View Full Version : Moments in time watching Hibs

timewilltell
23-07-2024, 08:08 PM
I thought I'd start with a positive thread.

My very first Hibs game at Easter Rd was against Berwick Rangers in the Scottish Cup. Berwick had knocked out Glasgow Rangers in the previous round which was a sensation result. Hibs won 1-0 and the attendance was 31,000!

My other greats were my first ever European game, we beat Napoli 5-1!

Other real highlights were:

1972 beating Celtic 2-1 to lift the league cup

An amazing day at Tyncastle beating Hearts 7-0.

Beating Sporting Lisbon in Europe 6-1 at Easter Rd under the lights.

Losing a penalty shootout to Leeds Utd after Billy Bremner scored the winner in front of 49,000.

Beating Liverpool 1-0 in Europe.

Beating Dunfermline 2-1 to lift the Skol Cup.

And of course the 3-2 Scottish Cup victory over Rangers.

There are loads more but I remember these fondly, and consider myself luck to have been there.

Oh, and beating Rangers 2-1 in Graham Souness's first game for Rangers was rather enjoyable!

23-07-2024, 08:16 PM

My very first Hibs game at Easter Rd was against Berwick Rangers in the Scottish Cup. Berwick had knocked out Glasgow Rangers in the previous round which was a sensation result. Hibs won 1-0 and the attendance was 31,00!

Losing a penalty shootout to Leeds Utd after Billy Bremner scored the winner in front of 49,000.

There are loads more but I remember these fondly, and consider myself luck to have been there.

Oh, and beating Rangers 2-1 in Graham Souness's first game for Rangers was rather enjoyable!

Bar the 1st two was at every game you mention. I also remember a real good Hibs side going ahead against the mighty Juventus at a packed ER and laughing when the brought on an elderly balding guy called Altafini. I include this game because we witnessed a masterclass in finishing that night even if it wasn't the result we wanted.

timewilltell
23-07-2024, 08:17 PM
Bar the 1st two was at every game you mention. I also remember a real good Hibs side going ahead against the mighty Juventus at a packed ER and laughing when the brought on an elderly balding guy called Altafini. I include this came because we witnessed a masterclass in finishing that night even if it wasn't the result we wanted.

I was at that game as well, they were class!

23-07-2024, 08:26 PM
I was at that game as well, they were class!Funnily enough I thought we were treated to a great performance from both sides when we beat Hadjuk Split 4-2 at home on the 1st leg of the cup winners cup, me and my mate still remember thinking they were a good side and that the tie wasn't over, sadly the second leg proved that was true!

Just_Jimmy
23-07-2024, 08:29 PM
Obvious ones

6-2
AEK
Rangers 0 Hibernian 3 Scottish Cup
2-1 at Tynecastle Garry O and Sheils
Millennium Derby
Promotion at Firhill
The Scottish Cup run (final is THEE hibs game)
The 2007 league Cup
Beating Rangers the week before 6-2
Beating Rangers under Mowbray
Beating Rangers under Stubbs

There will be loads I've forgotten to list.

One not so obvious was a game midweek at Tannadice. Unremarkable other than Arpinnon scored my favourite Hibs goal (disclaimer - not latapy in 6-2 or Cup final /Derby goal). A volly from the corner of the 18 yard box. Total pearler.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

timewilltell
23-07-2024, 08:37 PM
Obvious ones

6-2
AEK
Rangers 0 Hibernian 3 Scottish Cup
2-1 at Tynecastle Garry O and Sheils
Millennium Derby
Promotion at Firhill
The Scottish Cup run (final is THEE hibs game)
The 2007 league Cup
Beating Rangers the week before 6-2
Beating Rangers under Mowbray
Beating Rangers under Stubbs

There will be loads I've forgotten to list.

One not so obvious was a game midweek at Tannadice. Unremarkable other than Arpinnon scored my favourite Hibs goal (disclaimer - not latapy in 6-2 or Cup final /Derby goal). A volly from the corner of the 18 yard box. Total pearler.

