View Full Version : Kanayo Megwa

16-07-2024, 11:44 PM
Rudi is understandably getting lots of plaudits tonight, but that’s now twice young Megwa has come on and looked assured, confident, and a threat.

I’m excited to see how he gets on this season.

17-07-2024, 12:13 AM
Agree.

Really like the look of him. Got absolutley everything you want for a modern day right back.

Miller picks up the odd niggle so hopefully Megwa is ready when he gets his chance

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2024, 02:04 AM
Looks much better going forward than I realised he was

K-Zazu
17-07-2024, 08:40 AM
Rudi is understandably getting lots of plaudits tonight, but that’s now twice young Megwa has come on and looked assured, confident, and a threat.

I’m excited to see how he gets on this season.

Seen him against Partick in the 2 play off games and he struggled a bit. I would love to be proved wrong but can’t see him making it at this level. And with Miler and Cadden ahead of him his first team chances will be limited at Hibs.

hibee1875
17-07-2024, 09:19 AM
Seen him against Partick in the 2 play off games and he struggled a bit. I would love to be proved wrong but can’t see him making it at this level. And with Miler and Cadden ahead of him his first team chances will be limited at Hibs.

That’s the spirit.

K-Zazu
17-07-2024, 09:23 AM
That’s the spirit.

Well I’m just giving my opinion on a football player and I did say I would love to be proved wrong.

17-07-2024, 09:23 AM

Did he? I only seen the game in Airdrie and thought he could have got MOTM. Lots of play was going through him and he looked very comfortable on the ball

17-07-2024, 09:26 AM
Did he? I only seen the game in Airdrie and thought he could have got MOTM. Lots of play was going through him and he looked very comfortable on the ball

I didn't see the games but some Partick fans on X the other day were hoping they'd sign him. He must have shown something against them if that's the case.

17-07-2024, 09:36 AM

The game at Airdrie he was easily one of the best players on the pitch, Miichael Stewart (I think) was full of praise for him.

hibee1875
17-07-2024, 09:58 AM
There were a few ex players on Twitter praising his performances in the playoffs. Can’t remember his name now but an ex Dundee (and Scotland maybe) player also

john rossi
17-07-2024, 05:05 PM
It’s great to see some youth coming through in Rudi,and megwa I think megwa could be about to stake a place in the team I prefer him to miller and with Cadds injured he has this opportunity.

The Tubs
17-07-2024, 05:12 PM
It’s great to see some youth coming through in Rudi,and megwa I think megwa could be about to stake a place in the team I prefer him to miller and with Cadds injured he has this opportunity. Why do you prefer him?

Houston7
17-07-2024, 05:21 PM
There were a few ex players on Twitter praising his performances in the playoffs. Can’t remember his name now but an ex Dundee (and Scotland maybe) player alsoNeighbours of mine, who are Partick ST holders were raving about Megwa. They thought he was easily the best player on the park, as did Michael Stewart, in the first leg. I viewed both matches &, in my opinion, I reckon he was - although he wasn’t quite so good in second leg when Partick dealt with him better.

17-07-2024, 05:48 PM
I think Miller is streets ahead of him at the moment. Ability and strength wise.

17-07-2024, 06:19 PM
Why do you prefer him?

Miller is much better equipped to play in the first team than Megwa?

Not to say the Megwa won't improve, but he looked miles away from being a first team regular when he was returned from loan back in Jan.

17-07-2024, 06:23 PM
Seen him against Partick in the 2 play off games and he struggled a bit. I would love to be proved wrong but can’t see him making it at this level. And with Miler and Cadden ahead of him his first team chances will be limited at Hibs.Agree

17-07-2024, 06:25 PM
Maybe not right now but he’s going to be a much better player than Miller.

17-07-2024, 06:38 PM
Megwa is one I'm not sure where we go with. He's 20 so not a baby and probably at a point at which he needs to be in and around the Hibs first team if he is going to make it here. If he isn't featuring this season or at least ready to push for a place next season then he is unlikely ever to be. That is the harsh reality and I think he's right in the middle of the 2 positions right now, lots of good points, lots to work on so the jury is out to quote a phrase.

