the game, it doesn't appear to be going well.

DIXIHIBS
12-10-2024, 11:10 AM
He could always start a thread for people not interested in the national team. 🤔

The thread was simply started to give people an idea of where they would be able to see the game, it doesn't appear to be going well.

Correct. Amazing the amount of people who feel the need to tell everyone how not interested they are. Odd behaviour.

12-10-2024, 11:14 AM
Anyway, anyone been able to come up with a venue in Edinburgh yet?

12-10-2024, 11:18 AM

Harp and Castle are showing it

12-10-2024, 11:42 AM
UEFA Nations League fixtures available Free-To-Air via YouTube (scottishfa.co.uk) (https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/uefa-nations-league-fixtures-available-free-to-air-via-youtube/?rid=13925&fbclid=IwY2xjawF3PjJleHRuA2FlbQIxMAABHc1fc73HahbWH mgeAz3-FSkFF4-trV9BBkmQPYREfKXOaZdj3N374wIiDA_aem_-_2ejCGEHo5ppA2fnepr6A)

Scotland National Team - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/ScotlandNationalTeam)

12-10-2024, 11:42 AM

This!
Scottish football is under attack like never before and from our own National broadcasters as well as the satellite channels.

No wonder our talented kids are not motivated and it seems very much a deliberate policy.

12-10-2024, 11:45 AM
Our coaching is fundamentally rank, but self preserving and congratulatory … above that level, it’s even worse … needs a radical change … it’s why we are many many miles behind, and even our “best” clubs get smashed into oblivion in Europe.

But soon as it’s challenged at any of those levels, the rank and file self protect … not going anywhere soon as a football nation on any higher level than we manage at the moment I’m afraid, unless some honesty breaks through. Can’t see it though, we are rife with self preserving parochial prejudicial people throughout the system of Scottish football. Sad as f

Ggtth though … most of us i’ve known are real, through the years … sad environment we play in though

i usually forget to watch the u21 games but i was under the impression Gemmill was doing a decent job with the young lads, well until i saw a few comments on youtube criticising him that is

12-10-2024, 11:48 AM
Harp and Castle are showing it

👍

12-10-2024, 12:04 PM
This!
Scottish football is under attack like never before and from our own National broadcasters as well as the satellite channels.

No wonder our talented kids are not motivated and it seems very much a deliberate policy.

I don’t think it’s so much that it’s under attack, it obviously just doesn’t make the broadcasters enough money to bother buying the rights.

12-10-2024, 01:01 PM
This!

If a talented kid loses motivation because a couple of Scotland games aren't on telly, then I suspect the rigours of professional football may not be for him/her.

HarpOnHibee
12-10-2024, 01:18 PM
This!

Our talented kids are not motivated due to a culture of poor lifestyle choices such as poor diet and excessive drinking from a young age. Any professional sportsman who has made it will tell you that they're entirely responsible for motivating themselves.

12-10-2024, 01:24 PM
Correct. Amazing the amount of people who feel the need to tell everyone how not interested they are. Odd behaviour.

But they were all interested in the run up to Germany

12-10-2024, 01:34 PM
If a talented kid loses motivation because a couple of Scotland games aren't on telly, then I suspect the rigours of professional football may not be for him/her.

Perhaps you take too shallow a view. Or perhaps I take too deep a view.

Scottish football began to decline when a political decision led to the annual match v England being scrapped and we were no longer able compare ourselves annually against a much better financed international side. That annual match showed we could and children were inspired.

Next the Sky debacle led to what little crumbs we were able to salvage from the table of TV coverage were all but removed. Quickly followed by wall to wall coverage of English football, presented as “the best league in the world”. Why would Scots children be motivated by being told we were less than second best.

All for women’s football being covered but now women’s football is given greater coverage than Scottish men’s football. Even parity would be an improvement to the crumbs received by Scottish football.

Motivation for children you say? We’ve now had almost two generations force fed the narrative that English football is the only thing worth watching. It’s a miracle Scottish foitball survives at all, let alone being, proportionally, the best supported in the world.

What was that about the mind being like a parachute? I’m doing my best.

12-10-2024, 02:03 PM

It really is weird. A bit like when Oasis announced their comeback. My socials were full of folk desperate to tell the world they wouldn't be going to see them.