Great times watching Hibs.

Logie Green
23-07-2024, 08:43 PM
Special mention for a 1-2 home defeat to Dundee United on the final day of the 1985-86 season. 💪

timewilltell
23-07-2024, 08:44 PM
Special mention for a 1-2 home defeat to Dundee United on the final day of the 1985-86 season. 💪

That was grim. I think I was still in the stadium 40 mins after the final whistle just staring at the turf!

DIXIHIBS
23-07-2024, 08:45 PM

My very first Hibs game at Easter Rd was against Berwick Rangers in the Scottish Cup. Berwick had knocked out Glasgow Rangers in the previous round which was a sensation result. Hibs won 1-0 and the attendance was 31,000!

Was at most of these games from sporting Lisbon onwards but no way was 49k at the Leeds game. Beating the Huns to reach skol cup final was a great night.

Logie Green
23-07-2024, 08:48 PM
That was grim. I think I was still in the stadium 40 mins after the final whistle just staring at the turf!

Are you getting mixed up with the day they beat us to confirm our relegation?

If you were at the one I’m talking about you were probably cartwheeling along Albion Road pissing yourself laughing like everyone else.

Why was it grim? I was celebrating all night

timewilltell
Was at most of these games from sporting Lisbon onwards but no way was 49k at the Leeds game. Beating the Huns to reach skol cup final was a great night.
You're right, I exaggerated, I was thinking of a Hibs v Rangers Scottish Cup reply where there was 49,000. The actual attendance v Leeds was 40,053.

timewilltell
23-07-2024, 08:50 PM
Are you getting mixed up with the day they beat us to confirm our relegation?

If you were at the one I’m talking about you were probably cartwheeling along Albion Road pissing yourself laughing like everyone else.
I was thinking of the day we were relegated.

Contador
23-07-2024, 08:52 PM
Good old days. Me and my mates have only been around for 2016. Been pretty pretty grim otherwise

timewilltell
23-07-2024, 08:55 PM
Good old days. Me and my mates have only been around for 2016. Been pretty pretty grim otherwise

You'll have your own memories I'm sure.

Hibees1973
23-07-2024, 09:14 PM
Euro game against an iconic Leeds Utd team in 1973.Also beating Rangers in the game Souness was sent off. Was bedlam in the east terracing that game.

Trinity Hibee
23-07-2024, 09:26 PM
AEK night was incredible

23-07-2024, 09:50 PM
Good old days. Me and my mates have only been around for 2016. Been pretty pretty grim otherwiseI was at most of the games mentioned by OP but really enjoyed matches when Lennon was our manager in early 2018 . I was mainly watching on Hibs TV but always looked forward to matches just as I had as a teenager in 1970s .

23-07-2024, 09:54 PM
League Cup win in 1991.

Was at all but the Ayr game in our run, got to Hampden early enough to beat the lock out, we won our first trophy since 1972 and I saw the cup parade at the top of the Walk on my way to a great gig.

And all on my birthday.

23-07-2024, 10:08 PM
Always envy of the 70's attendees, league cup 2007 after a few Hampden heartbreak semis and finals was always amazing.

Last home game of the div 1 98/99, I'm sure there was a pitch invasion which as a pre teen was great.

2-2 away at hearts in 98 was the only away game me and my dad attended at the pink bus shelter.

CL0762
23-07-2024, 10:12 PM
First ST was in 1998 as a 7 year old, I vaguely remember being at the Dundee United game when we went down.

3-0 millennium derby was one of my early favourites with the “oh it’s all gone quiet over there” singing.

