View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Dundee - Match Day Thread
24-08-2024, 03:54 PM
But people were telling us that we’ve absolutely improved the goalkeeper and defence before they’d seen them play?
What's your point?
Aw hibs are absolutely poetic at times
**** off
Sadly Gray f***** up big time
He's here!
Same old, same old.
Hopefully Ross County are as bad as they sound today.
Bursik really worries me.
Paulie Walnuts
What's your point?
That it was a ****ing ridiculous shout from many posters.
NC1875
But people were telling us that we’ve absolutely improved the goalkeeper and defence before they’d seen them play?
Agree, we’d played pub teams and everyone was telling us we’d improved and to calm down.
I’m so glad the windows open for another week, this is the week when we sign all the quality 😂
Like that’s usually happened before.
I look forward to the bus load of loan signings coming in this week.
**** show
The Captain....
The psychology of the club is so weak, from top down. We should have been able to see this out, we've not been great but should still have won this. Desperate.
Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk
Looks like we really haven’t changed from last season
Absolute typical us
Wonder what pish will be spouted after the game by Gray
ChicoM1875
24-08-2024, 03:55 PM
Not even O’Hora?
O'Hora's fault, but we should have went for the jugular instead of defending for the last 20
That it was a ****ing ridiculous shout from many posters.
Good of you to point that out to them then!
LunasBoots
We may have a point but let's not let it paper over the cracks, that was a tough watch
Paulie Walnuts
Good of you to point that out to them then!
I did at the time.
K-Zazu
GTF Campbell
Another embarrassment.
While I didn't like the previous managers, I can at least see the method to the madness in appointing them all. The same goes for Gray.
I'm at the point now where if SDG can't get a tune out of a Hibs squad I'm not sure anyone will until the problems above the manager are finally sorted.
OtleyHibs
2 points thrown away
That's on the manager for me
24-08-2024, 03:56 PM
FT **** off
HendoDelivered
GTF Campbell
?
Absolutely shocker of a decision to defend. Im absolutely fuming right now, :grr::grr::grr::grr:.
EMBARRASSING.
Boos ring out around the stadium as ft whistle is blown.
ChuckNor
Bursic’s goal kick caused that goal. Does the basics and it ends 2-1
Same old, same old. We can’t defend let’s throw on more defenders to see out a 1 goal lead.
hibeez1875
We could play 10 at the back and still ship bucket loads
NC1875
So glad we gave him the job. He’s learned from all the coaches he worked under previously people keep telling us.
Learned how to chuck a lead and draw 2-2 from Montgomery clearly.
Will be gone by Xmas.
24-08-2024, 03:57 PM
Gray is responsible for that, no need to change the defence at all
Don't think McCowan is any kind of answer. Nothing special. Only got a kick when Kwon went off.
Campbell a man down when he came on. Missed Myko when he went off too. Not great subs.
Up-the-slope
shame we could not see that out
While I didn't like the previous managers, I can at least see the method to the madness in appointing them all. The same goes for Gray.
I'm at the point now where if SDG can't get a tune out of a Hibs squad I'm not sure anyone will until the problems above the manager are finally sorted.
Ok, what problems above the managers head lead directly to us not getting the three points today?
There are clearly issues but today is on the coach and the players.
Easy to say now, but as soon as we took a striker off for a defender I wasn't confident we’d hold out for the draw. Really pissed off at that.
There's the boos. Gray will be out soon enough if something major doesn't happen to sort that defence. THat change invited pressure needlessly but too many players in this side swtich off at the worst times.
Very typical of Hibs to throw away two points at home, surprised we didn't lose it at the end.
Another disappointing Saturday.
The Captain....
Bursik really worries me.He's up with the worst I've seen in my time watching us. Indecisive, reaction times slow and anything on target seems to go in. Tbf he's no too bad at crosses from what I've seen but he gives me massive fear kicking or with the ball at his feet.
Awful from O’Hora for the goal
Can’t be wrong side there
I now positively dread us taking a lead in a game going into the last minutes
Boos ring out around the stadium as ft whistle is blown.
That won't make the slightest difference
K-Zazu
?
Keeps giving the ball away??
supermcginn
24-08-2024, 03:58 PM
Garbage, hanging on at home for a draw against Dundee what has happened this club.
At least we'll have McCowan in midfield next week.
Shat the bed. Feels like a loss.
Loser mentality.
We are awful at defending so why invite them to attack.
Honestly we are our own worst enemy at times.
Get everything we deserve.
Terrible result considering we were well on top when we scored. Gray has to take most of the blame. He won’t last if he shows poor managership.
Hes never a 1st team keeper, brutal. Thing is I thought we bought decent players tae?
supermcginn
Don't think McCowan is any kind of answer. Nothing special. Only got a kick when Kwon went off.
Campbell a man down when he came on. Missed Myko when he went off too. Not great subs.
Campbell was dreadful when he came on and should have buried that chance.
24-08-2024, 03:59 PM
O’Hora defends properly it ends 2-1?
Southernhibee
Well that’s just typical snatching defeat from the jaws of victory. If we get beaten by Kilmarnock next week Gray’s coat will be on a shoogly nail. He should never have been appointed wrong man, wrong time and no experience. Typical Hibs do the cheap thing.
That's all on O'Hora
tonyrougier123
Sign two cbs merely because they are available in a position we’ve needed quality for years you are dicing with trouble. If we get to next week and bevan and a loan striker is the answer to this stramash we are in soapy!
24-08-2024, 04:00 PM
Point in the board. Better than nothing.
There's the boos. Gray will be out soon enough if something major doesn't happen to sort that defence. THat change invited pressure needlessly but too many players in this side swtich off at the worst times.
Agreed, we have to something about this, going to be another managerial change by the looks of it 🤔🙄
That's all on O'Hora
Was just about to post we’d defended well the second half as well. Then boom, mistake yet again and 2-2
Sign two cbs merely because they are available in a position we’ve needed quality for years you are dicing with trouble. If we get to next week and bevan and a loan striker is the answer to this stramash we are in soapy!
You actually believe that? Or do you think we might have scouted them first?
They haven't been good enough yet but you are just making stories up now!
Greenio
Shame
Really should have seen that out.
Wont join folk slaying the manager. I think its the right move to firm the back more. Its a common move. Its down to the players.
Frustrating.
2 things, Bowie is class and no, we wont get relegated!
Poor game overall and that's on both teams, but Hibs, oh dear that team has bottom 6 written all over it, the defence has not improved, the players don't seem to be able to do the basics.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2024, 04:01 PM
O’Hora caught on the wrong side of Murray . Unlucky from Campbell hitting the bar . Thought Boyle had decent game .
When gray is replaced by an actual manager we will fly up that league. I honestly believe that.
Easy to say now, but as soon as we took a striker off for a defender I wasn't confident we’d hold out for the draw. Really pissed off at that.
