View Full Version : Pro Monty Aussie Article

13-08-2024, 04:29 PM
Not sure if this has been posted elsewhere, very pro Monty and anti Hibs puff piece...

https://www.ftbl.com.au/analysis/does-anyone-think-david-gray-in-his-wildest-dreams-would-be-hired-by-ange-postecoglou-610639

13-08-2024, 04:35 PM
Load of pish. Monty was up there with one of the worst I've seen at us. Couldn't improve us despite getting quality in the January window.

I really wanted him to do well and was buzzing when he was appointed. But the job was too big for him, simple as that.

He’s not managing at Spurs. He's a coach. Completely different.

13-08-2024, 04:49 PM
David wouldn’t get a job for Ange as he doesn’t know him. I do have some sympathy for the players getting him sacked line as that is exactly what happened imo. Some similar traits in the last couple of games

Mcbizz1998
13-08-2024, 04:53 PM
The guy who wrote it never even bothered to know what our league is called. Best ignored.

Monty was and is a complete diddy.

13-08-2024, 04:54 PM
The guy who wrote it never even bothered to know what our league is called. Best ignored.

Monty was and is a complete diddy.

Seems he has a book out! Hopefully it's better written and researched 😂

13-08-2024, 04:56 PM
Calls NM an 'outstanding coach & philosopher' 😄😄😄

Obviously a nihilist

13-08-2024, 04:57 PM
Calls NM an 'outstanding coach & philosopher' 😄😄😄

Obviously a nihilist

Think he is just a 'naustralian?

13-08-2024, 04:58 PM
Seems he has a book out! Hopefully it's better written and researched 😂

Says the book is science fiction, same genre as the article

13-08-2024, 05:08 PM
Time will show that he made the best of a bad situation. Fee free to bookmark this.

13-08-2024, 05:17 PM
I'm no writer but the standard of writing in that article is amateur at best. If it wasn't for the headline I wouldn't know what point they were trying to make.

HarpOnHibee
13-08-2024, 05:20 PM
Time will show that he made the best of a bad situation. Fee free to bookmark this.

Bad? More like completely dire. Managers don't have much hope with us at all. Except on the few rare occasions where all of the stars fall into alignment. Something that's yet to happen under this ownership and doesn't appear as if it's going to.

13-08-2024, 05:26 PM
But he wants us to do well 😂

Take your sour grapes and stick them up your arse.

You can follow the link at the bottom to not buy his book.

gordie18
13-08-2024, 05:46 PM
The author of this sh*te is a knob!

13-08-2024, 05:47 PM
Bad? More like completely dire. Managers don't have much hope with us at all. Except on the few rare occasions where all of the stars fall into alignment. Something that's yet to happen under this ownership and doesn't appear as if it's going to.

Johnson actually made the best of a bad situation. Monty was just crap.

Skol
13-08-2024, 07:16 PM
A controversial opinion, but mine is that Monty was harshly treated by a large portion of our fans. Monty wasnt our probem

13-08-2024, 07:18 PM

TrinityHFC
13-08-2024, 07:35 PM

Yeah wrong place wrong time with our recruitment experiments. I get people didn’t like his personality but I think he generally knew what he was doing. We aren’t back to that level yet.

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2024, 07:37 PM
That is an absolute stoater of an article.

Worst manager we’ve had since Butcher. Truly horrendous.

13-08-2024, 07:47 PM
A controversial opinion, but mine is that Monty was harshly treated by a large portion of our fans. Monty wasnt our probem

I agree, I think this article is pish but so still think given time and resources he could have sorted us out. But we shall never know now.

Onward and upward!

14-08-2024, 09:17 AM

He took a stuttering team and couldn't make it work. I'm sure he's a nice enough guy and I don't wish him anything other than success in his new role but he was pretty hopeless for us.

Johnson actually won a few games here and there. 12 wins last season under NM, 2 of which were in the cup against lower league opposition. That was with a fit Youan, and half a season with Maolida in the team scoring goals.

