View Full Version : Things that have changed in football
23-07-2024, 04:36 PM
For a bit light relief to the heavy topics of the last few days what are some things you have noticed that have changed in football or what changes have you wondered when they happened?
A couple spring to mind for me:
When did the saltire replace the lion rampant as the flag of choice for Scotland fans? If you look at those famous Wembley victories of yesteryear the Scotland fans are a sea of yellow and red. Even at Euro 96 the lion rampant is the dominant flag. Somewhere down the line the saltire seems to have usurped it. When and why? Or was it just a gradual thing.
When did watching football, particularly big games where it was the focal point of the visit, in the pub become a real thing. It must be more recent than many younger people would believe. Wall to wall football on TV is still relatively new and TVs in days gone by wouldn't have been big enough surely. Was it with the advent of Sky's EPL coverage in the early to mid 90s?
Finally when did teams stop running out separately before a game. Walking out together was always a thing in cup finals or international tournaments (or as long as I can remember anyway). Doing it in run of the mill league games is pretty recent, certainly in Scotland, I'm thinking mid to late 00s.
Trinity Hibee
23-07-2024, 04:39 PM
Interesting questions. Maybe saltire took hold in late 90s due to the surge towards independence politically? Just a theory.
You make a good point about Skys early 90s coverage. Seems a good chance that’s when it really took off regularly in pubs
When did the long sleeved football shirt go out of favour?
23-07-2024, 04:42 PM
Regularly watched games in the pub long before Sky came along although they put them on a lot more often.
23-07-2024, 04:43 PM
When players learnt the value of the gym and also didn’t want to give an opponent something to grab onto.
23-07-2024, 04:48 PM
For a bit light relief to the heavy topics of the last few days what are some things you have noticed that have changed in football or what changes have you wondered when they happened?
When did the saltire replace the lion rampant as the flag of choice for Scotland fans? If you look at those famous Wembley victories of yesteryear the Scotland fans are a sea of yellow and red. Even at Euro 96 the lion rampant is the dominant flag. Somewhere down the line the saltire seems to have usurped it. When and why? Or was it just a gradual thing.
When did watching football, particularly big games where it was the focal point of the visit, in the pub become a real thing. It must be more recent than many younger people would believe. Wall to wall football on TV is still relatively new and TVs in days gone by wouldn't have been big enough surely. Was it with the advent of Sky's EPL coverage in the early to mid 90s?
Finally when did teams stop running out separately before a game. Walking out together was always a thing in cup finals or international tournaments (or as long as I can remember anyway). Doing it in run of the mill league games is pretty recent, certainly in Scotland, I'm thinking mid to late 00s.
On the flag one. The Saltire has become more associated with independence while the Royal Standard has been set aside as fans become less favourable towards the Royal family.
Paulie Walnuts
23-07-2024, 04:52 PM
Think it was around 05/06. That’s when players started wearing the Under Armour and Nike tight tops with the high necks.
First time players were wearing them for us was that season I’m sure with Riordan often seen wearing one.
Think it was around 05/06. That’s when players started wearing the Under Armour and Nike tight tops with the high necks.
First time players were wearing them for us was that season I’m sure with Riordan often seen wearing one.
👍
Outfield players wearing gloves, who started that one?
23-07-2024, 05:07 PM
When did they stop having a band playing at Hampden cup finals at half time.
When did proper warm ups start before games and not just guys in 2's banging a ball about.
When did 'macaroon, chewing-gum and chews stop being a thing.
👍
Not sure when it started but remember this guy wearing them in his short spell with us
https://www.royalgazette.com/soccer/sport/article/20210522/ricky-hills-winter-in-edinburgh-memorialised-in-book-about-hibernian/
23-07-2024, 05:27 PM
When did they decide that match commentaries should be two guys nattering away as if they were in a chip shop queue.
