View Full Version : Paok game

hhibs
06-07-2024, 12:13 PM
Any information on if this going to available to watch ,live or otherwise om YOUtube or Hibs tv?

The official Hibs site mentioned You tube as possible and they would let us know,anybody heard anything ?

Donegal Hibby
06-07-2024, 12:17 PM
Any information on if this going to available to watch ,live or otherwise om YOUtube or Hibs tv?

The official Hibs site mentioned You tube as possible and they would let us know,anybody heard anything ?

Seen this earlier ...
https://www.youtube.com/live/WfVMSXrUKG8?si=BQkL5EYazBU3m-Ok

BlackSheep
06-07-2024, 12:29 PM
What time is kick off?

06-07-2024, 12:35 PM
What time is kick off?

3pm I think

06-07-2024, 01:02 PM
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1809573038553284969

The starting XI looks pretty much like how Gray currently sees his first choice team, with the possible exception of Youan.

King Cosell
06-07-2024, 01:05 PM
Miller & Cadden both start. Miller in back 3 with Cadden at wing back?

Dmas
06-07-2024, 01:05 PM
3-5-2 you think miller as CB? Boyle and Vente up front

06-07-2024, 01:06 PM
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1809573038553284969

The starting XI looks pretty much like how Gray currently sees his first choice team, with the possible exception of Youan.
Mckirdy still being rested

06-07-2024, 01:07 PM

Same 433 / 4321 we played v City. Cadden wide right. Boyle out left. Campbell behind Vente.

06-07-2024, 01:08 PM
Miller & Cadden both start. Miller in back 3 with Cadden at wing back?

4-3-3/4-2-3-1 with Cadden right wing is how we’ve played the previous 2 fixtures. Great news if he no longer sees Cadden as a right back.

06-07-2024, 01:10 PM
Mckirdy still being rested

I don't see him as a starter - bench player at best.

Coach Jon
06-07-2024, 01:10 PM

probably 4-4-2, that is Grays formation.

06-07-2024, 01:11 PM

He's not on the bench , just wondering if he's rested, he was definitely in the training videos.

06-07-2024, 01:12 PM
This will be a tough game against a good Greek team, so curious to see how we do.

Looking at that bench - it’s really not great - so still shows we have a long way to go to add more quality and depth.

06-07-2024, 01:13 PM

I'm not so sure 4-4-2 is his formation, think 4 at the back but more of a 2-3-1 / 3-3 in front

06-07-2024, 01:15 PM

He’s not even on the bench

06-07-2024, 01:16 PM
https://i.ibb.co/SddxG7K/20240706-141515.jpg (https://ibb.co/yYYR7B8)

That's some value of talent according to transfermrkt

1875Sean
06-07-2024, 01:23 PM
Looks like it’s 3 at the back according to the site -

Josef Bursik starts in goal, once again, with what looks like a back three in-front of him. Lewis Miller starts on the right of that trio with Marvin Ekpiteta in the middle and Warren O’Hora on the left.

Jordan Obita is left wing-back, Chris Cadden at right wing-back, with Joe Newell, Nathan Moriah-Welsh, and Josh Campbell in a middle three. Newell will captain the side today.

Martin Boyle and Dylan Vente will lead the line for the Hibees.

David Gray has named his side to take on PAOK in this afternoon’s pre-season friendly in the Netherlands; 3pm BST kick-off.

Josef Bursik starts in goal, once again, with what looks like a back three in-front of him. Lewis Miller starts on the right of that trio with Marvin Ekpiteta in the middle and Warren O’Hora on the left.

Jordan Obita is left wing-back, Chris Cadden at right wing-back, with Joe Newell, Nathan Moriah-Welsh, and Josh Campbell in a middle three. Newell will captain the side today.

Martin Boyle and Dylan Vente will lead the line for the Hibees.

It’s expected that there will be an increase in minutes for the players starting the game, with substitutes planned throughout the second half.

The only players not involved in the squad this afternoon are Harry McKirdy and Nohan Kenneh. Kenneh has been given time away from the camp today for family reasons, whilst Harry McKirdy’s load is still being managed following his return this pre-season.

https://i.ibb.co/SddxG7K/20240706-141515.jpg (https://ibb.co/yYYR7B8)

That's some value of talent according to transfermrkt

They won the Greek league for a reason and QF of the Conference League.

06-07-2024, 01:24 PM
He’s not even on the bench

Yes I know - that's why I said "at best" in replying to someone said he is still being rested.

Dmas
06-07-2024, 01:31 PM
Same 433 / 4321 we played v City. Cadden wide right. Boyle out left. Campbell behind Vente.