He may have been harshly treated but thats what finishing a season with a worse record and arguably better tools than the previous incumbent will do.

I backed him when he came in. 1 league win in 12 games over the Christmas period was dire, and the period to the end of the season wasn't a whole lot better.

14-08-2024, 09:39 AM
I think the idea that he was hired to change the culture, get rid of the deadwood and build a decent team WAS the plan.

Presumably Monty was given all sorts of assurances that he would get the time to do it etc etc but that is where questions arise.

Any manager in the SPFL who consistently fails to win games, surely KNOWS that his dressing room peg is decidedly shooglie?

Doesn’t matter about long term plans…in this league there is no such thing as long term.

I’m not sure what would have happened had the players not stopped playing for him……which they clearly did against Aberdeen…..and we scraped into the top six.

I said last season that I thought the quality of the squad would be responsible for getting any manager the sack, and it remains to be seen if our replacement players are better players.

Monty made mistakes……..again playing Jair as an impact sub was close to unforgivable…..but the squad he had simply wasn’t good enough and he was basically set up to fail.

Pretty sure next managerial appointment he gets, he’ll say ‘Aye, right’ to any assurances of sufficient time to turn things around.

14-08-2024, 09:43 AM
He took a stuttering team and couldn't make it work. I'm sure he's a nice enough guy and I don't wish him anything other than success in his new role but he was pretty hopeless for us.

Johnson actually won a few games here and there. 12 wins last season under NM, 2 of which were in the cup against lower league opposition. That was with a fit Youan, and half a season with Maolida in the team scoring goals.

He may have been harshly treated but thats what finishing a season with a worse record and arguably better tools than the previous incumbent will do.

I backed him when he came in. 1 league win in 12 games over the Christmas period was dire, and the period to the end of the season wasn't a whole lot better.

The biggest critics of Monty last season were howling that he’d been given a good squad and yet in the desperate hope we scrape top six this year we’ve had major surgery to our goalkeeping options, then our defensive options, then our attacking options…and we’re all pretty much agreed that we need major surgery to our midfield options too. We’re also trying to add both character and physicality to it.

The players that were put forward as having regressed under him paint a story too. People blamed Monty for Vente not doing well, but we have since discovered he’d struggle to hit the target from two yards out. Boyle as well, and yet he’s now just looking like a player notably past his prime.

14-08-2024, 09:56 AM
Monty was reasonably successful in the Australian A league, which, with apologies to Aussie Hibs fans, is a poor standard. Monty on his own was never going to hack it over here. Ok, he might be reasonably successful working under Ange Postecoglou, but there again, so would many mediocre coaches.

14-08-2024, 09:58 AM

The best? We were absolutely horrific under Montgomery for months and months. Made Lee Johnson look like Pep. Lee Johnsons team that pumped Luzern out of Europe over two legs. File Monty next to Butcher.

14-08-2024, 10:21 AM
The best? We were absolutely horrific under Montgomery for months and months. Made Lee Johnson look like Pep. Lee Johnsons team that pumped Luzern out of Europe over two legs. File Monty next to Butcher.

Butcher didn’t win a trophy with the second smallest team in a competition before or get a job at Spurs after.

File next to Jack Ross and in hindsight Shaun Maloney in “being given a poisoned chalice and badly treated all round”.

14-08-2024, 10:31 AM
I think the idea that he was hired to change the culture, get rid of the deadwood and build a decent team WAS the plan.

Presumably Monty was given all sorts of assurances that he would get the time to do it etc etc but that is where questions arise.

Any manager in the SPFL who consistently fails to win games, surely KNOWS that his dressing room peg is decidedly shooglie?

Doesn’t matter about long term plans…in this league there is no such thing as long term.

I’m not sure what would have happened had the players not stopped playing for him……which they clearly did against Aberdeen…..and we scraped into the top six.

