View Full Version : Its a long way from P*sh running down the steps...

Up-the-slope
27-07-2024, 08:07 AM
from the roofless 'bogs' (No way would a dump be considered by any sane person) . Clouds of ash dust kicked up from the railway sleeper fronted terraces. Lift overs at the turnstyles. Cash shoved in plastic bags from gate receipts. Macaroon bars shoved through perimeter fencing from pitchside sellers. HT entertainment consisting of lobbing missiles over the segregation fencing. Standing where you liked the vibe (as opposed to finding your season seat trapped near a serial single player abuser) etc I'm sure I & others could list a lot more if we mined our collective memories. So much has changed some for the better, but not allRealising that its 20 years next month since all seater stadiums were mandatory and we have generation who no nothings else. looking at recent 'super' stadia - have we come too far from the place we went with our mates to see a raw game we loved (yes thats a pretty rhetorical question)One of the World Cup Stadiums in USAhttps://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/videos/cpwd35e558eo

27-07-2024, 08:17 AM
from the roofless 'bogs' (No way would a dump be considered by any sane person) . Clouds of ash dust kicked up from the railway sleeper fronted terraces. Lift overs at the turnstyles. Cash shoved in plastic bags from gate receipts. Macaroon bars shoved through perimeter fencing from pitchside sellers. HT entertainment consisting of lobbing missiles over the segregation fencing. Standing where you liked the vibe (as opposed to finding your season seat trapped near a serial single player abuser) etc I'm sure I & others could list a lot more if we mined our collective memories. So much has changed some for the better, but not allRealising that its 20 years next month since all seater stadiums were mandatory and we have generation who no nothings else. looking at recent 'super' stadia - have we come too far from the place we went with our mates to see a raw game we loved (yes thats a pretty rhetorical question)One of the World Cup Stadiums in USAhttps://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/videos/cpwd35e558eohttps://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/videos/cpwd35e558eo

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

27-07-2024, 08:26 AM
from the roofless 'bogs' (No way would a dump be considered by any sane person) . Clouds of ash dust kicked up from the railway sleeper fronted terraces. Lift overs at the turnstyles. Cash shoved in plastic bags from gate receipts. Macaroon bars shoved through perimeter fencing from pitchside sellers. HT entertainment consisting of lobbing missiles over the segregation fencing. Standing where you liked the vibe (as opposed to finding your season seat trapped near a serial single player abuser) etc I'm sure I & others could list a lot more if we mined our collective memories. So much has changed some for the better, but not allRealising that its 20 years next month since all seater stadiums were mandatory and we have generation who no nothings else. looking at recent 'super' stadia - have we come too far from the place we went with our mates to see a raw game we loved (yes thats a pretty rhetorical question)One of the World Cup Stadiums in USAhttps://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/videos/cpwd35e558eo

The evolution of football as big business.

These super-stadiums that are being built now seem to be more about driving commercial revenue than their primary purpose. Or it's at least equal to their primary purpose. I feel the same way when I walk through ultra modern airports. Basically huge commercial and shopping centres with a few runways attached.

Progress eh. Can't live with it, can't live without it. It comes with positives and negatives. It was ever thus.

27-07-2024, 08:51 AM
I love an old stadium and find these new builds stadiums utterly soulless.

One of the stadiums being used at the World Cup is Hard Rock Stadium (ugh) in Miami. It's not that new really now, built in the late 80s but had a major facelift recently. It's undoubtedly impressive, multiple food outlets, taprooms everywhere serving local beers, huge car parking space, well protected from the Florida sun (except the visiting sideline) and so on. It's just a place to play sport though. There is no soul or heart.

It replaced the Orange Bowl. Arguably one of the most important stadiums in the history of US sport. The OB was a dump by the end. It was hot, smelly, the toilets came with a health warning. But watch footage from it and it was loud and intimidating. It was right in the heart of downtown Miami, bordered by Little Havana and opposing teams hated going there. Both the Dolphins and Hurricanes had unrivalled home records there and were teams to be reckoned with. Neither have been teams worth mentioning since they departed for the new stadium several years apart. The old site was unceremoniously bulldozed and a horrible baseball park now sits in it's place. Cultural vandalism imo.