Ah ok I didn’t realise we had played that before with cadden on the right

The Tubs
06-07-2024, 01:31 PM
I suppose the boss is treating this as a backs-to-the-wall type of game and it makes sense having Youan on the bench.

06-07-2024, 01:42 PM

I don't think it is. It's got 3 central midfielders for a start.

06-07-2024, 01:50 PM
Miller has the attributes to do well in a 3 IMO, hope he has a good game.

06-07-2024, 01:59 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1809587054617268334?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg

06-07-2024, 02:01 PM
Showing the live stream offline at present?\

BS44
06-07-2024, 02:01 PM
One of the PAOK players was leading a chant with their supporters just now! We're well outnumbered here, hope we don't hammer them by too many and get their fans angry

Dan Sarf
06-07-2024, 02:06 PM
Showing the live stream offline at present?\

https://x.com/HibernianFC?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp %7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

06-07-2024, 02:06 PM
Where is the game on YouTube?

06-07-2024, 02:08 PM
1-0 Boyle.

BS44
1 0 the good guys

CentreForward
Can see a few Hibs flags hanging up on the fencing behind the goal but crowd looks almost entirely PAOK fans. Perhaps a big Greek community near to where game being played?

Goal !!!!

HibsGW
06-07-2024, 02:09 PM
1-0 hibs, boyle intercepting a pass from the keeper.

06-07-2024, 02:11 PM
Did the commentator say the keeper is a Croatia international?

06-07-2024, 02:13 PM
Getting some buffering, they should have put it on YouTube.

06-07-2024, 02:14 PM
Boyle looking lively

06-07-2024, 02:14 PM
Good tempo to the game.

06-07-2024, 02:16 PM

Coukdnt find it, but theres a link on Hibs Twitter

06-07-2024, 02:17 PM
Shocker from Obita

06-07-2024, 02:17 PM
Only on twitter not on YouTube

06-07-2024, 02:19 PM
O Hora looks a decent defender

06-07-2024, 02:20 PM
Shocker from Obita

Don’t think he meant it, went to tackle with the left and his standing (right) foot didn’t plant and slid into the boys ankle.

06-07-2024, 02:21 PM
Can’t see any Hibs colours in the crowd

Looks like theres a wee gathering at the corner flag to the Hibs keeper's left.

This is pretty good

Don’t think he meant it, went to tackle with the left and his standing (right) foot didn’t plant and slid into the boys ankle.

Nah no intent but looked sore.

Two new centre halves are looking good

06-07-2024, 02:22 PM
Former Watford player Troost Ekong also starting for PAOK who played in the 2018 WC with Nigeria.

06-07-2024, 02:22 PM
Two new centre halves are looking good

Aye, they look like defenders !

06-07-2024, 02:27 PM
POAk getting a bit physical at times. Bursik looks comfortable with the ball at feet, Hibs competing well, need to stop giving away the ball at times.

06-07-2024, 02:27 PM
Pitch needs watered as it looks slow

06-07-2024, 02:28 PM
POAk getting a bit physical at times. Bursik looks comfortable with the ball at feet, Hibs competing well, need to stop giving away the ball at times.

Looks windy and blowing towards the hibs goal which doesn't look to be helping.

BlackSheep
06-07-2024, 02:28 PM

It’s on Twitter / X

BlackSheep
06-07-2024, 02:29 PM
Think we might be playing 532

Cadden

Miller
o’Hora
Ekpiteta

Obita

NMW
Newell
Campbell

Boyle
Vente

Dan Sarf
06-07-2024, 02:30 PM
It’s on Twitter / X

https://x.com/HibernianFC?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp %7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

Paul1642
06-07-2024, 02:31 PM
Campbell is very involved.

Cheshire Hibee
06-07-2024, 02:31 PM
Newell playing deeper in the number 6 role apparently

06-07-2024, 02:34 PM
Campbell is very involved.

Seeing lots of the ball and good energy but not sure he’s found a teammate with a pass since he took kick off.

crash
06-07-2024, 02:36 PM
The wing backs are very deep, we are playing as a back 5 and can’t play out.

06-07-2024, 02:37 PM
Seeing lots of the ball and good energy but not sure he’s found a teammate with a pass since he took kick off.

He has but that’s the area of his game he needs to improve most.

He’s carried the ball up the pitch really well.

06-07-2024, 02:38 PM
Big Marvin doesn't look very clever playing it out from back

Paul1642
Let off with the offside there. Playing out from the back inviting danger.