I said last season that I thought the quality of the squad would be responsible for getting any manager the sack, and it remains to be seen if our replacement players are better players.

Monty made mistakes……..again playing Jair as an impact sub was close to unforgivable…..but the squad he had simply wasn’t good enough and he was basically set up to fail.

Pretty sure next managerial appointment he gets, he’ll say ‘Aye, right’ to any assurances of sufficient time to turn things around.

Agree with that. Clearly made mistakes and some of the challenges were big ones but personally would have kept him and let him overhaul the squad. The second half at Paisley and first half v Celtic did mirror some of the downing tools performances of last year.

14-08-2024, 10:36 AM

I agree.

Noone could argue that the results under Montgomery were great but it's painfully obvious by now that Hibs problems lie in the boardroom.

We've had seven managers in seven years. Our legendary SDG will go the same way soon enough, unfortunately, and round and round we go. Yet some fans keep demanding management changes every few months while doing little to protest about the clowns who are keeping us in this spiral.

14-08-2024, 10:39 AM
There are parts of the article with elements of truth to it.

I wasn't sad to see Monty go and I'm not sure he was ever going to be up to it here. However the argument there was/is a culture change needed and deadwood to be shipped out is hardly a bold or out there claim. Indeed it's still a big part of the problem at the club now and the current Sporting Director clearly intends to continue with the same mission; talk of a big reset next summer and highlighting the players out of contract suggests it is very much still seen as an issue at the club. When you have players so obviously downing tools as ours did against Aberdeen (or ironically enough Aberdeen did against us the seasons before) then it's hard to envisage any gaffer surviving. It says a lot about the players as well though and not much of it good. I think plenty fans also see it as a problem given the general appraisal of our squad by a lot of fans.

It's an article written from one point of view; I disagree with parts of it but there are other parts that aren't too wide of the mark imo.

14-08-2024, 10:53 AM
Good read and totally spot on. :greengrin

jakedance
14-08-2024, 11:12 AM
I was happy with his appointment at the time but I've got enough things to stress about in my life with work, money, family and those new bottle tops that won't come off properly, without a Hibs manager who insists on short passes from goal kicks EVERY SINGLE TIME.

14-08-2024, 12:45 PM
The biggest critics of Monty last season were howling that he’d been given a good squad and yet in the desperate hope we scrape top six this year we’ve had major surgery to our goalkeeping options, then our defensive options, then our attacking options…and we’re all pretty much agreed that we need major surgery to our midfield options too. We’re also trying to add both character and physicality to it.

The players that were put forward as having regressed under him paint a story too. People blamed Monty for Vente not doing well, but we have since discovered he’d struggle to hit the target from two yards out. Boyle as well, and yet he’s now just looking like a player notably past his prime.

Vente did regress though, we could see it. He started really well. The fact he hasn't been able to kick on since that time is inarguable but I think it's a player who's confidence has been shot to pieces and hasn't recovered.

Boyle, well theres other factors at play here if reports are accurate. I'd be allowing him to leave and spend his wages elsewhere if we could. He hasn't been the player he was when he left.

The major surgery was necessary whether NM stayed or left. We've got rid of 2 goalies and 3 defenders, we've replaced them. It's major surgery but it's replacing players rather than adding players isn't it?

We've all known the midfield has needed major work for the last 4 or 5 windows and it hasn't been addressed. I think it's reasonable to say that all the managers we've had since RG bought the club have suffered from that.

I don't think anyone will be able to convince me we would have been better off keeping NM and I haven't seen a convincing argument for it since he left.

Paulie Walnuts
14-08-2024, 12:57 PM
I don't think anyone will be able to convince me we would have been better off keeping NM and I haven't seen a convincing argument for it since he left.

The best argument that ever gets put forward is that he works for Spurs now (so did Cathro) and that he won something with some tiny wee team in Australia (who happen to be one of the most succesful teams in Australia and went on to improve significantly after he left).

