View Full Version : Skol Cup 1991

Donegal Hibby
02-10-2024, 03:05 PM
I seen this which got me thinking on us winning the cup in 91 , is there any footage of the earlier rounds ? .. I know Keith scored in every round though who were our other scorers that year ? ….

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/october/02/an-audience-with-90s-legends/

He's here!
02-10-2024, 05:19 PM
The club released a video call 'The team that wouldn't die' after we won the cup. Think it features some stuff around the Mercer takeover etc plus highlights of the semi-final v Rangers and extended highlights of the final, plus the celebrations at ER afterwards. Pretty sure there wasn't any coverage of the earlier rounds, but it's so long since I watched it that I'm not certain about that.

02-10-2024, 05:23 PM
The club released a video call 'The team that wouldn't die' after we won the cup. Think it features some stuff around the Mercer takeover etc plus highlights of the semi-final v Rangers and extended highlights of the final, plus the celebrations at ER afterwards. Pretty sure there wasn't any coverage of the earlier rounds, but it's so long since I watched it that I'm not certain about that.

https://youtu.be/6Ya4EqVYM1s?si=Eij-D0O1kSmXP-cu

02-10-2024, 05:25 PM
For some reason I remember Airdrie getting absolutely robbed in their semi with the Pars. Think their boy got sent off for chesting the ball.

Shame

02-10-2024, 05:28 PM
For some reason I remember Airdrie getting absolutely robbed in their semi with the Pars. Think their boy got sent off for chesting the ball.

Shame

Was Jimmy Sandison. Chested the ball in the box, and David Syme gave a penalty.

Immortalised in Marabou Stork Nightmares as Sandy Jamieson. :greengrin

02-10-2024, 05:29 PM

Ah knew it was something like that. Long time ago now!

02-10-2024, 06:02 PM
The final was my first ever Hibs game (glory fan 😁)

Put some pics from day on twitter a while back, went down quite well.

Chorley Hibee
02-10-2024, 06:03 PM

Shame

Given our record against Airdrie at the time, it worked out well for us.

02-10-2024, 06:14 PM

Poor Sandy. Failed in his quest to win a football medal and failed in helping Lockhart Dawson's miscalculated 'merger' in colonial Africa.

02-10-2024, 06:23 PM

Immortalised in Marabou Stork Nightmares as Sandy Jamieson. :greengrinHehe.

The only tie I missed was the semi, on hols in Corfu, staying next door to some lovely Dunfermline supporting lassies. A huge contingent of stickies arrived half way through the holiday and me and my pal escaped a huge pagger with them after slating them in the boozer (we bravely ran away.)

The trip to Somerset Park sticks in the mind. A very healthy Hibs support.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

02-10-2024, 06:47 PM
Was at every game of that cup win. Two Hibby mates worked at the Skol brewery in Alloa so we had complimentary stand tickets for every match except the final. We still talk about these trips to this day, some brilliant Wednesday night laughs. Can still remember driving back after our win at either Kilmarnock or Ayr and listening to celtic get put out on pens by Airdrie. So many stories about that run, good times

02-10-2024, 06:53 PM
The final was my first ever Hibs game (glory fan 😁)

Put some pics from day on twitter a while back, went down quite well.

Mine too!

Musselbound
02-10-2024, 07:07 PM
Given our record against Airdrie at the time, it worked out well for us.

Indeed. We would almost certainly have lost to them.

02-10-2024, 07:08 PM
Only game I missed was Ayr due to exams, although we were late in getting to Hampden for the semi and missed the goal.

As a result we arrived early for the final which turned out to be a good thing.

02-10-2024, 07:11 PM
Got back from my first stint working abroad just before the final. Still have photos somewhere of me and my parents dog wearing Hibs shirts lol...

Musselbound
02-10-2024, 07:14 PM
Was at every game of that cup win. Two Hibby mates worked at the Skol brewery in Alloa so we had complimentary stand tickets for every match except the final. We still talk about these trips to this day, some brilliant Wednesday night laughs. Can still remember driving back after our win at either Kilmarnock or Ayr and listening to celtic get put out on pens by Airdrie. So many stories about that run, good times

Funny as from memory I thought we played Killie in the quarters but a quick search tells me that was the previous round. I actually remember where I was the night of the Killie game (not at it) and think we won after extra time. I have no memory of the quarter final win over Ayr whatsoever.