23-07-2024, 05:41 PM
When did they stop having a band playing at Hampden cup finals at half time.When did proper warm ups start before games and not just guys in 2's banging a ball about.When did 'macaroon, chewing-gum and chews stop being a thing.Didn't they always used to have a piper before Scottish Cup Finals too?
j'adorehibs
23-07-2024, 05:48 PM
Not sure when it started but remember this guy wearing them in his short spell with us https://www.royalgazette.com/soccer/sport/article/20210522/ricky-hills-winter-in-edinburgh-memorialised-in-book-about-hibernian/ i think tights were first worn by an Argentinian plying his trade for Dundee Utd in the 80's...i need to go and google this
23-07-2024, 05:50 PM
Do they still sing Abide With Me before the FA Cup final? Was there ever a Scottish Cup equivalent?
23-07-2024, 05:55 PM
👍
Le God wore a pair on his debut for us at old Brockville.
23-07-2024, 05:56 PM
i think tights were first worn by an Argentinian plying his trade for Dundee Utd in the 80's...i need to go and google this
I remember Keith Weller wearing tights for Leicester V Norwich (I think) in the FA cup in 1978/9. The weather was brutal. He got a right slagging but it worked!
23-07-2024, 05:56 PM
When did the subs start warming up in the pitch at HT?
I can’t recall anyone ever being on the pitch at HT when I started going and if a player did appear for a warm up you knew a HT sub was imminent. The pitch at HT now resembles a sight akin to Glastonbury as it’s packed with players, groundsmen, kids playing 5 asides, stadium announcer, 10 second challenges and what have you. It looks pretty sparse when the second half resumes with just the 22 players and referee.
scm70nyd1973
23-07-2024, 05:59 PM
Black fitba boots becoming white then a free for all on colours 🫢
23-07-2024, 06:02 PM
Post-match thanking the fans becoming an orchestrated showy nonsense.
Covering mouths while speaking.
The cameras in the West Stand and not the East, sob.
The fine art of strikers springing the offside by keeping bang in line with the last defender is an art of the game which has become a distant memory.
When did they decide that match commentaries should be two guys nattering away as if they were in a chip shop queue.
One for the pet peeves thread. Almost every Championship game covered by BBC Scotland was like this last season, Liam Macleod, Al Lamont and Mikey Stewart all being culpable.
23-07-2024, 06:12 PM
When did Referees and Linesmen (as they were called then) stop wearing black and switch to wearing coloured outfits?
When did they stop selling Bovril at matches?
When did diving become an acceptable, common practice? When I started attending games... a long time ago... it was very rare and players that did it were widely criticised.
23-07-2024, 06:17 PM
Players no just wearing their socks properly gets on my tits.
Cutting the feet off them and wearing normal socks under the remaining bit. That’s now progressed to just cutting numerous holes in the back of the socks as well. Tramps.
When did Referees and Linesmen (as they were called then) stop wearing black and switch to wearing coloured outfits?
When did they stop selling Bovril at matches?
When did diving become an acceptable, common practice? When I started attending games... a long time ago... it was very rare and players that did it were widely criticised.
In addition to the diving, the screaming when they do it, the rolling over and thumping the ground to kid on extreme pain but jump up a moment later, and the holding your face when you’ve been touched anywhere but
They should make simulation of all of these kind of things a var reviewable issue, with the free kick overturned if var sends the ref to the screen and they agree
23-07-2024, 06:32 PM
Le God wore a pair on his debut for us at old Brockville.
Should have been sent back that day.[emoji6][emoji23]
23-07-2024, 06:40 PM
Re-pubs for watching football, that still felt strange and an unusual thing to do in the late 90s as I recall. International tournaments was an exception, i remember France 98 was on most places. Only a few pubs did it, smaller screens, and there was the fug of cigarette smoke to peer through until 2005 as well of course.
j'adorehibs
23-07-2024, 06:43 PM
Players no just wearing their socks properly gets on my tits. Cutting the feet off them and wearing normal socks under the remaining bit. That’s now progressed to just cutting numerous holes in the back of the socks as well. Tramps. why dont the clubs just make the club socks no slip socks as thats whats underneath the club sock ?
Newry Hibs
23-07-2024, 06:51 PM
When did the subs start warming up in the pitch at HT?
I can’t recall anyone ever being on the pitch at HT when I started going and if a player did appear for a warm up you knew a HT sub was imminent. The pitch at HT now resembles a sight akin to Glastonbury as it’s packed with players, groundsmen, kids playing 5 asides, stadium announcer, 10 second challenges and what have you. It looks pretty sparse when the second half resumes with just the 22 players and referee.
