27-07-2024, 03:30 PM
Vente man

Another he should definitely score, so poor

Vente next goal.

For all the stick Lovell gets, some of it merited, I’m not sure I’ve heard anything insightful from Cliff or Joelle.

100%

Really wish we would find some decent commentators - just so dull to listen to and monotone - I know it’s only Peterhead but have listened to other clubs commentary and just more exciting.

27-07-2024, 03:31 PM
Certainly wouldn’t have given effectively 3 more years.

He should be a stand out in a game like this imho.

Anyway 4 up but could have been nearly double figures if we had taken our chances.

27-07-2024, 03:32 PM
Really good play from Jair there.

100%

Really wish we would find some decent commentators - just so dull to listen to and monotone - I know it’s only Peterhead but have listened to other clubs commentary and just more exciting.Hate to say it but hearts TV have a great balance

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Jair upping the tempo 😁

Certainly wouldn’t have given effectively 3 more years.

Agree

27-07-2024, 03:33 PM
Excellent Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Vente manYou expect a striker to do much better thereBased on what he's done since arriving at ER it's a stretch to call him a striker.

scm70nyd1973
27-07-2024, 03:34 PM
Hate to say it but hearts TV have a great balance

I have to be honest and say how surprised I was that they were not completely bias and up themselves as well as mentioning Biggliest like ‘66 for the English ad nausea 🤔

Am I the only one that thinks we’ve played quite well - with way more in the plus than the minus column?

Wastefulness in front of goal apart, our best team is taking shape. And the peripheral characters haven’t looked too bad either - as long as we don’t need to rely on too many at a time.

Amos on for NW

cameronw-hfc
4-0 up and players still getting rinsed on here. Some laugh

27-07-2024, 03:35 PM
Am I the only one that thinks we’ve played quite well - with way more in the plus than the minus column?Wastefulness in front of goal apart, our best team is taking shape. And the peripheral characters haven’t looked too bad either - as long as we don’t need to rely on too many at a time.No.

Am I the only one that thinks we’ve played quite well - with way more in the plus than the minus column?

Wastefulness in front of goal apart, our best team is taking shape. And the peripheral characters haven’t looked too bad either - as long as we don’t need to rely on too many at a time.Yep we've been pretty good

But wasteful and probably just frustrations with lack of signings

4-0 up and players still getting rinsed on here. Some laughI find it quite draining being honest.

Hate to say it but hearts TV have a great balance

Agree think they are the best insightful enthusiastic and fair as a club channel can be

scm70nyd1973
If you take away the Kelty Hearts game (yup I know it’s hard to do) the season so far incl friendlies hasn’t been too bad really.

cameronw-hfc
27-07-2024, 03:36 PM
Am I the only one that thinks we’ve played quite well - with way more in the plus than the minus column?Wastefulness in front of goal apart, our best team is taking shape. And the peripheral characters haven’t looked too bad either - as long as we don’t need to rely on too many at a time.I'm genuinely confused at some of the negativity whilst 4-0 up. We've played well enough for the stage of the season.

Wastefulness in front of goal apart, our best team is taking shape. And the peripheral characters haven’t looked too bad either - as long as we don’t need to rely on too many at a time.

Biggest concern is the injury to O’Hora. Hopefully taken off as a precautionary measure!

ChicoM1875
Am I the only one that thinks we’ve played quite well - with way more in the plus than the minus column?Wastefulness in front of goal apart, our best team is taking shape. And the peripheral characters haven’t looked too bad either - as long as we don’t need to rely on too many at a time.No - I agree. Was really bored watching Hibs the last couple of seasons. I've enjoyed most of what I've seen so far under Gray. Couple of options up front will help.

We've played well. Just not clinical enough in the 1st half.
Peterhead are really poor to be honest though.

Kelty result aside it's been a solid enough pre season. Only worry for me is lack of depth and we're a starting attacking midfielder and striker away

If you take away the Kelty Hearts game (yup I know it’s hard to do) the season so far incl friendlies hasn’t been too bad really.Aye but. But but we’ve no signed anyone.