As it stands he is behind Miller and Cadden in the pecking order so maybe another loan until January would be good for him. The flip side is Cadden is not without his injury issues so allowing Megwa to leave could see us short. Do we keep him here to potentially sit on the bench for 5 months or risk letting him leave to play and finding ourselves light?

Up-the-slope
17-07-2024, 07:31 PM
He can also play LB if need be and we have no cover there - so potential that If cadden injured he is good cover for both positions unless we sign LB cover

MagicSwirlingShip
17-07-2024, 08:08 PM
I think Megwa will get plenty chances this season.

Miller hasn’t consistently played amazing, he’s had poor spells, and has picked up injuries. As a full back he will pick up suspensions too.

Can see Megwa getting at least 15 starts this season which will be good progress for the lad

17-07-2024, 08:12 PM
I think Megwa will get plenty chances this season.

Miller hasn’t consistently played amazing, he’s had poor spells, and has picked up injuries. As a full back he will pick up suspensions too.

Can see Megwa getting at least 15 starts this season which will be good progress for the lad

Can't see him getting anywhere near 15 starts

MagicSwirlingShip
17-07-2024, 08:14 PM

We shall see !

17-07-2024, 10:37 PM

He was getting rave reviews most week for his impressive performances, no doubt they probably enquired about a return for this season.

18-07-2024, 03:50 AM
Neighbours of mine, who are Partick ST holders were raving about Megwa. They thought he was easily the best player on the park, as did Michael Stewart, in the first leg. I viewed both matches &, in my opinion, I reckon he was - although he wasn’t quite so good in second leg when Partick dealt with him better.

I was going to add this regarding Stewart and MoTM. Not saying anyone is right or wrong but it's crazy some folk say he struggled and some think he was the best player on the pitch!

18-07-2024, 05:17 AM
That’s the spirit.Is there truly anyone that is actually loving it when they are proved wrong?

18-07-2024, 05:34 AM

Me neither, barring injuries.

He should be starting on Saturday if he's genuinely in Grays plans.

Velma Dinkley
18-07-2024, 06:04 AM
He went out on loan to the Championship last season and played right back, central defence, left back, right wing, central midfield and left wing. His manager, Rhys McCabe, described him as a "fantastic player" and said he improved with every game. He also said Megwa has "a really good chance of becoming a top player, if not the best right-back in Scotland". He performed very well on his loan and proved he was good enough for the Championship. He seems to be ready for the step up to the Premiership.

18-07-2024, 06:55 AM
Very good defender but not so good going forward. Assume he'll be out on loan again if Cadden is going to be fit for the start of the league season.

HIBS NUTS
19-07-2024, 10:12 AM
Very good defender but not so good going forward. Assume he'll be out on loan again if Cadden is going to be fit for the start of the league season.I think he will be a squad player, especially back up for miller,at right back, but back up centre half and left back .Cadden will probably play further forward , because of his energy and running.

19-07-2024, 10:29 AM
Megwa is one I'm not sure where we go with. He's 20 so not a baby and probably at a point at which he needs to be in and around the Hibs first team if he is going to make it here. If he isn't featuring this season or at least ready to push for a place next season then he is unlikely ever to be. That is the harsh reality and I think he's right in the middle of the 2 positions right now, lots of good points, lots to work on so the jury is out to quote a phrase.

As it stands he is behind Miller and Cadden in the pecking order so maybe another loan until January would be good for him. The flip side is Cadden is not without his injury issues so allowing Megwa to leave could see us short. Do we keep him here to potentially sit on the bench for 5 months or risk letting him leave to play and finding ourselves light?

Agree with what you're saying. Personally I'd look to sell Miller or Cadden (or both of them and bring in someone better) and have Megwa as the back up and give him the opportunity to challenge for the place.

PHeffernan
19-07-2024, 11:02 AM
What to do with 3 right backs? In 2 months time Cadden will be 28, Miller 24 and Megwa 20. All are out of contract at the end of May although the club have a years option on Miller. Interesting to see what the club do moving forward and also remembering young Whittaker is in the queue behind them.

19-07-2024, 11:07 AM
What to do with 3 right backs? In 2 months time Cadden will be 28, Miller 24 and Megwa 20. All are out of contract at the end of May although the club have a years option on Miller. Interesting to see what the club do moving forward and also remembering young Whittaker is in the queue behind them.