Probably when you could name more than one or two subs. Would have been a bit odd just the one guy running around on his own.
23-07-2024, 07:04 PM
The ‘watching football in the pub’ is an interesting one. I remember walking past a pub in Tollcross and Swindon Town v Millwall in the Zenith Data Cup was being advertised to watch live on a blackboard outside. Looked it up online and it was December 1989. I was amazed at the time as not long before that you were lucky to get half a dozen live games a season. By the mid 90s big games were starting to be shown live and people were arranging to meet in the pub.
mcohibs
23-07-2024, 07:11 PM
Players no just wearing their socks properly gets on my tits.
Cutting the feet off them and wearing normal socks under the remaining bit. That’s now progressed to just cutting numerous holes in the back of the socks as well. Tramps.
A lot of players wear those grip socks and cut the feet off the socks. Holes in the back are to relieve tightness in the calves. Small margins can make the difference in how players feel when they’re playing. Does look daft though :greengrin Kit manufacturers need to make a change I think
23-07-2024, 07:12 PM
The ‘watching football in the pub’ is an interesting one. I remember walking past a pub in Tollcross and Swindon Town v Millwall in the Zenith Data Cup was being advertised to watch live on a blackboard outside. Looked it up online and it was December 1989. I was amazed at the time as not long before that you were lucky to get half a dozen live games a season. By the mid 90s big games were starting to be shown live and people were arranging to meet in the pub.
It's one that really interests me as different people seem to have different recollections.
When my dad dropped down to amateur level in his mid 30s I used to go to his games with him when Hibs were away and my grandad wasn't taking me. Many a Saturday evening post match as a boy I was sat in the corner of the pub they drank in post match (Leslie's on Ratcliffe Terrace, still a great pub). There was one box of a telly on a shelf and I can never remember an actual game being shown. It was the videprinter for results coming on then the classified results and that was your lot. Sure it was turned off after Grandstand finished.
I can never really remember my dad arranging to meet his mates in the pub to watch a game in the same way I did a decade or so later.
23-07-2024, 07:15 PM
A lot of players wear those grip socks and cut the feet off the socks. Holes in the back are to relieve tightness in the calves. Small margins can make the difference in how players feel when they’re playing. Does look daft though :greengrin Kit manufacturers need to make a change I think
I'm not believing the holes in the socks isn't just another fad.
Remember when smearing Vicks on your chest was a marginal gain? Who does that now? Did it just stop working? Or how about wearing nasal strips😅
In a couple of years no one will be cutting holes in their socks because a pro will be doing something else and everyone will copy that instead.
When did it become the norm for shirts to worn outside shorts and not tucked in.
23-07-2024, 07:19 PM
Post-match thanking the fans becoming an orchestrated showy nonsense.
Covering mouths while speaking.
The cameras in the West Stand and not the East, sob.
The West Stand being called the West rather than the Main Stand.
23-07-2024, 07:22 PM
It's one that really interests me as different people seem to have different recollections.
When my dad dropped down to amateur level in his mid 30s I used to go to his games with him when Hibs were away and my grandad wasn't taking me. Many a Saturday evening post match as a boy I was sat in the corner of the pub they drank in post match (Leslie's on Ratcliffe Terrace, still a great pub). There was one box of a telly on a shelf and I can never remember an actual game being shown. It was the videprinter for results coming on then the classified results and that was your lot. Sure it was turned off after Grandstand finished.
I can never really remember my dad arranging to meet his mates in the pub to watch a game in the same way I did a decade or so later.
Watched the 86 World Cup in our local. As you say, no big screens, just a bog standard old telly. But everyone was gathered round watching the games.
leith lynx
23-07-2024, 07:23 PM
Never see goalkeepers wearing caps anymore when blinded by the sun, also back in the day the majority of keepers never wore gloves, sure Peter Bonnetti was one of the first back in the seventies.
23-07-2024, 07:29 PM
Never see goalkeepers wearing caps anymore when blinded by the sun, also back in the day the majority of keepers never wore gloves, sure Peter Bonnetti was one of the first back in the seventies.
