View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Queen's Park

Pages : 1 [2]

16-07-2024, 08:00 PM
Not sure either are sitters, good chances though.

Not sure either are sitters, good chances though.The first one is! Second is tougher.

Two matches in a row we score on the stroke of half time. Very encouraging.

Paul1642
I think we’re looking better here than we did against Elgin, even if you disregard quality of opposition. This could easily be 5 nil by now.

Don't mind Vente missing chances, he's between the posts getting on the end of things the goals will come.Totally agree, actually encouraging he's there. Last season he's probably not in the box

Paulie Walnuts
16-07-2024, 08:02 PM
I wonder if people will begin to accept that the players we have are nowhere near as bad as Montgomery was making them look?

Realise it’s lower league teams, but I’ve no doubt at all that Montgomery would have struggled if he was still here.

16-07-2024, 08:03 PM
Seagulls are happy to be back.

16-07-2024, 08:03 PM
More or less the same players but this is night and day from what we were subjected to under Monty.

Rumble de Thump
16-07-2024, 08:04 PM
Too many seagulls.

If we add 3 or 4 new players - who are either starters or give us good depth this team will challenge for top 4. My worry is the lack of depth off the bench / injuries / suspensions.

Aw naw is he changing the CB’s?

16-07-2024, 08:05 PM
Get Youan on!!

Rocky and megwa on

O'hora and Miller off.

Another good performance from Millsy.

16-07-2024, 08:06 PM
Not sure either are sitters, good chances though.

Maybe not sitters but should be hitting the target at leas, main thing is he's getting chances.

HendoDelivered
Rocky and megwa on

O'hora and Miller off.

Sensible subs

Get Youan on!!

He's obviously away

16-07-2024, 08:07 PM
I wonder if people will begin to accept that the players we have are nowhere near as bad as Montgomery was making them look?

Realise it’s lower league teams, but I’ve no doubt at all that Montgomery would have struggled if he was still here.

Or LJ, or Maloney, or Ross Jack 😁

16-07-2024, 08:08 PM
He's obviously away

Think he wants Vente to score and give Rudi more mins too.

Would take Boyle off and play him on right.

He's obviously away

Can we finish selling him then?

He's obviously away

He’s just about to come on.

16-07-2024, 08:09 PM
What’s happened to McKirdy ? Scored in Preseason then never seen ?

Wull
16-07-2024, 08:09 PM
Just a quick question, where is Cliff?

16-07-2024, 08:10 PM
Youan / Levitt and Amos on.

MNW / Vente and Rudi Rudi Rudi off

Hibee Daft
He's obviously away

👀

He’s just about to come on.Yasss!

Think they're taking their time easing him back in after the operation, hope it's not a major setback though.

16-07-2024, 08:11 PM
He’s just about to come on.

Good. I'd like him to stay.

Or LJ, or Maloney, or Ross Jack 😁

Jack Ross is in a different league to those jokers. Not everybody's "cup of tea" but extremely unfair to compare him to Montgomery or Johnson in particular.

*Maloney, as rookie manager with no league experience, was way out of his depth and should never have been appointed.

ElginHibbie
Campbell basically playing as our striker does show where the priority for a signing is anyway!

1875Sean
Josh Campbell playing upfront!

Be nice to get a goal this half…

Queens still not had a shot on goal or got anywhere close to our goal.

badabing67
16-07-2024, 08:12 PM
He's obviously awayJair can't get on, wonder if he'll be away

16-07-2024, 08:12 PM
Amos has a fair wee turn of pace

16-07-2024, 08:13 PM
Think they're taking their time easing him back in after the operation, hope it's not a major setback though.

Has he had another op ?

16-07-2024, 08:13 PM
Jair can't get on, wonder if he'll be away

Maybe just making up the numbers on the bench

16-07-2024, 08:14 PM

Sdg said he should be good for Saturday.

ElginHibbie
16-07-2024, 08:15 PM
Has he had another op ?

Think his recovery had been a bit mismanaged, sure Sir David said could make appearance at weekend

16-07-2024, 08:15 PM
Rocky booked

ElginHibbie
16-07-2024, 08:16 PM
Lovely link up from Youan and Levitt

16-07-2024, 08:17 PM
Great goal that.

Nice footwork by Youan

HendoDelivered
What a finish

hibeez1875
We know he can do that...

Off the bar
Lovely

Saw Molotnikov at Villa Park last season when he got 15 minutes or so and I liked what I saw. His first contribution was this:

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/dFFvm9KdZivFTJeB/

Levitt can hit them like.

Lovely goal

Beautiful goal Levitt

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Subs show the lack of depth we have..

Campbell up front ??! Nah..come on Hibs sign some proper strikers.

Levitt 4-0 - nice finish from edge of box. Youan assist.

(Yes that contradicts the point - but we need more depth).

16-07-2024, 08:18 PM
Oh that is sublime from Levitt

That's a lovely goal from Levitt

Great goal.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

badabing67
Nice one Levitt

Paul1642
Lovely goal

What a goal by Levitt, get him playing higher up the pitch.

Easy to say now he's scored but been impressed with Levitt since he's come on. Nice touches and passes. And a great strike there for the 4th

There is definitely a player in Levitt. Really hope Gray can bring him on as he could be a real asset.

we want fivewe want five

Donegal Hibby
16-07-2024, 08:19 PM
Great finish by Levitt

16-07-2024, 08:19 PM
Quality strike 👏

16-07-2024, 08:20 PM
A keeper that comes for crosses! A rarity for us

alhibby
16-07-2024, 08:20 PM
BBC Radio Scotland seem devastated that Hibs are doing well. They actually seem annoyed with Queens Park.

Disagree, RS commentary team very complimentary

16-07-2024, 08:21 PM
I'm surprised we've kept Boyle on..thought we would give him a bit of a rest considering he was still playing nearly mid June and had less of a break than the others.

What a goal that would have been, youan off the post.

ElginHibbie
Youan trying to prove a point here almost scoring goal of the season

I'm surprised we've kept Boyle on..thought we would give him a bit of a rest considering he was still playing nearly mid June and had less of a break than the others.Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkI'm sure Jair will come on for him last 10

Boyle 5 now.

