View Full Version : Ultras
05-10-2024, 04:43 PM
Massive police presence in St Andrews Square, passing by on the tram looks like ultras.
cameronw-hfc
05-10-2024, 04:45 PM
Massive police presence in St Andrews Square, passing by on the tram looks like ultras.
Must be on the same tram as just passed it myself and seen it. Few tourists loving it right enough.
05-10-2024, 04:46 PM
:worried:
05-10-2024, 04:46 PM
It's the Motherwell ultras apparently.
05-10-2024, 04:47 PM
We need another name for them that is less glamorous, maybe wee fannies would be better?
05-10-2024, 04:48 PM
Theres been some fairly nasty bother around the omni. Just witnessed the aftermath, lots of excited looking stone islanders running away looking over their shoulders, 4 ambulances and police aplenty. Looked more like middle aged ex cashie boys than ultra kids
LunasBoots
05-10-2024, 04:48 PM
There was clashes up the top of Leith walk area between rival groups
HarpOnHibee
05-10-2024, 04:50 PM
We need another name for them that is less glamorous, maybe wee fannies would be better?
The Urethras
05-10-2024, 04:54 PM
The Urethras
And they wear their Urethra Kit? 😁
05-10-2024, 04:57 PM
The Urethras
😂😂😂
05-10-2024, 05:00 PM
Due to Large police presence, we have no service between West end to Newhaven. Trams are running Airport to west end we are sorry for the disruption to your journey. #edintravel
jakedance
05-10-2024, 05:03 PM
I’ve got a strong and growing dislike to this scene. They all look and sound exactly the same at every ground. I don’t like how it’s a constant droning that doesn’t change to how the game is going and it sucks the atmosphere out the rest of the ground. The drums do my head in, the megaphone things need banned.
Mcbizz1998
05-10-2024, 05:04 PM
Police were in the boozer before the game. Not seen that in a good while.
Mcbizz1998
05-10-2024, 05:05 PM
I’ve got a strong and growing dislike to this scene. They all look and sound exactly the same at every ground. I don’t like how it’s a constant droning that doesn’t change to how the game is going and it sucks the atmosphere out the rest of the ground. The drums do my head in, the megaphone things need banned.
Completely agree. Sucks the atmosphere from the rest of the ground. Absolutely ****.
05-10-2024, 05:07 PM
Both sets of ultras could swap ends and you wouldn’t notice the difference . Ibrox was much better last week without the drum.
Bring serious , we don’t know who caused the trouble and I doubt very much that our club sanctioned official ultras would be involved.
andyf5
05-10-2024, 05:07 PM
Due to Large police presence, we have no service between West end to Newhaven. Trams are running Airport to west end we are sorry for the disruption to your journey. #edintravel
Been trying to get home for a while. Big group of hibs ultras kettled earlier on Easter Road. Hard for the police to keep track of the groups I expect.
05-10-2024, 05:09 PM
Both sets of ultras could swap ends and you wouldn’t notice the difference . Ibrox was much better last week without the drum.
Bring serious , we don’t know who caused the trouble and I doubt very much that our club sanctioned official ultras would be involved.
Do we have official ultras? Or just a bunch of wee fannies with a drum who Ben has taken a shine to?
05-10-2024, 05:10 PM
Completely agree. Sucks the atmosphere from the rest of the ground. Absolutely ****.
hibs team has similar effect
05-10-2024, 05:11 PM
For some reason it irrationally really pissed me off that our ultras just kept drumming and chanting though Motherwell's opening goal like nothing happened. It gives the impression that they don't give a **** about the game and are just there to impress each other.
05-10-2024, 05:12 PM
Do we have official ultras? Or just a bunch of wee fannies with a drum who Ben has taken a shine to?
I think thats the very bunch.
05-10-2024, 05:13 PM
For some reason it irrationally really pissed me off that our ultras just kept drumming and chanting though Motherwell's opening goal like nothing happened. It gives the impression that they don't give a **** about the team and are just there to impress each other.
We'll support you everymore? Lots to criticise them about but to have a dig for them continuing to sing after conceding is weird.
05-10-2024, 05:15 PM
We'll support you everymore? Lots to criticise them about but to have a dig for them continuing to sing after conceding is weird.
I get that, hence the "irrational" qualifier. At the time it just felt very dissonant and weird, like they don't get the mentality of the stadium.
05-10-2024, 05:16 PM
I get that, hence the "irrational" qualifier. At the time it just felt very dissonant and weird, like they don't get the mentality of the stadium.
They're supporting the team in that regard. As I said probably a few genuine concerns about them but that definitely isn't one.
jakedance
05-10-2024, 05:21 PM
I see their point. It used to be that your support would be quiet following a goal but the noise would grow after a chance or a strong tackle or a good bit of play. Now the wee ultras just drone on constantly.
Good on them for backing their team in their own way, but personally it’s doing my head in. It’s white noise. It’s like tinittus.
05-10-2024, 05:28 PM
I see their point. It used to be that your support would be quiet following a goal but the noise would grow after a chance or a strong tackle or a good bit of play. Now the wee ultras just drone on constantly.
Good on them for backing their team in their own way, but personally it’s doing my head in. It’s white noise. It’s like tinittus.
Silence and booing far preferred then.
Billy McKirdy
05-10-2024, 05:33 PM
the wee willys?
jakedance
05-10-2024, 05:34 PM
Silence and booing far preferred then.
I didn’t say that but if those are my choices then aye.
babahibs
05-10-2024, 05:35 PM
Theres been some fairly nasty bother around the omni. Just witnessed the aftermath, lots of excited looking stone islanders running away looking over their shoulders, 4 ambulances and police aplenty. Looked more like middle aged ex cashie boys than ultra kids
Yep, from my seat in the south end of the west, I could see a group of older looking cashies in the away end, a day out for the SS it looked like.