02-10-2024, 07:22 PM
Fingers Piano Bar was rather lively once everybody returned from Hampden after the semi, fans and numerous players alike. 🍺🤭🍺

Donegal Hibby
02-10-2024, 07:24 PM
I was glad to see that Murdo MacLeod was going to be at the event after the hard time he had for health reasons.. hope he’s in better form and wish him well .

Remember after the quarter finals with Celtic , Aberdeen and hertz going out I was quite exciting in thinking we had a great chance of getting to the final only to be gutted when we drew them , never thought we had a snowballs chance in hell , probably the best rangers team we have beaten in my time a hibby ..

When we did I thought that the cup was ours though nearer the final got the more the nerves and doubts kicked in … remarkable achievement by the club after all that it had faced beforehand….

https://youtu.be/YJ_qjqpoSQ8

02-10-2024, 07:28 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/nostalgia/that-was-our-final-recalling-hibs-famous-league-cup-semi-triumph-in-glasgow-3106109

02-10-2024, 07:32 PM
Was on holiday in Sorrento when the semi was played. Was on a night out so didn't get back until 1.00am. Was desperate to know the score had a Walkman with radio managed to pick up Radio Luxembourg who gave out the score. Gave the wife who was sleeping a hell of a fright when I yelled ya f in beauty.

StevieT
02-10-2024, 07:49 PM
I have the cup final top. No sponsor so looks good. Shame it just sits there taking up space in a drawer

02-10-2024, 07:51 PM
Fingers Piano Bar was rather lively once everybody returned from Hampden after the semi, fans and numerous players alike. 🍺🤭🍺

Ahhh what a night that was 😁

02-10-2024, 08:01 PM
I have the cup final top. No sponsor so looks good. Shame it just sits there taking up space in a drawer

I have one as well. The semi final was brilliant, bus got bricked by Huns and everything. The final was great as well though bizarrely wasn’t all ticket so mayhem at the gates and not all our group got in

02-10-2024, 08:05 PM
Ahhh what a night that was 😁

Went on the bus from The Tor which was a tad rowdy to say the least. Full of Meadowbank House Alumni too! 🤭

Was getting trained by a Hun that week so, made a special effort to get in in the morning. 😁

02-10-2024, 08:05 PM

So do I and it still fits. Superb top

jamie_1875
02-10-2024, 08:07 PM
I am 50 next year but can remember meeting my Dad from school and we got the train through to Glasgow and had our dinner at the Blue Lagoon chippie before heading to Hampden to see the semi final win, great memories with my Dad.

Auckland Hibs
02-10-2024, 08:24 PM
Semi and final, traveled through on the Pickies bus from Piershill - amazing.

Half the bus missed the final as they closed the turnstiles.

02-10-2024, 08:35 PM

Shame
Jimmy Sandison ? Couldnt have happened to a nicer Jambo././

02-10-2024, 08:43 PM
Went on the bus from The Tor which was a tad rowdy to say the least. Full of Meadowbank House Alumni too! 🤭

Was getting trained by a Hun that week so, made a special effort to get in in the morning. 😁

My mate basically dragged me in there, was never a regular haunt of mine but enjoyed it that night!

Aye work huns were getting it the next day alright 😁

02-10-2024, 08:45 PM
My mate basically dragged me in there, was never a regular haunt of mine but enjoyed it that night!

Aye work huns were getting it the next day alright 😁

I think it was the only time that I've ever been in the place before or since. ☺️

Preferred The Penguin Cafe or PJ Clarke's.

Renfrew_Hibby
02-10-2024, 09:09 PM
First ever Hibs game was the Quater Final v Ayr at Somerset.
Was sat up in the then newly constructed family stand when the main stand had been extended.
Just remember a huge and bouncing Hibs support in the away end and goals from McGinlay and Keith.
Would love to see footage from that night.