A keeper that comes for crosses! A rarity for us

So far so good.

Want to see him save some shots (but at same time happy he’s not having too!)

And folk want rid of Youan? He's so ****ing good

HendoDelivered
16-07-2024, 08:22 PM
Youan is a joke

Youan trying to prove a point here almost scoring goal of the season

If this is him not interested…

Very good effort by Youan there. Would've been a brilliant goal.

Off the bar
Easy easy

10 goals in our first 2 competitive games. What’s happening :greengrin

Boyle 5 now.

They grow up so quickly

So far so good.

Want to see him save some shots (but at same time happy he’s not having too!)

😂 get what you mean

There was about 4 times when he had the ball he should have played it to someone else but he goes and hits the post

Well worked goal. The passing and running off the ball is superb

Omg Elie Youan I’m gonna miss you x

unlucky Elie

Ten goals in our first two competitive games.

Youan is the kind of player you just love to watch when it clicks - unplayable. Nearly a goal of the season finish.

16-07-2024, 08:23 PM
5 Boyle, this is so easy on the eye, players look so much better.

Another good ball from campbell

3 assists for Campbell

They grow up so quickly

Lmao

Campbell hat trick of assists

we want six we want six

A very decent result

hibeez1875
Five again. Love how we’re keeping at them, going for more goals.

Its just so slick. Love it

Never wanted a manager to succeed so much before. Cmon SDG

16-07-2024, 08:24 PM
That was class from Youan, so unlucky.

We’ve battered them here, expected a tougher game.

16-07-2024, 08:24 PM
10 goals in our first 2 competitive games. What’s happening :greengrin

I’ve actually been really impressed how few opportunities we have given the opposition.

Long may this continue.

16-07-2024, 08:25 PM
I think a few said we had a decent squad and the players were a lot better than bottom 6, maybe just maybe with better coaching and organisation we might not need loads to be added to the squad.

Campbell hat trick of assists

Classic hibs.net..

All week Campbell can’t pass..next game..3 assists.

This is an absolute joy to watch..

Smashing teams all over the place. Yet to concede a goal. We're winning the lot.

16-07-2024, 08:26 PM
I’ve actually been really impressed how few opportunities we have given the opposition.

Long may this continue.

Less needless side and back passes on show, ball getting moved forward quickly.

Paul1642
16-07-2024, 08:26 PM

Long may this continue.

It’s not just a clean sheet (so far at least). I can’t think of them having any real chances at all. It’s no coincidence that our defence suddenly looking solid has given the rest of the team more confidence to have a go.

16-07-2024, 08:27 PM
We have had loads of shots, should have been double figures really.

16-07-2024, 08:28 PM
Amos hits the posh seats in the FF

16-07-2024, 08:29 PM
We have had loads of shots, should have been double figures really.

Hahahaha yaaas

Love that

Should be double figures, gray out for me

16-07-2024, 08:29 PM
It's passes like that from Levitt that always makes me wonder. Little pressure and he just fires a first time ball aimlessly back into the middle of the pitch to the opposition. Needs to cut that out

Up-the-slope
16-07-2024, 08:30 PM
Classic hibs.net..All week Campbell can’t pass..next game..3 assists.and some will claim hes read .net and his assists are down to him wanting to prove posters wrong

Calidad
16-07-2024, 08:31 PM
Classic hibs.net..

All week Campbell can’t pass..next game..3 assists.

Let’s be realistic. He massively needs to improve his passing game. He regularly concedes possession, especially when pressed and struggles to pull off perfectly makable passes. We’ve seen that since he’s come into the first team. 3 assists against QP doesn’t change that.

Paul1642
16-07-2024, 08:32 PM
I really don’t want to be negative on what has been a 10/10 performance but we just don’t look as safe at the back since Rocky came on.

16-07-2024, 08:32 PM
Let’s be realistic. He massively needs to improve his passing game. He regularly concedes possession, especially when pressed and struggles to pull of perfectly makable passes. We’ve seen that since he’s come into the first team. 3 assists against QP doesn’t change that.

Oh go away for 1 night. We’re 5-0 up.

16-07-2024, 08:33 PM
I really don’t want to be negative on what has been a 10/10 performance but we just don’t look as safe at the back since Rocky came on.

Na that’s fine it’s just because Rocky isn’t as good as the CB he’s replaced

16-07-2024, 08:33 PM
Oh go away for 1 night. We’re 5-0 up.

Absolutely

16-07-2024, 08:34 PM
Best thing about the 2 games so far for me is that we look like we want to win games rather than hoping to. Players taking responsibility, wanting to make things happen and playing with much more purpose than before.

16-07-2024, 08:35 PM
4795 here

ElginHibbie
16-07-2024, 08:36 PM
4795, about the normal for league cup group matches

Hibees1973
16-07-2024, 08:38 PM
Think Youan has given the ball away 5 times since he came on.

16-07-2024, 08:39 PM
Hope Youan's ok.

16-07-2024, 08:39 PM
Let’s be realistic. He massively needs to improve his passing game. He regularly concedes possession, especially when pressed and struggles to pull off perfectly makable passes. We’ve seen that since he’s come into the first team. 3 assists against QP doesn’t change that.

What motivates someone to post this during a game we are winning 5-0?

Hibeesforever
16-07-2024, 08:40 PM

Fine against QP but not premier opposition...

What motivates someone to post this during a game we are winning 5-0?

Impotence

Think Youan has given the ball away 5 times since he came on.Anyone might think it’s his first competitive outing.

HendoDelivered
16-07-2024, 08:41 PM
5-1

What are Queen's Park doing?! They've just killed themselves as a club.

Booooooo

Mcbizz1998
I’m pissed we didn’t keep the clean sheet tbh.

Go and post something positive about Hibs please

16-07-2024, 08:42 PM
had to happen :(

ElginHibbie
Gray out

QPK commit suicide by making it 5-1

SDG will be fuming at us conceding there and the manner of the goal

Silky
Fine against QP but not premier opposition...

So,may as well don't now. Get it out the system.

16-07-2024, 08:43 PM

That’s actually not bad going for Elie 🤣

Shocking defending.

Gray out!