Massive fan of Moriah-Welsh

06-07-2024, 02:39 PM
Big Marvin no the best passer out from the back, lucky it was offside, keeper looks comfy with the ball at his feet.

Both caught up the pitch their as PAOK should have scored on the break.

Dmas

Comms guy said they have been working on dropping into back 5 out of possession, PAOK have had a lot of the ball

06-07-2024, 02:40 PM
Lets not forget that PAOK are a decent team.

06-07-2024, 02:40 PM
I’m sure blackpool fans said Marvin wasn’t the best with the ball at his feet.

06-07-2024, 02:41 PM

Not only that it’s a pre-season game. Gary has been with the team in training for two weeks.

Obviously we’ll be trying to win, but I think we’ll be happy to let them have the ball and attack so we can work on defending and shape.

06-07-2024, 02:41 PM

Greek champions no less

06-07-2024, 02:42 PM
Not only that it’s a pre-season game. Gary has been with the team in training for two weeks.

Obviously we’ll be trying to win, but I think we’ll be happy to let them have the ball and attack so we can work on defending and shape.

And we are playing at a brutal wind this half

06-07-2024, 02:43 PM

They are. Lots of current and former internationals and reached the quarter finals in Europe last season. Will be a similar level to the OF.

06-07-2024, 02:44 PM
Only a friendly but we look a hundred times more determined to keep the ball out our net than we did for most of last season.

I’m really hoping David Gary does well with us

Tell you a player this formation and style would really suit. Simon Murray.

06-07-2024, 02:47 PM
Couple of big tackles from Newell the last few minutes.

Not sure about Campbell as the ten in this system, would be great if we could get McCowan.

06-07-2024, 02:48 PM
Dirty *******s

Dmas
06-07-2024, 02:48 PM
Newell has looked good be interesting to see 2nd half when he’s not dealing with that wind

crash
06-07-2024, 02:49 PM
That Tomas player is a nightly wee b. Lewis Miller should just smash him

06-07-2024, 02:49 PM
Safe to say we can book our tickets for the 2026 Champions League final.

06-07-2024, 02:50 PM
Decent performance that half considering the windy conditions. Distinct lack of quality in our use of the ball in the attacking third.

06-07-2024, 02:51 PM
Look absolutely solid defensively.

Giving the ball away very easy at times but it seems the main focus today is playing with intensity and defending well against a good side.

A new/better CAM and striker would make us look a whole lot better,

Hopefully see Amos get a good run out as think he will be a good player this year

06-07-2024, 02:52 PM
Look much better off the ball and defensive wise, I know it's only a friendly and I don't know when they returned but PAOK are a decent outfit.

Wonder if we will see alot of subs at halftime or if we will wait till the 60th or so minute, would expect everyone to get some sort of run out.

06-07-2024, 02:53 PM
Big Marvin no the best passer out from the back, lucky it was offside, keeper looks comfy with the ball at his feet.

He's been fine. Granted he's not Beckenbauer, all I want his a big unit at the back who will head everything away for the last ten mins of a game we are winning. And he'll do that.

Mikey_1875
06-07-2024, 02:53 PM
Good half considering the opposition. One difference I can see is that we are looking to get the ball up the park a lot quicker than under NM.

06-07-2024, 02:54 PM
Decent performance that half considering the windy conditions. Distinct lack of quality in our use of the ball in the attacking third.

yep exactly how I see it. hopefully we have a target for the silky passing in mind.

06-07-2024, 02:55 PM
We played well, I imagine SDG will have games against the OF in mind when setting up for this one given PAOK are a very good team.

TrinityHFC
06-07-2024, 02:55 PM
I’m sure blackpool fans said Marvin wasn’t the best with the ball at his feet.

Although a Blackpool fan on that thread posted up the passing stats and he was the most accurate.

Anyway, I’m sure this will now be repeated every time he misplaces a pass!

06-07-2024, 02:59 PM
Although a Blackpool fan on that thread posted up the passing stats and he was the most accurate.

Anyway, I’m sure this will now be repeated every time he misplaces a pass!

I never seen that one, only the one saying he wasn’t great with the ball at his feet

I’m not too arsed if he’s more no nonsense, we’ve missed that

06-07-2024, 03:05 PM
Full XI of subs for PAOK but plenty more internationals coming on.

06-07-2024, 03:15 PM
Hibs keeping good shape, not getting on the ball much but not looking like they are going to concede.....

06-07-2024, 03:18 PM
Hibs keeping good shape, not getting on the ball much but not looking like they are going to concede.....

You have almost certainly cursed it now.

06-07-2024, 03:20 PM
Rocky’s family standing pitch side.

