View Full Version : John Campbell ( Jonnyboy )
HalfTimeSmoker
10-08-2024, 06:56 PM
Sadly on Friday 9th August John passed away after a battle with cancer.
He was obviously well known on Hibs.net for his input most notably
with his match thoughts called
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
GGTTH 💚
10-08-2024, 06:57 PM
Sad to hear this.
RIP.
KingFranck
10-08-2024, 06:57 PM
Sad news
RIP John
10-08-2024, 06:58 PM
I didn’t know him, but a good hibby and a really good poster on here. RIP.
10-08-2024, 06:58 PM
That’s very sad news, always looked forward to his match posts, RIP Jonnyboy
10-08-2024, 06:59 PM
Very sorry to hear this.
Rest in Peace John.
10-08-2024, 06:59 PM
Very sad news. He was the modern day equivalent to The Pink with his match reports. A lovely guy, will be missed.
RIP Johnnyboy
10-08-2024, 07:00 PM
Very sad news. John used to sell us Hibs Monthly/Mass Hibsteria at the corner of Albion Road before the games back in the 80s and we always had a bit of banter. Such a good guy.
RIP JC.
Silversand
10-08-2024, 07:01 PM
One of the best, positive posters on here, very sad, RIP JonnyBoy.
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
10-08-2024, 07:03 PM
Loved the hibs radio stuff he did with Diane, for this very site, many moons ago.
A funny and engaging presenter as I recall.
A sad loss indeed.
Rest in peace JC.
Scotty Leither
10-08-2024, 07:03 PM
Very sad news. John used to sell us Hibs Monthly/Mass Hibsteria at the corner of Albion Road before the games back in the 80s and we always had a bit of banter. Such a good guy.
RIP JC.
i had no idea he was ill. That’s awful news. Fly high John x
TrinityHFC
10-08-2024, 07:04 PM
Horrible news. RIP John. Had no idea.
Bridge hibs
Hibs.net legend
RIP John and when you are flying high above with the angels singing, remember us mere mortals down here are looking up to our choirmaster
Im gutted “This is how it feels”
May the sunshine on your Leith, Gentleman 💚
Never knew him and never always agreed with his thoughts either!
But he was a familiar face at games for anyone that went regularly (you always seem to see the same folk).
Clearly a good, good Hibby. RIP.
Very sad news, I always enjoyed his posts and the discussions they often generated. We've lost a good one.
Sad news RIP John and thoughts with the family.
10-08-2024, 07:05 PM
RIP 🙏 John,met him during the HOH campaign 😢
EVENTUALLY
10-08-2024, 07:05 PM
Very sad news. He was the modern day equivalent to The Pink with his match reports. A lovely guy, will be missed.
RIP Johnnyboy
I never seen last week's game and spent some time wondering if John was at the game and prepping a "This is how it feels" report.
And now this news. I'm absolutely gutted. Never knew the guy but I really appreciated his views which often aligned with my own and I really looked forward to his postings.
RIP Johnnyboy.
10-08-2024, 07:06 PM
Very sad news, Jonnyboy was a poster i always looked forward to reading. RIP with the angels high above.
10-08-2024, 07:08 PM
Such sad news. Jonnyboy's posts were always worth reading.
Condolences to family and friends. RIP John.
Sad news, rest in peace 💚
Shocker, had a few exchanges with this great Hibs man down the years and his books are well thumbed in my household.
RIP Jonnyboy.
10-08-2024, 07:09 PM
That's heartbreaking news.
JC was a great poster and a fantastic guy.
RIP Johnyboy
Trinity Hibee
Sad news. Have one of his books and think I remember him contributing to Hibs TV commentary years ago. Thoughts with family and friends
As a Hibby based in England who doesn’t get up to many matches (I’ll be there tomorrow though) “Johnnyboy’s” match reports were often the best way to understand how Hibs were actually playing. Very sad to hear this. RIP
10-08-2024, 07:10 PM
A Hibs Net legend. So sorry to hear of his passing.
RIP Johnnyboy.
10-08-2024, 07:10 PM
very sad indeed , great poster and a genuinely nice guy
RIP Johnnyboy
10-08-2024, 07:12 PM
Sat in front of us in the East for a bit, always spoke.
RIP John
coldingham hibs
10-08-2024, 07:12 PM
So sad, RIP Johnnyboy.
TrinityHFC
10-08-2024, 07:13 PM
Along with the likes of Stuart Crowther he was fundamental to how Hibs fans interacted with the internet. Might go without saying for younger guys but there was a lot of thinking and effort that went into the Hibs.net we now enjoy.
10-08-2024, 07:13 PM
Very saddened to hear this, not someone I knew personally but used to enjoy his match day thoughts. Condolences to his family, friends and all who knew him. To the angels high above ggtth.
10-08-2024, 07:14 PM
Always looked forward to his match recaps. RIP.
Aw naw !
Very sad to read this
Deepest sincerest condolences to family and friends
See you behind the goals Jonnyboy
A Hibs.net legend
RIP Jonnyboy your match reports were on a different level to what you got in the newspapers. You were the latter day Pink News.
10-08-2024, 07:15 PM
Just posted this on the PM board but wanted to add it hear:
Was so sad to hear this news.
I first 'knew' John through his posts on here and I always thought he was a respectful and thoughtful sort. In later years I was fortunate enough to get to know him personally and he surpassed everything I had thought of him online.
He will be many things to many people but to me he was a man who done so much for Hibs.net then stepped aside for the greater good with no ill will, quite the opposite in fact. His resurrection of 'this is how it feels' was a fabulous addition to the site. He was as knowledgeable about Hibs as they come, a brilliant writer, a true supporter who backed the club when it was deserved and challenged them for the same reason and more than that was just the nicest man you could hope to meet. Fiercely loyal and a dignified and decent man.