Don't think you will see much of cadden at RB this season, think he will play further forward

19-07-2024, 11:34 AM
Overstocked but lacking quality at RB for me.

If Megwa can’t make the position his this year then I think the chance will pass him by at Hibs. He’s at an age he needs to be playing.

hfc-1875
19-07-2024, 04:44 PM

Your at it was arguably motm in 1 of the games can’t mind which one

sauzee1989
19-07-2024, 05:54 PM
Think he will find it tough this season unless Miller is deployed as a centre back.

Velma Dinkley
19-07-2024, 06:10 PM
Think he will find it tough this season unless Miller is deployed as a centre back.He can play in a variety of positions. So that, along with players likely to pick up injuries or needing rested from time to time, should mean he'd get plenty of opportunities if he doesn't go out on loan.

19-07-2024, 06:32 PM
I saw some Dundee United fans wanting him on Twitter due to how well he done last year.

Wonder if a loan to United is an option for 6 months with strain being injured?

19-07-2024, 06:32 PM
Think he will find it tough this season unless Miller is deployed as a centre back.

Other than height wise, I reckon he's miller's equal. He's probably better on the ball.

Give it 2 months and he'll be starting ahead of him imo.

19-07-2024, 06:42 PM
Other than height wise, I reckon he's miller's equal. He's probably better on the ball.

Give it 2 months and he'll be starting ahead of him imo.

Miller is still too impetuous when he goes into challenges which can lead to him being out of position if he doesn’t win the ball and he still loses possession too easily.

19-07-2024, 06:49 PM
Miller is still too impetuous when he goes into challenges which can lead to him being out of position if he doesn’t win the ball and he still loses possession too easily.

It’s his use of the ball for me when he tries to play a forward pass.

Hes really good at chopping back or inside the pitch.

But when he tries to play that ball in behind for Boyle he really really struggles imo and rarely picks him out.

That along with his constant need to buy fouls drives me crazy. Hes built like a brick s***house, just stay up. If he did the team would be in a better position at times rather than letting the opposition get back in and set up

Hibees1973
19-07-2024, 07:06 PM
It's open goal for Megwa.Cadden is injury prone and Miller, well he is at best rash, picks up loads of bookings and in my opinion will not be consistent enough to nail down the right back place at Hibs.In the little number of appearances I've seen Megwa at Hibs his positioning is poor and I have not felt comfortable watching him. Maybe Gray can pass on his experience as a right back to Megwa, but there are limits on how he can improve him. It's a great chance for Megwa to become a first teamer, purely down to the fact that Cadden & Miller have their issues.Megwa is 20 now and does not have the excuse of being a young teenager. If he cannot make it this season he will be yet another player who has been years at Hibs but could not make it.

19-07-2024, 07:39 PM

That could be LM best position right in a back three he tends to get caught out at Right back at times

20-07-2024, 09:29 PM
The fact Megwa can play both LB and RB, with Caddon perhaps never being too far away from and injury breakdown and Obita the only recognised LB, it would be foolish to punt him back out on loan again. Even if we sign another LB, which we surely will, I’d say Megwa will still see a decent amount of game time over the season.

20-07-2024, 09:36 PM
The fact Megwa can play both LB and RB, with Caddon perhaps never being too far away from and injury breakdown and Obita the only recognised LB, it would be foolish to punt him back out on loan again. Even if we sign another LB, which we surely will, I’d say Megwa will still see a decent amount of game time over the season.I thought he was picked at LB today to test him there as an alternative if Obita is injured or suspended , so saving a signing till January at least . If we`d taken first half chances , he might have continued at LB or moved to right for last half hour .

20-07-2024, 10:09 PM
The fact Megwa can play both LB and RB, with Caddon perhaps never being too far away from and injury breakdown and Obita the only recognised LB, it would be foolish to punt him back out on loan again. Even if we sign another LB, which we surely will, I’d say Megwa will still see a decent amount of game time over the season.

I think I’d give Megwa a shot at right back. Lewis Miller is so average, at best. More interested in having a wee battle with someone than just playing the game. We’ll watch him play for another year then he’ll go when his contract is up. I’d just Give Megwa the chance now instead.

20-07-2024, 11:22 PM
If we were wanting to start Megwa today it should have been right back.