05-10-2024, 05:39 PM
Seemingly you are allowed into a ground with a drum, drumsticks and a loud hailer. Woe betide you if your child has a fruit shoot though.
Also why don't we keep back away supporters and let ours go first. That was a joke after the game, the police still not letting us through whilst it was just Hibs fans and a Motherwell fan in a wheelchair that was at the other end. No advance notice of it either.
Getting mightily hacked off at the match experience these days and that doesn't include what's on offer on the pitch.
05-10-2024, 06:06 PM
Hundreds of Hibs fans stopped by Police going up through Sainsburys or over the bridge because a Child Catcher and 30 or 40 neds are in town. They then let them run a mock up the town. As if it isn't bad enough getting beat at home I have to listen to a fully grown man with a loud speaker lead his choir of spotty youths, you can't bring in a carton of Ribena and he has a lump of metal with batteries in it. Loads of them vaping in the stand and a decent amount watched the game standing in the walkway at the front leaning over the railing. It is no wonder they cause bother afterwards as they are treated like they are untouchable the whole game in the stadium. Our Ultras have pretty much stopped me going to away games and today it made a home game grim with that loudspeaker. The whole scene is just cringe worthy and the Police would be better spending their time taking a look at why grown men are running around with kids rather than barricading streets and stopping fitba fans lawfully going about their business.
7Hero
05-10-2024, 06:07 PM
i saw them they are not ultras, they are bairns dressed in black.
let's not call them ultras
i saw them they are not ultras, they are bairns dressed in black.
let's not call them ultras
Wannabes. Just another thing wrong with the club at the moment
05-10-2024, 06:09 PM
Seemingly you are allowed into a ground with a drum, drumsticks and a loud hailer. Woe betide you if your child has a fruit shoot though.
Also why don't we keep back away supporters and let ours go first. That was a joke after the game, the police still not letting us through whilst it was just Hibs fans and a Motherwell fan in a wheelchair that was at the other end. No advance notice of it either.
Getting mightily hacked off at the match experience these days and that doesn't include what's on offer on the pitch.
Holding Hibs fans back hasn't just happened overnight.
05-10-2024, 06:12 PM
Not telling them it was happening has though.
hibeelady
05-10-2024, 06:14 PM
Also since when have we ever been held back against Motherwell??
05-10-2024, 06:18 PM
Yep, there’s a number of reasons why going to the football is becoming a more draining experience and that’s one of them. Head to any league ground and you’ve got a bunch of identikit spotty virgins thinking they’re hard droning away, and removing any individuality from the support.
Guy with the megaphone is irritating as ****. Hope he falls on it whilst wearing a dressing gown and it disappears where the sun doesn't shine so that it sounds like thunder when he passes wind.
No it hasn’t, but as the only club in the country who seems to accept this nonsense it tells you a lot about the demeanour of our club.
A soft touch. For away fans, a warm welcome awaits - we bend over backwards to cater for all your needs and a trip to Easter Road is lovely day out. Surprised we don’t offer away fans tea and scones on the house as well.
Paul1642
05-10-2024, 06:20 PM
Police on Facebook saying 6 arrests made post match.
Aye but that was only the people on the pitch impersonating being footballers.
05-10-2024, 06:21 PM
Guy with the megaphone is irritating as ****. Hope he falls on it whilst wearing a dressing gown and it disappears where the sun doesn't shine so that it sounds like thunder when he passes wind.
How the **** are they allowed into the stadium?? He's not exactly hard to spot. Wee helmet.
05-10-2024, 06:21 PM
I’m no sure it was Block 7 involved. They passed me when I was coming out of the East and were walking down towards Lochend.
05-10-2024, 06:55 PM
I’m no sure it was Block 7 involved. They passed me when I was coming out of the East and were walking down towards Lochend.
It'll just be hangeroners.
05-10-2024, 06:59 PM
No it hasn’t, but as the only club in the country who seems to accept this nonsense it tells you a lot about the demeanour of our club.
A soft touch. For away fans, a warm welcome awaits - we bend over backwards to cater for all your needs and a trip to Easter Road is lovely day out. Surprised we don’t offer away fans tea and scones on the house as well.
But whose decision is this Hibs or the police. I'd hate to hazard a guess at how long this has been in place
ShinyFantastic
05-10-2024, 07:09 PM
Sad movies when a trip to ibrox is more enjoyable atmosphere-wise than a home game because those little ***** block seven were posted missing last week…
05-10-2024, 07:17 PM
Same, it wasn't them. They all looked really depressed, probably away back home.
05-10-2024, 07:30 PM
Same, it wasn't them. They all looked really depressed, probably away back home.
How could you tell through their balaclavas?
05-10-2024, 07:55 PM
I caught up with them when heading Leith Walk. They were being escorted by coppers on either side of them. There wasn't much drama until their Hibs equivalent appeared from the tram stop at Picardy Place. They then all acted like they couldn't get to each other because of 4 or 5 police before more got involved.
I don't think anything would have happened if the police didn't make them feel brave and protected by their presence and everyone just mixed as usual. The balaclava stuff makes them feel like they can do what they want without repercussions too - maybe they can.
I was talking to an older Motherwell fan in colours amid them and they didn't look the road I was on. Quite a few other normal Hibs fans around too.
I overhead an American tourist on Leith Street asking if they maybe robbed something. Three points for sure.
05-10-2024, 07:57 PM
It didn't look like Block 7 they were scrapping with. More like traditional older gadgies.
05-10-2024, 08:06 PM
Hibs V Motherwell has always been a fixture for the cashies. I can vaguely remember being away at Motherwell in the early 90s before they built their new stand and their fans throwing darts into the Hibs end. There was also a running battle in the away end when we emptied them out the Scottish Cup in the mid 90s.
