View Full Version : Adam Le Fondre
11-07-2024, 01:08 AM
https://x.com/hibscentral/status/1811159796374196365?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
48:30 in for Hibs content
Appears the rumours were true about ALF and the club hierarchy re his contract. Bit unclear though as we announced it as 1 year deal with option of a second and ALF says it was a two year deal and he had to take the second year out.
Must have been appearance based.
As ALF says, I actually don’t mind it from a busieness/football point of view. I think things like this will be very common
But for no one to speak to him about it is mental and really poor.
Thankfully I can’t see that happening under Malky.
11-07-2024, 07:07 AM
https://x.com/hibscentral/status/1811159796374196365?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
Appears the rumours were true about ALF and the club hierarchy re his contract. Bit unclear though as we announced it as 1 year deal with option of a second and ALF says it was a two year deal and he had to take the second year out.
As ALF says, I actually don’t mind it from a busieness/football point of view. I think things like this will be very common
I suppose many sides to a story - what with the mood music tending towards a Monty exit they possible wanted to give the manager less of a constraint? Esp as injuries unfortunately meant we didn’t reap the rewards of having ALF on board. We’ll see whether he’s back to being fully available next season FWIW I rated and rate him. Just our rotten luck with injuries.
Basically, we're not taking up the option, your game time is now finished, or rip up the optional carry on playing, either way he wasn't staying after the season.
11-07-2024, 07:15 AM
Hiding in corridors probably sums up our CEO and "owner".
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Velma Dinkley
11-07-2024, 07:19 AM
He said he didn't want to go out on loan because he wasn't fit enough to play but he wanted Hibs to be playing him, which is a bit odd. He was good when he was fit enough to be on the pitch but it wasn't often enough. From what he said about his previous club, it sounds like he prefers club owners to speak to him about his contract rather than his boss. I suppose he could go and knock on their door if he was bothered about it. It seems he wants to keep playing so hopefully he'll get a deal somewhere.
Like NM didn’t have enough problems 2 guys who know nothing about football dictating who he can and can’t play in an already terribly assembled squad, wouldn’t surprise me if he was told the same regarding Hanlon
ChuckNor
11-07-2024, 08:34 AM
Hope the people who have given me abuse for sharing the info I get told from the club listened to that. I posted the situation with ALF and Kensell on here months ago.
ChuckNor
11-07-2024, 08:37 AM
Just to add, if people don’t see this as being a massive red flag that makes Kensell’s position even more untenable then I don’t know what else needs to happen. He has to go. Dictating who plays and who doesn’t, especially when we were chasing top six and Vente was bang out of form, was disgraceful and there are zero guarantees he won’t do it again.
11-07-2024, 08:40 AM
Just to add, if people don’t see this as being a massive red flag that makes Kensell’s position even more untenable then I don’t know what else needs to happen. He has to go. Dictating who plays and who doesn’t, especially when we were chasing top six and Vente was bang out of form, was disgraceful and there are zero guarantees he won’t do it again.
I get what you're saying and I actually agree. But ALF said himself he understood it and it was a part of football. It was the lack of communication that bothered him.
11-07-2024, 08:51 AM
I get what you're saying and I actually agree. But ALF said himself he understood it and it was a part of football. It was the lack of communication that bothered him.
Difficult conversations should be instigated by the person who is the decision maker IMO. It at least shows a set of bollocks.
Like NM didn’t have enough problems 2 guys who know nothing about football dictating who he can and can’t play in an already terribly assembled squad, wouldn’t surprise me if he was told the same regarding Hanlon
Nonsense, Monty and Sergio decided they wanted the age lowered, hence why we lost Paul and Lewis, the same goes for ALF.
11-07-2024, 09:20 AM
We did well to get to a position we weren’t extending his contract for me.
Clubs do this type of thing all the time to avoid extending contracts.
11-07-2024, 09:42 AM
Nonsense, Monty and Sergio decided they wanted the age lowered, hence why we lost Paul and Lewis, the same goes for ALF.
Monty wanted to keep and play ALF.
ALF's account of events is definitely a red flag for Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell's involvement on the football side.
