View Full Version : Wow!!!!!
Halifaxhibby
31-08-2024, 12:01 AM
6 million invested and we can’t sign a player from Dundee…..yeah…where’s my cheque book to by a season ticket for me and the bairns….again….get tae **** hibs……3 seasons list. Glad McKay and kensall picking up big money !!!!!!
31-08-2024, 12:10 AM
You think 6 million means we’ll start getting players over Celtic?
31-08-2024, 12:11 AM
I think the 6 million was for other stuff not a transfer kitty!
gaz1875
31-08-2024, 12:15 AM
6 million invested and we can’t sign a player from Dundee…..yeah…where’s my cheque book to by a season ticket for me and the bairns….again….get tae **** hibs……3 seasons list. Glad McKay and kensall picking up big money !!!!!!
His choice was Celtic or Hibs, why would he pick Hibs? There's some rubbish spouted on here!!
31-08-2024, 12:21 AM
Lets chill a bit here. No I don't think its been a great window, but purely on our failure to sign an attacking midfield player / playmaker.
We have played St Mirren away, Celtic twice ( who looks capable of beating them? ) and Dundee at ER, a game we should have won .... I think I'll give us at least until the first round of fixtures is completed before going completely off the deep end.
A win on Sunday would help :greengrin
Musselbound
31-08-2024, 12:30 AM
Lets chill a bit here. No I don't think its been a great window, but purely on our failure to sign an attacking midfield player / playmaker.
We have played St Mirren away, Celtic twice ( who looks capable of beating them? ) and Dundee at ER, a game we should have won .... I think I'll give us at least until the first round of fixtures is completed before going completely off the deep end.
A win on Sunday would help :greengrin
Agree. I think a fair bit of the reaction is based on the last day of the window when many were expecting big things. Especially the failure to land McCowan.
The broader picture is we've signed an entire team (eleven new players) in this window. Whether we are stronger for it remains to be seen.
31-08-2024, 12:33 AM
That's got to be an attempt at a wind up surely? Not a very good one mind you.
CallumHibs07
31-08-2024, 12:51 AM
If we had sent our best offer a week ago we'd either have him now or have time to look at other targets. We wait until the last hour of deadline day and let Celtic nip in.
At least we have Triantis though eh? Wonder where we thought of that one.
Pathetic window
31-08-2024, 12:55 AM
If we had sent our best offer a week ago we'd either have him now or have time to look at other targets. We wait until the last hour of deadline day and let Celtic nip in.
Pathetic window
I think Dundee knew fine well what was going on with McCowan. We can’t compete with Celtic unless someone pumps in £100m+
The lack of a plan B is alarming though.
CallumHibs07
31-08-2024, 12:57 AM
I think Dundee knew fine well what was going on with McCowan. We can’t compete with Celtic unless someone pumps in £100m+
They knew a week ago that Celtic were going to come in with a last minute bid?
Sounds like you're making excuses for our failings.
31-08-2024, 01:01 AM
Not worried about McCowan as he was only going to one place if they bid.
What I am worried about is we seemingly have £800k sitting around and yet we’ve had a mediocre window yet again.
andrew_dundee
31-08-2024, 01:02 AM
If we had a spare 800k it would have been good to use it on someone else when it became apparent Dundee were playing games, but TBF we'll never be able to compete with Celtic.
A good thing about this window is the number of players we've been able to shift, which hopefully sets us up better going forward.
Donegal Hibby
31-08-2024, 01:22 AM
Is it possible that we had a plan B but it wasn’t available in this window?
Just_Jimmy
31-08-2024, 01:22 AM
The issue with a plan B per se, is that word was out we'd bid 800k for plan A. Regardless, Plan B club would have started the bidding at 800k and known we were desperate.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
31-08-2024, 04:11 AM
Foley is playing a blinder.
The BK players should act as our Plan A / B so in negotiations teams know we have options.
hes got the fans geed up and then seemingly sat on his hands after saying folks weren’t listening.
31-08-2024, 04:46 AM
I think the 6 million was for other stuff not a transfer kitty!I said this at the time and was scoffed at by a number on here. The direct impact of the £6M on our transfer capability has been massively overestimated by some.
To really make a difference we would need £6M every year which is unlikely to happen. Even if the £6M was all for transfers, a one off payment doesn't really mean we can go buy a load of expensive players because then we need to pay their wages for years to come.
Either way, I think the majority of fans want to know where this money has gone and what it's been spent on. ER hospitality upgrades, maybe a fee or two, then what? Plugging the hole in our finances from last year I suspect!
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
31-08-2024, 06:03 AM
I said this at the time and was scoffed at by a number on here. The direct impact of the £6M on our transfer capability has been massively overestimated by some.