I've no idea who was behind any bother today but if it was the young team then they are only following in the footsteps of generations before. (This shouldn't be read as condoning any trouble btw).
Davy Mac
05-10-2024, 08:09 PM
It didn't look like Block 7 they were scrapping with. More like traditional older gadgies.
I was there too and unusually i actually didn't recognise our gadgies as it were, maybe I'm an even older gadgie these days . lol
Although, the boys in blue didn't half make a meal of it as there must been 8 or so vans, but i did notice the coppers near the ground looked a hardier bunch than normal so maybe they were expecting it.
Fergos
05-10-2024, 08:14 PM
They have just lost one of their old boys from the original SS, Kerso, never a nice thing to happen no matter the colours. Type of thing that can galvanise lads from the old school…trip down memory lane etc.
LunasBoots
05-10-2024, 08:38 PM
They have just lost one of their old boys from the original SS, Kerso, never a nice thing to happen no matter the colours. Type of thing that can galvanise lads from the old school…trip down memory lane etc.
Yup mentioned this to a mate earlier that it may have been a farewell thing today, also Hibs drink in that vicinity these days
05-10-2024, 08:46 PM
Biggest crime they’ve committed so far is trying to sell stickers for a fiver a pop.
05-10-2024, 08:52 PM
Also since when have we ever been held back against Motherwell??
Since the ****ing ultras.
They are the direct cause of this.
Malonga's Cat
05-10-2024, 10:04 PM
This for me too. They claim to be adding an atmosphere but are killing it. The drum, megaphone and the silly wee masks - all need to go. Would be great to stand out from other clubs and go back to a crowd responsive to events on the park or sign songs the rest of us know.
05-10-2024, 10:47 PM
This for me too. They claim to be adding an atmosphere but are killing it. The drum, megaphone and the silly wee masks - all need to go. Would be great to stand out from other clubs and go back to a crowd responsive to events on the park or sign songs the rest of us know.
Killing the atmosphere? There was literally no atmosphere in the first place.
You can probably guarantee that most folk moaning about their style of chants sit down and don't sing for the majority of games, and then complain about the type of songs being sung.
05-10-2024, 11:03 PM
You can probably guarantee that most folk moaning about their style of chants sit down and don't sing for the majority of games, and then complain about the type of songs being sung.
:agree: One of the strangest things on this board is the constant digs about block seven. It's just so weird. People who don't sing complaining about people who do sing "not creating an atmosphere". Its like a bunch of old fuddy duddy neighbours decades ago complaining about the young people playing in the street.
hibs4life
05-10-2024, 11:22 PM
For some reason it irrationally really pissed me off that our ultras just kept drumming and chanting though Motherwell's opening goal like nothing happened. It gives the impression that they don't give a **** about the game and are just there to impress each other.
I don't think it's irrational.The drum beating from black hoodied fans, no matter the team, no matter the score, no matter the level of performance, no matter the stage of the game is making the match atmospheres tedious, repetitive, and detached from what's actually happening on the pitch. I'd happily see drums barred from the stadiums, as the manufactured 'atmosphere' they are presumably trying to create doesn't happen and we just end up with a continual, flat and irritating looped backing track to the game.
It's just become a cut and paste of how some folks think how to support your team and for me is just dull and irritating.
hibs4life
05-10-2024, 11:36 PM
:agree: One of the strangest things on this board is the constant digs about block seven. It's just so weird. People who don't sing complaining about people who do sing "not creating an atmosphere". Its like a bunch of old fuddy duddy neighbours decades ago complaining about the young people playing in the street.
Banging a drum doesn't create an atmosphere in itself. Trying to create an atmosphere is a good thing. But banging a drum when the team is struggling isn't always the answer, sometimes the change in mood and atmosphere in the stadium needs to be more organic and based on passages of play.
Also, in my view, a critique isn't necessarily a dig and 'fuddy duddy' analogies of unspecified behaviours or concerns is neither helpful or relevant.
06-10-2024, 12:21 AM
Don't know, wasn't there but Motherwell have had quite an active wee firm the past 10 years or so, not just today. Not always a Hibs problem.
06-10-2024, 03:44 AM
I saw the start of the pish at Picardy Place. Certainly hard to not say it was Block 7 (or the Motherwell equivalent) as they were dressed the same. Wannabe Ulster terrorists with their balaclavas.
We won’t be rid of them as our CEO is part of them
06-10-2024, 06:28 AM
Banging a drum doesn't create an atmosphere in itself. Trying to create an atmosphere is a good thing. But banging a drum when the team is struggling isn't always the answer, sometimes the change in mood and atmosphere in the stadium needs to be more organic and based on passages of play.
Also, in my view, a critique isn't necessarily a dig and 'fuddy duddy' analogies of unspecified behaviours or concerns is neither helpful or relevant.
I think you need to seperate small pockets singing ubiquitous ultra songbooks and drumming relentlessly from the natural noise and atmosphere of a football crowd.
Atmosphere doesn’t necessarily equal singing for me. What plays out on the pitch generates crowd reactions and that in itself creates atmosphere. Songs will break out organically and how loud is reflective on what on the park has prompted that.
A group of 50 odd singing repetitive songs nobody other than other club “ultras” can relate to non stop and banging a drum doesn’t create an atmosphere. It actually has the opposite effect of what they claim to be all about.
Ultras make the atmosphere worse at games now. And that’s not just at Easter Road.
06-10-2024, 06:55 AM
Its really not that strange. We’re mostly a lot of middle aged (and upwards) blokes failing to understand or value the younger generation. Its been like that since the stone age probably
Broxburn Greens
06-10-2024, 07:23 AM
Since Block7 moved to the FFL they’ve grown on me a bit. Inside the ground at least they’re relatively harmless and are just doing their thing I guess.
However I’d agree they aren’t really adding atmosphere more just background noise as I hardly notice them anymore and I’m in the section next to them in the FFL!
