View Full Version : Last minute reilly,the book.
HIBS NUTS
05-09-2024, 11:33 AM
I’m currently reading the book at a pool in Malta.
The main take from the book and the adventures of the famous five are.
No. Subs in any circumstances are allowed , one hibs player played the whole 90 minutes with a break on his leg.
Hibs played there third league cup semi at ibrox, which ended in a 1-1, so they played the next day, were his won 5-0.
Hibs were renowned as the best forward line in Britain, but regularly got overlooked for Scotland games, as the Scotland team was picked by a west Scotland committee , Gordon smith who won the league title with 3 different clubs, was regularly ommited by vastly inferior players.
The league continues even if they are playing international games, it’s just tough luck for the teams .
Hibs famous regularly got beat by hearts, imagine the mayhem on here, if such a good team got beat by such an inferior hearts team.
05-09-2024, 11:51 AM
No. Subs in any circumstances are allowed , one hibs player played the whole 90 minutes with a break on his leg.
Hibs played there third league cup semi at ibrox, which ended in a 1-1, so they played the next day, were his won 5-0.
Hibs were renowned as the best forward line in Britain, but regularly got overlooked for Scotland games, as the Scotland team was picked by a west Scotland committee , Gordon smith who won the league title with 3 different clubs, was regularly ommited by vastly inferior players.
The league continues even if they are playing international games, it’s just tough luck for the teams .
Hibs famous regularly got beat by hearts, imagine the mayhem on here, if such a good team got beat by such an inferior hearts team.
yet to read Bobbys book but out of the Smith, Turnbull, Reilly - I loved Tony Smiths tribute for his dad.
Interestingly Lawrie wrote refs still never gave us anything and the fans gave them pelters at times - so we’ve always been hard to please!
For Lawrie what struck me aside from the football was his openness around the end of his relationship with his wife who nursed him back to health after pleurisy. That was a sad read.
I was lucky enough to be handed an order of service by a security guard as I stood with my young family outside to pay my respects at his funeral. Quite a gathering.
05-09-2024, 12:27 PM
Last Minute Reilly a really good read pretty sure he caught Pluresy swimming in the Atlantic on the tour of Brazil
Got Jackie Mac Snr to sign my copy at Glasgow Airport and he recommended Gordon Smith : Prince of Wingers another emotional read highly recommended
HIBS NUTS
05-09-2024, 12:55 PM
Last Minute Reilly a really good read pretty sure he caught Pluresy swimming in the Atlantic on the tour of Brazil
Got Jackie Mac Snr to sign my copy at Glasgow Airport and he recommended Gordon Smith : Prince of Wingers another emotional read highly recommended
Scotland qualified for the World Cup in Brazil,1950, the Scottish Committee, had decided because we didn’t beat England in the home internationals, that we shouldn’t go.
After beating France, in France, they coudnt believe we refused to go, as we would have been one of the favourites.
05-09-2024, 01:09 PM
Brilliant book. I used to drink in Lawrie’s pub for years and spent many an afternoon listening to his stories of the Famous Five, the scandal of the Scotland selection process and the Five’s many trailblazing tours. Absolutely fascinating stories and a shame a lot of their glories weren’t captured on film.
He's here!
05-09-2024, 01:33 PM
My dad remembers the league season just continuing if an international was on. In the days without TVs you'd still get 30 or 40k rolling up to ER and you'd maybe get the Scotland score in the Pink or the Green (there were two Saturday sports papers) afterwards. It was a chance for fringe players to get a run-out, something I'd personally be quite happy to see today, especially when you consider how few Scottish-based players are actually in the national squad.
HIBS NUTS
05-09-2024, 01:57 PM
​
My dad remembers the league season just continuing if an international was on. In the days without TVs you'd still get 30 or 40k rolling up to ER and you'd maybe get the Scoulabd score in the Pink or the Green (there were two Saturday sports papers) afterwards. It was a chance for fringe players to get a run-out, something I'd personally be quite happy to see today, especially when you consider how few Scottish-based players are actually in the national squad.
I would be brilliant now, as Celtic and rangers would have to field there 3rd teams during international breaks.
however they would just buy, all the non international players that were any good .
Was at the book launch of this at Easter Road, quite the event.
The leg break story that always sticks with me when there were no subs was being a bit disappointed when I watched Scotland beat England in 1967 and seeing that Jack Charlton got a bad injury early on and played the rest of the match limping about up front. Took a little of the shine away but I suppose that was the game then.
Think the whole game came on a dvd from the record or something.
05-09-2024, 03:45 PM
Was at the book launch of this at Easter Road, quite the event.
The leg break story that always sticks with me when there were no subs was being a bit disappointed when I watched Scotland beat England in 1967 and seeing that Jack Charlton got a bad injury early on and played the rest of the match limping about up front. Took a little of the shine away but I suppose that was the game then.
Think the whole game came on a dvd from the record or something.