Agreed, seems to unsettle things when that happens and did exactly that today.
24-08-2024, 04:02 PM
Point in the board. Better than nothing.
Loser mentality- we should have won that game
K-Zazu
24-08-2024, 04:02 PM
O’Hora caught on the wrong side of Murray . Unlucky from Campbell hitting the bar . Thought Boyle had decent game .
Campbell hit the bar, but he was absolutely honking kept getting outmuscled in the middle of the park.
24-08-2024, 04:03 PM
Loser mentality- we should have won that game
We didn't lose it either 😁
It was a ridiculous sub and then Rocky and Marv going for the same ball in the air right after it set the tone and the panic set in.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
When gray is replaced by an actual manager we will fly up that league. I honestly believe that.
I don’t - as we still have some very bang average players - a dodgy keeper and defenders who can’t defend plus a midfield which has Joe Newell.
Shame
Wont join folk slaying the manager. I think its the right move to firm the back more. Its a common move. Its down to the players.
Frustrating.
That wasn't down to the players some are really pi5h aye but it was Gray that changed the formation for us to defend when we have an utter shambolic defence, its squarely on Gray this one. UTTER UTTER pi5h
Should just have kept Montgomery as nothings really different. Large spells in a game where we’re woeful. Smaller spells where we look ok, some individual moments and an inability to see games out.
Paulie Walnuts
Shame
Frustrating.
I don’t think anyone would argue that trying to improve us defensively was a wise move. The argument would be that the players we signed absolutely haven’t done that, despite how much people tried to convince us they had before they’d even seen them.
TrumpIsAPeado
Almost every goal we concede seems like a free gift for the opposition. We can't concede goals like these over the course of the season and expect to be anywhere other than in a scrap at the bottom. Somethings got to change and change quickly.
We didn't lose it either 😁
Walking back from game and that was 2 points dropped.
NC1875
24-08-2024, 04:04 PM
Campbell hit the bar, but he was absolutely honking kept getting outmuscled in the middle of the park.
Should be playing for Tranent Juniors or similar. Terrible player and part of the reason we are absolutely *****. Along with many others mind you.
at least we've moved up to 2nd bottom
#progress
hopefully move up at least a few places by the season end
This is why I don’t like rocky being our back up CB
The whole team throws a wobbly when he comes on
Loser mentality.
Soft as ****.
Hibs.
Green-Hibee-7
I have no evidence to back it up as fact, only how it feels. We constantly lose goals very early or just before half/full time. Constantly at the wrong time.
I think we are honking. Cannot pass the ball. Look petrified and cannot defend. That is a mix for disaster.
24-08-2024, 04:05 PM
Ok, what problems above the managers head lead directly to us not getting the three points today?
There are clearly issues but today is on the coach and the players.
We've signed a horrific goalkeeper in my opinion, two centre halves that also cannot defend. Obviously we can ask the question on who signs who between Gray/McKay/Gordon etc but recruitment is once again killing us, that's before you even consider the hangover we have of the previous windows that means our choices off the bench are as bad as they are.
24-08-2024, 04:05 PM
Shame
Frustrating.
Agree with this
Putting another centre half on in the last 10 isn’t mental
A centre half getting on the wrong side of a striker is
Cabbage-Patch
24-08-2024, 04:06 PM
Sorry but yet again naive from Gray. We were comfortable and pushing for a third then he brings another CB on and invites Dundee pressure and it backfired. Gray will be out before October at this rate. How on earth can our defence actually be worse than last season
Well that wasn't game management. Take a point but when you are as gaffe prone as we are attack is the best form of defence.
Wee word for Josh Campbell with that great effort, unlucky son.
2-2 is s decent result. SDG is a legend who is well out of his depth courtesy of our horrendous owners / board who could not run a a Sunday League club. Responsibility for failings on the pitch bypassed the Hibs manager long time ago.
Agree with this
Putting another centre half on in the last 10 isn’t mental
A centre half getting on the wrong side of a striker is
We were well in control of the game at that point. As soon as we made the change we were sitting deep and under pressure. It was a brutal decision from Gray.
Ohora getting wrong side of Murray has absolutely nothing to do with Rocky
HendoDelivered
We’ve said that about the last 3/4 managers.
Why does it feel like a defeat? We have got some decent players but were not getting the best out of them or they don't know what they are supposed to be doing, what?
Bugger it, away firra bevvy. Better get aff Hibsnet before I say something that gets me more penalty points.
Lendo
24-08-2024, 04:07 PM
So glad we gave him the job. He’s learned from all the coaches he worked under previously people keep telling us.
Learned how to chuck a lead and draw 2-2 from Montgomery clearly.
Will be gone by Xmas.
Xmas?! We’ll be ****ing relegated by then. He’ll be gone by the end of September.
Donegal Hibby
Thought he done alright and unlucky not to score . Each to their own opinions though.
HendoDelivered
2-2 is s decent result. SDG is a legend who is well out of his depth courtesy of our horrendous owners / board who could not run a a Sunday League club. Responsibility for failings on the pitch bypassed the Hibs manager long time ago.
Aye, this as well for me.
Helensburghhibs
Last 5 minutes summed our club up unfortunately. On top since the first changes, on the back foot as soon as we go defensive. Joe newell is the biggest issue for me, no drive and takes no responsibility. He's a back up standard at best
24-08-2024, 04:09 PM
Thought he done alright and unlucky not to score . Each to their own opinions though.
No way you think Campbell played alright? Surely?
Its absolutely fine rating a player but its also fine to call them out for a poor performance.
He's here!
24-08-2024, 04:10 PM
Not with that defence shipping goals. 10 in four games against top flight opposition, half of them to St Mirren and Dundee.
2-2 against Dundee right now isn’t a bad result and one I’m pretty sure we all would have accepted before kick off.
It’s going to take time, we have to be patient.
100% on the manager and his substitutions. Take off attacking players for defenders and invited Dundee 20 yards further up the park. The defence looked all over the place after the subs, I'm not sure that they had any ideas where they were playing.
Donegal Hibby
Was he on when we had a wobbly with their first goal ?
If I see that GK play 1 more minute for Hibs I'll be fuming. Yet another game in a row where he's been weak as piss.
Hierarchy of blame for me:
Grays daft change of shape
O'Hora's dreadful defending at the end
Bursik the invisible goal keeper
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
tonyrougier123
24-08-2024, 04:11 PM
Scouted?mk dons conceded like confetti and Blackpool weren’t much better,what have the scouts seen?🤷*♂️. Both need to improve massively.
Cabbage-Patch
If you think a draw at home to Dundee is a decent result then shows you how much of a mess we are in. They were there for the taking and we capitulated again. I don't blame Gray for how bad the squad is but he has to shoulder some of the flack for the in game management. We were comfortable. You don't change shape when you aren't under pressure.