One thing that did irk me a bit was chanting for Chris Cadden after he subbed, his performance was rank and wholly undeserving of such adulation. A polite applause for his efforts as a Hibs player yes, chanting his name after that performance definitely not for me.
06-10-2024, 07:57 AM
You’ve clearly not been on the wrong end of their behaviour at away games, only for it to be written off as “hangers on”.
Malonga's Cat
06-10-2024, 08:03 AM
Used to love a wee sing song in the old east. I was a teenager in there early 2000s (so not really a fuddy duddy - yet!) and that atmosphere was far superior to what we have now. Would love to have some of the classics going again instead of a constant droning and 50 odd folk providing a monotonous noise regardless of what is happening on the park. Atmosphere should relate to what is on the pitch, not some ultra ideal copied by every club trying to be European.
Don't even get me started on the coked up wee dafties with their masks who are now engaging in handbags after games. How many folk on here have had the pleasure of them on away days? Untouchable though because the club have aligned themselves with them.
06-10-2024, 08:10 AM
Used to love a wee sing song in the old east. I was a teenager in there early 2000s (so not really a fuddy duddy - yet!) and that atmosphere was far superior to what we have now. Would love to have some of the classics going again instead of a constant droning and 50 odd folk providing a monotonous noise regardless of what is happening on the park. Atmosphere should relate to what is on the pitch, not some ultra ideal copied by every club trying to be European.
Don't even get me started on the coked up wee dafties with their masks who are now engaging in handbags after games. How many folk on here have had the pleasure of them on away days? Untouchable though because the club have aligned themselves with them.
Getting name dropped by the stadium announcer at HT during the 10 second challenge suggesting it’s an extra thrill for the kids shooting into the goal in front of the group.
Chorley Hibee
06-10-2024, 08:30 AM
Both the club and the police know who these wee dicks are, they only number a couple of hundred, at best, so why aren't they taking the appropriate action against them?
They seem to be enabled at every opportunity.
I'm talking about all the identikit groups at every club too.
06-10-2024, 08:41 AM
Both the club and the police know who these wee dicks are, they only number a couple of hundred, at best, so why aren't they taking the appropriate action against them?
They seem to be enabled at every opportunity.
I'm talking about all the identikit groups at every club too.
But the trouble seems to have involved older ex cashies yesterday. You cant just expect the police to round up people you dont like. ‘Fiddling with yoirself through your trackie pockets’ or ‘banging a drum in a way that middle aged scarfers don’t appreciate’ arent actual crimes. What do you expect the police to do?
Chorley Hibee
06-10-2024, 08:47 AM
But the trouble seems to have involved older ex cashies yesterday. You cant just expect the police to round up people you dont like. ‘Fiddling with yoirself through your trackie pockets’ or ‘banging a drum in a way that middle aged scarfers don’t appreciate’ arent actual crimes. What do you expect the police to do?
With our lot, it's been more than that, on a least a few occasions, and particularly away from home.
I admit it's not my thing, but I'm quite happy for them to have their wee gang and drum away to their heart's content, their behaviour away from that is the problem, and it's turning good Hibs fans away.
06-10-2024, 08:54 AM
The old east is long gone. The atmosphere at ER prior to B7 coming along was absolutely brutal.
No singing, absolutely nothing for the vast majority of games. People sitting on their hands and then coming on places like this complaining the atmosphere is brutal whilst doing nothing about it themselves.
I don't particularly like the European style chanting, but atleast it's singing of some kind and are actually doing something to try and improve the atmosphere inside the ground.
06-10-2024, 09:08 AM
Getting name dropped by the stadium announcer at HT during the 10 second challenge suggesting it’s an extra thrill for the kids shooting into the goal in front of the group.
Not such a thrill for the families caught up in their after match activities.
06-10-2024, 09:09 AM
In your previous post you had a dig about the clothes they wear. The fuddy duddiest of things to say quite frankly.
06-10-2024, 09:13 AM
You used to be able to feel the connection between the fans and the players when the fans sensed there was an opportunity opening up. The players would realise something was afoot due to the reaction of the fans and you could see the reaction from the players like a shark smelling blood.
Now it's just a long monotone summing backed by an annoying drumbeat with an attention seeking weirdo with a megaphone. The emphasis is all about them and has nothing to do with what's happening on the pitch, the sideshow has become the main event for some and the club is now just their stage. Boring.
06-10-2024, 09:16 AM
Its really not that strange. We’re mostly a lot of middle aged (and upwards) blokes failing to understand or value the younger generation. Its been like that since the stone age probably
Ok so you've hit the nail on the head about why, which I fully agree with. BUT what purpose is there in people moaning every week on here about getting angry about the way choose to create an atmosphere, or the clothes they wear or the fact that they sing songs with new words that not everyone knows etc etc.
They weren't even the ones causing trouble yesterday yet some people are desperate to have a go again.
06-10-2024, 09:18 AM
With the numerous player changes and lack of quality it’s no coincidence we have hardly any songs currently for players.
Think back to a few years back with the McGinn song and full stadium singing it.
We have these chants now which hardly anyone can join in as they either aren’t good for the bigger groups or fans have no idea what’s being sung.
The Vente song was good and simple but he’s gone now !!
I’m not as against the fans supporting the team as others but I still think we could do more to have songs which are easier for the wider support to join in with. It was done before with the support in the new east at the time so not sure why those leading the group can’t try come up with more catchy songs for others to join in with.
06-10-2024, 09:19 AM
You’ve clearly not been on the wrong end of their behaviour at away games, only for it to be written off as “hangers on”.
That criticism is valid if/when the situation arises. It didn't yesterday though.
percy veer
06-10-2024, 09:28 AM
Sound like your getting a bit old, give the guys break so they kept singing whilst the other team scored ,I mean come on, the team were crap let's deflect that on to them.
percy veer
06-10-2024, 09:30 AM
With the numerous player changes and lack of quality it’s no coincidence we have hardly any songs currently for players.