Takes away none of the shine away from the day we became World champions 😃
05-09-2024, 03:56 PM
yep, if you check their derby results they were honking. It defies logic.
05-09-2024, 04:18 PM
yep, if you check their derby results they were honking. It defies logic.
3 league titles and two second places in five seasons.
Losing one on goal average, had it been the now used goal difference
It would have been 4 titles. Titles or victories over Hearts,,,, trophies every time
Also the first outwith the two arsecheeks to win back to back titles.
06-09-2024, 02:32 PM
I went into the Hibs shop this morning hoping to buy a copy of the book, but they don’t have any books in stock now. Staff didn’t seem to know the shop ever sold books.
Any ideas where I could buy one ?
Dan Sarf
06-09-2024, 02:43 PM
I went into the Hibs shop this morning hoping to buy a copy of the book, but they don’t have any books in stock now. Staff didn’t seem to know the shop ever sold books.
Any ideas where I could buy one ?
You can get it from Amazon Books or I bought it second hand from World Of Books...
https://www.wob.com/en-gb/category/non-fiction-books?search=last%20minute%20reilly
Really looking forward to it
06-09-2024, 07:10 PM
Best story was he lived in Ardmillan ( Bryson Road ) but was Hibs daft ( I was born a hibbie I will die a hibbie ) and one afternoon he met his idol Gordon Smith walking along Gorgie Road when he was about 12 years old and was so excited he invited his hero to his parents’ house for tea
Smith politely declined being the true gentleman that he was
06-09-2024, 07:51 PM
Always thought the Hibee supporting and cyclist Eichard Beaumont should lead a group of Hibees for the foundation taking in Carronshore, Selkirk, Bryson Road all yhe birthplaces of the Famous Five.
and that we missed a trick in the Time For Heroes video - it should have been Tony Smith playing the slow version of Glory Glory.
06-09-2024, 11:02 PM
I don't know how many games against them you'd need to play to make it a stat, but Reilly's games-played-against-England-goals-scored ratio should be right up there. Imagine if Scottish fitba hadn't been controlled by Glaswegian interests in those days, how many more games and goals would he have got?
What?
Best story was he lived in Ardmillan ( Bryson Road ) but was Hibs daft ( I was born a hibbie I will die a hibbie ) and one afternoon he met his idol Gordon Smith walking along Gorgie Road when he was about 12 years old and was so excited he invited his hero to his parents’ house for tea
Gordon smith also of the famous five? There’s only 4 years between them in age :confused:
HIBS NUTS
07-09-2024, 08:47 AM
Gordon smith also of the famous five? There’s only 4 years between them in age :confused:
I thought it might be wrong , but it does say, he was 12, did Gordon play for hibs at 17 .😳
07-09-2024, 09:50 AM
I know it
Gordon Smith made his debut at 16
Lawrie Reilly was also on Hibs books at 16
I checked before posting and it is also in the book
At one point Lawrie feared Hibs were trying to offload him to Hearts even more confusing
In Lawrie’s own words :
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/lawrie-reilly-says-hibs-tried-to-make-him-a-jambo-1701292
07-09-2024, 09:56 AM
I thought it might be wrong , but it does say, he was 12, did Gordon play for hibs at 17 .😳
Made his debut at 16 against Hearts at Tiny scoring a hat-trick in a 5-3 win
07-09-2024, 10:01 AM
There's a bit in the book where Reilly expresses what is just awe for Smith. Nearly had me in tears. Unbelievable how blessed Hibs were back then.
07-09-2024, 10:54 AM
Wait for it wait for it … til the very very end…
Gets me every time. hats off to the creator this is incredible.
https://vimeo.com/168483051?share=copy
07-09-2024, 11:05 AM
I know it
At one point Lawrie feared Hibs were trying to offload him to Hearts even more confusing
In Lawrie’s own words :
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/lawrie-reilly-says-hibs-tried-to-make-him-a-jambo-1701292
I remember a song being sung on the St. Giles branch bus returning from away games in the early '60s. It had obviously been penned at the time of Lawrie's dispute with the club over their refusal to grant him a testimonial.
If I recall it correctly, it includes the lines:
Now Lawrie if you're listening
Just take a tip from mine
And take a trip to Easter Road
Sign on the dotted line
The fans will cheer, the boys will sing
And the stars above will shine
For Lawrie Reilly, Scotland's best
For the sake of Auld Lang Syne
(To the tune of The Wild Colonial Boy)
I know it
In Lawrie’s own words :
Thank you for clarifying bud (hope my original post didn’t come across as a dig btw, I just thought it a bit strange when they were so close in age, appreciate you replying 😊)
07-09-2024, 01:25 PM
Thank you for clarifying bud (hope my original post didn’t come across as a dig btw, I just thought it a bit strange when they were so close in age, appreciate you replying 😊)
No worries mate thought it was a bit weird myself all good
scm70nyd1973
07-09-2024, 04:45 PM
Everything he said and did was just magical in terms of his love affair with the great Hibernian FC - in a fantasy type of world,if there is one guy (sorry Pat) I would have loved to have been it would be “Sir” Lawrie Reilly”
He's here!