Stairway 2 7
27-07-2024, 03:37 PM
4-0 up and players still getting rinsed on here. Some laugh

It's the worst when you get a new season ticket and the person behind you thinks the world wants to know repeatedly that they think a player is crap, we get it the first time you said it..

27-07-2024, 03:37 PM
I'm genuinely confused at some of the negativity whilst 4-0 up. We've played well enough for the stage of the season.

Did the negativity not mostly come a good bit before going 4-0 up?

27-07-2024, 03:38 PM
Rudi 2 goals already in only a few games - great start for him this season.

27-07-2024, 03:38 PM
Did the negativity not mostly come a good bit before going 4-0 up?Hang around bingo. The weakness of the bench will be a hot topic. Guaranteed. That’s despite the changes making a noticsbke difference when coming on.

27-07-2024, 03:39 PM
Levitt free kick scores 3 points as it sails into the top of the stand.

27-07-2024, 03:39 PM
Jair is on fire here 😎

27-07-2024, 03:40 PM
Campbell’s a funny player isn’t he

He does the really difficult stuff brilliantly at times but then the simpler passes he makes a meal of at times

27-07-2024, 03:40 PM
According to BBC stats we've had 26 shots (8 on target) to Peterhead's 0 shots!

hibee316
27-07-2024, 03:41 PM
Jair is on fire here 😎

He is doing really well!

NC1875
Aye but. But but we’ve no signed anyone.

We’ll see if you find it entertaining when we play decent opposition and we’re still bringing Jair off the bench to try and win a game.

cameronw-hfc
Did the negativity not mostly come a good bit before going 4-0 up?We were still winning and folk can't quit moaning. This place can be so negative regardless of how we're playing

27-07-2024, 03:42 PM
We’ll see if you find it entertaining when we play decent opposition and we’re still bringing Jair off the bench to try and win a game.Assuming no one comes in eh?

Nemo
We’re still pish btw…just in case there’s anyone still left with delusions of grandeur… this is going to be a long season.

Did the negativity not mostly come a good bit before going 4-0 up?

Yep, think it’s possible to discuss individual performances in amongst acknowledging a good and professional performance. Thought Rudi & NMW were good. Vente still struggling and looking very limited.

badabing67
Jair is on fire here 😎It's about time he showed up

Silky
27-07-2024, 03:43 PM
We were still winning and folk can't quit moaning. This place can be so negative regardless of how we're playing

It's horrendous. We've scored 14 goals and lost 2. We scored about 14 the whole of last season!🤣

27-07-2024, 03:43 PM
We’re still pish btw…just in case there’s anyone still left with delusions of grandeur… this is going to be a long season.Aye it’s gonna be long right enough.

27-07-2024, 03:44 PM
We’re still pish btw…just in case there’s anyone still left with delusions of grandeur… this is going to be a long season.

Looking forward to the Pixar follow up “Desperately trying to ignore Nemo”

We’re winning 4-0, fourteen goals scored and two conceded in the group. Lighten up.

HendoDelivered
27-07-2024, 03:45 PM

Shut up man 😂

I've seen both " we have a threadbare squad" and we have a bloated squad. So which is it?

Imagine time wasting at 4-0 down. Tinpot.

Just going to assume this is sarcasm

6-0 qp

27-07-2024, 03:46 PM
6-0 Queens Park.

scm70nyd1973
Peterhead fans must be going tonto on their .net - must have a look to see how outraged they are compared to us

ChuckNor
Jair can be very happy with his performances in the last few games. Looks lively and back to that spell he had under NM

I've seen both " we have a threadbare squad" and we have a bloated squad. So which is it?

Tbf, there are good arguments to say that both statements are correct.

27-07-2024, 03:47 PM

WE have a threadbare squad if you are considering quality, we have a bloated squad if you are considering numbers.