Think back to a few years back with the McGinn song and full stadium singing it.
We have these chants now which hardly anyone can join in as they either aren’t good for the bigger groups or fans have no idea what’s being sung.
The Vente song was good and simple but he’s gone now !!
I’m not as against the fans supporting the team as others but I still think we could do more to have songs which are easier for the wider support to join in with. It was done before with the support in the new east at the time so not sure why those leading the group can’t try come up with more catchy songs for others to join in with.
Start a chant then
06-10-2024, 09:36 AM
That criticism is valid if/when the situation arises. It didn't yesterday though.
If someone were to rob my house one day then doesn’t the next, it doesn’t make them a good person.
Similarly, a group that has on numerous occasions treated Hibs fans like dirt aren’t a welcome part of the support because they occasionally behave.
06-10-2024, 09:43 AM
Ok so you've hit the nail on the head about why, which I fully agree with. BUT what purpose is there in people moaning every week on here about getting angry about the way choose to create an atmosphere, or the clothes they wear or the fact that they sing songs with new words that not everyone knows etc etc.
They weren't even the ones causing trouble yesterday yet some people are desperate to have a go again.
I agree with you completely.
For context, i was at Marseille Nice last month, twenty thousand ultras on opposing ends of an amazing stadium doing call and response chants and about a dozen different tifos being thrown up at intervals throughout the game. I couldnt even hear my son speak next to me. I love REAL ultra culture. What we have in Scotland is a bit embarrassing in comparison really, but im not going to attack them because at least theyre trying to do something. The complaint about‘families getting caught up in block 7s behaviour after games’ is fair enough, but im not hearing the same about the river island old cashies giving folk a leathering in front of grannies shopping and tourists. That suggests theres some double standards here.
06-10-2024, 09:45 AM
Neds in balaclavas are bad news - especially on bikes!
06-10-2024, 09:47 AM
...It gives the impression that they don't give a **** about the game and are just there to impress each other.
That would be an accurate impression.
06-10-2024, 09:58 AM
I agree with you completely.
For context, i was at Marseille Nice last month, twenty thousand ultras on opposing ends of an amazing stadium doing call and response chants and about a dozen different tifos being thrown up at intervals throughout the game. I couldnt even hear my son speak next to me. I love REAL ultra culture. What we have in Scotland is a bit embarrassing in comparison really, but im not going to attack them because at least theyre trying to do something. The complaint about‘families getting caught up in block 7s behaviour after games’ is fair enough, but im not hearing the same about the river island old cashies giving folk a leathering in front of grannies shopping and tourists. That suggests theres some double standards here.
Fair points:aok:
06-10-2024, 11:06 AM
4 people charged in connection with the bother yesterday. Aged 16, 17, 18 and 22.
Casts some doubt on this being an old boys reunion.
Chorley Hibee
06-10-2024, 11:12 AM
4 people charged in connection with the bother yesterday. Aged 16, 17, 18 and 22.
Casts some doubt on this being an old boys reunion.
Precisely.
Almost certainly the usual suspects involved.
06-10-2024, 12:52 PM
In your previous post you had a dig about the clothes they wear. The fuddy duddiest of things to say quite frankly.
We're Hibs. In colours green and white.
So why do Block Seven insist on wearing the generic black of every other unimaginative wannabe ultra group?
06-10-2024, 01:10 PM
We're Hibs. In colours green and white.
So why do Block Seven insist on wearing the generic black of every other unimaginative wannabe ultra group?
What did you wear to the game yesterday. I never wore Hibs colours. Neither did a lot of folk around me. Is that ok with you?!
06-10-2024, 01:17 PM
I think you need to seperate small pockets singing ubiquitous ultra songbooks and drumming relentlessly from the natural noise and atmosphere of a football crowd.
Atmosphere doesn’t necessarily equal singing for me. What plays out on the pitch generates crowd reactions and that in itself creates atmosphere. Songs will break out organically and how loud is reflective on what on the park has prompted that.
A group of 50 odd singing repetitive songs nobody other than other club “ultras” can relate to non stop and banging a drum doesn’t create an atmosphere. It actually has the opposite effect of what they claim to be all about.
Ultras make the atmosphere worse at games now. And that’s not just at Easter Road.
I've got to agree with you that it's not just singing that creates an atmosphere. AEK at Easter Road was the best I've ever experienced at ER there was just this buzz in the air that if you weren't there would be hard to describe.
06-10-2024, 01:18 PM
What did you wear to the game yesterday. I never wore Hibs colours. Neither did a lot of folk around me. Is that ok with you?!To be fair, he's talking about a 'uniform'.... if you're going to go out your way to all wear
The same stuff then why just copy other 'Ultra's'... maybe do something that also gives a wee nod to the team.
06-10-2024, 01:28 PM
The clothes thing really isn't a big deal. Wearing black clothing or chanting a generic chant isn't harming anyone.
There are elements to be concerned with them but it feels like some folk are just looking for any excuse to complain.
06-10-2024, 01:35 PM
To be fair, he's talking about a 'uniform'.... if you're going to go out your way to all wear
The same stuff then why just copy other 'Ultra's'... maybe do something that also gives a wee nod to the team.
I don't get it either but why are people so worked up about it? It simply doesn't matter.
The clothes thing really isn't a big deal. Wearing black clothing or chanting a generic chant isn't harming anyone.
There are elements to be concerned with them but it feels like some folk are just looking for any excuse to complain.
06-10-2024, 02:08 PM
Yep. Those arrested at St Andrews Square were all Motherwell. As I understand it Block Seven, for all their faults, were not involved in the incidents outside the St James yesterday as they were 'kettled' on Easter Road. I just hope they arrested that bloody megaphone being used in the away end!