😊

That was a really crap goal to give away.Levitt turning his back - keeper could have done better.Defensively since subs have come on Rocky has just made us look shaky plus the lack of a CDM is still an issue.Lots of positives tonight but we need to still sign players or we will lose goals like we did at the end.Watford game will be interesting - Elgin and QP have been pretty woeful so hard to tell defensively how much we have improved.

16-07-2024, 08:44 PM
Thank ****, Queen’s Park finally dead as a club 🙏

16-07-2024, 08:44 PM
I’m not convinced about Rocky being the quality required as a back up

16-07-2024, 08:45 PM
Keeper was raging about losing the goal. Love to see it.

Mcbizz1998
16-07-2024, 08:45 PM
That was a really crap goal to give away.Levitt turning his back - keeper could have done better.Defensively since subs have come on Rocky has just made us look shaky plus the lack of a CDM is still an issue.Lots of positives tonight but we need to still sign players or we will lose goals like we did at the end.Agree. Poor goal to lose. After a great 90 mins we showed we can revert back to last seasons garbage. No surprises it happened when Bushiri was on the park. Anyway, plenty of signings to be made over next few weeks I would hope and a really positive start to our LC group. Well done Sir David Gray!

16-07-2024, 08:46 PM
I’m not convinced about Rocky being the quality required as a back upHe's back up at most - came on..got a yellow - got in the way of a back pass clearance - dodgy header from corner and stayed deep when we lost the goal.

Hibees1973
Go and post something positive about Hibs pleaseOK, we've scored 10 goals against a couple of minnows.

You must be raging he did so well and we won.

Mcbizz1998
16-07-2024, 08:48 PM
OK, we've scored 10 goals against a couple of minnows.Almost managed it there. 😂

Calidad
16-07-2024, 08:49 PM
You must be raging he did so well and we won.

Not remotely. I’d love him to be the answer.

Why are people so precious and defensive? Christ.

16-07-2024, 08:49 PM
I’m not convinced about Rocky being the quality required as a back up

No, we lost our composure at the back a little when he came on. Think we need a fair few more players still.

Hibee Daft
16-07-2024, 08:50 PM
O'Hora and Marvin seem really solid

Like others have said we lost something when Rocky came on. Think he needs to just do.the simple thing and learn from the other two center backs.

16-07-2024, 08:52 PM
OK, we've scored 10 goals against a couple of minnows.

Continuing your relentless march against all things positive about our club, it’s almost impressive.

Mcbizz1998
16-07-2024, 08:52 PM
O'Hora and Marvin seem really solid Like others have said we lost something when Rocky came on. Think he needs to just do.the simple thing and learn from the other two center backs.Think he needs to be moved on tbh. He’s never been good enough and unlikely to ever be.

Bridge hibs
16-07-2024, 08:53 PM
Not remotely. I’d love him to be the answer.

Christ.Nope, he wasnt even on the bench

16-07-2024, 08:54 PM
Good result, 5 goals, lots of chances, solid defensively until the last 10 minutes which Gray will stress and work on but that’s after subs and down to 10 men last minute. It’s been a solid pre-season and great start. Players to come in too - very positive and love the way we are now set up. Very aggressive and forward thinking in our play.

16-07-2024, 08:55 PM
Nope, he wasnt even on the bench

Plus he's not very good with cros- nah I'm not even finishing that joke sorry

16-07-2024, 08:56 PM
Very impressive performance . Great to see us trying to play entertaining football and often succeeding . We all know we`ll be playing stronger teams once the league starts but so far so good in LC matches .

Victor
16-07-2024, 09:01 PM
That was a good workout. Good result. Got 5 subs on so helps players improve their match fitness. Good night all round.

Bridge hibs
16-07-2024, 09:02 PM
Plus he's not very good with cros- nah I'm not even finishing that joke sorry

Och you were nailing it there tae

16-07-2024, 09:02 PM
Hibs were excellent tonight.

Silky
16-07-2024, 09:04 PM
Och you were nailing it there tae

Somebody had to resurrect that one!

16-07-2024, 09:06 PM
The team that started tonight were strong. Our quality was lacking in the subs, specifically Rocky, Levitt and to an extent, Youan. Although he done the right things in the final 3rd, his defending and decision making was lazy. Amos and Megwa were quietly effective.

16-07-2024, 09:07 PM
Just finished work, decent enough result and hopefully highlights get uploaded tonight.

16-07-2024, 09:08 PM
Another solid performance, I was hoping Queens Park would have tested us a bit more to see how we could handle it but I'm not going to complain. I'm really happy for Rudi, it's been a while since we had an exciting youngster make an impact like that.

16-07-2024, 09:10 PM
Did anybody else hear Craigan say there was interest in Jair from other clubs? Wow...

Northern Hibby
16-07-2024, 09:11 PM
Quality tweet from Mrs Boyle

https://x.com/RachBoyle23/status/1813292087128842588?s=19

Somebody had to resurrect that one!

He will get crucified for it!

Bridge hibs
Did anybody else hear Craigan say there was interest in Jair from other clubs? Wow...

Yeah I heard that too 😲

16-07-2024, 09:13 PM

The amount of things craigen said in a 90 minute period that made me think “you don’t have a clue what you’re talking about” was incredible

16-07-2024, 09:14 PM
Callum Davidson was raging at his team throughout. Was sat close to him and he wasn’t happy.

Most wholesome moment of the game was NMW giving the ball boy a “thank you” when he threw the ball to him. No idea why it stood out but there you go.

Trinity Hibee
16-07-2024, 09:15 PM
Callum Davidson was raging at his team throughout. Was sat close to him and he wasn’t happy.

Most wholesome moment of the game was NMW giving the ball boy a “thank you” when he threw the ball to him. No idea why it stood out but there you go.

They were talking about the pre match interviews from both managers. Basically said both teams performances mirrored their managers interviews pre match.

Davidson admitted they were awful tonight after the game. SDG said he was very pleased with how the team were looking.

16-07-2024, 09:15 PM
Agree. Poor goal to lose. After a great 90 mins we showed we can revert back to last seasons garbage. No surprises it happened when Bushiri was on the park. Anyway, plenty of signings to be made over next few weeks I would hope and a really positive start to our LC group. Well done Sir David Gray!

Bushiri does a lot of individually good things.