I get you need to move on and progress but for me there is something about stadiums like Easter Road, Anfield and even Tynecastle where they sit nestled in amongst the surrounding houses and community.

I visited the Spurs stadium when I was last in London. It's undeniably an impressive structure, it would just be a lie to say otherwise. I'd rather go to a game and stand on a terrace at Somerset Park or Cappielow though.

27-07-2024, 08:56 AM
So-fi is the home of two NFL teams, the Rams and the Chargers, who are franchises that have moved from their original cities for financial gain, in the Rams case, multiple times, and so for ‘home games’ the stadium is dominated by away fans of real blue collar american teams because there is just no real passion in any great numbers for the teams involved (apologies to any Rams or Chargers fans reading, but its true!)

When you look at stadia like this, theyre just a reflection of the franchise model, where sport is a reflection of the commercial opportunities available. Theres no genuine link to the local community, the fan base or even to the area where the stadium is. The guy in the interview seemed genuinely surprised at the atmosphere that a stadium full of Mexico fans can generate.

Obviously it is possible to have an amazing and beautiful modern stadium with a passionate fans as well, but sometimes it just falls a bit flat, ive never been to west hams new ground but apparently not a patch on upton park for making you feel part of something real.

DIXIHIBS
27-07-2024, 08:58 AM

Maybe it's not for everyone but I would go back to those days in a minute. It felt real, not the sanitised version of football we have now. Sure it was messy/dirty..a bit rough but I loved it. People will say it is more family friendly etc now, but plenty kids went to the games back then, normally on their own with their mates, and it felt perfectly safe (apart from Hun games). Give me the 70s over there 2020s any time.

27-07-2024, 10:38 AM
So-fi is the home of two NFL teams, the Rams and the Chargers, who are franchises that have moved from their original cities for financial gain, in the Rams case, multiple times, and so for ‘home games’ the stadium is dominated by away fans of real blue collar american teams because there is just no real passion in any great numbers for the teams involved (apologies to any Rams or Chargers fans reading, but its true!)

When you look at stadia like this, theyre just a reflection of the franchise model, where sport is a reflection of the commercial opportunities available. Theres no genuine link to the local community, the fan base or even to the area where the stadium is. The guy in the interview seemed genuinely surprised at the atmosphere that a stadium full of Mexico fans can generate.

Obviously it is possible to have an amazing and beautiful modern stadium with a passionate fans as well, but sometimes it just falls a bit flat, ive never been to west hams new ground but apparently not a patch on upton park for making you feel part of something real.

I used to go to Upton Park a few times a season, never been to the new place, just don't fancy it. I suppose the average attendance tells you it must be decent enough though.

27-07-2024, 11:07 AM
Maybe it's not for everyone but I would go back to those days in a minute. It felt real, not the sanitised version of football we have now. Sure it was messy/dirty..a bit rough but I loved it. People will say it is more family friendly etc now, but plenty kids went to the games back then, normally on their own with their mates, and it felt perfectly safe (apart from Hun games). Give me the 70s over there 2020s any time.

Surely this is the football equivalent of saying music these days isn't as good as it used to be. :greengrin
The stadiums in the 70's were crumbling wrecks. You may remember perfectly safe, I remember trips to places like Love Street where the half time entertainment consisted of both sets of fans lobbing the plentiful supply of rubble at each other. (Actually that could sometimes be more fun than the game. :greengrin) The toilets as previously mentioned were places of unspeakable horror . Even the approach to some of the grounds was like entering some war torn third world country. (Parkhead and treks along a disused railway line spring to mind but I might just have got lost on my walks from the station.) Like much of my youth I do look back on those days through green-tinted glasses but no way would I want to go back to them.

