View Full Version : Lewis Miller

K-Zazu
11-08-2024, 01:44 PM
If this guy is playing every week then we are in serious trouble, can’t defend, can’t attack, can’t pass.

Berwickhibby
11-08-2024, 01:48 PM
If this guy is playing every week then we are in serious trouble, can’t defend, can’t attack, can’t pass.

Strange …opinions eh….him and Rudi looked like the only ones attempting to drive the team forward. A lot worse on the pitch escaping criticism

11-08-2024, 01:49 PM
I actually thought he wasn't bad.

NC1875
11-08-2024, 01:50 PM
A thread on Miller after that invisible midfield performance ?

He’s the least of our problems

He was fine. Made a few mistakes but in general he was the one making things happen 2nd half.

#2 Double Tap
what utter sh it you read on here. seriously OP, if you aint a jambo, u are deluded, miller was one of only 3 players with pass marks today.....

11-08-2024, 01:52 PM
He was one of our best players today.

He made a few mistakes, he’s not perfect. If he was he wouldn’t be playing for us!

tonyrougier123
11-08-2024, 01:53 PM
Thought he was good today motm for me. Hibs anyway.

duffers
11-08-2024, 02:02 PM
Thought it was between him, Ohora or Rudi for MOTM

Alvin
11-08-2024, 02:03 PM

Not sure how anyone can watch that match and decide to start a thread slagging off Miller. Sure, he’s young, raw and makes poor decisions every now and again, but he’s a guy that is improving all the time as he learns. He’s strong, athletic, has a great attitude and fights for the shirt. In the midst of some horrendous recruitment over the last few years he looks like a rare example of a sound investment.

K-Zazu
11-08-2024, 02:04 PM
Right ok then 😂. The first goal he is ball watching, shocking defending.

11-08-2024, 02:05 PM

One of our better players today. In with a shout for motm for me until a couple of sloppy moments in last ten.

Pytheas
11-08-2024, 02:07 PM
He was fine, not a great defender but still better than Cadden, got us up the park a few times, more than our entire midfield put together. Created one of our best chances with a good touch and cross for Myko.

Exuberance1875
11-08-2024, 02:08 PM
Is his contract out at the end of the season?

Saint Hibee
11-08-2024, 02:15 PM
He was my Man of the Match!

1875Sean
11-08-2024, 02:15 PM
Agreed time to give megwa a chance, Miller is build like a tank but has the heart of a mouse

11-08-2024, 02:18 PM
Certainly not one I’d be singling out based on todays performance.

11-08-2024, 02:19 PM
I didn't think he was all that today. 1st half he was all over the shop position wise, regularly way behind the rest of the line. O'Hora went nuts at him about 4 times for it. At least 2 chances Celtic created came from him playing everyone onside.

He does a lot of highlight reel stuff but often the basics let him down. A prime example was the nutmeg in the 2nd half that got a big cheer, only issue is people were still cheering when he overhit and sliced the pass that followed straight out the park.

He's ok and today's performance was just OK. When you play a pretty big role in one of the goals we conceded then as a defender it's hard to argue you were brilliant.

11-08-2024, 02:20 PM
I thought he was better overall than some others but criminally slow to react or lack of anticipation for the rebound on the first goal. Needs to sharpen up still.

PPZPOL
11-08-2024, 02:24 PM

If it makes you feel any better I see what you see.

11-08-2024, 02:26 PM
Is he out of contract at the end of the season? We’ll fluctuate between him and Cadden throughout the season, with neither ever fully convincing, and move him on next summer. Hopefully promoting Whittaker to backup in the process.

11-08-2024, 02:28 PM
He was one of our better players today, especially 2nd half

11-08-2024, 02:35 PM
what utter sh it you read on here. seriously OP, if you aint a jambo, u are deluded, miller was one of only 3 players with pass marks today.....

He was one of our best players today.

He made a few mistakes, he’s not perfect. If he was he wouldn’t be playing for us!

Thought it was between him, Ohora or Rudi for MOTM

He was my Man of the Match!

Certainly not one I’d be singling out based on todays performance.

He was one of our better players today, especially 2nd half

Agree with all the above. He's not perfect, but easily one of the first names on the teamsheet.

11-08-2024, 02:39 PM
Possibly our best player today, Miller is the least of our problems

11-08-2024, 02:39 PM

You clearly weren't at the game today, defending was fine, was the only one that looked like driving us on in most parts

11-08-2024, 02:52 PM
Possibly our best player today, Miller is the least of our problems

It's amazing that we rarely win but that line gets trotted out every week for different players. :confused:

11-08-2024, 02:53 PM
Looked like he gave a **** to me, makes mistakes but his attitude and drive makes him look more like captain/leader on the pitch than some I could mention.

11-08-2024, 02:54 PM
It's amazing that we rarely win but that line gets trotted out every week for different players. :confused:

That's because he isn't an issue, we need good midfielders and strikers who can score

11-08-2024, 02:58 PM

Obita far worse (again) for the first goal. Watch him just strolling back allowing Kuhn a tap in.

11-08-2024, 03:03 PM
This place is crazy, Lewis was one of our top 3 players today. Rudi and O'Hora being the other 2.

11-08-2024, 03:06 PM
I love .net 😂

11-08-2024, 03:06 PM
It was a typical Lewis Miller performance. Does something really good one minute then the next he looks like he's never kicked a ball. About 3 times he done well to get past a Celtic player then overhit the pass forward right after it.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

11-08-2024, 03:14 PM
I thought he was fine today. Culpable at the first goal perhaps for not following the ball in but his overall play was decent.

Mikey_1875
11-08-2024, 03:21 PM
I’m not so keen on him generally but can recognise he currently lands in the “least of our problems” category.

11-08-2024, 03:21 PM
Mad how different everyone sees the same game, I thought he had an absolute shocker

HibeeSince85
11-08-2024, 03:22 PM
I thought his passing was slack and no idea what that pirouette was in the second half at the edge of the box that could've cost a goal

Good powerful running though and when he does that he is a threat.

TrinityHFC
11-08-2024, 03:26 PM
I thought his passing was slack and no idea what that pirouette was in the second half at the edge of the box that could've cost a goal

Good powerful running though and when he does that he is a threat.

Yeah until he decides to fall over. He has all the attributes but his decision making and his inability to stay on his feet are frustrating. Would prefer a more solid player in that position. He’s the sort of player that contributes to us being so flaky.

11-08-2024, 03:42 PM
WTF......one of if not our best player on the park today. Mental.

11-08-2024, 03:47 PM
WTF......one of if not our best player on the park today. Mental.

Agree, I thought he had a reasonable game given the opposition and the pressure he was under on that side.

cameronw-hfc
11-08-2024, 03:50 PM
Miller has his faults, and the wee spin at the edge of the box was mental today but otherwise he was one of our better players. Not sure he deserved this thread

11-08-2024, 03:50 PM
Play him as a 10 let him run at them.
He was fine today, just not the brightest of football players perhaps.

11-08-2024, 03:52 PM
He tries stuff. He gets stuck in. He's still young and learning.

Others play safe.

I know which I'd rather see

11-08-2024, 05:39 PM
Miller comfortably my MOTM today, thought he was one of the only ones who played well both halfs. Tried a daft wee turn at the edge of our box late in the second half but luckily nothing came of it.

11-08-2024, 05:49 PM
This place is crazy, Lewis was one of our top 3 players today. Rudi and O'Hora being the other 2.