But there’s something about him that just seems to make everyone nervous. We look a lot more uneasy when he plays imo.

O’Hora and Ekpiteta will make mistakes and we’ll still lose poor goals, but overall I think we’ll look a lot more solid and comfortable if what we’re doing.

16-07-2024, 09:17 PM
Nice positive thread 👍

ShadesLongThrow
16-07-2024, 09:17 PM
Rocky coming on just emphasised how good O’Hora is. Even Marv, who was solid until then, looked nervous with Rocky alongside. I wouldn’t be unhappy to lose both Rocky and Youan over the next couple of weeks and replace them with a third centre back and a decent partner for Vente.

16-07-2024, 09:19 PM
OK, we've scored 10 goals against a couple of minnows.

As i thought gutted 😄

H18S NX
16-07-2024, 09:19 PM
Enjoyed that,but does,nt Stuart Lovell ever take a breath,rabit rabit rabit.

16-07-2024, 09:20 PM

What an awful comment to make. Not unexpected from you though. The entertainment he provided after he came on tonight was outstanding. Some fantastic skill on display. But what do you notice and feel the need to post about?

16-07-2024, 09:21 PM
What an awful comment to make. Not unexpected from you though. The entertainment he provided after he came on tonight was outstanding. Some fantastic skill on display. But what do you notice and feel the need to post about?

Best ignored. Should never have survived the last “controversial” comment he made.

16-07-2024, 09:23 PM
Good result, 5 goals, lots of chances, solid defensively until the last 10 minutes which Gray will stress and work on but that’s after subs and down to 10 men last minute. It’s been a solid pre-season and great start. Players to come in too - very positive and love the way we are now set up. Very aggressive and forward thinking in our play.

Undoubtedly an excellent start to the season so everything positive at present particularly when new players to come in. Obviously early days but much better than we all could have hoped for i would have thought

16-07-2024, 09:24 PM
Enjoyed that,but does,nt Stuart Lovell ever take a breath,rabit rabit rabit.

I can't be bothered with Lovell, for an ex-Hibs player he seems spend more time applauding the teams we're playing against and finding fault in the Hibs performances. Much prefer Joelle Murray.

sauzee1989
16-07-2024, 09:24 PM
We looked really comfortable and assured until Rocky came on. Hopefully Youan is okay.

16-07-2024, 09:26 PM
Enjoyed that tonight. Not going to get too excited given the opposition we’ve played but I think the signs are promising. More the attitude than anything. It looks totally different in terms of them wanting to run and get after teams, was noticeable from the first kick in the first friendly against Edinburgh City. At least a couple of the goals came from us winning the ball back high up the park and it was then in the net a couple of passes later.

FastEddieFelson
16-07-2024, 09:27 PM
Might have been posted already, but have we switched dugouts?

JGS56
16-07-2024, 09:28 PM
Might have been posted already, but have we switched dugouts?Yes

16-07-2024, 09:29 PM
A wee word for Levitt’s finish btw. That was top drawer.

gramskiwood
Might have been posted already, but have we switched dugouts?

Yes

I can't be bothered with Lovell, for an ex-Hibs player he seems spend more time applauding the teams we're playing against and finding fault in the Hibs performances. Much prefer Joelle Murray.

No he doesn’t, he’s a very good analyst of the game that’s being played in front of him and wants attacking football and no slackness. And he’s very much a Hibs supporter trust me. He played in a high quality Hibs side and that’s what he wants from anyone who pulls on the shirt 👍

ElginHibbie
16-07-2024, 09:30 PM
Seagulls now giving SDG a hard time, they must be stopped https://x.com/PremSportsTV/status/1813321423907111240

16-07-2024, 09:36 PM
A wee word for Levitt’s finish btw. That was top drawer.

It was. Lovely wee one two before it and a very composed finish.

FastEddieFelson
16-07-2024, 09:37 PM
Yes
What's the story here? Have we ever used that dugout? Or is this just something Gray has fancied doing?

Perhaps this needs a thread of its own.

16-07-2024, 09:41 PM
No he doesn’t, he’s a very good analyst of the game that’s being played in front of him and wants attacking football and no slackness. And he’s very much a Hibs supporter trust me. He played in a high quality Hibs side and that’s what he wants from anyone who pulls on the shirt 👍

We'll just have to agree to disagree then.

16-07-2024, 09:41 PM
Enjoyed that. Block 7 were outstanding. Presumably standing outside somewhere but it's their best performance for ages. Like the look of the 2 centre half's. Boyler has his mojo back . Campbell was brilliant and only the one misplaced pass.Vente & Youan unlucky not to score but Rudi was the MOM. Nae queues for the bogs and a quiet walk up the road. Looking forward to Saturday too.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

16-07-2024, 09:43 PM
Enjoyed that. Block 7 were outstanding. Presumably standing outside somewhere but it's their best performance for ages. Like the look of the 2 centre half's. Boyler has his mojo back . Campbell was brilliant and only the one misplaced pass.Vente & Youan unlucky not to score but Rudi was the MOM. Nae queues for the bogs and a quiet walk up the road. Looking forward to Saturday too.

In all seriousness I have not enjoyed a game as much in a long time because of no drummers in either support.

Stairway 2 7
Different class in first two games so professional. A few more signings and we'll have a cracking team

What's the story here? Have we ever used that dugout? Or is this just something Gray has fancied doing?

Perhaps this needs a thread of its own.That was the dug out side for decades. Glad to see us back. Mind you there'll be a few upset as they enjoy winding up the opposition manager.....

16-07-2024, 09:46 PM
That was the dug out side for decades. Glad to see us back. Mind you there'll be a few upset as they enjoy winding up the opposition manager.....Sent from my SM-G990B using TapatalkWas the home dugout going down the slope back in the day

inglisavhibs
16-07-2024, 09:51 PM
We looked really comfortable and assured until Rocky came on. Hopefully Youan is okay.It's absolutely relentless on here regarding certain players. For anybody not at the match, Rocky was absolutely fine when he came on.

16-07-2024, 09:52 PM
It's absolutely relentless on here regarding certain players. For anybody not at the match, Rocky was absolutely fine when he came on.

We lost something at the back when he came on. We weren’t quite as composed.