27-07-2024, 11:21 AM
I love the new modern builds. The Spurs stadium is fabulous, as is the previously mentioned Hard Rock in Miami.

Stadiums don't have "soul". It's the people inside who create the atmosphere and the memories.

Although I have great memories of being there, there is nothing about the old Easter Road that I'd want to recreate.

No cover , treacherously high terracing and crates of McEwans Export on the ground for sharing amongst friends. Ok, I'd happily recreate the last bit, but nothing else.

Remember that game at Central Park? 💦💧 💦

Nostalgia ain't what it used to be.

27-07-2024, 11:28 AM
Much prefer a comfortable seat with some leg room and a good view to a ***** hole with soul. Went to enough of them in the championship and cup ties.

27-07-2024, 11:37 AM
Segregation and perimeter fencing was for wimps-none of these fripperies when I were a lad. One of the good things about those days was there were no massed choirs belting out sectarian rubbish because they were spread through the crowd-did lead to the odd flashpoint of course but they were usually outnumbered.

Stairway 2 7
27-07-2024, 11:39 AM
Nostalgia is yearning after youth not minging stadiums. Used to be quite a homophobic, racist, sectarian experience and almost all men watching. Sectarianism still needs eradicated from two teams but other bigotry thankfully less normal. It's brilliant seeing the huge numbers of women that feel comfortable going on their own. Toilets and disabled facilities is also a well needed change. Our average attendance is about 50% more than most seasons since the 50s.

Dan Sarf
27-07-2024, 11:49 AM
There was a lot of anxiety among the Bees fans when Brentford moved from their ramshackle old ground with a pub on each corner to a brand new state-of-the-art stadium just up the road. But now it's become their new home, they love it.It's bigger - but not gigantic like Chelsea, etc., where the players can be so far away they're the size of matchsticks. And, like before, it's tucked in among the local streets (and the new blocks of flats that helped pay for it).So the match day experience is improved without any loss of atmosphere - bars in the ground, more knee room, a complete clampdown on racism, etc. Not surprisingly, there's a waiting list for Seasons Tickets.Not such good news for the four pubs though...

KdyHby
27-07-2024, 11:53 AM
Have loved going to many of the EOSL grounds for the nostalgia, grounds such as Newburgh, Tayport, Thornton, Burntisland etc. Went to 18 such matches last season and would recommend it to anyone wanting to reminisce.

27-07-2024, 12:07 PM
Have loved going to many of the EOSL grounds for the nostalgia, grounds such as Newburgh, Tayport, Thornton, Burntisland etc. Went to 18 such matches last season and would recommend it to anyone wanting to reminisce.

:agree: Burntisland Shipyard is a classic place for an evening kickoff. Saw them play a ‘friendly’ against the Pars, great wee club.

27-07-2024, 12:34 PM
Have loved going to many of the EOSL grounds for the nostalgia, grounds such as Newburgh, Tayport, Thornton, Burntisland etc. Went to 18 such matches last season and would recommend it to anyone wanting to reminisce.Hopefully you pitched up at D Enfield Park for a K&D game as well.

KdyHby
27-07-2024, 02:56 PM
Hopefully you pitched up at D Enfield Park for a K&D game as well.

Oh yes, the nearest to my home 🍻

27-07-2024, 02:59 PM
The east stand 'toilets' always sticks with me. Basically a wall that everyone would piss against.

Good times

superbam
27-07-2024, 03:00 PM
For anyone missing those days, come over to Ireland and take in some friday night summer football. For the most part, nae seats

28-07-2024, 02:36 PM
The east stand 'toilets' always sticks with me. Basically a wall that everyone would piss against.Good timesOn the old terrace you just went up to the top and had a pee depending on what way the wind was blowing, a 70,000 capacity ground wi 4 or 5 thousand in, great days.