OstKurve Hibs
2-2 against Dundee right now isn’t a bad result and one I’m pretty sure we all would have accepted before kick off.
Most of us are sick to the back teeth of being ****in patient
How did the Hearts do against Dundee ? Maybe were not so bad after all
24-08-2024, 04:12 PM
yep scouted them on the PC from a nice comfy armchair
:)
The Tubs
24-08-2024, 04:12 PM
We couldn't keep the ball in the last fifteen minutes. Levitt might have been handy to bring on.
tonyrougier123
24-08-2024, 04:13 PM
Its absolutely fine rating a player but its also fine to call them out for a poor performance.
Should’ve started 100%
BKFC will be watching on with interest.
If I see that GK play 1 more minute for Hibs I'll be fuming. Yet another game in a row where he's been weak as piss.
Hierarchy of blame for me:
Grays daft change of shape
O'Hora's dreadful defending at the end
Bursik the invisible goal keeper
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
Said the same for the equaliser.
I know it’s harsh and it’s not like I expected him to save it, but you just knew it was a goal.
He came out slow with his legs spread so wide it made Murray’s decision easy
Shame
Frustrating.
This sort of post won't do. More hysteria please, 35 games to go.
Conceding late equalisers has been a Hibs curse for, at least, 25 years. Lord knows what it is, but no manager or combination of defenders has been able to address it in the medium/long term.
TrumpIsAPeado
24-08-2024, 04:14 PM
How did the Hearts do against Dundee ? Maybe were not so bad after all
Or they're just as rotten as we are. But they'll scrap for every point just to finish above us, while we won't.
yep scouted them on the PC from a nice comfy armchair
Yeah of course we did 🙄
We couldn't keep the ball in the last fifteen minutes. Levitt might have been handy to bring on.
It’s just shows how the game turns out
If we put Levitt on at 2-1 and conceded people would be going mental that he offers nothing defensively and we should have been more solid
2-2 isn’t a decent result when you’re in the last 5 minutes of the game at home to Dundee
They aren’t ****ing world beaters, they’re Dundee
Talking about loser mentality!!
Hibees1973
Keep hearing from different parts of the club that they are learning from their mistakes. The whole club has made plenty of them in the last 3 - 4 years.
Doesn't look like it to me. To bring on another defender with 3 minutes to go invites the opposition on to you, shows up the psychology of the manager and disrupts the organisation of the whole defence. Not only do we lose early goals we continue to lose late goals. All new defenders signed & the goalkeeper are not any better than what we punted. I'd be surprised if Gray is the guy to change this given he has been involved in the last few management groups.
Learning from their mistakes.
Do me a favour.
24-08-2024, 04:15 PM
I know it’s harsh and it’s not like I expected him to save it, but you just knew it was a goal.
The angle was in his favour. Another example of him not being the biggest culprit for a goal but being the final nail in the coffin because he can't stop anything.
Levitt wasn’t available today due to family reasons so we cant use that against Gray.
delaCalz
Campbell was poor, lost the ball on several occasions and for Dundee's equalised. Also blowing out his arse when on for the last half hour which is baffling imo
2-2 isn’t a decent result when you’re in the last 5 minutes of the game at home to Dundee
They aren’t ****ing world beaters, they’re Dundee
Talking about loser mentality!!
Completely agree, no way is that a decent result.
24-08-2024, 04:16 PM
2 2 at home to Dundee is a ***** result. They had a decent season last year and are OK but fir **** sake a good result. No chance
The Tubs
Levitt wasn’t available today due to family reasons so we cant use that against Gray.
Who are BKFC?
24-08-2024, 04:17 PM
I swear I've seen variants of this post every week for the last three years.
Donegal Hibby
Thought we looked better in the 2nd half even with Campbell on than we did in the opening 20 , 30 minutes and he was unlucky not to score .
Thought today was more individual mistakes from defenders that’s cost us rather than the midfield.
hibIBZ
Are you kidding?? If we are willing to accept draws at home to pretty much anybody outside rangers and Celtic then as a club we are in a truly awful position.
24-08-2024, 04:19 PM
Rookie mistake from a rookie manager. Under no pressure and he takes a forward off and puts a defender on. We sit back and they come at us. Nothing like telling the opposition you are panicking
Most of us are sick to the back teeth of being ****in patient
Blackpoolhibs would agree ☺
Pish. Exactly the same as what we saw last season. A 2-2 draw with a late equaliser and it won’t be the last time.
We have quality up front but we haven’t improved in the slightest defensively. We don’t look like a team, we’re disorganised and rely on moments. Lack of character.
Terrible sub from Gray. So negative.
Greenio
24-08-2024, 04:20 PM
You want to blame a player for the goal? Then blame the one that let the striker strike from 6 yards out
24-08-2024, 04:21 PM
Just reminded me of the Monty era. Drawing games that we should have seen out through tactical mistakes.
NC1875
24-08-2024, 04:22 PM
Aye no bother 👍🏼 we’ll maybe beat the mighty Dundee next season.
You trust the process
with only 35 games remaining we're on course to play one of the following in the play-off final :greengrin
Falkirk
Livingston
Queen's Park
hope it's Livi, enjoy a wee trip to Livingston
Are you kidding?? If we are willing to accept draws at home to pretty much anybody outside rangers and Celtic then as a club we are in a truly awful position.
Yup. Can confirm the day I accept a draw at home against Dundee before kick off is the day I jack it all in
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2024, 04:23 PM
Aye no bother 👍🏼 we’ll maybe beat the mighty Dundee next season.
You trust the process
Why next season?
24-08-2024, 04:23 PM
Who are BKFC?
Black Knights
24-08-2024, 04:24 PM
We remain the soft touches of Scottish football and the team everyone wants to play every week. Losers, I’m afraid.
supermcginn
24-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Should’ve started 100%
Is that you Josh?
24-08-2024, 04:27 PM
This culture of trying to hold on to a one goal lead has been a feature of the Club for a good few years now. Unfortunately our Manager is very much part of that culture
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2024, 04:28 PM
Sorry, but…. wtf?
24-08-2024, 04:29 PM
You want to blame a player for the goal? Then blame the one that let the striker strike from 6 yards out
I’ve repeatedly blamed O’Hora for the goal and said it’s all on him.
My point in Bursik is I just knew it was a goal
24-08-2024, 04:29 PM
Should’ve started 100%
You're either trolling or his Mum 😂
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2024, 04:30 PM
I said that last week.
For all people think Gray will be given plenty time, I actually think the fact BKFC didn’t want him could see him given even less time than others. 30% of our ownership (or whatever it was they bought) and 2 out of 5 of our board members didn’t want him. I don’t think it’s beyond the realms of possibility that they’ll be piling on the pressure early to get him out if it doesn’t work.