14-08-2024, 01:15 PM
The best argument that ever gets put forward is that he works for Spurs now (so did Cathro) and that he won something with some tiny wee team in Australia (who happen to be one of the most succesful teams in Australia and went on to improve significantly after he left).

They maintained their success after he left, he essentially built something there that was sustainable. And surely taking a tiny wee team to a cup is a thing to be impressed by.

But thanks for proving my point.

Paulie Walnuts
14-08-2024, 01:27 PM
They maintained their success after he left, he essentially built something there that was sustainable. And surely taking a tiny wee team to a cup is a thing to be impressed by.

But thanks for proving my point.

They didn’t maintain it, they went on and won the league, won the cup again and also won the AFC Cup with a hugely different squad. They significantly bettered his time there with little of his legacy left behind.

They’re not a tiny wee team. They’re the third most succesful Australian team domestically, and arguably the second most succesful overall having won a continental trophy as well.

14-08-2024, 01:51 PM
They didn’t maintain it, they went on and won the league, won the cup again and also won the AFC Cup with a hugely different squad. They significantly bettered his time there with little of his legacy left behind.

They’re not a tiny wee team. They’re the third most succesful Australian team domestically, and arguably the second most succesful overall having won a continental trophy as well.

They had the second smallest budget in the league when Monty was there. They’re not a massive all conquering team like you’d like to paint them, or at least they weren’t immediately before Montgomery’s time there.

The problems with us lie in the board room, and although the appointment of Mackay appears to have led us to a better recruitment strategy we didn’t have him last season and before that we were all over the place with who we signed. McDermott was never anything like the buffer between the board and the playing team that Mackay appears to be.

If Montgomery came to the club at the time Dempster was here or when Stubbs took over and we only had a handful of first team players I suspect he’d have done very well. As it stands this season a top six finish would IMO be an excellent result. That expectation will increase once we can have the big clean out next summer though.

14-08-2024, 02:41 PM
They had the second smallest budget in the league when Monty was there. They’re not a massive all conquering team like you’d like to paint them, or at least they weren’t immediately before Montgomery’s time there.

The problems with us lie in the board room, and although the appointment of Mackay appears to have led us to a better recruitment strategy we didn’t have him last season and before that we were all over the place with who we signed. McDermott was never anything like the buffer between the board and the playing team that Mackay appears to be.

If Montgomery came to the club at the time Dempster was here or when Stubbs took over and we only had a handful of first team players I suspect he’d have done very well. As it stands this season a top six finish would IMO be an excellent result. That expectation will increase once we can have the big clean out next summer though.

TrinityHFC
14-08-2024, 02:48 PM

All we know for sure is that he was here when he was. He was terrible and now he’s not here.

14-08-2024, 03:02 PM
All we know for sure is that he was here when he was. He was terrible and now he’s not here.

Amen.

15-08-2024, 08:57 PM
I agree.

Noone could argue that the results under Montgomery were great but it's painfully obvious by now that Hibs problems lie in the boardroom.

We've had seven managers in seven years. Our legendary SDG will go the same way soon enough, unfortunately, and round and round we go. Yet some fans keep demanding management changes every few months while doing little to protest about the clowns who are keeping us in this spiral.

Emphasised by the hiring the clown and the ridiculously long time it took to empty him.

15-08-2024, 09:07 PM
Good read and totally spot on. :greengrin

I thought your article read really well mate 😁

I kid, I kid.

15-08-2024, 09:25 PM
I thought your article read really well mate 😁

I kid, I kid.

I’d have been more positive. 😂

andrew_dundee
16-08-2024, 11:02 PM
If things had gone slightly differently and we had made top 6 then I reckon Monty would have stayed and would probably have overseen a similar level of clearing out as Gray/Mackay have. Given time and budget I think he would have got better and probably been alright. I'm not confident that Gray would have done any better in that situation.