I attended the POTY night with him the season before last and he was on great form. That is the man I will remember.
RIP my friend, my prayers are with his friends and family.
10-08-2024, 07:19 PM
Sad to hear this, i did enjoy the match reports and a much respected poster.
10-08-2024, 07:20 PM
Just awful news.
He used to look out for us younger ones back in the old days on hibs.net radio etc.
Such a lovely and kind man. It was always a fun time to be in his company.
RIP John 💚
10-08-2024, 07:20 PM
I never knew John, but I knew John if that makes sense. Seen him for decades at ER and away games, fanzines, Hibs.net etc A great Hibby. RIP
Such sad news. A true hibby and supporter of hibs.net but more than that he was one of the nicest men you could meet what a huge loss to the hibs community. Condolences to his friends and family.
RIP John. 💚
ChicoM1875
10-08-2024, 07:23 PM
Really sad news. Enjoyed his match reports and posts.
Up-the-slope
10-08-2024, 07:23 PM
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
Lost my big Brother John (63) earlier this year after 6 year fight with Myeloma - Its tough. Hopefully in time you will be able to look back on the happy memories.
'This is how it feels' was far and away the best bit of .net Many a posts on here could start a polarised stooshie.. And yet rarely did many folk find much to disagree with John's insightful summary of matches and players performances.
Has been missed greatly since he felt he could no longer continue.
10-08-2024, 07:24 PM
As a Hibby based in England who doesn’t get up to many matches (I’ll be there tomorrow though) “Johnnyboy’s” match reports were often the best way to understand how Hibs were actually playing. Very sad to hear this. RIP
He got me and my dad tickets for the 2013 cup final. I had posted on here mentioning we missed out and he sent me a PM. We hadn’t even interacted before then. We met in the Perserve to pick the tickets and had a good few pints discussing the game ahead. He didn’t need to do that and it shows the mark of the man imo us being complete strangers!
RIP John.
10-08-2024, 07:24 PM
RIP. To the angels high above. ❤️
10-08-2024, 07:25 PM
RIP John, we've lost a true gentleman.
scuttle
10-08-2024, 07:25 PM
R.I.P Jonnyboy
10-08-2024, 07:27 PM
RIP Jonnyboy, a great poster and from the posts on here he was an even better person.
10-08-2024, 07:27 PM
I was wondering if that was Jonnyboy.
Awful news.
10-08-2024, 07:30 PM
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
aw naw! The words I never wanted to read. I knew he wasn’t well but didn’t know the cause.
Sorely missed on here and my thoughts go out to his family and friends. What an amazing man he was. RIP JonnyBoy sorry for your loss.
10-08-2024, 07:32 PM
RIP John
He's here!
10-08-2024, 07:33 PM
Very sorry to hear this.
10-08-2024, 07:33 PM
Very sad news, Jonnyboy was a great contributor over the years and a real Hibs man.
Deepest condolences to Jonnyboy’s friends and family.
I’ve also had a message from Sergey to pass on his condolences as well.
RIP John.
10-08-2024, 07:36 PM
RIP Jonyboy , Truly gutted big guy , Had the pleasure of meeting him at a dot.net pool outing many years ago , We've lost a good one , A favourite poster of mine .
10-08-2024, 07:36 PM
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
GGTTH 💚
News that none of us wanted to hear. Used to see John, his brother Alan and good friend Willie, home and away for many years. Not so much away in the last year or so
His memory and use of words was legendary. He used to store all the match details in his brain and put to paper when he got home
He’s left a rich legacy of Hibs with his books and reports on here
He’ll be sadly missed by his family and his Hibee family too
10-08-2024, 07:39 PM
Sad news. RIP JB, loved your "This is how it feels", you definitely reached Hibs Net celebrity status and this site will be poorer without you.
Bridge hibs
10-08-2024, 07:43 PM
To be a fan, to be a former admin of hibs.net, to be a friend of many, to be a scholar of everything hibs, and most of all, to be our hibs Brother.
You didnt even need to chap on those pearly gates, they were openn and waiting on you JC, you being your humble self brushed aside the welcoming party of legends you adored.
To be only you, you had something to write.
Goog night, sleep tight 💚
such sad news, his posts were always worth reading
gordie18
10-08-2024, 07:45 PM
Condolences to the family!
I enjoyed his match reports
Sent from my Lenovo TB-X306F using Tapatalk
10-08-2024, 07:45 PM
Ahh ****. Always enjoyed bantering with him on here. RIP Jonnyboy.
10-08-2024, 07:49 PM
This is very sad news. I didn't know John personally but knew who he was and how big a part of the supporter community he was. Like everyone else on here I'd enjoy his match reports, and his general posting showed him to be a fair, and Hibs-through-and-through, man.
RIP. My condolences to his family and friends.
madsen5
Very sad news, I always enjoyed his posts and the discussions they often generated. We've lost a good one.
R.I.P will be sadly missed, his after game reports were superb. Used to buy Mass Hibsteria from him many years ago. GGTTH, watching from above :flag:
Jock O
Only knew him on here, but loved his writing style on here and his personality seemed to shine through. RIP
10-08-2024, 07:50 PM
Always looked forward to reading his match reports, I remember his post being almost apologetic for stopping them. Very sad to hear this news. RIP Johnnyboy
Just_Jimmy
10-08-2024, 07:51 PM
I've not seen John for a good few years now but he was a top bloke and a real Gent.
Really sorry to hear this.
RIP John. My thoughts to family.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
banchoryhibs
10-08-2024, 07:55 PM
This is very sad news and sincere condolences to his family and friends.
After every game I looked to read his insightful reports, always informative!
