View Full Version : We are the 5th best run football club in the UK🥴
22-08-2024, 05:57 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-named-best-run-club-33505249
Clearly there are no measures in there for the football side recruiting quality football personnel.
22-08-2024, 06:02 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-named-best-run-club-33505249
Clearly there are no measures in there for the football side recruiting quality football personnel.
I first thought "oh that sounds interesting", then I saw Hearts were in 3rd place, that kind of questions the seriousness of the article. Mind you the source of the article doesn't really instill confidence that it's based on fact either.
22-08-2024, 06:22 AM
Man United are on this list.
It isn't credible at all.
22-08-2024, 07:10 AM
The fact we made it onto a list of the best run football clubs anywhere, makes it laughable for me.
22-08-2024, 07:12 AM
Quadrant fowk ken whit’s gaun oan.
22-08-2024, 07:26 AM
Clearly there are no measures in there for the football side recruiting quality football personnel.Aye, and on the front page the huns are solvent, have the most structurally sound stadium in the country and are welcoming people of all religious backgrounds to meet them in the Loudon Tavern for tea and cake.
22-08-2024, 08:58 AM
Man United are on this list.
It isn't credible at all.
Correct. Hibs and United are two of the worst run clubs in Britain. Pointless list.
Aye, and on the front page the huns are solvent, have the most structurally sound stadium in the country and are welcoming people of all religious backgrounds to meet them in the Loudon Tavern for tea and cake.
Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkStaunch cake that is.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
22-08-2024, 10:17 AM
Are we though
22-08-2024, 10:25 AM
Correct. Hibs and United are two of the worst run clubs in Britain. Pointless list.
Are we that badly run? Really?
22-08-2024, 10:28 AM
Are we that badly run? Really?
I would say so. The left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.
22-08-2024, 10:34 AM
All jokes about how bad the football is aside I do think having read the report there (click the link in the article to view it if you're interested) the one thing that does stand out to me is our high score for fan/community engagement.
Not entirely sure what exact things they'll have used to measure and score that but despite all the negatives that have happened on the park or in the recruitment side of things this past few years I still get an immense of pride seeing the work the Community Foundation does including stuff like the Christmas Day meals or Hibs Kids game days etc. It also probably highlights some of the other work that other ground level staff members are doing on a day to day basis that go unthanked or unseen because we lost a game of football a few days before it.
We don't get everything right sadly but I'm glad to see we still have community at the centre of a lot what we do.
22-08-2024, 10:39 AM
All jokes about how bad the football is aside I do think having read the report there (click the link in the article to view it if you're interested) the one thing that does stand out to me is our high score for fan/community engagement.
Not entirely sure what exact things they'll have used to measure and score that but despite all the negatives that have happened on the park or in the recruitment side of things this past few years I still get an immense of pride seeing the work the Community Foundation does including stuff like the Christmas Day meals or Hibs Kids game days etc. It also probably highlights some of the other work that other ground level staff members are doing on a day to day basis that go unthanked or unseen because we lost a game of football a few days before it.
We don't get everything right sadly but I'm glad to see we still have community at the centre of a lot what we do.
that is indeed interesting and shows how life really is all about opinions.
The work of the Community Foundation has expanded dramatically in the last year or two - they really do some fantastic stuff.
And yet, some people claim that Hibs no longer feels like a community club, or at least not as much as it used to be.
22-08-2024, 10:45 AM
Any list of “best run clubs” that includes The the rangers, cannot be taken seriously, I’d have thought
22-08-2024, 10:48 AM
The work of the Community Foundation has expanded dramatically in the last year or two - they really do some fantastic stuff.
And yet, some people claim that Hibs no longer feels like a community club, or at least not as much as it used to be.
Mmmm so are we badly run or not, I have no insider info on this, we seem to be doing not bad off the pitch, and of course I would want to see a much better team on the pitch, but also realise that this will take some time.
Hibs were always there to take money off people it is called business. The fact they do give back to the community is brilliant but not really a reflection on how well the club is run, in my humble of course.
Forgot to add that anything in the daily ranker is not worth the paper it is on.
