View Full Version : Match Updates Celtc vs Hibs.

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

Greenio
18-08-2024, 03:21 PM
Keeper needed to blast that away but pass back to him was awful

Real shame.

18-08-2024, 03:21 PM
I was just about to say Hibs looking a lot better, then we get comic cuts from the defence :confused:

18-08-2024, 03:22 PM
That is ridiculous. Goalie is howling there but Rocky and Marv dreadful too.

Don’t see what Rocky done wrong, goalie puts him under pressure with ball to him but he plays it across to Eky and he plays another shocker of a ball back to the goalie who just isn’t good enough.

hibee1875
Campbell showing a lot more heart than last week

Skol
If we sign a keeper I will eat my hat

18-08-2024, 03:23 PM
Sorry but we absolutely need a new keeper before the end of August. This guy will mean we'll definitely be bottom 6 and maybe even fighting against relegation.

How on earth does Boyle get to stay on the pitch?

ChuckNor
It’s a poor pass back but Bursic had the opportunity to do so much better. Basics. He is easily the worst “first choice” goalie we’ve ever signed.

Hibees1973
The goals we have given away today have be embarrassing.

Again, some will say this is Celtic, but even the likes of Ross County and St Johnstone will fancy themselves against our defence.

Is it too early to bin Bursik & Ekpiteta?

They both look woeful.

Where's Obita there? Doesn't attempt to challenge for the ball and then gets passed. Jogs back. **** like that is brutal and happens all over the pitch.

:faf: Who is scouting these players?

Will keep saying it G, no one could have possibly scouted the goalkeeper as he hasn’t played any football.

Don’t see what Rocky done wrong, goalie puts him under pressure with ball to him but he plays it across to Eky and he plays another shocker of a ball back to the goalie who just isn’t good enough.
He did nothing wrong at all but **** it he’s pish too.

Trinity Hibee
18-08-2024, 03:24 PM
Sorry but we absolutely need a new keeper before the end of August. This guy will mean we'll definitely be bottom 6 and maybe even fighting against relegation.

He reminds me of the pereira guy hearts had in goals when they got relegated.

Having a brutal keeper got Dundee United relegated

So far Bursik is costing us goals and doesn’t make saves

badabing67
Marv is a donkey, makes rocky look good.

https://x.com/i/status/1825191183166910488

Obita 😂

Marv rightly hooked. He’s utterly *****. Three year deal too 😂

LunasBoots
It’s a poor pass back but Bursic had the opportunity to do so much better. Basics. He is easily the worst “first choice” goalie we’ve ever signed.

Zibi signs about him

On today's performance Rocky is better than Marv. Least said about the keeper the better.

TrumpIsAPeado

By making everybody forget that he's even on the pitch, including the manager.

Still the keepers fault for me

Ship of Hope
18-08-2024, 03:25 PM
Dearie me.. how many times is marv going to cock up a pass back. Bursik also at fault. Both looking not good enough so far and could be costly for us as season progresses. Early doors and hopefully will up their game. If Rocky could just head a ball I would go with him ahead of ekpitata all day long. Think we really need another starting centre half. I would be delighted if that was our marquee signing. So annoying as we were in the game.

supermcginn
On today's performance Rocky is better than Marv. Least said about the keeper the better.

100 percent agree

NC1875

He’s Grays pal

That is another howling kick from the keeper. Has all the time in the world, waits for the pressure then shanks it 30 yards at chest height. He makes the save but the only reason they get in the position to get a shot away is because of him.

We’ll be trying to move him on next summer

Yet another English league 1 donkey signing from us

Canny believe there were posters saying the defence was sorted after the league cup groups. Mental

Will keep saying it G, no one could have possibly scouted the goalkeeper as he hasn’t played any football.

And it shows. His confidence looks shot to pieces. I feel for him.

🤔

https://i.ibb.co/kgxnfpR/20240818-162218.jpg (https://ibb.co/vxH5Gb7)

18-08-2024, 03:26 PM
Still the keepers fault for me

It’s both of them. Absolute hospital pass from Marv, awful decision making from Bursik too.

Halifaxhibby
As someone who can see Newell's strengths, I agree that this is his biggest weakness and area where he could really impact the team more positively if addressed

In your opinion, what are his strengths? As first and foremost, a midfield playmaker….and club captain???

percy veer
yep but that's twice already this season a pass back from Ekpiteta has resulted in a goal

Sure celtics second goal last week came from a dodgy back pass by marvel aswell.

Trinity Hibee

Nobody even looks outraged. They all just accept it and heads go down. Pathetic attitude

Sure celtics second goal last week came from a dodgy back pass by marvel aswell.

It did aye, that was awful

Worrying. Zibi and Oli were truly dreadful. Too early to compare him with them but the signs so far is that he could be just as hopeless.

18-08-2024, 03:27 PM
The regression of Obita needs to be studied

That’s a ****ing disaster from Ek and the goalie, why doesn’t marv boot it up the park?!

K-Zazu
Where’s Amos the invisible man?

Hibees1973

Another one who will hang around until his contract expires.

We have just managed to ship guys like him out but he gets a 3 year deal.

Trust the process.

Keepthefaith
That’s a ****ing disaster from Ek and the goalie, why doesn’t marv boot it up the park?!

Surely could have played it forward to miller?

18-08-2024, 03:28 PM
A simple ball to whoever it was that was on the touch line was the ball. Miller?

Mcbizz1998
We have signed a defender worse than Bushiri, that’s quite an achievement but somehow Hibs have managed it.

Just seen the third goal what a ****ing shambles

HendoDelivered
Don’t think Miller is as bad as some make out. Tries to play and be brave on the ball, doesn’t always work obv but I like him.