28-07-2024, 08:46 PM
Who could forget Hampden, railway sleepers and ash/mud terracing,toilets miles away from where you were standing. The slippery terracing underneath the covered bit of Tynecastle and the toilet at the top of the Gorgie Road end.

Bridge hibs
28-07-2024, 08:52 PM
On the old terrace you just went up to the top and had a pee depending on what way the wind was blowing, a 70,000 capacity ground wi 4 or 5 thousand in, great days.

So it was you who kept pissing on my leg ? 🫨

29-07-2024, 08:08 AM
So it was you who kept pissing on my leg ? 🫨

Don't!

A thirteen-year old RIP in the West Enclosure and a drunken red-faced Hun with an orange scarf trying and failing to pee into the open ring pull of an Export can.

When I objected to the back of my jeans getting pished over, our middle-aged hero promptly punched me square in the gub!

46 years later, thanks to Stokesy, Hendo and Gray, I was able to exact retribution with my 59-year old self dancing in front of them wi my tap aff 😅

SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 10:49 AM
I always thought we made a mistake demolishing the old East stand, I personally thought it should have been upgraded rather than ripped down. Even ripping it down and building something like for like would have been better IMO.

WestStandWillie
29-07-2024, 11:00 AM
The trips to Cappielow, Palmerston and Somerset Park a few years back were great. Proper old skool terracing.

29-07-2024, 11:03 AM
Tam Cowan has posted on social media that Motherwell have announced that this season no u14’s will be allowed in Fir Park unless accompanied by an adult.

He informed that had such a rule been in place when he was a kid he probably wouldn’t have been a ST now for almost 40 years, and has pleaded for them to reconsider.

How many on here would have went on their own as young kids with friends to stand together on terracings rather than designated seats?

Up-the-slope
30-07-2024, 01:53 PM
It seems there are a good number who recognise that there have been a lot of welcome improvements over the years while at the same time probably a loss of the spontaneity of just going to a match home or away at short notice. Personally I almost gave up trying to get the online system to spit out a ticket last Saturday 2 hours before KO when I just decided I would / could do. I wonder how many others in same situation - particularly visitors (I know this subject often comes up) While I accept that Cat A games need different approach - surely we can have ' pay at the gate ' for games such as this that would allow folk to go on a whim / visitors not to be so put of by the faff? - on way I 'tapped' card for fuel...then for shopping on way home. Surely a contactless couple of gates is not unachievable for 2024?I will also be interested to see how if safe standing works to allow mates to stand together.

30-07-2024, 02:55 PM
I always thought we made a mistake demolishing the old East stand, I personally thought it should have been upgraded rather than ripped down. Even ripping it down and building something like for like would have been better IMO.

You surely don’t mean building a stand half the size of the east with a dozen pillars do you?

30-07-2024, 03:21 PM
I always thought we made a mistake demolishing the old East stand, I personally thought it should have been upgraded rather than ripped down. Even ripping it down and building something like for like would have been better IMO.I think the current incarnation of our East stand is beautiful

30-07-2024, 11:34 PM
It seems there are a good number who recognise that there have been a lot of welcome improvements over the years while at the same time probably a loss of the spontaneity of just going to a match home or away at short notice. Personally I almost gave up trying to get the online system to spit out a ticket last Saturday 2 hours before KO when I just decided I would / could do. I wonder how many others in same situation - particularly visitors (I know this subject often comes up) While I accept that Cat A games need different approach - surely we can have ' pay at the gate ' for games such as this that would allow folk to go on a whim / visitors not to be so put of by the faff? - on way I 'tapped' card for fuel...then for shopping on way home. Surely a contactless couple of gates is not unachievable for 2024?I will also be interested to see how if safe standing works to allow mates to stand together.I get the frustration but it's more than tapping a card to enter. You need to choose a seat. How do you weed out away fans? You may be in the database so you are now signing in at the terminal. Pay at the gate requires a turnstyle that has a human, and those are now automatic with no space for that person to operate.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk