20-07-2024, 03:52 PM
McKirdy - can't do the basics needs to go

Amos - devoid of intensity needs to go

Levitt - anonymous please go

Rocky - not the standard, needs to go

20-07-2024, 03:53 PM
McKirdy offered the biggest attacking threat. Doesnt mean he’s the standard required but at least he showed something today.

20-07-2024, 03:54 PM
Gray got it wrong - win the group, play the strongest 11, try out others v Peterhead

It just shows what we all knew, we need a striker.
The ones we have just aren't good enough.

It just shows what we all knew, we need a striker.

We need two or three. There isn’t a natural goal scorer in this team.

20-07-2024, 03:56 PM
McKirdy offered the biggest attacking threat. Doesnt mean he’s the standard required but at least he showed something today.He has done thst before though We need strikers that can score Still time as he is being gradually introduced back into the first team

20-07-2024, 03:57 PM
Amos, Miller, Megwa, Boyle and Vente the worst today for me.

I'm trying to think that at least we won't be so naive to think that this team are good enough for the season and just have to bring in about another 5 players...

scuttle
20-07-2024, 03:58 PM
He better not play a full strength team against Watford in a meaningless game. Should have been same team today win the group and then play about in last fixture. How many times is a Hibs manager going to do this. Totally unacceptable

20-07-2024, 03:59 PM
What about the fan favourites who were also crap?

One result doesn’t define a season

But too many of the squad have history here

still a lot of dead wood to clear

Rocky
Levitt
Jair
Mckirdy
Doyle-Hayes

Get players in that can and will affect a game

Gray got it wrong - win the group, play the strongest 11, try out others v Peterhead

Correct.

20-07-2024, 04:01 PM
Gray got it wrong - win the group, play the strongest 11, try out others v PeterheadCorrect a rookie manager's mistakes, worrying.

Donegal Hibby
20-07-2024, 04:02 PM
Gray got it wrong , wasn't the game to go making changes in when we have a friendly against Watford and a easier game at home to Peterhead that there's more pressure on us to win now . Really disappointed ☹️

20-07-2024, 04:03 PM
Gray has to take a big kick up the arse for today’s performance and result.

20-07-2024, 04:03 PM
A) They will be laughing their ***** off doon Gorgie at this, and who could blame them. B) If this doesn't bring into harsh reality to the folk at Hibs how badly we need a striker with a bit of presence, then we have the wrong folk running this club.

20-07-2024, 04:04 PM
Gray has to take a big kick up the arse for today’s performance and result.

An eye opener hopefully that the team isn’t that good

Hibees1973
20-07-2024, 04:04 PM
Another club to add to the hall of shame in our history. Montrose, Arbroath, Stirling Albion, that lot from Andorra, etc........

20-07-2024, 04:05 PM

The biggest surprise to me is that he never done that

Thought he would have known better

Hibiza
20-07-2024, 04:06 PM

Rocky
Levitt
Jair
Mckirdy
Doyle-Hayes

10/10

20-07-2024, 04:07 PM

You forgot Vente. He's just not good enough.

20-07-2024, 04:08 PM
All so predictable that Gray is getting the blame for the starting 11. Campbell did come on and was poor. If Newell and Marv had started would we have created better chances or taken one or two of the ones we missed ? I’d like to see their goal again cos it looked like we switched off which is really disappointing, but the bigger issue for me was the lack of options up front. I wanted Vente to come good, but bar the chances he missed he was largely anonymous yet again.

20-07-2024, 04:09 PM
In terms of how we actually played, hitting woodwork 3 times, Vente missing a sitter etc. I struggle to blame Gray. He coached a victory, our players couldn't finish easy chances.

Coach Jon
Another club to add to the hall of shame in our history. Montrose, Arbroath, Stirling Albion, that lot from Andorra, etc........ That result today was possibly our worst ever, embarrassing.

hibee1875
McKirdy offered the biggest attacking threat. Doesnt mean he’s the standard required but at least he showed something today.

Wish he’d stop covering his hands with his sleeves. Looks like a wee boy

Davy Mac
20-07-2024, 04:10 PM
Are we really that surprised looking at the team line-up but i've kept my council so far but surely Gray can't be hanging his hat on this mob?

How many chances do they need to prove they are pish, cmon tae fxck, get rid of these people as fast we can.

20-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Majority of the players are the garbage that was here last season. Until they’re replaced we won’t get anywhere.

Let’s hope there is lots of players on the way in because this lot are a joke.

20-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Huge reality check

ChuckNor
20-07-2024, 04:12 PM
Today is on Dylan Vente. If you striker can’t put away chances like that then you have no hope.

20-07-2024, 04:12 PM
All so predictable that Gray is getting the blame for the starting 11. Campbell did come on and was poor. If Newell and Marv had started would we have created better chances or taken one or two of the ones we missed ? I’d like to see their goal again cos it looked like we switched off which is really disappointing, but the bigger issue for me was the lack of options up front. I wanted Vente to come good, but bar the chances he missed he was largely anonymous yet again.

Why wouldn’t it be predictable for a manager to take some of the blame for the starting XI he selected?

20-07-2024, 04:13 PM
Why wouldn’t it be predictable for a manager to take some of the blame for the starting XI he selected?It’s not why we lost, that’s my point.

20-07-2024, 04:14 PM

It’s so obvious that was the right thing to do. How can our managers continue to get it so wrong. That central midfield two?? Very worrying

20-07-2024, 04:14 PM

Rocky
Levitt
Jair
Mckirdy
Doyle-Hayes

The only positive today must be that Gray sees that these players aren't up to the job. The team that started against Elgin was full of positivity, pace and pressed well. No real surprise with Levitt, Rocky etc starting that we wouldn't replicate that today.

Hibees1973
20-07-2024, 04:15 PM
4 or 5 years of mismanagement isn't going to be solved in three months by a rookie manager, even if he is a club legend. Said it at the start, Gray has a massive job on his hands.

20-07-2024, 04:15 PM
It’s not why we lost, that’s my point.

You can’t be defending Gray for that team selection?

Coach Jon
20-07-2024, 04:16 PM
In terms of how we actually played, hitting woodwork 3 times, Vente missing a sitter etc. I struggle to blame Gray. He coached a victory, our players couldn't finish easy chances. Gray picked the weak team that started, loads of changes for no apparent reason. Worst result in our history.

20-07-2024, 04:16 PM
4 or 5 years of mismanagement isn't going to be solved in three months by a rookie manager, even if he is a club legend. Said it at the start, Gray has a massive job on his hands.

He needs to give himself the best possible chance by playing his best players

20-07-2024, 04:17 PM
I'm not sure we learned much from today.

We lack depth and don't have the quality to lose 3 or 4 from our strongest 11. That was the case this morning, it hopefully won't be the case by this time next week.

20-07-2024, 04:18 PM
Gray picked the weak team that started, loads of changes for no apparent reason. Worst result in our history.You obviously weren't at old Bay view when Hibs lost to East Fife, never seen so many Hibs scarves thrown onto the pitch at full time. Can't remember if it was LC or Scottish Cup, it hurt.

20-07-2024, 04:20 PM
Gray picked the weak team that started, loads of changes for no apparent reason. Worst result in our history.

The reason is to get everyone match fit.

Don't think it's even in our top 20 worst results mate.

20-07-2024, 04:21 PM
You can’t be defending Gray for that team selection?I’m saying it’s not why we lost. We lost cos of one bit of really slack defending and our inability to take the chances we created. As I posted earlier would that have changed if Newell or Marv started ?

20-07-2024, 04:22 PM

Wether you're fit or not is irrelevant.

If you're **** you're ****!

How frustrating was that to watch

It wasn’t a backup player who missed good chances that would have won us the game today, it was our first choice striker.

We don’t have the depth of eleven quality starting players and that’s criminal.

20-07-2024, 04:24 PM
Wether you're fit or not is irrelevant.

If you're **** you're ****!

I mean sure. Okay.

But you cannot go into the first league match with 11 match fit footballers.

20-07-2024, 04:25 PM
Terrible result no way of papering over this or saying it is anything other than a real bad result, up along with some of our worst in the past.Players and I use the term loosely should all be made to walk back to Easter Road.

Wether you're fit or not is irrelevant.If you're **** you're ****!Nailed it

Chorley Hibee
Quelle Surprise.

Just as I predicted a few weeks ago, whilst taking abuse by the bucket load for daring to suggest these clowns were more than capable of messing up in this League Cup group.

Fannying around with the jokers who've let this club down time and again, a rookie manager, and the free transfer market.

This squad is a joke, and it's nowhere near the standard required.

We'll be lower reaches of the league or worse.

Don't worry though, at least we've got the much vaunted investment to take us to the next level.

20-07-2024, 04:26 PM

Organise a bounce game or use the Watford friendly if you need to get reserve players fit.

20-07-2024, 04:26 PM
I’m saying it’s not why we lost. We lost cos of one bit of really slack defending and our inability to take the chances we created. As I posted earlier would that have changed if Newell or Marv started ?

Was it not the same for Johnson against Falkirk? Sometimes we need to realise we are not good enough to make so many changes.

Gray says he’s learned from previous managers. Today would suggest he hasn’t.

Do I think Newell would have played better than Amos or Levitt. Absolutely
Marv better than Rocky. Absolutely
Obita better than Megwa. Yip

One or two changes I get. Too many today for me.

sean04
20-07-2024, 04:27 PM
Were the laughing stock of scottish football again. Some of players are that poor that we will have to pay to get rid of them

Hibees1973
First red flag on Gray in charge at Hibs. 1 down at Kelty Hearts and he brings on Jair Tavares. Deeply concerning and the league season hasn't even started yet.

We started the game with only 1 outfield player who wasn’t here last year, some of whom who struggled to get game time in a team that finished bottom 6. Hopefully the wake up call needed during this transfer window. Should we be surprised that same squad of players have failed to deliver again🤷🏼

I mean sure. Okay.

You wouldn't really notice any difference from a fit or unfit Vente, Levitt, Amos or Rocky.

20-07-2024, 04:28 PM
Mckirdy, Levitt and Jair probably ended up being our best performers,.especially going forward

OHora was fine too- in fact I like what ive seen with him

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

20-07-2024, 04:28 PM
Quelle Surprise.Just as I predicted a few weeks ago, whilst taking abuse by the bucket load for daring to suggest these clowns were more than capable of messing up in this League Cup group.Fancying around with the jokers who've let this club down time and again, a rookie manager, and the free transfer market.This squad is a joke, and it's nowhere near the standard required.We'll be lower reaches of the league or worse.Don't worry though, at least we've got the much vaunted investment to take us to the next level.I'll apologise, I disagreed with your comments at that time, I now think you were right and I was wrong.

ChuckNor
20-07-2024, 04:30 PM
First red flag on Gray in charge at Hibs. 1 down at Kelty Hearts and he brings on Jair Tavares. Deeply concerning and the league season hasn't even started yet.

Jair created at least two good chances when he came on. He was not the issue.

hibeez1875
I’m saying it’s not why we lost. We lost cos of one bit of really slack defending and our inability to take the chances we created. As I posted earlier would that have changed if Newell or Marv started ?If SDG had played the team that had won the first two group games very comfortably, it would have exonerated him from most of the blame, regardless of the result against Kelty. The team he chose, on the other hand, will lead to finger pointing. And understandably so.

How exactly is it not his fault?

20-07-2024, 04:31 PM

Tavares done very well when he came on and created our best scoring opportunity of the game.

Mcbizz1998
I’m sorry but where the actual **** is the investment? How can we be a couple weeks out from the league campaign, fully into the league cup group and still be playing McKirdy, Tavarez and that absolute ****ing moron Bushiri!??It’s a complete farce.

Jair created at least two good chances when he came on. He was not the issue.

He will always be the issue for many.

20-07-2024, 04:32 PM
No positives here, the negatives already stated. Biggest stand out though is the rookie error from Gray in not fielding the strongest team and putting the section to bed.

supermcginn

He was miles better than Campbell who folk have suddenly turned into a world beater after two games against terrible lower league teams.

Was it not the same for Johnson against Falkirk? Sometimes we need to realise we are not good enough to make so many changes.Gray says he’s learned from previous managers. Today would suggest he wasn’t.Do I think Newell would have played better than Amos or Levitt. Absolutely Marv better than Rocky. Absolutely Obita better than Megwa. YipOne or two changes I get. Too many today for me.Again though it’s not why we lost. The only one I’d argue could have made a difference to the result, but I’d need to see their goal again, was Marv for Rocky. We have F all options to change it up front, that’s the biggest issue. Had our £700k striker, who I’m starting to accept isn’t the answer taken some of the chances we’d have won that. We need to get our finger out and sign some strikers.

20-07-2024, 04:33 PM
Mckirdy, Levitt and Jair probably ended up being our best performers,.especially going forward

OHora was fine too- in fact I like what ive seen with him

Yup, not sure why McKirdy and Levitt were singled out in the OP. Megwa, Campbell, Molotnikov, Vente and Miller performances were much more disappointing.