24-07-2024, 03:17 AM

Did we not Beat Dunfermline 2-0 that day 😉

24-07-2024, 04:37 AM
One week after we won the Scottish League Cup myself and 12500 others witnessed a masterclass Hibernian 8 v 1 Ayr United

Ally MacLeod legendary Manager and former Hibee had a plan to thwart the Hibernian attacking spear but it lasted all of one minute when Alex Cropley opened the scoring when he finished off a superb attacking move

Further goals from Alan Gordon 3 Jimmy O’Rourke 3 and Pat Stanton followed and the Scottish League Cup and Drybrough Cup were displayed on a lawn mower at half time

Simpler times but a fantastic disciplined display of fast attacking football streets ahead of its time you left the ground that day feeling that there was plenty of gas in the tank and that someone else would cop another hiding

Will we ever see their likes again ?

Albert Kidd 86’
24-07-2024, 04:47 AM
3-0 winners against Videoton in Hungry still gives me a smile, mostly for all the carrying on before and after. I have a memory of looking up at the scoreboard that read Videoton 0-visitors 3 that will stay with me forever.

24-07-2024, 04:53 AM
3-0 winners against Videoton in Hungry still gives me a smile, mostly for all the carrying on before and after. I have a memory of looking up at the scoreboard that read Videoton 0-visitors 3 that will stay with me forever.

Pretty sure Videoton had got to a UEFA Cup Final a season or two before might be wrong

Albert Kidd 86’
24-07-2024, 05:05 AM
That souness v McCluskey game would be hard to beat too, remember rangers (as they were then), coming out of the tunnel giving it large with butcher, woods, souness all strutting around like peacocks, then getting pumped by HFC! The atmosphere was electric the whole game, when Souness assaulted McCluskey, it was as near a full on riot as you could get, (remember no seats except the west then).

Fanforlife
24-07-2024, 05:24 AM

We beat Napoli 5-0 and Dunfermline 2-0 . Think first time we played Leeds in Europe in 68 was a bigger crowd than in 73. I was at all the games you mentioned and you made some great choices m8😁👍

24-07-2024, 05:39 AM
10/1/1968 Hibs 1 v 1 Leeds United Attendance 40500

Was my first game

As soon as I saw the green strips with long white sleeves running out in front of a packed Easter Road under the drench floodlighting I was hooked

24-07-2024, 05:54 AM
The game against Airdrie when the guy ran up the old terracing with the ball and threw it out of the ground…and then got lifted.

When Hibs beat Real Madrid 2-0

When Hibs beat Naples 5-0

1/1/73 etched on.

24-07-2024, 06:30 AM
Obvious ones 6-2AEKRangers 0 Hibernian 3 Scottish Cup2-1 at Tynecastle Garry O and SheilsMillennium DerbyPromotion at Firhill The Scottish Cup run (final is THEE hibs game)The 2007 league Cup Beating Rangers the week before 6-2Beating Rangers under MowbrayBeating Rangers under Stubbs There will be loads I've forgotten to list.One not so obvious was a game midweek at Tannadice. Unremarkable other than Arpinnon scored my favourite Hibs goal (disclaimer - not latapy in 6-2 or Cup final /Derby goal). A volly from the corner of the 18 yard box. Total pearler. Sent from my SM-G991B using TapatalkWhen did we beat Rangers 6-2?

timewilltell
24-07-2024, 06:43 AM
Did we not Beat Dunfermline 2-0 that day 😉

You're correct,it was 2-0. 👍

24-07-2024, 06:45 AM
I was thinking of the day we were relegated.

My first Hibs game

Newcastlehibby
24-07-2024, 07:18 AM
I thought I'd start with a positive thread.My very first Hibs game at Easter Rd was against Berwick Rangers in the Scottish Cup. Berwick had knocked out Glasgow Rangers in the previous round which was a sensation result. Hibs won 1-0 and the attendance was 31,000!My other greats were my first ever European game, we beat Napoli 5-1!Other real highlights were:1972 beating Celtic 2-1 to lift the league cup An amazing day at Tyncastle beating Hearts 7-0.Beating Sporting Lisbon in Europe 6-1 at Easter Rd under the lights.Losing a penalty shootout to Leeds Utd after Billy Bremner scored the winner in front of 49,000.Beating Liverpool 1-0 in Europe.Beating Dunfermline 2-1 to lift the Skol Cup.And of course the 3-2 Scottish Cup victory over Rangers.There are loads more but I remember these fondly, and consider myself luck to have been there.Oh, and beating Rangers 2-1 in Graham Souness's first game for Rangers was rather enjoyable!Napoli was 5-0, 6-4 on aggregate.