To really make a difference we would need £6M every year which is unlikely to happen. Even if the £6M was all for transfers, a one off payment doesn't really mean we can go buy a load of expensive players because then we need to pay their wages for years to come.
Either way, I think the majority of fans want to know where this money has gone and what it's been spent on. ER hospitality upgrades, maybe a fee or two, then what? Plugging the hole in our finances from last year I suspect!
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
Of course, majority has been used to plug the huge hole. But much of the promise of Foley was not just money. It was supporting recruitment, stopping the rot, adding good quality loan options and helping to fix a failed process. Not sure there’s much evidence of that.
OstKurve Hibs
31-08-2024, 06:07 AM
They knew a week ago that Celtic were going to come in with a last minute bid?
Sounds like you're making excuses for our failings.
No but they knocked back our top bid, 800k if reprts are to be believed, this was knocked back before celtic bid, so if that 800k bid was made a week ago and rejected and we are not going higher we could have shifted the focus to other targets.
It's pretty obvious what the poster meant.
hibee1875
31-08-2024, 06:21 AM
Delighted we didn’t spend £1.25 million on him tbh. We may well have been close with £750k but the minute Celtic were interested he was going nowhere else
hibee1875
31-08-2024, 06:23 AM
Pathetic window
How do you work that one out? He could have still stalled. Pretty sure his agent would have been on the phone to Celtic either way
31-08-2024, 06:26 AM
While the failure to get the player, under the most public glare in the last days of the transfer window, was disappointing to say the least, I don’t think the window overall was the complete disaster some folk are making out. My grouse is the inordinate and misguided amount of time wasted on the McCowan saga. A blind man running for a bus could see that we were never going to get him and that Celtic were poised to jump in and do business. In my opinion the recruiting team’s biggest crime was naivety but it’s not the end of the world. I’m mildly optimistic that we can pull ourselves off the foot of the table but talk of anything better than 6th or 7th place is pie in the sky.
31-08-2024, 06:27 AM
We don’t have a decent keeper
We don’t have a decent left back
We still play Newell and Campbell. So midfield situation wasn’t sorted. Just a loan from Celtic and a loan from Sunderland. Good long term planning that.
Anyone that thinks this window was better than a failure clearly has very low standards.
31-08-2024, 06:28 AM
Delighted we didn’t spend £1.25 million on him tbh. We may well have been close with £750k but the minute Celtic were interested he was going nowhere else
It's a shame - another decent young prospect who'll enjoy a warm seat on the Celtc bench for years to come.
Nobody (not even Sevco) can compete financially with Celtc just now - they're on another level with their spending (as was evidenced by £11 million on that boy from Germany yesterday).
Crunchie
31-08-2024, 06:31 AM
That's got to be an attempt at a wind up surely? Not a very good one mind you.
There's a familiar trend over a few threads atm, all best ignored.
31-08-2024, 06:32 AM
Other than getting an AM in, I think it's been a pretty decent window. You need to remember that the squad has been populated with poor players over a number of years. These players are on contracts. It'll take a number of windows to whittle out the chaff and replace them all with the right type of player. Some folks think it should all be fixed in one summer. We did well getting a few guys out the building. Anyone who thinks we'll be the finished article this season, or even next, needs to think again.
hibee1875
31-08-2024, 06:34 AM
Other than getting an AM in, I think it's been a pretty decent window. You need to remember that the squad has been populated with poor players over a number of years. These players are on contracts. It'll take a number of windows to whittle out the chaff and replace them all with the right type of player. Some folks think it should all be fixed in one summer. We did well getting a few guys out the building. Anyone who thinks we'll be the finished article this season, or even next, needs to think again.
Part of me is happy we didn’t get a AM in. If they’re good enough they’re old enough and for me Rudi has shown he’s good enough. Get Hoilett, youan and Bowie in around him and his goal contributions will be double figures this season
31-08-2024, 06:37 AM
If we had a spare 800k it would have been good to use it on someone else when it became apparent Dundee were playing games, but TBF we'll never be able to compete with Celtic.
A good thing about this window is the number of players we've been able to shift, which hopefully sets us up better going forward.
The problem is, a club of our size is still largely dependent on gate receipts for our income. And unless ‘the product on the park’ improves, that will suffer as attendances drop as families feel the pinch of more fuel price increases in the autumn. I think we were hoping the Foley money was giing to allow us to spend money to generate money. Its been a pipe dream.
We don’t have a decent keeper
We don’t have a decent left back
We still play Newell and Campbell. So midfield situation wasn’t sorted. Just a loan from Celtic and a loan from Sunderland. Good long term planning that.