I'm sure Alan Rough was the last goalkeeper at a world cup not to wear gloves. Argentina 78.
killie-hibby
23-07-2024, 07:33 PM
Half time used to be 10 minutes.
Home games used to be every second Saturday.
leith lynx
23-07-2024, 07:41 PM
Midweek games used to kick off at 7.30pm, and when did the golden goal tickets stop?
Septimus
23-07-2024, 07:42 PM
My football career took place in the 1950s. The only time you spat then was when you did not want to swallow a dislodged tooth.
23-07-2024, 07:47 PM
When did Referees and Linesmen (as they were called then) stop wearing black and switch to wearing coloured outfits? When did they stop selling Bovril at matches? When did diving become an acceptable, common practice? When I started attending games... a long time ago... it was very rare and players that did it were widely criticised.There's no bovril at Easter Road?
23-07-2024, 07:49 PM
Interesting questions. Maybe saltire took hold in late 90s due to the surge towards independence politically? Just a theory.
You make a good point about Skys early 90s coverage. Seems a good chance that’s when it really took off regularly in pubs
My recollection it was very much the EPL sky coverage when it became a big thing in pubs
23-07-2024, 07:51 PM
Do they still sing Abide With Me before the FA Cup final? Was there ever a Scottish Cup equivalent?
Yes and No
leith lynx
Why or when did Hibs stop using green and white striped goal nets?
When I started going the first time you saw the players was when the teams ran out the tunnel. I can’t remember when the pre match warm ups on the pitch started but it was certainly post 70s.
leith lynx
23-07-2024, 07:56 PM
When I started going the first time you saw the players was when the teams ran out the tunnel. I can’t remember when the pre match warm ups on the pitch started but it was certainly post 70s.
Very true, also remember the groundsmen at half time repainting the goal lines with an old bucket of paint and brush!
23-07-2024, 07:59 PM
Budgie is often credited with being one of the first to warm up on the pitch. That must have been late 70s and he was very much an anomaly.
Whilst he is mad as a box of frogs I'm not convinced him seeing some dynamic movements as being better prep for a game than listening to the 2.45 from Chepstow then strolling out at 5 to 3 was that eccentric. He was ahead of his time really.
Logie Green
23-07-2024, 08:10 PM
When did playing (usually crap) music immediately after a goal become the norm?
Gets right on my nerves, let the crowd celebrate/groan instead of allowing a jumped-up twat to spoil the best part of the game.
23-07-2024, 08:28 PM
why dont the clubs just make the club socks no slip socks as thats whats underneath the club sock ?I’m surprised UEFA haven’t came in with a rule that grip socks should be the same colour as the actual sock. They were moaning years ago about the colour of tape players were using to keep the old style shin pads in place being white instead of the same colour as socks. Also when did players tucking their tops in stop
Just_Jimmy
23-07-2024, 08:37 PM
[/b]
The West Stand being called the West rather than the Main Stand.The auld west stand.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
MagicSwirlingShip
23-07-2024, 08:50 PM
I miss getting off the bus and getting a copy of the Pink. Home in time for Blind date and gladiators on the tele
23-07-2024, 09:11 PM
I’m surprised UEFA haven’t came in with a rule that grip socks should be the same colour as the actual sock. They were moaning years ago about the colour of tape players were using to keep the old style shin pads in place being white instead of the same colour as socks. Also when did players tucking their tops in stop
I'm sure Griffiths got booked in a pre-season game v Leuven due to that tape nonsense.
Just_Jimmy
23-07-2024, 09:15 PM
I miss getting off the bus and getting a copy of the Pink. Home in time for Blind date and gladiators on the teleGladiators was on the telly last season. Nay jet though. Sadly.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Yorkshire HFC
23-07-2024, 09:29 PM
[QUOTE=Pretty Boy;7714773]For a bit light relief to the heavy topics of the last few days what are some things you have noticed that have changed in football or what changes have you wondered when they happened?Every game used to finish at 4.40pm - now, if a game ever kicks off at 3 o'clock, it finishes at 4.50 - how did that happen?