06-07-2024, 03:28 PM
Harbottle coming on. Seems to be getting a chance. Or could just be lack of options

06-07-2024, 03:30 PM
Four subs, no real difference to the pattern of play.

Molotnikov's a strapping laddie, he's playing in a pretty advanced position.

More changes, Jair, Wollacott and Harbottle on.

06-07-2024, 03:33 PM
Only saw the opening 45 and like all pre season games, difficult to read too much into it.

We do look more organised defensively and while we were caught a few times playing out, the conditions look terrible and the opposition isn't too shabby.

badabing67
06-07-2024, 03:34 PM
My stream is a mess

06-07-2024, 03:35 PM
Did I hear the commentator say they had a guy that cost £20m?

06-07-2024, 03:35 PM
My stream is a mess

It's completely gone for me.

06-07-2024, 03:36 PM

LB aye. Ex Chelsea player.

Got some amount of talent/experience in their squad

06-07-2024, 03:37 PM

Referring to Chelsea paying £22m for their left back Baba Rahman in 2015.

badabing67
06-07-2024, 03:38 PM
It's completely gone for me.

It's back for me now

LB aye. Ex Chelsea player.

Got some amount of talent/experience in their squad

Nearly 400 international caps combined in their squad.

yerauldda
Lots of chat from Gray around how he see’s different approaches to different games.
Can safely say he’s treating this similarly to a game against the OF. We look so much more comfortable off the ball than last season already.
Pre season caveats etc etc but some good signs early on in his tenure.

06-07-2024, 03:45 PM
Whittaker, could definitely be a player in there. Love that he never seems to dive in and is constantly nipping away at the attackers.

06-07-2024, 03:47 PM
Should have been 2-0.

06-07-2024, 03:48 PM
Easy Jair

yerauldda
06-07-2024, 03:48 PM
Whittaker, could definitely be a player in there. Love that he never seems to dive in and is constantly nipping away at the attackers.

Still very raw but something I liked about him last season is how quickly he gets out to his man to stop crosses. I find it infuriating watching full backs standing miles off wingers these days.
Seems to have really filled out too.

badabing67
06-07-2024, 03:50 PM
Easy Jair

Looks like he's hit the gym hope he can start putting himself about a bit

Still very raw but something I liked about him last season is how quickly he gets out to his man to stop crosses. I find it infuriating watching full backs standing miles off wingers these days.
Seems to have really filled out too.

He also has an excellent delivery himself. Of our 4 RB/RWB options he is probably the best in that regard.

Lots to like today. Effort levels look good, shape in defence much better as is commitment. Youngster look closer to being useful squad members and new boys look solid. Not sure if this is how we will play week in week out but it reminds me a bit of Jack Ross. Playing on the break when we can and moving it quick and always having cover at the back.

06-07-2024, 03:51 PM
That's a good result.

Exuberance1875
Another clean sheet ✔️

3 points in the away leg is brilliant

just wait until we get them at ER

:)

06-07-2024, 03:53 PM
Lots to like today. Effort levels look good, shape in defence much better as is commitment. Youngster look closer to being useful squad members and new boys look solid. Not sure if this is how we will play week in week out but it reminds me a bit of Jack Ross. Playing on the break when we can and moving it quick and always having cover at the back.

:worms::timebomb::timebomb::timebomb:

Good win and workout against a very decent POAK team, thing I took away from this was it was a defensive formation against a good team, the players played a high press and kept their defensive shape well, onwards.

That’s a very good result

First Scottish team to beat this mob in 5 attempts over the last year 😏

Victor
06-07-2024, 03:54 PM
Megwa and Whittaker done well. I thought we would lose something when they came on, but they both did well. Hope they continue to impress when the season starts.

06-07-2024, 03:56 PM
Very good going. Impressed by Newell, Miller, our new CBs and new goalie. Kanayo looks ready too.

Dmas
06-07-2024, 03:57 PM
Looked good today tough conditions up against a good team, think we still need a link from middle to front, subs showed up a lack of depth so still a bit of work to do on that, hopefully some more new faces in for the season starting.

O’hora looked good, Newell played well also

06-07-2024, 03:58 PM
Really surprised at Amos coming on with only 20 lefts and with the likes of Jair etc

06-07-2024, 03:58 PM
Holy moley! Three wins on the trot and no goals conceded. Is this really Hibs?

06-07-2024, 03:59 PM
A very good result with alot of hard work from everybody, I liked the look of O'Hora, almost scored in the first half also.

06-07-2024, 03:59 PM
Really surprised at Amos coming on with only 20 lefts and with the likes of Jair etc

Giving the whole squad minutes - part of pre season.