Spot on and I'd include Bowie too.

11-08-2024, 05:53 PM
Miller comfortably my MOTM today, thought he was one of the only ones who played well both halfs. Tried a daft wee turn at the edge of our box late in the second half but luckily nothing came of it.

I'd agree with that , Worked his socks off and at least wants to be on the ball at every opportunity , Wee bit raw but still young , Great engine on him

11-08-2024, 05:55 PM
Agreed time to give megwa a chance, Miller is build like a tank but has the heart of a mouse

I’ve read some rubbish on here but claiming that Miller has the heart of a mouse is right up there [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

LunasBoots
11-08-2024, 05:56 PM
Miller at the beginning struggled but as the game wore on he got to grips with it and was one our our better players.

11-08-2024, 06:08 PM
I’ve read some rubbish on here but claiming that Miller has the heart of a mouse is right up there [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

:agree: unbelievable eh?

LEaston87
11-08-2024, 06:29 PM
Apart from him trying to do a marseille roulette outside his own box and diving near their corner when he could have just put in a cross, I thought he was one of the few who done ok

11-08-2024, 06:38 PM
I really struggle with Lewis Miller but other than 2 huge errors and his always poor passing couldn’t fault his effort

Nowhere near our worst player today

Without thinking too hard

Newell

Campbell

Levitt

Obita

Kuka

Bursic

Marv

Boyle

Were all far worse and with the possible exception of Marv far less committed than him today

That Miller with all his faults was one of our 4 best starters today possibly our best tells you everything you need to know about how truly pish we have become

11-08-2024, 06:41 PM

Crazy isn’t it?

That’s the last thing you could accuse him of.

11-08-2024, 07:08 PM
I’m not so keen on him generally but can recognise he currently lands in the “least of our problems” category.

I think that having such inconsistent, rash, raw and error prone players as the “least of our problems” is very much part of our problem though.

It was mixed bag from him as usual but for us to get anywhere, we need to have 6 or 7 players playing better than that.

And for me, only Molotnikov was better than him today.

11-08-2024, 07:13 PM

gaz1875
11-08-2024, 07:16 PM

One of the best performances on our team and you slag him off? Where was the cover from the left sided midfield when he had 2-3 players running at him.

WestStandWillie
11-08-2024, 07:21 PM
Terrible player. Not aided a ***** midfield and the regressing Boyle

11-08-2024, 07:36 PM
Terrible player. Not aided a ***** midfield and the regressing Boyle

He really isn't a terrible player, some nonsense gets posted on here at times

11-08-2024, 07:56 PM
Was far from the worst player today. Gray needs to sort out the way the team set up. Boyle not good enough to merit a start at the moment. There is not enough passing and movement. Defence is not organised Marv was playing far too deep played Celtic players onside
Too many wayward passes and players being out muscled by players smaller that them.
Should have stayed at home and cut the grass than watch that today.

11-08-2024, 10:27 PM
I thought he was one of our better players today. Actually wanted to be positive on the ball which was sadly lacking throughout the team.

11-08-2024, 10:41 PM
Looked lively, actually won a few physical battles and I would play him and C Cadden down that side and drop Boyle. Hoping Cadden 2.0 or Hoilet can play on the left and Rudi can move more central. That would get Boyle and Campbell out the team both of who are way off teh pace.

11-08-2024, 10:54 PM
Looked lively, actually won a few physical battles and I would play him and C Cadden down that side and drop Boyle. Hoping Cadden 2.0 or Hoilet can play on the left and Rudi can move more central. That would get Boyle and Campbell out the team both of who are way off teh pace.

Definitely wouldn’t be against getting rudi into the middle.

12-08-2024, 04:55 AM
Miller was one of our better players today.

Yes, he makes mistakes, but if you are looking for players who don’t I’d suggest you won’t find many in a Hibs strip.

In fact, you won’t find many anywhere.

stalbanshibby
12-08-2024, 05:33 AM

They were all ball watching. Sure he could have picked up Forrest, but overall Miller was one of the few yesterday (IMHO) who had a decent game.

MacGregor's goal - there were 4 Hibs players round the Celtic player who made the pass to MacGregor and he still found his man. The Hibs players were standing off, not tackling, trying to intercept and the guy (Kuhn was it) outwitted them all. And because 4 players had been sucked in, MacGregor had acres of space. It's clueless football. Hibs players were mesmorised.

12-08-2024, 05:46 AM
Yeah until he decides to fall over. He has all the attributes but his decision making and his inability to stay on his feet are frustrating. Would prefer a more solid player in that position. He’s the sort of player that contributes to us being so flaky.

Was that description lifted from a Porto post? 😁

WestStandWillie
12-08-2024, 07:20 AM
He really isn't a terrible player, some nonsense gets posted on here at times

Oh he is. Was all over the shop yesterday, cherry on the top was the fancy pirouette he done at the edge of the box culminating in losing possession and narrowly avoiding a 3rd goal being conceded.

Megwa should be ahead of him in the pecking order.

12-08-2024, 10:15 AM

Absolutely. He's far from the perfect player, but at least yesterday he was one of the few who looked annoyed at the first half performance and tried to drive us forward ... As you say, one of three players who were responsible for our 2nd half performance being better than the first half, for what it's worth.

12-08-2024, 10:17 AM
Oh he is. Was all over the shop yesterday, cherry on the top was the fancy pirouette he done at the edge of the box culminating in losing possession and narrowly avoiding a 3rd goal being conceded.

There is no way on earth Megwa should be ahead of Miller right now.

12-08-2024, 12:17 PM
He is still raw great potential tho good having Miller Megwa and Whittaker who can all play right back Millers position just now

12-08-2024, 12:26 PM
If our midfield put in half of the effort Miller put in.
Still a young player and with the right coaching, could become a very good player but this site is poisonous just now.

12-08-2024, 12:34 PM

What are you basing that on? Whenever I've seen Megwa, not a lot tbf, he certainly doesn't look ready to be our starting right back.

12-08-2024, 01:57 PM
I watched Miller, full of energy and gerintaethum, more of the same from the lad please, but his wee dance where he lost the ball and they almost scored needs tae be cut oot, hes no me ffs.

12-08-2024, 02:00 PM

Megwa isn't better than Miller.

12-08-2024, 02:09 PM
Megwa isn't better than Miller.
Not yet.

1875Sean
12-08-2024, 06:03 PM
Miller is 24 in a few weeks, how long are people going to say he is young and raw

12-08-2024, 06:12 PM
Miller is 24 in a few weeks, how long are people going to say he is young and raw

Younger than Josh Campbell so if it's good enough for him it's good enough for Miller.

w pilton hibby
04-09-2024, 10:13 AM

From EEN

Hibs starter ruled OUT of World Cup qualifiers after knee injury 'blows up' on long-haul flight

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-starter-ruled-out-of-world-cup-qualifiers-after-knee-injury-blows-up-on-long-haul-flight-4768300

04-09-2024, 10:24 AM
So who is our cover for right back ?

Chris Cadden Megwa free agent ?

04-09-2024, 10:32 AM

Hope Megwa gets a chance if Miller misses games for us.