We had a DoF at the time - he might have been recovering from his operation but this is the sort of decision that should be between the Head Coach and the DoF.
We certainly (imho, at least) shouldn't be in a position where the Head Coach wants a player, who has a contract in place to facilitate that, being overridden by the CEO and/or owner.
That's a football decision.
If Monty had been involved in that decision making process then he should have positioned it to ALF as his decision.
I agree with Chuck Nor that it's a big red flag, if this was Hearts and Romanov we'd have been pishing ourselves at them.
11-07-2024, 09:47 AM
I do get that, and you're right (even ALF acknowledges it) that it's common in football for players to fall out of favour or become unaffordable etc.
I would have far more sympathy for the club's decision if ALF was two years in and had an option of a third, there's enough time passed for either party to have a sense of whether that extension was appropriate.
In ALF's case though, he's just signed the deal and that year extension was a big part of his decision making.
The disparity between Monty's wishes and what Kensell and Gordon we're pushing is cause for alarm as well.
11-07-2024, 09:50 AM
ALF certainly has a lot to say. Sounds like a bitter ex player that we didn't want to keep.
Monty wanted to keep and play ALF.
ALF's account of events is definitely a red flag for Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell's involvement on the football side.
We had a DoF at the time - he might have been recovering from his operation but this is the sort of decision that should be between the Head Coach and the DoF.
We certainly (imho, at least) shouldn't be in a position where the Head Coach wants a player, who has a contract in place to facilitate that, being overridden by the CEO and/or owner.
That's a football decision.
If Monty had been involved in that decision making process then he should have positioned it to ALF as his decision.
I agree with Chuck Nor that it's a big red flag, if this was Hearts and Romanov we'd have been pishing ourselves at them.
Totally agree it’s ridiculous, thoughts about NM and Sergio aside that sort of rubbish doesn’t help anyone trying to get results, they are part of the process of putting a squad together they can’t then tie a managers hands because they’ve changed their mind countless times and now player x isn’t suitable for the next big idea
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 10:00 AM
Hope the people who have given me abuse for sharing the info I get told from the club listened to that. I posted the situation with ALF and Kensell on here months ago.
I also posted similar . Some folk are blinded by hibs and think nothing is wrong .
Pity we couldn’t do that to Ben K over his totally over inflated contract. With terrible players he gave long term contracts, which his draining out resources and his impacting our ability to sign players.
Ben and Ian G playing at running a fitba club.
Fully expecting the accounts to year end June 2024 not to be as rosy as he promised at the AGM. I suspect they will delay the issuing of these .
11-07-2024, 10:03 AM
ALF certainly has a lot to say. Sounds like a bitter ex player that we didn't want to keep.
If you listen to it, he's really pragmatic about it and speaks very highly of his time here, he doesn't come across bitter in any sense of the word.
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 10:03 AM
I do get that, and you're right (even ALF acknowledges it) that it's common in football for players to fall out of favour or become unaffordable etc.
I would have far more sympathy for the club's decision if ALF was two years in and had an option of a third, there's enough time passed for either party to have a sense of whether that extension was appropriate.
In ALF's case though, he's just signed the deal and that year extension was a big part of his decision making.
The disparity between Monty's wishes and what Kensell and Gordon we're pushing is cause for alarm as well.
McDermott was never a DoF . A big smoke screen. We are skint and they doing everything to get players out the door.
Terrible way to treat ALF. If he played more , we’d have made top 6. Massive financial hit not making top 6
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 10:04 AM
Total
Opposite . He had a two year deal
. He did nothing wrong . I’m
Guessing your the type
That moans when a hibs player heads west for massive pay rises
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 10:06 AM
Yes. But Ben should have had the balls to speak to ALF. He loves the limelight when he thinks he’s done well …
11-07-2024, 10:08 AM
I think the biggest issue was that we had a completely absent Director of Football. If we were rumbling on the same as we were at the point then I’d be thinking it was a huge red flag but, with the changes made, I don’t think it’s something that’ll be repeated.