Nobody even looks outraged. They all just accept it and heads go down. Pathetic attitude

Yup.

We are so soft.

You can see from behind the goal angle he had at least 3 forward pass options but goes back to our dodgy keeper.

The rest is just a loan keeper who isn’t arsed about the score today.

Montford
18-08-2024, 03:29 PM
Are there no absolute units lower Scottish league defenders who take no pi5h that could sit in the middle of our defence
Would give everything to play with Hibs and understand the mentality of what’s needed

percy veer
It did aye, that was awful

3 games 3 passbacks 3 goals excellent

Trinity Hibee
Are there no absolute units lower Scottish lower league defenders who take no pi5h that could sit in the middle of our defence
Would give everything to play with Hibs and understand the mentality of what’s needed

There has to be some players better than the overpaid pish we get from England

Newell having another stinker here

Thought hes playing well, couple of wrong decisions but otherwise no bad

thebausburst
Ekpiteta Is right up there with the worst centre halves I’ve seen playing for Hibs, absolutely hopeless.

cameronw-hfc
18-08-2024, 03:30 PM
Yup.

We are so soft.

You can see from behind the goal angle he had at least 3 forward pass options but goes back to our dodgy keeper.

The rest is just a loan keeper who isn’t arsed about the score today.

Entirely unfair to suggest he doesn't care. Regardless of his performance how are you to know how he feels?

Don’t think Miller is as bad as some make out. Tries to play and be brave on the ball, doesn’t always work obv but I like him.

Hibees1973
Is it arrogance or being naive that Gray thinks this lot can play out from the back.

It's clear they cannot. Haven't been able to do so for years due to poor recruitment.

Halifaxhibby
That is another howling kick from the keeper. Has all the time in the world, waits for the pressure then shanks it 30 yards at chest height. He makes the save but the only reason they get in the position to get a shot away is because of him.

90% of the team can’t play decent football together. I feel for sir David….but hey!!!….as long as McKay and kensall pick up ridiculous wages and have a laugh in the stand about it……rotten from the top to the bottom……sold our soul…..

Hibs putting dead wood out on loan so we can sign more dead wood 🫣

Thought hes playing well, couple of wrong decisions but otherwise no bad

Newell and Campbell are the new Hanlon and Stevenson though, it's always going to be their fault when things don't go our way.

tonyrougier123
Campbell showing a lot more heart than last week

Been really much more composed,as has Newell

Northern Hibby
Miller is just everywhere?

18-08-2024, 03:31 PM

Not that it’s saying much, but he’s been our best defender by a country mile today

We need another CB in and Marv be the back up

I like him, kind of player we need, but makes alot of mistakes. Keep it simple

Are there no absolute units lower Scottish league defenders who take no pi5h that could sit in the middle of our defence

Too a tee your description fitted Darren McGregor. Exactly what we need.

In a team where most players ooze negativity at times he's always trying to get forward. He gets caught out of position fairly often and whilst physically strong goes down too easily at times.

Done well there.

Three slack back passes from Ekpiteta has cost us three goals in three seperate games this season, that donkey makes Rocky look like Maldini. Sunday amateur level stuff. When will we learn about signing English lower league pish

Hibs putting dead wood out on loan so we can sign more dead wood 🫣

This is it for me.

18-08-2024, 03:32 PM
A simple ball to whoever it was that was on the touch line was the ball. Miller?

Yip, it was the easiest of decisions to make, play the ball to Miller.

Keepthefaith
Have Bournemouth got any decent defenders not getting a game?!

SCHAEDYSHORTS
Goalkeeper should have put his foot through that & the striker.
Cannot understand why we didn’t get Bogdan back, free agent, was really bigging up his time in Edinburgh & Hibs recently, almost “ come & get me type comments “ not retired as far as I can see, only 36, could be doing a sound job for us

Halifaxhibby

Where boruc? Looked decent.

Miller has been one of our best players this season. A first pick.

Is it arrogance or being naive that Gray thinks this lot can play out from the back.

It's clear they cannot. Haven't been able to do so for years due to poor recruitment.

It's just what modern managers are taught so they all do it.

Ipswich tried it about 1000 times v Liverpool yesterday and conceded a throw in, free kick or easy possession about 997 of those times.

18-08-2024, 03:33 PM
Obita ffs

Nail on head there, just need the desire to win every ball

Skol
Bursic did well there

Good reactions from Bursik there.

this time a good brave save by bursik

Berwickhibby
18-08-2024, 03:34 PM
Obita has been god awful today

Was Obita out last night?

Obita ffs

Wtf was that

tonyrougier123
Apart from serious mistakes,it’s been better for me. Small consolation like.

Would we be any worse of defensively if Gray, Hanlon, McGregor and Stevenson were still our back four?

Twice in a minute we should've been at least hitting the byline down the left wing. So sloppy.

I just don't see it at Hibs that there is the emphasis on quality where mistakes have consequences. Obita's wastefulness, Marv's passing, Bursic's lack of anything suggesting he's a reliable keeper... these should be targeted as MUST improve or they don't play, simple as that.

The expectation is that we'd just plod regardless, would be my fear.

What a terrible touch from Obita, better from goalkeeper.

Painful viewing

As he has been for weeks.

18-08-2024, 03:35 PM
Why ok earth is Rocky trying to play offside there

N Cadden has looked competent enough on the ball. Doesn’t s**** himself any time he receives it anyway.

Ipswich tried it about 1000 times v Liverpool yesterday and conceded a throw in, free kick or easy possession about 997 of those times.

I felt we stopped it since DG came in. Came back to haunt us today.

cadden slips and we get a foul :greengrin

Rudi on for Boyle

18-08-2024, 03:36 PM
Would we be any worse of defensively if Gray, Hanlon, McGregor and Stevenson were still our back four?

