View Full Version : Sol Bamba

31-08-2024, 09:59 PM
Lots of stories on Twitter etc that he has died

hibee
31-08-2024, 10:02 PM
Yes, seen that, very sad news and only 39.

https://x.com/adanasporresmi/status/1829999740312023346?s=61&t=NzwNqgQPmkQf9xtor6QZnA

31-08-2024, 10:09 PM
Awful news.

Wee bit perspective for those of us who have been getting a bit too worked up over the last 24 hours.

Loved big Sol at Hibs, cracking player and seemed a thoroughly nice guy.

31-08-2024, 10:11 PM
RIP Sol - my boys name and a fine name it is too.
Sorry to read this sad news.

31-08-2024, 10:14 PM
Thats awful, absolutely awful. Such a young age too. Rest in peace.

Stairway 2 7
31-08-2024, 10:15 PM
Gutted he'd beaten it previously. A tremendous player, loved watching a hibby do it with Drogba and Toure. Terrible news

21sMay
31-08-2024, 10:15 PM
Really like him as a player at us. Rip big man

31-08-2024, 10:16 PM
RIP Sol 💚

dmc1875
31-08-2024, 10:16 PM
Horrendous news. Great guy and loved him at Hibs. RIP big fella 💚

Stuarty1875
31-08-2024, 10:17 PM
Sad news. RIP Sol.

31-08-2024, 10:18 PM
Really sad. Liked him at Hibs very much. RIP Sol.

Cat Stanton
31-08-2024, 10:21 PM
Awful news.

Wee bit perspective for those of us who have been getting a bit too worked up over the last 24 hours.

Loved big Sol at Hibs, cracking player and seemed a thoroughly nice guy.

That's absolutely appalling. And as you say, gives a bit of perspective to what's really important in life.

31-08-2024, 10:22 PM
Desperately sad news.

Loved him as a player at Hibs. I know a few people who knew him at Dunfermline and they held him in the highest regard as a person there. Once I went along to a game there with my partner and her family (he was a Hibs player at the time and we didn’t have a game that day otherwise he’d have been playing and I’d have been watching) and he was rattling a charity bucket outside East End Park.

I’m delighted he went on to have a great career, play with some really great players and play for and captain some proper, big clubs.

Just awful news.

RIP Sol.

Gorebridge Hibb
31-08-2024, 10:23 PM
Tragic. So young. A wonderful player and a fantastic person. Up with the angels. 😢💚

31-08-2024, 10:27 PM
RIP Sol one of the best pundits on Sky as well.

31-08-2024, 10:28 PM
Horrendous news. Such a wonderful man by all accounts. Forever young RIP Sol.

hibeez1875
31-08-2024, 10:30 PM
So sad.

31-08-2024, 10:31 PM
Tragic news. RIP Sol.

ruthven_raiders
31-08-2024, 10:33 PM
Devastating news, puts everything into perspective 😢 rip big man 💚🖤

Paulie Walnuts
31-08-2024, 10:33 PM
A very, very good footballer. RIP Sol.

31-08-2024, 10:37 PM
Awful news.
RIP Sol.

yerauldda
31-08-2024, 10:39 PM
A great guy above all else but also a terrific footballer.
Brutal after beating cancer just a few years ago.
RIP, Sol.

hibsfan7
31-08-2024, 10:40 PM
R.i.p. Sol

BH Hibs
Oh no tragic news. R.I.P Sol.

Mr Grieves
Loved Sol as a player, that really is awful news.

Benny Brazil
31-08-2024, 10:41 PM
That's awful news.
Just an all round nice guy.
RIP Sol

davcar
31-08-2024, 10:44 PM
RIP Sol took my laddie to his first Hibs game and now two are gone far too young.

CyberSauzee
31-08-2024, 10:52 PM
This is truly heartbreaking.

EH6 Hibby
31-08-2024, 10:57 PM
I’ve got a Birthday card from him, my sons Granny worked in the dentist that had the contract for all the Hibs players and he came in for a check up the day before my birthday so she got him to sign a card for me. Gutted to hear this, loved him at Hibs.

TelaStella
31-08-2024, 10:57 PM
Ach that’s really *****. Loved watching you for Hibs Sol and still remember both goals at Falkirk particularly well. He was always due a bigger career than us and the pars and I’m glad he achieved that. Far too young to go though and sincere condolences to all family, friends and supports from near and far. RIP big man [emoji172]

31-08-2024, 11:12 PM
39 is far, far too young. A great character and a huge loss.

