View Full Version : Positives from the saints game

Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 04:10 PM
I thought Boyle looked more like himself today and Hoilett looks like a quality player. A clean sheet today also very pleasing…:greengrin

McSwanky
14-09-2024, 04:11 PM
Hearts are *****

Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk

14-09-2024, 04:11 PM
Hoilett looks class

14-09-2024, 04:12 PM
It's only Levein's st Johnstone but I thought that midfield looked much better going forward.

Hoilet is quality.

14-09-2024, 04:13 PM
Loads. Dominated the game, Ekpiteta was very good I thought, covered his mistakes really well after giving the ball away.

Second half in particular was excellent.

Really pleased with that performance.

14-09-2024, 04:13 PM
I thought Campbell also made a positive impact when he came on. Triabtis and Kwon asserted themselves far more in the 2nd half.

And a clean sheet.

14-09-2024, 04:16 PM
Ekpiteta and O’Hora looked solid, big Marv especially.

Triantis and Kwon good again

Myk scoring again

Boyle looked sharp and took his goal brilliantly

Hoilet looks like he has real quality and is a class act

A win and clean sheet was so important

14-09-2024, 04:17 PM
It was entertaining , we were getting forward . Didn't concede any late goals . Hoilett looks a player . Kwon was excellent , some of his passing was sublime . Boyle looks like he's hitting something near his top form . Triantis did well

andrew_dundee
14-09-2024, 04:19 PM
Nobody played badly. A few mistakes but if none of them made mistakes they would be playing for better teams than Hibs! Some solid recoveries too.

Well earned clean sheet with quite a few scoring opportunities in the second half in particular.

Good subs that made a positive impact.

Decent forward options that will get better with fitness etc.

14-09-2024, 04:30 PM
3 points
Clean sheet
Solid enough at the back and middle two
Youan back
Hoilett minutes in the legs

K-Zazu
14-09-2024, 04:30 PM
Hoilett 👌

14-09-2024, 04:33 PM
Decent 2nd half.
Clean sheet.
Hoilett.
Lewis Miller will be fit enough to start next game.

14-09-2024, 05:12 PM
It's only Levein's st Johnstone but I thought that midfield looked much better going forward.

Hoilet is quality.

Agreed. St J are nothing to write home about but we won, kept a clean sheet and looked decent in the second half.

The midfield has improved, which is one thing we all wanted.

Onwards and (hopefully) upwards

14-09-2024, 05:13 PM
3 points
Clean sheet
Hearts rock bottom
Last

14-09-2024, 05:17 PM
- Hoilett looks different gravy. Just so good on the ball

- Think Kwon and Triantis are building a great relationship in the middle. Both played well.

- Marv looks like he's finally settling. A few wee scary moments, but he looks a good defender.

- Clean sheet without ever really being troubled.

- Strength coming on from the bench.

Not really much to criticise. Other than a pretty boring first 45…

Hibees1973
14-09-2024, 05:21 PM
I left ER today with a bit more optimism than I had when I arrived. Even at half time.

3 points.

Well done David Gray & Hibs.

Franck Le God
14-09-2024, 05:26 PM
Loads of positives for me. Not prefect, but another step in the right direction. I think we’re looking stronger each game at the moment.

14-09-2024, 05:34 PM
Hoilet is going to be a great addition for us this season. Once Gayle gets fit we are going to have a really experienced and streetwise front line. The two CDM's were really effective. I thought we might miss Newell today but we didn't and Rudi and then Campbell were fine. St Johnstone are pretty poor but a wins a win and we kept a clean sheet so all good.

Mikey_1875
14-09-2024, 05:41 PM
Having some decent options off the bench.

14-09-2024, 05:42 PM
The first half was dire, absolutely dire.

Second half was much better, I think Triantis or Kwon would have been my MOM. We could and possibly should have score more but we won and that's the main thing. We would have been third in the league if it wasn't for those two injury time equalisers from Dundee and Killie.

We will definitely get better

14-09-2024, 05:45 PM
Hoilet was the biggest positive outwith the clean sheet and 3 points. He is a wide man that doesn't waste the ball too much, actually knows where to position himself with our without the ball and on that showing can play both sides and with great quality.

Taking it away from individuals, for the first time in a long time I thought we had some parterships and understanding forming. Marv and O'Hora looked to have worked out how to complement each other and Triantis and Kwon looked solid and fairly positive too.

Lastly I thought we managed the game really well after going 2 up. That isn't always the case but we played sensibly and still created far more than Saints. For all the first half was very poor we kept it tight and then got a goal. Not often we win ugly so doing that bodes well.

I really hope Elie would storm it today given all he has been through. He was terrible though and looked like his mind was elsewhere. Even that though could be viewed as a positive because he is back and we now have Cadden2 and Hoilet who can not only play wide but also don't leave us wide open down our flanks. Having two wingers who do very little off the ball on teh park at the same time is a dangerous game. We now don't need to do that and also have our 2 DMs covering over. That should allow a style and formation to develop and for us to bring subs on without greatly diminishing the team

Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 05:53 PM
Wee mention for Rudi in all . I thought he worked his socks off today . It’s hard to believe he’s only 18 , only going to improve with more game time …. Great prospect .