16-07-2024, 09:55 PM
O'Hora is a fantastic upgrade at CB

Plays passes with conviction, no nonsense, talks his way through the game

Rocky could learn from him

16-07-2024, 09:58 PM
We lost something at the back when he came on. We weren’t quite as composed.

Do you think that's totally on Rocky though? It's sometimes the way when you make a few changes to the back line when 4 or 5 up.

I get that there were one or two collective moments of slackness that weren't there before but I didn't think he did that badly at all and I wouldn't really want to read too much into it.

Mcbizz1998
It's absolutely relentless on here regarding certain players. For anybody not at the match, Rocky was absolutely fine when he came on.Yeah I guess he was fine. But we lost all composure at the back.

Not sure what Rocky did wrong, looked assured tonight

16-07-2024, 10:00 PM
Do you think that's totally on Rocky though? It's sometimes the way when you make a few changes to the back line when 4 or 5 up.

I get that there were one or two collective moments of slackness that weren't there before but I didn't think he did that badly at all and I wouldn't really want to read too much into it.

To some degree, yes. Rocky can be a little unpredictable and isn’t as vocal as O’Hora was and I think that has an effect on the back line.

That’s not a judgment from just one game by the way, but pretty much from his time at the club.

Mrimbetween
16-07-2024, 10:04 PM
Happy with that let the run go wild, SDG is doing a grand job

16-07-2024, 10:33 PM
Highlights are available on youtube now, looked like it could have been more than 5 with the chances missed, lovely 4th goal, Vente will be very disappointed with his second headed chance.

Yes it's only Elgin and Queens Park but very impressed so far with the start SDG and his team have done.

linlithgowhibbie
16-07-2024, 10:39 PM
We looked really comfortable and assured until Rocky came on. Hopefully Youan is okay.Megwa came on at the same time yet Rocky being on gets the blame!

16-07-2024, 10:44 PM
To some degree, yes. Rocky can be a little unpredictable and isn’t as vocal as O’Hora was and I think that has an effect on the back line.

That’s not a judgment from just one game by the way, but pretty much from his time at the club.

Fair enough.

I reckon Rocky would benefit from being in a back 4 alongside a vocal O'Hora at some point, although I've been very impressed by big Marv so far, very impressed indeed tbh.

16-07-2024, 10:49 PM
Megwa came on at the same time yet Rocky being on gets the blame!

Because Rocky’s got history for it?

16-07-2024, 10:57 PM
Fair enough.

I reckon Rocky would benefit from being in a back 4 alongside a vocal O'Hora at some point, although I've been very impressed by big Marv so far, very impressed indeed tbh.

He had that in Porteous and the problem still persisted. I’m just not convinced that hes ever going to iron out the issues that he really needs to.

17-07-2024, 12:12 AM
If nothing else this is a Hibs team doing what it's supposed to do against teams from the leagues below it, and that is a positive.Considering QP won their first game 5 - 0 I was surprised by how poor they were. Even though they scored they never really laid a glove on us. Because of that it's hard to judge just how much we have or haven't improved ..... It was nice to watch tonight ( seagulls notwithstanding ) but I can't help thinking we need a few more first team ready signings. Especially a striker.

17-07-2024, 02:06 AM
Not sure what Rocky did wrong, looked assured tonight

He did nothing wrong some people desperate to target him for some reason

17-07-2024, 04:24 AM
We’ve made heavy weather of these games in the past so it is encouraging to start so dominantly. I’d like to see us take maximum points from these fixtures,

I think the key for us is really turning over bottom half SPL teams and competing in the derbies. We look better set out to do this but we still
need more signings.

17-07-2024, 04:32 AM
He did nothing wrong some people desperate to target him for some reason

I love the way Rocky bravely strides forward and pushes us over the half way line. He's a threat in the opposition box too. His second pass forward was a spectacular ball through the QP midfield up to Youan? on the left wing.

As Baldy and others have said, he was perfectly fine. Our Head Coach and Captain have given every player a clean slate this season and the more support they get from us, the better they will perform.

Elie's trickery, forward run and shot from distance was sublime. Merited a goal all day long. I don't care a jot that he can't tackle a fish supper as long as he entertains like that.

Campbell put in a great shift, what an engine the guy has. Like Rudi, he bleeds green.

17-07-2024, 04:47 AM
I love the way Rocky bravely strides forward and pushes us over the half way line. He's a threat in the opposition box too. His second pass forward was a spectacular ball through the QP midfield up to Youan? on the left wing.

As Baldy and others have said, he was perfectly fine. Our Head Coach and Captain have given every player a clean slate this season and the more support they get from us, the better they will perform.

Elie's trickery, forward run and shot from distance was sublime. Merited a goal all day long. I don't care a jot that he can't tackle a fish supper as long as he entertains like that.

Campbell put in a great shift, what an engine the guy has. Like Rudi, he bleeds green.

I just don’t see Rocky as a threat in the opposition box at all.

Both O’Hora and Ekpiteta have played 2 competitive games for us and already have more goals than Rocky!

17-07-2024, 05:42 AM
Our attitude to these games has been spot on. There will obviously be far tougher tests to come but I like what Gray is doing do far.

17-07-2024, 05:46 AM
I think a few said we had a decent squad and the players were a lot better than bottom 6, maybe just maybe with better coaching and organisation we might not need loads to be added to the squad.

No doubt about that in my opinion. We do require a couple more signings but we don't need a massive rebuild. We have some very talented players here.

17-07-2024, 06:27 AM
Rocky did nothing wrong when he came on but must admit he even made me feel nervous

Cannot be easy for the guy with two new recruits coming in above him in the pecking order and half the Stadium expecting an error every time the ball goes near him

I felt he had zero understanding with the new goalie but that will come

There was one incident when a loose ball in the box broke to the Spiders striker and Rocky managed to get a foot in and boot it clear

A long hard season lies ahead and if Rocky survives the transfer window and is still here we are going to need him

He is in the right hands here as I am sure SDG knows him inside out and knows his strengths and can work on his weaknesses

17-07-2024, 06:29 AM

Both O’Hora and Ekpiteta have played 2 competitive games for us and already have more goals than Rocky!

Rockys biggest failings for me have been a failure to score from set pieces and the occasional clanger.

