View Full Version : The Bi-Annual Transfer Deadline Day Thread - Snacks & Nonsense

30-08-2024, 04:37 AM
Here we go again, folks.

Plenty of signings today I hope. Mainly from the Middlesbrough under-18 squad no doubt.

I’m at work today and in the words of Ally McCoist, I’ve gotta say…I’m taking a cheese and ham sandwich, a peperami, a protein yoghurt, two strawberry mousses from Aldi, a can of fizzy pop, a packet of Fridge Raiders, four litres of water and four packets of crisps (Frazzles, Seabrook Ready Salted x2 and some cheap imitation S&V Hula Hoops the missus picked up from Aldi…her and I have discussed my reluctance to eat imitation crisps. It’s like David Gray asking for Luke McCowan and being presented with Calum Butcher).

What’s your dietary plans for today and most importantly, what are you wearing?

30-08-2024, 04:42 AM
😀😀😀

My favourite thread once again!

Birthday gift Toblerone in the fridge currently but will need to thaw a bit to avoid dental disaster!

Otherwise Tbone steak Roysters will feature along with Cheese N Onion McCoys.

30-08-2024, 04:44 AM
Roysters…unparalleled crisp. It’s in a league of its own. You’ve won the internet today and it’s not even 6am.

Dmas
30-08-2024, 05:19 AM
I’m also working though on the list for the day off so there could be a lovely surprise waiting on me, I have a tub of cheese and onion Pringles and a pack of gold bar coated digestives lined up since it’s a special day

30-08-2024, 05:20 AM
Kinda hope we sign no one just to see Hibs net meltdown.

Although I don't fancy the championship so maybe not.

30-08-2024, 05:46 AM
Trying to eat healthier so will be half a packet of raspberries and some low fat crisps for work, if nothings happening through the day I might end up at the vending machine.

Homemade soup for dinner.

30-08-2024, 06:21 AM
Roysters…unparalleled crisp. It’s in a league of its own. You’ve won the internet today and it’s not even 6am.

Real Crisps Salt And Vinegar for me….

Mcbizz1998
30-08-2024, 07:28 AM
wtf is fizzy pop!??

30-08-2024, 07:35 AM
Working as well but will have the tinternet on to keep tabs on what will be a stauner of a deadline day for Hibs. Working from home so attire wise it's jammies below and Teams appropriate on top. Something green obvs. Got a family tube of smarties on standby and a multipack of rib & saucy Nik Naks. Washed down with Aero Pressed coffee in the am and Girders in the pm. Mon' the Cabbage. :flag:

30-08-2024, 07:46 AM
wtf is fizzy pop!??

Joos

30-08-2024, 07:52 AM
Gonna take this hour by hour, i don't see the point in planning snacks for the whole day. They need to reflect the mood, depending on what signings materialise. However the first hour will be Skips and the back end of a packet of Rocky biscuits.

30-08-2024, 08:10 AM
Last day in Switzerland so started with some Bircher Muesli and croissants.
Will be at Basle airport later in the hope of spotting any surprise signings.

CL0762
30-08-2024, 08:44 AM
Had a couple pies from scotmid already & got a packet of M&M’s flirting with me from the kitchen.

30-08-2024, 08:46 AM
wtf is fizzy pop!??

Did they not used to drink lashings and lashings of the stuff in Enid Blyton books?

30-08-2024, 08:51 AM
Trying to eat healthier so will be half a packet of raspberries and some low fat crisps for work, if nothings happening through the day I might end up at the vending machine.

Me too.
Slice of toast and a mandarin for breakfast.
Strawberry , raspberry blueberry and pomegranate seed blended smoothie getting made now for mid morning snack.

Rock n roll man 😅

30-08-2024, 08:52 AM
wtf is fizzy pop!??

You seriously never heard of that?

30-08-2024, 09:16 AM
You seriously never heard of that?
I was speaking to a 30 something the other week who had never heard of darning something. No wonder the planets ****ed.

30-08-2024, 09:28 AM
I was speaking to a 30 something the other week who had never heard of darning something. No wonder the planets ****ed.

I'm 40 and don't know what that is.

30-08-2024, 09:32 AM
https://images.app.goo.gl/BbfKdNp86TJQy2wQA
??

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

30-08-2024, 09:34 AM
Frozen pizzas for tea with the kids tonight at 5pm to celebrate McCowan signing, Calamari as an after dinner snack once the kids are in bed.