HibbyDave
24-07-2024, 07:25 AM
All of the above matches except beating Napoli 5-0.
Add in beating Killie 5-1 to win league cup

Septimus
24-07-2024, 08:01 AM
The game I remember best was a defeat. No idea what year but we were beating the great Celtic side 2-1 at Easter Road with about 20 minutes to go. Standing with Celtic supporters in the enclosure in front of the main stand and they were confident they would win. They beat us 4-2 and that last 20 minutes they displayed some of the best club football I have ever seen.

Just_Jimmy
24-07-2024, 08:07 AM
When did we beat Rangers 6-2?We beat rangers the week before the 6-2 game.

scm70nyd1973
24-07-2024, 08:27 AM

It was horrendous- I was so bored that near the end I had to turn my attention to games elsewhere - finally settled on a Tayside game as it so happens - it was quite entertaining if I recall correctly 🤭

24-07-2024, 08:51 AM
One week after we won the Scottish League Cup myself and 12500 others witnessed a masterclass Hibernian 8 v 1 Ayr United

Ally MacLeod legendary Manager and former Hibee had a plan to thwart the Hibernian attacking spear but it lasted all of one minute when Alex Cropley opened the scoring when he finished off a superb attacking move

Further goals from Alan Gordon 3 Jimmy O’Rourke 3 and Pat Stanton followed and the Scottish League Cup and Drybrough Cup were displayed on a lawn mower at half time

Simpler times but a fantastic disciplined display of fast attacking football streets ahead of its time you left the ground that day feeling that there was plenty of gas in the tank and that someone else would cop another hiding

Will we ever see their likes again ?

I was there that day as well Billy and Hibs were fantastic

Maybe it because of the age I was then and that football was my everything then but nothing else has ever come close to that team and the chances of anyone doing it recedes further annually

Great great days

24-07-2024, 09:57 AM
I was there that day as well Billy and Hibs were fantastic

Maybe it because of the age I was then and that football was my everything then but nothing else has ever come close to that team and the chances of anyone doing it recedes further annually

Great great daysWas there too, at the corner of the Hawkhill end, little did we know we were probably witnessing the best footballing Hibs team in our lifetime.

What fun we had. I genuinely turned up expecting to win whoever the opponents were and wasn't often disappointed.

24-07-2024, 10:01 AM
The game against Airdrie when the guy ran up the old terracing with the ball and threw it out of the ground…and then got lifted.When Hibs beat Real Madrid 2-0When Hibs beat Naples 5-01/1/73 etched on. that was my uncle who grabbed the ball, he was disgusted with hibs that day and had enough. 😂

HibbyDave
24-07-2024, 10:03 AM
The game I remember best was a defeat. No idea what year but we were beating the great Celtic side 2-1 at Easter Road with about 20 minutes to go. Standing with Celtic supporters in the enclosure in front of the main stand and they were confident they would win. They beat us 4-2 and that last 20 minutes they displayed some of the best club football I have ever seen.
Was it not 2-5?
Either that or my memory is snookered😂

Tom Hart RIP
24-07-2024, 11:40 AM
I was there at all except the Berwick game although I clearly remember finding out about them winning 1-0 against RangersSo many great memories.The Naples game 5-0 was unbelievable and I remember Alan McGraw telling me that on the following Saturday Hibs got beat by Morton and were booed off the park. That was 57 years ago but some things never change.Can I add the 3-0 Drybrough Cup semi final win over Rangers, (Massive riot) the 5-3 final win over Celtic.The Benny 6-3 friendly over Celtic, the Airdrie play off victory at Cumbernauld, the Stevie Archibald win at Tynecastle, the Ally McLeod twice taken free kick, Joe McBride's (senior) double against Celtic, young Joe's double at Tynie, Joe Bakers return. (Just off the top of my head)