Paul1642
14-09-2024, 06:01 PM
Wee mention for Rudi in all . I thought he worked his socks off today . It’s hard to believe he’s only 18 , only going to improve with more game time …. Great prospect .

Rudi is as good as any new signing and who knows how good he can become.

The first half wasn’t great but I think the international break has done us good (minus Bowie’s injury) and another two weeks between games, with the added confidence from a good win, should be a good opportunity for things to click further.

Rangers away is never an easy game but they aren’t in great shape at the moment and have a tough European away game a couple of days before. Would be a wonderful point or even 3 to take.

14-09-2024, 06:03 PM
Positives? Jeez

70KevinHFC62
14-09-2024, 06:06 PM
Kwon is a baller is what I noticed most today… the amount of times he controlled the game by directing the player on the ball.

14-09-2024, 06:09 PM
I dont think in a year of Sundays any Hibs fan could find anything negative about today.
Why ask for positives?

lugz
14-09-2024, 06:10 PM
Biggest positive going forward is we should have a settled side for me the only positions up for grabs are miller/cadden and left wing. Rudi should be 10 for us but with the rest needed.

Corstorphine Hibby
14-09-2024, 06:13 PM
Kwon is a baller is what I noticed most today… the amount of times he controlled the game by directing the player on the ball.

👍

14-09-2024, 06:15 PM
We won, not been able to say that for a while. :thumbsup:

14-09-2024, 06:22 PM
We won. Myko got another goal. We kept a clean sheet. The subs Gray made were good, which he deserves praise for after his subs the last time we played at Easter Road.

14-09-2024, 06:24 PM
Kwon
Triantis
Hoilett
Rudi
Myko

Nicky Cadden looks as though he could be a useful addition given time
Good to see Boyle back approaching his best coming off the bench

leith lynx
14-09-2024, 06:32 PM
3 points and Hoillett is a player, the type of player worth paying to watch.Hopefully better times ahead.

kentao
14-09-2024, 06:55 PM
Watching the team in the second half playing with a bit of swagger and confidence that has been missing for a long time was great to see.

The guys coming on from the bench didn't hinder us and gave us great options to change the game.

Really looking forward to this team clicking and giving someone a scudding around the 27th October :)

14-09-2024, 06:57 PM
Myko much fitter.

Able to give Youan 45 minutes to help his fitness without weakening the team and then going on to win easily.

Murphys Touch
14-09-2024, 07:04 PM
First half was rank rotten - boring, no urgency and a bit clueless

Turned it round 2nd half and won at a canter. Won’t be long before Levein put out to pasture and his brand of football ****s off forever

14-09-2024, 07:06 PM
First half was rank rotten - boring, no urgency and a bit clueless

Turned it round 2nd half and won at a canter. Won’t be long before Levein put out to pasture and his brand of football ****s off forever

Nah he'll be back at hearts when they sack nae badges

14-09-2024, 07:15 PM
The 1st half was dreadful, it looked like 2 really poor teams with very limited ability, but in the 2nd half Hibs were much better and was really pleased to see that too. Hoilet looks quite useful too.

14-09-2024, 07:15 PM
The biggest positive for me was that I don’t own one of those early 1990’s oversized/ill fitting elasticated bottomed shell suits that Craig Levein had on.

Where do you even get those now?

14-09-2024, 07:16 PM
Only three points off third.

raeburnhibs
14-09-2024, 07:21 PM
Kwon
Triantis
Hoilett
Rudi
Myko

Nicky Cadden looks as though he could be a useful addition given time
Good to see Boyle back approaching his best coming off the bench

Nicky Cadden looks like he needs to lose about 10 kilos

Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 11:23 PM
Another big positive against St Johnstone was our bench for me as in the past I didn’t really see many good options that could have a positive effect on a game for us …

I thought Boyle , Hoilett and Campbell did that , McKirdy looked lively and it was good to see Miller back .

15-09-2024, 12:43 AM
Hoilett and Boyle look really dangerous. Made a massive difference to our attacking play.

Solid in defence.

Criswell
15-09-2024, 12:59 AM
Firstly, relieved to get the win. St Johnstone have proved to be a team that has caused us pain in the past, so, thankfully, we did not have to go through a Levein "loving it " smirkfest.

Yes, a poor first half. The team played the second half with much more energy and aggression and ran out comfortable winners. Credit must be then given to David Gray for this improvement. The performance in the first half was unacceptable and he did something about it. Good managers have to be able to this.

Hedlund12
15-09-2024, 08:31 AM
Firstly, relieved to get the win. St Johnstone have proved to be a team that has caused us pain in the past, so, thankfully, we did not have to go through a Levein "loving it " smirkfest.