10-08-2024, 07:58 PM
Sad to hear that news. I know he’s been a contributor on this site ever since I started using it, well over 20 years ago.
RIP.
Lendo
10-08-2024, 07:58 PM
Tragic news. Win, lose or draw I always enjoyed John’s post-match thread. Thought to his friends and family.
10-08-2024, 07:59 PM
Enjoyed reading his match reports and player ratings. Sad news.
10-08-2024, 08:00 PM
Only had the pleasure of meeting him on on occasion Like others have said he will be sadly missed on here Condolences to his Family
To The Angels High Above RIP Johnnyboy
My old man
10-08-2024, 08:04 PM
RIP Johnny Boy
Never knew you but loved logging on to read your
“This is how it feels”
GG2TH
10-08-2024, 08:04 PM
I met John a couple of times, just seemed a genuinely nice guy, I used to get Mass Hibsteria as often as I could too. RIP John, one of the good guys who will be sorely missed by all that knew him.
Gerard
10-08-2024, 08:07 PM
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
GGTTH 💚
Condolences to the family.
10-08-2024, 08:07 PM
Very sad news.
RIP John. It was good to know you.
ano hibby
10-08-2024, 08:08 PM
Very sad news. RIP Johnnyboy.
Condolences to family & friends.
Loved his writing, on here and also his books. Was always hoping we’d see the 3rd book in the post war series published.
jakedance
10-08-2024, 08:09 PM
What a terrible shame. I’d actually log in just to read his match reports because they were better than anything you’d read in the media. Seemed a really good gadgie too. Condolences to all who knew and loved him.
10-08-2024, 08:09 PM
It’s funny when the only connection you ever had with a person was following his excellent, well thought out and well constructed, views of our games, yet his passing has an emotional impact. It was sad when he asked for volunteers to take over his input and more sad with this news. RIP Jonnyboy, you touched a lot of lives without ever knowing it.
et_hibby
10-08-2024, 08:11 PM
Jonnyboy's match reports were terrific and will be remembered around these parts for many a year. My sincere condolences to all John's family and friends.
aljo7-0
10-08-2024, 08:13 PM
That's really sad news.
10-08-2024, 08:15 PM
Such sad news, John was an incredible person and Hibee!! Spent many youth/reserve games standing beside him commenting on the games and what talent was coming through.
He will be sadly missed.
RIP John 💚
10-08-2024, 08:17 PM
Is there a minutes applause arranged for tomorrow maybe?
hibeejeebies
10-08-2024, 08:19 PM
So sad to read this.
Always looked forward to, and miss now, his balanced, fair and eloquent match reports. A true gentleman.
RIP Jonnyboy and love to you and your family.
Eaststand
10-08-2024, 08:24 PM
Very sorry to read this.
RIP JohnnyBoy
10-08-2024, 08:30 PM
A lovely man and a great Hibby.
Thoughts go out to those who were close to him.
Fanforlife
10-08-2024, 08:34 PM
R.I.P Johnnyboy.💚💚
machibby
10-08-2024, 08:36 PM
Sad to hear this,his this is how it feels posts were a great post game highlight. RIP JC
10-08-2024, 08:36 PM
Much respected on here, RIP John.
Puddocky
10-08-2024, 08:37 PM
I too am among the many who only knew Jonnyboy through his writings on here, but am hugely saddened to hear of his passing.
Sincere condolences to his family and friends.
Farewell Jonnyboy, you will be missed.
10-08-2024, 08:38 PM
Always a calm friendly and knowledgeable voice of reason. What a blow.
10-08-2024, 08:39 PM
Very sad to hear the news. Met John on several ocasssions over the years. RIP Johnnyboy. 💚
10-08-2024, 08:41 PM
Very sad news. I always looked forward to his reports when I missed a game.
Commiserations to his family and friends.
RIP John
10-08-2024, 08:42 PM
Really sad to read this, like some others I didn't know him but I really did enjoy reading his posts.
Stanton Spence
10-08-2024, 08:45 PM
Very sad news
Thoughts are with the family and friends💚
wallpaperman
10-08-2024, 08:54 PM
So sorry to hear that news, always loved reading his stuff, condolences to family and friends.
Paul1642
10-08-2024, 08:57 PM
Very sad to hear this and thought are with his loved ones.
This is how it feels were undoubtedly the most well balanced posts on here for a very long time 💚
Juice-Terry
10-08-2024, 09:02 PM
Very sorry to hear this. Condelences to friends and family. GGTTH!
Pete70
10-08-2024, 09:03 PM
Sad news. RIP
10-08-2024, 09:06 PM
Never met him but he always came over as an old school gentleman who was passionate about Hibs.
My sympathies to his family and friends.
Dan Sarf
10-08-2024, 09:07 PM
He will be missed.
10-08-2024, 09:19 PM
Sad news!
Enjoyed reading his reports on Hibs.net.
Will be missed.
10-08-2024, 09:20 PM
Sorry to hear this sad news. I don't think I ever disagreed with his excellent post match summaries. I didn't know him personally but always saw him at any away game I attended and he will be sadly missed. Sincere condolences to his family.
10-08-2024, 09:23 PM
RIP Jonnyboy
Thanks for everything you did for Hibs and this site over the years
Condolences to family
leith lynx
10-08-2024, 09:24 PM
Very sad news, I didn't get to know John personally but knew of his presence at Easter Road at games and all of the Hands off Hibs and fanzine "era". Will be greatly missed and my thoughts are with his loved ones. Now Rest In Peace John, in Hibee Heaven.
Johnny Clash
10-08-2024, 09:29 PM
Tragic news. I think we all felt we knew ‘Johnny Boy’ as a result of reading his excellent posts. Sorry for your loss
10-08-2024, 09:32 PM
Very sad to hear this. Condolences to John’s family. RIP, Jonnyboy.