In their prime of course not. As they are today, probably not... Stevenson and Hanlon would've been crucified if they'd played like Obita and Ekpitetah.

Shocking.

Mcbizz1998

Good point. He looked a lot better in the brief viewings I’ve had of him than this guy. And he is a decent height as well.

I felt we stopped it since DG came in. Came back to haunt us today.

He must have completed a bit more of his coaching course😅

NC1875
18-08-2024, 03:37 PM

Behave. We are absolutely garbage. Bottom 6 garbage.

Trust the process though. These imposters taking thousands off pounds a week and can’t even show a bit heart. They should be embarrassed.

Three slack back passes from Ekpiteta has cost us three goals in three seperate games this season, that donkey makes Rocky look like Maldini. Sunday amateur level stuff. When will we learn about signing English lower league pish

I had thought we would see Rocky leave before the window closed but I'm at the point with Ekpiteta where I'd probably like to see Rocky start again going forward, which is worrying because he's nowhere near it either.

We probably need another two centre halves and goalkeeper or else it's going to be a long long season.

He must have completed a bit more of his coaching course😅

We need a new LB in the door

coco mc
Goalkeeper should have put his foot through that & the striker.
Cannot understand why we didn’t get Bogdan back, free agent, was really bigging up his time in Edinburgh & Hibs recently, almost “ come & get me type comments “ not retired as far as I can see, only 36, could be doing a sound job for us

Hi SS, Adam is sort of retired , he and the family love Edinburgh and would have came back anytime in the last 2-3 seasons . But new baby on the way in days . And Adam is still active a lot of stuff going on . Presenting,Executive Managment training etc . Sadly I feel that ship has sailed ….. but I’ll put in a word loll

Im with you there, as Mikey Stewart said earlier, Hibs now have football people making football decisions at the club, it will take time to filter through, we need tae be patient, but it will come, weve mad a couple of good signings, I predict a 4th place dinish this season

We've had some decent performances today and the effort has been there but if we don't get the defence sorted we are going to keep losing games. That keeper must put the fear into our defenders. And Big Marv looks like a downgrade on Rocky.

Was Obita out last night?

Has he got a twin that is sxxx at football because I think they’ve traded places in the summer🙄

Just Dundee next week

I don't think this has been all that bad, with a few exceptions.

Not sure why anyone is getting torn into the midfield here? They've done fine, in a really tough game, against good opposition. Much better than first half last week, certainly.

Rocky's bee a bit rusty and wobbly at times but good at others.

My main concerns - Bursik - looks dreadful. Ekpiteta - I'm too young to witness the Benny Brazil era, but to get to the number of appearances he managed he can't have been as gaffe prone as Ekpiteta seems to be, surely? Obita - absolutely hopelss defensively and not even that great going forward. Serious questions need to be asked of him.

Collectively, even allowing for the standard of the opposition and the fact that they've not played together much together yet - there are serious concerns about the state of this defence. I seriously hope it doesn't look so wobbly when up against tests that will be less stuff than this week and last.

18-08-2024, 03:38 PM

Another one given a long contract. We’ll be trying to punt him at the end of the season too.

We've had some decent performances today and the effort has been there but if we don't get the defence sorted we are going to keep losing games. That keeper must put the fear into our defenders. And Big Marv looks like a downgrade on Rocky.

Aye, other than the first 30-35 minutes we've been much better than last week. Looked like we were going to make a game of it until that embarrassment of a third goal.

Should have signed the guy Killie signed

Trinity Hibee
Just Dundee next week

A team that has scored about 30 goals in the league cup so far

18-08-2024, 03:39 PM
And a keeper and a centre half first please.

In their prime of course not. As they are today, probably not... Stevenson and Hanlon would've been crucified if they'd played like Obita and Ekpitetah.

Hanlon and Stevenson played in plenty Celtic Park pumpings in recent years. Conceded 4 and 6 there in the last 2 years.

badabing67
Just Dundee next week

At least we can play Kwon

NC1875
Im with you there, as Mikey Stewart said earlier, Hibs now have football people making football decisions at the club, it will take time to filter through, we need tae be patient, but it will come, weve mad a couple of good signings, I predict a 4th place dinish this season

4th place ? You must’ve filled your glass with something strong.

Ms said we're trying to rectify years of mi's management and poor recruitment - we're still doing that!

18-08-2024, 03:40 PM

He hasn't really looked decent.

Yes, he looked more decent than the couple of jokers we've currently got but he was never really going to be good enough.

I think we're 2 goalkeepers short of where we need to be at this stage of the season.

Mental.

Just Dundee next week

Dundee at Easter Road is an no way remotely comparable to playing Celtic. Especially when we'll have McCowan (:wink:) in the middle dictating play, Kwon debut as well.

Easy stuff.

We need several signings right now. The keeper and defence are all over the place, and at the other end we lack goals. It’s a worry.

Real pity as we were looking so much better before that sloppy goal. Dundee will give us a better idea of where we are

Just Dundee next week

Scored 6 yesterday and unbeaten in 11 games including their 3 friendlies.

18-08-2024, 03:41 PM
LB, CB, McCowan and a winger needed

Greenio
Why does the keeper kick it so high. Takes any pace out of any potnetial play forward

Plus a new keeper.

Scored 6 yesterday and unbeaten in 11 games including their 3 friendlies.

We scored 5 against Queens Park.

I broadly agree. Certainly after the first 20-25 minutes.

Still a lot of red flags but Miller was a lot better today (I know he got plaudits last week, I disagreed, but today he has been good). Campbell has had a decent game in a position more suited to him. Myko gave us a good shift, scored a great goal and got more minutes in the legs. The general shape and organisation was a bit better as well.