20-07-2024, 04:33 PM
First red flag on Gray in charge at Hibs. 1 down at Kelty Hearts and he brings on Jair Tavares. Deeply concerning and the league season hasn't even started yet.Jair probably should have had 2 assists in the 15 mins he was on

Easily was our most effective attacking player

Significantly better than Boyle and Rudi

20-07-2024, 04:34 PM
Yeh for me, this is Gray getting it wrong from the get go.

Put the game to bed, then have a wee tinker…

But as I said on the match thread it shows how much we rely on our 11-13 or 14 “First team”

I’m sorry but where the actual **** is the investment? How can we be a couple weeks out from the league campaign, fully into the league cup group and still be playing McKirdy, Tavarez and that absolute ****ing moron Bushiri!??It’s a complete farce.

I asked this earlier, but really, where is it?

Stinking result all round, no doubt SDG is feeling the same way.

A rookie manager needs to be backed properly and allowed to make errors however.

20-07-2024, 04:35 PM
Yeh for me, this is Gray getting it wrong from the get go.Put the game to bed, then have a wee tinker… But as I said on the match thread it shows how much we rely on our 11-13 or 14 “First team”Dont think we have a first team.

20-07-2024, 04:35 PM
Again though it’s not why we lost. The only one I’d argue could have made a difference to the result, but I’d need to see their goal again, was Marv for Rocky. We have F all options to change it up front, that’s the biggest issue. Had our £700k striker, who I’m starting to accept isn’t the answer taken some of the chances we’d have won that. We need to get our finger out and sign some strikers.

Definitely need signings can agree on that. Vente looked so low on confidence

I’m just feeling so despondent again that we are seeing so many players starting for us who are clearly nowhere near good enough.

20-07-2024, 04:37 PM
On the thread title I hope the consequence is quick learning for Gray. He started off putting his own stamp on the team. Impersonating Johnson on League Cup team selection and then Monty on punchless sloppy tedium is a regression we can live without.

Hibiza
20-07-2024, 04:41 PM
Forget the usual big talk of signings and the dead wood moving on. All pie in the sky. Another season of dross awaits.

20-07-2024, 04:42 PM
Forget the usual big talk of signings and the dead wood moving on. All pie in the sky. Another season of dross awaits.

Transition

Pity the season ticket prices aren’t reflected with this BS

20-07-2024, 04:44 PM
Boyle seems to be getting a free pass here. Captain today and turned his back on the short corner which led to their goal. Walked off without even raising a hand in apology to his teammates or the support.

Chorley Hibee
20-07-2024, 04:45 PM

Filling gaping holes in our accounts is my guess.

All whilst we scrape the barrel of the free transfer market, appoint a rookie manager, and tell ourselves how good the jokers who've failed time and again are going to be.

Two weeks to the start of the league and we're no better than we were last season.

****ing unforgivable, but entirely expected.

20-07-2024, 04:50 PM
Boyle seems to be getting a free pass here. Captain today and turned his back on the short corner which led to their goal. Walked off without even raising a hand in apology to his teammates or the support.

That’s not true

He walked over and raised his hand apologising

Last Minute
20-07-2024, 04:50 PM

McKirdy??? He was the only threat we had and gray took him off. Agree with the rest .

Hibees1973
20-07-2024, 04:52 PM
A) They will be laughing their ***** off doon Gorgie at this, and who could blame them. B) If this doesn't bring into harsh reality to the folk at Hibs how badly we need a striker with a bit of presence, then we have the wrong folk running this club.Much as they are laughing most Yams I know have no concern about us, which is worse. They finished over 20 points ahead of us last season and signs are it's not going to reduce until we get big money spent on improving the squad.

20-07-2024, 04:52 PM

Rocky
Levitt
Jair
Mckirdy
Doyle-Hayes

Sad that these players are even within 100 mikes of Easter Road. We all knew last season that they were not good enough. No reason on earth for them to be this season. These guys are destined to get SDG sacked.

Davy Mac
20-07-2024, 04:53 PM

Its looking like the investment was needed to shore up the debt these bungling morons have squandered over the last 3 or 4 years.

Time for the truth because trust is lost in my opinion and it seems we don't have a pot to piss in.

Bobo
20-07-2024, 04:54 PM
That performance was unacceptable at any level and clearly shows that lessons haven't been learnt.

Season after season we've witnessed the same lethargy in the transfer window only to ultimately be left with lame or useless dregs that nobody else wants. Meanwhile the club will continuously stick their hand out to fleece as much money from the fans as they can while never reinvesting it on the playing squad. They always sign bargain basement, injury prone or loan players and never build a sustainable squad that can compete for more than one season out of every five or six.

We've witnessed failure after failure as they rinse & repeat every season, filling the squad with less than average dross at the expense of funding corporate facilities that will eventually lie empty because there'll be no product on the pitch to engage an already diminishing fan base!

The window may still be open but penny pinching and barrel scraping are still clearly the way our club chooses to operate. If we don't see proper investment, and soon, we're going to suffer the same crap we've witnessed for far too long and it won't take long for this season to be written off as another bad joke, probably be lucky to make the end of September!

20-07-2024, 04:57 PM
It’s no surprise that you bring the likes of Rocky and Levitt back in and the standards drop from what they’ve been.

We’ve signed 4 players and only 2 of them were on the park today (1 of them being a second choice goalie). Again, no surprise that you see familiar pish.

20-07-2024, 04:57 PM
That’s not true

He walked over and raised his hand apologising

Must have missed that. Was right in front of me as well.

Davy Mac
20-07-2024, 04:58 PM
Definitely need signings can agree on that. Vente looked so low on confidence

I’m just feeling so despondent again that we are seeing so many players starting for us who are clearly nowhere near good enough.

Why is Vente so low in confidence, he's just bagged a hat-rick and he is playing against teams well below our level, the simple truth he isn't good enough.

Coach Jon
20-07-2024, 04:58 PM
McKirdy??? He was the only threat we had and gray took him off. Agree with the rest . Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk How is he a threat, cant score a goal. Fed up hearing unlucky Harry! Get rid and bring in a proper centre forward who can score goals.

20-07-2024, 05:01 PM
I think we have a solid enough first team with 3 or so others but it's clear there's 4 or 5 players in our squad who are no where near the level we need them to be. I don't blame SDG too much for giving these guys a opportunity but he will know now (if there was any doubt before the game) to get rid.

20-07-2024, 05:01 PM
Its looking like the investment was needed to shore up the debt these bungling morons have squandered over the last 3 or 4 years.Time for the truth because trust is lost in my opinion and it seems we don't have a pot to piss in.Hoping this is no true, but looking more and more like this.

20-07-2024, 05:02 PM

Really?