As you can maybe guess I really like him and think he’s a real athlete and a pretty good passer of the ball.

17-07-2024, 06:34 AM
He had that in Porteous and the problem still persisted. I’m just not convinced that hes ever going to iron out the issues that he really needs to.

Porto made more mistakes than Rocky

17-07-2024, 06:57 AM
Scored 17, Conceded 1 That's a not bad record for our first five games, regardless of the opposition. I'm starting feel a bit more positive about the upcoming season... we might even make the top six ;-)

DIXIHIBS
17-07-2024, 07:04 AM
Well done last night Hibs. Played well and with a confidence that has been lacking for quite a while. Usual caveats about the opposition etc but a promising start for SDG. As a wee aside to any hertz looking in.... congratulations on your thread on keekback about Hibs.net reaching an impressive 300...yes 300 pages.

17-07-2024, 07:31 AM
No doubt about that in my opinion. We do require a couple more signings but we don't need a massive rebuild. We have some very talented players here.

It’s early but my view of things is SDG has got team selection pretty much spot on and the newcomers look ok.
However, as encouraging as things are just now once the injuries and suspensions take their inevitable toll we could be lightweight in a few areas unless further reinforcements are recruited.
I sincerely hope there are more ins AND outs before the window slams shut.

Mcbizz1998
17-07-2024, 08:41 AM
I just don’t see Rocky as a threat in the opposition box at all.Both O’Hora and Ekpiteta have played 2 competitive games for us and already have more goals than Rocky!You don’t see it because he isn’t. The guy has never scored a senior league goal in his career.

Paulie Walnuts
17-07-2024, 09:14 AM

He’s absolutely not a threat in the opposition box. 70 appearances for Hibs and 0 goals or assists proves that.

17-07-2024, 09:17 AM
Porto made more mistakes than Rocky

Which is kind of my point, Porto looked more solid with another defender next to him. Both are prone to letting their emotions lead their decision making from time to time and you can’t build a solid back line from that. McGregor was frighteningly strong but completely dependable.

TBF both Porteous and Rocky have an element of unpredictability which in my opinion affect the confidence of the whole back line. Both Ekpiteta and O’Hora seem to not have that so far and you can see how that makes for a more solid, settled back line.

17-07-2024, 09:40 AM
Which is kind of my point, Porto looked more solid with another defender next to him. Both are prone to letting their emotions lead their decision making from time to time and you can’t build a solid back line from that. McGregor was frighteningly strong but completely dependable.

TBF both Porteous and Rocky have an element of unpredictability which in my opinion affect the confidence of the whole back line. Both Ekpiteta and O’Hora seem to not have that so far and you can see how that makes for a more solid, settled back line.

OK agree with that

Porto just never learned from his mistakes and is still making them was rash wrong decisions all the time and was impulsive kept getting caught in possession when he should be clearing his lines doing daft things and blaming everyone but himself

When do you see Rocky getting caught in possession or giving away a stupid booking apart from last night which I thought was harsh

Rocky does learn from his mistakes but needs to cut out the high profile ones

At least he has stopped doing the ‘ Porto’ trick of shielding the ball waiting on a touch then falling on the ball and grabbing it forcing the official to make a decision usually in your favour but not always ( Killie away )

Agree on Daz loved him a big handsome dude just like me 😂

17-07-2024, 09:56 AM

We had the tightest defence outwith the Old Firm in back to back seasons when Porteous was here. It’s a lack of ability which makes our defence weaker when Rocky plays, not emotions.

17-07-2024, 10:07 AM
We had the tightest defence outwith the Old Firm in back to back seasons when Porteous was here. It’s a lack of ability which makes our defence weaker when Rocky plays, not emotions.

I don’t think it is lack of ability with Rocky (though his heading needs to improve), it’s entirely mentality. Our last game against Ross County last season summed it up - Simon Murray was looking for a reaction from any of our back line, he got it from Rocky who became a bull in a china shop and we threw the game away. Similarly the derby against Hearts when we conceded the very late goal to Shankland, the pressure was sky high at the end of that game and it was him who made the simple error under pressure.

Porto, IMO, has an ego he needs to keep in check. When he first broke into the Hibs team, then the Watford team, then the Scotland team he was a small fish in a big pond and his performances were sublime. Soon as he became settled in each you seen elements of bad decision making come into play. He needs someone to keep him in check and as he’s a big character himself, that in itself is no small task.

Yesterday was a game when Rocky didn’t do much wrong, but you could just sense that the understanding and bulletproof confidence that the back line had cracked a little. It’s harsh, but you always just sense that bit of nervousness when he’s on the pitch. For that reason I’d have retained Hanlon for this coming season.

17-07-2024, 10:12 AM
Rocky is good striding out of defence but the problem is that nobody knows what he's going to do next. And his concentration isn't great. Ekpiteta looks steadier, not as good on the ball but hopefully more reliable and a far better header of the ball.

17-07-2024, 10:16 AM
I know it looks and feels like I’ve got a vendetta against him but I thought Vente was back to being very poor last night. First half he was completely invisible, didn’t get goal side of his defender, didn’t find space, and second half he absolutely should have finished at least one of his two chances or at least got one on target. I just don’t see the desire to do the dirty work that creates chances with him at all nor do I see him as clinical enough to be the “fox in the box” striker people say he is.

The standard of defender was higher than against Elgin and IMO it shows we really need two quality strikers in as when the quality steps up again for the Premiership, we’ve seen what we’re going to get with him which is not a lot.

17-07-2024, 10:19 AM
I know it looks and feels like I’ve got a vendetta against him but I thought Vente was back to being very poor last night. First half he was completely invisible, didn’t get goal side of his defender, didn’t find space, and second half he absolutely should have finished at least one of his two chances or at least got one on target. I just don’t see the desire to do the dirty work that creates chances with him at all nor do I see him as clinical enough to be the “fox in the box” striker people say he is.

The standard of defender was higher than against Elgin and IMO it shows we really need two quality strikers in as when the quality steps up again for the Premiership, we’ve seen what we’re going to get with him which is not a lot.