Individual errors have killed us and it's a worry it's the same culprits repeatedly being flagged at the moment. It's obviously all stuff we have heard before about 'getting there' or 'small improvements' but at 2-1 we were well in the game and had created a couple of half chances. One self inflicted wound changes the whole perception again.

I don't think this has been all that bad, with a few exceptions.

Not sure why anyone is getting torn into the midfield here? They've done fine, in a really tough game, against good opposition. Much better than first half last week, certainly.

Rocky's bee a bit rusty and wobbly at times but good at others.

My main concerns - Bursik - looks dreadful. Ekpiteta - I'm too young to witness the Benny Brazil era, but to get to the number of appearances he managed he can't have been as gaffe prone as Ekpiteta seems to be, surely? Obita - absolutely hopelss defensively and not even that great going forward. Serious questions need to be asked of him.

Collectively, even allowing for the standard of the opposition and the fact that they've not played together much together yet - there are serious concerns about the state of this defence. I seriously hope it doesn't look so wobbly when up against tests that will be less stuff than this week and last.

I agree with this. Newell has taken a lot of abuse but he didn't sign the keeper and big Marv. These positions need properly sorted this time.

18-08-2024, 03:42 PM
Ms said we're trying to rectify years of mi's management and poor recruitment - we're still doing that!

There is truth to that for sure. Malky Mackays first job was always to fix the shambles that was going on in the recruitment department and ship out the extra dross that couldn't make it onto the park over the dross that currently can. But I think it's safe to say his card is well and truly marked by the fact we've replaced Marsh and Hanlon with what looks like a worse combination of players.

Dundee at Easter Road is an no way remotely comparable to playing Celtic. Especially when we'll have McCowan (:wink:) in the middle dictating play, Kwon debut as well.

Easy stuff.

We could have Messi in our team but if keep giving away cheap goals like last season we will always need to score more than 1 goal.

Even when we battered Queen’s Park they still managed to score against us.

NC1875

McCowan would be mental to leave Dundee for this ****show.

Cant see it happening

Halifaxhibby

Same reason modern managers have a shelf life of 2-3 years if they are lucky….hibs are ****…..only educated talented players with a good manager can successfully play out from the back….hibs are light years away from systems like that. The Scottish game, isn’t like that….thats why teams like st mirren Kilmarnock and now Dundee excel, they work hard…understand they have to work hard to even get a point….hibs think they are a big team…..they are not…..and now, anyone with a brain in there head can see we are faceless heartless and talentless……I hope Tom farmer takes note….club is an effing resort for mediocre dregs……

Keeper worries me tbh

snedzuk
The other keeper must be horrific if he can’t get a game over this clown.

He played against Kelty.

Saint Hibee
Is Kuhn Newell’s long lost missing twin?

Hanlon and Stevenson played in plenty Celtic Park pumpings in recent years. Conceded 4 and 6 there in the last 2 years.

The question was as a collective would we have been any worse. As individuals they've all been scudded of Celtic at times.

18-08-2024, 03:43 PM
He played against Kelty.

And he looked rough as well.

Trinity Hibee
Same reason modern managers have a shelf life of 2-3 years if they are lucky….hibs are ****…..only educated talented players with a good manager can successfully play out from the back….hibs are light years away from systems like that. The Scottish game, isn’t like that….thats why teams like st mirren Kilmarnock and now Dundee excel, they work hard…understand they have to work hard to even get a point….hibs think they are a big team…..they are not…..and now, anyone with a brain in there head can see we are faceless heartless and talentless……I hope Tom farmer takes note….club is an effing resort for mediocre dregs……

Nail on head

Cant see it happening

We've played Celtic home and away in the past two weeks and conceded 5 goals (so far) some teams will do well to keep them to 5 goals in one game.

It's **** to sit through but they may as well be playing a different game with the players and resources they have. £9m on one player.

18-08-2024, 03:44 PM
Both Cadden's should start next week.

18-08-2024, 03:44 PM
We've played Celtic home and away in the past two weeks and conceded 5 goals (so far) some teams will do well to keep them to 5 goals in one game.

It's **** to sit through but they may as well be playing a different game with the players and resources they have. £9m on one player.

Exactly. Celtic will win the league by 20 points this season.

SCHAEDYSHORTS
18-08-2024, 03:45 PM
Hi SS, Adam is sort of retired , he and the family love Edinburgh and would have came back anytime in the last 2-3 seasons . But new baby on the way in days . And Adam is still active a lot of stuff going on . Presenting,Executive Managment training etc . Sadly I feel that ship has sailed ….. but I’ll put in a word loll

Shame, would have been top of my list as a number 1

He played against Kelty.

And looked very dodgy plus we lost 1-0.

snedzuk

Mikey Devlin, but we got rid of him

coco mc
Shame, would have been top of my list as a number 1

Me too .

18-08-2024, 03:47 PM
Will take 3-1 and move on but ****ing massive changes are still needed

1875Sean
Mikey Devlin, but we got rid of him

The same Mikey Devlin who couldn’t cut it at livvy?

NC1875

Do the mighty Kelty and St Mirren not count ?

It doesn’t matter who you’re playing. My son’s 2017 team don’t make the amount of silly mistakes that we do Week in,week out.

We are garbage. And Luke McCowan would be absolutely mental to come here and play alongside this dross every week

Palma should have scored for celtc.

18-08-2024, 03:48 PM
Vintage Campbell, manages to win a challenge then loses control and give away the foul. In fairness to him he’s been less bad than last week, something to work on😏

hopefully our head coach explains to Ekpiteta about the pitfalls of passing back

The question was as a collective would we have been any worse. As individuals they've all been scudded of Celtic at times.