Not getting on the gin until after we've done our friday night weight session in the garage, just in time for the Marcondes unveiling at 8pm and will be nicely in to my 3rd or 4th in time for the league 1 loan signing announcement before the slamming shut of the window.

Lunch is up in the air at the moment, contemplating going for a run but I need to get my finger out if I'm going for it.

30-08-2024, 10:57 AM
Frozen pizzas for tea with the kids tonight at 5pm to celebrate McCowan signing, Calamari as an after dinner snack once the kids are in bed.

Not getting on the gin until after we've done our friday night weight session in the garage, just in time for the Marcondes unveiling at 8pm and will be nicely in to my 3rd or 4th in time for the league 1 loan signing announcement before the slamming shut of the window.

Lunch is up in the air at the moment, contemplating going for a run but I need to get my finger if I'm going for it.

...umm, what?

30-08-2024, 11:03 AM
...umm, what?

Finger out*

Post edited :sick:

30-08-2024, 11:10 AM
Can of coke and a snickers bar on break, hopefully get something done in the next few hours.

30-08-2024, 11:39 AM
I once stated (to a bit of an outcry) that Scampi Fries are like a form of contraception.
I do stand by that -hate the smell of them but others swear by them. Have I found a rival to marmite?

home made pizza scoffed. And some Sainsburys crunchy sticks (salt and vinegar)

30-08-2024, 11:44 AM
I usually eat healthy but this is the day I take a break - breakfast in about an hours time with a bacon & melted brie croissant with of course wads of coffee to accompany.

30-08-2024, 11:48 AM
wtf is fizzy pop!??

Old rock star? 😄

30-08-2024, 11:50 AM
Here we go again, folks.

Plenty of signings today I hope. Mainly from the Middlesbrough under-18 squad no doubt.

I’m at work today and in the words of Ally McCoist, I’ve gotta say…I’m taking a cheese and ham sandwich, a peperami, a protein yoghurt, two strawberry mousses from Aldi, a can of fizzy pop, a packet of Fridge Raiders, four litres of water and four packets of crisps (Frazzles, Seabrook Ready Salted x2 and some cheap imitation S&V Hula Hoops the missus picked up from Aldi…her and I have discussed my reluctance to eat imitation crisps. It’s like David Gray asking for Luke McCowan and being presented with Calum Butcher).

What’s your dietary plans for today and most importantly, what are you wearing?

Sad to see that Greggs have stopped their sponsorship of the thread title 😪

30-08-2024, 11:54 AM

I feel you brother.

Recently had blood pressure done and discovered to be - literally - off the charts. Not in the yellow pre-high blood pressure zone. Not in the deep red high blood pressure zone. Somewhere beyond that where the chart is no longer a chart, or a colour or a set of numbers. Into the infinity of 'we don't even have a name for this'.

So now it's a world of milkless coffee, sugarless tea, actimel drinks, bananas, nuts, dates and muesli breakfasts with berries and fully skimmed milk. Beetroot juice daily. Cycling machine sessions. Not one Malt for weeks. I can walk past a twix in the kitchen without batting an eyelid. It's like 'nam man. He went away one guy and came back another. Who knows what horrors he's living every day?

There's a 4.5kg giant Toblerone bar coming my way. It was going to be an enormous extended chocolate delight. Now its an existential crisis.

I've seen things, you people wouldn't believe. Steak chips on sale off the shelves of Aldi. I've watched cola pops glitter in the fridges of the Tesco Superstore, near Hermiston Gait. All those snacks will be lost in time, like crisps in rain. So what are my dietary plans for today and most importantly, what am I wearing? You can't handle the truth!

Pedantic, we live in a world that has TDD, and those TDDs have to be witnessed by men with buns. Who's gonna do it? You? You, Wheat Hound? I have a greater appetite than you can possibly fathom. You weep for McCowan, and you curse the Gordons. You have that luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what I know -- that McCowan's non-signing, while tragic, probably saved thousands of pounds; and my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves Quavers.

You don't want the truth because deep down in places you don't talk about in podcasts, you want me on the Holy Ground -- you need me on the Holy Ground. We use words like "end of," "reported," "lol he's gonnae pump her." We use these words as the backbone of a life spent posting nonsense on .net. You use them as a punch line.