Anyone that thinks this window was better than a failure clearly has very low standards.I wouldn't expect Newell and Campbell to start after signing kwon and Triantis (plus Cadden can play in there)
Couldn't give a monkeys if it's 2 loans as long as they are good
Liam Henderson and Anthony Stokes - raging at that lack of long term planning presumably
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Crunchie
That's just way too sensible a post for here :wink:
CallumHibs07
31-08-2024, 06:38 AM
No but they knocked back our top bid, 800k if reprts are to be believed, this was knocked back before celtic bid, so if that 800k bid was made a week ago and rejected and we are not going higher we could have shifted the focus to other targets.
It's pretty obvious what the poster meant.
Thats what I said...
How do you work that one out? He could have still stalled. Pretty sure his agent would have been on the phone to Celtic either way
We make our best offer and give them a deadline. The fact we supposedly let them "consider" the bid for over a week came back to bite us
Its bascially what happened to Celtic with McGinn which everyone likes to slate them over. But theres an excuse with everything from the happy clappers..
It's a shame - another decent young prospect who'll enjoy a warm seat on the Celtc bench for years to come.
Nobody (not even Sevco) can compete financially with Celtc just now - they're on another level with their spending (as was evidenced by £11 million on that boy from Germany yesterday).
I agree he’ll be nothing but a sub but not for years to come. By their standards he is nothing to write home about but he serves the purpose of making up their European squad quota of home grown players. In the unlikely event of him ever having to play a significant part in any game, he’s good enough not to let them down. They’ll get shot of him at the end of the season if not earlier when he’s served a purpose.
McGruber
Couldn't disagree more. Opinions though
Crunchie
31-08-2024, 06:39 AM
The problem is, a club of our size is still largely dependent on gate receipts for our income. And unless ‘the product on the park’ improves, that will suffer as attendances drop as families feel the pinch of more fuel price increases in the autumn. I think we were hoping the Foley money was giing to allow us to spend money to generate money. Its been a pipe dream.
I highly doubt fuel prices will affect attendances, if we produce the goods on the park the fans will come.
Bridge hibs
31-08-2024, 06:42 AM
Nobody (not even Sevco) can compete financially with Celtc just now - they're on another level with their spending (as was evidenced by £11 million on that boy from Germany yesterday).Probably a career ending move, a decent wage, pull on his clubs colours, train with his idols, might experience travelling around europe and getting a few minutes in a friendly or league cup games, other than that one of the best benches for a grand stand view of what he should be doing and thats being on the pitch
If he thinks he has been signed as a first team player then he is ****ing deludes, enjoy the skelfs Luke, sure to have more of them than games
jakeshibs
31-08-2024, 06:44 AM
What a pointless post, Hibs sign 11 players, and bid a record fee for the club and your no happy that Celtic outbid us on a player who stated from the start he was a Celtic fan.
31-08-2024, 06:44 AM
Hibs did have a decent window. 11 new players in. We tried to get McCowan but we’re out bid by Celtic, he is also Celtic daft and was always going there if they came in. The £800k doe not have to spent for the sake of it. I doubt one person on here could have identified another AM for that price that knows the league and had the potential to be sold on in two years time for a profit. FFS Birmingham signed a forward for over £10m. Hibs are going to struggle to get real quality so have to take a punt every transfer window. But we were warned it was going to take 3 transfer windows to turn it round. Let’s have a little bit of patience.
31-08-2024, 06:45 AM
I highly doubt fuel prices will affect attendances, if we produce the goods on the park the fans will come.
I should have said ‘bills’ rather than ‘fuel’, but 10% increase in electricity alone starting in October is going to be a struggle for many. It seems like noones talking much about poverty anymore.
I hope youre right about that of course.
31-08-2024, 06:57 AM
Probably a career ending move, a decent wage, pull on his clubs colours, train with his idols, might experience travelling around europe and getting a few minutes in a friendly or league cup games, other than that one of the best benches for a grand stand view of what he should be doing and thats being on the pitch
If he thinks he has been signed as a first team player then he is ****ing deludes, enjoy the skelfs Luke, sure to have more of them than games
He'll trust what he's been told which I am pretty sure will not be come and have a wee jolly being part of the team you support, but you'll not get many minutes even if you are at your peak. (It's not like he's a promising youngster.)
They'll use him. There will be plenty of domestic games when they are 2 or 3 up with 20minutes to go and he can come on thus allowing players who are on a heavy playing schedule better recovery. He might even get a few minutes in their last one or two CL matches before the end of January if, as is likely, his team are already assured of a bottom 8 finish and out of Europe before the January window ends, at which point he will be loaned out either to a duff English side or to an SPL team so he can help take points of The The Huns. That could be us.
31-08-2024, 06:57 AM
Have you ever thought that the lad didnae want to play for Hibs
31-08-2024, 06:59 AM
Hibs didn't sign the players I want so I'm not going to support the club anymore wah wah wah.