Probably depends who was managing them more than anything. They also at their peak had a competent midfield in front on them to protect them.

itslegaltender
Genuinely don’t think Obita has done one positive thing the whole game.

Do the mighty Kelty and St Mirren not count ?

It doesn’t matter who you’re playing. My son’s 2017 team don’t make the amount of silly mistakes that we do Week in,week out.

We are garbage. And Luke McCowan would be absolutely mental to come here and play alongside this dross every week

Jesus Christ, he plays for Dundee, not Man City. McCowan I mean, not Jesus.

18-08-2024, 03:49 PM
Both Cadden's should start next week.

Chris has done nothing to suggest he should be starting.

18-08-2024, 03:49 PM
hopefully our head coach explains to Ekpiteta about the pitfalls of passing back

You’d think that would’ve been drilled into him after the St Mirren game.

18-08-2024, 03:50 PM
The regression of Obita needs to be studied

I never saw what folk were raving about when he was POTY, Stevenson was and still is better, and he needed replaced a year or so ago.

18-08-2024, 03:50 PM
Luke Amos getting 4 minutes, reckon we’ll learn a lot here.

Saint Hibee
18-08-2024, 03:51 PM
Why bring on Amos now?

Another disgraceful performance from our club captain.

You’d think that would’ve been drilled into him after the St Mirren game.

he's maybe not a good listener, or just forgot after the first time

Shocking distribution from the goalie when kicking the ball out.

Why bring on Amos now?

https://media1.tenor.com/m/nEVEJdZyHMkAAAAC/jay-cartwright-the-inbetweeners.gif

18-08-2024, 03:52 PM
Why bring on Amos now?

appearance bonus

Trinity Hibee
https://media1.tenor.com/m/nEVEJdZyHMkAAAAC/jay-cartwright-the-inbetweeners.gif

Probably depends who was managing them more than anything. They also at their peak had a competent midfield in front on them to protect them.

snedzuk
18-08-2024, 03:53 PM
The same Mikey Devlin who couldn’t cut it at livvy?

The question was 'is there anyone better than what we have'. I could have gone for T. Raffic Cone

Donegal Hibby
18-08-2024, 03:53 PM
Vintage Campbell, manages to win a challenge then loses control and give away the foul. In fairness to him he’s been less bad than last week, something to work on😏

Campbell has been one of our better players , Newell has also had a good game.

18-08-2024, 03:54 PM

You're at it 😂

Hibeewilly
I never saw what folk were raving about when he was POTY, Stevenson was and still is better, and he needed replaced a year or so ago.

Neither did I, he's hopeless....

Luke Amos getting 4 minutes, reckon we’ll learn a lot here.

Fair play, he actually did more than Newell.

NC1875
Jesus Christ, he plays for Dundee, not Man City. McCowan I mean, not Jesus.

And it says it all when we’d bite your hand off for Dundees start to the season over ours.

You watching a re-run of the 2021 League Cup Semi-final?

Another 3 years of him mate.

18-08-2024, 03:55 PM
Fair play, he actually did more than Newell.

I almost did more than Newell and all I've done is had a few Guinness. Taken the piss of course, but I expect Newell to affect the game much more than he does.

Lol, yeah a disgrace he can’t win against a multi million pound team.

Such a pity we gifted them that 3rd goal. We have actually competed pretty well since we scored and that is despite the likes of Obita and Boyle being really poor. Cadden 2 looks a sensible signing, Bowie will contribute and Campbell and Newell have been miles better today. We can take some comfort that quite a few quid came in from this fixture and getting pumped off Celtc at Parkhead is almost a given, Falkirk away or Spartans etc for other teams in our league are disastrous results. SDG really needs a result and we need to stop giving away goals. Lots of teams with far less resources make nowhere near as many mistakes.

18-08-2024, 03:56 PM
Not much to shout about second half attacking wise, struggled to get out our own half at times.

Very early on in the season, next week feels like a must win.

now, next week the serious business starts

Another 3 years of him mate.

It's same everytime unfortunately we need to replace to get better

Same midfield

Same results, performance

If McGowan ain’t signing

Move on

Time is ticking by

18-08-2024, 03:57 PM

What are you slavering about?

He's supposed to be our leader on the park. Totally invisible most of the game.

NC1875

You do know you can put in a good performance and still get beat. He’s murder.

The Captain....
There's wee passages of play now and again we don't resemble a Sunday league pub team but then there is always the catastrophic mistakes and lapses which make us a laughing stock.

Good goal from Myko, and some minutes for the Cadden and Bowie only real positives.

We need to sign an experienced keeper, hopefully manage to get a leader type on loan at CH, and the likes of Boyle and Campbell need to start contributing or be taken out the team.

The energy of McCowan would e an instant improvement to our insipid midfield which can't create chances or defend and just let's runners breeze past them.

I wouldn't fancy being David Gray..there's so many problems with this lot.

Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
18-08-2024, 03:58 PM
A couple of areas need improved though hard to judge us on this one as this Celtic team will destroy most teams this year . Give it a go and no lack of effort from our lads .👏

Someone else posted it and I agree with them, it was just another performance from Newell that we’ve seen from him multiple times. As a captain he’s awful, doesn’t lead by example and you never see him question referees, encourage his team mates. Saunters around the park like he’s out for a Sunday stroll.

what are you slavering about?

He's supposed to be out leader on the park. Totally invisible most of the game.

stfu

18-08-2024, 03:59 PM
lol

Learnt nothing new…

Keeper is crap

Centre back still a problem area

X1 CDM at club means still big holes centrally

Newell is just a really average captain and still not had a good game this season.