20-07-2024, 05:05 PM
That performance was unacceptable at any level and clearly shows that lessons haven't been learnt.

Season after season we've witnessed the same lethargy in the transfer window only to ultimately be left with lame or useless dregs that nobody else wants. Meanwhile the club will continuously stick their hand out to fleece as much money from the fans as they can while never reinvesting it on the playing squad. They always sign bargain basement, injury prone or loan players and never build a sustainable squad that can compete for more than one season out of every five or six.

We've witnessed failure after failure as they rinse & repeat every season, filling the squad with less than average dross at the expense of funding corporate facilities that will eventually lie empty because there'll be no product on the pitch to engage an already diminishing fan base!

The window may still be open but penny pinching and barrel scraping are still clearly the way our club chooses to operate. If we don't see proper investment, and soon, we're going to suffer the same crap we've witnessed for far too long and it won't take long for this season to be written off as another bad joke, probably be lucky to make the end of September!

👏 👏👏

20-07-2024, 05:07 PM
I think we have a solid enough first team with 3 or so others but it's clear there's 4 or 5 players in our squad who are no where near the level we need them to be. I don't blame SDG too much for giving these guys a opportunity but he will know now (if there was any doubt before the game) to get rid.

He’s watched the same as us last season, don’t think he had to give them an opportunity to know that

20-07-2024, 05:09 PM
Should really be disbanding our youth team if need to play our full strength side against league 1 teams

hibeerealist
20-07-2024, 05:10 PM
In terms of how we actually played, hitting woodwork 3 times, Vente missing a sitter etc. I struggle to blame Gray. He coached a victory, our players couldn't finish easy chances.He "coached a victory", really! I think I missed that victory, never mind there will be another coached victory coming along soon.

20-07-2024, 05:13 PM
He "coached a victory", really! I think I missed that victory, never mind there will be another coached victory coming along soon.The only coach he speaks off is the one they are sitting in on the way back over the Forth.Embarrassingly bad result, nothing more nothing less.

20-07-2024, 05:14 PM
He "coached a victory", really! I think I missed that victory, never mind there will be another coached victory coming along soon.

He set us up well, boxed them in, created plenty. I don't expect much more. Players failed in basic finishing.

He’s watched the same as us last season, don’t think he had to give them an opportunity to know that But he's came in as manager with a new system and wants to give some of these guys a chance, and they blew it.

What an embarrassment of melodrama this place is sometimes.

20-07-2024, 05:16 PM
What is it with Hibs and plastic pitches, maroon shirts and the word Hearts? All our biggest dreads at once.

DunblaneHibby
20-07-2024, 05:17 PM

You are so right

20-07-2024, 05:18 PM
But he's came in as manager with a new system and wants to give some of these guys a chance, and they blew it.

I thought he got the job because he already knows the squad. What is he expecting to see that isn’t already known in giving a chance to guys like Levitt, Rocky & McKirdy.

Dissapointing to hear Amos didn’t look good or playing at tempo. Hopefully it’s a case of the team around him dragging him down rather than him not being what we hoped we were getting.

20-07-2024, 05:20 PM
A) They will be laughing their ***** off doon Gorgie at this, and who could blame them. B) If this doesn't bring into harsh reality to the folk at Hibs how badly we need a striker with a bit of presence, then we have the wrong folk running this club.
Fk hearts and fk off to what they think!

Nemo
20-07-2024, 05:21 PM
An eye opener hopefully that the team isn’t that good

Bubbles burst. This just shows us we’re actually still sh**e. Although, Anybody with half a brain wouldn’t have been taken in by the recent wins in any case.

We’re a yo-yo team always have been. We’ll no doubt get a top 4/5 spot every now and again.

NC1875
20-07-2024, 05:21 PM
I mean sure. Okay.

😂 that’s what friendlies and bounce games are for

20-07-2024, 05:23 PM
Fk hearts and fk off to what they think!Exactly this. They're not long off losing their World War Champions game with Leyton Orient at home and a 5-1 spanking from Spurs.

hibeerealist
20-07-2024, 05:25 PM
He set us up well, boxed them in, created plenty. I don't expect much more. Players failed in basic finishing.Naw MW, SDG made a serious error in the side he put out today. This should have been obvious to him given he has watched the same s hit performances from a lot of them that we have!

Nemo
20-07-2024, 05:25 PM
Exactly this. They're not long off losing their World War Champions game with Leyton Orient at home and a 5-1 spanking from Spurs.

But kelty hearts. Ffs. lol. Not even funny.

SON OF PADDY
20-07-2024, 05:26 PM

I'm certainly not his biggest fan, but Jair Tavares did nothing wrong today, he was actually one of our better players.

20-07-2024, 05:27 PM
There's zero winning mentality in half that team today, hence why we were 8th, we still need 5-6 players either starters or good quality squad depth.

20-07-2024, 05:28 PM
I’m struggling to see what McKirdy did wrong today.

I thought his movement, wanting the ball and interaction was good. Definitely wasn’t the worst. He was also very unlucky not to score.

Biggest issue was how poor the majority were.

Can players not look up when they are crossing?? The ball was either played behind or over hit.

As for their goal, as a collective it was very very poor goal to concede!

SDG, for me anyway, made too many changes and whilst hindsight is great, strongest team should have started then Subs made.

Biggest disappointment for me was Amos. Looked miles off the pace and looked lost at times today. I know Levitt has come in for criticism, and rightly so, he was covering for two most of the game with Amos awol.

NC1875

Kensell has spent it all on behind the goals so he can swan about with his mates like billy big baws.

Results like this will continue while we have clowns like that running the club

😂 that’s what friendlies and bounce games are for

The league cup prevents you from having as many of those as you'd like, so it will always be used for that.

Lennon rotated, gave guys like Porteous and Fraser Murray games, didn't win the group and I don't remember this level of crap.

Hecky rotated, place was in utter meltdown, won the group and got seeded.

Donegal Hibby
20-07-2024, 05:29 PM

If we had went with our strongest team and won today , our next two games we could have used to get everyone match fit . Going away to play on a pitch like that wasn't the time to be making so many changes in what was an important game for us .

The thing I'm most pissed off about is Gray was at us when LJ did much the same though he's just done more or less the same thing today in putting out a weakened team ! .

Today's result could have consequences for us depending how other results go now which I don't think was worth the risk .

Exuberance1875
20-07-2024, 05:30 PM
Yeah, some of those players shouldn’t be anywhere near a Hibs starting 11, which is the problem itself.

You can get away with it at times through sheer determination and work rate, to me that failed at times and has done too often with many of these players.

Some of them give off vibes that because they have signed for Hibs, they’ve made it and needn’t work harder again

20-07-2024, 05:32 PM

This is why ST sales have been so poor.