I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a bed wetter who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very pish signings that the golden quadrangle provides and then questions the manner in which they scout them. I would rather that you just said "trust the process", bought your season ticket and went on your way. Otherwise, I suggest you pick up an infraction and delete the post. Either way, I don't give a DAMN what salary Ben Kensall thinks he's entitled to!

Did I order the Red Kola?

I did my job.

Did I order the Red Kola?!

You're goddam right I did!!!

at last 61
30-08-2024, 12:07 PM
I'm supposed to be on a diet, but I have BBQ pringles or Doritos and sour cream and chive dip, hopefully not chocking on them, with the news coming in from Easter road,oh and pepsi max, that's juice,if anyone doesn't know 😁

30-08-2024, 12:27 PM
I'm 40 and don't know what that is.
FFS I’m old.

30-08-2024, 12:28 PM
I feel you brother.

Recently had blood pressure done and discovered to be - literally - off the charts. Not in the yellow pre-high blood pressure zone. Not in the deep red high blood pressure zone. Somewhere beyond that where the chart is no longer a chart, or a colour or a set of numbers. Into the infinity of 'we don't even have a name for this'.

So now it's a world of milkless coffee, sugarless tea, actimel drinks, bananas, nuts, dates and muesli breakfasts with berries and fully skimmed milk. Beetroot juice daily. Cycling machine sessions. Not one Malt for weeks. I can walk past a twix in the kitchen without batting an eyelid. It's like 'nam man. He went away one guy and came back another. Who knows what horrors he's living every day?

There's a 4.5kg giant Toblerone bar coming my way. It was going to be an enormous extended chocolate delight. Now its an existential crisis.

I've seen things, you people wouldn't believe. Steak chips on sale off the shelves of Aldi. I've watched cola pops glitter in the fridges of the Tesco Superstore, near Hermiston Gait. All those snacks will be lost in time, like crisps in rain. So what are my dietary plans for today and most importantly, what am I wearing? You can't handle the truth!

Pedantic, we live in a world that has TDD, and those TDDs have to be witnessed by men with buns. Who's gonna do it? You? You, Wheat Hound? I have a greater appetite than you can possibly fathom. You weep for McCowan, and you curse the Gordons. You have that luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what I know -- that McCowan's non-signing, while tragic, probably saved thousands of pounds; and my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves Quavers.

You don't want the truth because deep down in places you don't talk about in podcasts, you want me on the Holy Ground -- you need me on the Holy Ground. We use words like "end of," "reported," "lol he's gonnae pump her." We use these words as the backbone of a life spent posting nonsense on .net. You use them as a punch line.

I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a bed wetter who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very pish signings that the golden quadrangle provides and then questions the manner in which they scout them. I would rather that you just said "trust the process", bought your season ticket and went on your way. Otherwise, I suggest you pick up an infraction and delete the post. Either way, I don't give a DAMN what salary Ben Kensall thinks he's entitled to!

I did my job.

Brilliant🤣

30-08-2024, 12:33 PM
I feel you brother.

I did my job.

Post of the century :thumbsup:

30-08-2024, 12:38 PM
FFS I’m old.
Me anaw mate.

30-08-2024, 12:40 PM
Light start to the day with some Vegemite and Toast, washed down with loads of black coffee, will snack on my bag of Sour Ploomes until I hear we have signed someone who may make a difference to the Hibs.

Paulie Walnuts
30-08-2024, 12:40 PM
I feel you brother.

I did my job.

Unreal.

Dan Sarf
30-08-2024, 12:43 PM
I feel you brother.

I did my job.

30-08-2024, 12:43 PM
Ok, I’m not going through an existential crisis like OneDay. but I work with a guy called Nick and I’ve developed a certain skill for stealing his favourite corn snacks out of his desk when he goes for a wee.

he needed to go and right now I’m tucking into his stash.

that’s right…

I’ve developed a knack for nicking Nicks NikNaks. ( rib n saucy flavour)

DTS
30-08-2024, 12:45 PM
If you need some light entertainment tonight between 8-10 the lads will be live on YouTube.

Hopefully reacting to some comings and goings from today as well as a look back on the window as a whole.

https://www.youtube.com/live/-HHqrohbPkw?si=jBX1hHf_FBo3aANI

Hibs07p
30-08-2024, 12:47 PM
I feel you brother.

I did my job.

Very good, but can you dodge bullets in Guantánamo Bay, though.

