View Full Version : Dundee : Camperdown Stadium Project

Donegal Hibby
23-08-2024, 08:38 PM
Dundee certainly have big plans for a new 12,500 capacity stadium with an estimated cost of around 95 million will take some doing .……

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/dundees-flythrough-shows-off-impressive-new-stadium-and-a-moment-for-hibs-fans-at-hearts-expense-4755289

23-08-2024, 08:44 PM
Dundee certainly have big plans for a new 12,500 capacity stadium with an estimated cost of around 95 million will take some doing .……

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/dundees-flythrough-shows-off-impressive-new-stadium-and-a-moment-for-hibs-fans-at-hearts-expense-4755289

Pie and sky come to mind.

23-08-2024, 09:27 PM
If both clubs worked together for a joint stadium it might work, but like hibs and hearts or man city and utd it's not going to work.

23-08-2024, 09:45 PM
If both clubs worked together for a joint stadium it might work, but like hibs and hearts or man city and utd it's not going to work.

I actually think a Dundee collaboration could work. I just don’t think they are so shallow as not to be able to work together. If we were all grown up we would too, if we ensured both clubs kept their identity and separate facilities within. However, we don’t have to test he depth of the water as neither us or hearts currently need the support of the other. The Dundee clubs, I feel, do.

23-08-2024, 09:58 PM
I mean, it looks very smart to me.

But can a 12500 capacity stadium to be used for football games 20 times a year or so, a 140 room hotel on the outskirts of Dundee and what appears to be little else ever provide a return on an investment of £95m?

Surely nobody involved there has money like that just to chuck away?

23-08-2024, 10:00 PM
Pie and sky come to mind.

Peh and sky😀

You know what I hope they go for it and do it. It’s good for the game. There is nothing worse than watching Scottish football on Sky and it being broadcasted from 3rd rate stadiums.

23-08-2024, 10:12 PM

Why should both Dundee teams work together? They are no different to Us and Hearts and theres no way we would ever share a stadium and why should we and its not shallow thinking that. Having your own stadium is part of a clubs identity.

23-08-2024, 10:14 PM
Peh and sky😀

You know what I hope they go for it and do it. It’s good for the game. There is nothing worse than watching Scottish football on Sky and it being broadcasted from 3rd rate stadiums.

Might look good on TV but having to travel to a soulless edge of town stadium with no nearby Pubs etc isn’t a patch on visiting a traditional stadium in the heart of a community. I hope it never happens.

Donegal Hibby
23-08-2024, 11:00 PM
Why should both Dundee teams work together? They are no different to Us and Hearts and theres no way we would ever share a stadium and why should we and its not shallow thinking that. Having your own stadium is part of a clubs identity.

Slightly different situation I think in that the Dundee club’s stadiums are right beside one another and it probably would make sense if they shared one , downside to it might be would the pitch stand up to a game every week .

Cat Stanton
23-08-2024, 11:07 PM

Inter Milan and AC Milan.. Juventus and Torino... Roma and Lazio... Sampdoria and Genoa etc etc..

I know it's a different model - effectively council run stadia rented by clubs - but it can work, and in a wee country like Scotland, it's not a daft suggestion.

23-08-2024, 11:31 PM
Fantasy stuff. 95 bloody million :faf:

24-08-2024, 12:18 AM
Pie and sky come to mind.And and ining an anaw.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

cocteautwin
24-08-2024, 12:19 AM
£95m? They got gullible James Anderson doing the financing and Budge and JB Contracts in the build team?

24-08-2024, 12:24 AM
**** Dundee

24-08-2024, 01:06 AM
They did but United pulled out at the last minute

24-08-2024, 01:44 AM
I watched their wee video earlier on and thought it looked good. But £95m?! Ridiculous.

I'd be testing the water up there.

Albert Kidd 86’
24-08-2024, 05:16 AM
Nice reference to Sir Albert Kidd during the video if you keep an eye on the virtual screens.