People have had enough of this constant 'Rinse & Repeat' pish.

Hibees1973
20-07-2024, 05:35 PM
Should really be disbanding our youth team if need to play our full strength side against league 1 teamsTrue. The amount of time and money spent on coaches, youth team, the development team farce must be a huge loss maker for the club. Particularly if it only produces one or two regular first team players over two or three years. Another failing part of the club.

20-07-2024, 05:35 PM
The league cup prevents you from having as many of those as you'd like, so it will always be used for that.

Lennon rotated, gave guys like Porteous and Fraser Murray games, didn't win the group and I don't remember this level of crap.

Hecky rotated, place was in utter meltdown, won the group and got seeded.

Did they always make 6 changes? Serious question as I don’t know
But we’re nowhere near good enough to be making 6 changes

20-07-2024, 05:37 PM
I thought he got the job because he already knows the squad. What is he expecting to see that isn’t already known in giving a chance to guys like Levitt, Rocky & McKirdy.

Dissapointing to hear Amos didn’t look good or playing at tempo. Hopefully it’s a case of the team around him dragging him down rather than him not being what we hoped we were getting.

I just don't get this Amos hype. Is he actually any good or just another dud?

20-07-2024, 05:37 PM
Did they always make 6 changes? Serious question as I don’t know
But we’re nowhere near good enough to be making 6 changes

We absolutely battered Kelty today. We were fine to make 6 changes. The finishing was hopeless and was the fault of Vente, Boyle and Rudi. You know, the guys we didn't change.

20-07-2024, 05:39 PM
We absolutely battered Kelty today. We were fine to make 6 changes. The finishing was hopeless and was the fault of Vente, Boyle and Rudi. You know, the guys we didn't change.

So that's Gray's fault then.

20-07-2024, 05:40 PM
The rotation has all been wrong.

Playing same players 2 games in 4 days with one game 3 hours away.

This result is a total shambles and all the positive work from last 2 games has been undone.

Such a long way to go now to turn things around - plenty players wouldn’t play for Hibs again - we knew last season many of them weren’t good enough.

20-07-2024, 05:41 PM
So that's Gray's fault then.

Ehm, no. It's the players for missing basic chances.

20-07-2024, 05:42 PM
Ehm, no. It's the players for missing basic chances.

But Gray's fault for not taking them off surely.
Be as well not playing with a striker today than Vente.

20-07-2024, 05:42 PM

We battered Elgin and Queens.

We didn’t batter Kelty - it was the first team to actually create some chances against us but also defend better.

Yes we had chances and a lot of the ball but they also had a chance cleared off the line.

No excuses today - simply embarrassing and not good enough from everyone involved at the club.

Percy Vere
20-07-2024, 05:43 PM
We absolutely battered Kelty today. We were fine to make 6 changes. The finishing was hopeless and was the fault of Vente, Boyle and Rudi. You know, the guys we didn't change.My hope this is a wake up call to everyone at Hibs. I believe we still need 4-5 players with couple more exiting. Def two strikers, a creative midfielder and more defensive cover.

20-07-2024, 05:45 PM
My hope this is a wake up call to everyone at Hibs. I believe we still need 4-5 players with couple more exiting. Def two strikers, a creative midfielder and more defensive cover.

Same and I think with Gray it will be. I genuinely have every faith he’ll be a success with us if backed.

Saying that, if we haven't announced a new signing by 5pm Monday i’ll probably be going tonto again.

20-07-2024, 05:45 PM
I'm inclined to go with the view that today is more an indictment on the players that Gray. I've seen that awkward away performance at lower league grounds umpteen times, and this was a better version of the usual - aye it was the usual one chance/one goal, but we controlled the game with a bit of tempo and had ample chances.

Of the players that needed minutes, there's a good argument that was the right chance for Amos and a half for McKirdy.

They absolutely should have got the right result today, regardless of what we thinking of any of those players.

The worry is clearly we need four or five ready to come in and be good enough to start games. It's not a free pass to others that didn't step up at various points today, but at the moment that isn't Megwa, Vente, Bushiri, Amos or Levitt.

For all the embarrassment at losing to a side with that name in it, the only thing that really matters is Gray facing up to a good chunk of that squad and telling them they don't deserve to be facing the Premiership version.

Deeklipse
20-07-2024, 05:49 PM
I just don't get this Amos hype. Is he actually any good or just another dud?

What hype? He is utter pish, regardless if he played 27 minutes in The Best League In The World ™ six years ago.

20-07-2024, 05:50 PM
But Gray's fault for not taking them off surely.Be as well not playing with a striker today than Vente.Did you see the bench ? We had no one to replace the players you mention. Tavares was the only attacking “threat” he could bring on. We’ve addressed the centre of the defence, our forward options are threadbare.

20-07-2024, 05:50 PM

We didn’t batter Kelty - it was the first team to actually create more against us and also defend better.
Yes we had chances and a lot of the ball but they also had a chance cleared off the line.
No excuses today - simply embarrassing and not good enough from everyone involved at the club.

We had 16 shots today, 18 Vs queen of the south. Same 63% possession in both matches. Queens had 6 shots, Kelty 4.

Finishing was the difference.

20-07-2024, 05:51 PM
We had 16 shots today, 18 Vs queen of the south. Same 63% possession in both matches. Queens had 6 shots, Kelty 4.

Finishing was the difference.

How many on target today? That's all that matters. Genuine question cause I’m not sure

20-07-2024, 05:54 PM

We didn’t batter Kelty - it was the first team to actually create more against us and also defend better.

No excuses today - simply embarrassing and not good enough from everyone involved at the club.No way kelty created more than we did today

We hit the woodwork 3 times for a start

It's the finishing that let us down but our levels of intensity was lower all over the park

20-07-2024, 05:58 PM
Well that's the warning sign. Outwith our first 11 picks our quality sharply dips.

We had a squad last year that weakly failed to make top six. Yet, inexplicably here we ar with still no improvement in our midfield and forward line, in fact our forward line is vastly inferior without Maolida.

The 'David Gray' effect is only going to get us so far. This mediocre squad needs vastly improved or we are just going to see a rerun of last season.

Very poor result today.

20-07-2024, 06:00 PM
How many on target today? That's all that matters. Genuine question cause I’m not sure

4 on target.

The real blame lies with that drummer.

20-07-2024, 06:05 PM
Did you see the bench ? We had no one to replace the players you mention. Tavares was the only attacking “threat” he could bring on. We’ve addressed the centre of the defence, our forward options are threadbare.

We finished the game on Tuesday night without a striker on the pitch. What's your point?