06-10-2024, 02:41 PM
I don't get it either but why are people so worked up about it? It simply doesn't matter.
:agree:Yeah, I agree wi' that...
I actually thought B7 added to the atmosphere in a few recent games, even singing some of our more traditional songs at times.
Could really really really do without that megaphone and the siren mind!
The drum I'd give a bit of slack to if it wasn't so incessant :faf:
06-10-2024, 02:49 PM
What did you wear to the game yesterday. I never wore Hibs colours. Neither did a lot of folk around me. Is that ok with you?!
I'm not sure what's hilarious about quoting "Glory Glory to the Hibees".
Neither of us claims to be a Hibs ultra so what either of us wore yesterday is irrelevant when discussing whether an organised ultras group with its own uniform should choose a uniform which is identified with our club. Hardly an unreasonable expectation. After all, the club itself manages to do that every season with the home kit.
HarpOnHibee
06-10-2024, 03:05 PM
Lets be honest. If the team were actually playing good football on the pitch and giving fans a reason to get excited. All of this discussion regarding Block 7 would be a mute point. The atmosphere is dull because the football is dull. There's no real sense of urgency in the play to get fans off their feet.
06-10-2024, 04:46 PM
I'm not sure what's hilarious about quoting "Glory Glory to the Hibees".
Neither of us claims to be a Hibs ultra so what either of us wore yesterday is irrelevant when discussing whether an organised ultras group with its own uniform should choose a uniform which is identified with our club. Hardly an unreasonable expectation. After all, the club itself manages to do that every season with the home kit.
Ultras all over the world tend to wear all black tops. I've no idea why anyone is surprised or annoyed that Hibs ultras would do the same.
06-10-2024, 04:47 PM
Yeah, I agree wi' that...
I actually thought B7 added to the atmosphere in a few recent games, even singing some of our more traditional songs at times.
Could really really really do without that megaphone and the siren mind!
The drum I'd give a bit of slack to if it wasn't so incessant :faf:
Lets be honest. If the team were actually playing good football on the pitch and giving fans a reason to get excited. All of this discussion regarding Block 7 would be a mute point. The atmosphere is dull because the football is dull. There's no real sense of urgency in the play to get fans off their feet.
:agree::agree:
linlithgowhibbie
06-10-2024, 04:54 PM
The old east is long gone. The atmosphere at ER prior to B7 coming along was absolutely brutal.
No singing, absolutely nothing for the vast majority of games. People sitting on their hands and then coming on places like this complaining the atmosphere is brutal whilst doing nothing about it themselves.
I don't particularly like the European style chanting, but atleast it's singing of some kind and are actually doing something to try and improve the atmosphere inside the ground.
Have to disagree with you there. S43 and then Since 1875 were very good noisy and inventive. Mind the "Natural Order" full stand tifo displays, they weren't done by B7 but by younger fans who could (mostly) behave and created both a good image and a good nosy atmosphere.
06-10-2024, 09:01 PM
Have to disagree with you there. S43 and then Since 1875 were very good noisy and inventive. Mind the "Natural Order" full stand tifo displays, they weren't done by B7 but by younger fans who could (mostly) behave and created both a good image and a good nosy atmosphere.
Correct. B7 are no more than copycat wannabes who are no different to their peers at other Scottish clubs. The Since1875 guys did a lot of good innovative stuff.
Nutmegged
07-10-2024, 03:06 AM
That's the perfect description for the ultra scene, apart from a few team specific songs, you could drop any ultra group into any stadium and you wouldn't know the difference, ut's all the same.
07-10-2024, 05:59 PM
Do you think if everyone rocked up in black with the the standard issue scarfs with clasps, trainers, clapping chanting and bouncing off the walls they’d made it, pack it in for something else or think folks were just taking the ££155?
08-10-2024, 01:06 PM
What a fine looking bunch of lads!
https://i.postimg.cc/HsgFQFGz/IMG-4507.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
08-10-2024, 01:26 PM
Gimps
Hibs Go Bragh
08-10-2024, 01:31 PM
Do we know if the boy on the right does any discounts for Hibs fans for all joinery work cos I’ve got a few things needing done around the house?! I’m impressed by his willingness to work before his play date 😂
08-10-2024, 02:37 PM
Jesus Christ:faf:
08-10-2024, 03:06 PM
Gimps It seems crazy we have spend 1000s on a standing area for about 50 bairns who hardly watch the match and that fans can't make their way home in the direction of their choosing because even less of the identikit Motherwell fans are in town. The fan experience really needs a review and to be fair I am aware that I am looking through pretty old lenses to form my view. However, there were plenty of the same mind standing waiting to get back home of Saturday moaning about the ridiculous Police line and the loudspeaker the Motherwell Child Catcher had at the game
08-10-2024, 04:07 PM
Likely been a few of them moaning at their mammies for buying them dark grey instead of black
InvertedFullBak
08-10-2024, 04:17 PM
Do we know if the boy on the right does any discounts for Hibs fans for all joinery work cos I’ve got a few things needing done around the house?! I’m impressed by his willingness to work before his play date 😂
Fair play to the boy. Doing a cash job on the side until 130-200 then off to the see Hibs at 3.
08-10-2024, 04:34 PM
Likely been a few of them moaning at their mammies for buying them dark grey instead of black
Its not black. Its very very very very very VERY dark grey.
08-10-2024, 04:36 PM
Looks like they've been snorting pies at halftime.
More lycra than a Jane Fonda video.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
08-10-2024, 07:29 PM
Just seen 2 of them going down the road wearing the same balaclava, wasn't till I got closer till I realised it was a pair o black tights.
Bridge hibs
08-10-2024, 07:42 PM
Just seen 2 of them going down the road wearing the same balaclava, wasn't till I got closer till I realised it was a pair o black tights.