HibeeSince85
10-08-2024, 09:32 PM
RIP John. "To the angels high above"
10-08-2024, 09:34 PM
Gosh that is dreadful news. Another wonderful Hibby.
I remember John from his Mass Hibsteria days.
https://youtu.be/WmO0enN1GDo?si=pojYQd0oxgLAUnsC
I hope noone minds me posting the above link. John in happier times.
Mcbizz1998
10-08-2024, 09:47 PM
Gosh that is dreadful news. Another wonderful Hibby.
I remember John from his Mass Hibsteria days.
https://youtu.be/WmO0enN1GDo?si=pojYQd0oxgLAUnsC
I hope noone minds me posting the above link. John in happier times.
That was a great wee watch, thanks for posting.
Terrible news about John, very sad to hear that.
10-08-2024, 09:48 PM
Very sorry to read this sad news.
I always used to make a point of reading his match reports and how each player performed.
RIP Jonnyboy, you will be greatly missed.
A well liked poster who will be sadly missed.
RIP John.
Kaiser_Sauzee
10-08-2024, 09:52 PM
Enjoyed his company in Essen many years ago.
RIP John.
john rossi
10-08-2024, 09:52 PM
Sad news loved his well documented reports on many matches over the last few years RIP
johnney boy:flag:
10-08-2024, 09:54 PM
That’s incredibly sad news. RIP Jonnyboy and condolences to family and friends
10-08-2024, 09:57 PM
Helped me get a wee foothold in writing for this site mid-noughties, and I don't know how many hours I whittled away re-listening to him soundtrack some GREAT Hibs moments in those years.
RIP.
Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
HendoDelivered
10-08-2024, 10:01 PM
What a shame. RIP Johnnyboy 💚
10-08-2024, 10:02 PM
"This it how it feels"
RIP Johnnyboy
A big part of my life reading his thoughts.
GGTH
10-08-2024, 10:04 PM
One of the main reasons this site exists today.
But he was so much more than that and I'm sad to read this.
Thanks for everything JC 🇳🇬 😔
10-08-2024, 10:06 PM
Horrible news. RIP John.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
Gregor
10-08-2024, 10:07 PM
That's knocked me for six. We go way back.
Like many here, i was first aware of John from my eagerly anticipated copy of MHHM. Subsequently he joined the growing ranks of the Hibs internet mailing list, and became a regular contributor to the daily conversations about, but not limited to, our football club. I remember John's posts always being in fine humour, well received and he had an incredible knack of finding the positive in anything.
John covered a great number of away ties when Stu (Crowther) and I started the online commentary service on Erin Live and Live @ ER. While still very much limited to text messages, I do now wonder just how much of those games he was able to enjoy, for punching through the latest updates on a mobile phone keypad. But he was a vital cog in ensuring hundreds of displaced Hibees across the globe were able to tap in the matches again. He was also adept at covering home ties, in the press box on the laptop, destined to take the microphone at Hibs Radio in later years.
I also recall fondly the time with John and his involvement in both the Erin Trust, and the Hands On Hibs campaign culminating in the gathering at the Royal High School, where the club finally to turn a corner in it's fractured relationship between the support and Sir Tom.
Over the latter years I've pretty much stopped following the club, however I do still dip into Hibs.net to read John's match report. It breaks my heart to know that I'll never be able to do that again. He's going to be sorely missed.
A fine gentleman, and a true Hibernian. I'm proud to have known you, John. You were one of the best.
10-08-2024, 10:14 PM
Oh no devastated to hear this.
Jonnyboy thank you so much for your contribution to Hibs and here on .net. You will be sorely missed by everyone with your well informed & beautiful written match day threads. Rest easy John 😢😢
ozhibs
10-08-2024, 10:21 PM
Sad news RIP Jonnyboy,
Never met the man, but I loved his “this is how it feels “ I always thought they were well balanced reports
GGTTH 🇳🇬
10-08-2024, 10:25 PM
Really sorry for your loss. I had the pleasure of chatting with him for the first time before a game at Celtic when NL was the manager so it was during a good period when we all had high expectations.
We chatted away, almost an analysis of how we felt the team should be set up that day. Needless to say, we looked each other out at half time to literally say - see told you as we were in total agreement with each other that we were playing well. We always said hello from that time every time we saw each other at away games as we must have been in different stands at ER.
10-08-2024, 10:29 PM
Really sad news. Thoughts obviously go out to friends and family
john rossi
10-08-2024, 10:29 PM
Sad news loved his well documented reports on many matches over the last few years RIP
johnney boy:flag:
10-08-2024, 10:30 PM
Ahhh so sad to hear about this. An absolute legend on here, a magnificent poster and a true gentleman 💚
10-08-2024, 10:31 PM
Synonymous with dot net, John will be missed greatly on here and by his friends & family. Sad news indeed!
Very sad news. Rest in peace Jonnyboy.
danderchook
10-08-2024, 10:35 PM
Johnnys match reports were legendary I loved reading them and rarely disagreed , RIP thoughts go to the family .
andrew_dundee
10-08-2024, 10:45 PM
I never knew him but I used to go straight to his reports, especially when I lived out of town and couldn't make it to games. RIP to a Hibs legend.
10-08-2024, 11:14 PM
So very sad to hear of Jonnyboy's passing. I never knew John personally, but he was a much respected figure among the Hibs support, and a talented writer. Like many on here I looked out for his Hibs match reports which were always a 'must read'. He'll be much missed.
RIP John
Sincere condolences to John's family and friends.
10-08-2024, 11:22 PM
Dreadful news. RIP.