This isn’t me sticking up for Kensell/Gordon because it’s clear that they have made some terrible decisions over the last few years. I guess, in this case, I find it easier to accept as we got to the right outcome IMO.
Velma Dinkley
11-07-2024, 10:09 AM
McDermott was never a DoF . A big smoke screen. We are skint and they doing everything to get players out the door.
Terrible way to treat ALF. If he played more , we’d have made top 6. Massive financial hit not making top 6
If he'd been fit to play more he'd have played more. McDermott was obviously the director of football.
11-07-2024, 10:14 AM
ALF talks about McDermott's role in bringing him to the club, I agree that he didn't do what you'd expect a DoF to do, but his focus was on recruitment and I think there's enough evidence to say that he at least impacted that.
The wider DoF role though, I don't think he or Kensell really understood what that was and we wasted a year until Malky came in to do it properly.
11-07-2024, 10:15 AM
I think the biggest issue was that we had a completely absent Director of Football. If we were rumbling on the same as we were at the point then I’d be thinking it was a huge red flag but, with the changes made, I don’t think it’s something that’ll be repeated.
This isn’t me sticking up for Kensell/Gordon because it’s clear that they have made some terrible decisions over the last few years. I guess, in this case, I find it easier to accept as we got to the right outcome IMO.
I guess it comes down to whether or not you think that the end justifies the means.
From what I've heard about the situation, there's no doubt in mind that the club could and should have handled that situation better while still achieving the same outcome.
11-07-2024, 10:16 AM
Total
Guessing your the type
I don’t think he did have a two year deal. It was announced as a one year deal with a one year option. There was obviously some kind of condition attached to that.
Would be interesting to hear our side of the story, though doubt we ever will.
11-07-2024, 10:17 AM
I don’t think he did have a two year deal. It was announced as a one year deal with a one year option. There was obviously some kind of condition attached to that.
Would be interesting to hear our side of the story, though doubt we ever will.
That's right, a year with another year triggered by appearances, I believe.
11-07-2024, 10:17 AM
Total
Guessing your the type
Trying too hard.
TrinityHFC
11-07-2024, 10:19 AM
A bit dramatic.
I don’t know if the comms could have been improved or not, we’re just hearing one side. As a long term decision for the football club it is probably the right thing and certainly nothing unusual about this type of outcome.
11-07-2024, 10:20 AM
I guess it comes down to whether or not you think that the end justifies the means.
From what I've heard about the situation, there's no doubt in mind that the club could and should have handled that situation better while still achieving the same outcome.
If it comes down to a CEO or whoever not talking to the guy about it then, aye, that’s a complete lack of balls and doesn’t reflect well.
Greenworld
11-07-2024, 10:26 AM
Like NM didn’t have enough problems 2 guys who know nothing about football dictating who he can and can’t play in an already terribly assembled squad, wouldn’t surprise me if he was told the same regarding HanlonYour not far from the truth, MM won't put up with any interference going forward however he cannot believe some of the contracts and his hands are tied financially this season .
The appointments of Gray and May start to make sense although I hope it works it was a financial decision no doubt about it.
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
11-07-2024, 10:31 AM
Seems to me if the decision was made from a contractual rather than football perspective then those making the decision should have fronted up and communicated that to the player. The imagery of two senior people at the club hiding to avoid someone is comical, possibly slightly exaggerated for such effect.
There are times when uncomfortable conversations have to be had. I had to confront someone about their personal hygiene at work once and it was excruciating for all involved but it had to be done and it was ultimately my job to deal with it. Expecting Montgomery to communicate a decision he disagreed with directly to the player doesn't sit well with me even if I agree with the overall decision reached (and in fairness to ALF he acknowledges such decisions are part of football).
Greenworld
11-07-2024, 10:35 AM
From what I've heard about the situation, there's no doubt in mind that the club could and should have handled that situation better while still achieving the same outcome.Matty what worries me more is these are not isolated cases. MM has some job on his hands sorting out the utter mess of Kensell and Ian Gordon's contracts for players.
The only blessing is next season will sort the bulk of the players with so many out of contract.