Donegal Hibby
06-07-2024, 04:00 PM
3 clean sheets from 3 games . Hopefully a good sign for the season ahead. :thumbsup:

06-07-2024, 04:01 PM

Wouldn't be too worried about it. Be an element of managing his minutes as well I'd imagine, hasn't played a lot of football the past year or so. We'll be doing everything we can to keep him injury free.

O'Hora the only player to play 90

06-07-2024, 04:04 PM
Only 2 Scottish players in our starting line up today. According to Flash Score Boyler is now an Aussie.

3 clean sheets from 3 games . Hopefully a good sign for the season ahead. :thumbsup:

Great save from Bursik early doors to keep the clean sheet as well. Wollacott made a decent save towards the end too.

O'Hora and Ekpiteta look solid. Just good stuff all-round

HIBS NUTS
It’s a long time since I’ve seen a hibs team work as hard as this.
the two new centrehalfs look very good

Paul1642
This time last year we got bossed 4-0 by Bournemouth without touching the ball. We called it as just a friendly and being about fitness but it was a bit of a sign of things to come.

Today was a million miles away from that performance against a team of similar quality.

06-07-2024, 04:08 PM

Got to imagine his minutes are being managed, he only played 170 minutes in the entirety of last season, he’s played 110 minutes in the last 7 days.

06-07-2024, 04:10 PM
This time last year we got bossed 4-0 by Bournemouth without touching the ball. We called it as just a friendly and being about fitness but it was a bit of a sign of things to come.

Today was a million miles away from that performance against a team of similar quality.

Our performance was much better but Bournemouth are a level above the team we played today.

06-07-2024, 04:13 PM
Not trying to read too much into things at this stage of pre-season, but the team looks so much better organised and hard working without the ball, than we did last season.The two centre backs look solid and I like the look of Bursik. Wollacots distribution still looks suspect though. Harbottle looked fine when he came on too

Garymcl
06-07-2024, 04:15 PM
I’ll take that result ,even it is pre season it’s still good against the present Greek champions ,well done boys 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

06-07-2024, 04:15 PM
Got to imagine his minutes are being managed, he only played 170 minutes in the entirety of last season, he’s played 110 minutes in the last 7 days.

Yeah good shout tbf👍🏻

06-07-2024, 04:20 PM
Only time will tell but we definitely look harder to play against .

Prediction we won’t concede many in league cup.

Still found at times central midfield there was gaps but really happy with the progress so far.

Hopefully add some new players this week as the bench was weak.

06-07-2024, 04:27 PM
Our performance was much better but Bournemouth are a level above the team we played today.

Looking forward to playing our feeder club 😁

06-07-2024, 06:19 PM

I’d disagree with that. Let’s be happy, and acknowledge that PAOK were not going 100% today.

But im very pleased with the new organised setup. Its almost like we have Derek McInnes in charge…

06-07-2024, 06:23 PM
Never realised O'Hora was as tall until I seen him next to Rocky

06-07-2024, 06:49 PM
Only pre-season friendlies but three clean sheets on the trot bodes well - particularly against the Greek champs who scored 87 in 36 games last season

06-07-2024, 06:50 PM
Only pre-season friendlies but three clean sheets on the trot bodes well - particularly against the Greek champs who scored 87 in 36 games last season

Seems like we've finally got the defensive setup we've been crying out for years.

06-07-2024, 06:51 PM
Seems like we've finally got the defensive setup we've been crying out for years.

Time will tell but we’ve finally got someone who has the brains to realise that it’s actually quite important.

06-07-2024, 07:01 PM
Dont lose any goals, no one can beat us.

06-07-2024, 07:12 PM
I’ll take that result ,even it is pre season it’s still good against the present Greek champions ,well done boys 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Olympiacos won the conference league as well, cuffing Aston Villa 4-2 at Villa Park on the way to doing it, winning the tie 6-2 an aggregate. This is clearly not just the best team in a bad league so friendly or not it's a pretty decent effort to keep a clean sheet against them, never mind beating them.

Bridge hibs
06-07-2024, 08:11 PM
Dont lose any goals, no one can beat us.

More importantly we are through to the next round, decent start to the season

06-07-2024, 08:18 PM
Olympiacos won the conference league as well, cuffing Aston Villa 4-2 at Villa Park on the way to doing it, winning the tie 6-2 an aggregate. This is clearly not just the best team in a bad league so friendly or not it's a pretty decent effort to keep a clean sheet against them, never mind beating them.

Just to calm the beans a tad, if you hold your nose and take a peek on the Bounce there are several posts from a POAK supporter and he says it was their B team with just two first team starters on in each half. He agreed that we played well.