:greengrin2 of them wearing the Same balaclava ? Ffs conjoined Ultras !!
08-10-2024, 07:44 PM
is one of them not just a confused Mexican wrestler looking for directions to the Shore?
08-10-2024, 07:58 PM
2 of them wearing the Same balaclava ? Ffs conjoined Ultras !!
One heid or two?
09-10-2024, 07:12 AM
Looks like they've been snorting pies at halftime.
😂😂😂😂
At least the casuals dressed properly, what a sad looking bunch of no hopers.
hibsforeurope
09-10-2024, 08:02 AM
Football is becoming dull and boring enough, everyone trying to play like Pep without the fans dressing the same and making the same drones. We sit near the away fans and almost every ultra group, except Celtic and the Huns, could be fitted in to any other team in the league.
The FFL should be full of colour (preferably Green) and set the tone for everyone. But B7 have alienated themselves from the majority of Hibs fans and almost actively look to prevent any atmosphere being generated from other stands. The fact the club have to put where they will be sitting at away games for others to avoid says it all for me.
09-10-2024, 08:14 AM
I don't really care how they dress or even what they sing.
I think the biggest issue they have is there has been a push to grow this pale imitation of European ultra culture in Scotland for well over a decade now and at most clubs it has totally failed. Since 1875 took up about half a dozen rows in the East a fair few years ago now and today you have Block7 taking up about 3/4 of a section in the FF Lower (and a decent chunk of that must be hangers on rather members of the group if reports are to be believed). That's hardly any kind of tangible or sustained growth. It feels a bit like flogging a dead horse. I'm sure the boys involved enjoy it for a year or 3 but it's not really the solution to the atmosphere problem in Scotland. The atmosphere at ER was crap before with the odd outbreak of singing among the wider support. Now it's crap with the odd outbreak of signing among the wider support but with a monotonous drum backing track.
I've no idea what the solution is however surely coming up with something original would be better than trying to copy huge established groups with a distinct ultras culture but with 3 dozen guys at each end chanting the same sing back and forward at each other?
10-10-2024, 04:43 PM
It's just pish.
andyf5
12-10-2024, 06:55 AM
I read this article this morning about how Aberdeen are engaging with their ultras and was impressed by the displays. https://nutmegfootball.substack.com/p/the-ultras-guide-to-party-planning
We seem to have gone backwards in this.
WeAreHibs
12-10-2024, 07:09 AM
I read this article this morning about how Aberdeen are engaging with their ultras and was impressed by the displays. https://nutmegfootball.substack.com/p/the-ultras-guide-to-party-planning
We seem to have gone backwards in this.
Maybe the Aberdeen lot are better behaved and gained respect amongst the rest of the fanbase. I say "maybe" as I genuinely don't know.
Edit -
Just looked and they have their own website and insta. First impressions are that they're much better organised, bigger and more engaging.
12-10-2024, 07:27 AM
Cringe af
12-10-2024, 09:11 AM
Ultras? They need to look at foreign ultras to see what is really being an ultra is all about
12-10-2024, 09:20 AM
A reminder that Since 1875, who were immensely popular with the fans, had all of their privileges revoked after ONE instance of bad behaviour, which by the way was writing the word "****" (the stuff you find on top of a pond) on a banner.
God help these embarrassments if Dempster ever returns to the club.
12-10-2024, 09:30 AM
Maybe the Aberdeen lot are better behaved and gained respect amongst the rest of the fanbase. I say "maybe" as I genuinely don't know.
Edit -
Just looked and they have their own website and insta. First impressions are that they're much better organised, bigger and more engaging.
A reminder that Since 1875, who were immensely popular with the fans, had all of their privileges revoked after ONE instance of bad behaviour, which by the way was writing the word "****" (the stuff you find on top of a pond) on a banner.
The Aberdeen set up looks more aligned to what Since 1875 were about.
The wider Hibs support would contribute when the group put out occasional appeals to raise funds for displays, and the whole thing seemed to go hand in hand rather than division which the current group are finding with regular, and very long time fans distancing themselves from anything to do with them.
12-10-2024, 10:01 AM
Was it not the word before **** that was the problem?
linlithgowhibbie
12-10-2024, 10:04 AM
Was it not the word before **** that was the problem?
I thought it was "####"
12-10-2024, 10:08 AM
I thought it was "####"
Nah it was **** that’s did it for them.
12-10-2024, 10:12 AM
I would suggest it was the combination of both words that did it.......as much as we all agreed with it.
12-10-2024, 11:16 AM
Probably the wrong forum but I Don’t suppose anyone has heard how blacked up balaclava wearing groups of yoofs makes wummin, young kids and older folks feel…
My missus is not a fan. Looks like from some of the Facebook pages some bams in seemingly in ultras garb are going around vandalising and torching things - you may way bams will do that anyway but I suppose the bams give the others a rep too rightly or wrongly. Apparently primary school age kids.
prob a few contributory factors - mibbie they’re not true ultras just immature bams. But one appears to encourage the others.
were casuals better or worse? At least the ly showed face
12-10-2024, 11:31 AM
Bring back since 1875 !!!
12-10-2024, 11:33 AM
With the various groups in Edinburgh now it's only a matter of time before there is an organised "meet" and someone will probably get seriously hurt.
12-10-2024, 12:07 PM
Nah it was **** that’s did it for them.
Well thats cleared it up it was #### and not #### :)
I
I find the case that came to court regarding the term for the ### hordes intriguingly hilarious.
A Hibby it was alleged called an officer of the constabulary a H## C###.
And the case revolved not around the use of the C but the H word. In otherwords there was no contesting of the C word!
the law is indeed at times an a##
Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 12:35 PM
Well thats cleared it up it was #### and not #### :)
I
I find the case that came to court regarding the term for the ### hordes intriguingly hilarious.