27-07-2024, 03:47 PM
6-0 Queen's Park

27-07-2024, 03:48 PM

Both. Bloated numbers, threadbare quality.

27-07-2024, 03:48 PM
FT 6-0 QP

hopefully we don't concede a late goal

27-07-2024, 03:49 PM
FT 6-0 QPhopefully we don't concede a late goalWon’t matter we will still be through as one of the best runners up.

He's here!
If you take away the Kelty Hearts game (yup I know it’s hard to do) the season so far incl friendlies hasn’t been too bad really.You can't take away the Kelty game though. It was a such a pitiful, embarrassing result (especially when you look at Kelty's other results in the group) that folk are still fuming about it and understandably sparing with their praise no matter what the score today.

Vente shot blocked, again

FT 6-0 QP

hopefully we don't concede a late goal

Don't think they've even had a shot at goal...

You can't take away the Kelty game though. It was a such a pitiful, embarrassing result (especially when you look at Kelty's other results in the group) that folk are still fuming about it and understandably sparing with their praise no matter what the score today.More fool them.

Another huge chance for Vente after a brilliant Campbell pass

Won’t matter we will still be through as one of the best runners up.

It just feels better if we qualify as group winner

scm70nyd1973
27-07-2024, 03:50 PM
How much dosh do we get for winning the group ? Fish suppers on the way home mibbies

27-07-2024, 03:50 PM

Presume even if we won the group we wouldn’t be seeded so it really doesn’t matter.

But I agree winning the group does feel better.

(Edit, we are seeded)

27-07-2024, 03:51 PM
It just feels better if we qualify as group winnerAgreed and we will.

ruthven_raiders
27-07-2024, 03:51 PM
You can't take away the Kelty game though. It was a such a pitiful, embarrassing result (especially when you look at Kelty's other results in the group) that folk are still fuming about it and understandably sparing with their praise no matter what the score today.

Exactly this, Hibs have to earn the trust of the Hibs support, and they have a long way to go, management and ownership wise...

1875M
27-07-2024, 03:52 PM
Exactly this, Hibs have to earn the trust of the Hibs support, and they have a long way to go, management and ownership wise...

Yep. Shocking result considering how bad this lot are and how average QP looked as well.

FT

And relax.

Top and seeded.

Never in doubt.

Job done and done professionally

27-07-2024, 03:53 PM
Top and seeded.Never in doubt.JNot sure we will be seeded.

ChicoM1875
Well done Hibs!

Top and seeded.

Never in doubt.

Not seeded. Kelty result seen to that.

Comfortable and professional job today Hibs, delighted for Rudi getting on the score sheet again and lovely goal from NMW.

ruthven_raiders
Top and seeded.

Never in doubt.

Seeded? Did results go our way?? That is highly unlikely....

27-07-2024, 03:54 PM
Well done.

The Kelty game is such a weird one, similar to the other performances in terms of how we played but just couldn’t score for whatever reason

But there’s a very clear style of play which is creating chances and getting us to win the ball back quicker.

O’Hora and Ekpiteta look very good at the back.

we're not seeded

killie-hibby
Top and seeded.

Never in doubt.

Top ,but not seeded.

We've managed 79 shots at goal, 30 on target, 14 goals so far this league cup.

We've given up 11 shots, 6 on target and 2 goals. Kelty had less chances than QP, but squeaked a win.

We've started much better than previous league cup games, and with a proper striker, could have scored double figures today.

We need 2 signings up top, and someone who can play left and centre back.

badabing67
27-07-2024, 03:55 PM
Top and seeded.Never in doubt.JNot seeded

Seeded? Did results go our way?? That is highly unlikely....No it will be Aberdeen Ross County and Dundee that are seeded.

Not sure we will be seeded.

Aberdeen, Dundee and Ross County all on 12 points.

Aberdeen, Dundee and Ross C seeded

Take any one of them

27-07-2024, 03:56 PM
I think we might be seeded depending on Motherwell Partick outcome

We're +12 GD. Better than any other team on 9 points

Not sure we will be seeded.