Get a grip.
CallumHibs07
31-08-2024, 07:05 AM
Hibs did have a decent window. 11 new players in. We tried to get McCowan but we’re out bid by Celtic, he is also Celtic daft and was always going there if they came in. The £800k doe not have to spent for the sake of it. I doubt one person on here could have identified another AM for that price that knows the league and had the potential to be sold on in two years time for a profit. FFS Birmingham signed a forward for over £10m. Hibs are going to struggle to get real quality so have to take a punt every transfer window. But we were warned it was going to take 3 transfer windows to turn it round. Let’s have a little bit of patience.
so 11 new signing automatically equals a good window? lets wait and see. early signs are not good
hibby rae
31-08-2024, 07:51 AM
There's the main issue, if you've had a couple bids rejected then move on.
The other possibility is Hibs were also trying to low-ball Dundee and screwed it up, something I've heard was the issue with Jason Kerr.
31-08-2024, 07:51 AM
You still have a cheque book? 😳
31-08-2024, 08:07 AM
I should have said ‘bills’ rather than ‘fuel’, but 10% increase in electricity alone starting in October is going to be a struggle for many. It seems like noones talking much about poverty anymore.
I hope youre right about that of course.
Just as well we do not have European games to play then, though I don’t suppose we will have that worry for a while.
McGruber
31-08-2024, 08:15 AM
Hibs didn't sign the players I want so I'm not going to support the club anymore wah wah wah.
Get a grip.
Bit disingenuous that. More like, Hibs had a disappointing transfer window and annoyed the team we do support aren't likely to kick on. Doubt anyone isn't going to support the club any more regardless of whether they think the transfer window was good or bad
itslegaltender
31-08-2024, 10:31 AM
It’s obvious this season is basically a “take a knee’ season. Avoid relegation and get to end where we can offload a slew of the dross that will be out of contract. As for the Black Knight help, again it’s obvious there has been a breakdown in relationship. Not one player from that partnership tells you that.
31-08-2024, 10:33 AM
The issue with a plan B per se, is that word was out we'd bid 800k for plan A. Regardless, Plan B club would have started the bidding at 800k and known we were desperate.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Good point
31-08-2024, 10:42 AM
so 11 new signing automatically equals a good window? lets wait and see. early signs are not good
Yes it does. The window is about signing players which I think we agree we've done. It goes without saying we've yet to see if the new recruits will be effective or not. That would be the case if we'd made several marquee signings. Fingers crossed it pans out in relative terms.
31-08-2024, 10:44 AM
Personal view but with the cash we spent I'd have signed these guys instead
Mitov
Kevin Nisbet
Mark oHara
Danny mcnamara
Simon Murray
Time will tell but I reckon they would've been a more effective use of the cash
31-08-2024, 10:47 AM
Well he's not really a plan B then is he?
CallumHibs07
31-08-2024, 10:56 AM
Yes it does. The window is about signing players which I think we agree we've done. It goes without saying we've yet to see if the new recruits will be effective or not. That would be the case if we'd made several marquee signings. Fingers crossed it pans out in relative terms.
No, it means we've had a busy window. How can you say its a good window if the players dont improve our squad?
31-08-2024, 11:01 AM
The rocket ship has been built, we are on the launch pad, and we just need the fuel to take off.
31-08-2024, 11:09 AM
I get the feeling that this place would be a lot happier if several marquee signings had been made.
31-08-2024, 11:12 AM
I get the feeling that this place would be a lot happier if several marquee signings had been made.You think? folk would still be bitching and whining about something.
Saint Hibee
31-08-2024, 11:13 AM
Sorry, but if the players we've signed aren't any better than what we've had before, how does the number of signings alone make it a good window!?!
31-08-2024, 11:19 AM
You think? folk would still be bitching and whining about something.
If it led to better results folk would soon cheer up a bit.
He's here!
31-08-2024, 11:26 AM
The fact we were still making bids for McCowan up until late on Friday pretty much confirms we had nothing to fall back on.
It's all left things feeling very flat, not least in the light of the 'done deal', 'all smiles with Dundee directors', 'player's keen to come to Hibs' claims on here.
He's here!
31-08-2024, 11:27 AM
Exactly.
Cooshed Kid
31-08-2024, 11:41 AM
Probably a career ending move, a decent wage, pull on his clubs colours, train with his idols, might experience travelling around europe and getting a few minutes in a friendly or league cup games, other than that one of the best benches for a grand stand view of what he should be doing and thats being on the pitch
Sums it up well. If he doesn't feel the need to play regularly he can be very satisfied with the money and lifestyle. If he wants to be a regular player he has shot himself in the foot. I hope he's made the best choice.