As for LJ, I suspect we probably would have had another rollercoaster season which would probably have had a couple of wins against the Old Firm and possibly a derby while dropping points to Livingston and Ross County every time we played (and finishing with almost identical points and 6th place).

Cat Stanton
16-08-2024, 11:21 PM

I won't have a good word said about Johnson. Sorry. Awful in every aspect.

17-08-2024, 12:03 AM

I agree. Although Monty was so bad at times it made me question my view on LJ and thus my own sanity.

17-08-2024, 01:36 AM

I appreciate your stance but it just isn't true. Many aspects perhaps but not every aspect.

Vente looked a player under Johnson and not since. Fish. Better for Lee. Our last truly decent result was in Europe during Lee's reign.

17-08-2024, 03:45 AM
Fair comment in the article re Hibs' dysfunctional recent history - which makes it a challenging club to manage. But the writer of the article then goes off the end of the pier with his support for Monty the "outstanding football philosopher" (nice one;)
Whatever the talents that brought him success in the A League, Monty looked out of his depth in the SPL and it was absolutely the right call to empty him.
He was a poor appointment then at the wrong stage of his career. Unlike the author though I'm optimistic that David Gray might be a good one at the right stage, and that with support from McKay we might see a turnaround in fortunes at Hibs this season.
I always was an optimist though - but is that not a necessity to support this club anyway?

17-08-2024, 04:58 AM

That is false though isn't it. Finished 5th, got in to Europe and done well in Europe. Beat Hearts, Celtic and Aberdeen twice. It is just a lie to say he was awful in every aspect.

17-08-2024, 07:30 AM
If things had gone slightly differently and we had made top 6 then I reckon Monty would have stayed and would probably have overseen a similar level of clearing out as Gray/Mackay have. Given time and budget I think he would have got better and probably been alright. I'm not confident that Gray would have done any better in that situation.

As for LJ, I suspect we probably would have had another rollercoaster season which would probably have had a couple of wins against the Old Firm and possibly a derby while dropping points to Livingston and Ross County every time we played (and finishing with almost identical points and 6th place).
I'm not sure about that, based on performances after he'd had a transfer window, we went backwards. There’s not a lot of evidence to suggest he’d have made us better at any point.

17-08-2024, 08:02 AM

Montgomery had all but 3 league games to get us a top 6 finish. Even finishing 6th would have been a failure and he couldn't even manage that. He achieved that through his own stubbornness week after week. We all had aspirations of a top 4 finish at the start of last season. At least LJ had the excuse of European games. If he hadn't been punted I think he'd have got top 6 pretty comfortably with some good and bad performances thrown in as you say.

Cat Stanton
17-08-2024, 08:18 AM
That is false though isn't it. Finished 5th, got in to Europe and done well in Europe. Beat Hearts, Celtic and Aberdeen twice. It is just a lie to say he was awful in every aspect.

The quality of football was abysmal - the hopeless hoofball of every game by the end. Dreadful. Even when we beat Hearts - Jesus, the quality of the "football" on show!

And it was all compounded by the utter, utter gibberish he came out with in every interview which made me want to scream into my fist...

And "done well in Europe" is a bit of a stretch, no...? However, let's agree to disagree and leave it at that. There is nothing more boring for Hibs.netters than watching a tedious argument unfold and take over a thread (eg the transfer thread a day or two ago!).

Up-the-slope
17-08-2024, 08:38 AM
There are parts of the article with elements of truth to it.

I wasn't sad to see Monty go and I'm not sure he was ever going to be up to it here. However the argument there was/is a culture change needed and deadwood to be shipped out is hardly a bold or out there claim. Indeed it's still a big part of the problem at the club now and the current Sporting Director clearly intends to continue with the same mission; talk of a big reset next summer and highlighting the players out of contract suggests it is very much still seen as an issue at the club. When you have players so obviously downing tools as ours did against Aberdeen (or ironically enough Aberdeen did against us the seasons before) then it's hard to envisage any gaffer surviving. It says a lot about the players as well though and not much of it good. I think plenty fans also see it as a problem given the general appraisal of our squad by a lot of fans.