Myko header really good

NCadden can take a good set piece

keeper

Thought there were quite a few positives to take there but obviously some glaring negatives

We done well to hang in there and a brilliant finish by Myko

Shocking by Bursik at the third though which effectively made it game over (although, again we hung in there )

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

18-08-2024, 04:00 PM
Better than last week. That's all i could ask. On to Dundee.

18-08-2024, 04:01 PM
Big deficiencies in the team, as we know, and once again mistakes killed us. We need signings now. Dundee will be difficult.

I don’t know how watching that Newell is the one everyone slaughters

I broadly agree. Certainly after the first 20-25 minutes.

Still a lot of red flags but Miller was a lot better today (I know he got plaudits last week, I disagreed, but today he has been good). Campbell has had a decent game in a position more suited to him. Myko gave us a good shift, scored a great goal and got more minutes in the legs. The general shape and organisation was a bit better as well.

Individual errors have killed us and it's a worry it's the same culprits repeatedly being flagged at the moment. It's obviously all stuff we have heard before about 'getting there' or 'small improvements' but at 2-1 we were well in the game and had created a couple of half chances. One self inflicted wound changes the whole perception again.
Yup. I think every chance and certainly the second two goals we actually gifted them to them by our indecision and mistakes. I’m not suicidal just yet. I’m hopeful the more the defence play together the more they will improve. They simply have to.

Besides a cracking header, from a Hibs point of view it would be difficult to describe that as a competitive game.

Donegal Hibby
You watching a re-run of the 2021 League Cup Semi-final?

No disrespect mate but I think you need to realise what we were up against today, there are a few negatives but both Newell and Campbell weren’t one of them IMO .

18-08-2024, 04:02 PM
I don’t know how watching that Newell is the one everyone slaughters

He's our captain and best player allegedly.

NC1875
A couple of areas need improved though hard to judge us on this one as this Celtic team will destroy most teams this year . Give it a go and no lack of effort from our lads .👏

Easily pleased if you’re clapping that performance.

Not one leader on that pitch. No fight, nothing.

Silly individual mistakes every week and nothing done about it.

stfu

😂😂

18-08-2024, 04:03 PM
No disrespect mate but I think you need to realise what we were up against today, there are a few negatives but both Newell and Campbell weren’t one of them IMO .

Do you think that he doesn't know how good Celtic are? 🤔

18-08-2024, 04:04 PM
Someone else posted it and I agree with them, it was just another performance from Newell that we’ve seen from him multiple times. As a captain he’s awful, doesn’t lead by example and you never see him question referees, encourage his team mates. Saunters around the park like he’s out for a Sunday stroll.

He needs stripped of it.

Don't give a flying **** if it upsets him.

He doesn't deserve it and never will.

18-08-2024, 04:04 PM
We were poor. The goals we gave away were shockers. The keeper is poor but Epiteka is worse. He’s looking like the biggest donkey we’ve sign in years. He’s been at fault for at least 1 goal in the last 3 games

18-08-2024, 04:05 PM
Learnt nothing new…

Keeper is crap

Centre back still a problem area

X1 CDM at club means still big holes centrally

Newell is just a really average captain and still not had a good game this season.

Myko header really good

NCadden can take a good set piece

You can add to that Obita jogs back rather than sprints.

Donegal Hibby
Besides a cracking header, from a Hibs point of view it would be difficult to describe that as a competitive game.

It was always going to be mission impossible due to the financial gulf between the sides . I thought we tried our best and showed plenty of effort today though.

He's our captain and best player allegedly.

Its just so ****ing boring. Newell is always going to be the problem for some folk. There are structural deficiencies that won’t be sorted overnight and getting rid of a scapegoat.

He needs stripped of it.

Don't give a flying **** if it upsets him.

He doesn't deserve it and never will.

Who does deserve it and who would have captained Hibs to beat Celtic today. This will be interesting……..?

fiolex1
The Celtic love in on Premier Sports is pathetic. Sick of the sports coverage in this country, totally biased.

18-08-2024, 04:06 PM
Slightly better than last week but that's not saying much. We need to start getting results, next week is a biggie.

18-08-2024, 04:07 PM
Shambolic for 35 minutes, arguably where the game was lost, competitive for large spells, punctuated by lots of bombscare moments.

Bowie & Kwon are going to have to be special for any hope of the top 6 and mitigating those defenders & keeper.

Who does deserve it and who would have captained Hibs to beat Celtic today. This will be interesting……..?

We don't have a captain in our squad.

That's the problem!

bordergreen
Gray set us up wrongly to start with. That first half was 2-1 going on 5-0. I would have liked to have seen Bowie and Myko up front, but there were positives there.

Bowie and Molotnikov looked good up front as a pairing, so that is another option.
Nicky Cadden looks like a good signing.
Myko’s goal was a peach of a header.
I think the laddie Kwon is exactly what we need, especially against Celtic, but as he plays for them…

I still think we will bring in some more quality before the window shuts. The stats show we have lost our first two games and are out of the cup. I am not too worried. I think we are going to come good.

It is hard to be happy after a 3-1 loss, but I am not feeling like we are going nowhere, like we have under previous managers. We are not far away from being a pretty good side.

That's the problem!

Very true.

18-08-2024, 04:08 PM

Thought O'Hora looked very vocal in a few pre-season videos. Also the Newell mic'd one.

Newell just isn't a captain.

Roxyhibee
18-08-2024, 04:08 PM
I’ve seen worse performances and more humiliating results through there, with better Hibs teams, so not a disaster. A few decent performances but too many losing their battles for any real praise. Our new keeper looks third choice standard and Obita was truly truly awful.

18-08-2024, 04:09 PM
It was always going to be mission impossible due to the financial gulf between the sides . I thought we tried our best and showed plenty of effort today though.