12-10-2024, 02:04 PM

Piper's Rest at Hunter Square
Edinburgh Tartan Army are watching it in Dickens Pub, Dalry.

12-10-2024, 02:06 PM
Will be watching tonight then heading through midweek.

Tough ask tonight with so many missing. I would have liked to have seen Lennon Miller involved; I know Clarke explained his reasoning but I'm not that worried about the 21s beyond them producing first team players. We seem a bit reluctant to blood some youngsters but then have a guy who has barely played first team football at all who is regularly involved now. I'm not totally sure I get it but it is what it is.

Anyway here's hoping for a positive result.

12-10-2024, 02:11 PM
The problem with the games being on TV, or not on council TV, is that the BBC, ITV, STV etc offer substantially less to the SFA for the rights, when they're available.

The Association of Tartan Army Clubs have been in regular dialogue with the SFA about getting games on free to air TV. The figures are mind boggling. The last Sky deal was worth something like £10m more over the period of the contract than the BBC or ITV were offering. That money goes into the pot that funds all levels of football. Can we really do without that money coming into the game when blue chip sponsors are not exactly forming a queue? (Yes, I understand that's partly due to the poor TV coverage) The other issue is the quality of the product. BBC & ITV is far poorer than Sky. The number of cameras at the game, the spec of their technology, the time they can spend covering games etc all dwarfs what the FTA stations can do. It's a quandary!

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 02:17 PM
I think Scotland have actually played some really decent football last couple of matches only to get felled by individual errors. We need to keep the level of performance and use these games against Group A teams as tough prep for WC qualifiers (Remember our southern cousins have toiled in level below us and we should take every opportunity to remind them:greengrin)

My only complaint is that when we have had so many injuries / call offs its the opportunity in adversity to blood at least 1 or 2 youngsters in advance of that

Houston7
12-10-2024, 02:20 PM
I get its **** it isn't on normal TV. But surely something being streamed for free on YouTube in 2024 isn't the biggest deal?

Totally understand it would never happen for an England game etc.

I’m fairly sure it is easy to find on Viaplay YouTube on a Smart TV. There will be commentary. Found an interview with Steve Clarke on this “channel” earlier.

12-10-2024, 02:22 PM
The problem with the games being on TV, or not on council TV, is that the BBC, ITV, STV etc offer substantially less to the SFA for the rights, when they're available.

The Association of Tartan Army Clubs have been in regular dialogue with the SFA about getting games on free to air TV. The figures are mind boggling. The last Sky deal was worth something like £10m more over the period of the contract than the BBC or ITV were offering. That money goes into the pot that funds all levels of football. Can we really do without that money coming into the game when blue chip sponsors are not exactly forming a queue? (Yes, I understand that's partly due to the poor TV coverage) The other issue is the quality of the product. BBC & ITV is far poorer than Sky. The number of cameras at the game, the spec of their technology, the time they can spend covering games etc all dwarfs what the FTA stations can do. It's a quandary!

UEFA control the TV rights apparently not the SFA.

12-10-2024, 02:50 PM
Gordon

Ralston, Souttar, Hanley, Robertson

McLean, Gilmour

Doak, McTominay, Christie

Dykes

12-10-2024, 02:54 PM
Gordon

McLean, Gilmour

Dykes

Not top end but still good players. We’re just struggling fur depth through injuries. C’mon Scotland.

12-10-2024, 02:56 PM
Not top end but still good players. We’re just struggling fur depth through injuries. C’mon Scotland.

Was hoping after the last set of games we wouldn’t see Ralston, Hanley and McLean playing for us again but it’s the best we’ve got at the minute.

12-10-2024, 02:57 PM
Usually find a bit to criticise in his lineups but we’re missing a few good players tonight.

Good to see Doak get a start. Has apparently been really good for Middlesbrough.

12-10-2024, 02:57 PM

I believe that in STVs case if they break outwith the ITV national schedule it costs them to do so because of UK national advertising slots that are sold obviously UKwide. No clue how much but it wont be sweeties. That’s why on STV we are stuck with England games.

12-10-2024, 02:59 PM
Gordon

McLean, Gilmour

Dykes

Grant Hanley is worth a one goal start to the opposition

12-10-2024, 03:01 PM
Was hoping after the last set of games we wouldn’t see Ralston, Hanley and McLean playing for us again but it’s the best we’ve got at the minute.