04-09-2024, 12:03 PM
From EEN

Hibs starter ruled OUT of World Cup qualifiers after knee injury 'blows up' on long-haul flight

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-starter-ruled-out-of-world-cup-qualifiers-after-knee-injury-blows-up-on-long-haul-flight-4768300

Nightmare hopefully nothing too serious

04-09-2024, 01:46 PM
Injured by a bloody plane😡

04-09-2024, 01:48 PM

It's Cadden first, then Megwa with no need to sign another right back.

04-09-2024, 02:19 PM
From EEN

Always said there is too much pressure on players these days :whistle:

04-09-2024, 03:07 PM
We could do without this, but hopefully, won’t keep him out of our team, just the international. I love his commitment and drive. Been going down less this season too. Still not perfect, but if he was, he wouldn’t be at Hibs.

Cabbage-Patch
04-09-2024, 03:16 PM
Maybe time for Megwa to step up and justify the faith put in him by the club. Cadden is not a natural right back IMO

Bushwoof
04-09-2024, 03:28 PM
I'd love Megwa to be better than Miller but every time I've seen him he's been all over the place defensively, and looks more like a winger than a defender. Better hope Miller's injury isn't serious.

04-09-2024, 03:46 PM
Injured by a bloody plane😡

Probably more likely Sundays pitch

cameronw-hfc
04-09-2024, 03:54 PM
I'd love Megwa to be better than Miller but every time I've seen him he's been all over the place defensively, and looks more like a winger than a defender. Better hope Miller's injury isn't serious.

Strange as i thought the general consensus with Megwa was that he was good defensively and could cover across the back 4 but not quite as good going forward yet.

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2024, 04:08 PM
Probably more likely Sundays pitch

I wouldn’t rule that out though a big possibility is also that awful challenge on him that could easily have been a red card .

04-09-2024, 04:20 PM
If miller is out injured and misses games I think Gray would revert to a back 3 with Iredale instead of putting Megwa straight in

04-09-2024, 04:23 PM
I wouldn’t rule that out though a big possibility is also that awful challenge on him that could easily have been a red card .

Yep good chance it was that horror tackle

04-09-2024, 04:23 PM
If miller is out injured and misses games I think Gray would revert to a back 3 with Iredale instead of putting Megwa straight in

No point in giving him a long term deal if we don’t want to play him. Given he’s not out on loan, you’d be wondering what the plan is for him if he can’t get any game time.

Thought Saturday was the first time we’ve had a proper shape about us and looked a bit more of a unit. Would be daft to change IMO.

05-09-2024, 04:02 PM
No point in giving him a long term deal if we don’t want to play him. Given he’s not out on loan, you’d be wondering what the plan is for him if he can’t get any game time.

Thought Saturday was the first time we’ve had a proper shape about us and looked a bit more of a unit. Would be daft to change IMO.

I've been calling for a start here and there, honestly don't want to see 3 at the back vs St Johnstone unless it's a 3-4-3, if it is a 3--5-2 have a feeling it will be the Cadden brothers on both flanks.

08-09-2024, 12:19 PM
Couple of photos of Lewis in Indonesia in the locals here.

One of him training with the rest of the squad and another of him playing badminton with Josh Nisbet in the hotel grounds.

Doesn’t look injured in the slightest.

08-09-2024, 12:28 PM

One of him training with the rest of the squad and another of him playing badminton with Josh Nisbet in the hotel grounds.

Well they said they hoped he’d play the 2nd game.

08-09-2024, 09:01 PM

Maybe just swollen up and as a precaution didn’t play

jakeshibs
08-09-2024, 09:04 PM

WTF, lets support our players

Gorebridge Hibb
08-09-2024, 11:08 PM

Yes he can. Really 🤷*♂️. The guy will be sold for a lot of money and we will cash in. Best of the Mariners team that did so well 2 seasons ago

Donegal Hibby
08-09-2024, 11:19 PM

Brave ,100% committed , Long throw , good attitude , seems to be well liked by his teammates and a bit of a character…. Truth of it is Millers a good player to have .

cubehindthegoal
09-09-2024, 12:20 AM

ok then

09-09-2024, 06:18 AM
Brave ,100% committed , Long throw , good attitude , seems to be well liked by his teammates and a bit of a character…. Truth of it is Millers a good player to have .

Agree and is raw but clearly huge potential. Does have parts of his game which can improve however definitely coachable. Like his attitude just needs concentrate all the time.

09-09-2024, 06:51 AM
Yes he can. Really 🤷*♂️. The guy will be sold for a lot of money and we will cash in. Best of the Mariners team that did so well 2 seasons ago

I like Miller but to suggest he’ll be sold for ‘a lot of money’ is pretty fanciful.

KeithWright9
09-09-2024, 09:49 AM
I like Miller but to suggest he’ll be sold for ‘a lot of money’ is pretty fanciful.

Also out of contract in the summer so very fanciful on that basis

09-09-2024, 10:05 AM

Very little skill, reckless, dodgy trims. Truth is he is very average but also appears to be our main tactic this season. Thats more worrying.

The Tubs
09-09-2024, 10:09 AM
Very little skill, reckless, dodgy trims. Truth is he is very average but also appears to be our main tactic this season. Thats more worrying.

I think he's probably got enough skill to have a decent career and his physical attributes count for a lot. His decision-making and positioning have been problems but he at least he seems able to learn.

09-09-2024, 10:11 AM
My first impression of him was he's a raw talent.

Two years later, he still comes across as "raw". Would like to see him become more cooked soon.

ChuckNor
09-09-2024, 10:18 AM
Lewis Miller is the least of our concerns. A more than capable right back with a lot of potential. I think he will have a very decent career and may make us a small return, should we decide to extend his contract.

09-09-2024, 10:59 AM
I think he's probably got enough skill to have a decent career and his physical attributes count for a lot. His decision-making and positioning have been problems but he at least he seems able to learn.

Big season for Miller this season. He's no longer new to the Scottish game and needs to show more awareness and consistency. I'm hopeful he will do that.

09-09-2024, 11:07 AM
I assume he’s fit as he’s posted a pic of himself on Instagram training.

K-Zazu
09-09-2024, 01:07 PM

Anybody can be brave, 100% committed and have a long throw. Doesn’t mean that you’re a good footballer who should be playing every week for Hibs.

09-09-2024, 01:22 PM
Agree and is raw but clearly huge potential. Does have parts of his game which can improve however definitely coachable. Like his attitude just needs concentrate all the time.

Does he have much more potential? I’m not convinced. He’s 24 so not an inexperienced youngster anymore and still as raw as when he arrived. He might improve a bit, but I think the player he is now is probably the player he’s always going to be. I’d make do with him this season but move him on next summer if he’s one of the ones out of contract. Same goes for Cadden IMO.

richard_pitts
09-09-2024, 01:27 PM
Does he have much more potential? I’m not convinced. He’s 24 so not an inexperienced youngster anymore and still as raw as when he arrived. He might improve a bit, but I think the player he is now is probably the player he’s always going to be. I’d make do with him this season but move him on next summer if he’s one of the ones out of contract. Same goes for Cadden IMO.

I think if we did, we'd be looking at him turning in decent performances for another side e.g. St Mirren and wondering what we did wrong. Problem is for the last 4-5 years management has been awful and it's telling the likes of Miller and Campbell haven't kicked on, whereas Trantis obviously has for example.

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2024, 01:28 PM
Anybody can be brave, 100% committed and have a long throw. Doesn’t mean that you’re a good footballer who should be playing every week for Hibs.