Very little football played by a very poor Hibs side that still can't pass or cross a ball. There is no anticipation and very little desire amongst the players with little tempo to their play. Added to that they are soft and shy away from tackles even when they are in their favour!
David Gray is unfortunately just another in a long line of Hibs managers who are well out of their depth, we will struggle all season with him at the helm.
Changing a forward for a defender to see out the game ( which we are rarely ever able to do) handed the game back to Dundee and shows his negativity and lack of belief. I don't believe he'll achieve anything, no matter how long he's given.
It's going to be a very long season as things stand.
NC1875
24-08-2024, 04:31 PM
Why next season?
The happy clappers telling us to be patient.
Patient to beat the mighty Dundee.
We’ve been more than patient. It’s beyond a joke.
McKay has come in. The signings aren’t any better
Gray has come in. The coaching, subs, style of play isn’t any better.
Just the same old ****show we’ve had ever since Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell had anything to do with Hibs.
Clowns like Newell getting new contracts and the captaincy. Laughable
A shambles of a football team from top to bottom.
Hibee Daft
This culture of trying to hold on to a one goal lead has been a feature of the Club for a good few years now. Unfortunately our Manager is very much part of that culture
True, why I like Neil Lennon and Stubbs both kept going forward.
tonyrougier123
24-08-2024, 04:32 PM
You're either trolling or his Mum 😂
Call it how I see it,started very weak, rudi starting was a mistake should’ve been Josh.
Basildon Hibs
Pish. Exactly the same as what we saw last season. A 2-2 draw with a late equaliser and it won’t be the last time.
We have quality up front but we haven’t improved in the slightest defensively. We don’t look like a team, we’re disorganised and rely on moments. Lack of character.
Terrible sub from Gray. So negative.
Don't forget, our midfield is utter pish tae.😁
The Captain....
Looks like we've tried to save money on defensive replacements to bring in quality further up the park.
It's costing us dear so far..a keeper and defence that seem to fold under any sort of pressure. Why can't we ever strengthen the spine of the team and add from there? There's times in games we're in it, but then the lack of leaders and structure undoes our chances.
It's been a recurring theme for so long.
24-08-2024, 04:34 PM
Call it how I see it,started very weak, rudi starting was a mistake should’ve been Josh.
Rudi was much better than Campbell today.
tonyrougier123
24-08-2024, 04:35 PM
Now that’s trolling
Specsavers tomorrow for you then.
Cabbage-Patch
Feels mad to say this after 4 games but the whole team just has a whiff of inevitable relegation about it. Even this early. Asides a few exceptions (Bowie, Rudi etc) squad just feels miles off it and unbalanced.
Kwon will likely prove to be a good signing but he's one player. Hoilett and Youan will strengthen us when fit again but won't make a shred of difference with a naive manager and bombscare defence. 6 days to the window closes and despite 9 signings we need strengthening in pretty much every position still.
Greenio
I’ve repeatedly blamed O’Hora for the goal and said it’s all on him.
My point in Bursik is I just knew it was a goal
Got ya. Thought you were saying Bursik was at fault.
Bridge hibs
24-08-2024, 04:36 PM
Just the same old ****show we’ve had ever since Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell had anything to do with Hibs.
Clowns like Newell getting new contracts and the captaincy. LaughableYou have been patient ? 🤣
ionahibby
24-08-2024, 04:36 PM
I thought we played ok today some defensive frailties but nothing time and a run of games won’t fix. A hard fought point against an in form team. Not sure why folk are unhappy tbh.
ChuckNor
24-08-2024, 04:39 PM
Glass half full for me. Thought we looked very good against a really solid team second half. Plenty to build on.
NC1875
24-08-2024, 04:42 PM
You have been patient ? 🤣
What’s funny ?
Last season. *****. 2 managers sacked
The season before. *****. 2 managers sacked
I don’t know what you define as patient. Glad you find it funny though. Clown
hhibs
24-08-2024, 04:45 PM
I thought we played ok today some defensive frailties but nothing time and a run of games won’t fix. A hard fought point against an in form team. Not sure why folk are unhappy tbh.
Hard to believe that view,you must be on the some medication.
24-08-2024, 04:46 PM
What’s funny ?
Last season. *****. 2 managers sacked
The season before. *****. 2 managers sacked
I don’t know what you define as patient. Glad you find it funny though. Clown"Clown" ?
I get we're no happy but "clown"?
Jeezo
24-08-2024, 04:47 PM
Feels mad to say this after 4 games but the whole team just has a whiff of inevitable relegation about it. Even this early. Asides a few exceptions (Bowie, Rudi etc) squad just feels miles off it and unbalanced.
Kwon will likely prove to be a good signing but he's one player. Hoilett and Youan will strengthen us when fit again but won't make a shred of difference with a naive manager and bombscare defence. 6 days to the window closes and despite 9 signings we need strengthening in pretty much every position still.
Inevitable relegation 😃
LEaston87
24-08-2024, 04:50 PM
The first half performance was abysmal.
24-08-2024, 04:50 PM
Gray on the radio saying a positive is as the weeks go on the squad will get fitter. Why are we not fit now Dave?
24-08-2024, 04:51 PM
I could understand the sub if we were under the cosh but we weren’t.
It was a needless change to a team that can’t defend as it is. Inviting pressure on.
Was on Gray for me. Hopefully he learns.
supermcginn
24-08-2024, 04:51 PM
100 percent, he's much younger but is much more composed and has much more ability.
24-08-2024, 04:52 PM
Gray must have found Lee Johnson's phrase book down the back of the lockers at East Mains.
24-08-2024, 04:52 PM
Gray on the radio saying a positive is as the weeks go on the squad will get fitter. Why are we not fit now Dave?
And aren’t the teams we’re playing in the same boat? Or is it just us that’s unfit?
In fact, we should’ve been 10x fitter than St Mirren when we played them considering they played in Europe midweek and they still pumped us.
New manager, same **** excuses.
24-08-2024, 04:53 PM
Inevitable relegation 😃
I agree, ‘inevitable’ is a bit premature but ‘highly possible’ is definitely not out of the question. It might be a couple of seasons before we can think about a top six campaign.
24-08-2024, 04:54 PM
Not decent when were winning 2-1 with 5 mins ago.
The Captain....
24-08-2024, 04:55 PM
Inevitable relegation [emoji2]Hyperbole obviously, but understandable given the quality of the defence, keeper and our lack of options in midfield.
I am seriously worried about the spine of the team..we desperately need to bring in an experienced keeper on loan and find a leader at CH.
I don't think we'll be relegated..but even bottom 6 is a disgrace given the resources.
24-08-2024, 04:56 PM
Pathetic tbh squad should be fit by now! Fk knows what they do at training.
delaCalz
24-08-2024, 04:57 PM
Exactly, I'm amazed how many of them are blowing out their arse compared to the Dundee players. Campbell was ****ed and only played 30mins. Alarming
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2024, 04:58 PM
Sounds like a manager who’s already feeling the pressure.