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 10:51 AM
Nonsense, Monty wanted to keep ALF
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 10:52 AM
Matty what worries me more is these are not isolated cases. MM has some job on his hands sorting out the utter mess of Kensell and Ian Gordon's contracts for players.
The only blessing is next season will sort the bulk of the players with so many out of contract.
Issue the people that created the mess are still here . Hopefully, information circulating about Ben , and he will be away soon
11-07-2024, 10:58 AM
Total
Guessing your the type
That’s quite possibly the worst poem I’ve ever read.
11-07-2024, 11:35 AM
Having read ALF's comments all he wanted was the people who made the decision to have the knackers to talk to him about it.
Sounds pretty reasonable of him to me.
11-07-2024, 11:42 AM
Having read ALF's comments all he wanted was the people who made the decision to have the knackers to talk to him about it.
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 11:45 AM
That’s quite possibly the worst poem I’ve ever read.
That’s quite possibly the worst post I’ve ever read
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 11:46 AM
Very reasonable
Chipper1875
11-07-2024, 11:47 AM
Matty what worries me more is these are not isolated cases. MM has some job on his hands sorting out the utter mess of Kensell and Ian Gordon's contracts for players.
Yip . MM can’t believe the mess made
MelbourneHibees
11-07-2024, 11:50 AM
Don't think anyone would disagree with that. But they might be upset about non coaching staff dictating which players do and don't play based on contracts.
11-07-2024, 11:55 AM
There’s a definite ‘skint’ vibe coming from the club. We shall see soon enough.
11-07-2024, 12:12 PM
That’s quite possibly the worst post I’ve ever read
I’m guessing you haven’t seen my other ones over the years.
MagicSwirlingShip
11-07-2024, 12:56 PM
Not great that his injury was misdiagnosed
TrinityHFC
11-07-2024, 01:04 PM
Don't think anyone would disagree with that. But they might be upset about non coaching staff dictating which players do and don't play based on contracts.
He might have liked the ultimate decision maker to have spoken to him direct but that’s not really the way it works in most businesses. Line management is usually the one left to discuss these things.
ChuckNor
11-07-2024, 01:24 PM
Another day another sign that Ben Kensell is out of his depth as CEO. He’s had football operations taken off of him because of countless poor appointments (three managers and Brian McDermott), we posted appalling financial results (swear they’ll be better next time), players like Jair and Kenneh on long term high-value contracts (I believe Kenneh is on around 4-5k a week though am not 100% on this), and finally his meddling in team selection has been made public by an experienced pro who couldn’t believe Kensell didn’t have the balls just to tell him.
Somehow people still defend Kensell because he paid a contractor to do up hospitality. And apparently, according to our “chairman” the fans are blind to all the good work he has done. Laughable.
Also, people need to wake up and realize the reason we aren’t spending money at the moment is because we can’t. The club is a basket case.
We need change. Ben Kensell has to go.
TrinityHFC
11-07-2024, 01:32 PM
Another day another sign that Ben Kensell is out of his depth as CEO. He’s had football operations taken off of him because of countless poor appointments (three managers and Brian McDermott), we posted appalling financial results (swear they’ll be better next time), players like Jair and Kenneh on long term high-value contracts (I believe Kenneh is on around 4-5k a week though am not 100% on this), and finally his meddling in team selection has been made public by an experienced pro who couldn’t believe Kensell didn’t have the balls just to tell him.
Somehow people still defend Kensell because he paid a contractor to do up hospitality. And apparently, according to our “chairman” the fans are blind to all the good work he has done. Laughable.
Also, people need to wake up and realize the reason we aren’t spending money at the moment is because we can’t. The club is a basket case.
So much pish in one post.
Seems a personal thing you should take up with him direct.
11-07-2024, 01:33 PM
TrinityHFC
11-07-2024, 01:35 PM
Have Hibs got you on the payroll?
No, why?
11-07-2024, 01:52 PM
It’s not great if they didn’t speak to him, however they have done what was in the best interest of the club so not sure how that shows they are out of their depth :dunno:
11-07-2024, 01:53 PM
I have no idea where stuff like this comes from.