👍

12-10-2024, 03:31 PM
Game is on Bein Sports 1 according to my EyePeeTeeVee

12-10-2024, 03:48 PM
Optus 2 have it on. If you have a stick of fire provider.

badabing67
12-10-2024, 03:54 PM
Its up on Viaplay Youtube channel now

12-10-2024, 03:55 PM
We have a commentator! Wasn't expecting that.

12-10-2024, 03:55 PM
We have a commentator! Wasn't expecting that.

Decent picture as well

12-10-2024, 03:56 PM
it's also on Supersport 3

inc commentary :)

HarpOnHibee
12-10-2024, 03:56 PM
Game is on Fox Sports 1 as well. The game is bigger to broadcasters in the US than it is in the UK.

Edit: Interestingly, the American commentary is mildly less painful to listen to.

pollution
12-10-2024, 04:04 PM
Very good picture on you tube via SFA website

12-10-2024, 04:06 PM
So pretty much most major sporting channels around the world but not Scotland.

Mickey Mouse country.

1875Sean
12-10-2024, 04:06 PM
Very good picture on you tube via SFA website

Looks like it’s filmed on a Nokia 3210

12-10-2024, 04:08 PM
Hanley is absolutely *****

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

12-10-2024, 04:09 PM
clumsy galoot

lugz
12-10-2024, 04:10 PM
Hanley with more appearances for Scotland this season than Norwich. Incredible.

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 04:13 PM
Looks like it’s filmed on a Nokia 3210

A national stadium with worse viewing than Hampden

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 04:16 PM
doaks pace twice now got them under pressure and their keeper with a honking kick

1875Sean
12-10-2024, 04:16 PM
A national stadium with worse viewing than Hampden

It’s more the quality of the stream, found a better one via fox sports

12-10-2024, 04:17 PM
Couple of opportunities where the ball has ended up back at our defenders with allowing them to push back up and get back into shape.. Robertson run and keeper mistake... Pish.

12-10-2024, 04:18 PM

Fox Sports stream is 👌

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 04:19 PM
yup i knew what you meant (although mine decent on smart tv viaplay via youtube) but ground looks terrible for spectators

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 04:22 PM
great passage of play there

12-10-2024, 04:22 PM
Gilmour is a class act. He’s only going to get better once he gets more games in Serie A

12-10-2024, 04:23 PM
Just noticed an advert on the boards.

"Zagreb, the city with a million hearts."

Anne Budge has immediately added them on to the supposed waiting list figures

pollution
12-10-2024, 04:25 PM
What more does Dykes need ?

pollution
12-10-2024, 04:33 PM
Yes !!!

Will take that.

get in :cb

wow what a muck up by the defender

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 04:34 PM
brilliant - been playing well and keeping to system but doaks pace again a factor.... really good with so many out

12-10-2024, 04:36 PM
Short lived.

badabing67
Ffs

Classic Scotland. Joy to despair in a matter of seconds.

12-10-2024, 04:37 PM
oh dear :rolleyes: that lasted long eh

Craig Gordon. Useless.

Oh well

12-10-2024, 04:38 PM
Alex Salmond just died, sorry didnt know where to put it

HarpOnHibee
We score, then instantly we sit in deep. When will we learn?

Craig Gordon. Useless.

Not really sure he could have saved that

Bridge hibs
What more does Dykes need ?

Hair ?

12-10-2024, 04:44 PM
Craig Gordon. Useless.

Eh? All down to Christie having to cover the whole left side, shambles. No idea what Gordon could have done about it.

12-10-2024, 04:47 PM
Gilmour and Doak are really good to watch.

12-10-2024, 04:48 PM
Decent picture as well
Very good picture

12-10-2024, 04:50 PM
Craig Gordon. Useless.
Defence useless

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 04:58 PM
Alex Salmond just died, sorry didnt know where to put it

Bit out of context certainly... https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/crkm284yp1jt

12-10-2024, 05:00 PM
Almost an entire half time of Christie showing off his tattoos followed by blank screens. Assume Dykes’ tattoos would have taken too long

12-10-2024, 05:01 PM
Very good picture

Mines isn’t ,watchable though

12-10-2024, 05:11 PM
Ralston needed to play that inside the first time.

12-10-2024, 05:15 PM
I've found it on FB Event No.03, some Yank commentating though.