He might be comfortable on his left, but he’s young and inexperience, trying to make his way in the first team - play him in his natural position.

We also the balance and quality Obita gives us.

Unless of course Obita was injured.

21-07-2024, 12:07 AM
If we were wanting to start Megwa today it should have been right back.

He might be comfortable on his left, but he’s young and inexperience, trying to make his way in the first team - play him in his natural position.

We also the balance and quality Obita gives us.

Unless of course Obita was injured.

Not only that but we put molotnikov ahead of him. Surely of you only plat two youngsters you don't play them on the same wing?

21-07-2024, 08:37 AM
I think we saw yesterday he can not play left back.

21-07-2024, 08:49 AM
I personally think Megwa is too small and hopefully he still has some growing to do but that is just me

Had a good clearance off the line when the new goalie made a horlicks of it

Was lucky to escape with just a yellow when last man and trying to flick the ball over an onrushing forward and got caught in possession

Might have that totally wrong as only seen the incidents the once

Not a fan of Miller too impetuous would like to see Whittaker again as now a year further down the line

21-07-2024, 10:52 AM
Appreciate that he’s had good reviews of his performances on loan but I’ve yet to see much from him that tells me he’s ready to play a regular part in the first team.

21-07-2024, 01:54 PM
I think we saw yesterday he can not play left back.

It was a ridiculous move to play him there, similarly playing McKirdy wide and two essentially holding players in Levitt and Amos against a part time side. The formation and selections yesterday were confusing, daft, and worrying.

21-07-2024, 01:55 PM
Mentioned it the other day but more rumours of Megwa to United

https://x.com/transferscot/status/1814988959946043621?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Albeit a ‘source’ that will be some young lad making them up

21-07-2024, 02:14 PM
It was a ridiculous move to play him there, similarly playing McKirdy wide and two essentially holding players in Levitt and Amos against a part time side. The formation and selections yesterday were confusing, daft, and worrying.

Mckirdy is a wide player, and Amos wasn't playing as a holding player.

Only worrying thing is our strikers can't finish clear cut chances. Nothing Gray done worried me.

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 02:33 PM

When I saw the team and seen Amos and Levitt in midfield and the other selections alarm bells where ringing.

21-07-2024, 03:16 PM
When I saw the team and seen Amos and Levitt in midfield and the other selections alarm bells where ringing.

Amos was miles off it yesterday. I’ve been reading that he’s a good player and seen people talking about him being a level above. I’ve no idea how anyone draws that conclusion from what he’s offered since he’s been here.

Thought it was a signing for the sake of a signing at the time and not seen anything to change my mind.

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 04:09 PM
Amos was miles off it yesterday. I’ve been reading that he’s a good player and seen people talking about him being a level above. I’ve no idea how anyone draws that conclusion from what he’s offered since he’s been here.

Thought it was a signing for the sake of a signing at the time and not seen anything to change my mind.

He was really poor yesterday , don't think he's on that long a contract which is something I suppose.

21-07-2024, 04:47 PM
Amos came in January and if you add his minutes he’s played about 3 games worth since he arrived.

I’m not convinced yet. Don’t think Boyle smashing the ball off his face from about 2 yards helped either yesterday but just was hardly involved in a gash midfield we have.

21-07-2024, 04:56 PM
What I've seen of Amos hasn't impressed me in any way and I thought yesterday he was pretty poor tbh, but early days in terms of actual appearances so probably best to wait another 3 or 4 games before I can confirm that he's pish, he could still surprise me. I hope he does anyway.

andrew70
21-07-2024, 09:56 PM

Amos isn’t a holding midfielder. Levitt is a good player but his confidence is shot. Often takes a touch too many but when he moves quickly his output improves.

We played a 433 yesterday with an interchangeable midfield as Gray prefers. It started well enough but very quickly the attitude and desire was lower than what we’ve seen in our first two group matches.

Only the players can answer why but to change the whole core of a successful team albeit against feeble opposition was stupidity.

Gray will carry the can but the replacements proved themselves not good enough. Again.

Two or three changes and we’d have come through comfortably but six was naive.

22-07-2024, 07:17 PM

Can’t see Cadden playing there purely cos he cannae defend.

24-07-2024, 12:06 PM
Signing for Dundee Utd. Dunno if loan or permanent.