Anyone can be brave , 100% committed though not all footballers are . I thought he had a very good game against Killie , probably the most fouled player in our squad . Personally I like him and don’t think he’s a problem.

09-09-2024, 04:00 PM
Hes one of our best players, he will leave next season, I think hes worth a mint just now, hopefully we dont lose him cheaply like McGinn, I also remember folk on here saying hes no worth a million.I really rate him. Hope we can extend his contract.

tonyrougier123
09-09-2024, 04:06 PM
Hes one of our best players, he will leave next season, I think hes worth a mint just now, hopefully we dont lose him cheaply like McGinn, I also remember folk on here saying hes no worth a million.I really rate him. Hope we can extend his contract.

I agree,there’s definitely quality in millers game as a modern full back.
I thought he was one of the best players both games v Celtic.

09-09-2024, 04:09 PM
Still a bit raw for me

Played well versus Killie good to see him staying on his feet more

If someone had offered 1m during the window would have bitten their hand off

Big season ahead for the boy

09-09-2024, 04:10 PM

I think Miller has started the season relatively well and probably been our best defender. Not a particularly high bar, but still think he’s been the best of the bunch.

He’s still got a lot to prove though. He’s only now really establishing himself as first pick, I don’t think anyone would be rushing to pay a million quid for him any time soon. Still has to show he can play consistently well at our level.

09-09-2024, 04:53 PM
Bowie injured in training with 21’s as well?

09-09-2024, 05:37 PM
Bowie injured in training with 21’s as well?

Get that from Duncan McClean on Twitter by any chance? Think he's a troll account and full of ****, also said we're looking at Marcondes.

09-09-2024, 06:04 PM
Get that from Duncan McClean on Twitter by any chance? Think he's a troll account and full of ****, also said we're looking at Marcondes.

Think it was, someone messaged me

10-09-2024, 10:45 AM
Miller and Boyle both on the bench for Oz ‘must win’ World Cup tie against Indonesia in Jakarta.

Kicking off 1pm Scotland time.

10-09-2024, 11:45 AM

I'm firmly in the camp of backing our players, and i think LM offers a lot.

However, its worth noting he wasnt part of the Mariners side that won the league under Montgomery. He left in the 2021-22 season for Hibs, the season CCM finished 5th, and lost to Adelaide 3-1 in the 'finals', they also lost to Melbourne V in the FFA Cup Final.

It was the 22-23 season they won the A-League.

10-09-2024, 11:52 AM
I really can't make my mind up about Miller, I wasn't all that big a fan of his last season, his positioning was sometimes really poor and he fell over far too easily, this season he still falls over a lot but his positioning is much better and he's making a better contribution all round IMO.

alhibby
10-09-2024, 01:31 PM
Miller and Boyle both on the bench for Oz ‘must win’ World Cup tie against Indonesia in Jakarta.

Live on youtube 0-0 so far

10-09-2024, 02:39 PM
Live on youtube 0-0 so far

Full time 0-0

Oz dominated against a resolute Indonesia but just couldn’t convert their chances…….again.

Neither Boyle nor Miller got on the park.

Going to be very difficult for Oz to qualify now after dropping 5 points in the first two games.

10-09-2024, 02:40 PM

Jakarta? [asked in the style of the Two Ronnies etc?]

10-09-2024, 08:22 PM
Full time 0-0

Oz dominated against a resolute Indonesia but just couldn’t convert their chances…….again.

Neither Boyle nor Miller got on the park.

Going to be very difficult for Oz to qualify now after dropping 5 points in the first two games.

Travelling not ideal but at least they won’t be doing it on the back of running about in the heat for 90 minutes. Need players as fresh as possible for Saturday.

Donegal Hibby
09-10-2024, 01:30 PM
High praise from Gray about Miller .. his athleticism and commitment is very good maybe there’s aspects of his game he needs to work on though not a bad player to have and good luck to him with Australia….

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/david-gray-salutes-hibs-star-30102396

09-10-2024, 01:36 PM
High praise from Gray about Miller .. his athleticism and commitment is very good maybe there’s aspects of his game he needs to work on though not a bad player to have and good luck to him with Australia….

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/david-gray-salutes-hibs-star-30102396
Shock horror, manager praises player, he's hardly going to say he falls over with the slightest gust of wind.

Nor would he say he's brutal on the ball and is put on his erse by very average players.

But then again, he's part of a defense that leak goals most games for fun, so what does he know?

09-10-2024, 01:47 PM
The same guy that rated Josh Campbell so highly so no surprise

Miller is poor but who else have we got that can play right back ?

Hope he is looking at full backs that can actually play full back come the summer clear out or perhaps has a youngster who is already here in mind ?

09-10-2024, 01:48 PM
Shock horror, manager praises player, he's hardly going to say he falls over with the slightest gust of wind.

Nor would he say he's brutal on the ball and is put on his erse by very average players.

But then again, he's part of a defense that leak goals most games for fun, so what does he know?

Strapping big lad, just needs to realise the football we play over here dont allow you to pick it up and kick.:greengrin

He is alright, dinkum fair player and we will make money when we sell him on.

Donegal Hibby
09-10-2024, 02:00 PM

Maybe he does go over a bit easy at times as do a lot of other players too , one thing though he’s probably our most fouled players and a lot of the time he gets some rough treatment as well…

Ndaba’s tackle being a prime example not too long an ago .. anyhow nice to see one of our players getting a call up and Gray acknowledging it especially with all the negativity that’s been going on ! .

Donegal Hibby
09-10-2024, 02:02 PM
The same guy that rated Josh Campbell so highly so no surprise

Miller is poor but who else have we got that can play right back ?

Hope he is looking at full backs that can actually play full back come the summer clear out or perhaps has a youngster who is already here in mind ?

Yep that’s me Billy and I still do👍

09-10-2024, 02:54 PM
Yep that’s me Billy and I still do👍

Was talking about SDG

Miller has the first touch of an elephant and his second touch is usually a tackle

For such a big guy screams if anyone goes near him just play the whistle and get on with it ffs !

Kept putting the ball down the line and out of play on Saturday

Frustrating as ….

Paulie Walnuts
09-10-2024, 02:56 PM
Strapping big lad, just needs to realise the football we play over here dont allow you to pick it up and kick.:greengrin

He is alright, dinkum fair player and we will make money when we sell him on.

I honestly don’t see Miller making us much money.

09-10-2024, 03:13 PM
Hasn't improved as we hoped. He has had a poor start to this season, disappointing.

09-10-2024, 03:24 PM

DG reckons he can be whatever he wants to be! I think he has all the physical attributes to be the very best in his position but I don’t know what goes on in his head. Any winger playing against him knows to take the ball up to him, slow him down and then just run away from him because he has no acceleration and therefore rarely is capable of stopping crosses. Going forward he is ponderous and don’t start me on about his ridiculous embarrassing diving! It would be interesting to know what he wants to be and whether he thinks he is on his way to achieving it.

09-10-2024, 04:21 PM
Was talking about SDG

Miller has the first touch of an elephant and his second touch is usually a tackle

For such a big guy screams if anyone goes near him just play the whistle and get on with it ffs !

Kept putting the ball down the line and out of play on Saturday

Frustrating as ….

Sorry but miller's touch is no where near as bad as you are making out. You also described most players these days when they get the slightest touch, annoying yes but that's how it is. He has clearly been instructed to get the ball over the top down the right hand side, yes a fee passes went astray but again no where near as bad as you are making out

09-10-2024, 04:31 PM
Couldn't care less if I seen Miller play for us again, just a big lump with minimum skills and topples over with a gust of wind, we need so much better.