20-07-2024, 06:07 PM

What an embarrassment of mediocrity Hibs have been for most of the time in recent years.

20-07-2024, 06:07 PM
4 on target.

The real blame lies with that drummer.

Four on target really isn't great. A few glorious chances in their box blazed over that I can remember. Frustrating say to say the least.

Only good thing about going 1 down was the drummer chucking it.

20-07-2024, 06:08 PM
No way kelty created more than we did today

We hit the woodwork 3 times for a start

It's the finishing that let us down but our levels of intensity was lower all over the park

Sorry worded that wrongly…

Didn’t mean they created more chances / just some chances - obviously Hibs had more opportunities but still doesn’t matter as like last season Hibs will have more possession and chances but it’s winning that matters.

20-07-2024, 06:11 PM
We finished the game on Tuesday night without a striker on the pitch. What's your point?Thought it was pretty obvious. You said it was Gray’s fault for not taking off Boyle and Vente. We had no one to replace them with that’s why he didn’t sub them. Tuesday the game we’d already won by the time Youan went off injured ? So what’s your point ?

20-07-2024, 07:12 PM
Well that's the warning sign. Outwith our first 11 picks our quality sharply dips.

We had a squad last year that weakly failed to make top six. Yet, inexplicably here we ar with still no improvement in our midfield and forward line, in fact our forward line is vastly inferior without Maolida.

The 'David Gray' effect is only going to get us so far. This mediocre squad needs vastly improved or we are just going to see a rerun of last season.

Very poor result today.

It was a warning sign when we lost a goal to Queens Park near the end that we still have issues with mentality and focus.

It was obvious against Queens that once we made subs the balance wasn’t the same. I have wanted to back Rocky but he’s too slow on the ball and makes too many mistakes - he must be moved on and x2 new CBs added.

Myziane and Youan goals and assists carried us though parts of last season.

What do we expect when we lose so many goals we will suddenly start scoring again.

Today we started with a keeper who last played in December 2023 (7 months ago). Was our new number 1 injured already ? Rested ? Surely not tired after doing nothing for 2 games.

A left back not good enough to start at right back.

A centre back who makes the whole backline look nervous.

Amos who has hardly played and hasn’t played more than 60 mins since May 2023.

Mckirdy who hasn’t played over 45 mins for a long long time.

Levitt who turned his back on the queen park goal on Tuesday.

We have players who are unstoppable as no competition like Vente and Boyle and on our bench we have our club captain but doesn’t even come on to help us get a point from the game.

Total shambles.

Davy Mac
20-07-2024, 07:14 PM
I'm inclined to go with the view that today is more an indictment on the players that Gray. I've seen that awkward away performance at lower league grounds umpteen times, and this was a better version of the usual - aye it was the usual one chance/one goal, but we controlled the game with a bit of tempo and had ample chances.

Of the players that needed minutes, there's a good argument that was the right chance for Amos and a half for McKirdy.

They absolutely should have got the right result today, regardless of what we thinking of any of those players.

The worry is clearly we need four or five ready to come in and be good enough to start games. It's not a free pass to others that didn't step up at various points today, but at the moment that isn't Megwa, Vente, Bushiri, Amos or Levitt.

For all the embarrassment at losing to a side with that name in it, the only thing that really matters is Gray facing up to a good chunk of that squad and telling them they don't deserve to be facing the Premiership version.

Trouble is, nobody can get a tune out of this mob, not even Gray. But sadly, we're stuck with them until we can get rid

RossScott1991
20-07-2024, 07:26 PM
ust a massive wake up call to everyone today but less the fans as we already know. Hopefully Gray knows and more importantly the board know.

We are light and need 3 quality attackers. Striker, attacking midfielder and another wide player.

We are bloated with midfielders who are all the same mould.

Amos, Moriah-Welsh, Campbell, JDH, etc etc.

Campbell is never a number 10 in his life and doesn’t have the quality in tight areas to unlock teams. So we need abit of a spark there. We need a quality striker as not convinced on Vente. And we need a good wide player so we can stop relying on Jair and Mckirdy who are both useless and should be on the out list.

Overall we started building from back but time to focus on attacking positions as what we have isn’t good enough and we will see the same inconsistencies when the league starts.

20-07-2024, 07:37 PM
and on our bench we have our club captain but doesn’t even come on to help us get a point from the game.

Total shambles.

That's surely on SDG that one

Gloucester Hibs
20-07-2024, 07:38 PM
Its looking like the investment was needed to shore up the debt these bungling morons have squandered over the last 3 or 4 years.

Time for the truth because trust is lost in my opinion and it seems we don't have a pot to piss in.

Fear this to be the case. No sign of the “game changing” investment on the playing staff as of yet.

20-07-2024, 07:45 PM
That's surely on SDG that one

100%

Played 60 mins at Elgin and then 90 mins against Queens Park.

Why did he need to play 90 mins when we were 5-0 up ???

Bad management.

ChuckNor
20-07-2024, 07:46 PM
Seen someone post that the club has used the investment to plug debt. They’re certainly not proving that the money will be spent on players, that’s for sure. Utter disaster.

Donegal Hibby
20-07-2024, 07:53 PM
Four on target really isn't great. A few glorious chances in their box blazed over that I can remember. Frustrating say to say the least.

Only good thing about going 1 down was the drummer chucking it.

They had 3 I think. Agree about the drummer.

Hibees1973
20-07-2024, 08:01 PM
Seen someone post that the club has used the investment to plug debt. They’re certainly not proving that the money will be spent on players, that’s for sure. Utter disaster.Rumour has it that the Black Knights have taken a step back with regards to recruitment, which kind of goes against the grain with the fanfare at the time they came on board. They have given Mackay time to trim the squad and we are now at the point where we have to sell before anyone else comes in. I'm expecting Youan will be sold in the next couple of weeks to provide Gray with some finance before the window closes. The Black Knights might chip in with a loan or two towards the end of the window.

20-07-2024, 08:07 PM
Rumour has it that the Black Knights have taken a step back with regards to recruitment, which kind of goes against the grain with the fanfare at the time they came on board. They have given Mackay time to trim the squad and we are now at the point where we have to sell before anyone else comes in. I'm expecting Youan will be sold in the next couple of weeks to provide Gray with some finance before the window closes. The Black Knights might chip in with a loan or two towards the end of the window.Surely that's nonsense about the Black Knights. Why would you buy a substantial share in a club and then chuck investing in recruitment, the only real way of guaranteeing their end goal of being best of the rest

MelbourneHibees
20-07-2024, 08:23 PM
Rumour has it that the Black Knights have taken a step back with regards to recruitment, which kind of goes against the grain with the fanfare at the time they came on board. They have given Mackay time to trim the squad and we are now at the point where we have to sell before anyone else comes in. I'm expecting Youan will be sold in the next couple of weeks to provide Gray with some finance before the window closes. The Black Knights might chip in with a loan or two towards the end of the window.To be able to say they are taking a step back they would have first had to show signs of being involved in the first place. Looking at the transfer activity at Lorient from January it was clear that the BKG weren't too interested in ensuring they survived the drop by either sending them significant loan players or directly investing. There's nothing to suggest they will treat us any differently.