Good excuse to watch his 2 goals again, he was like a man possessed. That second goal is a thing of beauty, could watch it every day till eh deh!

still gonna do them over today tho’

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XrJA1sRWMFY

24-08-2024, 05:31 AM
Aye, that'll happen.

Bridge hibs
24-08-2024, 06:02 AM
More chance of hearts winning the league cup than that ever getting built

24-08-2024, 07:49 AM

United played at city's Maine Road for a few years after OT was blitzed in the war.

The new Dundee stadium looks lovely but like most I have doubts we'll ever see it. It would also be a shame. Dens is an awful mess now but the fact they and Dundee United play on the same street is one of the wonderful quirks of the Scottish game.

Also, would Dundee ever fill a 12k stadium, regardless of how new and shiny it is?

Ralphy C
24-08-2024, 08:07 AM
Think the fact they are from the same street dilutes their identity quite a bit compared to us or even them.

24-08-2024, 08:12 AM
£95m? They got gullible James Anderson doing the financing and Budge and JB Contracts in the build team?

I think there is a large amount of new private housing in the overall development and the anticipated profits will fund the stadium build .

It should work as long as there are no Budge type characters in their group calling the shots.

24-08-2024, 08:26 AM
It looks excellent, I'd be excited by that. But..

The sheer size of some of these thing, the club and their fans are going to be rattling around in the empty spaces in there alot of the time.

This location is not well connected to the city centre, if they had direct shuttle buses running from the train station area along the riverside and out to it that would be a winner. How many away fans on a day in the city are going to want to jump on a local bus through neighbourhoods to get to the stadium on the outskirts. Zero is the answer so you effectively take a good away day and turn it into another Falkirk.

Given the location that car park is tiny, I wonder if they will allow parking in the next door leisure park which is huge.

The city view terrace is pointed directly at the sights and sounds of the kingsway 50mph traffic, lovely.

MagicSwirlingShip
24-08-2024, 08:57 AM
It looks excellent, I'd be excited by that. But..

The sheer size of some of these thing, the club and their fans are going to be rattling around in the empty spaces in there alot of the time.

This location is not well connected to the city centre, if they had direct shuttle buses running from the train station area along the riverside and out to it that would be a winner. How many away fans on a day in the city are going to want to jump on a local bus through neighbourhoods to get to the stadium on the outskirts. Zero is the answer so you effectively take a good away day and turn it into another Falkirk.

Given the location that car park is tiny, I wonder if they will allow parking in the next door leisure park which is huge.

The city view terrace is pointed directly at the sights and sounds of the kingsway 50mph traffic, lovely.

It’s got it’s own bus terminus 😂

24-08-2024, 09:04 AM
Think the fact they are from the same street dilutes their identity quite a bit compared to us or even them.

Dilutes heehaw. Ive family members who support Dundee Utd and theres no way they would want to share a stasium despite all the outsiders outlining the economic benefits blah blah.
Imagine folk suggesting Us and Hearts share a stadium.
You would think differently and its no different with Dundee and Dundee Utd

24-08-2024, 10:00 AM
I'm pretty sure that It wouldn't cost £95M to build a stadium slight larger than McDiarmid Park.

I presume most of that amount is for building work unrelated to the stadium. New housing maybe?

HFC93
24-08-2024, 10:08 AM
What's the latest with Aberdeen's new stadium? Feels like that saga has been going on most of my adult life and they don't seem to be any further forward.

Ralphy C
24-08-2024, 10:10 AM
Dilutes heehaw. Ive family members who support Dundee Utd and theres no way they would want to share a stasium despite all the outsiders outlining the economic benefits blah blah.
i never said everyone would be happy but to suggest it would be the same is wrong in my opinion, we have an affinity to Leith and that mob gorgie and "never the twain shall meet" if you like, they share a postcode. saying its the same is dismissing that affinity. All just my opinion of course.

scm70nyd1973
24-08-2024, 10:17 AM
**** Dundee

Thankfully the Poppy Pilferers didn’t do this in early May 1986

LunasBoots
24-08-2024, 10:20 AM
What's the latest with Aberdeen's new stadium? Feels like that saga has been going on most of my adult life and they don't seem to be any further forward.