Tried our best? That should be a given in every game. They toyed with us. The first half hour was farcical.

18-08-2024, 04:10 PM
Agree it always looked like Celtic could move up a gear or 2 if necessary, too many journey men in the Hibs team I'm afraid don't see anything but mid table this season.

Doh Rae Me
18-08-2024, 04:10 PM
I make it 18.5 million came off the Celtic bench today.
No team in this league can compete with that. We will hopefully stop the ridiculous mistakes and gifting teams goals.

18-08-2024, 04:11 PM
Rangers to get Spartans and Celtic to get Falkirk at Parkhead.

18-08-2024, 04:11 PM
Why is it 'The Spartans' for the draw and not also 'The Rangers'?

Donegal Hibby
18-08-2024, 04:12 PM
Easily pleased if you’re clapping that performance.

Not one leader on that pitch. No fight, nothing.

Silly individual mistakes every week and nothing done about it.

I’m not pleased with going out of the cup though I do realise the difference between the two teams and I thought we give it a go and showed plenty of effort today. Each to their own opinions though.

HFC93
18-08-2024, 04:12 PM

Cant see it happening

Dundee will take a beating from Celtic as well. Celtic beat them 7-1 recentiy and McCowan played.

18-08-2024, 04:14 PM

That's the problem!

I find the captain chat a real chore at times. I don't know what people think a captain actually does that fixes things on the park.

We signed the captains of MK Dons and Blackpool last year. We have guys who are also well experienced in this league. We have and had guys who are "Hibs men" but yet every single time we lose a game or have a **** season we lament the captaincy situation.

It's now just a mythical thing to shout about because it can't be proven or disproven either way that it's right or wrong.

18-08-2024, 04:14 PM
I didn't see the second half, were we ok

Greenio
18-08-2024, 04:15 PM
Not guna judge us too much up against that celtic team.

Again, overall poor.

Much more telling games coming up

Trinity Hibee
18-08-2024, 04:15 PM
I find the captain chat a real chore at times. I don't know what people think a captain actually does that fixes things on the park.

We signed the captains of MK Dons and Blackpool last year. We have guys who are also well experienced in this league. We have and had guys who are "Hibs men" but yet every single time we lose a game or have a **** season we lament the captaincy situation.

It's now just a mythical thing to shout about because it can't be proven or disproven either way that it's right or wrong.

It’s someone who talks to his team mates throughout the game and lets them know if what they are doing isn’t good enough, challenges referees/gets in opponents faces to let them know we have a bit of fight, leads by example. We don’t have any of these types

He's here!
18-08-2024, 04:19 PM
It's just a case of being thankful we weren't annihilated. I was actually pleasantly surprised to hear we only lost 3-1.

Opted for the women's game instead today which we enjoyed.

NC1875
18-08-2024, 04:19 PM

You’ll always get that argument when your captain is that bad he shouldn’t actually be starting games.

Another anonymous performance from him

18-08-2024, 04:20 PM
Gray set us up wrongly to start with. That first half was 2-1 going on 5-0. I would have liked to have seen Bowie and Myko up front, but there were positives there.

Bowie and Molotnikov looked good up front as a pairing, so that is another option.
Nicky Cadden looks like a good signing.
Myko’s goal was a peach of a header.
I think the laddie Kwon is exactly what we need, especially against Celtic, but as he plays for them…

I still think we will bring in some more quality before the window shuts. The stats show we have lost our first two games and are out of the cup. I am not too worried. I think we are going to come good.

It is hard to be happy after a 3-1 loss, but I am not feeling like we are going nowhere, like we have under previous managers. We are not far away from being a pretty good side.

Anyone know if SDG made any comment about new signings in his after match interview?

TrinityHFC
18-08-2024, 04:20 PM
Two tough games v them and think our defence and keeper will learn and improve. Thought we did okay. Kwon and Hoilett will improve us again and maybe McCowan to come. Bowie looks good. Myko will score goals and Cadden looked solid enough.

He's here!
18-08-2024, 04:22 PM
keeper

Have we not already signed two or three keepers? How can they possibly all be crap? I find it hard to understand why it's so hard to scout a competent goalkeeper.

It’s someone who talks to his team mates throughout the game and lets them know if what they are doing isn’t good enough, challenges referees/gets in opponents faces to let them know we have a bit of fight, leads by example. We don’t have any of these types

Are you sure we don't though? I mean this honestly how do we know that without getting down there and listening to them all?

You’ll always get that argument when your captain is that bad he shouldn’t actually be starting games.

This is unfortunately far too frequent in big games. A decent midfielder would at least have two or three moments ( and preferably more) when he puts through a telling ball or creates a chance. I just can't recall Newell doing that in games that matter.

18-08-2024, 04:24 PM

Who would you start over Joe Newell that is currently at the club? We have no one better than him in midfield.

NC1875
18-08-2024, 04:25 PM
This is unfortunately far too frequent in big games. A decent midfielder would at least have two or three moments ( and preferably more) when he puts through a telling ball or creates a chance. I just can't recall Newell doing that in games that matter.

Exactly, he’s not even had one good half in a game this season. MW will be along soon telling us he’s the next De Bruyne.

He’s good at doing nothing.

He's here!
18-08-2024, 04:27 PM
Two tough games v them and think our defence and keeper will learn and improve. Thought we did okay. Kwon and Hoilett will improve us again and maybe McCowan to come. Bowie looks good. Myko will score goals and Cadden looked solid enough.

A lot riding on the Dundee game, even at this early stage. Lose that (entirely feasible) and we'll start feeling a bit of pressure.

18-08-2024, 04:27 PM
Dont understand if i've watched Ekpeteta and could see he was not the best on the ball, but let him head and clear everything and he's decent.