20-07-2024, 08:26 PM
He will always be the issue for many.

Maybe but he is consistently crap.

20-07-2024, 08:30 PM
ust a massive wake up call to everyone today but less the fans as we already know. Hopefully Gray knows and more importantly the board know.

We are light and need 3 quality attackers. Striker, attacking midfielder and another wide player.

We are bloated with midfielders who are all the same mould.

Amos, Moriah-Welsh, Campbell, JDH, etc etc.

Campbell is never a number 10 in his life and doesn’t have the quality in tight areas to unlock teams. So we need abit of a spark there. We need a quality striker as not convinced on Vente. And we need a good wide player so we can stop relying on Jair and Mckirdy who are both useless and should be on the out list.

Overall we started building from back but time to focus on attacking positions as what we have isn’t good enough and we will see the same inconsistencies when the league starts.

Agree with all of that. The issue for me is we knew that before the season finished last season. It’s 2 weeks from the league season starting…

snedzuk
20-07-2024, 08:33 PM
Surely that's nonsense about the Black Knights. Why would you buy a substantial share in a club and then chuck investing in recruitment, the only real way of guaranteeing their end goal of being best of the rest

To devalue the asset in the eyes of the Gordon's (who are also clueless about football) and drive the price down for a more compatible partner who can later on help the Gordon's out by taking their failing business off their hands.

Stairway 2 7
20-07-2024, 08:36 PM
Someone blaming Campbell when he had 3 assists on wed and didn't start today is glorious

20-07-2024, 08:36 PM
Agree with all of that. The issue for me is we knew that before the season finished last season. It’s 2 weeks from the league season starting…

Will be criminal going into new league season with same midfield as last season.

One of the reasons we did so badly was our midfield and hasn’t been improved yet.

Hibeesforever
20-07-2024, 08:38 PM
The much heralded investment looks like hot air...hospitality looking good though...why don't owners realise that fans just want a winning team, facilities really are irrelevant...such an embarrassment today!

20-07-2024, 08:41 PM
The much heralded investment looks like hot air...hospitality looking good though...why don't owners realise that fans just want a winning team, facilities really are irrelevant...such an embarrassment today!Are they mutually exclusive? No they aren't

We still spend good money compared to other teams in our league - we need to spend it better (and hope that we now have a higher ceiling)

20-07-2024, 08:41 PM
Rumour has it that the Black Knights have taken a step back with regards to recruitment, which kind of goes against the grain with the fanfare at the time they came on board. They have given Mackay time to trim the squad and we are now at the point where we have to sell before anyone else comes in. I'm expecting Youan will be sold in the next couple of weeks to provide Gray with some finance before the window closes. The Black Knights might chip in with a loan or two towards the end of the window.Rumour has it from where may I ask?

I heard we are about to unveil 3 quality additions to our squad - rumour has it anyway [emoji6][emoji848]

Trinity Hibee
20-07-2024, 08:50 PM
Are they mutually exclusive? No they aren't

We still spend good money compared to other teams in our league - we need to spend it better (and hope that we now have a higher ceiling)

What does piss people off is when off field performance is used to excuse on field performance

20-07-2024, 08:52 PM
What does piss people off is when off field performance is used to excuse on field performanceIt's bug bear of mine too - using capitalised projects to boast the long term income of the club is just sensible strategy

It's not to blame for the underperforming football dept

Trinity Hibee
20-07-2024, 08:54 PM
It's bug bear of mine too - using capitalised projects to boast the long term income of the club is just sensible strategy

It's not to blame for the underperforming football dept

Then those at the club can stop mentioning it and sort out the on field mess

20-07-2024, 08:55 PM
Exactly this. They're not long off losing their World War Champions game with Leyton Orient at home and a 5-1 spanking from Spurs.Aye, absolutely .... so what do we do, lose to the one team in Scotland that would allow them to put that aside and f'ing well laugh at us.

Scotty Leither
20-07-2024, 08:59 PM
It's bug bear of mine too - using capitalised projects to boast the long term income of the club is just sensible strategy It's not to blame for the underperforming football dept Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkIt is to blame when money is being channeled into things like a £1m refurb for behind the goals which is increasingly looking like a white elephant when we’re crying out for a decent midfielder and a CF that can hold the ball up. The “golden quadrant” need told that falling season ticket sales aren’t due to how well appointed the ground is, it’s due to the now apparently almost stubborn refusal to improve the area of the team every Hibs supporter knows needs improvement.

20-07-2024, 09:00 PM
Then those at the club can stop mentioning it and sort out the on field messIsn't that what they are trying to do with Gray his team and McKay?

It is to blame when money is being channeled into things like a £1m refurb for behind the goals which is increasingly looking like a white elephant when we’re crying out for a decent midfielder and a CF that can hold the ball up. The “golden quadrant” need told that falling season ticket sales aren’t due to how well appointed the ground is, it’s due to the now apparently almost stubborn refusal to improve the area of the team every Hibs supporter knows needs improvement.Why is it increasingly looking like a white elephant?

Trinity Hibee
It is to blame when money is being channeled into things like a £1m refurb for behind the goals which is increasingly looking like a white elephant when we’re crying out for a decent midfielder and a CF that can hold the ball up. The “golden quadrant” need told that falling season ticket sales aren’t due to how well appointed the ground is, it’s due to the now apparently almost stubborn refusal to improve the area of the team every Hibs supporter knows needs improvement.

Soon no one will be using hospitality if this pish on the pitch continues

Trinity Hibee
20-07-2024, 09:02 PM
Why is it increasingly looking like a white elephant?