31-08-2024, 11:49 AM
But it's not about getting it all fixed in one summer, that's just not right, I have lost count of the seasons we have went into with a poor midfield, absolute 5hit signings and players that are unfit or injured at the start of the season, they have had years to get it right, the players we have weren't even fit enough for the beginning of THIS season, that's just negligent, f,n criminal and just not good enough. All talk.
31-08-2024, 11:54 AM
Have you ever thought that the lad didnae want to play for Hibs
Hibs would have made sure he did want to play for us before making any approach to his club. They should also have been aware that would have changed as soon as Celtic appeared on the scene.
GreenPJ
31-08-2024, 11:58 AM
In which case it's not really a plan B
31-08-2024, 11:59 AM
That's a Plan C then.
Donegal Hibby
31-08-2024, 12:08 PM
Newcastle spent most of the transfer window trying to buy Marc Guehi of palace , it became apparent that after selling another CH to Fulham they weren’t going to sell unless it was for crazy money.
What if our plan B was someone in the same situation ? Like Lyle Cameron for instance or another player in that situation at his club..
Positive for me is we were willing to spend a serious amount of money on McCowan so there’s obviously money there that we might use in January .
The club tried their best and were unfortunate just that Celtic came in late on .. I think signings like Myko , Bowie have showed good ambition from the club and I’m not going to ridicule them for losing out to a club we can’t compete with financially anyhow.
31-08-2024, 12:14 PM
Newcastle spent most of the transfer window trying to buy Marc Guehi of palace , it became apparent that after selling another CH to Fulham they weren’t going to sell unless it was for crazy money.
What if our plan B was someone in the same situation ? Like Lyle Cameron for instance or another player in that situation at his club..
Positive for me is we were willing to spend a serious amount of money on McCowan so there’s obviously money there that we might use in January .
The club tried their best and were unfortunate just that Celtic came in late on .. I think signings like Myko , Bowie have showed good ambition from the club and I’m not going to ridicule them for losing out to a club we can’t compete with financially anyhow.
It says to me Newcastle did not have a plan B either.
He's here!
31-08-2024, 12:23 PM
Celtic coming in late on wasn't unfortunate. Dundee had already rejected three Hibs bids before Celtic's interest became official, which made it pretty clear that they, and most likely the player/agent, were sitting tight for something better to materialise. That Celtic were always reported to be keeping tabs on things should have made it obvious to Hibs that they needed an alternative option who they could land during this window, not halfway through the season. Their failure to do so leaves them very much open to blame for what has ultimately been a very poor window in terms of addressing our most glaringly weak part of the team.
Donegal Hibby
31-08-2024, 12:24 PM
It says to me Newcastle did not have a plan B either.
They did a couple of options though Guehi was the no 1 target much like us with McCowan . I wouldn’t be surprised to see them try again in January.
As for us I think we will get somebody in January , personally like to see us go for Cameron who we wouldn’t have probably got this window anyhow.
The Tubs
31-08-2024, 12:28 PM
If McCowan was the only player with the attributes that we wanted and we couldn't get him, then I'd much rather sign nobody than sign another midfielder who potentially adds nothing to the squad.
It would be pretty dumb business to spend 1/6 of that money on McCowan.
McGruber
31-08-2024, 12:43 PM
If McCowan was the only player with the attributes that we wanted and we couldn't get him, then I'd much rather sign nobody than sign another midfielder who potentially adds nothing to the squad.
True. Though doubt McCowan is the only attacking midfielder available from free up to near a million pounds.
Don't blame Hibs at all losing out to Celtic but should have had a deadline on our best bid so we could move on.
Triantis signing baffles me. An abundance of DMs but no AMs to speak of. Pursue an AM all summer on the basis that is what we needed - then sign another DM
The Tubs
31-08-2024, 12:58 PM
True. Though doubt McCowan is the only attacking midfielder available from free up to near a million pounds.
Don't blame Hibs at all losing out to Celtic but should have had a deadline on our best bid so we could move on.
Triantis signing baffles me. An abundance of DMs but no AMs to speak of. Pursue an AM all summer on the basis that is what we needed - then sign another DM
I don't know if I'd classify McCowan as attacking, as he seemed more box-to-box — McGinn rather than Cameron Lyall. When you look at our midfielders, I think we've signed loads with the intention of them being box-to-box, but when it doesn't work out, they get classified as defensive.
Hibees1973
31-08-2024, 01:03 PM
Celtic coming in late on wasn't unfortunate. Dundee had already rejected three Hibs bids before Celtic's interest became official, which made it pretty clear that they, and most likely the player/agent, were sitting tight for something better to materialise. That Celtic were always reported to be keeping tabs on things should have made it obvious to Hibs that they needed an alternative option who they could land during this window, not halfway through the season. Their failure to do so leaves them very much open to blame for what has ultimately been a very poor window in terms of addressing our most glaringly weak part of the team.