06-07-2024, 08:19 PM
Just to calm the beans a tad, if you hold your nose and take a peek on the Bounce there are several posts from a POAK supporter and he says it was their B team with just two first team starters on in each half. He agreed that we played well.
Aye, the guy that cost £20m and the other guy that was £2m?

I smell *******

06-07-2024, 08:21 PM

Hahaha! How big is their squad then? They made wholesale changes at halftime.

The cynic in me thinks that 'PAOK fan' is a Jambo in disguise.

06-07-2024, 08:28 PM

There were at least 6 who started today that started at Tyne castle.

06-07-2024, 08:36 PM

That’s nonsense. 9 of the players who featured today started in their Europa Conference League Quarter Final defeat to Club Brugge. Another 6 were on the bench for that game.

06-07-2024, 08:48 PM
A lot of semis on here. It’s pre season twaddle.

Calm doon and wake me up when the games that count start.

06-07-2024, 08:53 PM

I don't think anyone is getting carried away over pre-season twaddle. I can see people happier that we seem to be able to defend as a unit.

06-07-2024, 09:04 PM
I don't think anyone is getting carried away over pre-season twaddle. I can see people happier that we seem to be able to defend as a unit.

Last couple of summers have set the tone for the season. Last year we were chucking goals in against Edinburgh City and it set the tone. Year before, although not pre season, we had Johnson treating the League Cup as if it was and it being a shambles.

Definite reasons for optimism. 4 wins in the League Cup now minimum requirement.

06-07-2024, 09:36 PM
Last couple of summers have set the tone for the season. Last year we were chucking goals in against Edinburgh City and it set the tone. Year before, although not pre season, we had Johnson treating the League Cup as if it was and it being a shambles.

Definite reasons for optimism. 4 wins in the League Cup now minimum requirement.

Exactly.

I was at the Edinburgh city game last pre-season and it meant nothing but it did give a feeling things weren’t right with the team.

Winning today and having a good pre-season results wise means nothing from a points perspective, it does many mean we can’t get a wee gauge from the team that we are hopefully heading in the right direction.

We could go out and lose next Saturday and the mood will change but for now, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being pretty satisfied with how things are looking at present.

06-07-2024, 09:51 PM
https://youtu.be/8_nZ5V-1srE?si=12PTQuTB_XBTKBkV
Highlights

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

06-07-2024, 10:04 PM
I have to hand it to SDG

That is a great start to the pre-season

Top man, off to an encouraging start here

j'adorehibs
06-07-2024, 10:11 PM
https://youtu.be/8_nZ5V-1srE?si=12PTQuTB_XBTKBkV
Highlights

If thats the highlights from both clubs perspetive Hibs offered nothing going forward. If as per this highlight perspective we were under as much pressure then I guess we defended well and thats a positive.

06-07-2024, 10:14 PM
If thats the highlights from both clubs perspetive Hibs offered nothing going forward. If as per this highlight perspective we were under as much pressure then I guess we defended well and thats a positive.

I think it's from the PAOK perspective I missed the game live feed.

06-07-2024, 10:46 PM

Offered nothing yet still won.

06-07-2024, 10:50 PM

I never felt we were under much pressure.

They had a lot of the ball but the majority of their shots were from distance.

We were solid and really well organised, pressing them well in good areas.

We also broke well at times but the final pass let us down

Big90inOz
06-07-2024, 11:01 PM
Watched the game apart from first 10 mins and we were fine up to 25m from their goals and then we had nothing. Bad goalie error for our goal however good closing from Boyle.

ChuckNor
06-07-2024, 11:10 PM
Seen his few pics of McKirdy with fans after the game. Any word how he is doing?

cubehindthegoal
06-07-2024, 11:29 PM
I never felt we were under much pressure.

They had a lot of the ball but the majority of their shots were from distance.

We were solid and really well organised, pressing them well in good areas.

We also broke well at times but the final pass let us down

Agree, that’s a fair perspective of the match.

And I’m not sure why anyone can find general negatives tbh in our pre-season to date : wins all round, clean sheets, new centre half’s bedding in well at an early stage, further signings inevitable in this window, players moved on and loaned out balance well versus what we have brought in (and more to leave at long last, next year), goals scored without new strikers in yet … I’ll stop there … there is plenty to not be negative about …

06-07-2024, 11:37 PM
Really solid, organised performance. It was really windy which perhaps didn't come across on the stream.

Probably 90 Hibbys there compared to 500 PAOK fans who were all based in Germany, pretend fans if you like, similar to Man Utd fans who go to Murrayfield and think they are die hards.