10-08-2024, 11:40 PM
RIP John.
10-08-2024, 11:55 PM
RIP John, loved reading your posts, you were a gentleman in your responses too.
scottish_sleepy
10-08-2024, 11:56 PM
Rip John. Was an absolute pleasure to have been lucky enough to know you.
11-08-2024, 12:05 AM
Rip John thoughts go out to his family amd friends
Green Reaper
11-08-2024, 12:08 AM
RIP John, always looked forward to his match reports, took me back to my days of reading the 'pink' news. Condolences to all his family and friends 💚
Curried
11-08-2024, 12:20 AM
“This is how it feels” was my go-to read after every match. Such a big loss for the Hibs family.
RIP Jonnyboy.
Dalkeith Boy
11-08-2024, 12:33 AM
So terribly saddened to hear this news. I was fortunate to meet up with John at the Persevere many years ago when I travelled from Canada with my brother Matthew for a Hibs v Celtic Scottish Cup Final. We spent a lovely evening in his company. Later John travelled to Canada with Stuart Crowther and we again met up together in Toronto. In between I never missed his match reports which were brilliantly and honestly put together. A really nice man and gentleman. Thanks Jonnyboy, I’m so glad our paths crossed. God bless you John and all your family and friends
11-08-2024, 12:51 AM
So terribly saddened to hear this news. I was fortunate to meet up with John at the Persevere many years ago when I travelled from Canada with my brother Matthew for a Hibs v Celtic Scottish Cup Final. We spent a lovely evening in his company. Later John travelled to Canada with Stuart Crowther and we again met up together in Toronto. In between I never missed his match reports which were brilliantly and honestly put together. A really nice man and gentleman. Thanks Jonnyboy, I’m so glad our paths crossed. God bless you John and all your family and friends
That meeting at the Persevere was the only time and place I very briefly met John too.
I did enjoy his match reports on this forum.
Condolences to his relations and friends.
11-08-2024, 01:07 AM
That’s very sad news, always looked forward to his match posts, RIP Jonnyboy
This :top marks
11-08-2024, 01:43 AM
RIP Jonnyboy - a Hibs.net legend. His match reports were always a pleasure to read and were a treasured resource if you couldn't be at the game yourself. I think we'll all miss him on here. Sincere condolences to his family and friends.
Awww no, so so sad. RIP.
Always looked forward to his posts on here.
11-08-2024, 01:59 AM
Aw man, RIP.
Whenever I thought about Hibs.net, Jonnyboy would be the first person to come to mind.
11-08-2024, 06:02 AM
Like others here I will miss his friendship, his kindness and his unrivalled generosity of spirit. When it came to talking about Hibs, whether on this forum, in his books or in person he was always positive, erudite and funny. He will be missed by so many people.
My heart goes out to those who loved him the most. RIP John.
11-08-2024, 06:37 AM
That’s really sad news. A great poster whose match reports I’d seek out to read, a writer with talent. Condolences to his friends and family. RIP John.
Power
11-08-2024, 06:51 AM
A massive figure from the Hibs family with outstanding knowledge. Sending Hibernian strength to his family and friends at this time.
adam middlemass
11-08-2024, 06:55 AM
Johnny boys report was always the first one I looked out for. Such sad news, condolences to his family and friends. To the Angels high above ! ❤️
Septimus
11-08-2024, 07:42 AM
Watch the match from afar and the icing on the cake was the Jonnyboy report. Somehow the ritual does not seem complete without it. Kind condolences to family and friends. I wish that I had known him
11-08-2024, 07:43 AM
RIP John, a poster whose contributions will be sorely missed.
Condolences to the Campbell family, I hope they know how much he will be missed by the Hibs.net membership.
11-08-2024, 07:51 AM
Very sad news. Like many others I enjoyed reading his match reports and his opinions on all things Hibs on .net. RIP.
MartinfaePorty
11-08-2024, 07:56 AM
Just to echo what others have said. His match reports were required reading and always much anticipated. RIP
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
ToulouseHibs
11-08-2024, 08:02 AM
RIP mate. My old man (also passed away) got me onto the hibs.net board and often spoke to me about JBs posts. Living in France, I religiously devoured his match reports every weekend. Thankyou, thankyou….
11-08-2024, 08:07 AM
It's only appropriate that today's Match Report thread should include Jonnyboy's name in the title.
nsandy62
11-08-2024, 08:12 AM
Really sad news. As a long time viewer I looked for his reports after every match. Thoughts with family. RIP.
Hibiza
11-08-2024, 08:20 AM
RIP Jonnyboy. Condolences to all family and friends.
Cyborg Ninja
11-08-2024, 08:22 AM
To be a fan, to be a former admin of hibs.net, to be a friend of many, to be a scholar of everything hibs, and most of all, to be our hibs Brother.
You didnt even need to chap on those pearly gates, they were openn and waiting on you JC, you being your humble self brushed aside the welcoming party of legends you adored.
To be only you, you had something to write.
Goog night, sleep tight 💚
😪👏
Bad Habits
11-08-2024, 08:25 AM
As a fan who lives away from Edinburgh Jonnyboy's match reports gave a sense of tangibility to a Hibs game for me.
They were always immensely enjoyable, detailed and full of passion for his club.
RIP to John and condolences to his family, and his Hibs family.
11-08-2024, 08:35 AM
To the Angels high above
Rip Johnyboy
Gruff
11-08-2024, 08:43 AM
As many have already said, The match reports Jonnyboy wrote were always a great read after the match and were always an honest view of what he saw in front of him on the day.