He's here!
23-07-2024, 09:35 PM
Why or when did Hibs stop using green and white striped goal nets?
I don't think that was ever a long-term thing. Most Scottish goals used to have back stanchions tho. Those that didn't were usually fancy Continental ones. I remember Hampden and Ibrox both used to have square rather than circular posts.
He's here!
23-07-2024, 09:38 PM
Thankfully not until long after the Tornadoes. That strip would have been a shadow of its unrivalled brilliance with short sleeves.
He's here!
23-07-2024, 09:57 PM
On the flag one. The Saltire has become more associated with independence while the Royal Standard has been set aside as fans become less favourable towards the Royal family.
That's not what happened. Until Euro 96 (when England and Scotland were drawn in the same group) England fans had mostly flown the Union Jack rather than the St George's Cross. The switch to the St George's Cross was to give them more of an identity as tournament hosts and had been actively encouraged by the FA and media. That prompted a noticeable switch in subsequent years by Scotland fans away from the Lion Rampant. Nothing really to do with independence despite the SNP trying to appropriate the Saltire. Shame, as the Lion Rampsnt is a cracking flag.
xyz23jc
23-07-2024, 10:05 PM
👍Outfield players wearing gloves, who started that one?Seem to remember Le God wearing them, If not, defo Benji or Zemmama!
24-07-2024, 01:37 AM
👍Outfield players wearing gloves, who started that one?Jerren Nixon thr £10m player for United was the first on I recall in Scotland.Their keeper Billy Thompson used to wear trackies every game… must brisk in Dundeh
24-07-2024, 01:52 AM
Funnily enough I was thinking about the teams coming out individually just the other day
Used to be a good indicator of the relative sizes of support for each team depending on the boos or cheers…and set the atmosphere from literally before kick off.
And for some in what was the North Enclosure, allowed them more chance to hit their preferred target with the remnants of their mince pie.
24-07-2024, 01:58 AM
👍
Remember European nights in the 60’s where it was not unusual to see a couple of visiting players from ‘continental’ teams wearing them
24-07-2024, 02:00 AM
Can also remember when it was almost unheard of for goalies to wear gloves.
24-07-2024, 04:50 AM
Diving play acting time wasting going down as if shot by a sniper clutching their head to get the game stopped when hardly been touched game management non football conning the referee does ma heid in
Back in ma day you only went down if you were injured diving would never enter your heid that was for the continentals
24-07-2024, 05:05 AM
When you were driving to an away game midweek before the days of sat-nav and seeing the floodlights in the far distance and using the lights of the stadium to guide you to the ground.
24-07-2024, 05:14 AM
When you were driving to an away game midweek before the days of sat-nav and seeing the floodlights in the far distance and using the lights of the stadium to guide you to the ground.
Been on many a Supporters Bus back in the day the driver got lost and there was always some smarty that knew the way …..not !
As soon as you saw the floodlights pile oot the bus and run worry about finding the bus later
Albert Kidd 86’
24-07-2024, 05:19 AM
One of my memories of supporters buses is the whole back seat mooning cars as the bus overtook them on the motorway!
Albert Kidd 86’
24-07-2024, 05:25 AM
The biggest thing that has changed for me, and has totally changed the entire experience of going to the game are fully seated stadiums. The match used to involve wandering around in the East pint in hand, meeting up with folks each week and having a blether, great socialising event, that has been lost now. I suppose this forum is the modern day equivalent! (But without the CS gas!…)
24-07-2024, 05:30 AM
The biggest thing that has changed for me, and has totally changed the entire experience of going to the game are fully seated stadiums. The match used to involve wandering around in the East pint in hand, meeting up with folks each week and having a blether, great socialising event, that has been lost now. I suppose this forum is the modern day equivalent! (But without the CS gas!…)
Wandering around the East pint in hand ?
24-07-2024, 07:59 AM
Wandering around the East pint in hand ?
I was wondering about that too 🤔
24-07-2024, 08:40 AM
Standing on the Kop as a youngster saw many a person who had taken unwell being passed down to the front over the heads of everyone and the Kop chanting we need an ambulance.