It's an article written from one point of view; I disagree with parts of it but there are other parts that aren't too wide of the mark imo.

If you read what the manager at The Rangers said in the last week they obviously have an even bigger issue and he did not miss the mark in laying blame a a bunch of his players

"It’s important for the club to sell players to also get players," Clement said.
"That is the case and some of them have known that a really long time and they are still in the building, so that makes things more difficult, but it is what it is.
"I cannot put a gun on their heads to get them out the building, that is not the idea.

17-08-2024, 08:39 AM
The quality of football was abysmal - the hopeless hoofball of every game by the end. Dreadful. Even when we beat Hearts - Jesus, the quality of the "football" on show!

And it was all compounded by the utter, utter gibberish he came out with in every interview which made me want to scream into my fist...

And "done well in Europe" is a bit of a stretch, no...? However, let's agree to disagree and leave it at that. There is nothing more boring for Hibs.netters than watching a tedious argument unfold and take over a thread (eg the transfer thread a day or two ago!).

No. Beating Luzern was an excellent result for Hibs.

Football wasn't really hoofball at all under Johnson. Played some excellent stuff at times.

Paulie Walnuts
17-08-2024, 08:41 AM

Football wasn't really hoofball at all under Johnson. Played some excellent stuff at times.

The football under LJ was the best we’ve seen in a good few years. Not exactly a high bar, but it was much better than under Montgomery and Maloney either side of him.

17-08-2024, 08:43 AM

Done well in Europe relative to how hibs tend to perform in Europe. We were never competing with that Villa side. I'll happily disagree because you offer no strong arguments. The nonsense you post about tedious threads is just your way of backing out of an honest debate you started!

17-08-2024, 09:14 AM

The football under LJ was the best we’ve seen in a good few years. Not exactly a high bar, but it was much better than under Montgomery and Maloney either side of him.

I’d disagree to an extent. When it clicked under Montgomery I found it great to watch. Dundee away was a prime example. Problem was we didn’t have enough players comfortable enough in taking the ball under pressure and passing quickly and accurately so it wasn’t possible to be consistent with it at all.

17-08-2024, 10:00 AM
I’d disagree to an extent. When it clicked under Montgomery I found it great to watch. Dundee away was a prime example. Problem was we didn’t have enough players comfortable enough in taking the ball under pressure and passing quickly and accurately so it wasn’t possible to be consistent with it at all.

It was decent that day but lets be honest, that was it. It didn't ever click before or after.

Cat Stanton
17-08-2024, 10:14 AM

Well as I say, let's agree to disagree. I've been watching for 50+ years, and if you think that was attractive football, you have my genuine sympathy.

And yes, we beat Luzern. We also lost to a pub team from Andorra...

Over and out!

Cat Stanton
17-08-2024, 10:16 AM
It was decent that day but lets be honest, that was it. It didn't ever click before or after.

Bit unfair. I thought it looked promising when he first came in - first half of his debut at Kilmarnock was good, 4-2 v St Mirren in league cup (defensively shambolic but attackingly entertaining), 0-0 v Dundee (didn't win, but played well). But after that, aye, well, it was all a bit miserable, wasn't it...

17-08-2024, 10:47 AM

Not for me, Montgomery took us backwards from Johnson, let that sink in for a moment.

17-08-2024, 10:50 AM
Well as I say, let's agree to disagree. I've been watching for 50+ years, and if you think that was attractive football, you have my genuine sympathy.

And yes, we beat Luzern. We also lost to a pub team from Andorra...

Over and out!

We beat the Andoran team 7-2 on Aggregate. That means we won. And then we beat Luzern.

Best Aberdeen 6-0, Celtic 4-2, Livi 4-1 and 4-0, St Mirren 3-0, Aberdeen 3-1. To say we never played attractive football is simply untrue.