11-08-2024, 08:59 AM
So sad, knew John for a number of years,and you won't meet a nicer man. RIP matey 😪
11-08-2024, 09:04 AM
Sad to hear, another good Hibs man leaves us, condolences to the family.
darwenhibby
11-08-2024, 09:06 AM
This is how it feels was essential reading be it on the train home or even if you hadn’t been to the game.
RIP Jonny Boy
7Hero
11-08-2024, 09:10 AM
Sorry to hear that, loved his match reviews...
Captain Emerald
11-08-2024, 09:22 AM
Sad to hear this news. John was a lovely guy and his match reports were excellent. Win, lose, draw, highs, lows. Each report was very well written and all from memory too - remarkable.
Proud to say that I created John's avatar that he used for the last several years.
Cheerio John.
G.
Billy McKirdy
11-08-2024, 09:31 AM
Like many, I never knew John but I always looked forward to his match reports on here, one of the best contributors to this site and someone who’s opinion and insight I deeply respected and valued.
my sincere condolences go to his family and friends.
Seekyit
11-08-2024, 09:44 AM
Never met you Jonnyboy but always loved your match reports. RIP
xyz23jc
11-08-2024, 09:55 AM
Never met you Jonnyboy but always loved your match reports. RIP
Sad to hear this news, like many on here, loved his match reports win, lose or draw. Hope Hibs give us a victory today in tribute to the man, so he can write a final match report in heaven for us! RIP Legend!
Doh Rae Me
11-08-2024, 10:09 AM
Match analysis 2nd to none. Sad at the news.
Dan Sarf
11-08-2024, 10:12 AM
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?362557-This-is-how-it-feels-(Hearts-27-05-23)&highlight=johnnyboy
Just one example of the excellence we will miss. Especially us long-distance Hibees.
RIP. :flag:
11-08-2024, 10:26 AM
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?362557-This-is-how-it-feels-(Hearts-27-05-23)&highlight=johnnyboy
Just one example of the excellence we will miss. Especially us long-distance Hibees.
RIP. :flag:
Excellent choice of match report sums up the man to a tee and what he meant to all of us
His memory goes marching on
What a great guy and top Hibee. Whenever I met or bumped into him, he always had a big smile on this face. RIP Jonnyboy.
tonyrougier123
11-08-2024, 12:17 PM
Very sad to read this today.
Was a pleasure to read his work on here.
Rest in peace jonnyboy
I was pretty devastated when I heard this. John sat on the other side of the aisle from me, he in Section 42 East. He was known to chat to me and to my wee brother at away games.
My cancer was diagnosed in January 2019 and so many fine Hibbys who were around then are flying high now. I hope we can organise a minutes applause for John Campbell at the next home game.
Rest easy big fella 🙏😪
If the OP is his wee brother please accept condolences from the Mackay brothers
heidtheba
11-08-2024, 12:51 PM
I came on here to see what the chat was about the match, but then saw that thread title and remembered he had said there were reasons for him stepping away from the match reports. I then couldn't get back in here, but this was the thread I wanted to be able to read most. Never met him, but I loved his knowledge of the club and his match day threads were brilliantly (and fairly) written.
To all those who knew him and to his close family, my deepest condolences.
stu in nottingham
11-08-2024, 01:00 PM
I am truly saddened to hear of John's passing, only tempered by the very many beautiful epithets from people here which I am heartened by. I first met John many years ago and considered him a good friend. Sometimes we would correspond and it was always a joy to hear from him. I was quite honoured when he forwarded some of his writing up for publishing to me for a once-over and an opinion.
John defined the word 'gentleman', always a ready smile, always a thoughtful and considerate man. Just nice to be around. What people read in his writings was very much the nature of him, balanced, kind, decent and communicative. He did so very much for the Hibs community, especially those of us who live more remotely, where his great efforts with his friend Stuart Crowther selflessly brought the games into our homes with the likes of the text commentaries and development of Hibs.net. He provided a veritable lifeline for us.
We shouldn't ever forget the fun side of John as one would invariably find themselves smiling when in his company. His playful side showed in his presenting with Diane in 'Kack in the Shack' a live video chat room with music and a few of us worthies at the time. His involvment with the brilliantly funny and hilariously ireverent Mass Hibsteria was pivotal and well documented. Fond memories.
John's writing, from his Hib.net postings, match reports to books, boasted incredible detail. He was one of the most knowledgable of Hibees with a completely staggering recall of our great club. A deep mine of information.
For me, John was one of the great Hibernians. His name will be up there with other storied individuals, including players, as legendary, due to his contributions to the cause. I will miss him, we will all miss him.
My deepest condolences go to John's family and those who loved him.
God bless you, Jonny. Rest In Peace, my friend.
11-08-2024, 01:22 PM
That’s upsetting. This Is How It Feels was outstanding.
RIP and thank you/
11-08-2024, 01:29 PM
Sad news.
RIP Big chap. :flag:
Very sad news, as many have said it was always enlightening to read his reports, RIP JB.
Cheshire Hibby
11-08-2024, 01:44 PM
So sad to read this news. Didn’t know him but always looked out for his match analysis. RIP.
spudhib
11-08-2024, 01:49 PM
Sad news great memories buying hibs monthly from him in late eighties always good for a quick chat RIP John.
11-08-2024, 02:12 PM
Rest easy John.
Thoughts with all his family and friends.
hibbie02
11-08-2024, 02:18 PM
Just caught up on this. I knew John from the early days on here and met him many times for a beer and a natter. Great Hibs man, who will be greatly missed.
RIP Auld Yin!
11-08-2024, 02:25 PM
So sorry to hear this news. Excellent poster/writer and this site more the worse for his absence. Condolances to his family. Rest in peace Johnnyboy..