MagicSwirlingShip
24-07-2024, 12:13 PM

#sadface

24-07-2024, 12:15 PM
No point in keeping him round if he’s not going to play.

I’m not the biggest fan of Miller but I think he’s still probably a bit ahead of Megwa and you’ve got Cadden who can play there as well.

24-07-2024, 12:29 PM
I'm with the poster on the previous page who reckons Megwa's positional sense & decision making will be found out at Scottish Premier League level. That's not to say he can't develop these but he's still got a way to go before he'd be a first pick imo

24-07-2024, 12:29 PM
I would've rathered we tried to use him as a makeweight for a player we wanted to sign.

He's one of the few players that we can afford to lose who actually seems to be in demand.

24-07-2024, 02:26 PM
Glenn Middleton and Tony Watt would they be any good ?

24-07-2024, 02:35 PM
Glenn Middleton and Tony Watt would they be any good ?For Hibs?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

ShadesLongThrow
24-07-2024, 02:42 PM
I’m not convinced Megwa is the answer at RB but neither is Miller. He’s very slow and ponderous, always looking for the foul and goes down far too easily. Also picks up far too many bookings without demonstrating that he’s a hard man RB that attackers should be fearful of. Beginning to think his long throw is his one redeeming quality - a bit like the RB we had a few years ago whose name I think was Towell.

24-07-2024, 02:47 PM

Hopefully Cadden is back fit or we’re short at right back again.

24-07-2024, 02:48 PM
If it’s releasing funds to invest toward someone who’ll be able to make a positive contribution to the match day squad then don’t have an issue with it, not seen anything from the lad that would suggest he’ll play a big part in the next season.

K-Zazu
24-07-2024, 02:57 PM
I’m not convinced Megwa is the answer at RB but neither is Miller. He’s very slow and ponderous, always looking for the foul and goes down far too easily. Also picks up far too many bookings without demonstrating that he’s a hard man RB that attackers should be fearful of. Beginning to think his long throw is his one redeeming quality - a bit like the RB we had a few years ago whose name I think was Towell.

Miller doesn’t contribute any assists either, don’t think he has an assist for us yet.

EGL2000
24-07-2024, 03:08 PM

I actually quite like miller, does do my head in how often he goes down looking for fouls. But he is solid physically and has shown that. I think if he upped his consistency he'd be a real good player.

EGL2000
24-07-2024, 03:10 PM
Miller doesn’t contribute any assists either, don’t think he has an assist for us yet.

2 goals and 1 assist last season.

24-07-2024, 03:36 PM
https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1816132771758399524?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Scott burns saying nothing in it

I expect an announcement any second

McGruber
24-07-2024, 03:49 PM
It's probably Whittaker coming up behind him more so than Cadden and Miller in front of him. Whittaker does look the better prospect IMO

24-07-2024, 03:53 PM

Checked again with guy who told me, dud information, his best mate works at Utd but got his wires crossed somehow! Apologies.

24-07-2024, 03:55 PM
https://x.com/scottburns75/status/1816132771758399524?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Scott burns saying nothing in it

I expect an announcement any second
Aberdeen are going to beat us to the singing of our own player

Rumble de Thump
24-07-2024, 03:55 PM
A Dundee United fan saw a black player training with Dundee United and incorrectly guessed it was Megwa. Megwa isn't going anywhere as things stand. I think quite a lot of Championship teams would love to take him on loan this season, though.

24-07-2024, 04:14 PM
A Dundee United fan saw a black player training with Dundee United and incorrectly guessed it was Megwa. Megwa isn't going anywhere as things stand. I think quite a lot of Championship teams would love to take him on loan this season, though.

If Megwa goes on loan, that would effectively be the end for him at Hibs IMO. At his age, especially when we’re not up to much, if he can’t force his way in he’s not going to for me.

24-07-2024, 04:18 PM
If Megwa goes on loan, that would effectively be the end for him at Hibs IMO. At his age, especially when we’re not up to much, if he can’t force his way in he’s not going to for me.He only just turned 20 - plenty time to develop into a Hibs first teamer

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

24-07-2024, 04:19 PM
If Megwa goes on loan, that would effectively be the end for him at Hibs IMO. At his age, especially when we’re not up to much, if he can’t force his way in he’s not going to for me.