09-10-2024, 04:34 PM
Sorry but miller's touch is no where near as bad as you are making out. You also described most players these days when they get the slightest touch, annoying yes but that's how it is. He has clearly been instructed to get the ball over the top down the right hand side, yes a fee passes went astray but again no where near as bad as you are making out

But they happened

Should stick to Aussie Rules

He is unorthodox to say the least

Clumsy awkward no awareness I could go on

24 possession losts on Saturday must be a record

Are you serious?

We need better

Source :

Sofascores

Edit :

Agree most players go down holding their head nowadays after the slightest touch does ma heid in

09-10-2024, 05:32 PM
But they happened

Are you serious?

We need better

Source :

Sofascores

Edit :

Agree most players go down holding their head nowadays after the slightest touch does ma heid in

Sorry but that is surely pish. A few misplaced passes early on aye, losing possession 24 times, that's gash.

09-10-2024, 05:40 PM
Sorry but that is surely pish. A few misplaced passes early on aye, losing possession 24 times, that's gash.

Lies damn lies and statistics

Got to be honest can only remember two passes going out of play first half but can remember him getting caught in possession Motherwell players were on him in a flash and moves breaking down only one successful dribble out of three for example 7 crosses that never found a man and 7 misplaced passes

Does not seems to have progressed at all sad to say and stop this going to ground for nonexistent fouls ( Ibrox )

https://i.ibb.co/FXKRX1F/IMG-2923.png (https://ibb.co/hcy3cNS)

Hibees1973
09-10-2024, 06:04 PM

As you said...'Shock horror, manager praises player....'. For example, prior to last weekends' game Gray was quoted that Youan had trained well and was showing good commitment and energy. Why then did Gray overlook Youan last Saturday and put on three forwards ahead of him.

A fundamental aspect of a football manager's job is to improve the players that he has got.

Gray has been the manager for around three months now and will have had loads of time on the training pitch to improve Miller. Gray being a right back also, you would think that Miller would have improved. He hasn't. Last Saturday was the usual falling on his erchie, bounding forward heading up dead ends, misplaced passes, losing 1:1 battles and his standard poor defensive positioning.

Bar the rare juggernaut display when Miller ascends to an ordinary performance, he is one of the weakest parts of our team.

If Gray doesn't replace Miller, it's probable that Miller will still be at the club when Gray departs.

09-10-2024, 06:05 PM
Lies damn lies and statistics

Got to be honest can only remember two passes going out of play first half but can remember him getting caught in possession Motherwell players were on him in a flash and moves breaking down only one successful dribble out of three for example

Does not seems to have progressed at all sad to say and stop this going to ground for nonexistent fouls ( Ibrox )

https://i.ibb.co/FXKRX1F/IMG-2923.png (https://ibb.co/hcy3cNS)

Would need a link to compare with other players. Still finding it a bit hard to grasp, what do they even mean by possession? Does that include the missed passes, crosses and long passes?

Miller often invites contact. He knows he can hold players off due to his physique, or that he gets fouled. I'm sure I read that he was one of the most fouled players in the league last year.

09-10-2024, 06:08 PM
I'm in the camp of hasn't progressed as much as we had hoped, still has his moments in games, did play well Vs Kilmarnock and one of the Celtic games when he just kept it simple on the ball and didn't try anything silly.

He did say he wanted to be the best RB in the league in an article in the past.

09-10-2024, 06:21 PM
Would need a link to compare with other players. Still finding it a bit hard to grasp, what do they even mean by possession? Does that include the missed passes, crosses and long passes?

Miller often invites contact. He knows he can hold players off due to his physique, or that he gets fouled. I'm sure I read that he was one of the most fouled players in the league last year.
Was fouled three times on Saturday

The 7 crosses to no one and the 7 misplaced passes do not help his cause

Download the Sofascores app or access their website

Face facts he is a donkey :greengrin

09-10-2024, 06:29 PM
I think Miller has progressed tbf in some departments, but he’s not cutting out the moments of stupidity he has

I think defensively he is good and would be a bit of a nightmare to play against due to his physicality- I can see English teams wanting him for this reason.

But for me he really needs to;

Improve his passing, especially longer passes/in behind
Use his size and stop trying to buy fouls. Refs are used to him doing it now
Improve decision making

And overall just simplify his game a bit. Let him know he’s a big unit and he needs to realise what he’s good at and not so good at

He is a big threat coming down the right at times though

Donegal Hibby
09-10-2024, 06:43 PM
I'm in the camp of hasn't progressed as much as we had hoped, still has his moments in games, did play well Vs Kilmarnock and one of the Celtic games when he just kept it simple on the ball and didn't try anything silly.

I thought after a shaky start initially in the Sevco game he got better and had a decent game too.

09-10-2024, 06:46 PM
I think there’s a player there. Has a lot of good attributes but I just don’t think he’s received the quality of coaching he needs. If he leaves in the summer, there won’t be a shortage of takers.

supermcginn
09-10-2024, 07:04 PM
A total and utter huddie who loves to fall on his arse. Incredible to think of the abuse Whittaker used to get when he's at least ten times the player Miller is.

Hibees1973
09-10-2024, 07:05 PM

:top marksCareful Billy.

Some on here don't like facts.

09-10-2024, 07:08 PM
A total and utter huddie who loves to fall on his arse. Incredible to think of the abuse Whittaker used to get when he's at least ten times the player Miller is.

Was a disgrace the abuse Whittaker took

Embarrassing

09-10-2024, 07:19 PM
I really can't make my mind up about Miller, I wasn't all that big a fan of his last season, his positioning was sometimes really poor and he fell over far too easily, this season he still falls over a lot but his positioning is much better and he's making a better contribution all round IMO.
Neither can I. And that's not even from week to week it changes mid-game.

I do like his style but one minute he is aggressive and does an outstanding bit of work and the next it's poor decision making giving away clear chances to score.

There's a couple of times I've stood and said I thought he was in with a shout of MoTm before recalling 'apart from when he gave it away that almost lead to the goal. oh and apart from the other time when he..'

09-10-2024, 08:11 PM

So clearances and throws/ crosses count as lost possession😀
I looked, couldn’t find it. Like I said, would need to compare data for others and understand the parameters. The ones quoted aren’t telling that much. Although they clearly stimulate one of our resident pretend Hibs fans✌️

09-10-2024, 08:14 PM
Was a disgrace the abuse Whittaker took

Embarrassing

Thank god weve learned our lesson.

09-10-2024, 08:16 PM
So clearances and throws/ crosses count as lost possession😀
I looked, couldn’t find it. Like I said, would need to compare data for others and understand the parameters. The ones quoted aren’t telling that much. Although they clearly stimulate one of our resident pretend Hibs fans✌️

I hope you are not referring to moi old bean ?

I can assure you I do attend all home games away not so much nowadays

My eyes and my fitba brain also do not deceive me

Why do 7 crosses into the box with no Hibs takers and 7 misplaced passes from Lewis Miller not surprise me plus all the times he was caught dithering on the ball stats look about right to me

10-10-2024, 07:17 AM

He's not even the best right back in his team, and we are pish at right back.

10-10-2024, 07:27 AM
Thank god weve learned our lesson.