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
Fergos
11-08-2024, 02:27 PM
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
GGTTH 💚
Very sad to hear this. Rest well Johnnyboy and safe travels. Condolences to all who are close 💚
11-08-2024, 02:43 PM
This is very sad news. Although I never met him, it feels like John has been around since I first started watching Hibs, firstly through MHHM and then on here. What an influence he’s been over the years. A real voice of reason.
Rest in Peace, John. One of the finest Hibernians.
Weststandwanab
11-08-2024, 03:53 PM
[QUOTE=HalfTimeSmoker;7735841]Sadly on Friday 9th August John passed away after a battle with cancer.
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
GGTTH 💚[/QUOTE
So sad to read.
I loved reading his match reports, always comprehensive and unbiased in my opinion.
R.I.P. Big Man
The Keeper
11-08-2024, 04:08 PM
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
GGTTH 💚
That is the saddest of news. He was a good man, a great Hibby, and a great writer. RIP.
Sheffhibee
11-08-2024, 04:15 PM
RIP John, a true Hibby , I always looked forward to reading his post match analysis
Sadly missed
bordergreen
11-08-2024, 04:18 PM
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
GGTTH 💚
Very sorry to hear this. Really enjoyed his match reports and only very occasionally disagreed with his match view. Usually spot on.
Condolences to his loved ones. GGTTH 💚
11-08-2024, 04:32 PM
Ah, how sad. RIP John
11-08-2024, 05:54 PM
Was just thinking the other day I hadn't seen a post of his in a while, sad to see this.
R.I.P Jonnyboy.
richard_pitts
11-08-2024, 06:14 PM
Very sad news. A good friend and Hibee. The world is very much a poorer place for his passing. RIP
hibsboy69
11-08-2024, 08:21 PM
Very sad news - RIP 💚
11-08-2024, 08:40 PM
It’s funny, you’d read a match report from a “journalist” and always say “what ??” - but then you’d read a match report from JB, and albeit he was an ardent Hibby, he’d be utterly honest and impartial to the point you’d be reading it and to yourself saying ‘yep, yes agree with that, yep that’s spot on’.
Thinking of JB and his family and friends right now on what must be a very emotional time. God bless.
Cabbage7062
11-08-2024, 08:46 PM
Didn’t know Jonnyboy personally but it’s clear to see the impact he’s had on many. His match reports were brilliant and I loved reading them, regardless of the result. Thoughts are with his family and friends. Rest in peace.
11-08-2024, 08:57 PM
The first thing many hibs fan does post match was come on hibs.net to read Jonnyboy's "this is how it feels thread" well in advance of reading any current journalists take on the game. His knowledge of Hibs, and the game itself was top notch and he clearly a passionate and eloquent writer
Haven't ever met the man, but genuinely saddened to hear this news. RIP sir 💚 heartfelt condolences to the family
hibbydog
11-08-2024, 09:18 PM
Never met the felly but I loved his ‘This is how it feels’ reports. They got the point across in the most unpretentious and engaging way. Brilliant.
I hope his family get to read this thread, as I’m sure it will be of comfort.
RIP. We won the Scottish Cup pal x
11-08-2024, 09:31 PM
Along with the likes of Stuart Crowther he was fundamental to how Hibs fans interacted with the internet. Might go without saying for younger guys but there was a lot of thinking and effort that went into the Hibs.net we now enjoy.
Well said. We have a lot to thank them for.
Hibs.net had its wild moments but by and large was transformative in the way we could learn about what was going on and discuss our club.
RIP JB, always a man who acted with decency and good manners on here. I once covered for him on This Is How It Feels, and after that very positive experience had even greater respect for the work he did. For a few seasons he was writing the best match reports on Hibs anywhere.
DavieRoy
11-08-2024, 10:42 PM
RIP John.
A top guy and a great writer. He was a good commentator too.
From Mass Hibsteria to Hibs.net then Hibs Radio to Hibernian Interactive (Hibs TV) and as an author of Hibernian books, John was a massive Hibernian fan who used any means to talk Hibs.
We take for granted things like Hibs TV and the YouTube era but the guys that started out on Hibs TV were at the forefront of new media. John and Willie Dunn had a great partnership and their love of the club came through in their commentaries in the early days.
WestStandWillie
12-08-2024, 07:39 AM
One of the good guys.
Been in his company a few times. Proper Hibs Encyclopedia.
Sad to read this
HibbyDave
12-08-2024, 08:02 AM
Very sad news.
Condolences to everyone who was close to John over the years.
.Net Legend.
Will be sorely missed from the forum.
Donegal Hibby
12-08-2024, 09:38 AM
Really sorry to hear of Jonnyboys passing , his reports on games was always something I looked for first which were excellent.
Rip John .
bythecringe
12-08-2024, 04:18 PM
RIP Jonnyboy. Your match reports were a must read and I marvelled at your perseverance in working on the keyboard after the usual Hibs collapse in injury time or the team not turning up. If only the team had your commitment to their jobs as you did to your hobby. I never met you but am grateful for the match write ups.
Hibees1973
12-08-2024, 04:28 PM
Sad news.
I remember reading the kind messages he got when he signed off hibs.net due to his ill health. Was a credit to him and his contribution to hibs.net
Rest in peace Jonnyboy.
cammy1969
12-08-2024, 04:30 PM
Really sorry to hear this R.I.P. John
12-08-2024, 05:51 PM
Very sad to hear of Jonnyboy's passing.
Had the privilege of spending a night in John Campbell's company many years ago in The Cabbage and Ribs on Albert St at a Hibs.net do. Spoke with him at length about all things Hibs.
Legend of a Hibs fan and will be sadly missed. Like many exiled Hibbys, his This is How it Feels was the first thread I would go to on here post match. RIP John and condolences to his family.
12-08-2024, 06:31 PM
Devistating news. He was part of the fixtures and fitting on .net
He'll always be Mr Hibs and a whole lot more.