My best mates and most of my family don't know what I'm paid.
I'll be filing "Kenneh is on £5k a week" alongside the "Chris Mueller is on £10k a week" nonsense. He'd never kicked a ball in a first team game in his puff before Hibs.
11-07-2024, 01:56 PM
How do you know the football operations side of it was “taken off” Ben Kensell. Who took it off him? And how do you know what Kenneh earns?
Ship of Hope
11-07-2024, 02:13 PM
I thought he added something to the team prior to his injury. When he came back afterwards no so much.
In light of missing several months of the season, his age and the likelihood he was on decent wages, being another year older and potentially a higher risk of further injuries imo the club made the correct decision.
His option for another year was triggered with a certain number of appearances. The club did not feel the extra year represented good value and were not prepared to trigger the extension. Alf agreed to the contract knowing this was a risk and imo the club and whoever made the decision did the correct thing.
There is the possibility that the decision was Monty’s but he was deflecting to keep the player onside for the latter part of the season. Essentially passing the buck onto the ceo/chairman but still turn up and play for me sort of thing. Either way the correct decision was arrived at.
Alf was a big boy and more than capable of knocking on the CEO door if he was not happy with what he had been told by the manager (his line manager).
I hope he finds himself another club and doubt we would have heard anything more about this if he already had.
ChuckNor
11-07-2024, 02:18 PM
How do you know the football operations side of it was “taken off” Ben Kensell. Who took it off him? And how do you know what Kenneh earns?
Malky Mackay was appointed. His role was to take full responsibility of all football operations. That left Kensell with zero responsibility for the football side. His salary has not changed.
I didn’t say that I knew. I was told by the same people that told me about the ALF situation, Montgomery being sacked, Gray’s popularity with current and former players as a coach and Eoin Henderson about to be sold to a team in Belgium.
On all of these points the people have been right and I’ve shared this info on .net ahead of them happening. I won’t start doubting them now. P
11-07-2024, 02:23 PM
I have no idea where stuff like this comes from.
My best mates and most of my family don't know what I'm paid.
I'll be filing "Kenneh is on £5k a week" alongside the "Chris Mueller is on £10k a week" nonsense. He'd never kicked a ball in a first team game in his puff before Hibs.
Please add the ALF, £15.000k/week to the list.
I'm baffled as to why the club wanted an appearance clause linked to an extension option to the contract to begin with? Maybe it's normal practice when you sign a 37 year old, either way they created the stick with which they are now being beaten with.
Leaving it to Montgomery to inform Le Fondre though, that was well shan.
TrinityHFC
11-07-2024, 02:36 PM
Malky Mackay was appointed. His role was to take full responsibility of all football operations. That left Kensell with zero responsibility for the football side. His salary has not changed.
I didn’t say that I knew. I was told by the same people that told me about the ALF situation, Montgomery being sacked, Gray’s popularity with current and former players as a coach and Eoin Henderson about to be sold to a team in Belgium.
On all of these points the people have been right and I’ve shared this info on .net ahead of them happening. I won’t start doubting them now. P
Shows how little you know about something you talk so much about.
BK is the CEO and a Board Director. He is ultimately responsible for all aspects of the day to day management of the club. We are a football club. The suggestion the CEO has zero responsibility for the ‘football side’ is ridiculous.
MM has been employed in a management role to run a part of the set up. His appointment has no impact on BK’s CEO role other than BK should be able to delegate more day to day activities to MM on that side of things.
ChuckNor
11-07-2024, 02:39 PM
Shows how little you know about something you talk so much about.
BK is the CEO and a Board Director. He is ultimately responsible for all aspects of the day to day management of the club. We are a football club. The suggestion the CEO has zero responsibility for the ‘football side’ is ridiculous.
MM has been employed in a management role to run a part of the set up. His appointment has no impact on BK’s CEO role other than BK should be able to delegate more day to day activities to MM on that side of things.
Read this article and come back to me. Stuff the CEO should lead on is being done by Malky. Fact.
