View Full Version : Hibs owners over the years

13-08-2024, 09:41 AM
Trying to list Hibs owners over the years since I started following Hibs in late 50’s

Think I’ve got them all..not sure if Pratt bought or sold the club from/to Harrower, but remember he wasn’t there long….or was he maybe just a board member?

Feel free to add corrections and dates

Harry Swan
Pratt
W.P Harrower
Tom Hart
Kenny Waugh
Duff and Gray
Tom Farmer
Gordon family

Missed anybody?

13-08-2024, 11:48 AM
Trying to list Hibs owners over the years since I started following Hibs in late 50’s

Think I’ve got them all..not sure if Pratt bought or sold the club from/to Harrower, but remember he wasn’t there long….or was he maybe just a board member?

Harry Swan
Pratt
W.P Harrower
Tom Hart
Kenny Waugh
Duff and Gray
Tom Farmer
Gordon family

Missed anybody?

Don't know if you've missed anybody but the above list is a timely reminder that everything comes to an end. The current mess in our boardroom won't last forever. Owners and shareholders, like players, come and go.

13-08-2024, 11:51 AM

Harry Swan
Pratt
W.P Harrower
Tom Hart
Kenny Waugh
Duff and Gray
Tom Farmer
Gordon family

Missed anybody?

Duff and Gray were just front men for David Rowland.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

13-08-2024, 11:52 AM
Sir Tom’s grandfather John and great uncle Philip must be worth a shout bringing the club back from the brink of bankruptcy in the early 1890’s to win the Scottish Cup in 1902

Not sure if they were actual owners but both held high positions at that time

Sir Tom told a story that in 1902 the Scottish Cup spent a night in his family home and on 21-5-2016 he was handed a box post match by the club and when he got home and opened it up inside was the Scottish Cup

13-08-2024, 11:53 AM
Don't know if you've missed anybody but the above list is a timely reminder that everything comes to an end. The current mess in our boardroom won't last forever. Owners and shareholders, like players, come and go.

Not so sure Hibernian Supporters (ltd) or the individual shareholders would agree...:wink:
Glory Glory.

13-08-2024, 12:03 PM

Harry Swan
Pratt
W.P Harrower
Tom Hart
Kenny Waugh
Duff and Gray
Tom Farmer
Gordon family

Missed anybody?

The depressing thing is if you take Harry Swan out of that lineup it leaves Tom Farmer as our most successful post war owner ... 2 league cups, 1 Scottish cup. Trouble is it took him 30 years to get that done. Nothing puts our history of underachievement into more stark reality than the most successful owner in half a century bucking the trend by managing a trophy every 10 years ... or if you like, one trophy every 20 attempts.

13-08-2024, 12:03 PM
Not so sure Hibernian Supporters (ltd) or the individual shareholders would agree...:wink:
Glory Glory.

The individual ones definitely come and go unless someone has worked out the secret to eternal life

13-08-2024, 12:11 PM
Glory Glory.

Sadly, HSL won't last forever either. The club have made sure of that

Hibees1973
13-08-2024, 12:12 PM
Coincidence that a thread like this has popped up.

I've a mate who has seasonal hospitality at the Pioneers restaurant who sent a text to me yesterday there were rumours of a consortium about to bid for the Gordons shareholding. No idea about any timescale.

Know the Gordons have said they have had offers before.

13-08-2024, 12:23 PM

I've a mate who has seasonal hospitality at the Pioneers restaurant who sent a text to me yesterday there were rumours of a consortium about to bid for the Gordons shareholding. No idea about any timescale.

Heard its Paul Kane, Simon Pia and Ryan Stevenson.

13-08-2024, 01:29 PM

Who is in your consortium, he must have given names.....?

killie-hibby
13-08-2024, 03:16 PM
The depressing thing is if you take Harry Swan out of that lineup it leaves Tom Farmer as our most successful post war owner ... 2 league cups, 1 Scottish cup. Trouble is it took him 30 years to get that done. Nothing puts our history of underachievement into more stark reality than the most successful owner in half a century bucking the trend by managing a trophy every 10 years ... or if you like, one trophy every 20 attempts.

In my time as a supporter since 1955 Hibs average a trophy win every 23 years. Based on averages I very much doubt I will be around to celebrate when we next win a trophy.

13-08-2024, 03:19 PM
The individual ones definitely come and go unless someone has worked out the secret to eternal life

Passed on in more ways than one...:aok:

He's here!
13-08-2024, 04:20 PM

You could argue Tom Hart was largely successful when it came to the team on the park, with the Tornadoes winning Hibs' first major trophy since the 50s (plus two Drybrough Cups), finishing second on more than one occasion, regularly reaching cup finals and enjoying some vintage European ties (and he signed George Best!). However, while there was no doubt about his love for the club the stadium became a wreck over those years and we also ended up relegated for the first time in our history.