Oh. Just going off what my old man said.

He could be talking 💩 though.

Aberdeen, Dundee, and Ross County all 12 points and seeded

Aaaaaah there's 5 teams from Europe. I'm thinking there's 4. Ah well

Especially as the rest of the group are who they are, and we are the hibs!

McGruber
27-07-2024, 03:57 PM
F*****g boo. Sh**e. Get lost Vente, useless. Piss poor finishing, composure, quality. Frustrating as ******. Just do one. Dicks.Just personal feelings having stood to won £100 for 5-0 and another £100 for 6-0 in a game we should have won by 10 easy. £700K for a forward who can't finish 3 one on ones v a poor keeper.Other than that. Good result, well done Hibs and job done. Just have to use the overdraft for the chinese tonight though

27-07-2024, 03:58 PM
Good wee win, clean sheet for the defence and keeper also which will give them a boost, 100% need a couple of strikers in soon

F*****g boo. Sh**e. Get lost Vente, useless. Piss poor finishing, composure, quality. Frustrating as ******. Just do one. Dicks.Just personal feelings having stood to won £100 for 5-0 and another £100 for 6-0 in a game we should have won by 10 easy. £700K for a forward who can't finish 3 one on ones v a poor keeper.Other than that. Good result, well done Hibs and job done. Just have to use the overdraft for the chinese tonight though

And breathe :)

Another encouraging display. Baring the freak result against Kelty where we had enough chances to win two games we've been good. Sorry if that's too positive.

27-07-2024, 03:59 PM
Aberdeen, Dundee, and Ross County all 12 points and seeded

I’d take them from the seeded pot.

Just about OF and Hearts please.

27-07-2024, 03:59 PM

Have a few pints as well mate 😂

ChicoM1875
27-07-2024, 04:00 PM
F*****g boo. Sh**e. Get lost Vente, useless. Piss poor finishing, composure, quality. Frustrating as ******. Just do one. Dicks.Just personal feelings having stood to won £100 for 5-0 and another £100 for 6-0 in a game we should have won by 10 easy. £700K for a forward who can't finish 3 one on ones v a poor keeper.Other than that. Good result, well done Hibs and job done. Just have to use the overdraft for the chinese tonight thoughI find it's better to cook your own Chinese food. I'm often underwhelmed with a takeaway.

McGruber
27-07-2024, 04:00 PM
Have a few pints as well mate 😂Will do

27-07-2024, 04:01 PM

Thought it was only the best 3 that were seeded to go along with the other 5 teams who were in Europe.

27-07-2024, 04:05 PM
Don’t care we are not seeded. It’s a cup competition so you can normally get top teams at any point anyway.

27-07-2024, 04:06 PM
I’d take them from the seeded pot.Just about OF and Hearts please.JI’d take hearts before Dundee to be honest.

27-07-2024, 04:08 PM

Only 8 teams seeded - 5 clubs in Europe plus 3 best from the groups. Since Aberdeen, Dundee and Ross C all have 12 points we can't be seeded.

27-07-2024, 04:09 PM
Don’t care we are not seeded. It’s a cup competition so you can normally get top teams at any point anyway.

Presume the seeding ends after the next round and then it’s a free for all. Duff up Ross County and bob’s your uncle.

Lendo
27-07-2024, 04:10 PM
F*****g boo. Sh**e. Get lost Vente, useless. Piss poor finishing, composure, quality. Frustrating as ******. Just do one. Dicks.Just personal feelings having stood to won £100 for 5-0 and another £100 for 6-0 in a game we should have won by 10 easy. £700K for a forward who can't finish 3 one on ones v a poor keeper.Other than that. Good result, well done Hibs and job done. Just have to use the overdraft for the chinese tonight thoughThis is a masterpiece of a post. Something that could be studied, analysed and written about by psychologists and philosophers for generations to come.

27-07-2024, 04:10 PM

Exactly.

All that matters is getting through. We’re through.