The good thing for me is that he did actually have a couple of chances last night, even if he didn’t take them. I’ve been very critical of him for not being on the end of anything but he did that last night, finishing was just a wee bit off. If he keeps getting those kinds of opportunities he’ll score plenty.

17-07-2024, 10:19 AM
I don’t think it is lack of ability with Rocky (though his heading needs to improve), it’s entirely mentality. Our last game against Ross County last season summed it up - Simon Murray was looking for a reaction from any of our back line, he got it from Rocky who became a bull in a china shop and we threw the game away. Similarly the derby against Hearts when we conceded the very late goal to Shankland, the pressure was sky high at the end of that game and it was him who made the simple error under pressure. Porto, IMO, has an ego he needs to keep in check. When he first broke into the Hibs team, then the Watford team, then the Scotland team he was a small fish in a big pond and his performances were sublime. Soon as he became settled in each you seen elements of bad decision making come into play. He needs someone to keep him in check and as he’s a big character himself, that in itself is no small task.Yesterday was a game when Rocky didn’t do much wrong, but you could just sense that the understanding and bulletproof confidence that the back line had cracked a little. It’s harsh, but you always just sense that bit of nervousness when he’s on the pitch. For that reason I’d have retained Hanlon for this coming season.Keeping Hanlon is a good shout but would we have signed the other two dudes who so far look to be the future but still early days as still to be properly tested Agree with others Rocky’s heading is weak and his concentration levels and focus seem to fall off a cliff tail end of last season causing me to have doubtsJury still out regarding Vente imho

17-07-2024, 10:20 AM

He got into great positions and had clear cut chances, at least one of which he should have taken. He was where we needed him last night and his contribution was night and day from when Monty was misusing him.

He will score plenty.

17-07-2024, 10:27 AM
The good thing for me is that he did actually have a couple of chances last night, even if he didn’t take them. I’ve been very critical of him for not being on the end of anything but he did that last night, finishing was just a wee bit off. If he keeps getting those kinds of opportunities he’ll score plenty.
Problem is in the top flight those chances will be fewer in quantity and I don’t think he’ll ever be one to score from a half chance, it needs to be put on a plate for him and if he can’t get goal side of a defender, find space, or fashion something for himself it’ll always be slim pickings. If you can’t do that then you absolutely have to score opportunities like he got last night.

It’s not his fault we spent very good money on him and I can only imagine a good wage - if he was a free transfer and the wage of a fringe player then fair enough but as it is, he’s not fulfilling what we needed him to do.

17-07-2024, 11:04 AM
Problem is in the top flight those chances will be fewer in quantity and I don’t think he’ll ever be one to score from a half chance, it needs to be put on a plate for him and if he can’t get goal side of a defender, find space, or fashion something for himself it’ll always be slim pickings. If you can’t do that then you absolutely have to score opportunities like he got last night. It’s not his fault we spent very good money on him and I can only imagine a good wage - if he was a free transfer and the wage of a fringe player then fair enough but as it is, he’s not fulfilling what we needed him to do.5 goals in 29 appearances last year. We've lost Maolida, ALF, Doidge. The end product needs to improve this season no doubt if we are going to persist.I think we do need to persist though. And already signs under the manager that he is getting back into the positions he should be in that is already a positive and should give us an upgrade on last season.

17-07-2024, 11:06 AM
5 goals in 29 appearances last year. We've lost Maolida, ALF, Doidge. The end product needs to improve this season no doubt if we are going to persist.I think we do need to persist though. And already signs under the manager that he is getting back into the positions he should be in that is already a positive and should give us an upgrade on last season.

Fingers crossed. There’s nothing I love more than being proved wrong when I’ve doubted someone. I just think it’d be a big mistake to rely on him coming good and we need two good strikers in.

17-07-2024, 11:17 AM

First half I thought was similar to what we saw a lot of the time last season. No goal threat and very little contribution otherwise.

Second half he should have scored but can live with him missing a chance. As you say, he needs to make sure he keeps getting in to those positions.

Was the one slight disappointment for me last night, I was hoping he’d kick on after Saturday and get another couple on the board to really get some confidence going. Hope he can get back on the scoresheet at the weekend. We do desperately need to get a striker in though.

17-07-2024, 11:29 AM
He got into great positions and had clear cut chances, at least one of which he should have taken. He was where we needed him last night and his contribution was night and day from when Monty was misusing him.He will score plenty.I think he was unlucky with both. He's expecting a more pacey cross for the first and Martin dinks it - so he's up just a bit too early. The second it's clear the keeper will struggle with anything to the left but simply over compensates aiming for the far post. Not his best game but Davidson will have picked him out for attention after Saturday leaving the space for the others to get in and score. Hopefully he'll have a similar scoring run as Jamie McLaren - nothing further out than the penalty spot and mainly in the 6 yd box.

18-07-2024, 04:13 PM
I don’t think it is lack of ability with Rocky (though his heading needs to improve), it’s entirely mentality.

Similarly the derby against Hearts when we conceded the very late goal to Shankland, the pressure was sky high at the end of that game and it was him who made the simple error under pressure

Nope.
He was fouled by squareheid. Me and my group in the East were bang in line when the cheat caught Rocky in the throat just as he was about to head clear.
It wasn't Bushiri that lacked concentration in the last minute but the officials including VAR. However to give Shankland his due he's sneakily fast with that move. And not the first time he's done it in Derby. I'm convinced the grunts practice arm fouling in training.

SickBoy32
19-07-2024, 08:24 AM
Nope.
He was fouled by squareheid. Me and my group in the East were bang in line when the cheat caught Rocky in the throat just as he was about to head clear.
It wasn't Bushiri that lacked concentration in the last minute but the officials including VAR. However to give Shankland his due he's sneakily fast with that move. And not the first time he's done it in Derby. I'm convinced the grunts practice arm foiling in training.

Give it up mate, Bushiri is absolutely mince and a central figure in our recent struggles.

Thankfully we’ve signed two centre halfs who appear to be levels above him, expecting a much improved defensive record this season canny wait 👍

19-07-2024, 08:47 AM
Give it up mate, Bushiri is absolutely mince and a central figure in our recent struggles.

Thankfully we’ve signed two centre halfs who appear to be levels above him, expecting a much improved defensive record this season canny wait 👍

He is not mince and certainly not a central figure in our recent struggles. No player is a central figure in that. Only Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell are the only central figures in that.