The only thing I disagree with is that I think the defence, including the goalkeeper, is the worst part of the team. Some will say that they have little protection by the midfield, hence which is why Kwon and Triantis were signed.
I'll go on record to say that I reckon O'Hora and Expiteta are no better that Hanlon or Bushiri. This is based on the level we signed them from and from what I've seen so far. I may be proved wrong. If I'm right I can only hope that Iredale is an upgrade.
Out of all the players signed in this window Kwon and Triantis are the key for me. If either or both (depending on Gray's formation) slot in and make us more organised and provide a shield for the defence then there is hope. When watching Hibs so many teams seem to counter attack on us quickly. For example if we have a corner or lose possession in midfield, which leaves us exposed and lose loads of goals, which we have already this season.
Donegal Hibby
31-08-2024, 01:11 PM
I think it was unfortunate and I was glad to see the club trying to get a player of that quality at ER for what would have been a record signing which I think showed excellent ambition from the club….
It’s a case of the glass half full , half empty about this transfer window for fans isn’t it? I disagree it’s been a very poor window in we have had a decent clear out of players that weren’t good enough while adding more than I thought we would… with very good signings like Myko , Bowie 600k , Hoilett etc etc .
I would have liked to see us improved more than we have but I still think we are probably in a better position squad wise than last season.
He's here!
31-08-2024, 01:25 PM
The only thing I disagree with is that I think the defence, including the goalkeeper, is the worst part of the team. Some will say that they have little protection by the midfield, hence which is why Kwon and Triantis were signed.
I'll go on record to say that I reckon O'Hora and Expiteta are no better that Hanlon or Bushiri. This is based on the level we signed them from and from what I've seen so far. I may be proved wrong. If I'm right I can only hope that Iredale is an upgrade.
Out of all the players signed in this window Kwon and Triantis are the key for me. If either or both (depending on Gray's formation) slot in and make us more organised and provide a shield for the defence then there is hope. When watching Hibs so many teams seem to counter attack on us quickly. For example if we have a corner or lose possession in midfield, which leaves us exposed and lose loads of goals, which we have already this season.
I would agree to a certain extent if it wasn't for the fact Triantis is only 21 and, as we saw last season, prone to the odd gaffe,and Kwon relatively unknown. Hardly a pair of experienced old hands who'll take control of things.
Saint Hibee
31-08-2024, 01:29 PM
It's the goalie that I'm wetting the bed about. Is it time to give Boruc another chance? I thought he looked okay the last time I saw him play.
Rumble de Thump
31-08-2024, 01:49 PM
No plan B, apart from the other central midfielder we signed when McCowan signed for Celtic.
Saint Hibee
31-08-2024, 02:00 PM
No plan B, apart from the other central midfielder we signed when McCowan signed for Celtic.
Triantis and McCowan are very different kinds of players. Triantis isn't a central midfielder at all.
31-08-2024, 02:03 PM
He wasn’t plan b. He was always going to be a signing if sunderland got their house in order allowing it. He was a plan A
31-08-2024, 02:09 PM
If it led to better results folk would soon cheer up a bit.
If results improve even Joe Newell would get an easier time. Results is all that matters.
31-08-2024, 02:10 PM
I think he’s a decent player but he’s def not the only midfielder in the world that would improve on Newell.
31-08-2024, 02:10 PM
Tbh, the more I think about it, I wonder if we’ve totally had the wool pulled over our eyes with the McCowan business. Between the various agents involved at Hibs, Dundee, Celtic and the player’s representatives themselves being a shower of shysters, spivs, racists, imbeciles and all sorts I find the given explanation - that we were serious but pipped by Celtic, quite fanciful.
I reckon we’ve been sold a tale to give us delusions of significance when in fact we were never going to spend a sum like that on any player, let alone one in their late 20s with zero sell on value.
The failure to be bothered sourcing an alternative would certainly be explained by this conspiracy theory.
31-08-2024, 02:12 PM
I don't know if I'd classify McCowan as attacking, as he seemed more box-to-box — McGinn rather than Cameron Lyall. When you look at our midfielders, I think we've signed loads with the intention of them being box-to-box, but when it doesn't work out, they get classified as defensive.
Don’t know about Kwon but I don’t think we have a genuine box to box midfielder at the club. Certainly not one with energy and drive.
31-08-2024, 02:13 PM
He wasn’t plan b. He was always going to signing if sunderland got their targets. He was a plan A
And that's a good thing?:confused:
31-08-2024, 02:13 PM
And that's a good thing?:confused:
Don’t be confused. I didn’t say it was a good thing. Only time will tell that.