I honestly am so disappointed that the idiots in charge of our club gave Gray the job. It was a shambolic, senseless decision and it’s a certainty to end in tears. It’s not the way it should end at Hibs for SDG.
I genuinely think he could be gone by October.
24-08-2024, 04:58 PM
I could understand the sub if we were under the cosh but we weren’t.
It was a needless change to a team that can’t defend as it is. Inviting pressure on.
Was on Gray for me. Hopefully he learns.
He’s had plenty time to learn. This ain’t some new manager that’s came in and still getting to grips with the squad. He’s been part of the last few failed coaching teams, seen these issues first hand and he’s still making them.
The Tubs
24-08-2024, 05:00 PM
100 percent, he's much younger but is much more composed and has much more ability.
I thought he didn’t use the ball particularly well today but his strength and low centre of gravity are definite advantages.
24-08-2024, 05:01 PM
I honestly am so disappointed that the idiots in charge of our club gave Gray the job. It was a shambolic, senseless decision and it’s a certainty to end in tears. It’s not the way it should end at Hibs for SDG.
Just using him to deflect from their own incompetence to take the heat off. Hung out to dry, just like his predecessors.
The pressure needs to be put on the board.
hhibs
24-08-2024, 05:03 PM
Yep,could well be.
https://youtu.be/fxBE2EZ3UFA?si=x_D461Ilas0qU_px
Maybe we will see some defensive reinforcements come in
The Tubs
We didn’t lose a goal from a passback today. That’s surely progress.
24-08-2024, 05:04 PM
I think it will be October at the latest with the international break. The only question for me is resign, mutual termination or sack.
Canny play half decent for 20 minutes of a 90 minute game and expect to win.
Same failings as last season happening still. Little to zero change despite 7/8 players being signed.
I suppose that’s what happens when there’s a continuity about the squad and the management to a certain extent.
It appears (at this early stage) that SDG has picked up the same bad habits as those he’s learnt his trade from.
I expected a lot more so far from a David Gray hibs team. I expected it full of fight and passion despite the lack in quality and we just aren’t getting it. For him to say that was a positive reeks of something Monty would’ve said.
I’m not putting this on him but between the players, the management team and the board, we need a whole lot more.
As far the fans calling it a decent result, as a collective we need expectations to be a lot higher
Our next 3 league games.
Killie (A), St.Johnstone (H), Rangers (A). We have to win our next 2 league games.
Just using him to deflect from their own incompetence to take the heat off. Hung out to dry, just like his predecessors.
The pressure needs to be put on the board.
Whilst I agree in general I would be surprised if anyone on the board was responsible for that ridiculous substitution today.
Not sure we should be the club where he learns by his mistakes.
24-08-2024, 05:05 PM
It's like Hibs think the season starts at the beginning of October.
Absolutely boils my piss, but he's not actually wrong. We will probably be fitter and better by then, after up to 20 points have been frittered away.
24-08-2024, 05:09 PM
Whilst I agree in general I would be surprised if anyone on the board was responsible for that ridiculous substitution today.
Not sure we should be the club where he learns by his mistakes.
Gray was sitting in the dug out when Monty made the same errors. Gray was part of the post match analysis analysing those very errors yet he’s now driving those very same mistakes.
24-08-2024, 05:09 PM
Pathetic how folk are already after Gray. Speculating on when he'll leave. Get a grip.
Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2024, 05:14 PM
Pathetic how folk are already after Gray. Speculating on when he'll leave. Get a grip.
Nobody is ‘after’ him. I don’t want him to get sacked. I think there’s absolutely an inevitability about it though and I’m not going to just sit here and pretend I don’t think that incase it upsets someone.
We need to address the middle of the park before the window closes. Zero leadership, zero passing ability, just zero.
I don’t know how anyone can defend that today.
Captain invisible at his very best along with many others.
NC1875
24-08-2024, 05:18 PM
We need to address the middle of the park before the window closes. Zero leadership, zero passing ability, just zero.
He won a free kick though which Boyle scored from. Best midfielder at the club etc
24-08-2024, 05:20 PM
What would David Gray have thought if he had been playing at right back and the manager started messing around with the back 4 when we’re 2-1 up and in the ascendency with 8 minutes to go? It was completely self inflicted but the 2 centre backs, goalkeeper and Miller are not good enough. Gray has to take responsibility for the ridiculous substitution though.
McCowan improves us hugely if we get him but there are many more problems needing addressed unfortunately.
24-08-2024, 05:23 PM
Newell was fine today. Won the free kick to equalise. Good ball over to Boyle which 30 seconds later we scored our 2nd. Plenty good passes.
Obita needs dropped. Woeful again.
24-08-2024, 05:28 PM
A number of them haven’t played much Kwon Bowie Kuka
24-08-2024, 05:29 PM
A number of them haven’t played much Kwon Bowie Kuka
The manager said ‘the squad’.
Newell was fine today. Won the free kick to equalise. Good ball over to Boyle which 30 seconds later we scored our 2nd. Plenty good passes.
I will agree about Obita. And woeful is being kind.
As for Newell, yes he won the free kick but that’s it for me. Does nowhere near enough and as captain I expect more a lot more and I don’t think that’s too much to ask.
24-08-2024, 05:30 PM
The first half performance was abysmal.
It absolutely was, we were lucky we weren’t 3 down and out of it. It looked shambolic. Better more urgency in the second half until Gray inexplicably gave them the initiative with a shocking substitution decision.
24-08-2024, 05:31 PM
I wonder who will get the blame when Newell is replaced with McCowan and we're still conceding soft as ***** goals.
NC1875
24-08-2024, 05:31 PM
Might’ve guessed you’d be on defending him. Another non performance from our “best midfielder” and captain 🥱
coldingham hibs
24-08-2024, 05:33 PM
For the majority of the game we looked like a pub team who get their tactics an hour before kick off, actually a pub team might be able to string a couple of passes together so maybe I’m being harsh on pub teams.
coldingham hibs
24-08-2024, 05:35 PM
Hopefully someone will try & sign Campbell this week and we won’t have to watch him again, no surprise if there are no offers.
Chorley Hibee
24-08-2024, 05:36 PM
It's like Hibs think the season starts at the beginning of October.
Absolutely boils my piss, but he's not actually wrong. We will probably be fitter and better by then, after up to 20 points have been frittered away.
Same every year, it's like groundhog day.
We even have fans on here saying "the season starts today".
No, the season started in July, so why, yet again, are we not ready for it, and why are we so ****ing slow and unfit?
Loser mentality throughout.
24-08-2024, 05:37 PM
Same every year, it's like groundhog day.