22-08-2024, 10:55 AM
As you say it's all about opinions, but I think personally that most people who say that say it because they haven't either got great players who are local heroes to look up to in the side. That can even just be as simple as Scottish Players rather than Hibs fans as laddies.
I do understand that the club have been more aggressive in their pursuit for revenue the last few years but it was severely required to even keep pace with Hearts/Aberdeen. I don't think NordVPN ads or pricey hospitality necessarily takes away my community feeling of the club, I haven't utilised either for example or any other sponsors offerrings that I wouldn't have already.
What I have engaged with in recent times is HCF Christmas appeal, 24 hour football challenge, Hibs kids events, and it was heartwarming to see the work done by Dnipro Kids and celebrate that at Easter Road when Stevie Carr was brought out at a game and made Unsung Hero at POTY. There is still a lot of good that is either done by or at least associated in some way with Hibs that makes me proud to be a Hibs supporter, and while it is poor I won't let a bottom 6 finish tarnish that overall feeling.
22-08-2024, 11:19 AM
I would say so. The left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.
In what way do you think this?
We have made mistakes around the football side, it feels like we now have a plan in place with MM being appointed and the commercial side has certainly improved considerably.
22-08-2024, 11:36 AM
We have made mistakes around the football side, it feels like we now have a plan in place with MM being appointed and the commercial side has certainly improved considerably.
The club's second largest shareholder clearly wants more of a say in things and the club's largest shareholder doesnt want to know. Whether Foley should have more of a say is another question and there's entire threads on here about that but he clearly bought in expecting something in return.
I'm hopeful Mackay will, with his experience, bring a wee bit more stability but I just have no faith whatsoever in Kensell and his mate Ian Gordon. The commercial and hospitality developments dont change that.
22-08-2024, 11:37 AM
As you say it's all about opinions, but I think personally that most people who say that say it because they haven't either got great players who are local heroes to look up to in the side. That can even just be as simple as Scottish Players rather than Hibs fans as laddies.
I do understand that the club have been more aggressive in their pursuit for revenue the last few years but it was severely required to even keep pace with Hearts/Aberdeen. I don't think NordVPN ads or pricey hospitality necessarily takes away my community feeling of the club, I haven't utilised either for example or any other sponsors offerrings that I wouldn't have already.
What I have engaged with in recent times is HCF Christmas appeal, 24 hour football challenge, Hibs kids events, and it was heartwarming to see the work done by Dnipro Kids and celebrate that at Easter Road when Stevie Carr was brought out at a game and made Unsung Hero at POTY. There is still a lot of good that is either done by or at least associated in some way with Hibs that makes me proud to be a Hibs supporter, and while it is poor I won't let a bottom 6 finish tarnish that overall feeling.
I agree. There are loads of good things going on with the community side
22-08-2024, 11:57 AM
The problem is that it's a football club, so how well it's ran behind the scenes is largely irrelevant unless this (eventually) translates into the core business of performance on the park. Not completely of no consequence because it's good to know that things are well organised, but if we don't get it right on the park interest will decline.
22-08-2024, 12:25 PM
I agree. There are loads of good things going on with the community side
The potential is there at Hibs - we saw it with the feel good factor of the 2016 Scottish Cup win - if we even managed to be consistently better in the pitch - crowds would rise and the club would even be in a better place.
Hopefully sooner rather than later as other teams seem to have got their act together like Dundee / Killie and St Mirren.
NC1875
22-08-2024, 12:31 PM
First and foremost we’re a football club. And we’re terrible at football 🤷🏽*♂️
22-08-2024, 12:35 PM
The club's second largest shareholder clearly wants more of a say in things and the club's largest shareholder doesnt want to know. Whether Foley should have more of a say is another question and there's entire threads on here about that but he clearly bought in expecting something in return.
I'm hopeful Mackay will, with his experience, bring a wee bit more stability but I just have no faith whatsoever in Kensell and his mate Ian Gordon. The commercial and hospitality developments dont change that.More or less where I am, if we were running a catering or hospitality centre / business we might well be in the improving, most improved or best newcomer category but I'm still judging us as a football club and what I see on the pitch.