A Hibby it was alleged called an officer of the constabulary a H## C###.
And the case revolved not around the use of the C but the H word. In otherwords there was no contesting of the C word!
the law is indeed at times an a##
:not worth the best use of 'symbols' I have seen in a long time - like old fashioned humour where something was implied ... nudge nudge , wink wink etc rather than need to use the most vulgar words to seemingly be funny / shock...
maybe i'm just getting old :greengrin
12-10-2024, 12:47 PM
:not worth the best use of 'symbols' I have seen in a long time - like old fashioned humour where something was implied ... nudge nudge , wink wink etcmaybe i'm just getting old :greengrin
Do you mean like up the slope? 🤔🤭
12-10-2024, 01:43 PM
We havent really engaged the ultra thing in England. Was up with my brother last weekend he thought they looked comical. We're both from the Casual era and although that era wasnt everyones cup of tea i wouldnt swap for the Ultra era. Its a very watered down version of what is happening in Ultra inspired leagues across Europe.
All for youth making its own niche in society, we've all been there but im not an ultra Scotland version fan personally.
HibsIntl
12-10-2024, 09:14 PM
https://x.com/The_Thirty_/status/1845059279167828116
Up-the-slope
12-10-2024, 09:29 PM
https://x.com/The_Thirty_/status/1845059279167828116
:greengrin do they do nappies in black puffa :confused:
13-10-2024, 01:05 AM
Makes a difference from the he proper Ultras on the continent.
13-10-2024, 04:45 AM
:not worth the best use of 'symbols' I have seen in a long time - like old fashioned humour where something was implied ... nudge nudge , wink wink etc rather than need to use the most vulgar words to seemingly be funny / shock...
maybe i'm just getting old :greengrin
Do I get a checkity-cheque BLANK book and pen?
or is that a Blankity blank cheque book and pen?
linlithgowhibbie
13-10-2024, 09:30 AM
Do I get a checkity-cheque BLANK book and pen?
or is that a Blankity blank cheque book and pen?
or is that a ######## ##### check book and pen?
13-10-2024, 03:27 PM
Supermatch game Supermatch game
Supermatch game
Supermatch game!
13-10-2024, 06:47 PM
The FF lower looks a lot better filled with them irrespective of their attire.
Looked brutal before with more empty seats than fans.
Lendo
13-10-2024, 07:06 PM
Im suffering from secondhand embarrassment looking at that.
13-10-2024, 07:42 PM
I'd be interested to see the figures. It is definitely busier low down directly behind the goal but it looks quieter overall. It is a very expensive experiment so it will need to get much busier for it to have made sense. At the moment teh atmosphere is the worst I can remember it. On the plus front I dare say if the camera zooms in then it will look better on TV, why that matters is lost on me
13-10-2024, 08:22 PM
Have you got attendance stats to back that up? Match day income figures?
13-10-2024, 09:12 PM
I wonder if they knew that their black Northface / Stone Island clothes weee RFID tagged so authorities could locate them and their clothes they’d get up to the shenanigans…?
Whelahan 1875
13-10-2024, 11:28 PM
Have you got attendance stats to back that up? Match day income figures?
No need for stats or figures. Visually it's like night and day compared to previous seasons. It's vibrant, has been fairly full each game so far and creates an atmosphere. Before this season, I used to cringe watching our highlights on TV as the FF lower looked horrendous. It's one of the few decisions this board has got 100% correct, so it's to be celebrated. I sit directly above Block 7 and find them far more entertaining than most of the football on offer.
Whelahan 1875
13-10-2024, 11:40 PM
I'd be interested to see the figures. It is definitely busier low down directly behind the goal but it looks quieter overall. It is a very expensive experiment so it will need to get much busier for it to have made sense. At the moment the atmosphere is the worst I can remember it. On the plus front I dare say if the camera zooms in then it will look better on TV, why that matters is lost on me
It's far busier overall and the TV visuals matter as that is the perception I think we all want for our club. A busy, young and relevant fan base supporting our club, rather than getting slated from opposition fans (mainly hertz) for being the echo dome, empty seats etc etc. Have had enough of listening to that rhetoric despite us having consistently good crowds with an underperforming team.
TrinityHFC
14-10-2024, 12:04 AM
I'd be interested to see the figures. It is definitely busier low down directly behind the goal but it looks quieter overall. It is a very expensive experiment so it will need to get much busier for it to have made sense. At the moment teh atmosphere is the worst I can remember it. On the plus front I dare say if the camera zooms in then it will look better on TV, why that matters is lost on me
Agree. Don’t think it is any busier than it used to be. Those seats were also pretty much sold even if all families didn’t go every week.
PHeffernan
14-10-2024, 12:33 AM
Back at their day jobs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEkT5uspE3c
14-10-2024, 09:08 AM
It's far busier overall and the TV visuals matter as that is the perception I think we all want for our club. A busy, young and relevant fan base supporting our club, rather than getting slated from opposition fans (mainly hertz) for being the echo dome, empty seats etc etc. Have had enough of listening to that rhetoric despite us having consistently good crowds with an underperforming team. I sit at the Dunbar end of the West Upper. Barring the drum you pretty much can't hear any singing. Not sure why you would bother what Hearts fans think but there isn't any difference in atmosphere so far and overall crowds . Your eyes must be different to mine as the FFL looks similarly populated albeit everyone is squeezed into the central lower area. Relevant is an interesting choice of words too. In what way is 50 or so identikit fans relevant or busy. If I'm watching on the TV, very rare as I will be at the game, will I ignore the empty bits of the FFL to the sides.
We have spent the money now so no going back. Difficult to know if it will have a positive effect on atmosphere or volume of fans given the way we are playing. If we go on a run like Aberdeen it will be bouncing but then again it would have been without the standing section. I suspect the current Ultra group will be no more in a couple of years anyways as they will simply grow out of it.