24-07-2024, 12:32 PM
Another couple of memories Joe McBride SNR home debut versus Lokomotiv Leipzig scored a hat-trick made us forget all about Colin Stein Losing to SV Hamburg on away goals daylight robbery The Penalty King missed a penalty Defeating Liverpool 1-0 in the pouring rain John Brownlie missed a pen 0-0 Leeds United Billy Bremner put on a brilliant display Alan Gordon had a good goal chopped off for offside Johnny Graham home debut versus Airdrieonians scored a brace each goal met with a mini pitch invasion 5-1 versus Partick Thistle a young Arthur Duncan scored for them 2-1 versus Hearts after Rangers had defeated us 0-7 2-1 versus Hearts in our relegation season Hearts were going for the title but goals from Lavety and Harper 4-1 Dundee United away Boxing Day Teenage Kicks Deeks’ wonder strike versus Plooky Gordon and lastly a Scottish Cup win 2-1 at Tiny Arthur ploughing his way through the mud to outrun the Hearts defence and bury a low hard shot across Crooky and in the pokey

hibeerealist
24-07-2024, 12:43 PM
Was it not 2-5?Either that or my memory is snookered😂Yes 2-5 I was at that game we had some team but Celtic were just on another planet. Wee jinky etc

24-07-2024, 01:16 PM
My first game was back in the heady days of the famous 5 but dont remember much about them I was at all the games mentioned I think but 2 that really stood out for me was beating Barcelona at the riot at Easter Road which last time I was at the Nou Camp isnt mentioned in their Museum. The other one was at Tynecastle when Steve Archibald put on a stellar performance of a solo striker taking on a whole Hearts defence and scoring the winner after Gordon Rae was sent off. Obviously the 7 0 game , the Napoli game and 2016 all rate highly but these two also stand out for me. GGTTH

24-07-2024, 02:30 PM
Matty Jack against Dundee United.

24-07-2024, 02:57 PM
Yes 2-5 I was at that game we had some team but Celtic were just on another planet. Wee jinky etcSaw the Lisbon Lions at Tiny ‘68 the thing that impressed me was their fitness the pace they played the game ( Lennox ) their precision passing ( Murdoch and Auld ) their deadly finishing ( Wallace and Chalmers ) and their understanding as a team totally outstanding Oh and they stole our goalie and Manager

DIXIHIBS
24-07-2024, 03:37 PM
I was there at all except the Berwick game although I clearly remember finding out about them winning 1-0 against RangersSo many great memories.The Naples game 5-0 was unbelievable and I remember Alan McGraw telling me that on the following Saturday Hibs got beat by Morton and were booed off the park. That was 57 years ago but some things never change.Can I add the 3-0 Drybrough Cup semi final win over Rangers, (Massive riot) the 5-3 final win over Celtic.The Benny 6-3 friendly over Celtic, the Airdrie play off victory at Cumbernauld, the Stevie Archibald win at Tynecastle, the Ally McLeod twice taken free kick, Joe McBride's (senior) double against Celtic, young Joe's double at Tynie, Joe Bakers return. (Just off the top of my head)

Well remember the 3-0 win over the huns in the Drybrough cup. Probably the worst trouble I've seen at ER. It's was wild.

Fanforlife
24-07-2024, 03:50 PM
Was it not 2-5?
It was.

leith lynx
24-07-2024, 03:54 PM
10/1/1968 Hibs 1 v 1 Leeds United Attendance 40500

Was my first game

As soon as I saw the green strips with long white sleeves running out in front of a packed Easter Road under the drench floodlighting I was hooked

Funnily enough that was my first game as well, in those days the exit gates were opened around 20 minutes from the end, as young boys we ran in up the steep steps, got to the top and the first thing I remember seeing was big Jack Charlton heading the ball past Willie Wilson, robbing us of victory. Never forgotten seeing that huge crowd and mesmerised seeing the Hibs strips under the lights.

