View Full Version : Adding Youan and Hoilett to the team
01-09-2024, 05:53 PM
After the International Break, is an exciting prospect. I thought Kwon and Triantis worked really really well today in the middle. Once we have that extra attacking threat be it from the start or from the bench for the St Johnstone game, will make a really big difference I feel.
Disappointed of course with only managing the draw today but there was clearly alot of good signs to take from the game.
01-09-2024, 05:56 PM
Those 2 and a fully fit Bowie should make a huge difference
The break allows us to get some good fitness into Bowie, Cadden, Youan and Hoilett
01-09-2024, 05:59 PM
The break allows us to get some good fitness into Bowie, Cadden, Youan and Hoilett
Hope they’ve bounce games arranged then as no doubt we’ll be hearing that they’re not ‘match fit’ for another month.
hfc-1875
01-09-2024, 06:01 PM
Would like to see a front 3 of youan/hoilett, myko and Bowie off the right. Got a few good attacking options when there back
01-09-2024, 06:03 PM
If fully fit Youan and Hoilett should make a huge difference. If Bowie isn`t considered fit enough to play more than 30 minutes , should he be joining international squad ?
01-09-2024, 06:12 PM
Defo need more a threat from midfield or at at least out wide
Boyle isn’t the same player
Youan and Hoilett will connect up the midfield a lot better
Too often today myko or Bowie was up front and no one around them in 30 yards.
01-09-2024, 08:07 PM
If fully fit Youan and Hoilett should make a huge difference. If Bowie isn`t considered fit enough to play more than 30 minutes , should he be joining international squad ?
He's is healthy, its he just need extra fitness/sharpness. If he plays 70 odd minutes in each game for the U21s it must be better than whatever bounce games he could play with us. Hopefully that delivers him ready to go.
01-09-2024, 08:43 PM
Could also add Kwon to that list - struggling to keep the stamina going for full 90’s at the moment but his quality is evident so far and will only get better when fully fit.
02-09-2024, 05:23 AM
What’s the story with Hoilett coming back from rehab / injury?
And Kwon why shouldn’t he be match fit ?
didn’t hear about match fit in the 80-90s ok sharpness but fitness ?!
there should be no excuses on fitness for Hibs with East Mains since it’s inception yet we hear about the intensity and big step from Mcaginn and OConner possibly Doig
02-09-2024, 06:12 AM
What’s the story with Hoilett coming back from rehab / injury?
And Kwon why shouldn’t he be match fit ?
didn’t hear about match fit in the 80-90s ok sharpness but fitness ?!
there should be no excuses on fitness for Hibs with East Mains since it’s inception yet we hear about the intensity and big step from Mcaginn and OConner possibly Doig
Kwon tore his hamstring in May, and went back to Korea for rehab. He’s only played those two games for us since. He’ll not be 100% yet.
McGruber
02-09-2024, 06:26 AM
Optimistic view:- Youan is a tremendous talent and pretty much unplayable on his day. Adds real pace to the team and big goal threat. Hoilett has great experience and was playing very well for Aberdeen end of last season posting great numbers for goals contributions.
Pessimistic view:- Youan clearly doesn't want to be here and only injury prevented him moving on. Heart not in it and plays well within himself. Hoilett doesn't build up a head of steam and like McGeady, ALF before him does well on rare occasion he's fit.
WestStandWillie
02-09-2024, 07:14 AM
Optimistic view:- Youan is a tremendous talent and pretty much unplayable on his day. Adds real pace to the team and big goal threat. Hoilett has great experience and was playing very well for Aberdeen end of last season posting great numbers for goals contributions.
Pessimistic view:- Youan clearly doesn't want to be here and only injury prevented him moving on. Heart not in it and plays well within himself. Hoilett doesn't build up a head of steam and like McGeady, ALF before him does well on rare occasion he's fit.
Got a chance for a win/win with Youan.
Bed him back into the squad, he'll rebuild confidence and have him primed for the Derby. Puts in a few good performances and suitors will be all over him in January. We get 2 million, or whatever we ask for him, and he gets his move away. Everyone's a winner.
03-09-2024, 05:36 AM
Was watching footage of 0-4 versus Aberdeen yesterday and Junior Hoilett ripped us a new one
Yes he has lost a wee bit of pace but looked a totally different level looked calm in possession excellent passing and dribbling good awareness and choices giving Aberdeen width pushing back our defence
Excited at what he can bring to our team giving us a whole new dimension with Hoilett on the one flank and Youan on the other
Might only have one season left but exciting times cannae wait
03-09-2024, 07:28 AM
Personally still think Youan is our best player so can't wait to see him back playing.
I know a few folk have said on various threads he wants to leave, so sure he'll keep the effort and performances up to get a move, hopefully next summer and not in Jan.
03-09-2024, 09:27 AM
Like others have said, Youan it terrific on his day and makes us better. Hopefully back for the St Johnsone game.