A good day out with good Hibbys though against a quality team. I think they brought a guy on who has 28 Portuguese caps.

Donegal Hibby
07-07-2024, 12:05 AM
I didn't see the game yesterday though was wondering how Megwa and Molotnikov played and what's your thoughts on them ... Thanks.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/july/05/get-to-know--rudi-molotnikov---kanayo-megwa-/

07-07-2024, 06:27 AM
Really solid, organised performance. It was really windy which perhaps didn't come across on the stream.

Probably 90 Hibbys there compared to 500 PAOK fans who were all based in Germany, pretend fans if you like, similar to Man Utd fans who go to Murrayfield and think they are die hards.

A good day out with good Hibbys though against a quality team. I think they brought a guy on who has 28 Portuguese caps.

Think you could tell how windy it was when some of their fans decided to let off flares 😊

HIBS NUTS
07-07-2024, 07:07 AM
I didn't see the game yesterday though was wondering how Megwa and Molotnikov played and what's your thoughts on them ... Thanks.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/july/05/get-to-know--rudi-molotnikov---kanayo-megwa-/
MEGWA done well played the second half, I think he will be back up for Miller at full back this season, cadden seems to now be right midfield.
Rudi also played second half, mainly in a forward area, received very little of the ball, but pressed well, I think he will be loaned out, as he is 18.

07-07-2024, 07:54 AM

Mon the misery.

07-07-2024, 07:55 AM
On the younger players, I absolutely love Whittaker.

His attitude is absolutely fantastic, he doesn’t give the opposition a second on the ball and constantly presses them and gets in their face.

Hes aggressive in it too, it’s not half hearted.

Then there’s his composure and ability on the ball.

Obviously he has a lot to learn, but I’m not going to pick faults in a young boy who at his age has already achieved far more than I ever did.

He’ll improve no doubt and hopefully fulfill his potential and be a brilliant player for us.

07-07-2024, 07:59 AM

Both got around 25 minutes. Megwa was more involved and looked comfortable enough on the ball and despite being small (ish), he is clearly a strong laddie.

Molotnikov didn't see much of the ball, but he harried and chased down everything. He looks like a strapping lad, definitely big enough to compete physically and had a few decent touches. He played through the middle, advanced role.

I liked our discipline and the shape. PAOK were getting stuck in about us and we stood up well to them. Miller played well, got fouled a lot. Central defenders defended ably and the goalie seemed good with the ball at his feet. Overall, he had little else to do.

They were more fluid than us and dominated possession, but we still created and still put them under pressure at times.

It's only a friendly etc, etc but there were good signs. We were organised, defended strongly and looked decent.

07-07-2024, 08:02 AM
Without overreacting, I think we'll win the league and probably both cups.

Hillsidehibby
07-07-2024, 08:05 AM
Both got around 25 minutes. Megwa was more involved and looked comfortable enough on the ball and despite being small (ish), he is clearly a strong laddie.

Molotnikov didn't see much of the ball, but he harried and chased down everything. He looks like a strapping lad, definitely big enough to compete physically and had a few decent touches. He played through the middle, advanced role.

I liked our discipline and the shape. PAOK were getting stuck in about us and we stood up well to them. Miller played well, got fouled a lot. Central defenders defended ably and the goalie seemed good with the ball at his feet. Overall, he had little else to do.

They were more fluid than us and dominated possession, but we still created and still put them under pressure at times.

It's only a friendly etc, etc but there were good signs. We were organised, defended strongly and looked decent.

Thats good enough for me.

07-07-2024, 08:14 AM

That’s what I thought.

Looks like we received a total barrage of attacks and they were lucky not to score.

They seemed to get the better of us out wide as well, with the all too similar sight of us chasing break away players who seem to be faster than us.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

07-07-2024, 08:27 AM
Did everyone get some game time yesterday

hibbie02
07-07-2024, 08:30 AM

So if you spent 20 years supporting your team and them move away for work, you suddenly become a "pretend fan"? I'm pretty sure Greeks living in Germany are not glory hunters like a lot of Man Yoo fans are. They will be there to work (or grew up there) and reteined their allegiance. It is geographically easier to get to Holland than Greece to watch a game. If Hibs were to play Arsenal, it would be far easier for me to get there than to Leith. DOes that make me a "pretend fan"?

07-07-2024, 08:39 AM
That’s what I thought.

Looks like we received a total barrage of attacks and they were lucky not to score.