27-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Nightmare about O’Hora getting injured it can’t be a bad cause we’ve only got Rocky

27-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Thought it was only the best 3 that were seeded to go along with the other 5 teams who were in Europe.

It is we are not seeded

What date next round? Is it a Saturday in august

Hibees1973
27-07-2024, 04:18 PM
It is we are not seededWhat date next round? Is it a Saturday in augustJim. Weekend 17/18 August

27-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Jim. Weekend 17/18 August

When is the draw?

27-07-2024, 04:22 PM
Jim. Weekend 17/18 August

Ta 👍

27-07-2024, 04:23 PM
When is the draw?

Think tomorrow

Hibees1973
27-07-2024, 04:24 PM
When is the draw?Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNot 100% sure but might be after the Motherwell tie tomorrow.

27-07-2024, 04:30 PM
Nightmare about O’Hora getting injured it can’t be a bad cause we’ve only got Rocky

I think he had just got a bang. That’s what he seemed to indicate to the bench.

27-07-2024, 04:34 PM
It's horrendous. We've scored 14 goals and lost 2. We scored about 14 the whole of last season!🤣

This time last season we were playing in European games where we scored 12 goals.

27-07-2024, 04:35 PM
I think he had just got a bang. That’s what he seemed to indicate to the bench.

Hope so mate

Donegal Hibby
27-07-2024, 04:38 PM
Not 100% sure but might be after the Motherwell tie tomorrow.

It is ...

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/celtic/latest-celtic-news/when-is-the-premier-sports-cup-last-16-draw-how-to-watch-as-celtic-hearts-and-rangers-enter-competition-4719152

27-07-2024, 04:40 PM
Shows just how much of a fluke Keltys win over us was. We've hammered everyone else, they've been dreadful and we missed so many chances.

27-07-2024, 04:42 PM
Top and seeded.Never in doubt.JSeeded?

27-07-2024, 04:45 PM
Shows just how much of a fluke Keltys win over us was. We've hammered everyone else, they've been dreadful and we missed so many chances.

It’s our own fault 100%.
We played a weakened team and still haven’t brought in a striker. The club management failed and now we have a tougher draw in next round of the cup.

27-07-2024, 04:51 PM
It’s our own fault 100%.
We played a weakened team and still haven’t brought in a striker. The club management failed and now we have a tougher draw in next round of the cup.

It's our fault for missing easy chances Vs a crap team.

27-07-2024, 04:52 PM
It's our fault for missing easy chances Vs a crap team.

That’s what I said.[emoji6][emoji23]

27-07-2024, 04:54 PM
It’s our own fault 100%.

50% of seeded teams should be well within our ability to win

27-07-2024, 04:56 PM
50% of seeded teams should be well within our ability to win

Yip, it’s pretty grim.

Rumble de Thump
27-07-2024, 04:57 PM
It’s our own fault 100%.

The team selection wasn't a problem. If you watched the game you'll have seen that we dominated it and created plenty of chances. We hit the woodwork three times, had a shot cleared off the line etc so clearly the team selection and tactics worked. We were unfortunate not to score a bundle of goals. It happens.

27-07-2024, 05:02 PM
It’s our own fault 100%. We played a weakened team and still haven’t brought in a striker. The club management failed and now we have a tougher draw in next round of the cup.Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTalk about hyperbole. Club management failed? Is that right. They got team selection wrong against Kelty and subsequently the result IMO. but that’s it. We topped the group and gave had a very decent pre season. A signing or three especially up top would/will be lovely but if a tougher draw in the next round if the league cup is as bad as it gets then bring it on.

27-07-2024, 05:04 PM
The team selection wasn't a problem. If you watched the game you'll have seen that we dominated it and created plenty of chances. We hit the woodwork three times, had a shot cleared off the line etc so clearly the team selection and tactics worked. We were unfortunate not to score a bundle of goals. It happens.I’m going to disagree. We should have played largely the same team that had demolished Elgin and Queens. I think changing when we could have put the group to bed was a mistake and said so before a ball was kicked last weekend.