02-10-2024, 09:27 PM
I remember having a VHS which I think was the review of that season and it had every goal from us in the league cup.

02-10-2024, 09:49 PM
https://youtu.be/-HOni7ZuPQo?feature=shared

Full coverage of the final.

02-10-2024, 09:49 PM
Loved the semi final. We were in a group who didn't get into the Final as the turnstiles closed every time we got to the front of the queue.

We were still trying to get into the Dunfermline end at half time with thousands of Hibbies. Ended up watching it in Queens Park bowling club :rolleyes:

Silversand
02-10-2024, 09:52 PM
Was at the quarter, semi & final.

Bought a tshirt in the Royal Nip after getting back from the final. Dunfermline had been spelled wrong, but they fixed it for later prints. Still have it somewhere.

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk

02-10-2024, 10:29 PM

Full coverage of the final.Some Hibs support that. Thousands outside too. We got in with 10 seconds to spare before the doors slammed.

Will be looking for Hamilton smashing the post.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

03-10-2024, 04:52 AM
Dunfermline played their part. They had Davie Moyes at rightback!
I've had a soft spot for the Pars ever since. But there was only going to be one winner on the day.

03-10-2024, 05:54 AM
Dunfermline played their part. They had Davie Moyes at rightback!
I've had a soft spot for the Pars ever since. But there was only going to be one winner on the day.

Was he not centre half

03-10-2024, 06:46 AM
Went to the quarter semi and final

I remember watching Mark McGraw closely at Somerset Park and thought he was the next big thing

Walking up the stairs at the Semi the tannoy announced that Richard Gough had failed a late fitness test and old man Brown would be playing

Remember vividly the kick off the green and white jerseys swarmed around the Rangers box like Hibees around a honeypot and I thought to myself ‘ We might be in here’

Getting to the Final early going for a pint coming back to see them closing the Gates

Took a Spurs fan to the Final who is now a Hibee for life

03-10-2024, 06:56 AM
Lost a scarf gained a sombrero.

I mind starting a congo that went from the club under Negotiants, up the stairs and into Negotiants sit down bit and got turned around heheh. Happy days!

first taste of victory. It’s sweeter still cos of what we had to endure.

03-10-2024, 07:10 AM
So do I and it still fits. Superb top

The top was Fantastic. Found it strange we had black numbers on it though. Didn't look as good as white.

03-10-2024, 07:16 AM
I was 9 and wasn't at the semi final against rangers. Were we in any way fancied for that game?

Rangers were in the midst of their 9 in a row spending years and we were just emerging from a desperate financial situation. And yet, in the league we managed a few wins against Rangers around that time. Far better than our recent run against them that's for sure.

Did anyone go to that semi final expecting to win?

03-10-2024, 07:34 AM
I was 9 and wasn't at the semi final against rangers. Were we in any way fancied for that game?

Rangers were in the midst of their 9 in a row spending years and we were just emerging from a desperate financial situation. And yet, in the league we managed a few wins against Rangers around that time. Far better than our recent run against them that's for sure.

Did anyone go to that semi final expecting to win?
Always fancied us against the Uglies in a one off Cup tie at that time but as others have said we were up against one of the strongest Rangers teams full of England internationals with Andy Goram playing against us for the first time

Yes we would probably need the rub of the green but with Gough missing we had a chance

I remember when Wright scored his header the Stadium initially fell silent everyone looked at the Ref who looked at his linesman who had started running towards the halfway line he then signalled for a goal and we went radge

There were two Huns on the line that we could see from a distance so a goal all day long

Rangers turned up the heat second half but thanks to Budgie we held on

03-10-2024, 07:44 AM
I remember it like it was yesterday.

I was four months old and had maybe learned to sit up by then.

03-10-2024, 07:49 AM
Remember standing on the terracing in euphoric disbelief at what I’d just witnessed. Incredible feeling.

its why we follow and love the Hibees. I remember my dafty Gers fan mate asking why I support Hibs. That’s why. you follow your team through thick and thin in hope more than expectation.