07-09-2024, 06:57 PM
No worries mate thought it was a bit weird myself all good
Probably not that weird if you think about how different you are aged 12/13 to when you're 17, especially if the older guy is already a professional footballer.
Different times, which also included the classic Eddie Turnbull story of when he was so hacked off with his team-mates after a defeat at Pittodrie that he and a team-mate didn't get the train back with the squad and had a night out in Aberdeen. When the manager hauled him into his office he told him he was going to write to his mother! This to a hard as nails footballer who'd braved the Arctic convoys in WW2.
07-09-2024, 07:13 PM
Probably not that weird if you think about how different you are aged 12/13 to when you're 17, especially if the older guy is already a professional footballer.
Different times, which also included the classic Eddie Turnbull story of when he was so hacked off with his team-mates after a defeat at Pittodrie that he and a team-mate didn't get the train back with the squad and had a night out in Aberdeen. When the manager hauled him into his office he told him he was going to write to his mother! This to a hard as nails footballer who'd braved the Arctic convoys in WW2.
Probably still put the fear into ET though
07-09-2024, 09:28 PM
My mum was born and brought up in Watson Crescent , just one street away from Bryson Road.
She was a couple years older than Laurie, probably made him carry her school bag. :greengrin
08-09-2024, 09:10 AM
You can get it from Amazon Books or I bought it second hand from World Of Books...
https://www.wob.com/en-gb/category/non-fiction-books?search=last%20minute%20reilly
Really looking forward to it
I just bought if for the kindle on Amazon. £4.99
HIBS NUTS
08-09-2024, 09:45 AM
I just bought if for the kindle on Amazon. £4.99
I’ve enjoyed it.
What surprised me most , was how many defeats, this fantastic team had, it just shows how fickle football can be.
All you need is a bad referee, or bad misses, or an inspired goalkeeping performance, and any team, can go on a bad run of form.
However the best team almost always wins the league.
08-09-2024, 10:47 AM
I’ve enjoyed it.
What surprised me most , was how many defeats, this fantastic team had, it just shows how fickle football can be.
All you need is a bad referee, or bad misses, or an inspired goalkeeping performance, and any team, can go on a bad run of form.
However the best team almost always wins the league.
I did get a sense when amongst others listening in to the club folks that at points it was a almost as if there was an unspoken “shrug of the shoulders” - it’s the the lap of the football gods (thats my impression not a quote).
watching back that final and thr Kujabi - wrong reffing decision on so many levels killed the game prob still would have lost but…
08-09-2024, 03:58 PM
Read all Five of the books, great stuff from a time and team we shall never see again.
:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:
HIBS NUTS
09-09-2024, 10:49 AM
Read all Five of the books, great stuff from a time and team we shall never see again.
I will address the elephant in the room, regarding the famous five, who won the league, 3 out of 4 years, Lawrie talks about the hostility the best forward line, possibly ever in Scotland, received in 1955, FANS shouting abuse at him, and Eddie turnbull, when the teams results, started to wain.
My father often talked about this team, but never really mentioned the bad results, as years pass, we always relay the positives, to our children.
I have a habit of relaying tales of Turnbulls Tornadoes, but miss out, that we really needed a better goalkeeper, and centrehalf, to truly be a great team, also we had no squad debt.
But fans being hostile to the teams they support isn’t a recent thing, it’s just enhanced by access to social media.
09-09-2024, 12:05 PM
is there a book by/on Ormond? Always thought that was the missing piece of the jigsaw?
09-09-2024, 01:39 PM
I will address the elephant in the room, regarding the famous five, who won the league, 3 out of 4 years, Lawrie talks about the hostility the best forward line, possibly ever in Scotland, received in 1955, FANS shouting abuse at him, and Eddie turnbull, when the teams results, started to wain.
My father often talked about this team, but never really mentioned the bad results, as years pass, we always relay the positives, to our children.
I have a habit of relaying tales of Turnbulls Tornadoes, but miss out, that we really needed a better goalkeeper, and centrehalf, to truly be a great team, also we had no squad debt.
But fans being hostile to the teams they support isn’t a recent thing, it’s just enhanced by access to social media.
Yes we have always had fans who seemed to prefer to have players to abuse rather that support. There were always supporters in the old days who thought they were better players than those on the pitch. Probably my favourite lunatics were the group who used to stand near me and abuse Peter Cormack because they didn't like the way he ran.
09-09-2024, 02:12 PM
Just bought it for my dad's Christmas stocking 👍 (he is a nightmare to buy for 😂)
He's here!
09-09-2024, 02:21 PM
is there a book by/on Ormond? Always thought that was the missing piece of the jigsaw?
Not aware of one. It would be an interesting as he also did a terrific job as St Johnstone manager as well as managing Scotland to their only respectable World Cup campaign.
Hadn't realised Willie was only 57 when he died.