12-08-2024, 07:48 PM
Sad news. RIP Jonnyboy.
12-08-2024, 07:57 PM
I reckon his friends and family will take great comfort in how many people all around the world looked forward to and greatly appreciated his match reports.
AltheHibby
13-08-2024, 06:47 AM
RIP and thank you for the best match reports I have ever read.
13-08-2024, 07:11 AM
Like many on here, I never met, or spoke to Jonnyboy, but i did enjoy his posts and match reports.
He will be sadly missed on here. R.I.P. Jonnyboy and G.G.T.T.H.
13-08-2024, 07:59 AM
Sad news rip johnnyboy 😢
Lester B
13-08-2024, 08:21 AM
I met John a couple of times through a mutual friend. A passionate and well informed man who was great company and always happy to talk all things Hibs related. As others have said, his reports on matches were detailed and accurate; he wrote as a fan but as one with a clear eye and an objective view.
Safe journey to him and all good thoughts to his family and close friends.
13-08-2024, 12:32 PM
Fair enjoyed his match reports, especially his player ratings. RIP Jonnyboy ... with the angels high above.
13-08-2024, 12:37 PM
RIP Jonnyboy, as someone who lives miles away from Edinburgh i used to look forward greatly to his match reports. Top .net poster.
weedgiehibbie
13-08-2024, 12:58 PM
RIP Johnnyboy
Such sad news, loved his well posted match reviews
13-08-2024, 03:40 PM
So sorry to hear this extremely sad news.
Dumfrieshibs
13-08-2024, 05:48 PM
Sincere condolences to John's family and friends.
Didn't know John but always looked forward to reading his contributions on here .
Rest easy fellow Hibby 😪
14-08-2024, 05:30 PM
Sad news,
RIP Mr C......
green.oracle
15-08-2024, 08:16 AM
Very sad news.
I first met John on the Hawkhill supporters bus (Maudes bus), in the late 1960's. In recent times I would bump into him going to games, usually away games, and we would talk about how our "bonny fitba team" were doing.
I can only echo all the kind sentiments mentioned on this thread.
My sincere deepest condolences to his family and close friends.
RIP Jonnyboy with the angels high above.
richard_pitts
15-08-2024, 08:43 AM
I am truly saddened to hear of John's passing, only tempered by the very many beautiful epithets from people here which I am heartened by. I first met John many years ago and considered him a good friend. Sometimes we would correspond and it was always a joy to hear from him. I was quite honoured when he forwarded some of his writing up for publishing to me for a once-over and an opinion.
John defined the word 'gentleman', always a ready smile, always a thoughtful and considerate man. Just nice to be around. What people read in his writings was very much the nature of him, balanced, kind, decent and communicative. He did so very much for the Hibs community, especially those of us who live more remotely, where his great efforts with his friend Stuart Crowther selflessly brought the games into our homes with the likes of the text commentaries and development of Hibs.net. He provided a veritable lifeline for us.
We shouldn't ever forget the fun side of John as one would invariably find themselves smiling when in his company. His playful side showed in his presenting with Diane in 'Kack in the Shack' a live video chat room with music and a few of us worthies at the time. His involvment with the brilliantly funny and hilariously ireverent Mass Hibsteria was pivotal and well documented. Fond memories.
John's writing, from his Hib.net postings, match reports to books, boasted incredible detail. He was one of the most knowledgable of Hibees with a completely staggering recall of our great club. A deep mine of information.
For me, John was one of the great Hibernians. His name will be up there with other storied individuals, including players, as legendary, due to his contributions to the cause. I will miss him, we will all miss him.
A lovely tribute Stu:flag:
15-08-2024, 01:21 PM
Loved JC. Real shame. RIP pal
15-08-2024, 03:13 PM
RIP Jonnyboy.
15-08-2024, 03:24 PM
A real miss.
16-08-2024, 03:05 PM
RIP Jonnyboy…always looked out for his posts, and sad to hear of a fellow hibby (poster) pass away.
16-08-2024, 03:50 PM
Beautiful tribute. RIP
16-08-2024, 04:07 PM
RIP Jonnyboy, glad you got to witness the holy grail.
Bobby Coombe
16-08-2024, 04:09 PM
Beautiful tribute. RIP
It was always a real pleasure to read the match reports every week and to marvel at their quality, accuracy and timeliness. I’m still amazed at how he managed to do it all.
Thank you so much, John. Your family can be truly proud of you.
HIGHLANDLEITHER
16-08-2024, 06:11 PM
As another who lives some distance away Jonnyboy’s match reports were an excellent source of information . I echo all the kind thoughts of his followers and friends for his engaging commentary.
17-08-2024, 04:16 AM
RIP Jonnyboy, loved your match reports.
Tha Cabbage Kid
17-08-2024, 05:59 AM
Very sad news indeed 😢
Hibs.net legend for sure!
A sad day.
GIBBY NEWTON
17-08-2024, 04:59 PM
This is how it feels
Miss you big brother
GGTTH 💚
Loved his This is how it Feels,honest heartfelt appraisal of our latest game.
Reading many of these tributes gives a reflection of Jonnyboy .
Condolences to family & friends may he R.I.P.
With the Angels High Above
Hibby_Paul
23-08-2024, 11:52 AM
Use to chat to John years ago for the odd time after games in Tamsons or the Cabbage and Ribs. Always a fountain of knowledge on everything Hibs and a nice and friendly chap.
More recently I would always check his This Is How It Feels match reports over the others for a fair and balanced view.
Was glad I briefly bumped into him last year whilst watching one of Hibs european games on TV in the Albion.
He done so much for the hibs net and other communication means we take for granted these days.