Scottish cup winners 2016

30-08-2024, 12:49 PM
Ok, I’m not going through an existential crisis like OneDay. but I work with a guy called Nick and I’ve developed a certain skill for stealing his favourite corn snacks out of his desk when he goes for a wee.

he needed to go and right now I’m tucking into his stash.

that’s right…

I’ve developed a knack for nicking Nicks NikNaks. ( rib n saucy flavour)
Hope he isn't Irish - you might get Paddy Whacked....

30-08-2024, 12:59 PM
I feel you brother. [Snip]

Brilliant! Severe case of whiplash from the swerve from Blade Runner to A Few Good Men!

30-08-2024, 01:07 PM
I feel you brother.

I did my job.

You're absolutely on fire today ODS:top marks

Trinity Hibee
30-08-2024, 01:11 PM
I feel you brother.

I did my job.

😂😂😂

Northern Hibby
30-08-2024, 01:11 PM
Poundland snack run 😁

30-08-2024, 01:14 PM
wtf is fizzy pop!??An elderly gentleman grandparent who has enjoyed a lager filled afternoon and is therefore full of bubbles?

30-08-2024, 01:19 PM
I feel you brother.

I did my job.

You're goddam right I did!!![emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

We have a winner.

I was going to mention my middle of the road sized toblerone that I got for my birthday and a packet of chocolate wheat type things my granddaughter won't eat so me or the dog is having them, but now I feel like a transfer deadline day failure in comparison.

30-08-2024, 01:22 PM
Is Florian Kamberi still a rat ?

Need to bring up grand kids in the proper way. Today we cover players in and out and rats.

Grandpa is always right . So checking in with fellow ageing Hibernian Sages.

😁

30-08-2024, 01:24 PM
Is Florian Kamberi still a rat ?

Need to bring up grand kids in the proper way. Today we cover players in and out and rats.

Grandpa is always right . So checking in with fellow ageing Hibernian Sages.

[emoji16]Rat? F me, all this time and I thought we'd been calling him a cat.

Must be an age thing. This new fangled interweb business is confusing the hell out of me.

30-08-2024, 06:00 PM
I've been sooking these sour ploomes all afternoon now, got a cut in ma tongue, going to move on to the tins of sardines in oil now.
Nothing much happening.

30-08-2024, 06:01 PM
I've restricted myself to a diet of thin gruel all window, and I'm going to stick with that tonight. So are you.

30-08-2024, 06:05 PM
I've been sooking these sour ploomes all afternoon now, got a cut in ma tongue, going to move on to the tins of sardines in oil now.
Nothing much happening.
I bought tins of Mediterranean style sardines a few weeks ago and when I opened the tin there was one 3mm thick piece of black olive in there. Marketing eh?

30-08-2024, 06:06 PM
I've restricted myself to a diet of thin gruel all window, and I'm going to stick with that tonight. So are you.

Close the thread. And TDD.

30-08-2024, 06:08 PM
I bought tins of Mediterranean style sardines a few weeks ago and when I opened the tin there was one 3mm thick piece of black olive in there. Marketing eh?

The clue was in the name Hobo, "Mediterranean Style" probably from the Gulf of Mexico with the olive as a make weight.

30-08-2024, 06:15 PM
Making some tasty tasty spicy chicken topped bagels with melty cheese.

Shredded chicken breast with lighter than light mayo, reduced sugar sweet chili sauce, juice of half a lemon and a bit of sriracha, on a bagel, reduced fat cheese grated on top, and whacked under the grill until warm and gooey.

30-08-2024, 06:17 PM
The clue was in the name Hobo, "Mediterranean Style" probably from the Gulf of Mexico with the olive as a make weight.
Well they didn't give me the runs so probably not from the Gulf of Mexico :greengrin. Anyhoo, one piece of black olive? Seriously?

30-08-2024, 06:30 PM
Well they didn't give me the runs so probably not from the Gulf of Mexico :greengrin. Anyhoo, one piece of black olive? Seriously?

Now really you should have gone for the Mediterranean Style Olives with sardines.
If they was from the Gulf as you say would probably been a wee bit oily.

I just lumped mine on a bit o toast spread with vegemite. Fast grill and eat ready, always washed down with lots of black coffee just to keep me awake till the window closes.

30-08-2024, 06:36 PM
Now really you should have gone for the Mediterranean Style Olives with sardines.
If they was from the Gulf as you say would probably been a wee bit oily.