12-10-2024, 05:16 PM
Almost an entire half time of Christie showing off his tattoos followed by blank screens. Assume Dykes’ tattoos would have taken too long

And some of the ****tiest tattoo's you've ever seen, all that money and he gets a bairn to tattoo him by the looks of it.

12-10-2024, 05:23 PM
Only just home and watching now. Cracking result as it stands. How has Doak played? A much needed attacker ready to step up?

Up-the-slope
have top say i'm impressed / surprised how much we have got forward. just a couple of final balls away from goals. obviously they have the look of being able to score too

Feels like it might just be a matter of time before Croatia get another unless we start to get a grip on the game. Final third is non existent.

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 05:25 PM
Only just home and watching now. Cracking result as it stands. How has Doak played? A much needed attacker ready to step up?

Raw but exciting and making defence back off

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 05:26 PM
Mikey Stewart in commentary just said ' only other First Minister Donald Dewar to die did so on 11th October during Croatia Scotland in Zagreb... a 1-1 draw :confused:

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 05:27 PM
Mikey Stewart in commentary just said ' only other First Minister Donald Dewar to die did so on 11th October during Croatia Scotland in Zagreb... a 1-1 draw :confused:
that didn't age well

12-10-2024, 05:27 PM
ah well, probably another game lost after going in front

12-10-2024, 05:29 PM
And there it is. Been coming for a while. Hopefully opens the game up. We've looked good on the ball at times but never really looked like troubling them much. Fairly risk averse at times and have slowed the game down one too many times for my liking. When we do get in and around their box the decision making and quality has been poor.

12-10-2024, 05:29 PM
Gordon is like a flapping hen when shots come to him. Never gets it to safety.

12-10-2024, 05:30 PM
Ralston defending his usual crap way, ball watching and losing his man, we'll go nowhere until we get the defence sorted and get a proper striker...christ it sounds like I'm describing Hibs.

12-10-2024, 05:31 PM
ah well, probably another game lost after going in front

I know another team with similar tendencies. :greengrin

Tully
12-10-2024, 05:31 PM
Why does Clarke never freshen it up

12-10-2024, 05:32 PM
Ralston defending his usual crap way, ball watching and losing his man, we'll go nowhere until we get the defence sorted and get a proper striker...christ it sounds like I'm describing Hibs.
Spot on

12-10-2024, 05:32 PM

It's exactly like what bing Hibs. There's an air of inevitability despite the teams being somewhat equal for large spells of the game.

Like other though I've been impressed by Doak. Very positive player and good to see someone in the team capable of running at players and giving them something to think about.

12-10-2024, 05:34 PM
Croatia have made four substitutions

Scotland none

oops, finally making a change

12-10-2024, 05:35 PM
Should've been 2 each. Huddy.

12-10-2024, 05:35 PM
christie has to score there ffs man

or at least get it on target

12-10-2024, 05:36 PM
Could be a decent team if we didn’t **** ourselves every time we get in the box

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 05:43 PM
Gilmour just great at playing the forward ball through the lines and keeping possession

12-10-2024, 05:45 PM
Gilmour just great at playing the forward ball through the lines and keeping possession

Once upon a time we had players that could do that.

12-10-2024, 05:46 PM
Add a talisman like Bale or Robbie Keane and we’re a really good team. Defence is solid enough, midfield is strong. Forwards are hoping Adams or Dykes can somehow overcome their limitations.

12-10-2024, 05:47 PM
we're at least matching them, i didn't expect us to any points in our away games so just the home game v Poland has been really disappointing

12-10-2024, 05:48 PM
awww man so close

Up-the-slope
wow that was close

Really thought that was in

12-10-2024, 05:49 PM
So close, twice in about 3 mins, deserve a draw here.

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 05:51 PM
another great break and final ball just not quite there... no player has had an obviously poor game.. not perfect but just not enough

Bobo
12-10-2024, 05:52 PM
Over the piece we've played reasonably well but have had no threat in the final third. Poor delivery, decision making and individual errors make things more difficult when you're struggling to score.

I don't think Croatia are that good and with any form of goal Threat we'd probably beat them.

I don't like Clarke as a manager, he's too negative for my liking, rarely ever changes his line up or tactics until late in games and it's infuriating.