McHibby
31-08-2024, 11:14 PM
Really horrible news, so very sad.

31-08-2024, 11:15 PM
That is utterly tragic and apalling. Far too many are passing before their time or falling ill. I believe this may be connected to a certain medical intervention. We should be aware and not look the other way. There I've said it.

Deepest sympathy to Sol's family

Apologies in advance if I'm not understanding but are you actually bringing anti-vax pish into a post about a young man that has just tragically died?

TelaStella
31-08-2024, 11:18 PM
That is utterly tragic and apalling. Far too many are passing before their time or falling ill. I believe this may be connected to a certain medical intervention. We should be aware and not look the other way. There I've said it.

really not sure here is the place mate.

CyberSauzee
31-08-2024, 11:19 PM
Apologies in advance if I'm not understanding but are you actually bringing anti-vax pish into a post about a young man that has just tragically died?

Well said. We have no idea what caused Sol's passing.

coldingham hibs
31-08-2024, 11:24 PM
So sad, such a young man, R.I.P Sol. 💔

31-08-2024, 11:27 PM
Was absolutely stunned when I saw this, heartbreaking

Thought and condolences with his family and friends

Billy McKirdy
31-08-2024, 11:37 PM
Awful news, as evidenced in this thread he was a highly respected player at Hibs and everywhere else he played, it always gave me a buzz when he played for the Ivory Coast with Drogba and the other massive names in the side.
If any current Hibs player is looking for a role model to aspire to then big Sol was the man.
Rest in peace big man.

31-08-2024, 11:42 PM

How exactly do you "believe this maybe connected?" Unless your are his doctor or immediate family I'd suggest you know absolutely nothing about Sol's health and untimely passing. You'd do better to keep unfounded, disrespectful garbage like that to yourself.

31-08-2024, 11:56 PM
Sad news, was a very good player and by all accounts a thoroughly nice guy..

RIP Sol 😢

01-09-2024, 12:01 AM

Maybe just delete this

01-09-2024, 12:08 AM
terribly sad, RIP Sol

01-09-2024, 12:08 AM
Genuinely saddened to hear this, 39 is no age. A super player for us, lost count of the number of times he got himself on the wrong side and still won the ball.

Rest in peace Big Sol.

Jim Herriot
01-09-2024, 12:11 AM
Very sad news. RIP Sol.

patlowe
01-09-2024, 12:32 AM

I'm loathe to draw further attention on such a sombre thread but come on man, appalling is the right word for those that, completely without evidence, continue to hijack folks' deaths to push this agenda.

Cooshed Kid
01-09-2024, 12:52 AM
Very sad news. RIP, Sol, and my condolences to your family. Gone far too soon.

tonyrougier123
01-09-2024, 01:01 AM
Absolutely devastating to read this. Was a big strong guy taken in his prime so sad.

Mikey_1875
01-09-2024, 01:07 AM
Loved the big fella during his time here. RIP.

ozwoody
01-09-2024, 01:16 AM

So a " relapse due to non Hodgkin's lymphoma" which has been reported,is now twisted into a vaccine conspiracy theory?

Have a look at yourself mate, a guys lost his life, a wife has lost husband and kids have lost a dad.

Let's just remember him for being a member of the Hibs family and think of his loved ones at this time.

01-09-2024, 01:16 AM
really not sure here is the place mate.

On reflection maybe that's right. I did state that it's a suspicion but this thread is to pay respects to Sol rather than open a debate. It also seems wrong to stay silent when these kind of incidents continue to be rife though, so I'll start a thread on the Holy ground to discuss.

01-09-2024, 02:54 AM
Sad news at such a young age.

Just read it now, was like ffs.

RIP Sol.

01-09-2024, 03:05 AM
On reflection maybe that's right. I did state that it's a suspicion but this thread is to pay respects to Sol rather than open a debate. It also seems wrong to stay silent when these kind of incidents continue to be rife though, so I'll start a thread on the Holy ground to discuss.

You have completely ruined this thread with your garbage.

01-09-2024, 03:45 AM
Loved Bamba as a player. Sometimes his positioning was a bit off but those big limbs of his would get him out of trouble. Can hardly believe he was only 39. RIP.