27-07-2024, 05:07 PM
Nightmare about O’Hora getting injured it can’t be a bad cause we’ve only got RockyDon't worry Harbottle and Rocky on stand by🤣

27-07-2024, 05:09 PM
Don't worry Harbottle and Rocky on stand by🤣

Rocky is nowhere near as bad as folk make out

27-07-2024, 05:10 PM
Rocky is nowhere near as bad as folk make outI said it with tounge in cheek 👍

27-07-2024, 05:17 PM
Just 29 shots at goal today.

TrinityHFC
27-07-2024, 05:20 PM
I’m going to disagree. We should have played largely the same team that had demolished Elgin and Queens. I think changing when we could have put the group to bed was a mistake and said so before a ball was kicked last weekend.

We’ve no way of knowing that. The same set of players might have struggled to play another game. We might have got injuries. We might have won then transferred the decent to today. I don’t think we lost that game due to the team picked. The performance was actually okay.

Rumble de Thump
27-07-2024, 05:20 PM
I’m going to disagree. We should have played largely the same team that had demolished Elgin and Queens. I think changing when we could have put the group to bed was a mistake and said so before a ball was kicked last weekend.

But we did dominate the game and create more than enough chances. If that hadn't been the case then you'd certianly have a point. But we were simply unlucky that so many shots missed by an inch or two. It wasn't team selection that lost us the match. Anyway, progressing was the goal and we're in the next round with more signings still to come.

Paul1642
27-07-2024, 05:28 PM

We are gong to need more than a strong starting 11 to have a successful season. The players who came in should still have been more than good enough to beat Kelty Hearts.

Paul1642
27-07-2024, 05:36 PM
Any word on O’Hora?

27-07-2024, 05:41 PM
I enjoyed that.

Im fairly sure our keeper didnt even have a bye kick to take until the last quarter of the game, easy street.

Lots of our attacking play came through the full backs, Miller was better second half i thought, Obita was better before the break but together they created a lot. Molotnikov a joy to watch running at people, Moriah Welsh had a good game, exciting cameo from Jair who was clearly dominating his man, as he should at this level. Even Vente, who will get pelters for being so wasteful with his chances, will be pleased with an assist for the second and a nice run and cross shortly after. He really needs to take more of his chances though.

TrinityHFC
27-07-2024, 05:52 PM
Any word on O’Hora?

Hopefully just an impact in the hip area according to Gray.

27-07-2024, 05:56 PM
Well we won the section as expected and I don’t want to dwell on the negatives but that Kelty result has been made even more unbearable.

27-07-2024, 06:18 PM
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1817223830282051788

NMW goal for those who haven't seen it.

27-07-2024, 06:22 PM
We’ve no way of knowing that. The same set of players might have struggled to play another game. We might have got injuries. We might have won then transferred the decent to today. I don’t think we lost that game due to the team picked. The performance was actually okay.

Your right we will never know but a winning team that had scored a good few goals should have not been rested until either Wednesday night v Watford or indeed today. All IMO

27-07-2024, 06:24 PM
We are gong to need more than a strong starting 11 to have a successful season. The players who came in should still have been more than good enough to beat Kelty Hearts.

Absolutely but the game and group should have been put to bed last week and minutes in legs done midweek and today.

27-07-2024, 06:48 PM
We’ll see if you find it entertaining when we play decent opposition and we’re still bringing Jair off the bench to try and win a game.

Why do you always need to put such a negative slant on things? It was a decent performance, good entertainment. But all you want to do is moan 🙄

Nemo
27-07-2024, 06:50 PM
Looking forward to the Pixar follow up “Desperately trying to ignore Nemo”

We’re winning 4-0, fourteen goals scored and two conceded in the group. Lighten up.
You can ignore me if you like, but I’m right. Come speak to me again in oct/nov.
We’ll see how funny you are then when we’ve got rid of another manager and sitting 7-9 in the league. It is a miserable assessment but one that is glaringly obvious for those that have half a brain.