Deserved a draw.

yassssssssssss :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Up-the-slope
i think we deserve that given how we have played

12-10-2024, 05:53 PM
Get in! Deserved that. Played very well tonight

He's offside.

Take that, thoroughly deserved. 2-2

Up-the-slope
if hes flagged for that it will be brutal

He's offside.

My worry

12-10-2024, 05:54 PM
Own goal if it counts

12-10-2024, 05:54 PM
did that not come off of a croatian player to land at che's feet

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 05:55 PM
No VAR all game and the last kick has to be one for us

just nae luck

offside ****

Add a talisman like Bale or Robbie Keane and we’re a really good team. Defence is solid enough, midfield is strong. Forwards are hoping Adams or Dykes can somehow overcome their limitations.

In nutshell, we're one world class forward away from being decent. Incredible for a team half full of part time footballers.

plhibs
12-10-2024, 05:56 PM
did that not come off of a croatian player to land at che's feet

yea it did.

12-10-2024, 05:56 PM
****ing boooooooooooooo

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 05:57 PM
Fair play to Clarke for making a team out of what he had available and setting them up to compete. And the players for competing so well and making a real game of it. That VAR is a real boot in the baws

12-10-2024, 05:58 PM
Meh. Decent throughout the midfield. Felt we passed it back a little too often when there's was a good attacking opportunity on. Lack of quality in the final third continues to kill us. Didn't deserve to lose but equally didn't deserve to win. A draw would've been fair but 1 win in 15, none in 9 is grim no matter your views on how we played. Think it's time for a change.

12-10-2024, 05:59 PM
yea it did.

seems VAR either didn't see it, or didn't want to :(

Croatia will get easier games

12-10-2024, 05:59 PM
Fine margins etc

12-10-2024, 06:00 PM
VAR is a joke

12-10-2024, 06:00 PM
Had enough possession and chances to get a draw. Ultimately it’s wins that matter though and I think Clarke will be sacked if we lose to Portugal on Tuesday.

12-10-2024, 06:01 PM
Just discovered I could watch it on U Tube on my iPad. Put it on-great picture,playing well,deserved equaliser,chalked off.15 minutes of high drama !

Give it to Lenny til the end of the season

https://media4.giphy.com/media/v1.Y2lkPTc5MGI3NjExcmo3czhseWc0NWt4cWEyMGVla3g4NjV lNm9xeGJtYzR0bDlrcGMwYyZlcD12MV9pbnRlcm5hbF9naWZfY nlfaWQmY3Q9Zw/WbxA5GER3PCQrqozj7/giphy.gif

VAR is a joke

Clearly offside nah?

Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 06:04 PM
Meh. Decent throughout the midfield. Felt we passed it back a little too often when there's was a good attacking opportunity on. Lack of quality in the final third continues to kill us. Didn't deserve to lose but equally didn't deserve to win. A draw would've been fair but 1 win in 15, none in 9 is grim no matter your views on how we played. Think it's time for a change.

We all have opinions - but I don't think we passed it back too much - we did that when retaining possession was more important than getting it forward when not enough support risking losing possession on transition. I thought tactics were good.

my criticism - much like a lot of recent Hibs games - is final ball is the crucial missing bit (and probably a more clinical chance taker)

Hibees1973
12-10-2024, 06:20 PM
Just cannot get a break just now.

Two good performances away to two of the most difficult venues in Europe.

12-10-2024, 06:21 PM
Thought we played well enough again. We have in all three games against good sides.

Hickey, Tierney and McGinn make that a much better team.

12-10-2024, 06:31 PM
VAR is a joke

Scotland played much better than most of the last 14 games, but he was clearly offside

12-10-2024, 06:52 PM
Thought we played really well tonight, especially on the press and breaking the lines. Same old problem though, lack of international quailty and movement up front and final balls just not good enough. Doak was excellent and a real prospect, Gilmour very impressive again. We simply have to get academies producing strikers and central defenders though. Incredible lack of depth and ability in these areas internationally.

12-10-2024, 07:04 PM
He was offside when the Scottish player backhealed it, whether it hit a Croatian players makes no odds unfortunately.

12-10-2024, 07:19 PM
Thought we played really well tonight, especially on the press and breaking the lines. Same old problem though, lack of international quailty and movement up front and final balls just not good enough. Doak was excellent and a real prospect, Gilmour very impressive again. We simply have to get academies producing strikers and central defenders though. Incredible lack of depth and ability in these areas internationally.