13-08-2024, 05:09 PM

If Hibs won a trophy every 10 years I'd be delighted. That would give us 5 more trophies than we currently have, so it would be a massive improvement on our history. Farmer was a very successful Hibs owner.

13-08-2024, 05:17 PM
You could argue Tom Hart was largely successful when it came to the team on the park, with the Tornadoes winning Hibs' first major trophy since the 50s (plus two Drybrough Cups), finishing second on more than one occasion, regularly reaching cup finals and enjoying some vintage European ties (and he signed George Best!). However, while there was no doubt about his love for the club the stadium became a wreck over those years and we also ended up relegated for the first time in our history.

It doesn't negate your general point but Hibs were first relegated in 1931

13-08-2024, 05:24 PM

Harry Swan
Pratt
W.P Harrower
Tom Hart
Kenny Waugh
Duff and Gray
Tom Farmer
Gordon family

Missed anybody?

Pratt as you say was just a Director not an owner.

13-08-2024, 05:44 PM
Who was the owner pre-Swan?

Books always just allude to "rich Irish families".

13-08-2024, 05:50 PM
When Hibs were formed we were under the auspices of the Catholic Church, the Pope at the time being Pius IX, who invented the concept of papal infallibility. A trait not unknown with subsequent Hibs owners.

13-08-2024, 05:54 PM
Heard its Paul Kane, Simon Pia and Ryan Stevenson.

April 1st?

13-08-2024, 06:07 PM

Have a look at this page:-

https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC005323/filing-history?page=2

The document shown as "incorporation" has the signatures of the 7 original shareholders in 1903, when we became a Limited Company. They're on Page 26.

13-08-2024, 07:35 PM
Have a look at this page:-

https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/SC005323/filing-history?page=2

The document shown as "incorporation" has the signatures of the 7 original shareholders in 1903, when we became a Limited Company. They're on Page 26.That's a great document. The only name I know of is Owen Brannigan, ex player and associated with Hibs from day one.

Noticeably no Irish addresses.

13-08-2024, 08:17 PM
That's a great document. The only name I know of is Owen Brannigan, ex player and associated with Hibs from day one.

Noticeably no Irish addresses.

John Farmer is on there too. Sir Tom's grandfather.

Great documents though. Im currently reading the accounts from 1976 lol

13-08-2024, 09:03 PM
John Farmer is on there too. Sir Tom's grandfather.

Great documents though. Im currently reading the accounts from 1976 lolTBH I struggled to read most of them.

13-08-2024, 11:09 PM

Very true PH. I always regard the owners, and high heid yins only as custodians of the Club - they can move on to other things should they choose to do so. It's the supporters who are the real constants of our club.

13-08-2024, 11:13 PM
Pratt as you say was just a Director not an owner.

Had a feeling that was the case.

Thanks.

14-08-2024, 12:01 AM
If Hibs won a trophy every 10 years I'd be delighted. That would give us 5 more trophies than we currently have, so it would be a massive improvement on our history. Farmer was a very successful Hibs owner.

Think our historic average is something like one every 15 years, so yes that makes Tom Farmer better than average as an owner. But my point was that even one trophy every 10 years is a bit pish for a club who are arguably the 4th biggest in Scotland One every 10 years should be the minimum we aim for, it shouldn't be enough to make any owner considered a successful one.

My first Hibs game was in 1975 and the fact that in the near on 50 years since we have won a meagre 3 trophies is in all honesty a bit pish.

14-08-2024, 03:39 AM

‘Debenture Holders’ I read in one report.

Apparently we were in trouble and the debenture holders who funded the club got together to have more say in the running of it.

14-08-2024, 06:50 AM
‘Debenture Holders’ I read in one report.

Apparently we were in trouble and the debenture holders who funded the club got together to have more say in the running of it.

The debenture release was associated with the building of the old main stand, mid 1920’s. The people listed on the deeds of incorporation from 1903 are also listed as living in Edinburgh or Leith.

The financial issues of the early 1930’s definitely opened the door for Harry Swan to become involved and eventually become Hibs owner.

In Alan Lugton books, he refers to Irish families as major stakeholders ( not Edinburgh based descendants of Irish immigrants) at the time of Harry Swan’s initial involvement. I suspect he never found the document posted by CWG.

Interesting to see that John Farmer, 4 Admiralty St, John Pollock was in Cadiz St, Philip Smith, Elbe St and Francis Rennie, Leith Walk ( Leith end) all had Leith Addresses.