HibbyDave
31-08-2024, 02:14 PM
Most of the frustration seems to have been caused by the board failing to submit their best offer for McCowan at the first attempt and qualifying it by stating “accept by x date “ or we look elsewhere.
That would have given time to utilise any plan B.
Poor comms from the club also not helped.
31-08-2024, 02:16 PM
Most of the frustration seems to have been caused by the board failing to submit their best offer at the first attempt and qualifying it by stating “accept by x date “ or we look elsewhere.
That would have given time to utilise any plan B.
Poor comms from the club also not helped.
Looking at a bigger picture Plan B might not have been available this window. Keep going with Plan A till it’s exhausted.
Saint Hibee
31-08-2024, 02:23 PM
Don’t know about Kwon but I don’t think we have a genuine box to box midfielder at the club. Certainly not one with energy and drive.
Isn't Amos meant to be a box-to-box midfielder?
31-08-2024, 02:28 PM
But it's not about getting it all fixed in one summer, that's just not right, I have lost count of the seasons we have went into with a poor midfield, absolute 5hit signings and players that are unfit or injured at the start of the season, they have had years to get it right, the players we have weren't even fit enough for the beginning of THIS season, that's just negligent, f,n criminal and just not good enough. All talk.
However, the current reality is we have botched it over previous years and it will take time to fix. Hopefully we have the structure and people in place now to make a meaningful change. We'll see I guess. My point is that in isolation, not getting an AM apart, it's not been a disastrous window.
Sioux
31-08-2024, 02:51 PM
Tbh, the more I think about it, I wonder if we’ve totally had the wool pulled over our eyes with the McCowan business. Between the various agents involved at Hibs, Dundee, Celtic and the player’s representatives themselves being a shower of shysters, spivs, racists, imbeciles and all sorts I find the given explanation - that we were serious but pipped by Celtic, quite fanciful.
I reckon we’ve been sold a tale to give us delusions of significance when in fact we were never going to spend a sum like that on any player, let alone one in their late 20s with zero sell on value.
The failure to be bothered sourcing an alternative would certainly be explained by this conspiracy theory.
So Hibs were just winding everyone up, and had no intention of paying a fee for the player?
There's some amount of bs posted since last night, but that is some imagination!
You need help.
31-08-2024, 02:57 PM
He’s yet to show anywhere near the workrate for that.
31-08-2024, 02:59 PM
So Hibs were just winding everyone up, and had no intention of paying a fee for the player?
There's some amount of bs posted since last night, but that is some imagination!
You need help.
Do you ever have anything constructive to say about anything, ever, or is it just gliding around repeatedly having a pop at folk?
Greenio
31-08-2024, 03:00 PM
Exactly.
Folk would have moaned about the plan B too - the amount of whinging and moaning does my nut in.
31-08-2024, 03:01 PM
If results improve even Joe Newell would get an easier time. Results is all that matters.
Exactly.
31-08-2024, 03:04 PM
Looking at a bigger picture Plan B might not have been available this window.
Indeed, I believe that he's on tour just now. 🤭
31-08-2024, 03:06 PM
Indeed, I believe that he's on tour just now. 🤭
:greengrin Over rated for sure.
31-08-2024, 06:47 PM
Are you trying to say we should have just spanked the lot on McCowan??? Cool yer jets ffs!
31-08-2024, 07:46 PM
Reading through countless threads like this one makes me wonder why some of the posters ever bother to go to football. (I realise there are some who never spend a single penny in support of our Club yet stil feel entitled to slate them in every thing they do - but I hope they're a minority).
I've watched Hibs over five decades and in that time they've brought out various emotions: ecstacy despair, rage, misery, boredom and plenty others in between.
I've been on this forum since the mid 00's and the overriding mood on the football posts are anger, entitlement, misery, hatred, narrow-mindedness and complete negativity.
If these are the only emotions people are taking from watching Hibs I'd suggest they find something more beneficial to do with their time. Life's too short.
Take a leaf out my book - log off and find something that brings you joy.
Victor
31-08-2024, 07:57 PM
Reading through countless threads like this one makes me wonder why some of the posters ever bother to go to football. (I realise there are some who never spend a single penny in support of our Club yet stil feel entitled to slate them in every thing they do - but I hope they're a minority).
I've watched Hibs over five decades and in that time they've brought out various emotions: ecstacy despair, rage, misery, boredom and plenty others in between.
I've been on this forum since the mid 00's and the overriding mood on the football posts are anger, entitlement, misery, hatred, narrow-mindedness and complete negativity.
If these are the only emotions people are taking from watching Hibs I'd suggest they find something more beneficial to do with their time. Life's too short.
That’s far too sensible a post. I don’t think you have quite grasped how football forums work! [emoji4]
PS I agree with you
31-08-2024, 08:03 PM
Spot on:top marks.