I'll never be content until Elie gets a run up top or playing off the striker.
Two-footed, good in the air. He would have converted more of the chances missed by Vente in 2024.
03-09-2024, 09:54 AM
Two-footed, good in the air. He would have converted more of the chances missed by Vente in 2024.
He has been tried up front on and off. Was bullied out the game quite easily.
Donegal Hibby
03-09-2024, 10:11 AM
Much better out wide imo .
03-09-2024, 11:53 AM
Was watching footage of 0-4 versus Aberdeen yesterday and Junior Hoilett ripped us a new one
Yes he has lost a wee bit of pace but looked a totally different level looked calm in possession excellent passing and dribbling good awareness and choices giving Aberdeen width pushing back our defence
Excited at what he can bring to our team giving us a whole new dimension with Hoilett on the one flank and Youan on the other
Might only have one season left but exciting times cannae wait
Just watched it myself and Hoilett featured in the Hibs TV highlights but I wouldn't say he did anything that our current players would be unable to do. Very simple touches and passes. What was noticeable is how we lost the goals is very similar to this season. Poor clearance from Obita, lost ball in defence third from Obita, no desire to get goal side and chase runners. We are basically making the same mistakes as last year so hopefully Hoilett can provide some defensive attributes along with his quality going forward
03-09-2024, 12:04 PM
Gives us real options with those two on the left, Boyle on the right, Myko and Bowie through the middle.
Finally an area we have some depth in.
Donegal Hibby
03-09-2024, 12:09 PM
Just watched it myself and Hoilett featured in the Hibs TV highlights but I wouldn't say he did anything that our current players would be unable to do. Very simple touches and passes. What was noticeable is how we lost the goals is very similar to this season. Poor clearance from Obita, lost ball in defence third from Obita, no desire to get goal side and chase runners. We are basically making the same mistakes as last year so hopefully Hoilett can provide some defensive attributes along with his quality going forward
Will Hoilett have the legs to provide some defensive attributes? . A player I wasn’t to excited about signing though looking forward to seeing him play now , wonder could he play as a 10 ? .
03-09-2024, 12:12 PM
Yeah fourth goal Obita was on one of his forays up the park leaving a big space down our left for Aberdeen players to flood into and square the ball to the young 16 year old to tap home meanwhile Obita is jogging back 40 yards away
Anyway hoping Hoilett can bring in his experience and composure and also help develop our young forwards
Hoilett’s record for goals and assists certainly improved Aberdeen second half of last season hoping he can repeat the trick
03-09-2024, 12:35 PM
Yeah fourth goal Obita was on one of his forays up the park leaving a big space down our left for Aberdeen players to flood into and square the ball to the young 16 year old to tap home meanwhile Obita is jogging back 40 yards away
Anyway hoping Hoilett can bring in his experience and composure and also help develop our young forwards
Hoilett’s record for goals and assists certainly improved Aberdeen second half of last season hoping he can repeat the trick
Levitt actually beat Obita back from a similar starting position but then ball watched and bizarrely stopped matching the run when the assist came over. Obita has lots of attributes but I think it is crazy we don't have a natural replacement for him if he is injured or out of form. Hoping Hoilett makes a positive contribution and has the same type of energy ALF had last year.
03-09-2024, 12:46 PM
Levitt actually beat Obita back from a similar starting position but then ball watched and bizarrely stopped matching the run when the assist came over. Obita has lots of attributes but I think it is crazy we don't have a natural replacement for him if he is injured or out of form. Hoping Hoilett makes a positive contribution and has the same type of energy ALF had last year.
I like Obita but he is probably more of a wing back than a left back probably need to look at signing an old fashioned defensive left back but nowadays they are expected to motor up and down the wing
McGruber
03-09-2024, 12:46 PM
He did have a sustained run couple seasons ago under Johnson when Nisbet was out injured - the only sustained run other than an odd game here or there. He was superb in that period up top and scored a good few goals if memory serves.
Do like him out wide of a 3 myself
03-09-2024, 01:47 PM
I like Obita but he is probably more of a wing back than a left back probably need to look at signing an old fashioned defensive left back but nowadays they are expected to motor up and down the wing
I wonder if that will be the plan. Play Iredale in a 3 and then you have Cadden2 and Obita that can play wing back. Perhaps we are going to play Iredale as a direct replacement for Obita if he is out of form or injured. If we are going to play Youan then we need a defensively minded full back on that side imo. The same could be said for Boyle recently too and for me I think a team can cope with one mercurial talent who doesn't do his share off the ball but no more than that
10-09-2024, 07:05 AM
Are they fit enough to be considered for Saturday game versus St Johnstone?
Any confirmation by Hibs?
10-09-2024, 07:14 AM
Are they fit enough to be considered for Saturday game versus St Johnstone?
Any confirmation by Hibs?