We even have fans on here saying "the season starts today".
No, the season started in July, so why, yet again, are we not ready for it, and why are we so ****ing slow and unfit?
Loser mentality throughout.
It’s the 2-2 is a decent result. I honestly wonder what expectations are if chucking away 3 points like that is a decent result
24-08-2024, 05:40 PM
Might’ve guessed you’d be on defending him. Another non performance from our “best midfielder” and captain 🥱
Pretty impactful performance actually. If McCowan wins that free kick and Dundee score the passion, drive and urgency merchants on here would be flicking their beans over it.
Same as if Newell got brushed aside like McCowan did by Bowie, this place would be burning down.
Id rather get stick for supporting a Hibs player than stick for hating one. Enjoy your evening folks.
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2024, 05:41 PM
Probably get slated for this though the amount of money we are talking about for McCowan I didn’t think he particularly stood out in the game today .
24-08-2024, 05:43 PM
You didn’t see this coming? The longer he persists with this midfield the less chance he has of survival.
It’s not like we all didn’t know this.
hhibs
24-08-2024, 05:44 PM
[QUOTE=Donegal Hibby;7752417]Probably get slated for this though the amount of money we are talking about for McCowan I didn’t think he particularly stood out in the game today .[/QUOT
Thought Cameron looked brighter,
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2024, 05:45 PM
Clowns like Newell getting new contracts and the captaincy. Laughable
We are after drawing with Dundee , we did last year too and beat them twice , still don’t get why we have to wait till next season to beat them though ? :confused:
Donegal Hibby
24-08-2024, 05:46 PM
[QUOTE=Donegal Hibby;7752417]Probably get slated for this though the amount of money we are talking about for McCowan I didn’t think he particularly stood out in the game today .[/QUOT
Thought Cameron looked brighter,
So did I actually
Hibees1973
24-08-2024, 05:47 PM
Every manager must dread being interviewed after a poor performance and in particular when conceding a late goal. Most come out and talk p*ish, quote cliches or even some ridiculous statement which does not make sense.
As our manager its apparent already Gray is no different.
24-08-2024, 05:48 PM
Probably get slated for this though the amount of money we are talking about for McCowan I didn’t think he particularly stood out in the game today .
He was tidy enough and kept the passing simple but effective. Wouldn’t be paying over 750k for him though, no chance.
Cabbage-Patch
24-08-2024, 05:51 PM
He was tidy enough and kept the passing simple but effective. Wouldn’t be paying over 750k for him though, no chance.
Any of Dundees midfield instantly improves us. McCowan, Cameron, Sylla.
24-08-2024, 05:54 PM
and yet the had to score a late equaliser, to snatch a point. How come they didn’t murder us if their entire midfield is an improvement on ours ?
24-08-2024, 05:56 PM
and yet the had to score a late equaliser, to snatch a point. How come they didn’t murder us if their entire midfield is an improvement on ours ?
You can't judge players on one off games otherwise we should be signing players from Kelty Hearts.
24-08-2024, 05:56 PM
I'm certainly not getting after him but I think it is ok to point out that his substitutions and change of shape cost us 3 points. As soon as he did it my laddie called ut. Allowed Dundeed 20 yards further up the park, invited them in to us and they pressured us till the end if the game. At 2-1 we looked comfortable and I fancied us to score a third. After the subs I was just hoping we'd hang on
24-08-2024, 05:59 PM
I'm certainly not getting after him but I think it is ok to point out that his substitutions and change of shape cost us 3 points. As soon as he did it my laddie called ut. Allowed Dundeed 20 yards further up the park, invited them in to us and they pressured us till the end if the game. At 2-1 we looked comfortable and I fancied us to score a third. After the subs I was just hoping we'd hang on
I just don’t think that sub cost us
Thought Dundee were already putting us under pressure and with main and Murray up top and extra body in their made sense. He made the sub on the 83rd minute, not straight away
O’Hora completely switched off which could happen in any position
24-08-2024, 06:00 PM
All 3 probably getting way less money than majority of our midfielders.
It looks a good balance they have - they ended up getting 1 point away from home against a team with a higher budget - Dundee definitely happier of the teams after the game.
Southernhibee
24-08-2024, 06:03 PM
Can’t say I’m surprised at the capitulation at the end of the game. It’s nothing new. However, David Gray has been part of the so called coaching side for a long time now and he appears to be doing exactly the same stuff that’s had a number of managers sacked. If we had been successful and this was part of a succession plan I could understand his appointment but clearly it isn’t. I find his TV interviews a worry as he comes across as severely under pressure and this suggests he is out of his depth. I actually agree with many posters that we are in a ‘relegation’ spiral. The longer we don’t string decent performances and results the more the pressure increases and it becomes more difficult to stop the slide. FWIW I so wanted Gray to be successful but there is absolutely nothing in how he comes across, his decision making and the results to meet that hope. His coaching results are so far very poor. He keeps saying that the team are training well and it’ll be sorted during training. There’s nothing he can do to train individuals if they’re just not good enough. In this case using a high press, high energy game might help. We ain’t doing that either which he said we would do. Other teams out fight us. We are slow, laborious and downright boring. Coaching should alleviate that but isn’t happening.
Unfortunately I think a decision will be taken next month especially after pressure from BK (they’ll say they’ve been proved right). Wouldn’t surprise me if MM was sacked as well.
Cabbage-Patch
24-08-2024, 06:04 PM
Asides Kwon who I think will be a decent signing once he's up to speed our midfield is Powderpuff with zero drive and creativity. Cameron and McCowan dictated Dundees play today and everything went through them. I think Newell would benefit having either of them alongside him but they both start over him any day for me.
andrew70
24-08-2024, 06:10 PM
https://open.substack.com/pub/andrewjeffrey/p/hibernian-2-dundee-2?r=2f20qe&utm_medium=ios
Familiar naivety costs Hibs.
jakedance
24-08-2024, 06:11 PM
Very concerning how much we were bullied in midfield today. Not particularly surprising, but very concerning.
I was hoping we’d put in a performance today but mostly just left worried about the season ahead.
24-08-2024, 06:12 PM
Can’t say I’m surprised at the capitulation at the end of the game. It’s nothing new. However, David Gray has been part of the so called coaching side for a long time now and he appears to be doing exactly the same stuff that’s had a number of managers sacked. If we had been successful and this was part of a succession plan I could understand his appointment but clearly it isn’t. I find his TV interviews a worry as he comes across as severely under pressure and this suggests he is out of his depth. I actually agree with many posters that we are in a ‘relegation’ spiral. The longer we don’t string decent performances and results the more the pressure increases and it becomes more difficult to stop the slide. FWIW I so wanted Gray to be successful but there is absolutely nothing in how he comes across, his decision making and the results to meet that hope. His coaching results are so far very poor. He keeps saying that the team are training well and it’ll be sorted during training. There’s nothing he can do to train individuals if they’re just not good enough. In this case using a high press, high energy game might help. We ain’t doing that either which he said we would do. Other teams out fight us. We are slow, laborious and downright boring. Coaching should alleviate that but isn’t happening.