31-08-2024, 08:24 PM
Take a leaf out my book - log off and find something that brings you joy.Excellent post . Agree 100% .
31-08-2024, 09:06 PM
You're lucky I am on the 7th decade.
Agree
31-08-2024, 09:10 PM
Take a leaf out my book - log off and find something that brings you joy.Brillant post Brian. We’re here for a good time not a long time mate :not worth
31-08-2024, 09:17 PM
Great post, echoes what I'm feeling.
I'm dreading Hibs' low ebbs these days not so much for the footballing side, but for how draining it is having everyone's anguish relentlessly aired online.
I'm not sure I can even take a stab at an honest opinion of how I view the club right now, because so many loud voices are insisting everything is a disgraceful unforgivable shambles from top to bottom.
Even if there is some accuracy in that, not everyone needs beaten into submission with it.
Cooshed Kid
01-09-2024, 09:27 AM
Is there some way this could be posted at the top of the screen every time we log on to hibs.net? I could probably use a daily reminder.
01-09-2024, 10:26 AM
Well said.
The constant negativity is so draining at times
may 21/05/2016
01-09-2024, 10:33 AM
Take a leaf out my book - log off and find something that brings you joy.Agree with you
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
Sioux
01-09-2024, 10:35 AM
Can't argue with that.
Keepthefaith
01-09-2024, 10:44 AM
Agreed, I hope that some on here can read this and learn to moderate the levels of negativity. Not asking people to think the same or not hold the club to account but it'd be nice to not have to trawl through the extreme reactions and at times personal annihilation of players/managers/ owners...
Clarence
01-09-2024, 10:46 AM
I agree with your observation however I see football as my guilty pleasure. I have to be logical, rational and stoical in every other aspect of my life. So for the moments I engage with the idea that 11 men in green chasing a mitre delta means something, I’m going to allow myself to be a bit of a childish, needy irrational twat. Then I’ll go back to all the other things that bring me joy. Each to their own mind.
01-09-2024, 10:47 AM
Wow, indeed and when you see the news about our ex-player Sol, it puts all this rubbish into place.
Wow..........
01-09-2024, 10:48 AM
Agreed, I hope that some on here can read this and learn to moderate the levels of negativity. Not asking people to think the same or not hold the club to account but it'd be nice to not have to trawl through the extreme reactions and at times personal annihilation of players/managers/ owners...
Also take into account things like the sad passing of Sol Bamba, life is indeed to short
Paul1642
01-09-2024, 10:58 AM
Possibly the best post I’ve read on here in a long time.
I’m as excited as ever for the Hibs game today regardless of the slow start to the seasons because I feel the club is genuinely moving in the right direction, or at least trying to.
I’ll try my best to enjoy the game and take positives regardless of the result. Win and I’ll be happy for the rest of the day. Loose and I’ll log off .net and forget about Hibs for a few days. Regardless of the result I’ll be ready to go again with the same unjustified optimism in two weeks time.
If you support Hibs for guaranteed success then you’re barking up the wrong tree and If Hibs have become a source of unhappiness and bitterness in your life rather than something your enjoy then it’s time to take a step back. I did this between the 5-1 cup final and relegation, which was slightly easier as I was living away for a few years at the time. I wasn’t enjoying it so I stopped being emotionally invested.
The constant negativity a handful on here engage in can’t be enjoyable, and the odd thing is that some of the worst offenders are posting on here all day every day.
01-09-2024, 11:05 AM
Will he even make the bench now? He came with good pedigree but a risk given his recent spells out. Looks as though he’ll tread water at the club and leave next summer after making limited, if any, positive contributions.
01-09-2024, 11:09 AM
I agree with your observation however I see football as my guilty pleasure. I have to be logical, rational and stoical in every other aspect of my life. So for the moments I engage with the idea that 11 men in green chasing a mitre delta means something, I’m going to allow myself to be a bit of a childish, needy irrational twat. Then I’ll go back to all the other things that bring me joy. Each to their own mind.
TBF that’s a good observation and I agree. What is football without irrational emotions, both overly positive and overly negative…..isn’t this why we love supporting a football team. I have certainly mellowed over the years and don’t get as worked up following a bad result but I see the football as part therapy away from the pretty constant pressures of work and family life. The occasional vent at ER or on here must save me a fortune in shrink fees😂
Hibby Gav
01-09-2024, 11:19 AM
01-09-2024, 11:39 AM
Take a leaf out my book - log off and find something that brings you joy.Brilliant post.
Used to be that just staying on the Private Board was a way to avoid almost all the continual (some is fair game, it's Hibs afterall!) and repeating negativity and black/white polarisation, unfortunately it's even creeping in there :-/