Really wanted Doak to smash some balls across the 6 yard box, every time he beat a Croat (and there were plenty of times) he tried too hard to place a ball on the toe of a deep player.

Just tw@ it across, a OG is just as likely.

12-10-2024, 07:43 PM
Actually think we have been pretty good in all three games. Better defending we definitely get some points

12-10-2024, 07:43 PM
HT's

Poland 0 Portugal 2
Cyprus 0 Romania 3
Belarus 0 Norn ireland 0
Serbia 1 Switzerland 0
Spain 0 Denmark 0

FT Lithuania 1 Kosovo 2
FT Bulgaria 0 Luxembourg

how tf do scotland not get the likes of Luxembourg/Cyprus/Lithuania/Estonia/Belarus in our group games :grr:

12-10-2024, 07:47 PM
HT's

Poland 0 Portugal 2
Cyprus 0 Romania 3
Belarus 0 Norn ireland 0
Serbia 1 Switzerland 0
Spain 0 Denmark 0

FT Lithuania 1 Kosovo 2
FT Bulgaria 0 Luxembourg

how tf do scotland not get the likes of Luxembourg/Cyprus/Lithuania/Estonia/Belarus in our group games :grr:

Is that a serious question?

12-10-2024, 07:51 PM
Is that a serious question?

nah only kiddin

12-10-2024, 07:51 PM
Actually think we have been pretty good in all three games. Better defending we definitely get some points

Not sure that’s the case, personally I’d rather we had better forwards…..why Dykes continues to be first pick is beyond me…….

12-10-2024, 08:39 PM
Not sure that’s the case, personally I’d rather we had better forwards…..why Dykes continues to be first pick is beyond me…….

Simple answer - there's nobody else.

12-10-2024, 08:42 PM
FT

Poland 1 Portugal 3
Spain 1 Denmark 0
Serbia 2 Switzerland 0
Belarus 0 N.Ireland 0

He's here!
13-10-2024, 09:42 AM

It's apparently the worst run of results in Scotland's international history, although Levein has statistically the worst overall record in terms of results as Scotland boss.

Clarke's probably lucky the Gordons aren't in charge of the national team ;-)

13-10-2024, 10:22 AM
Porteous still in the doghouse... Kenny McLean was fine and gives that left foot balance but I'd like to see Christie & Gilmour as the middle two.
No obvious solutions up front or at the back (Hickey and Tierney will be out for a while yet), so it's a case of soldiering on with what we have.
Clarke has taken us to back to back Euros and World Cup playoffs, so he probably has just enough credit in the bank, even on this terrible run.
A division of Nations League is about getting in shape for WC qualifiers, although it has not helped with the seeding at all (nor has that Greek win at Wembley, even if it was fun). Finding a way to overtake Poland could be massive to get into pot 2. We might have been better off staying in the B division.

13-10-2024, 10:59 AM
Porteous still in the doghouse... Kenny McLean was fine and gives that left foot balance but I'd like to see Christie & Gilmour as the middle two.
No obvious solutions up front or at the back (Hickey and Tierney will be out for a while yet), so it's a case of soldiering on with what we have.
Clarke has taken us to back to back Euros and World Cup playoffs, so he probably has just enough credit in the bank, even on this terrible run.
A division of Nations League is about getting in shape for WC qualifiers, although it has not helped with the seeding at all (nor has that Greek win at Wembley, even if it was fun). Finding a way to overtake Poland could be massive to get into pot 2. We might have been better off staying in the B division.

Yes Clarke has took us to back to back Euros but in every game we have been far too defensive.
We should be just going for it after qualifying . We finished 9pts above Georgia who just went for it and got to the next stage.

13-10-2024, 01:54 PM
It's apparently the worst run of results in Scotland's international history, although Levein has statistically the worst overall record in terms of results as Scotland boss.

Pretty damning stats there, I wonder if he is unsackable………..maybe after 20 games without a win?

13-10-2024, 05:03 PM

To be fair it’s also part of being a victim of his own success. There’s some poor results in there, like Northern Ireland at home. As well as playing at the Euros, being pot 1 in the nations league and friendlies away to the likes of France and Holland.

13-10-2024, 09:03 PM

Dykes is limited but so are the options sure Steve Clarke would rather we had better options also