24-07-2024, 09:35 AM
Every game used to finish at 4.40pm - now, if a game ever kicks off at 3 o'clock, it finishes at 4.50 - how did that happen?Someone above said half time used to be 10 minutes. Extra five minutes for half time plus some stoppage time gets you to 4:50.
Paulie Walnuts
24-07-2024, 09:38 AM
Seem to remember Le God wearing them, If not, defo Benji or Zemmama!
I’m sure Sauzee wore leather ones.
leith lynx
24-07-2024, 11:05 AM
I’m sure Sauzee wore leather ones.
Was that not the infamous Pa Kujabi?...sure he wore them in THAT Scottish Cup Final,...need a wee lie down now... .
Trinity Hibee
24-07-2024, 11:07 AM
Was that not the infamous Pa Kujabi?...sure he wore them in THAT Scottish Cup Final,...need a wee lie down now... .
Sauzee had leather gloves on in the millennium derby looking at photos
Jerren Nixon thr £10m player for United was the first on I recall in Scotland.Their keeper Billy Thompson used to wear trackies every game… must brisk in Dundeh
When I read the original post about this, I immediately thought of an only an excuse sketch from the early-mid 90s of Jim McLean ranting about him wearing gloves
Caversham Green
24-07-2024, 02:09 PM
On the TV one, I watched the 1982 Scotland V Brazil game in The Unicorn pub in Dundee. They had a big screen and projector setup that worked well enough.
I was with a bunch of United fans so the place went absolutely wild when Dave Narey scored a raker followed by much hilarity when Jimmy Hill described it as a toe poke during the replay.
24-07-2024, 02:13 PM
Funnily enough I was thinking about the teams coming out individually just the other day
Used to be a good indicator of the relative sizes of support for each team depending on the boos or cheers…and set the atmosphere from literally before kick off.
And for some in what was the North Enclosure, allowed them more chance to hit their preferred target with the remnants of their mince pie.
One ground this does still happen is Rugby Park. The entrance to their tunnel is about as wide as my front door.
He's here!
24-07-2024, 02:15 PM
It's more than 40 years since fans were allowed to take alcohol into the ground. It came to an end after the rioting at the Old Firm Scottish Cup final of 1980. Folk would literally take carry-outs on to the terracing. There would be cans and bottles all over the place afterwards, although I can't say I recall seeing anyone drinking out of a pint glass.
24-07-2024, 02:24 PM
Wandering around the East pint in hand ?I remember a Celtic fan coning up the hill at the Dunbar end carrying a crate of export which he passed around his chums and then stood on the empty crate to see.
He's here!
24-07-2024, 03:12 PM
I remember a Celtic fan coning up the hill at the Dunbar end carrying a crate of export which he passed around his chums and then stood on the empty crate to see.Different world. I remember my grandad would take a hip flask to games and have a wee nip now and again as he sat in the main stand. Very common custom and more genteel than the crates of cans and vodka bottles on the terracing. I was too young to drink back then and to be honest when I WAS old enough and was having a good number of pints before and after games I was quite glad of the respite during the game (although the football could often sour the buzz we'd built up in the pub beforehand!). Now that I think about it I do remember a mate of mind smuggling a wee hip flask of whisky into the away leg of the relegation play-off against Airdrie way back when. It certainly helped to steady the nerves, especially as we went 1-0 down very quickly!
25-07-2024, 04:46 AM
When did it become the norm for shirts to worn outside shorts and not tucked in.
I thought of this one.
I was at Easter Road in the 60’s when the ref stopped play and ordered Peter Marinello to tuck his shirt into his shorts.
25-07-2024, 04:53 AM
It's more than 40 years since fans were allowed to take alcohol into the ground. It came to an end after the rioting at the Old Firm Scottish Cup final of 1980. Folk would literally take carry-outs on to the terracing. There would be cans and bottles all over the place afterwards, although I can't say I recall seeing anyone drinking out of a pint glass.
I think Hibs banned alcohol from the terracing circa 1971/1972 due to some trouble in the cow shed, but beer was permitted in the enclosure and stands.
A large number of Carlton branch members took up their new vantage point in the North Enclosure immediately.