Richibee
03-10-2024, 08:12 AM
A couple of mates and me were in the Dunfermline end at Hampden. Arrived late after a long "lunch" at Chapelhall, joined a huge queue and turnstiles closed just as we reached them. Glasgow polis said the Dunfermline end was still open so ran round there with scarves under our jackets. Managed to get in before the stewards there realised what was happening and closed these turnstiles too.

hibs69
03-10-2024, 08:54 AM
Few memories of that cup run; bought a “lucky” scarf @ McDairmid Pk for the tie v Stirling Albion.
Had the Mother in laws Austin Maestro which broke down on the way back from Ayr. (The lucky Scarf on!)
Budgie in that Semi Final ?? He was stopping everything! Got into that semi final and up there stairs just as Nisbet piledrived a shot over the bar.
The bus to Hampden for the final was rocking as no doubt everyone’s bus was. Great year. Especially after that HOH campaign.

03-10-2024, 09:15 AM

IIRC he actually chested the ball outside the box and the ref gave the pen. In extra time too. Even better.

03-10-2024, 09:21 AM
Loved the semi final. We were in a group who didn't get into the Final as the turnstiles closed every time we got to the front of the queue.

We were still trying to get into the Dunfermline end at half time with thousands of Hibbies. Ended up watching it in Queens Park bowling club :rolleyes:

Same thing happened to most of our bus, turnstiles closing like falling dominoes until all closed. I ended up in some Rangers boozer with pics of King Billy on the walls. Missed the entire first half.

03-10-2024, 09:31 AM
I was on a mountain top on West Falkland. I'd managed to keep from finding out the score until I got a video copy of the game sent to me a few weeks later from my old man.

He's here!
03-10-2024, 09:54 AM
Always fancied us against the Uglies in a one off Cup tie at that time but as others have said we were up against one of the strongest Rangers teams full of England internationals with Andy Goram playing against us for the first time

Yes we would probably need the rub of the green but with Gough missing we had a chance

I remember when Wright scored his header the Stadium initially fell silent everyone looked at the Ref who looked at his linesman who had started running towards the halfway line he then signalled for a goal and we went radge

There were two Huns on the line that we could see from a distance so a goal all day long

Rangers turned up the heat second half but thanks to Budgie we held on

It was very rare to see Andy Goram make an error but he messed up for the goal as he seemed to have no idea that Wright was behind him waiting for Weir's cross. He was very slow to get back.

On the subject of keepers it's interesting that we never won anything with Rough, Goram and Leighton in goals, while the three most recent cups we did win featured keepers you wouldn't regard as on a par with those three. Budgie, McNeil and the Polar Bear.

03-10-2024, 10:00 AM
It was very rare to see Andy Goram make an error but he messed up for the goal as he seemed to have no idea that Wright was behind him waiting for Weir's cross. He was very slow to get back.

On the subject of keepers it's interesting that we never won anything with Rough, Goram and Leighton in goals, while the three most recent cups we did win featured keepers you wouldn't regard as on a par with those three. Budgie, McNeil and the Polar Bear.
Nowadays VAR would give a free kick to Rangers for McGraw’s foul on the goalkeeper after being flattened by The Goalie

Perfect pick out by Wee Mickey

I remember thinking at the time you are not allowed to score against Rangers at Hampden hence the delay in celebrating

Great night

03-10-2024, 10:28 AM

I remember speaking to Andy Rhodes (Dunfermline keeper) a few years after the final. He was saying Hibs were just too good that day. I agreed 😁

Donegal Hibby
03-10-2024, 10:42 AM
The semi final there was so many good performances throughout that Hibs team , really left everything on the pitch that night .

I’m still surprised even now how quickly Budgie reacted to Johnson’s shot coming of the bar , did give me one massive fright when he dropped the ball near him though 😂…

Got a bit of luck at times though our performance throughly deserved it ….

https://youtu.be/Os2DV7LT_xw?si=gMCDh6gPONBXXDWh

03-10-2024, 11:42 AM
Went to every game of that great run. My superstition was nae socks. Feet were a wee bit cold by the time of the final. Couple of great midweek trips to Ayrshire. Our bus got broken into during the hun semi and i had a bag that got stolen and my pride and joy Ciao jacket was nicked. *******s.