I just lumped mine on a bit o toast spread with vegemite. Fast grill and eat ready, always washed down with lots of black coffee just to keep me awake till the window closes.
I mixed mine with some mayo, Dijon mustard, cashews for a bit of a crunch and some red chilli pepper flakes and walloped that into a taco shell to make a wrap. Well two wraps actually.....

30-08-2024, 06:53 PM
I mixed mine with some mayo, Dijon mustard, cashews for a bit of a crunch and some red chilli pepper flakes and walloped that into a taco shell to make a wrap. Well two wraps actually.....

Sounds good, dont Taco shells make a hell of a mess when eating. Or is it the soft Taco's.

30-08-2024, 08:00 PM
Absolutely shattered after organising a short notice VVIP visit Tuesday and Wednesday, so standards have dropped. Couldn't be arsed cooking so grabbed a family McDisgusting on the way home.

Will probably flake out on the sofa in about half an hour with a pear schnapps in one hand and a Berliner Kindl in the other, spillage is likely.

30-08-2024, 08:10 PM
I took a home made chicken curry out the freezer earlier today which I remember being epic when I made it.

Trying to decide whether to have a majestic late night curry and a couple of the beers I’ve got in the fridge, or whether I can’t really be arsed having anything.

More to the point - I’m trying to decide whether or not this decision is going to have any impact on Hibs’ late window fortunes.

Does curry = late window McCowan arrival?

Does nothing = nothing?

What is the emergency snack equivalent of Triantis?

30-08-2024, 08:16 PM
I took a home made chicken curry out the freezer earlier today which I remember being epic when I made it.

Trying to decide whether to have a majestic late night curry and a couple of the beers I’ve got in the fridge, or whether I can’t really be arsed having anything.

More to the point - I’m trying to decide whether or not this decision is going to have any impact on Hibs’ late window fortunes.

Does curry = late window McCowan arrival?

Does nothing = nothing?

What is the emergency snack equivalent of Triantis?
Curry for dinner in the Hobo hoose as well. Lamb Pathia I made last night so I could focus on us signing McCowan today...

Alfiembra
30-08-2024, 08:39 PM
Sitting with a cup of tea and a packet of Chocolate Digestives 4 down 12 to go.
They haven’t half shrunk the pack.

30-08-2024, 08:41 PM
Sitting with a cup of tea and a packet of Chocolate Digestives 4 down 12 to go.
They haven’t half shrunk the pack.
Same with Mint Aeros, bought one a couple of days ago and it looked like one of those multi pack sized things. Much disappointment.

heidtheba
30-08-2024, 08:51 PM
Thank you for this! Currently going through a divorce so am at my folks and they have only Coonsil Telly. No SSN TDD for me. I'd actually forgotten about it in the 'meh' that is my life right now.
I DID have Fish and Chips from the chippy and half a pint of Lucas Mint Choc Chip Ice cream, which gave me more comfort than it should have done.
Thank goodness i've got the triunph of a Hibs TDD signing policy to lift me...

30-08-2024, 08:55 PM
Burtons for the huge bag of mixed biscuits for a £5

30-08-2024, 09:15 PM
Ok Fess up who took all the Red Kola from Iceland in Mussy?

Up-the-slope
30-08-2024, 09:29 PM
1/2 a family sized caramelised red onion and cheddar quiche ( says feeds 4 :faf: ) with luxury coleslaw and skin on fries.... a family bag of lentil crisps - cheddar flavour ( they are my new guilty secret ) washed down with some bottles of 7 Giraffes IPA.... then found a Dairy Milk 'snow balls' family bar (guesting at my daughters - but shes gone to bed so thats been scoffed)

just contemplating whether the move to sweet from savoury was a tad premature.......

Corstorphine Hibby
30-08-2024, 09:56 PM
1/2 a family sized caramelised red onion and cheddar quiche ( says feeds 4 :faf: ) with luxury coleslaw and skin on fries.... a family bag of lentil crisps - cheddar flavour ( they are my new guilty secret ) washed down with some bottles of 7 Giraffes IPA.... then found a Dairy Milk 'snow balls' family bar (guesting at my daughters - but shes gone to bed so thats been scoffed)

just contemplating whether the move to sweet from savoury was a tad premature.......

A vegetarian feast that surely even the venerable Mahatma Gandhi would be proud of, assuming the IPA ingredients don't include dead giraffes?