What are you not getting about this? What happens on the pitch is the be all and end all at football clubs. Having a decent hospitality is pointless is the product on the pitch is crap. That’s where we are right now

20-07-2024, 09:05 PM
What are you not getting about this? What happens on the pitch is the be all and end all at football clubs. Having a decent hospitality is pointless is the product on the pitch is crap. That’s where we are right nowBut we still have a good football budget - we have spent that unwisely the last few years that unarguable

Thankfully they channeled some money into non first team matters in that case [emoji6]

What needs to change is gray and Mackay improves the footballing side

The west stand Albion bar is sold out this year again - thats a mixture of executive ST and ST add ons - that's even with a "crap product"

Scotty Leither
20-07-2024, 09:07 PM
Why is it increasingly looking like a white elephant?Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkBecause the take-up for it isn’t there to justify the outlay…and I speak as someone who has bought hospitality for the purpose of indulging myself a little, but also to put some money into the club. My purchase of hospitality certainly isn’t an endorsement of Kensell and Gordon, that’s for sure.…

20-07-2024, 09:08 PM
Aye, absolutely .... so what do we do, lose to the one team in Scotland that would allow them to put that aside and f'ing well laugh at us.None of us are happy about today`s result but that doesn`t mean we expect our team selection or tactics in a group LC match to be influenced by what supporters of a team which lost to Brora and went close to losing to Spartans in one off SC ties very recently think .

20-07-2024, 09:08 PM
To devalue the asset in the eyes of the Gordon's (who are also clueless about football) and drive the price down for a more compatible partner who can later on help the Gordon's out by taking their failing business off their hands.So, make Hibs ***** so they can buy the Gordons out at a cheaper price, even though the current setup in Scottish football wouldn't allow them to be majority owners. Ballsy play. Though, saying that £8 mil is the equivalent of chump change to them I guess.

20-07-2024, 09:10 PM
Because the take-up for it isn’t there to justify the outlay…and I speak as someone who has bought hospitality for the purpose of indulging myself a little, but also to put some money into the club. My purchase of hospitality certainly isn’t an endorsement of Kensell and Gordon, that’s for sure.…Do you know what the uptake is?

Like I keep saying the Albion is sold out so the demand is obviously there - the outlay would be made back pretty quickly given the fee and continual bi weekly spend

20-07-2024, 09:17 PM
Do you know what the uptake is?

Like I keep saying the Albion is sold out so the demand is obviously there - the outlay would be made back pretty quickly given the fee and continual bi weekly spend

Look at the seating map for Celtic in that hospitality area.

There is a reason it was taken off the main page as it was embarrassingly bad uptake.

20-07-2024, 09:20 PM
Look at the seating map for Celtic in that hospitality area.

There is a reason it was taken off the main page as it was embarrassingly bad uptake.That doesn't tell you the BTG uptake is though

It can also be bought as an addition to a normal season ticket

Executive ST that you are looking at get slightly better benefits for there 800 quid that a normal season ticket with BTG add on

snedzuk
20-07-2024, 09:26 PM
So, make Hibs ***** so they can buy the Gordons out at a cheaper price, even though the current setup in Scottish football wouldn't allow them to be majority owners. Ballsy play. Though, saying that £8 mil is the equivalent of chump change to them I guess.

Re majority owners, that's why I said compatible partner. Also, it would be a clever play to let the current incumbents spend capital on off field upgrades.

Bertie Wooster
20-07-2024, 09:36 PM
All I see today is a game where we allowed some fringe players to play for their Hibs careers and proved they weren't up to it. Wouldnt call it a free hit , but after winning the first two games and the other teams beating each other , it is understandable to give fringe players a run out in a competitive match. A gamble which didnt pay off. Hibs know they have a load of players who will be emptied over the next few windows but this season will have to play with some deadwood so this season are probably looking to get a couple of half decent runs in the cup and possibly 5th in the league. Would be astonished if they get any better. If we get quality players in on the left , I can see Molotnikov and Megwa heading back out on loan. Amos , Bushiri , Levitt , McKirdy & Miller are all on shoogly pegs but are probably seen as squad players to nurse us through this season and then leave or move on if possible at the earliest chance to bring someone better in. Smith is a squad player no more , no less. I reckon come the first league match youd be lucky if 2 , possibly 3 of that starting line up woud start the first league game. Its yet another transition season , but for all the fanfare , the Black Knights are not going to chuck money at Hibs. This party line about Hibs wont get players forced upon them is a bit rubbish to be honest. Hibs will have to stand on their own two feet , do it all within a tight budget , get rid of the dross on the books and bring through some academy players. Bournemouth are not going to be spending millions on players to have them playing for 8th in the SPFl and unable to beat Kelty Hearts. Come the end of the window and Bournemouth have done their business , HIbs will get a chance to see who is available from the BK stable of clubs and supplement the squad with fringe players , nothing more. If we get to 3rd in the league and the regular European football then they'll put more money in and we'll get a more strategic allocation of players. Until then , £6m is nothing to the Black Knights and if it doesnt work then they will have an exit strategy already lined up. If it starts to work , great , but they can afford to play the long game. Until then , Hibs will have a few seasons of clearing out the mistakes of the last handful of seasons and its not going to be great to watch. Hibs spending money on doing up the FF was overdue but they made a mistake in thinking that they would repeat the Albion Bar. Unless they have a team competing at the top end of league year in , year out they wont even get punters into the ground far less paying a premium to stand in a bar. As I mentioned earlier , its not going to be pretty this season either so dont see it being a big take up for a good while. I get the hospitality needed upgraded but there is only a finite amount to be made from it and if they wanted to invest significant amounts of money into it to try and achieve a return why dont they invest into a collection of bars and hotels down south.

20-07-2024, 09:44 PM
Thought it was pretty obvious. You said it was Gray’s fault for not taking off Boyle and Vente. We had no one to replace them with that’s why he didn’t sub them. Tuesday the game we’d already won by the time Youan went off injured ? So what’s your point ?

Surprised Boyle has played 90 in all the games when a couple of them have been won by 45. Newell playing 60 and 90 but then zero in the game were struggling. Couple of strange ones.

In terms of the general point about lack of options, I totally agree. Gray needs to be given the tools and they need to do something this week. If today doesn’t make them get the finger out, something is seriously wrong.

Scotty Leither
20-07-2024, 09:55 PM
Surprised Boyle has played 90 in all the games when a couple of them have been won by 45. Newell playing 60 and 90 but then zero in the game were struggling. Couple of strange ones. In terms of the general point about lack of options, I totally agree. Gray needs to be given the tools and they need to do something this week. If today doesn’t make them get the finger out, something is seriously wrong.Newell should have been on at half time, or immediately after they scored their goal. He has his critics, but I’ll venture he would have played ten yards further forward than Levitt did.

04-08-2024, 05:40 PM
There should have been consequences after Kelty

There werent

And if the message to guys,who played that day (Boyle, Vente, Amos) that "achhh it's OK lads" Then you should expect today's result as a club

It comes from the top down

Hard work Beats talent

04-08-2024, 05:43 PM
We should try and get some kind of money back for Vente as he doesn't even look like scoring and get another striker in to partner Myko