Unfortunately I think a decision will be taken next month especially after pressure from BK (they’ll say they’ve been proved right). Wouldn’t surprise me if MM was sacked as well.
If we are still in the bottom 2 come October Gray might be sacked but it will be nothing to do with BK. Any manager having Hibs in the bottom 2 at that point of the season would be sacked regardless of the ownership model.
24-08-2024, 06:15 PM
It’s almost like the time Sunderland paid 3 x what Will Griggs was worth on STID on Netflix. The price tag makes it a crazy signing.
24-08-2024, 06:17 PM
Perhaps he was playing within himself….
saying that. He was still better than any midfielder we had today.
24-08-2024, 06:17 PM
I thought we were the better team second half today. And it was good to see the support get behind the team. I'm no Newell fan but I thought he drove us on in the second half. Boyle was better today also. Myko and Bowie are going to score goals for us. Unfortunately terrible individual defensive mistakes cost us again. Obita in the first half and then O'Hora at the end.
24-08-2024, 06:19 PM
I just don’t think that sub cost us
Thought Dundee were already putting us under pressure and with main and Murray up top and extra body in their made sense. He made the sub on the 83rd minute, not straight away
O’Hora completely switched off which could happen in any position
Totally agree too easy to blame the sub
24-08-2024, 06:22 PM
Very concerning how much we were bullied in midfield today. Not particularly surprising, but very concerning.
I was hoping we’d put in a performance today but mostly just left worried about the season ahead.
We never seem to have midfielders in the middle of the park though. Newell is pulled back beside the defensive midfielder and Rudi up pushing on with the forwards. Dundee always had 2 central midfielders in there dictating play between them. We have a huge hole in the middle of the pitch we have gave up in for 3 or 4 years now. Nothing has changed and David Gray is continuing with it. Baffling
24-08-2024, 06:26 PM
I’m not allowing the inexperience excuse fly for today
Gray watched Monty constantly make they kind of subs in a game around the same time and we chucked one goal leads time & time again
How he then decides to do the exact same thing today is beyond me
24-08-2024, 06:28 PM
Gray watched Monty constantly make they kind of subs in a game around the same time and we chucked one goal leads time & time again
Monty made the exact opposite sort of sub to what gray made today
Monty would put delferriere on centre mid for Jeggo, Levitt or Newell
He would take an experienced player off for Josh landers
The subs Monty was criticised for was that he never tried to shore us up and would keep us open/refuse to change formation
LunasBoots
24-08-2024, 06:37 PM
We just look pretty spineless, the club needs to address the spine of the team properly as this current spine isn't good enough, we look leaderless aswell.
Docker
24-08-2024, 06:44 PM
Totally agree too easy to blame the sub
There was a huge momentum shift with the substitution. The Dundee team moved 20 yards further up the pitch when Rocky came on. Poor defending(again) ultimately lost us the goal but we looked most likely to score next until that substitution.
24-08-2024, 06:45 PM
We just look pretty spineless, the club needs to address the spine of the team properly as this current spine isn't good enough, we look leaderless aswell.
The worrying thing is that they have tried to address it. You could argue that we had a completely new spine there today but it still looked exactly the same as last season.
We don’t look like a functioning, organised team with any kind of plan. That’s the most worrying thing for me. I can’t see it being any different to last year.
24-08-2024, 06:50 PM
It was the type of substitution Gray was always going to make and completely handed the initiative to Dundee. Myko was still winning headers and taking the pressure off the defence and midfield but once he went off it invited Dundee onto us.
24-08-2024, 06:51 PM
That was a toughie, that first half was just sheer unacceptable, I noted SDG has called the slow starts out and we need to improve. Oce we actually got going in the second half we actually looked decent for a spell and against an in form Dundee team. We looked really comfortable a goal up, then the sub and the poor kick out and yet another defender falling asleep brought us back to reality. If we're going to do anything this season we need a solid competent central defender, ekpiteta looks so uncomfortable with the ball at his feet, there was a moment when someone threw the ball to him and he looked like Bambi trying to walk for the first time. Also Miller, O'Hora and Obita fell asleep at one time or another through out the game.
Dundee have some really good players. Would welcome Simon Murray, Luke McCowan, Lyle Cameron and Sylla with open arms. Disappointing to lose the late goal but considering the way the first half went and how well Dundee are playing it could be viewed as a point gained.
24-08-2024, 07:03 PM
That was a toughie, that first half was just sheer unacceptable, I noted SDG has called the slow starts out and we need to improve. Oce we actually got going in the second half we actually looked decent for a spell and against an in form Dundee team. We looked really comfortable a goal up, then the sub and the poor kick out and yet another defender falling asleep brought us back to reality. If we're going to do anything this season we need a solid competent central defender, ekpiteta looks so uncomfortable with the ball at his feet, there was a moment when someone threw the ball to him and he looked like Bambi trying to walk for the first time. Also Miller, O'Hora and Obita fell asleep at one time or another through out the game.
Playing 2 up also helps us, made a huge difference when Bowie came on., who looks a real star. The midfield are non existent but Boyle had a bit of an improvement today. The defence is worse than ever and it’s hard to believe that’s possible.
24-08-2024, 07:04 PM
It’s one thing calling out the slow starts but what’s he doing to ensure they don’t happen??
24-08-2024, 07:05 PM
Dundee have some really good players. Would welcome Simon Murray, Luke McCowan, Lyle Cameron and Sylla with open arms. Disappointing to lose the late goal but considering the way the first half went and how well Dundee are playing it could be viewed as a point gained.
How is giving a goal away in the 90th minute from a winning position a point gained!?
Absolute defeatist attitude.
It’s 2 points dropped.
Again we’ve failed to manage the game.
24-08-2024, 07:15 PM
It’s one thing calling out the slow starts but what’s he doing to ensure they don’t happen??
Celtic home - lose a goal after 3 mins
Celtic away - lose a goal after 4 mins
Dundee home - lose a goal after 8 mins - lose a goal in last 5 mins
St Mirren away - lose a goal 3 mins after half time then 2 goals in 2 minutes.
It really is hopeless.
Mcbizz1998
24-08-2024, 07:16 PM
That’s all on SDG today I’m afraid.
The second I saw Bushiri warming up I was worried. Then Moriah-Welsh coming in before that told us that Gray was wanting to hang on in a game where we were cruising imo.
Steel learning curve.
24-08-2024, 07:17 PM
Paul Hanlon is a better centre half than any of the 3 we currently have. Another recruitment team special
24-08-2024, 07:22 PM
That’s all on SDG today I’m afraid.