03-10-2024, 11:50 AM
Same thing happened to most of our bus, turnstiles closing like falling dominoes until all closed. I ended up in some Rangers boozer with pics of King Billy on the walls. Missed the entire first half.

The most annoying thing was we weren't late in arriving. We started queuing about 35 mins before the start of the game. Just chose the wrong queues to stand in. Mental the game was pay at the gate.

03-10-2024, 12:05 PM
Indeed. We would almost certainly have lost to them.

Yep, a couple of years later they beat us 2-0, that might of been the Scottish Cup though. I seem to vaguely remember them knocking Hearts out as well.

03-10-2024, 12:17 PM
Yep, a couple of years later they beat us 2-0, that might of been the Scottish Cup though. I seem to vaguely remember them knocking Hearts out as well.

It was the same season. Beat Hibs in Quarter Final and Hearts in Semi Final. Lost to the Huns in the Final.

He's here!
03-10-2024, 12:26 PM
It was the same season. Beat Hibs in Quarter Final and Hearts in Semi Final. Lost to the Huns in the Final.

Tommy McIntyre missed a pen to put us 1-0 up and that knocked the stuffing out of us. Think we'd stormed through the first couple of rounds quite impressively and we were starting to dream of winning both cups. I forgave Airdrie a bit after they knocked Hearts out too.

It was the Alex Macdonald thing with that Airdrie team. He had our number as Hearts boss too.

darwenhibby
03-10-2024, 12:39 PM
3 of us went by car when one of the passengers claimed he started life as a Dunfermline supporter before he started glory hunting the Tornadoes.
For the final we ran a 44 seater bus from Lancashire
All of us got in somehow
As a recall it was one of the many successful trips I organised for Lancashire Hibees

03-10-2024, 12:45 PM
Was he not centre half

I think the great Norrie McCathie was their centre half but I've been wrong before!

03-10-2024, 01:07 PM
I think the great Norrie McCathie was their centre half but I've been wrong before!

McCathie and Moyes were the CBs, Tommy Wilson was RB.

Also playing for Dunfermline that day were Andy Rhodes (father of Jordan Rhodes) and Billy Davies. Ian McColl came on as a sub.

He's here!
03-10-2024, 01:42 PM
IIRC he actually chested the ball outside the box and the ref gave the pen. In extra time too. Even better.

That's correct. One of the worst refereeing decisions I've ever seen. As others have said Airdrie would have been a very different prospect to Dunfermline in the final so there was perhaps some help from above in ensuring we won the cup that year and completed the fairytale rise from the ashes.

03-10-2024, 01:43 PM
3 of us went by car when one of the passengers claimed he started life as a Dunfermline supporter before he started glory hunting the Tornadoes.
For the final we ran a 44 seater bus from Lancashire
All of us got in somehow
As a recall it was one of the many successful trips I organised for Lancashire Hibees

Duane you crack me up, i think old Alec is still standing at the side of the motorway now after one of your successful trips. :greengrin

He's here!
03-10-2024, 02:03 PM
The top was Fantastic. Found it strange we had black numbers on it though. Didn't look as good as white.

I've always liked the keeper's kit Budgie wore in the semi-final. Might be wrong but I don't think he wore actual Hibs gear, had a preference for customising his own kit.

03-10-2024, 03:23 PM
The semi final there was so many good performances throughout that Hibs team , really left everything on the pitch that night .

I’m still surprised even now how quickly Budgie reacted to Johnson’s shot coming of the bar , did give me one massive fright when he dropped the ball near him though 😂…

Got a bit of luck at times though our performance throughly deserved it ….

https://youtu.be/Os2DV7LT_xw?si=gMCDh6gPONBXXDWh

Watched it in the Holyrood Tavern on Wells Street (off Oxford Street) with a group of London Hibbies. Can't remember much now to be honest as someone (possibly the sadly missed Brian Rogan) ordered champagne at full time. Still can't believe Goram wasn't sent off for his assault on McGraw.

03-10-2024, 03:44 PM
Didn't we play Stirling Albion in Perth?