He was one of the best players in the Championship last season so I wouldn't write him off just yet.

24-07-2024, 04:20 PM
He was one of the best players in the Championship last season so I wouldn't write him off just yet.

Far too young to be written off. From what I’ve seen of him over the last couple of years he has potential to be a better player than Miller.

Rumble de Thump
24-07-2024, 04:41 PM

He's already in the Hibs first team.

24-07-2024, 04:46 PM
Starts tonight

MagicSwirlingShip
24-07-2024, 04:48 PM
Good lad! Hope he smashes if

LewysGot2
24-07-2024, 08:27 PM
Got MotM from the sponsors.

24-07-2024, 08:58 PM
Far too young to be written off. From what I’ve seen of him over the last couple of years he has potential to be a better player than Miller.

Not writing him off, just think he’s at an age where he needs to now become a regular. 21 before the end of the season and in the last year of his contract (I think), needs to make the position his.

24-07-2024, 09:07 PM
Glenn Middleton and Tony Watt would they be any good ?

Middleton can **** off, in fact, so can Tony Watt

24-07-2024, 11:04 PM
Got MotM from the sponsors.

I thought he done really well tonight, not afraid to get forward and likes to get stuck in, defensively ok tonight also.

27-10-2024, 01:27 PM
Just not believing he’s not a better right back than miller or Cadden

27-10-2024, 01:29 PM
Just not believing he’s not a better right back than miller or Cadden

Admit thought he didn't cover himself in glory in his cameo in January before going back out on loan again, but there if he can't start ahead of Miller or Cadden now there was no point in giving him that deal.

27-10-2024, 01:30 PM
Admit thought he didn't cover himself in glory in his cameo in January before going back out on loan again, but there if he can't start ahead of Miller or Cadden now there was no point in giving him that deal.

I think he had a really tough first game against rangers and then improved whilst still a bit naive at times

That said, that was his first couple of games.

I think he would have settled in as he’s a good player imo

27-10-2024, 01:42 PM
I think he had a really tough first game against rangers and then improved whilst still a bit naive at times

That said, that was his first couple of games.

I think he would have settled in as he’s a good player imo

I agree. I think a bit more time would have helped him. But like this summer it's always going to be a struggle to justify three right backs in the squad and him needing game time probably meant he was the easier one to sacrifice. We're at the point now where Miller cannot be trusted any longer and Cadden isn't exactly far ahead of him either. Megwa needs a chance again come January.

27-10-2024, 08:18 PM
Watched him against Albion Rovers playing DM position. He was an absolute Rolls Royce - not convinced his future is as a full back.

28-10-2024, 07:06 AM
Watched him against Albion Rovers playing DM position. He was an absolute Rolls Royce - not convinced his future is as a full back.

Correct.

Megwa has made DM his position whilst on his last three loans. Trouble is that Gray seems to want taller players at right back and in midfield.

28-10-2024, 07:17 AM
Correct.

Megwa has made DM his position whilst on his last three loans. Trouble is that Gray seems to want taller players at right back and in midfield.

He played every week at right back for Airdrie and now does the same for Patrick? Not sure he’s played midfield on any of his loans.

28-10-2024, 07:19 AM
Correct.

I think he was in the Partick team on Saturday in the RB position, so he's not getting played as a DM.

28-10-2024, 07:30 AM
Too wee in my humble opinion at right back not been impressed when he has played there for us

Rory Whittaker looks a better prospect but still a wee bit away development wise

Looked good preseason ( filled out ) but currently warming the bench on loan

Not quoted for Spartans Saturday in the Scottish maybes Hibs looking to save him

Would not rule out Megwa as a midfield option

HIBS NUTS
28-10-2024, 07:30 AM
He plays every week at right back for thistle, and at Airdrie.
He played at centrehalf or right back, for the under 18, and was actually really good at centrehalf, he’s decent in the air.

28-10-2024, 12:39 PM
Too wee in my humble opinion at right back not been impressed when he has played there for us

Rory Whittaker looks a better prospect but still a wee bit away development wise

Not quoted for Spartans Saturday in the Scottish maybes Hibs looking to save him

He’s the same height as SDG

28-10-2024, 01:39 PM
He’s the same height as SDG

Naw he’s no

SDG 1.8m Megwa 1.79m :greengrin

28-10-2024, 02:11 PM
Naw he’s no

But SDG is shrinking by the week nowadays.