10-10-2024, 07:28 AM

He really isnt

10-10-2024, 07:42 AM
I hope you are not referring to moi old bean ?

I can assure you I do attend all home games away not so much nowadays

My eyes and my fitba brain also do not deceive me

Why do 7 crosses into the box with no Hibs takers and 7 misplaced passes from Lewis Miller not surprise me plus all the times he was caught dithering on the ball stats look about right to me

No, not you. Look at some of the posts on here.

I have tried to find the stats you refer to and asked for a link a couple of times, so I can look at comparison's with other players. I suspect speculative crosses stats into the box aren't that great a measure of performance. Misplaced passes, again are these stats including clearances as a measure of passing success?

Can anyone else shed light on this stuff? A link would be helpful (I think I asked for this at least twice before-not sure why you can't just post it).

Your eyes and brain give a very subjective view on what you see. I think I and others have said that Miller had a poor game on Saturday. I have said that he doesn't seem to be progressing as we would like.

Edit:-found a link https://www.sofascore.com/team/football/hibernian/2354

Miller is 7th highest performer from the 18 players who have featured this season. The stats show he had a poorer than average (by his standard) game on Saturday. He is fouled considerably more than Obita, gives away fewer fouls. Has a much higher dribble rating, loses possession slighly more. Clears the ball less, successfully completes more long passes.

TBH, it's interesting, but not really as a stick with which to beat players with.

10-10-2024, 07:54 AM

I have tried to find the stats you refer to and asked for a link a couple of times, so I can look at comparison's with other players. I suspect speculative crosses stats into the box aren't that great a measure of performance. Misplaced passes, again are these stats including clearances as a measure of passing success?

Can anyone else shed light on this stuff? A link would be helpful (I think I asked for this at least twice before-not sure why you can't just post it).

Your eyes and brain give a very subjective view on what you see. I think I and others have said that Miller had a poor game on Saturday. I have said that he doesn't seem to be progressing as we would like.

No great mystery I advised you to download the Sofascore App or visit their website online don’t think there is much more I can do tbh see #144

At least we are in agreement Lewis Miler did not have a great game on Saturday

I did think you were referring to the OP but wasn’t sure no offence taken

https://www.sofascore.com

10-10-2024, 08:20 AM

Edit:-found a link https://www.sofascore.com/team/football/hibernian/2354

Miller is 7th highest performer from the 18 players who have featured this season. The stats show he had a poorer than average (by his standard) game on Saturday. He is fouled considerably more than Obita, gives away fewer fouls. Has a much higher dribble rating, loses possession slighly more. Clears the ball less, successfully completes more long passes.

TBH, it's interesting, but not really as a stick with which to beat players with.

Agree but my point was that it was in response to a poster who said that he did not give the ball away much on Saturday which he clearly did

Anyway worth hanging onto that site going forward

10-10-2024, 08:42 AM
Lewis about to start for the Socceroos in a ‘must win’ World Cup qualifier against China in Adelaide

10-10-2024, 08:43 AM
No great mystery I advised you to download the Sofascore App or visit their website online don’t think there is much more I can do tbh see #144

At least we are in agreement Lewis Miler did not have a great game on Saturday

I did think you were referring to the OP but wasn’t sure no offence taken

https://www.sofascore.com

I asked for a link, because I couldn't find the site in my post work addled state last night.

I can't do a screenshot, but here's Joe Newell's stats from his best game this season, just for context. Newell is one of best performing players this season and this was his highest ranking game. He had a score of 7.3/10 (v Killie)

Goals
Assists
Touches
Accurate passes
16/28 (57%)
Key passes
Crosses (acc.)
3 (0)
Long balls (acc.)
7 (0)
Shots on target
Shots off target
Shots blocked
Dribble attempts (succ.)
0 (0)
Ground duels (won)
8 (3)
Aerial duels (won)
4 (1)
Possession lost
Fouls
Was fouled
Clearances
Blocked shots
Interceptions
Total tackles
Dribbled past

10-10-2024, 09:05 AM
I asked for a link, because I couldn't find the site in my post work addled state last night.

I can't do a screenshot, but here's Joe Newell's stats from his best game this season, just for context. Newell is one of best performing players this season and this was his highest ranking game. He had a score of 7.3/10 (v Killie)

Goals
Assists
Touches
Accurate passes
16/28 (57%)
Key passes
Crosses (acc.)
3 (0)
Long balls (acc.)
7 (0)
Shots on target
Shots off target
Shots blocked
Dribble attempts (succ.)
0 (0)
Ground duels (won)
8 (3)
Aerial duels (won)
4 (1)
Possession lost
Fouls
Was fouled
Clearances
Blocked shots
Interceptions
Total tackles
Dribbled past

Looks about right

Not a big Joe Newell fan well documented on here

Your point is caller ? :greengrin

One anomaly from Saturday’s fiasco I have just spotted our star man and goal scorer Junior Hoilett with a whopping match score of 8.1 lost possession 28 times :confused: Teams must be getting wise to him and doubling up on him he did however have 16 crosses 3 of which were successful pretty sure I read he has the highest number of crosses in the SPFL

AT8
10-10-2024, 09:13 AM
His first involvement in the Australia game that’s on now was to fall over to win a free kick.

Donegal Hibby
10-10-2024, 09:22 AM
His first involvement in the Australia game that’s on now was to fall over to win a free kick.

Referee must have thought it was a foul then :greengrin

andrew70
10-10-2024, 09:23 AM

Fall over? He was thumped on the back of his knee?

10-10-2024, 09:32 AM
1-0 China. Miller not remotely at fault.

AT8
10-10-2024, 09:32 AM
Fall over? He was thumped on the back of his knee?

He still went over rather dramatically.

10-10-2024, 09:33 AM
It’s been all Australia tae.

10-10-2024, 09:34 AM
Looks about right

Not a big Joe Newell fan well documented on here

Your point is caller ? :greengrin

One anomaly from Saturday’s fiasco I have just spotted our star man and goal scorer Junior Hoilett with a whopping match score of 8.1 lost possession 28 times :confused: Teams must be getting wise to him and doubling up on him he did however have 16 crosses 3 of which were successful pretty sure I read he has the highest number of crosses in the SPFL

I think the point is that stats aren't telling the whole story. Hoilett stats are testimony to that.

10-10-2024, 09:58 AM
A goal for our boy. Cracking header.

Curried
Miller scores 1-1

Australia really struggling just now.

This is their third qualifying game, lost 1-0 at home to Bahrain, drew 0-0 in Indonesia, now a goal down at home to China at half time.

Edit - Millers just made it 1-1 just before half time!

AT8
And he scores. He’s been playing well.

andrew70
10-10-2024, 09:59 AM
A well deserved goal.

10-10-2024, 10:00 AM
Dunno what VAR was looking at there. There was nowt wrong with Millers goal.

10-10-2024, 10:00 AM
Australia have nothing whatsoever from midfield forward.

10-10-2024, 10:01 AM
Miller rose like a swan

H18S NX
10-10-2024, 10:05 AM
He's not even the best right back in his team, and we are pish at right back.....:greengrin

10-10-2024, 10:05 AM
And he scores. He’s been playing well.

Well done Lewis 👍

10-10-2024, 10:07 AM
Australia have nothing whatsoever from midfield forward.

Yeah, the boy from Ross County, Josh Nisbet. If he was genuinely the best player in the Aussie league last season, then I’ve no idea how he’s not even in this squad. That midfield is doing nothing against really poor opposition.