03-10-2024, 03:46 PM
Didn't we play Stirling Albion in Perth?

We did.

03-10-2024, 03:50 PM
I was at every round. My family ran a bus from Porty Town Hall. Through to Hampden in plenty time thankfully and I think it was Ł5 at the turnstile!

Brilliant atmosphere on the bus on the way back. A particular highlight was a curtain twitcher at the Ace of Hearts club at Haymarket getting pelters. Party at ER which continued in Robbie’s Bar. Had a day’s leave next day and bought every paper available from the newsagent on Lorne St opposite my flat at the time. Hunted down every Jambo at work on the Tuesday. Happy days!

hibstag
04-10-2024, 06:04 AM

I have one too gutted that it's a 40/42 so only fits a former version of myself

hibstag
04-10-2024, 06:10 AM
I've always liked the keeper's kit Budgie wore in the semi-final. Might be wrong but I don't think he wore actual Hibs gear, had a preference for customising his own kit.
Think he had a deal with uhisport loads of photos of him in made up 'hibs' tops with sponsor and badge but not official kit

04-10-2024, 10:16 AM

Yes he always picked his own tops to the annoyance of Alex Miller
He spoke about it in his book ( Budgie) which is a great read.

04-10-2024, 10:36 AM
Think he had a deal with uhisport loads of photos of him in made up 'hibs' tops with sponsor and badge but not official kit

Budgie ran a sports shop and had all sorts of deals with different suppliers. You never knew from one game to the next what he would be wearing. Not something that would ever happen in the modern game. There was only one Budgie though 🙌

04-10-2024, 11:00 AM
The most annoying thing was we weren't late in arriving. We started queuing about 35 mins before the start of the game. Just chose the wrong queues to stand in. Mental the game was pay at the gate.

I remember a report at the time said it wasn’t a ticket match because Mercer who was on the League Management Committee at the time insisted
Hibs would bring no more than 12,000 fans and th the ground would be only half full.

04-10-2024, 11:16 AM
I remember a report at the time said it wasn’t a ticket match because Mercer who was on the League Management Committee at the time insisted
Hibs would bring no more than 12,000 fans and th the ground would be only half full.

That’ll be the second time he underestimated the strength of the Hibs support then :greengrin

04-10-2024, 12:15 PM

What a spiteful little man he was. Couldn't accept he'd taken a good beating from us the year before.

Just think, his Big Team had only gone 29 years without the Wee Cup at that point.

04-10-2024, 12:20 PM
What a spiteful little man he was. Couldn't accept he'd taken a good beating from us the year before.

Just think, his Big Team had only gone 29 years without the Wee Cup at that point.

I'm sure he's looking up with pride at them now with all those league cup wins

He's here!
04-10-2024, 12:20 PM

I remember this being discussed on here before. I'm all but certain I had a ticket for this game. If so, it'll be buried in a box of programmes somewhere, but perhaps there were cash and ticket gates? Whatever the arrangements, things were badly messed up when you consider there would have been space in the ground to accommodate everyone had they made it all-ticket.

We took at least the same number, if not more, to the dismal final v Livi in 2004. I'm guessing that must have been all ticket bearing in mind Hampden was all-seated by then.

linlithgowhibbie
04-10-2024, 02:28 PM
I remember this being discussed on here before. I'm all but certain I had a ticket for this game. If so, it'll be buried in a box of programmes somewhere, but perhaps there were cash and ticket gates? Whatever the arrangements, things were badly messed up when you consider there would have been space in the ground to accommodate everyone had they made it all-ticket.

We took at least the same number, if not more, to the dismal final v Livi in 2004. I'm guessing that must have been all ticket bearing in mind Hampden was all-seated by then.

I think the family area in the East terrace was all ticket. I'm sure I had to buy 2 adult and 3 juvs for the game, we got in no problems.

Skol
04-10-2024, 03:52 PM
I was in the north terracing and it was definitely PATG. Bus was late, dropped us off behind the Celtic end and went to park somewhere. No one thought to ask where.