The chat before the international break was Youan was fit enough for the killie game but probably wouldn’t be risked and Hoilett would be ready to go after the break. We’ve apparently had a bounce game so they could both get some minutes but never heard how that went.
10-09-2024, 08:28 AM
The chat before the international break was Youan was fit enough for the killie game but probably wouldn’t be risked and Hoilett would be ready to go after the break. We’ve apparently had a bounce game so they could both get some minutes but never heard how that went.
I’m sure I read on here the bounce game was against United and Hoilett was brilliant
10-09-2024, 10:18 AM
I’m sure I read on here the bounce game was against United and Hoilett was brilliant
Yeah I was told he looked excellent in that game.
10-09-2024, 11:12 AM
I’d have Youan down as a serious competitor for Boyle and Bowie for a spot on the right of the three. I think I prefer him using his pace over his trickery, which he tends to do more on the right. When he plays on the left he can get a bit stepovery and want to beat players repeatedly rather than do it once and deliver a ball in.
Hoilett I think is the starter for the place on the left.
There’s potentially some immense supply for Myko there, and the midfielders can’t possibly complain about not having much ahead of them with those players.
Some decent depth on the bench there too with those who just miss out.
10-09-2024, 11:19 AM
I’d have Youan down as a serious competitor for Boyle and Bowie for a spot on the right of the three. I think I prefer him using his pace over his trickery, which he tends to do more on the right. When he plays on the left he can get a bit stepovery and want to beat players repeatedly rather than do it once and deliver a ball in.
Hoilett I think is the starter for the place on the left.
There’s potentially some immense supply for Myko there, and the midfielders can’t possibly complain about not having much ahead of them with those players.
Some decent depth on the bench there too with those who just miss out.
I’d be starting Bowie ahead of Myko up front based on what we’ve seen so far this season.
10-09-2024, 11:34 AM
It was nothing to do with his injury, we didn't receive any firm bids. A 4 week injury isn't going to put a club off signing a player for 3/4 years.
He can not want to be here all he likes, but we were his only option on deadline day.
10-09-2024, 11:34 AM
I’d be starting Bowie ahead of Myko up front based on what we’ve seen so far this season.
Yup, same here.
supermcginn
10-09-2024, 11:36 AM
Yip, We've not paid 600 grand for him to be on the bench behind a loan player.
10-09-2024, 11:37 AM
I don’t think there’s much in it.
Myko’s done well for me, if anything our problem has been getting players near to him.
Bowie’s been brilliant off the bench so far and I’d have no qualms about him starting in Myko’s place.
Good problem to have tbh. Decent competition for places, a few options available to us.
The pair of them together would be a decent option in a 352 but to go back to the thread title and the OP - it doesn’t really leave any space for Hoilett or Youan.
10-09-2024, 12:14 PM
I think we’ll play Bowie just behind Myko at times, similar to when he came on against Dundee
10-09-2024, 12:19 PM
Wherever they play, or who else is starting, Hoilett and Youan will get plenty of game time over the course of the season (fitness permitting, especially in the case of Hoilett).
Both potentially add huge value to the side.
10-09-2024, 12:20 PM
I don’t think there’s much in it.
Myko’s done well for me, if anything our problem has been getting players near to him.
Bowie’s been brilliant off the bench so far and I’d have no qualms about him starting in Myko’s place.
Good problem to have tbh. Decent competition for places, a few options available to us.
The pair of them together would be a decent option in a 352 but to go back to the thread title and the OP - it doesn’t really leave any space for Hoilett or Youan.
Myko looks a better central striker imo. Thought he was very good at Killie. Think would maybe start Bowie right
10-09-2024, 12:31 PM
Would Gray consider starting 4 of the 5 at home to teams that sit deep?
Big job for a midfield duo but Kwon & Triantis could maybe handle it once up to speed.
Or is that only likely in an emergency?
I’d certainly like to see it.
10-09-2024, 01:47 PM
Bowie supposedly injured at Scotland under 21 camp.
Hamstring problem. I suspect that's why he hasn't been starting for Hibs!
10-09-2024, 01:48 PM
Is that not just a daft rumour by a fake journo on Twitter?
supermcginn
10-09-2024, 02:19 PM
Fake news
Starts tonight
Manxhibs
10-09-2024, 05:16 PM
But now actually gone off with a hamstring injury.
jingler1954
10-09-2024, 05:36 PM
Bowie off injured tonight v Malta u21's nae luck.
10-09-2024, 05:38 PM
It was nothing to do with his injury, we didn't receive any firm bids. A 4 week injury isn't going to put a club off signing a player for 3/4 years.
He can not want to be here all he likes, but we were his only option on deadline day.
Correct.
10-09-2024, 05:48 PM
Fake news
There has to be some kind of underlying issue. He would be starting for Hibs each week if not.
CB Hibs 68
11-09-2024, 08:58 PM
Well your question has been answered.That was astute of you to have high lighted this issue.Wonder how Hibs mangment time feel now