HIBS NUTS
28-10-2024, 02:45 PM

Rory is back playing for hibs under 18.
he played central midfield in game against Dunfermline

28-10-2024, 03:20 PM
I think he was in the Partick team on Saturday in the RB position, so he's not getting played as a DM.

Certainly played right back for Airdrie

28-10-2024, 04:05 PM

👍

28-10-2024, 08:22 PM
Naw he’s no

:greengrin I did think about posting the exact heights but for a centimetre I couldn’t be arsed :greengrin

Houston7
28-10-2024, 08:33 PM
Certainly played right back for Airdrie

I think he played Right Wing Back for Airdrie v Partick in playoffs. A Thistle supporting neighbour was raving about him & now, of course, he’s on loan there.

28-10-2024, 08:37 PM
The fact that he can play on both sides as full back and that we have little competition for both LB and RB made the decision to put Megwa out on loan a bit of a surprising one for me.

28-10-2024, 08:40 PM
I've never seen Megwa play and think he'd be a great option for us anywhere on the park.

Although he cant be any worse than that carthorse we had at full back yesterday.

28-10-2024, 08:47 PM
The fact that he can play on both sides as full back and that we have little competition for both LB and RB made the decision to put Megwa out on loan a bit of a surprising one for me.

He can't play left back. He was dreadful there against Kelty.

Daydreamer
28-10-2024, 08:47 PM

Has his loan spell with Spartans been cut short as he has been on the bench before Saturday most games?

28-10-2024, 09:00 PM
Has his loan spell with Spartans been cut short as he has been on the bench before Saturday most games?

I'm guessing it's a development loan, which used to mean they played for their loan club and available for Hibs 18's and reserves.

29-10-2024, 06:28 AM
:greengrin I did think about posting the exact heights but for a centimetre I couldn’t be arsed :greengrin

In fairness I last saw Megwa at right back at ER in a League Cup tie a year ago and he still had some growing to do hopefully he continues to develop physically and as a player

29-10-2024, 06:44 AM
In fairness I last saw Megwa at right back at ER in a League Cup tie a year ago and he still had some growing to do hopefully he continues to develop physically and as a player

I've seen him playa couple of times. Rumours of his height are being greatly exaggerated. He wasn't ready to play first team football at Hibs last season, I hope that has changed because we need a right back.

I checked through Thistle's line up for this season. He's been listed at right back, or as right wing back when they play a three in defence (league games).

29-10-2024, 06:47 AM
I'm going to Dunfermline v Partick on Saturday and I'll report back 👍

29-10-2024, 07:19 AM
I've seen him playa couple of times. Rumours of his height are being greatly exaggerated. He wasn't ready to play first team football at Hibs last season, I hope that has changed because we need a right back.

I checked through Thistle's line up for this season. He's been listed at right back, or as right wing back when they play a three in defence (league games).

👍

Defo need a right back

Had my fill of Miller’s histrionics getting caught out of position and falling over at the slightest touch

I like young Whittaker reminds me of a young John Brownlie but maybe too soon especially if we are in a relegation dogfight

Have not ruled Megwa out completely

29-10-2024, 09:04 AM
👍

Defo need a right back

Had my fill of Miller’s histrionics getting caught out of position and falling over at the slightest touch

I like young Whittaker reminds of a young John Brownlie but maybe too soon especially if we are in a relegation dogfight

Have not ruled Megwa out completely

Yes, agreed. I have lost faith in Miller and Cadden isn't a strong option either.

Megwa is 20, 21 next March. He needs to be making an impression soon. At least he is getting good experience at Championship level.

HIBS NUTS
29-10-2024, 02:00 PM
He was brought on with 3 minutes to go , for a very bad Spartans team, a few weeks ago, I haven’t seen him in the squad since.
I believe, the move wasent meeting anyone’s expectations.
Especially a young player needing game time.

02-11-2024, 06:26 PM
Saw him today at Dunfermline. Worryingly slack first half, up against very little but his passing was poor. Really good in 2nd half, solid and cool in possession. He's not the answer yet though.