Council probably don't have the funds to help now.

24-08-2024, 10:23 AM
I’m not against other teams in Scotland improving stadia and the match day experience.

Some of the stadiums facilities and crap seating is a joke to the league for the price paid.

Ok the nostalgia factor and want to avoid the soulless stadium but it will only enhance the Scottish game if..

Aberdeen - new stadium ????
Dundee teams - especially Dundee (though Dundee Utd main stand is a shocker)
Killie - away end - tight seats - currently building new training ground

Etc all improve facilities.

The bad thing is we don’t want others to catch up with our infrastructure and for new players to sign if facilities are better.

24-08-2024, 10:35 AM
A few good things have came out of Dundee, like jam and the beano, they have produced some cracking players over the years although most would be from the last century.

24-08-2024, 10:55 AM
Would only enhance Scottish football. Hopefully it happens. Selling us McCowan would help fund it 😉

24-08-2024, 11:53 AM

Are they ultras the same ones for both clubs the way the casuals used to be?

Stadium looks good. Obviously wouldn't look like that if both teams shared it though. £95 million though.....

25-08-2024, 11:25 AM
Are they ultras the same ones for both clubs the way the casuals used to be?

Stadium looks good. Obviously wouldn't look like that if both teams shared it though. £95 million though.....

Who knows, they all look the same anyway.

25-08-2024, 11:27 AM
Surely the £95m is for the stadium and all the other crap that seems to be part of the wider development. Can’t just be for a 12.5k seater stadium.

He's here!
25-08-2024, 11:36 AM

Once it was actually done fans would simply get used to it. Dens and Tannadice are long past their sell-by dates and the clubs really should be looking towards a joint venture.

25-08-2024, 12:14 PM
It’s probably £15m for the stadium and £80m for a special edition gold plated memorial lavvy for Craig Levein, in case he gets another dose of the Dens Parks up there.

27-08-2024, 03:48 AM
I’m not against other teams in Scotland improving stadia and the match day experience.

Some of the stadiums facilities and crap seating is a joke to the league for the price paid.

Ok the nostalgia factor and want to avoid the soulless stadium but it will only enhance the Scottish game if..

Aberdeen - new stadium ????
Dundee teams - especially Dundee (though Dundee Utd main stand is a shocker)
Killie - away end - tight seats - currently building new training ground

Etc all improve facilities.

The bad thing is we don’t want others to catch up with our infrastructure and for new players to sign if facilities are better.

we lucked out iirc and built the stands before demand for steel spiked from China so at a relative reduced cost. But it costs to maintain stands some of which are not as new as they once were. How much does it cost to maintain our stands? I’ve heard a figure of £1m bandied about are years ago - I’m not sure if that’s true or reasonable. £250k per stand just over £20k a month suppose it it’s security, power, repairs…

27-08-2024, 06:36 AM
we lucked out iirc and built the stands before demand for steel spiked from China so at a relative reduced cost. But it costs to maintain stands some of which are not as new as they once were. How much does it cost to maintain our stands? I’ve heard a figure of £1m bandied about are years ago - I’m not sure if that’s true or reasonable. £250k per stand just over £20k a month suppose it it’s security, power, repairs…

None of them are as new as they once were. 😉

Hibs4185
27-08-2024, 09:48 AM
Nae glass curtain though?

27-08-2024, 10:25 AM
It’s probably £15m for the stadium and £80m for a special edition gold plated memorial lavvy for Craig Levein, in case he gets another dose of the Dens Parks up there.

27-08-2024, 11:04 AM
The plans have been on the go for ages now and initially it was dependent on ground sharing with United Haven’t see recent update so. Ot sure if it’s still a pipe dream or if it’s any closer to being given green light to go ahead

hibstag
27-08-2024, 01:51 PM
May have missed this but surely it should Be named Albert Kidd Arena

27-08-2024, 01:56 PM
Not sure gold will cut it, melting point is probably too low. Might have to be well polished copper plating....