Rocky is okay. Not great, not mince.

19-07-2024, 08:52 AM
He is not mince and certainly not a central figure in our recent struggles. No player is a central figure in that. Only Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell are the only central figures in that. Rocky is okay. Not great, not mince.Agreed. Rocky is fine. I don't think he'll be an automatic starter now though. We've improved our defence with the defenders we've shipped out and the ones we've brought in. I'm more than happy with it. On to other areas now.

19-07-2024, 08:55 AM
Agreed. Rocky is fine. I don't think he'll be an automatic starter now though. We've improved our defence with the defenders we've shipped out and the ones we've brought in. I'm more than happy with it. On to other areas now.

Rocky is currently behind a right back for a place at centre back, that’s how little David Gray rates him. He’ll be moved on if we can find anyone to take him off our hands.

19-07-2024, 08:58 AM
Agreed. Rocky is fine. I don't think he'll be an automatic starter now though. We've improved our defence with the defenders we've shipped out and the ones we've brought in. I'm more than happy with it. On to other areas now.If Rocky plays tomorrow and picks up another yellow card don’t let him anywhere near Easter Road for the Peterhead game .

19-07-2024, 09:13 AM
Rocky is currently behind a right back for a place at centre back, that’s how little David Gray rates him. He’ll be moved on if we can find anyone to take him off our hands.

Such a wrong take imo. Back 3 and back 4 are very different things. Kyle Walker plays regularly in a back 3, but would basically never play centre back in a back 2.

19-07-2024, 09:57 AM
Such a wrong take imo. Back 3 and back 4 are very different things. Kyle Walker plays regularly in a back 3, but would basically never play centre back in a back 2.

Rocky is no longer playing in either, that’s how little David Gray rates him.

19-07-2024, 09:59 AM
Rocky is no longer playing in either, that’s how little David Gray rates him.

Who was it that came on at centre back in Tuesday then?

He's 3rd choice. He is getting the minutes of a 3rd choice player.

19-07-2024, 10:49 AM
Not convinced SDG doesn’t rate Rocky ?

I would be worried if I was Harbottle or Kenneh that is not being rated - nada minutes

Would be happy to move Rocky on but if that doesn’t happen we could end up having to rely on him

20-07-2024, 12:45 AM
Not convinced SDG doesn’t rate Rocky ?

I would be worried if I was Harbottle or Kenneh that is not being rated - nada minutes

Would be happy to move Rocky on but if that doesn’t happen we could end up having to rely on him

Of course Harbottle and Kenneh aren’t rated.

As for Rocky, is it not telling that one of SDG’s first forays into the transfer market has been to sign 2 right footed centre backs? He has prioritised getting Rocky out the team.

When Maloney was sacked SDG started Stevenson at centre back and benched Rocky. When LJ was sacked SDG benched Rocky in favour of Hanlon in our key league game against Aberdeen. While SDG has been manager he has pretty much only ever played Rocky through necessity.

If he truly rates Rocky, he has a strange way of showing it.

20-07-2024, 06:05 AM
Of course Harbottle and Kenneh aren’t rated. As for Rocky, is it not telling that one of SDG’s first forays into the transfer market has been to sign 2 right footed centre backs? He has prioritised getting Rocky out the team. When Maloney was sacked SDG started Stevenson at centre back and benched Rocky. When LJ was sacked SDG benched Rocky in favour of Hanlon in our key league game against Aberdeen. While SDG has been manager he has pretty much only ever played Rocky through necessity. If he truly rates Rocky, he has a strange way of showing it.Please read my post I did say I would be happy to move Rocky on but I do feel as things stand just now he is decent back up as he knows the league and the two new guys who look good so far have yet to be tested against top class opposition SDG has to be commended in addressing a glaring problem position for us a no brainer really and has been a problem for us over the last few seasons An own goal by previous Managers and probably cost them their jobs I am all for improving the side and what is best for Hibs Rocky joined us in January 2022 and made 13 appearances and two as a sub in his first season not bad considering he had stiff competition from Porteous Hanlon Daz and Harry Clarke SDG giving him one start Dundee away in a 1-3 defeat The least said about Rocky’s first season the better imho I did not want him to resign but he did improve massively season on season Yes he does make errors usually high profile but not as many as people think he is quick mobile gets about the pitch gives 100% and is a unit He gave me the fear on Tuesday when he came on but looking back did little wrong SDG’s second and third spell in charge last season he started Rocky at Villa left him out of 2-0 Aberdeen away Started him 3-0 Motherwell home and 1-1 Livvy away Not bad for a Manager that doesn’t rate him starting him in 3:4 ? Rocky has his weaknesses heading, concentration and positioning that will need worked on if he stays but in the grand scheme of things I can only think of the two major errors last season that really hurt us Shankland and his assist for Simon Murray in Dingwall Sitting at ER every week I can hear more words of encouragement and support for Rocky and he is becoming something of a cult hero usually from fans watching the game through their fingers Happy if he stays happy if he goes whatever is best for Hibs If we can sign better than Rocky to cover injuries and suspensions even better

20-07-2024, 10:59 AM
Of course Harbottle and Kenneh aren’t rated.

As for Rocky, is it not telling that one of SDG’s first forays into the transfer market has been to sign 2 right footed centre backs? He has prioritised getting Rocky out the team.

When Maloney was sacked SDG started Stevenson at centre back and benched Rocky. When LJ was sacked SDG benched Rocky in favour of Hanlon in our key league game against Aberdeen. While SDG has been manager he has pretty much only ever played Rocky through necessity.

If he truly rates Rocky, he has a strange way of showing it.

Gray was appointed on the basis of knowing every player's strengths and weaknesses and being able to improve each one through better coaching. As Head Coach, he Eddie and Liam will have an improvement plan for Bushiri as they have for the others.

Mackay was appointed to overhaul the squad over the next few windows, ship out those who aren't impacting the first team and fill the glaring gaps that weren't addressed by Ian Gordon and Brian McDermott. So far,with Marshall's help, he's signed two keepers and two centre halves.

Until we have four other centre backs able to cover for injuries and suspensions Rocky will remain in the first team squad.