01-09-2024, 04:16 AM
Just shouting “Bamba !!” Every time he managed to get a leg out, or knock someone over via a header.

Those are things I’ll look back on when his name is ever mentioned.

01-09-2024, 05:52 AM
RIP Sol

Great player for Hibs

Taken far too soon

01-09-2024, 05:56 AM
Absolutely devastating news! Loved the big man when he was with us and Hibs always held a place in his heart.

Thoughts are with Sol’s friends and family

01-09-2024, 05:58 AM
Aw !

Deepest sincerest condolences to family and friends

Taken too soon

01-09-2024, 06:01 AM
Sad sad news
RIP big man.

Dmas
01-09-2024, 06:13 AM
Sad news waking up to that this morning, can see on twitter how many people the big guy had an effect on, thoughts and prayers to his family and friends, RIP Sol

01-09-2024, 06:17 AM
Another much loved and highly respected member of the Hibs family is gone. So very sad to hear this tragic news. Never forgotten.

RIP Sol

01-09-2024, 06:17 AM
Whilst Stokes understandably can lay claim to the best individual performance seen in a Hibs strip, big Sol put in an almost equally faultless performance against one of the big two many years back whilst playing defensive mid. Every time I hear or see his name I think back to that performance, he was an absolute colossus.

Great player and an even greater man by all accounts. 39 is no age at all.

01-09-2024, 06:19 AM
Awful news. Great player. Rip Sol

dunfyhibby
01-09-2024, 06:19 AM
RIP Sol! A player who gave his all for Hibs! Will be sadly missed!

Trinity Hibee
01-09-2024, 06:31 AM
Horrible. Was a very good player for us and a proper athlete. RIP Sol

Stanton Spence
01-09-2024, 06:33 AM
Very sad news RIP big man

01-09-2024, 06:36 AM
Aw man! Sad sad news.

RIP Sol [emoji172]

01-09-2024, 06:36 AM
Incredibly sad news, especially in such a young man with a young family.

Wull
01-09-2024, 06:40 AM
That’s tragic news, RIP Sol

01-09-2024, 06:40 AM
Terrible news to wake up to today, loved big Sol as a player and person, far too young an age to go. RIP big guy.

01-09-2024, 06:41 AM
That's horrible news.

He seemed like one of the genuinely good guys in life and he could play a bit.

RIP.

01-09-2024, 06:44 AM
Rest in Peace big Sol. He was a brilliant footballer and by all accounts a great person. Very sad news.

Just_Jimmy
01-09-2024, 06:44 AM
Gutted to hear this. Loved Sol when he was here. His smile lit up the room.

RIP Sol.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

01-09-2024, 06:59 AM
RIP Sol, was genuinely sad when you left but nothing compared to reading this awful news.

01-09-2024, 07:10 AM
Loved watching him play, a really good player and a really good man by all accounts.

01-09-2024, 07:12 AM
Seemed like a great guy and was obviously a very good player for us. RIP Sol

Frogga
01-09-2024, 07:24 AM
RIP Sol :(

There was a 6 month spell where he put in probably the best defensive performances I've seen in a Hibs shirt in my 25 years of going to games.

01-09-2024, 07:27 AM
Really saddened to hear this news, such a young age.RIP Sol. Love from the Hibee family 💚

01-09-2024, 07:29 AM
RIP Sol :(

There was a 6 month spell where he put in probably the best defensive performances I've seen in a Hibs shirt in my 25 years of going to games.

The best performance i ever saw him put in was actually against us, playing for Dunfermline scottish cup semi final in 07 when he single handedly kept us at bay, they scores a late winner, more Hampden heartache. I immediately started telling everyone i knew we should sign him.

Iranianhibee
01-09-2024, 07:29 AM
Awful news
RIP big man.

01-09-2024, 07:44 AM
That is so sad.

One of the best defenders I've ever seen play for us and a great DM too. RIP Sol.

berwickhibee
01-09-2024, 07:49 AM
Luck enough to have met him a few times while at Hibs, a beautiful soul and a joy to be around, loved life.

Rip sol bamba💚

01-09-2024, 07:54 AM
RIP Sol 😔💚

01-09-2024, 07:54 AM
No age at all, RIP

Don Giovanni
01-09-2024, 08:03 AM
Terrible news.

Loved watching big Sol in green and white.

Listened to him on a podcast a couple of months ago (may have been Sacked in the Morning) in which he was talking about getting into coaching. He always came across as such a lovely, bubbly character.