The second I saw Bushiri warming up I was worried. Then Moriah-Welsh coming in before that told us that Gray was wanting to hang on in a game where we were cruising imo.
Steel learning curve.
That sub was rite out of the Montgomery handbook.
There was absolutely no reason to make a sub at that stage when we were comfortable.
delaCalz
24-08-2024, 07:26 PM
Paul Hanlon is a better centre half than any of the 3 we currently have. Another recruitment team special
LOL, he's sure ripping it up in the championship. Deary me
snedzuk
24-08-2024, 07:28 PM
There was a huge momentum shift with the substitution. The Dundee team moved 20 yards further up the pitch when Rocky came on. Poor defending(again) ultimately lost us the goal but we looked most likely to score next until that substitution.
Our players running into each other probably didn't help either.
24-08-2024, 07:30 PM
https://x.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1827398351127482756?s=48
So basically the manager wanted to put more pressure on the ball so brought on an extra central defender to put more pressure on the ball at our last line of defence a rather than at source further away from our goal?
24-08-2024, 07:31 PM
I’m still not sure why Hanlon wasn’t kept on for cover at least. Yes he was at the end of his career but at least he knew what he was doing unlike the calamity that we’ve now inherited. Amongst all the other must haves, we really need a solid experience CB and I would prefer if it was someone playing regular from this league who knew the score.
There seems to be no rhyme or reason to the way we play, at one point the keeper leaves a goal kick to be taken by the full back, who passes it to the keeper, who blasts it out of play short of half way. Still a lot of sideways passing no one seems to have the ability to play a telling forward pass and our play is slow and laboured, dull unexciting.
24-08-2024, 07:34 PM
Playing 2 up also helps us, made a huge difference when Bowie came on., who looks a real star. The midfield are non existent but Boyle had a bit of an improvement today. The defence is worse than ever and it’s hard to believe that’s possible.
O'Hora has looked decent so far but his defending at their 2nd goal was woeful. No awareness of Murray on his inside which seems inexplicable. Would need to see it again but the GK looked weak also. The shot seemed to go right through him.
NC1875
24-08-2024, 07:39 PM
https://x.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1827398351127482756?s=48
So basically the manager wanted to put more pressure on the ball so brought on an extra central defender to put more pressure on the ball at our last line of defence a rather than at source further away from our goal?
Trying to defend his **** up.
Defence starts from the front. Reducing the number of front men only invites pressure further up the park. Something we cannot deal with. Mental decision.
24-08-2024, 07:42 PM
There seems to be no rhyme or reason to the way we play, at one point the keeper leaves a goal kick to be taken by the full back, who passes it to the keeper, who blasts it out of play short of half way. Still a lot of sideways passing no one seems to have the ability to play a telling forward pass and our play is slow and laboured, dull unexciting.
The biggest concern for me today is that I thought we looked completely lacking in any plan. We basically put a lot of hopeful balls in to the box and rely on our forwards coming up with an individual moment.
Shape wise and organisation we look all over the place, more when the opposition have the ball. It concerns me because I don’t think we look a well coached team who are clear in what they are doing and that’s what I thought Gray would make us.
24-08-2024, 07:45 PM
We look like a team with little quality being managed by an inexperienced manager/head coach.
dmc1875
24-08-2024, 07:46 PM
The biggest concern for me today is that I thought we looked completely lacking in any plan. We basically put a lot of hopeful balls in to the box and rely on our forwards coming up with an individual moment.
Shape wise and organisation we look all over the place, more when the opposition have the ball. It concerns me because I don’t think we look a well coached team who are clear in what they are doing and that’s what I thought Gray would make us.
Just look at how poor our set pieces were. I can’t even remember how many times we had a corner or free kick that Dundee won the first header and broke away from our set pieces. It was constant & ridiculous and we were lucky we didn’t lose a goal from it. Amateur hour stuff.
24-08-2024, 07:48 PM
Trying to defend his **** up.
Defence starts from the front. Reducing the number of front men only invites pressure further up the park. Something we cannot deal with. Mental decision.
I totally get now why Hibs didn’t put him in front of a camera for weeks after he was announced. He’s not got that vibe of a man clued up.
We will see how much longer McPartlin etc get access to him in that manner after games. Hibs will need to manage that carefully.
We look like a team with little quality being managed by an inexperienced manager/head coach.
Sums it up 👌
24-08-2024, 07:53 PM
There was not one winner in a green and white shirt today. Not one. We are still as soft as ****. This is going to be a long long season.
24-08-2024, 07:54 PM
Just look at how poor our set pieces were. I can’t even remember how many times we had a corner or free kick that Dundee won the first header and broke away from our set pieces. It was constant & ridiculous and we were lucky we didn’t lose a goal from it. Amateur hour stuff.
Absolutely, and all comes back to lack of organisation. There were two corners is succession and for one of them we left three men up and for the next, immediately after, we left one up with Bowie not sure what he was to do.
At our own set pieces we didn’t have Kwon, who is 6ft4 in the Dundee box.
It just all stinks of bad organisation and lack of attention to detail for me.
24-08-2024, 07:59 PM
Absolutely, and all comes back to lack of organisation. There were two corners is succession and for one of them we left three men up and for the next, immediately after, we left one up with Bowie not sure what he was to do.
At our own set pieces we didn’t have Kwon, who is 6ft4 in the Dundee box.
It just all stinks of bad organisation and lack of attention to detail for me.
I didn’t get that either - leave 3 up fine. Then immediately after bring all 3 back and defend with 11 in the box nearly.
Add in the dodgy kick offs.
Couple corners were really poor today.
Miller wanting to take a throw in when Kwan had the ball and all Miller had to do was drop back a few yards to get ball but didn’t.
A lot of basics which should be easy to fix but we seems to make life hard for ourselves.
Chorley Hibee
24-08-2024, 08:01 PM
Everything about the club just seems to be a collection of stabs in the dark with the hope that we stumble upon something good.
Management choices, player recruitment, contracts, all the way down to how we play, just one big stab in the dark.
The only thing consistent is the mess we repeatedly find ourselves in.
24-08-2024, 08:06 PM
There was not one winner in a green and white shirt today. Not one. We are still as soft as ****. This is going to be a long long season.
Bowie seemed like a winner when he bounced the centre half and Mccowan away before slotting it in the goal
24-08-2024, 08:08 PM
Just seen their equaliser.
O’Hora was terrible. Zero awareness of what’s around him
How is giving a goal away in the 90th minute from a winning position a point gained!?
Absolute defeatist attitude.
It’s 2 points dropped.
Again we’ve failed to manage the game.
Because the way the first half was going I would have ripped your arm off for a point. I also think man for man Dundee may currently have a better starting 11 than us unfortunately. If that is a defeatist attitude then so be it but that is my perspective.