View Full Version : Neds on public transport

stuart-farquhar
28-09-2024, 10:54 AM
Wee neds on the tram. Swearing, screeching and slapping each other. Apparently they chase each other and make up dares. Travel 4 stops in the luggage space and tell a random passenger to F off. The ticket people clearly have no authority or training to stop or even challenge this behaviour.
Kids from out of town too, simply refusing to show passes. They know nothing will be done.

28-09-2024, 02:15 PM
Wee neds on the tram. Swearing, screeching and slapping each other. Apparently they chase each other and make up dares. Travel 4 stops in the luggage space and tell a random passenger to F off. The ticket people clearly have no authority or training to stop or even challenge this behaviour.
Kids from out of town too, simply refusing to show passes. They know nothing will be done.

Had similar on a bus here a few years back, ended up with them covering the upstairs front window in spit. When I was getting off I grabbed one of them by the ear and dragged him down to the bus driver, after I explained to the bus driver what was going on, he grabbed the other ear and dragged him back up stairs where I saw him and his chums cleaning the window with their sleeves. I'll probably end up getting stabbed one day but I just can't let things like that go.

28-09-2024, 02:40 PM
A while back I was walking to Asda at the Jewel and there was a couple of girls, maybe about 11-12, picking up litter on the path. It's a disgrace the state it is in so good on them. When I was coming back there was a group of lads, a bit older at 13-14, surrounding them and getting right in their face. I wasn't letting it go so told them to beat it in slightly stronger terms, got a bit of grief back but they went on their way. A few nights later I heard something thump on my bedroom window about 11pm, looked out and it's 2 of our young heroes lobbing eggs at my house. They got quite the shock when I came flying through the bedroom window and chased them half way across the Fort Kinnaird car park. I undoubtedly looked ridiculous but it done the job.

The wee bams are just feral. It's all the same guys I see riding bikes or moped in balaclavas, doing wheelies up the wrong side of the road or digging up the football pitches bairns play on. I'm all about giving people second and third chances and I get that some of these kids don't have a great example at home. The fact a couple of boys just in their teens are out unsupervised vandalising someone's house at 11pm lends some weight to that. They need to want that second chance though and too many of these types are just wee bullies. Intimidating young girls doing a nice thing, intimidating other passengers and staff on public transport, spitting on windows etc etc. I think part of it is bad role models on social media. Guys like the Paul brothers have made acting like a dick 'cool', you have that Speed character acting all boorish whilst throwing out misogyny and rape threats and then you get to the really sinister stuff from the Tate inadequates. Add to that there is no real fear of repercussion. No one wants an authoritarian approach but we seem to have gone too far into pat on the head and penny from the poor box territory.

He's here!
28-09-2024, 06:02 PM

I don't know what kind of training is given but I was on the top floor of a bus heading up to Buckstone a couple of weeks back and you could see a group of boys on the bus in front vandalising the seats at the back of the top floor. At the next stop our driver got off and joined the driver of the bus in front to eject them. Presumably they were in radio contact.

What are the expectation levels for bus/train/tram staff when it comes to dealing with bother? Presumably if you're likely to put yourself in physical danger dealing with it you call the police.

28-09-2024, 06:12 PM
I don't know what kind of training is given but I was on the top floor of a bus heading up to Buckstone a couple of weeks back and you could see a group of boys on the bus in front vandalising the seats at the back of the top floor. At the next stop our driver got off and joined the driver of the bus in front to eject them. Presumably they were in radio contact.

What are the expectation levels for bus/train/tram staff when it comes to dealing with bother? Presumably if you're likely to put yourself in physical danger dealing with it you call the police.

When I worked in hospitality the rule was that you should never put yourself in any physical danger. If it kicked off or someone was acting aggressively escalate it and the senior staff member would make the call on what to do. When I ended up as a manager and often the duty manager then the guidelines were to call the police if there was violence or even the implied threat of violence. Wading in yourself was discouraged.

We wouldn't touch 18th birthdays with a barge pole and would only take 21st if the guests paid for security. We had one incident at a 21st were a guy chucked a beer bottle through a conservatory window showering a group of staff in broken glass. He was lifted, charged, pleaded guilty and had a list of previous convictions as long as your arm. Got off with a fine. He stabbed someone about 6 weeks after the sentencing.......

I would hope there is no expectations that bus drivers and the like should be putting themselves in the firing line in these situations.

28-09-2024, 06:14 PM
Funniest thing ever a few years ago, guy on top deck asks teenager to put headphones in or turn the volume down on the music playing through his phone. Teenager tells guy to **** off and asks “what you gonna do about it like”. The guy grabs the phone out of his hand and throws it out of the top deck window and replies “that” 😂
The teenager jumped up to have a go but backed down when the guy told him “come on then just ****** try it”. He left the bus smartish whilst most of the top deck applauded.

28-09-2024, 06:17 PM
Had a go at some parents today. Only realised I was doing it after it came out of my mouth, and think that there were enough people around me also being appalled stopped me getting aggro.

Went for a jog in the park today, and seen a youngster trying to kick the ducks - and quite hard at that. The mother found it funny.

What chance does that child have knowing right from wrong going forward in life?

28-09-2024, 07:38 PM
Depressing thread.