Skol
17-08-2024, 11:28 AM
I don’t get this hatred for Monty, or Johnson for that matter.

Sadly it didn’t work out for either. You could argue both deserved more time. In fact apart from Lennon you can go as far back as heckinbotham and say we acted in haste.

17-08-2024, 12:04 PM
I don’t get this hatred for Monty, or Johnson for that matter.

Sadly it didn’t work out for either. You could argue both deserved more time. In fact apart from Lennon you can go as far back as heckinbotham and say we acted in haste.

Heckingbottom* replaced Lennon.

Think only Ross deserved more time. Rest were pretty awful overall.

Skol
17-08-2024, 01:25 PM
Heckingbottom* replaced Lennon.

Think only Ross deserved more time. Rest were pretty awful overall.

lol. Memory is an awful thing.

17-08-2024, 10:45 PM

I agree. More often than not you were entertained watching Hibs under Johnson. Attack was the best form of defence under him which was just as well as we couldn't defend. He wasn't the best Hibs manager ever but light-years ahead of the likes of Montgomery and Maloney.

18-08-2024, 06:42 AM
I agree. More often than not you were entertained watching Hibs under Johnson. Attack was the best form of defence under him which was just as well as we couldn't defend. He wasn't the best Hibs manager ever but light-years ahead of the likes of Montgomery and Maloney.

To be fair Maloney & Montgomery were parachuted into struggling teams and given a solitary January window to try and perform major surgery. Johnson had two summers, 3 transfer windows and McLeish level spending. Neither Maloney or Johnson were good, but they had none of the advantages Johnson did.

18-08-2024, 07:23 AM
He put a football philosophy before pragmatism and was unwilling to change or adapt it to get the best out of the players at his disposal.

1875M
18-08-2024, 09:03 AM
Came across a spurs video on YouTube. Big Ange speaks highly of them both. Interesting to see how they get on.

18-08-2024, 09:14 AM
He put a football philosophy before pragmatism and was unwilling to change or adapt it to get the best out of the players at his disposal.

Correct.

A good manager adapts to suit the players he has available until he is able to bring in players better suited to his preferred style.

A bad manager has only one way of playing regardless of the players in his squad or the opposition.

18-08-2024, 09:26 AM

My issue with this is that the philosophy fell apart long before he finally changed the formation. Those first few games where we blew leads were at least exciting, we were so much on the front foot. But week by week we fell back into our usual passive tempo. He seemed to lose his philosophy and by the end there was nothing left but individuals.

And his interviews and demeanour was worse than LJ. He was dull and irritable.

Paulie Walnuts
18-08-2024, 09:30 AM
To be fair Maloney & Montgomery were parachuted into struggling teams and given a solitary January window to try and perform major surgery. Johnson had two summers, 3 transfer windows and McLeish level spending. Neither Maloney or Johnson were good, but they had none of the advantages Johnson did.

Montgomery took over a team who’d finished 5th the season prior and done fairly well in Europe whilst progressing in the league cup a couple weeks prior. Yes they’d had a poor start in the league, but it was 3 games (and they won the 4th game before he came in).

18-08-2024, 10:12 AM
Montgomery took over a team who’d finished 5th the season prior and done fairly well in Europe whilst progressing in the league cup a couple weeks prior. Yes they’d had a poor start in the league, but it was 3 games (and they won the 4th game before he came in).

A team that had lost Nisbet, Myko, Egan-Riley, Cadden, and probably a couple of others. We then lost several first team players to international duty in the winter and were left playing a sixteen year old who other teams obviously targeted.

We still somehow managed to get to the exact same position the last game before the split as the season before and the sliding doors moment happened where we conceded a superb goal at the death where the season before we didn’t. Fine margins and all that.

The same people presenting Monty’s season as much worse than LJ’s very fortuitous one will likely be the ones calling for SDG’s head if we lose the next two games.