Yet here we are asking him to play it out, when he's not that type of player at all.

Who scouted him for the way we want to play?:confused:

NC1875
18-08-2024, 04:28 PM
Who would you start over Joe Newell that is currently at the club? We have no one better than him in midfield.

It’s not my job to sign players. But the fact we’ve given him a new deal and the captaincy when he’s not good enough is worrying. Another anonymous performance from him. Let’s see how he does against Dundee next week.

People saying it’s Celtic we were playing, what about his performance against St Mirren ? Yeah anonymous again.

He’ll pick up a nice wage for the next 3 years for his one good game in ten though. Like most of the other crap. Scary how many bad players we have.

hfc-1875
18-08-2024, 04:29 PM
Bursik and ekpiteta rank rotten, if we are going to be relying on them all season we are in big trouble

Willis1875
18-08-2024, 04:29 PM
Dont understand if i've watched Ekpeteta and could see he was not the best on the ball, but let him head and clear everything and he's decent.

Yet here we are asking him to play it out, when he's not that type of player at all.

Who scouted him for the way we want to play?:confused:

The 2 guys either side of him are far more comfortable on the ball.Keeper is either being instructed to distribute to Ekpiteta or is doing it on his own back.Either way it’s a stunning lack of knowledge

18-08-2024, 04:30 PM
The 2 guys either side of him are far more comfortable on the ball.Keeper is either being instructed to distribute to Ekpiteta or is doing it on his own back.Either way it’s a stunning lack of knowledge

Said similar last week and someone made a great point, it's potentially Celtic making us play it to Ekpiteta by marking the other defenders at goal kicks.

18-08-2024, 04:31 PM

This is the rub. There's no one, which is why our midfield is weak. I'm still not understanding the thought process that led to him being given a contract extension, especially since we have failed to bring in any other attacking midfielders who just might complement him and improve our attacking.

18-08-2024, 04:33 PM
Said similar last week and someone made a great point, it's potentially Celtic making us play it to Ekpiteta by marking the other defenders at goal kicks.
Well if that’s the case John hoof it up the park or straight out of play as they can’t directly score from there. This playing out from the back is for good competent players not what we have and especially not against a high pressuring team like them.

18-08-2024, 04:34 PM
Can someone stop telling him to try and pass the ball

18-08-2024, 04:34 PM
It’s not my job to sign players. But the fact we’ve given him a new deal and the captaincy when he’s not good enough is worrying. Another anonymous performance from him. Let’s see how he does against Dundee next week.

People saying it’s Celtic we were playing, what about his performance against St Mirren ? Yeah anonymous again.

He’ll pick up a nice wage for the next 3 years for his one good game in ten though. Like most of the other crap. Scary how many bad players we have.

I'm happy accept the idea that we should sign better than him, I have zero issues with that. I can even accept that someone else would have made a better captain. But we haven't actually signed anyone better than him for years. Literally 5 years since he joined us as a left winger and yet we've not signed a better central midfielder than him.

That tells me that Joe is better than he's given credit for, but also how badly our recruitment team is because as good as I think he is I also can't believe we haven't signed anyone better than him in half a decade.

hibeerealist
18-08-2024, 04:57 PM
I'm happy accept the idea that we should sign better than him, I have zero issues with that. I can even accept that someone else would have made a better captain. But we haven't actually signed anyone better than him for years. Literally 5 years since he joined us as a left winger and yet we've not signed a better central midfielder than him.

That tells me that Joe is better than he's given credit for, but also how badly our recruitment team is because as good as I think he is I also can't believe we haven't signed anyone better than him in half a decade.

Nope, JN is not better than he's given credit for.

18-08-2024, 05:03 PM

This is spot on. Newell shouldn’t be getting the pelters he gets - it needs to be firmly aimed at whoever keeps signing absolute duds. It’s been a constant over several managers.

Victor
18-08-2024, 05:04 PM
It was difficult to take very much from that game. Celtic harassed us from the start and gave us no time to settle. However, at the times we did get the ball forward we were let down by a non-existent midfield once again. Campbell and Boyle should be docked money for contributing nothing (again). Newell was…..just Newell huffed and puffed and had no influence on proceedings. If MM and SDG cannot see that we will not progress with the aforementioned being relied on for creativity then they will be failing also. New additions are urgently required.

18-08-2024, 05:08 PM
It was difficult to take very much from that game. Celtic harassed us from the start and gave us no time to settle. However, at the times we did get the ball forward we were let down by a non-existent midfield once again. Campbell and Boyle should be docked money for contributing nothing (again). Newell was…..just Newell huffed and puffed and had no influence on proceedings. If MM and SDG cannot see that we will not progress with the aforementioned being relied on for creativity then they will be failing also. New additions are urgently required.

And what about the guys that really cost us the game?

18-08-2024, 05:08 PM

Boyle set up the goal.

18-08-2024, 05:17 PM
https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1825218504456302851?s=46&t=aVqa0cBg17d3EF8v8uwmNw

Gray saying the squad will get stronger and he can’t keep picking the same players who keep making mistakes

Victor
18-08-2024, 05:18 PM
Boyle set up the goal.

That was his only contribution. I am so glad he can take a free kick.

18-08-2024, 05:20 PM
https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1825218504456302851?s=46&t=aVqa0cBg17d3EF8v8uwmNw

Gray saying the squad will get stronger and he can’t keep picking the same players who keep making mistakes

Didn't look happy at the 3rd goal, let's see what changes are made for Saturday.

18-08-2024, 05:23 PM

We all know certain players will never be dropped.

18-08-2024, 05:24 PM

Not a good sign that our head coach is being openyl critical of players so early in the season