14-08-2024, 07:17 AM
Sir Tom Farmer ( continued)

The club stopped playing from 1890 for a year after players and staff defected to Glasgow’s East End to set up a rival club

Four men met in 1891 and pledged £5 to re-establish Hibs Two of them were named John Farmer and Philip Farmer Sir Tom Farmer’s grandfather and his brother

100 years later 4/7/1991 Sir Tom Farmer bought the club and Easter Road Stadium from the receivers of the listed parent company Forth Investments plc

28/10/1991 Hibs win Skol Cup

1994 Redevelopment of the Stadium begins with work starting on the North and South Stand

2001 Work begins on the West Stand

18/3/2007 Hibs win Scottish League Cup

19/12 (tel:19/12 2007)/2007 HTC opens

2010 East Stand completed

21/5/2016 Hibs win Scottish Cup

2/7/2019 Sir Tom Farmer sells his controlling interest to Ron Gordon

Edinburgh Live

NYHibby
14-08-2024, 09:19 AM
TBH I struggled to read most of them.

The names and addresses are printed a couple times. Page 8 of the PDF is pretty legible. They are also in the 1988 version of the memorandum and articles.

On the same page, you can see the purpose of the company was originally to promote tricycle riding, amongst other things. Unless I missed a document on the Companies House website, that was only removed this year.

14-08-2024, 02:14 PM
Was talking to someone close to some research regarding Hibs' formation which seemingly shows the football club is actually a bit older than the 1875 date.

Maybe games played internally between CYMS members?

Fanforlife
14-08-2024, 02:54 PM
Just seen over on sickbag a numptie accusing Tom Hart of financially doping because he was paying George Best out of his own pocket another one claiming half the crowd at Best,s home debut were Hearts fans. Delusion alive and well overby. Wonder what the dingle thought of the fruitshop guy paying towards Robbos wage on his return to them🤣🤣🤣🤣

Trinity Hibee
14-08-2024, 02:59 PM
Just seen over on sickbag a numptie accusing Tom Hart of financially doping because he was paying George Best out of his own pocket another one claiming half the crowd at Best,s home debut were Hearts fans. Delusion alive and well overby. Wonder what the dingle thought of the fruitshop guy paying towards Robbos wage on his return to them🤣🤣🤣🤣

What an odd thing for a rival fan to suddenly bring up 45 years later. Obsessed much

14-08-2024, 03:02 PM
Just seen over on sickbag a numptie accusing Tom Hart of financially doping because he was paying George Best out of his own pocket another one claiming half the crowd at Best,s home debut were Hearts fans. Delusion alive and well overby. Wonder what the dingle thought of the fruitshop guy paying towards Robbos wage on his return to them[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]Paying out of his own pocket was his own business and his own money, the direct opposite of pre administration Hearts who were paying players out of other people's (and charities) pockets.

Lest they forget.

14-08-2024, 03:21 PM
Just seen over on sickbag a numptie accusing Tom Hart of financially doping because he was paying George Best out of his own pocket another one claiming half the crowd at Best,s home debut were Hearts fans. Delusion alive and well overby. Wonder what the dingle thought of the fruitshop guy paying towards Robbos wage on his return to them[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]They are all a bunch of fruitshops.

14-08-2024, 03:26 PM

There probably were a few hearts fans that turned up to see Best.

If a knackered old Lionel Messi signed for hearts you better believe I'd try and get a ticket.

TrinityHFC
14-08-2024, 03:30 PM

If a knackered old Lionel Messi signed for hearts you better believe I'd try and get a ticket.

Really? I've no interest in paying to watch anyone play for Hearts.

14-08-2024, 03:32 PM

If a knackered old Lionel Messi signed for hearts you better believe I'd try and get a ticket.My uncle was a jambo, he lived in lochend and definitely went to see Best against Partick at Easter Road.

Wee treat for them as they never seemed to attract this type of big name draw.

Fanforlife
14-08-2024, 05:15 PM
My uncle was a jambo, he lived in lochend and definitely went to see Best against Partick at Easter Road.

Wee treat for them as they never seemed to attract this type of big name draw.

No doubt there would have a few as he was a big draw even then , however to claim half of those who did attend were of a Hearts persuasion reaches new levels of delusion from them.

14-08-2024, 05:19 PM
No doubt there would have a few as he was a big draw even then , however to claim half of those who did attend were of a Hearts persuasion reaches new levels of delusion from them.Can't say I seen any, or know of, any others but remember there's at least 400,000 of them so statistically who knows ?

Maroon balloons

14-08-2024, 06:42 PM
No doubt there would have a few as he was a big draw even then , however to claim half of those who did attend were of a Hearts persuasion reaches new levels of delusion from them.This is same bunch of fans who put it around that the dunbar end was almost full of jambos at the HoH rally. They wouldn't know the truth if it gave them a bite on their tails.