RIP Sol.

inglisavhibs
01-09-2024, 08:05 AM
The best performance i ever saw him put in was actually against us, playing for Dunfermline scottish cup semi final in 07 when he single handedly kept us at bay, they scores a late winner, more Hampden heartache. I immediately started telling everyone i knew we should sign him.
Was going to post the same thing, he was brilliant in that game. Very sad news R.I.P. Sol

01-09-2024, 08:09 AM
Shocked to hear that, really good player for us and it was no surprise he went on to have a great career and was highly thought of as a person.

RIP Sol.

01-09-2024, 08:09 AM
Really sad news so young. Condolences to his friends and family. Seemed like a lovely character.
RIP Sol

01-09-2024, 08:11 AM
Devastating to hear this - fantastic player and person.

Thoughts with his family.

01-09-2024, 08:12 AM
Was going to post the same thing, he was brilliant in that game. Very sad news R.I.P. Sol

I was going to post what you were going to post !

So sad for someone so young (young being close to my age)

Hibiza
01-09-2024, 08:14 AM
RIP Sol 💚

01-09-2024, 08:21 AM
Awww,so sad. Best centre half I've seen at Hibs.RIP big man.

01-09-2024, 08:28 AM
So very upsetting to wake up to this terrible news, Sol was a great player for us and seemed a lovely man.

01-09-2024, 08:44 AM
So very upsetting to wake up to this terrible news, Sol was a great player for us and seemed a lovely man.

Such sad news, my thoughts are with his family.

aljo7-0
01-09-2024, 08:46 AM
Awful news. RIP big man

01-09-2024, 08:51 AM
Very sad news. Condolences to his family.

01-09-2024, 08:56 AM
RIP Sol.

A great player and by all accounts a very fine man.

01-09-2024, 09:02 AM
RIP Sol, I just heard this news, so, so sad

01-09-2024, 09:07 AM
RIP big man.

hibby rae
01-09-2024, 09:20 AM
I have a top with Sol Train on the back. Loved him.

XXX

leith lynx
01-09-2024, 09:21 AM
So Sad, Rest In Peace Sol, just the type of player we need in our defence now. Condolences to friends and family.💚

01-09-2024, 09:22 AM
Shocked by this, what a tragedy. Only 39 and should be in the prime of life. Best wishes to his family and friends, it’s terrible. Fond memories of his time at Hibs.

wee Stevie
01-09-2024, 09:22 AM
Sad news, RIP Sol

Mcbizz1998
01-09-2024, 09:28 AM
That’s awful. I was posting on here the other day and laughing to myself about him being sent off on his debut against Dundee United. Turned out to be a fantastic player and by all accounts a great guy. Really sad news.

01-09-2024, 09:29 AM
RIP big fella 😔💚

HendoDelivered
01-09-2024, 09:32 AM
Such sad news. RIP big man, you will be missed Sol 💚

Bridge hibs
01-09-2024, 09:32 AM
RIP Sol 💚

01-09-2024, 09:34 AM
Absolutely horrible news. He’s one of the genuine different class players to grace the ER turf, it was a privilege to see him in the green and white. Seemed to have the same class off the pitch as well. Thoughts and prayers with his family and friends.

Jeez that's tragic, only 39 as well.

Roxyhibee
Terrible news. What a great player Sol Bamba was. We haven’t had a CB of his quality for years.

01-09-2024, 09:39 AM
Was a great guy on and off the pitch, met him a few times and always had time for the fans.

RIP Sol 😢💚

01-09-2024, 09:46 AM
Great player rip

01-09-2024, 09:48 AM
RIP Sol.

01-09-2024, 09:51 AM
This is tragic news, RIP Sol

01-09-2024, 09:53 AM
RIP Sol - terrific defender for us

Seekyit
01-09-2024, 09:56 AM

Like others have posted, i'm with you on this. Me and my mate always referred to that game as Bamba 1 Hibs 0.

RIP Sol.

01-09-2024, 10:12 AM
RIP Sol, had the pleasure of meeting him a couple of times and he was a gentleman.

A big character, great player and the worlds sadder place now.

01-09-2024, 10:13 AM
Aww no. Such sad news. Excellent player was Sol. Condolences to his family and friends

01-09-2024, 10:14 AM
What a sad loss! Great character to have in your team.