27-07-2024, 07:07 PM
You can ignore me if you like, but I’m right. Come speak to me again in oct/nov. We’ll see how funny you are then when we’ve got rid of another manager and sitting 7-9 in the league. It is a miserable assessment but one that is glaringly obvious for those that have half a brain.Oooh Mrs, always like to see the positive side of things don’t you with all your posts ? All 186 of them

27-07-2024, 07:09 PM
Oooh Mrs, always like to see the positive side of things don’t you with all your posts ? All 186 of them

I wonder how some folk on here manage to climb out their bed in the morning. Its painful at times.

27-07-2024, 07:14 PM
Hopefully just an impact in the hip area according to Gray.

Hopefully fit for next week. Look much safer defensively when he is on. Good organiser. Very composed and good range of passing

27-07-2024, 07:16 PM
You can ignore me if you like, but I’m right. Come speak to me again in oct/nov.
We’ll see how funny you are then when we’ve got rid of another manager and sitting 7-9 in the league. It is a miserable assessment but one that is glaringly obvious for those that have half a brain.

Seems there is only one poster here with half a brain turning their nose up at a 14-2 against stuffy lower league teams who are no mugs.

Roll on St Mirren. That’ll be the real test of where we are at.

27-07-2024, 07:22 PM

I'll bet you 100 quid Gray is here on December 1st

27-07-2024, 07:25 PM
Rocky is nowhere near as bad as folk make out

Rocky was solid today, as he normally is. He’ll be a useful squad player this season.

27-07-2024, 07:38 PM
Seems there is only one poster here with half a brain turning their nose up at a 14-2 against stuffy lower league teams who are no mugs.

Roll on St Mirren. That’ll be the real test of where we are at.

Indeed. No question, 14-2 is a terrific response to last season but acid test will be playing proper teams who are just as hungry, less intimated and have determination to win. Seen too many of these same players crumble under the pressure and wet themselves when pressed. Fingers crossed, SDG can turn them into winners.

27-07-2024, 07:39 PM
Sounds weird to say after as comfortable a 4-0 win as you’ll ever see but that was boring in large parts today.

Disappointed with Newell and Boyle, captain and vice captain who are our experienced pros. Both poor today.

On the plus side thought NMW and Molotnikov were good. Campbell was his usual energetic self and Levitt looked good when he came on.

Still way off having a a good enough squad, but only expecting a signing or two to come in now. We’ll hope that'll see us through to next summer and get us top six.

27-07-2024, 08:06 PM
Indeed. No question, 14-2 is a terrific response to last season but acid test will be playing proper teams who are just as hungry, less intimated and have determination to win. Seen too many of these same players crumble under the pressure and wet themselves when pressed. Fingers crossed, SDG can turn them into winners.

It’s interesting how you define the acid test (I totally agree for the record).

Thinking back to last week, were Kelty hungry? I’d say so - bodies on the line, ran their lungs out and fought for every 50/50.

Were Kelty intimidated? Not a chance, they stood up physically and mentally.

Did Kelty have determination to win? See above comments.

Did our players crumble? Define crumble but they certainly didn’t hold it together to get the job done.

Have we therefore seen the first ‘acid test’?

27-07-2024, 08:08 PM

Is that because it will be extended for us playing in the Scottish cup final?

NC1875
27-07-2024, 10:09 PM
Why do you always need to put such a negative slant on things? It was a decent performance, good entertainment. But all you want to do is moan 🙄

If you read the original post. I wasn’t talking about today’s performance. I was replying to greenlex talking about signings… or lack of them 👍🏼

28-07-2024, 12:47 AM
You can ignore me if you like, but I’m right. Come speak to me again in oct/nov. We’ll see how funny you are then when we’ve got rid of another manager and sitting 7-9 in the league. It is a miserable assessment but one that is glaringly obvious for those that have half a brain.“Those” Away back to doggin in yer maroon Rover.