K-Zazu
10-10-2024, 10:16 AM
I’ve just had an idea. Can Miller play centre half? Maybe he would be better suited as a centre half than a right back?

10-10-2024, 10:16 AM
Told you all …great player ! :greengrin

10-10-2024, 10:19 AM
I’ve just had an idea. Can Miller play centre half? Maybe he would be better suited as a centre half than a right back?

I'd have nae problem with him playing centre half if we were regularly playing in games where the bookies had us at 1/9 odds for the win.

China are a terrible football team.

10-10-2024, 10:23 AM
I think the point is that stats aren't telling the whole story. Hoilett stats are testimony to that.

Curried
10-10-2024, 10:31 AM
Always loved Goodwin...specky strike from Adelaide

Curried
10-10-2024, 10:35 AM
2-1 Aoustralia

Curried
10-10-2024, 10:36 AM
Yeah, the boy from Ross County, Josh Nisbet. If he was genuinely the best player in the Aussie league last season, then I’ve no idea how he’s not even in this squad. That midfield is doing nothing against really poor opposition.

That's aging well good luck Chiana

Saint Hibee
10-10-2024, 10:57 AM
Why are China so bad? Huge population, pumping millions into their football league ...

Curried
10-10-2024, 11:04 AM
Miller MOM :-)

Curried
10-10-2024, 11:07 AM
3-1 Australia

hibsforeurope
10-10-2024, 11:09 AM
Why are China so bad? Huge population, pumping millions into their football league ...

Initially anyway, the millions were invested on outside talent rather than nurturing homegrown players. Chinese football seems to have fallen off the radar after the initial interest so no idea if they still have the same amount of foreign stars these days.

10-10-2024, 11:12 AM
Miller MOM :-)

He lost possession 24 times today though :greengrin. Sofascore is now my bible. Lewis had a rating of 8/10 today. He was also Australia's most fouled player.

Well done to him. Hopefully he can bring some form and confidence back with him.

10-10-2024, 11:20 AM

I remember Scott McDonald being called the best player in the A-League when he was 38 playing for Brisbane Roar, 2 years after he'd been released by Partick

Curried
10-10-2024, 11:22 AM
He lost possession 24 times today though :greengrin. Sofascore is now my bible. Lewis had a rating of 8/10 today. He was also Australia's most fouled player.

Well done to him. Hopefully he can bring some form and confidence back with him.

I thought he was great, but loosing the ball heaps of times as you know means he was involved. :agree:

Curried
10-10-2024, 11:27 AM
I remember Scott McDonald being called the best player in the A-League when he was 38 playing for Brisbane Roar, 2 years after he'd been released by Partick

Indeed, just like Kewell, Johnston and Cahill.

10-10-2024, 11:31 AM
I think he's decent, a bit rough, but not a massive issue. Certainly needs to use his physicality more. Shaun Rooney is nowhere near as talented as miller but uses his height and strength much more effectively.

10-10-2024, 11:48 AM
I think he's decent, a bit rough, but not a massive issue. Certainly needs to use his physicality more. Shaun Rooney is nowhere near as talented as miller but uses his height and strength much more effectively.

...particularly in Glasgow Chippies.

tonyrougier123
10-10-2024, 12:02 PM
Miller has improved for me in his time at hibs,big unit! will have a decent career, not infallible at times but generally I’ve been very pleased when I’ve seen him this season. Daft as a brush which is great because the scrutiny dealt out by Hibs supporters stretches the length of princess street.
Might as someone said be a decent shout at CB but we aren’t in any position to be experimenting with players just now. Need to be getting the basic level of keeping it simple and robust at the moment.

Donegal Hibby
10-10-2024, 12:09 PM
Delighted Miller has scored for Australia and started their comeback after the hard time he had … Good player:greengrin

10-10-2024, 12:30 PM
We should be talking to him pronto about a new contract, cracking modern day full-back. A bit raw at times but he's learning.

RIP Bestie
10-10-2024, 12:41 PM
...particularly in Glasgow Chippies.

Creep

InvertedFullBak
10-10-2024, 05:11 PM
I thought he was great, but loosing the ball heaps of times as you know means he was involved. :agree:

Involved a lot but a dreadful contribution if he’s constantly losing possession.

10-10-2024, 07:09 PM
He will bring us in a whole lot of Aussie dollars sometime in the future, built for the modern game.

10-10-2024, 09:33 PM
Involved a lot but a dreadful contribution if he’s constantly losing possession.

As statistics prove, it’s all about losing possession .

Silky
10-10-2024, 10:04 PM

It doesn't say he constantly lost possession, though. The poster said the stats show he lost possession 24 times. It's one sided and designed to focus on a negative, as it doesn't say how many times he retained possession. That could have been 50 or 100 times, which makes a difference over all.

1875godsgift
10-10-2024, 10:21 PM

Aye, but he scored a goal which is a massive contribution!

10-10-2024, 11:53 PM
But they happened

Are you serious?

We need better

Source :

Sofascores

Edit :

Agree most players go down holding their head nowadays after the slightest touch does ma heid inThis is the worst haiku I've ever read.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk

Greenio
11-10-2024, 12:09 AM
Miller gets a lot of stick on here. Not sure its warranted.

Hell only get better and, as someone pointed out, will be sold for a pretty penny.

He does need to get better at falling over to win the foul, or at least pick when and not when to do it, Porto had it down to an artform!

11-10-2024, 01:21 AM
This is the worst haiku I've ever read.

Is that no what the All Black's do before a match?

11-10-2024, 05:16 AM

Someone may very well have called Scott McDonald the best player in the A League….I certainly didn’t hear it, but irrespective he certainly never got any official recognition of being that unlike Josh Nisbet who won the annual Johnny Warren medal for it.

11-10-2024, 05:42 AM

Yip been pulled up for it before not the first time and not the last :greengrin

11-10-2024, 06:59 AM

Well done LM great potential hope he kicks on

11-10-2024, 08:00 AM
Well done LM great potential hope he kicks on

I always wonder when people quote stats for an individual’s performance in a particular game whether they actually watched the game.

I did, and while Lewis wasn’t man of the match, he was constantly involved in taking the ball up the right wing, and frequently when the ball was taken up the left was in a dangerous unmarked position on the right, which, if the play had been switched would have been a scoring opportunity for him..unfortunately it was only switched once and Lewis went close with a shot from the edge of the area which flew just over the bar.

Yes, a few times his passes went astray, but no more than most of the Oz team who were trying to adapt to the new coach’s tactics, which involved short speedy reverse passes, and obviously needs a few days more practice on the training ground.

Lewis is doing fine.

Donegal Hibby
11-10-2024, 08:02 AM
Got up well for his header …

https://www.reddit.com/r/soccer/comments/1g0fj2x/australia_1_1_china_lewis_miller_47/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web3x&utm_name=web3xcss&utm_term=1&utm_content=share_button

11-10-2024, 01:27 PM
Miller gets a lot of stick on here. Not sure its warranted.

Hell only get better and, as someone pointed out, will be sold for a pretty penny.

He does need to get better at falling over to win the foul, or at least pick when and not when to do it, Porto had it down to an artform!
Agree a lot of unwarranted criticism.

richard_pitts
11-10-2024, 02:15 PM
Agree a lot of unwarranted criticism.