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/13135637/hibernian-nick-montgomery-sacked-as-head-coach-of-scottish-premiership-side
Donegal Hibby
11-07-2024, 02:42 PM
It looks like something that's been badly handled again ...
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/star-bold-hibs-exit-claims-after-misdiagnosed-injury-nick-montgomery-admission-4698613
1875Sean
11-07-2024, 02:42 PM
I'm baffled as to why the club wanted an appearance clause linked to an extension option to the contract to begin with? Maybe it's normal practice when you sign a 37 year old, either way they created the stick with which they are now being beaten with.
He wasn’t on anywhere near 15k a week tho, myth that’s been spoken about for ages on here and keeps appearing as it was on football manager when he was in Australia
Ship of Hope
11-07-2024, 02:56 PM
Read this article and come back to me. Stuff the CEO should lead on is being done by Malky. Fact.
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/13135637/hibernian-nick-montgomery-sacked-as-head-coach-of-scottish-premiership-side
Having read the article you are wrong. Fact. CEO is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the club. Malky is responsible for the football side but still reports to CEO who is essentially his line manager. It seems like you feel CEO because he is not hands on is no longer doing the job he is paid for. Should he also work behind the bar and clean the toilets?
whilst the information you are getting from your sources appears to be credible, your slant on it is often skewed imo.
WestStandWillie
11-07-2024, 03:25 PM
That vastly inflated wage was a typo in a computer game i'm sure. An extra zero added by mistake.
It's a shocking way to treat a player in all honestly. If he wasn't going to be required next season then Kensell and Gordon should have been man enough to meet with ALF face to face. As for trying to offload him to Stockport or Salford, what a joke.
Starting to think this club is being run by numpties.
Lets hope MM and DSG can crack on and get on the field sorted :flag:
TrinityHFC
11-07-2024, 06:32 PM
Yeah you’re still wrong. I know what a CEO does.
11-07-2024, 07:21 PM
I doubt Montgomery negotiated the contract so it wasn't his responsibility to speak with Le Fondre about a material change to it ie the removal of the extension, unless it was his decision that he didn't want Le Fondre to stay. And we know that wasn't the case because Montgomery then played Le Fondre.
So the responsibility for the conversation lies higher up the food chain and whether that was Kensall or Gordon, it was very poor that neither was the one to speak with Le Fondre.
TrinityHFC
11-07-2024, 07:33 PM
I doubt Montgomery negotiated the contract so it wasn't his responsibility to speak with Le Fondre about a material change to it ie the removal of the extension, unless it was his decision that he didn't want Le Fondre to stay. And we know that wasn't the case because Montgomery then played Le Fondre.
So the responsibility for the conversation lies higher up the food chain and whether that was Kensall or Gordon, it was very poor that neither was the one to speak with Le Fondre.
As I said above I don’t think that’s really true. Managers get paid to have conversations with staff in every walk of life, whether they made or believe in those decisions or not. In fact it isn’t great from NM to say to a member of his team that he can’t believe the owners or CEO didn’t speak to him. It his job to get on board and communicate the decision.
Ship of Hope
11-07-2024, 07:54 PM
It could still be Montgomerys decision based on his long absence with injury that he did not want ALF for the following season as he felt he could get better value for his budget elsewhere. At the same time when he was fit towards the end of the season he could still see the merit in playing him once the clause had been removed.
Montgomery was his direct line manager also and imo in any workplace it would be more common for this person along with human resources to discuss any contract changes with an employee. This would include things such as pay, changes to working condition and pension schemes, disciplinary issues etc.
It is not common place for a CEO in an organisation to deal with every employee directly regarding these matters. The decision would imo most likely have been made jointly through some sort of discussion, almost certainly involving Monty.
Whilst it could be argued a football club is a slightly different beast I am still not sure it comes under the CEO remit but possibly that of Brian McDermott at the time or the HR person. I am sure that many of you will have way more experience than me of working at the top end of a large company and will be better informed. I do know my wife is HR manager and she deals with all these issues on behalf of her boss, the Chief exec, whom she reports to.
It is easy however to be critical without really knowing how these things work or who actually made the decision. The default position on here as always is .. blame Ben Kensall.