We got in just before the gates closed. Some on our bus didnt and ended up in the Pars end

Bus home was carnage when we found it, having lost some of the people who travelled with us, but taking on others who had lost their bus. That was some day, albeit I think the semi final was better

04-10-2024, 04:34 PM

Spoke to very worried Senior Policeman whilst in the queue for the North Terracing who said they had planned for 15000 tops he asked how many were behind us coming up the road we told him twice as many that were waiting in the queues.His response will not get past the swear filter.There was only tickets for the main stand and a family section the rest was PATG.

04-10-2024, 05:17 PM

The Derby match this month will be on the 62nd anniversary to the day that they last won the league cup.

babahibs
04-10-2024, 06:06 PM
I was at every round with my dad, went on the train with him to the final and arrived at the east turnstiles with pretty big queues, i got in and the door closed behind me, locking my dad out.
Bumped into him later that night during the celebrations down Leith Walk, possibly in The Windsor, he'd managed to get in the pars end.
Was some night.

07-10-2024, 03:48 PM

Thanks for that. Although this is around the time I started watching football, it is very very strange watching the goalkeepers pick up back passes after so long watching football with the pass back rule in place.

He's here!
07-10-2024, 04:03 PM
I was at every round with my dad, went on the train with him to the final and arrived at the east turnstiles with pretty big queues, i got in and the door closed behind me, locking my dad out.
Bumped into him later that night during the celebrations down Leith Walk, possibly in The Windsor, he'd managed to get in the pars end.
Was some night.

The kind of story which must seem hard to imagine for those who didn't live in the pre-mobile generation!

speedy_gonzales
07-10-2024, 04:29 PM
The Derby match this month will be on the 62nd anniversary to the day that they last won the league cup.

Some stat.
Six two has a familiar ring about it as well 🤔

07-10-2024, 04:47 PM
Some stat.
Six two has a familiar ring about it as well 🤔

Happy Birthday six two

07-10-2024, 04:54 PM

I definitely paid at the gate and had to walk round to the north as teh East was already starting to stop people getting in. We all managed to get in and were lucky

pollution
07-10-2024, 06:12 PM
I definitely paid at the gate and had to walk round to the north as teh East was already starting to stop people getting in. We all managed to get in and were lucky

Was it not ticket only for the Hibs and Dunfermline end, with pay at the gate elsewhere ? This is what caught out the police, number wise perhaps.

We were in the north terracing and I was amazed at the number of Celtic scarves in and around me, with strong Glasgow voices to boot.

After all , the attendance was below capacity at that time 39000 (?).

07-10-2024, 06:15 PM

Definitely pay at the gate, I was in the East. I only paid off my ship the day before so had no chance to buy a ticket.

08-10-2024, 11:37 AM
That was the first game my son went with me to watch Hibs, and the last game i went to with my dad.

08-10-2024, 12:34 PM
Was it not ticket only for the Hibs and Dunfermline end, with pay at the gate elsewhere ? This is what caught out the police, number wise perhaps.

We were in the north terracing and I was amazed at the number of Celtic scarves in and around me, with strong Glasgow voices to boot.

After all , the attendance was below capacity at that time 39000 (?).
How could you tell they were Celtic scarves?

Logie Green
08-10-2024, 03:10 PM
How could you tell they were Celtic scarves?

They were green and grey.

08-10-2024, 04:19 PM
??

08-10-2024, 05:16 PM

The grey would be from their necks, definetley Celtic fans, it's a dead giveaway. :wink:

08-10-2024, 05:35 PM
The grey would be from their necks, definetley Celtic fans, it's a dead giveaway. :wink:

I thought brass was kind of a goldish colour?

08-10-2024, 05:53 PM
🤣
A lot of scarves were the same. Wouldn't have thought that Celtic fans would have been at the game against the Pars in 1991.

08-10-2024, 06:06 PM
I was in the old North Enclosure. I think it was the last gate to shut. Was very crowded and there were much more in than should have been. Police and stewards struggled to try and keep passage ways clear.

08-10-2024, 07:21 PM
Great day out, must have been over 40,000 Hibees at the game and many more locked out.

zitelli62
08-10-2024, 08:46 PM
I remember the old days of cup finals don't think we will see any anytime soon still got the memories.