Donegal Hibby
01-09-2024, 10:23 AM
So sorry to hear of our ex-player Sol’s passing. He seemed to be such a nice guy and what a football player he was , he was simply a player that fans of the clubs he played for like Dunfermline, Hibs , Cardiff and Leeds loved and admired.

I think the first professional goal he scored was for Hibs in a 3-1 victory away to Falkirk .

RIP Sol .

01-09-2024, 10:31 AM
Sad news to start the Sunday. Rip sol.

01-09-2024, 10:43 AM
Sad, sad news taken way too young, R.I.P. Sol.

01-09-2024, 10:56 AM
Such sad news, loved watching the big fella when he was at Hibs.

01-09-2024, 11:17 AM
Very sorry to read this morning, thought he’d won his battle with illness.

JJP
01-09-2024, 12:24 PM
He was some player for us. RIP Sol.

01-09-2024, 01:31 PM
Assume a minute's applause for him v St Johnstone?

01-09-2024, 01:38 PM
Very sad news indeed.

Reading all the tributes from his former playing colleagues in the game the constant in all that was of what a popular and personable man he was.

RIP Sol

01-09-2024, 01:45 PM
Horrible news, just horrible. Loved watching him in a Hibs shirt. RIP Big Yin.

01-09-2024, 05:54 PM
Terrible news, absolutely tragic.

Brilliant player. RIP big man x

01-09-2024, 05:59 PM

I would certainly hope so - no more than a colossus of a man like Sol deserves.

01-09-2024, 06:15 PM
RIP Sol. What a player for us. Such very sad news.

snedzuk
01-09-2024, 07:11 PM

Kudos to Kilmarnock for the (impeccably observed all round) minutes silence today, and the half mast flags. RIP Sol.

e2los
01-09-2024, 07:25 PM
Was very sad to hear of his passing.

A very nice guy, who was taken far too soon.

01-09-2024, 10:09 PM
(1) Leeds United on X: "🤍 Everyone at #LUFC is devastated to learn of the news that former #LUFC captain Sol Bamba has passed away. Our thoughts and condolences are with his family and friends at this tragic time. Rest in peace, Sol, you will be forever in our hearts. https://t.co/HFqtYgsFkM" / X (twitter.com) (https://twitter.com/LUFC/status/1830007982043578576?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1830007982043578576%7Ctwgr% 5E403282f979f7c26687453e4084eb7502c7a67d57%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.motforum.com%2Fphpbb%2Fv iewtopic.php%3Ft%3D36904start%3D1720)

01-09-2024, 11:57 PM
Kudos to Kilmarnock for the (impeccably observed all round) minutes silence today, and the half mast flags. RIP Sol.

Came here to say just that. I was moved by it, watching on TV in the US.
Tragic loss.

02-09-2024, 12:18 AM
Came here to say just that. I was moved by it, watching on TV in the US.
Tragic loss.

Where in the US are you if you don't mind me asking? Always curious about stateside Hibees 😁

02-09-2024, 12:41 AM
Where in the US are you if you don't mind me asking? Always curious about stateside Hibees ��

DC. Not permanently, but enjoying it in the meantime. And loving watching the football in my jammies!
How long have you been in Texas.

02-09-2024, 01:01 AM
DC. Not permanently, but enjoying it in the meantime. And loving watching the football in my jammies!
How long have you been in Texas.

Just over 7 years in Texas and before that 17 years in Missouri. Kind of rakes you in, once you get here you don't want to leave 😁

02-09-2024, 01:09 AM
Just over 7 years in Texas and before that 17 years in Missouri. Kind of rakes you in, once you get here you don't want to leave 😁

Having a summer is great, for sure. I'll definitely miss that!

03-09-2024, 03:56 AM
Missouri - real America :) visited the US moons ago - NYC, LA, Maine, Montana (2 hrs from where the Unabomber was still kicking around) and Lawrence where one of my mates was staying. Eye opener.

03-09-2024, 05:23 AM
Decent tribute from Neil Warnock CCFC in the Hibs Observer and fair play to Sportscene for showing the minutes silence impeccably observed by both sets of fans at Rugby Park

03-09-2024, 06:04 AM
Decent tribute from Neil Warnock CCFC in the Hibs Observer and fair play to Sportscene for showing the minutes silence impeccably observed by both sets of fans at Rugby Park

Yes was quite emotional the silence