LeithMike
12-07-2024, 02:43 PM
Poor way for a community business to conduct itself in my view. Consistent with a lot of other practice at the club since the change in ownership and removal of a lot of long-serving staff.
ChuckNor
12-07-2024, 03:48 PM
Poor way for a community business to conduct itself in my view. Consistent with a lot of other practice at the club since the change in ownership and removal of a lot of long-serving staff.
You are spot on. As alluded to by Lewis Stevenson and John McGinn, the club lost a bit of itself when we got rid of those long-serving staff in favour of people who didn't get the club.
12-07-2024, 08:01 PM
He wasn’t on anywhere near 15k a week tho, myth that’s been spoken about for ages on here and keeps appearing as it was on football manager when he was in Australia
That was the point. I was replying to another post and their point about wage "myths". That one could be added to Muellers alleged wage and someone randomly speculating that Kenneh is on 4-5k/week.
12-07-2024, 10:11 PM
And I thought we were a professional football team?
Hiding in corridors probably sums up our CEO and "owner".
Our CEO should have been bulleted by now. Promises much delivered very little. Remember how excited he was with the Foley cash, now very quiet. He certainly enjoys himself on match day wining and dining.
12-07-2024, 11:16 PM
ALF said that he understood and agreed with the decision. He's miffed because BK and/or IG didn't talk to him about it.
Poor wee soul.
13-07-2024, 07:59 AM
ALF said that he understood and agreed with the decision. He's miffed because BK and/or IG didn't talk to him about it.
Poor wee soul.
I don’t think ALF’s expectations here are unreasonable or deserving of ridicule.
Although - I’m very aware that we’re only getting to hear about this situation from one side. It would be interesting to hear if BK or IG’s version of events tallies up. They’re between a rock and a hard place here if their version doesn’t tally up, as a public disagreement would be pretty undignified, so they’re pretty much bound to keep quiet whatever happened.
13-07-2024, 09:07 AM
Will players be hesitant to sign if that’s way BK and co go about regarding contracts
13-07-2024, 09:17 AM
Will players be hesitant to sign if that’s way BK and co go about regarding contracts
Only if they aren’t getting the money they want. If we’re paying them the salary they’re after they’ll not give a **** about the rest.
More to the point though, we’re not the only club in the world who would’ve looked to remove the clause giving ALF a new deal. Footballs a business too, and it’d have been bad business to trigger a year’s extension for a player we didn’t want for another year.
Bridge hibs
13-07-2024, 09:22 AM
We have just signed 3 players so I would think the answer to that is no
CL0762
13-07-2024, 09:32 AM
Listening to snippets of that podcast, ALF has had issues and been given bad references so I’d take what he’s saying with a pinch of salt.
13-07-2024, 09:39 AM
Poor wee soul.
Agreed. Put your big boy pants on and get on with life.
13-07-2024, 06:14 PM
Didn't we stop playing John O'Neill because of his appearance fee or it trigger extra years or something?
Who was the interferer back then?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
TrinityHFC
13-07-2024, 07:01 PM
Didn't we stop playing John O'Neill because of his appearance fee or it trigger extra years or something?
Rod Petrie made some calls on players like O’Neil and Fenwick when the Sky deal went south. Unpopular at the time but he moved early to keep us in business.
13-07-2024, 07:25 PM
Iirc we didn’t play O’Neil because he was on a fairly astronomical appearance bonus - one that even as a good player his impact on games was unlikely to be able to justify.
When we signed him we were chucking decent amounts of cash about and I think we beat a few teams (including Hearts) to his signature.
I seem to remember a tv deal with Scottish football collapsing and Scottish clubs suddenly facing a new financial reality - Hibs were one of the earliest to properly adapt to that reality, hence getting the golden generation getting their chances at a young age and signings of players like Sauzee, Zitelli, Latapy and De la Cruz ceasing.
13-07-2024, 08:16 PM
It's a pity ALF couldn't make as big an impact on the park as he's trying to do off it now he's left. Flashes of good play but ultimately, despite all his talking, another poor signing.