24-07-2024, 03:56 PM
I like a full time moment that makes recent pain worthwhile.

4-2 in the cup at Kilmarnock, back at Hampden after the year before.
4-3 Falkirk, reward for sticking it out past half time.
1-0 replay against Hearts despite being a league below them.
2-1 Hearts off the back of losing 7-0 at Ibrox.

They don't have much historical significance, but it's the little moments as well.

Fair bit of envy for those at Villa Park as well during the singsong, if that counts.

24-07-2024, 04:07 PM
If we're talking about fleeting moments as well, I'm not sure I've ever been in an atmosphere like it when we went 3-0 up in the 5-5 Rangers game.

Genuinely incredible and surreal feeling. Probably only matched by three goals I've seen at Easter Road - Harper v Hearts in 1998, Luna's equaliser against AEK and O'Connor's goal in the unbeatable game.

leith lynx
24-07-2024, 04:48 PM
If we're talking about fleeting moments as well, I'm not sure I've ever been in an atmosphere like it when we went 3-0 up in the 5-5 Rangers game.

Genuinely incredible and surreal feeling. Probably only matched by three goals I've seen at Easter Road - Harper v Hearts in 1998, Luna's equaliser against AEK and O'Connor's goal in the unbeatable game.

Boozy's goal in the unbeatable game was rather special as well.

24-07-2024, 04:51 PM
Boozy's goal in the unbeatable game was rather special as well.

Aye, just felt coming so soon after that the second blew the roof off. Was like white noise.

24-07-2024, 05:51 PM
Ralph Callachan’s solo goal versus Dundee King Dom’s solo goal versus Aberdeen King Paddy’s headed equaliser at Tiny after the pubs had opened SDG’s magnificent strike versus The Rangers in the 4-0 winMartin Boyle’s hat-trick versus The Rangers at Hampden

Tom Hart RIP
24-07-2024, 06:54 PM
Ralph Callachan’s solo goal versus Dundee King Dom’s solo goal versus Aberdeen King Paddy’s headed equaliser at Tiny after the pubs had opened SDG’s magnificent strike versus The Rangers in the 4-0 winMartin Boyle’s hat-trick versus The Rangers at HampdenPaddy's equaliser. How could I have missed that. One of my favourite ever goals.

24-07-2024, 07:00 PM
Paddy's equaliser. How could I have missed that. One of my favourite ever goals.Ach ! Missed oot Keith Wright’s headed winner against The Hun from Wee Mickey’s perfect cross at Hampden

Septimus
25-07-2024, 11:06 AM
Was it not 2-5?

Selective memory here Dave. The pain must have blanked one goal. That Celtic team was a joy to watch

25-07-2024, 12:00 PM
Question - who scored four goals v Hibs, then went on to play for us, turning into one of our best ever buys. That was some game as well.He also ended up one of my fav Hibs players.

darwenhibby
25-07-2024, 01:29 PM
Question - who scored four goals v Hibs, then went on to play for us, turning into one of our best ever buys. That was some game as well.He also ended up one of my fav Hibs players.

Did Keith score 4 v us in that 0-4 drubbing before he signed a couple years later??

25-07-2024, 01:44 PM
Did Keith score 4 v us in that 0-4 drubbing before he signed a couple years later??He may have but this player was before then, it was at Easter Road we got beat 3-5

25-07-2024, 01:45 PM
Did Keith score 4 v us in that 0-4 drubbing before he signed a couple years later??

Tommy Coyne got 2 and Keith got 1, it was a tremendous display from them both.

25-07-2024, 07:09 PM
He may have but this player was before then, it was at Easter Road we got beat 3-5

Joe McBride Snr for Celtic

Had 5 shots four goals the other hit the crossbar

Guy was quality

25-07-2024, 08:04 PM
Tommy Coyne got 2 and Keith got 1, it was a tremendous display from them both.Was back in The Artisan at 3.45 pm was 0-4 at 3.35