Yes, a poor first half. The team played the second half with much more energy and aggression and ran out comfortable winners. Credit must be then given to David Gray for this improvement. The performance in the first half was unacceptable and he did something about it. Good managers have to be able to this.

One other positive for me was the rendition of "Cheer up Craig Levein..." 😉 Beautifully sung from 3 stands. To quote the fat jambo B@$t@rD himself.." I LOVE IT!

15-09-2024, 08:58 AM
One other positive for me was the rendition of "Cheer up Craig Levein..." 😉 Beautifully sung from 3 stands. To quote the fat jambo B@$t@rD himself.." I LOVE IT!

Was slightly disappointed there wasn't the Tony Mowbray chant also as a cameo. Love it :greengrin

WestStandWillie
15-09-2024, 10:39 AM
Thought the midfield had a solid game.

O’Hora was very vocal and wasn’t afraid to shout at his team mates when required. Good captain material that.

15-09-2024, 10:52 AM
Nicky Cadden looks like he needs to lose about 10 kilos

That was why I said given time

Looks rusty but knows the time of day takes a decent free kick

15-09-2024, 10:53 AM
Hoilett and Boyle look really dangerous. Made a massive difference to our attacking play.

Solid in defence.

They should both start next time.

jws1875
15-09-2024, 11:00 AM

He can see the space before it becomes available! Injury free he'll be the key to us upping the tempo and playing good football.

davemcbain
15-09-2024, 11:27 AM
So, neck firmly on the line, I thought McKirdy looked like a footballer. Did really well. Hope his injury woes are behind him.

15-09-2024, 11:28 AM
Cliche alert - game of two halves. First half was awful viewing, so ponderous on the ball, no creativity other than Rudi on a couple of occasions. We looked far better with Boyle and Hoilett either side although N Cadden had a good start to the second half. I thought we missed Joe in the middle of the park, midfield didn’t look as strong without him. I think Miller, Newell, Hoilett and Boyle come into that starting XI when all fit. I suspect Youan(on current form)/Cadden/Rudi will offer great options from the bench when all up to speed.

Cabbage-Patch
15-09-2024, 11:30 AM
Positives for me in no particular order

Clean sheet
No new Injuries
Youan given some minutes (although was poor but he's hardly played pre season)
Hoilett looks a class act

15-09-2024, 11:36 AM
We’re progressing and found a way to use Marv to have an answer for the stuffiest team in the league.

15-09-2024, 11:38 AM
So, neck firmly on the line, I thought McKirdy looked like a footballer. Did really well. Hope his injury woes are behind him.

I thought he looked nimble too - as he did when he got his goal against Watford.

No idea about his fitness situation and how long he’s able to stay on the park contributing… but he does look like he can contribute to me, at the very least worth having on the bench.

15-09-2024, 11:41 AM
So, neck firmly on the line, I thought McKirdy looked like a footballer. Did really well. Hope his injury woes are behind him.Not sure I saw that but I did swe a player doing his best to make an impact. His energy might be useful from the bench

Donegal Hibby
15-09-2024, 11:50 AM

I thought he looked lively when he came on , not a bad option to have coming on late in games when the opposition defence is tiring . Still got Gayle to come in too . Our bench is going to be quite strong with plenty of players who can have an impact on games .

Cabbage-Patch
15-09-2024, 11:51 AM
Not sure I saw that but I did swe a player doing his best to make an impact. His energy might be useful from the bench

Not sure I saw what you saw. He definitely has energy but you would expect that for a striker looking to come on and looking to prove a point. He put himself about but don't think he will ever be a regular for us. Gayle will be ahead of him when fit

WeAreHibs
15-09-2024, 11:52 AM
Lack of gulls was a bonus!

Paul1642
15-09-2024, 11:53 AM
They should both start next time.

Sounds like Boyle is going to get an operation on his hand so guess he will miss at least a few games.

15-09-2024, 12:03 PM
I thought he looked lively when he came on , not a bad option to have coming on late in games when the opposition defence is tiring . Still got Gayle to come in too . Our bench is going to be quite strong with plenty of players who can have an impact on games .

In the space of a few weeks we’ve gone from having very little options from bench to change what was a starting 11 that effectively picked itself and few could argue with to having a few varied choices of line up and a bench that looks strong and influential.

A win against St Johnstone doesn’t really merit champagne corks being popped, but there are definable grounds for some optimism and positivity for the season ahead.

70KevinHFC62
15-09-2024, 12:31 PM
He can see the space before it becomes available! Injury free he'll be the key to us upping the tempo and playing good football.

Yeah 100% agree on this. Really good player, and him and Triantis seems to be a good partnership aswell

15-09-2024, 12:37 PM

Beautifully sung by 4 stands as the Saints fans joined in too

15-09-2024, 01:15 PM
We got a win and it was a fitting tribute song for Leevain.