28-07-2024, 10:04 AM
The team selection wasn't a problem. If you watched the game you'll have seen that we dominated it and created plenty of chances. We hit the woodwork three times, had a shot cleared off the line etc so clearly the team selection and tactics worked. We were unfortunate not to score a bundle of goals. It happens.
Yes it does happen, too often.

28-07-2024, 12:35 PM
What was the attendance yesterday

28-07-2024, 01:15 PM
3578 seagulls.

28-07-2024, 02:24 PM
Sounds weird to say after as comfortable a 4-0 win as you’ll ever see but that was boring in large parts today. Disappointed with Newell and Boyle, captain and vice captain who are our experienced pros. Both poor today. On the plus side thought NMW and Molotnikov were good. Campbell was his usual energetic self and Levitt looked good when he came on. Still way off having a a good enough squad, but only expecting a signing or two to come in now. We’ll hope that'll see us through to next summer and get us top six.I also found it pretty boring in parts.We need to do so much better to have a chance at anything this season.

Donegal Hibby
28-07-2024, 03:31 PM
Wonder did anyone ask Foley about Hibs after the Peterhead game ?🤔

29-07-2024, 05:34 AM
I also found it pretty boring in parts.We need to do so much better to have a chance at anything this season.

It can get a bit boring when your opponent has no shots. Im struggling to remember our keeper having to even take a bye kick until very late in the second half. Saying that, we scored 4 played well, 29 shots 9on target, if Vente and Campbell were on form that would have neen pushing double figures. Im really struggling to see why folk are struggling to see the positives, or see where we are supposed to do ‘so much better’?

29-07-2024, 05:42 AM
It can get a bit boring when your opponent has no shots. Im struggling to remember our keeper having to even take a bye kick until very late in the second half. Saying that, we scored 4 played well, 29 shots 9on target, if Vente and Campbell were on form that would have neen pushing double figures. Im really struggling to see why folk are struggling to see the positives, or see where we are supposed to do ‘so much better’?

It's because these are the games a no9 should be banging them in, to get records, to reach personal & professional milestones (10th goal for Hibs, 15th goal for Hibs, getting over halfway to double figures for the season before a league game) and you don't get far with scoring 1 in 9 of your shots in a Derby for example.

The lack of a striker with presence is a worry & contributed to us being unseeded (when compared to Dundee with Simon Murray / Luke McCowan instead of Dylan Vente / JC)

It's a criticism of recruitment

29-07-2024, 05:51 AM
It's because these are the games a no9 should be banging them in, to get records, to reach personal & professional milestones (10th goal for Hibs, 15th goal for Hibs, getting over halfway to double figures for the season before a league game) and you don't get far with scoring 1 in 9 of your shots in a Derby for example.

The lack of a striker with presence is a worry & contributed to us being unseeded (when compared to Dundee with Simon Murray / Luke McCowan instead of Dylan Vente / JC)

Exactly

SDG has said he will address that very issue in the next few days

Let’s see what happens

29-07-2024, 05:52 AM

I get the criticism of recruitment, ive been as vocal as anyone on that. Also, Its more like 1 in 5 than 1 in 9 (shots result in goals), 1 in 3 on target, but thats purely arithmetical :greengrin

Paul1642
29-07-2024, 06:27 AM
I also found it pretty boring in parts.We need to do so much better to have a chance at anything this season.

I don’t think that’s necessarily Hibs fault. The Peterhead players were taking an absolute age to take every set piece which went a small way to killing the flow at times, whilst Hibs looked like they had a bit of urgency about us at all times.

If Peterhead were a goal up they’d have had several yellow for time wasting. It was a bit odd really.

29-07-2024, 06:42 AM

Why, do you think Foley bad mouth's Hibs at every opportunity?

29-07-2024, 07:32 AM
Why, do you think Foley bad mouth's Hibs at every opportunity?

Think it was a dig at the reporter who stirred it up

29-07-2024, 08:43 AM

He says he isn't going to update Ian Gordon's football manager 24/25 lol