Indeed. Previous targets for the haters on here are Alen Orman, Steven Whittaker, Steven Fletcher, Garry O'Connor, Mixu, Stuart Lovell and Lewis Stevenson.

Lewis in particular was quite clear it influences players.

All have played at a far higher level than us, and we wonder why some players lack confidence?

1875Sean
11-10-2024, 07:25 PM
Indeed. Previous targets for the haters on here are Alen Orman, Steven Whittaker, Steven Fletcher, Garry O'Connor, Mixu, Stuart Lovell and Lewis Stevenson.

All have played at a far higher level than us, and we wonder why some players lack confidence?

Don’t recall much hate for either Steven Fletcher or Garry O'Connor unless it was O'Connor‘s second spell?

11-10-2024, 07:42 PM
Don’t recall much hate for either Steven Fletcher or Garry O'Connor unless it was O'Connor‘s second spell?

O'Connor was well out of shape, and in trouble with police in his second spell, so got some well deserved stick for that.

11-10-2024, 07:46 PM
O'Connor was well out of shape, and in trouble with police in his second spell, so got some well deserved stick for that.

Was he not laughing and joking after the cup final against them? When most of us wanted the ground to swallow us up.

11-10-2024, 08:03 PM
Was he not laughing and joking after the cup final against them? When most of us wanted the ground to swallow us up.

Aye. Was a favourite of mine, but soured that in the second spell.

The next season wasn't pretty, but Fenlon got some guys in like Doyle who could graft and wanted to be there. I mind seeing O'Connor in the famous five during the wotherspoon derby, overweight, fake tan, giving it the big one, and I was so pleased he was away. Unprofessional. Excellent footballer though.

K-Zazu
11-10-2024, 08:19 PM

What level did Lovell play at again?

11-10-2024, 08:25 PM

O’Connor got plenty stick while Williamson was manager.

Donegal Hibby
11-10-2024, 08:57 PM

English Championship I think.🤔

1875Sean
11-10-2024, 09:47 PM
O’Connor got plenty stick while Williamson was manager.

Did he? Young striker scoring loads of goals and getting in the Scotland squad?

K-Zazu
11-10-2024, 10:03 PM
English Championship I think.🤔

Paul1642
11-10-2024, 10:54 PM

Whilst I agree with your post, the played at a far higher level than us line is a bit out there.

Lovell played in a 1990s English Championship which wasn’t awash with the same money it is now. He joined a Hibs squad containing the likes of Sauzee and Latapy.

Unless Raith are a much higher level than us then you can count Stevenson out too.

Alan Orman - Hibs probably the biggest club he played for and if not “far higher level” is definitely a big push.

12-10-2024, 12:59 AM

International level

12-10-2024, 05:21 AM
International level

That doesn't really count though. Guys who play for San Marino play at international level.

We've had guys over the years who've played at international level for Scotland who weren't exactly great either. Lee Wilkie and Gary Kenneth spring to mind.

12-10-2024, 06:09 AM

Could just have said “was to get fouled”

12-10-2024, 08:31 AM
Whilst I agree with your post, the played at a far higher level than us line is a bit out there.

Lovell played in a 1990s English Championship which wasn’t awash with the same money it is now. He joined a Hibs squad containing the likes of Sauzee and Latapy.

Unless Raith are a much higher level than us then you can count Stevenson out too.

Alan Orman - Hibs probably the biggest club he played for and if not “far higher level” is definitely a big push.

Orman played champions league.

ChilliEater
12-10-2024, 09:17 AM
I took the "us" in "far higher level than us" to mean the posters on Hibs.net, rather than the club. Which I would imagine is true, other than for the possibiity of a small number of posters being current or ex players, but I doubt they'd be the ones criticising as they have a better understanding of what playing professional football is all about.

12-10-2024, 09:18 AM

Lmao

12-10-2024, 09:58 AM
Aye. Was a favourite of mine, but soured that in the second spell.

The next season wasn't pretty, but Fenlon got some guys in like Doyle who could graft and wanted to be there. I mind seeing O'Connor in the famous five during the wotherspoon derby, overweight, fake tan, giving it the big one, and I was so pleased he was away. Unprofessional. Excellent footballer though.

He was in the Brass Monkey after that game, wasn’t looking too clever.

12-10-2024, 10:03 AM
I took the "us" in "far higher level than us" to mean the posters on Hibs.net, rather than the club. Which I would imagine is true, other than for the possibiity of a small number of posters being current or ex players, but I doubt they'd be the ones criticising as they have a better understanding of what playing professional football is all about.

Iv'e never been a chef, but i know a good steak when it's cooked?:confused:

ChilliEater
12-10-2024, 10:38 AM
Iv'e never been a chef, but i know a good steak when it's cooked?:confused:

No you don't - you know how YOU like YOUR steak cooked :wink:

Anyway, not sure of the relevance to my post, which was only meant to point out a potentially different interpretation (which may be completely wrong) of the post being discussed :confused:

12-10-2024, 10:56 AM
No you don't - you know how YOU like YOUR steak cooked :wink:

Anyway, not sure of the relevance to my post, which was only meant to point out a potentially different interpretation (which may be completely wrong) of the post being discussed :confused:

I also know how i like our full backs to play too.:wink:

12-10-2024, 11:20 AM
Lovell was a striker for Reading played well in Wing back when moved there with us

Donegal Hibby
12-10-2024, 11:34 AM
Lovell was a striker for Reading played well in Wing back when moved there with us

He almost made it to the Premiership with Reading . He had a penalty I think at 2-0 to Reading which was saved and the rest as they say is history….

https://youtu.be/hk4JMB_lP0Y?si=WlY7gRrZeNCq0CtG

15-10-2024, 01:18 PM
Lewis subbed after 81 minutes as a result of being absolutely knackered from running up and down the wing against Japan in Tokyo.

1-1 final score and Lewis delivered the cross from the right that the Japanese defender sliced into his own goals to give Oz the lead at that point.

I think he’ll sleep soundly on the flight back to the UK.

15-10-2024, 01:23 PM
He almost made it to the Premiership with Reading . He had a penalty I think at 2-0 to Reading which was saved and the rest as they say is history….

What a game of football that was

McGruber
15-10-2024, 01:32 PM

Goal and assist for Mixu in there

15-10-2024, 01:35 PM

Stubbs in there too! Great game of football but no penalty miss in that highlights, bit odd.

15-10-2024, 01:37 PM

A wee rampage out from the back from Stubbs too.

Donegal Hibby
15-10-2024, 02:29 PM

His goal celebration brought back a few good memories too :greengrin

Hibees1973
19-10-2024, 07:51 PM
Must be one of the worst right backs to pull on a Hibs jersey I've seen.

19-10-2024, 07:52 PM
Today was brutal.

I’m sure the last time he returned from international duty with Australia he was really poor too.

Surely has an effect

19-10-2024, 07:52 PM

No pace, can’t pass, can’t defend, can’t stay on his feet. Hideously bad footballer.

Good assist today but a stopped clock and all that.

19-10-2024, 07:55 PM

Another player you watch doing the same things every week and wonder what these qualified coaches are seeing. Especially the manager who played in that position.

Never seen a guy who can play himself into trouble so often when there is no apparent danger when he receives the ball.

Utterly woeful.

19-10-2024, 07:57 PM
Continually asking him to hurl long throws in to the box sums up the lack of ideas we have. Even getting him to swap sides and do it today ffs.

He’s a poor player who has the occasional good game.