28-09-2024, 07:55 PM
Funniest thing ever a few years ago, guy on top deck asks teenager to put headphones in or turn the volume down on the music playing through his phone. Teenager tells guy to **** off and asks “what you gonna do about it like”. The guy grabs the phone out of his hand and throws it out of the top deck window and replies “that” 😂
The teenager jumped up to have a go but backed down when the guy told him “come on then just ****** try it”. He left the bus smartish whilst most of the top deck applauded.

We were on the bus home after a night out. Bunch teenagers get on and start giving it large to everyone on the bus (bus was full). No one says anything until they start threatening couple of old women. Guy tells them to stop, enough is enough and he is given the "what you gonna do about it". The arguing and language reach boiling point when one of the teens smack the guy. Next thing they all pile into him. Guy didn't know what to do and neither did anyone else. Bus driver had to stop the bus and say police were coming. Teenagers got off and were laughing at everyone. Guy was ok, bit of blood but in total shock.
So, what would you have done in this situation? You think you know but here is the thing. The group of teenagers were girls. Now, would have been a totally different outcome had they been a bunch of guys.

29-09-2024, 06:43 AM
Some folk shouldn't be parents is what eternally springs to mind. It's been like that for decades though. Only times I've ever been punched in my life were on the bus for the crime of wearing my school uniform, and they wasn't yesterday or even, sadly, the day before yesterday.

29-09-2024, 07:56 AM
Greg McHugh told a good story : He was on a #11 upstairs heading towards Buckstone travelling along Princes Street

There was a lot of youths up the back making a nuisance of themselves being a pest annoying passengers

Next bus stop this guy gets on built like a sh#t brick house short military hair cut dressed in denim wearing bovver boots and sits near to him up the front

Bus moves off and it all kicks off again

The guy stands up all 6’4” of him shouts ‘ Hey!’ and in quiet almost camp but menacing voice adds

‘ You think you’re hard but you’re no ‘

All the way up to Buckstone not a peep from the crew up the back

Greg McHugh thought to himself ‘ Wow ! How cool was that ?’

Gary Tank Commander was born

BS44
29-09-2024, 08:19 AM

Lothian drivers are advised to stay in the cab if there's bother on the bus, hit the distress button and then let control decide how to deal with any problems on the vehicle.

Why risk getting a sore face or worse over a few vandalised seats

30-09-2024, 09:05 AM
Had a go at some parents today. Only realised I was doing it after it came out of my mouth, and think that there were enough people around me also being appalled stopped me getting aggro.

Went for a jog in the park today, and seen a youngster trying to kick the ducks - and quite hard at that. The mother found it funny.

What chance does that child have knowing right from wrong going forward in life?

Not on the same level but there was a really annoying family in the hotel in Turkey I've been in the last two weeks. Grandparents, parents and kids. The kids had scooters with them and these would be with them at all times, including meal times where they would be whizzing about on the scooters, banging into people in and around the buffet. Folk carrying plates of food, hot drinks, etc. having to dodge the kids. Parents not only didn't stop them, they found it funny. I was secretly wishing someone would actually spill coffee on them to teach them a lesson.

The worst was at the evening entertainment, though. Same thing, whizzing around on their scooters, blocking people's view and actually going onto the performance area, getting in the way of dancers, etc. Quite a few times, the hotel entertainment staff had to drag the kids off the stage or catch them as they tried to get on. I looked at the parents and grandparents and they were pissing themselves at it all. There were a couple of shows involving fire and they didn't seem concerned at one of their kids casually scooting onto the stage with that either. Again, found it funny.

30-09-2024, 09:13 AM
Not on the same level but there was a really annoying family in the hotel in Turkey I've been in the last two weeks. Grandparents, parents and kids. The kids had scooters with them and these would be with them at all times, including meal times where they would be whizzing about on the scooters, banging into people in and around the buffet. Folk carrying plates of food, hot drinks, etc. having to dodge the kids. Parents not only didn't stop them, they found it funny. I was secretly wishing someone would actually spill coffee on them to teach them a lesson.

The worst was at the evening entertainment, though. Same thing, whizzing around on their scooters, blocking people's view and actually going onto the performance area, getting in the way of dancers, etc. Quite a few times, the hotel entertainment staff had to drag the kids off the stage or catch them as they tried to get on. I looked at the parents and grandparents and they were pissing themselves at it all. There were a couple of shows involving fire and they didn't seem concerned at one of their kids casually scooting onto the stage with that either. Again, found it funny.
I think I would explode if I was there.

30-09-2024, 09:31 AM

I'm blaming the hotel here. Family should have been told no scooters in the restaurant unless for medical reasons.

30-09-2024, 09:43 AM
I'm blaming the hotel here. Family should have been told no scooters in the restaurant unless for medical reasons.

Totally. However, some parental responsibility would be good too. I'm not too sure the hotel telling the family would have done much, short of throwing them out. The entertainment staff did look like spoke to the family (and added a "please keep children away from the stage" message at the start) to no effect.

No idea why it wasn't escalated, mind you. One of the security guards looked the sort you wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of.

30-09-2024, 10:01 AM

Been on holiday in Turkey a few times and have had the same issue with mostly non European families

It seems to be a cultural thing as Asian families seem to give their children a free rein to do as they please especially the boys - they never check them

My kids would not say boo to a goose and one look from me or the Mrs would be enough

One guy in my company this year- has a short fuse at the best of times - totally lost it as young children were whizzing up and down making a riot in the Cocktail Lounge when they should have been long in their beds