They seemed to get the better of us out wide as well, with the all too similar sight of us chasing break away players who seem to be faster than us.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I haven't watched the PAOK version of the highlights, but they barely created anything from all their possession. If their players were faster, I didn't notice that, but given that they are a couple of levels above us, no surprise. That just makes our performance seem all the better.

Did everyone get some game time yesterday

We made lots of changes from around 65 mins, not many played the full game.

07-07-2024, 09:17 AM

His attitude is absolutely fantastic, he doesn’t give the opposition a second on the ball and constantly presses them and gets in their face.

Obviously he has a lot to learn, but I’m not going to pick faults in a young boy who at his age has already achieved far more than I ever did.

He’ll improve no doubt and hopefully fulfill his potential and be a brilliant player for us.

Love his attitude too same with Rudi

07-07-2024, 09:54 AM

Good supportive post.

The attitude you describe also sounds exactly like what David Gray is looking for, which bodes well for him.

Hope to see him really kick on his season.

07-07-2024, 10:35 AM
We looked dangerous with the corners, especially in the first half with O'Hora going close on one occasion.

Rudi done well with lots of energy off the ball and I don't think he looked out of place.

50/50 as I would love to see him feature more this season but on the flip side he would probably get more game time out on loan.

Just have to see what happens.

07-07-2024, 11:07 AM

One for the oldies but...to me he's the new Gordon Hunter.

Fingers crossed, anyway

Donegal Hibby
07-07-2024, 11:31 AM
I know it's only pre-season games though when was the last time we have won 3 games on a trot while keeping 3 clean sheets? . Must be ages ago ? .

07-07-2024, 11:47 AM

Based on the three games played to date we are in a better place now than we were last season. Great credit is due to SDG and his new coaching team for the progress made so far.
From watching yesterday’s game there are three players in the pool who need to be replaced imo. Walacott, Levitt and Vente.
Walacott made one decent save at his near post to be fair but otherwise looked and behaved nervously throughout his minutes and will never instil confidence in his defence.
Levitt doesn’t have the physicality or pace to work effectively in the engine room of midfield. Yesterday he chased around a lot but achieved very little and the occasional good pass is not enough to secure him a place in the first eleven.
Vente just doesn’t have the physicality to win a ball played up to him quickly from the back, hold it up and lay it off to the midfield runners when they reach him and he certainly isn’t scoring goals which is what he was brought in to do.
If the club is able to replace these three with the right players then I believe we will be able as fans to enjoy a much more competitive season.
Theses comments are of course imo.

07-07-2024, 12:02 PM
The PAOK result would have given he players confidence pre season friendly or not. They're a quality team.

07-07-2024, 12:48 PM
Not giving away late goals, is a good habit for any team to have, long may it continue.

07-07-2024, 01:49 PM
Why can’t people be pleased with another victory and clean sheet? Constant negativity is an absolute mood hoover. We lost many times against much weaker opposition last season. Onwards and upwards Hibs!

07-07-2024, 02:55 PM
Why can’t people be pleased with another victory and clean sheet? Constant negativity is an absolute mood hoover. We lost many times against much weaker opposition last season. Onwards and upwards Hibs!

Indeed.

3 straight wins, no goals conceded. I like this start to campaign. Starts on Saturday in Elgin but early signs of improvement

Garymcl
07-07-2024, 03:04 PM
Agreed promising pre season so far ,remember we’ve still to sign more players ,hopefully one or two in before Saturdays game in Elgin looking forward to it ,bring it on :thumbsup:

Manxhibs
07-07-2024, 03:04 PM

Absolutely! Seems to be heading in the right direction and so plenty of reasons to be optimistic.

07-07-2024, 03:44 PM

I don't think you've really read the posts on this thread? There's virtually no negativity, apart from one bizarre comment, which no one ran with. By all means call out the ridiculous, but let's not get carried away with a bit added drama when none's required :wink:

07-07-2024, 04:20 PM
I don't think you've really read the posts on this thread? There's virtually no negativity, apart from one bizarre comment, which no one ran with. By all means call out the ridiculous, but let's not get carried away with a bit added drama when none's required :wink:

Read pages 5/6 alone. Only drama is from those trying to pick holes in the result.

Onto Elgin 🤞🏻

07-07-2024, 04:44 PM
I don't think you've really read the posts on this thread? There's virtually no negativity, apart from one bizarre comment, which no one ran with. By all means call out the ridiculous, but let's not get carried away with a bit added drama when none's required :wink:https://youtu.be/CIMNXogXnvE?si=79xApALoO18pUwj8

07-07-2024, 06:34 PM
I think the pre-season games have been a big success, tbh. Good football, a solid test against a team who are at a higher level than we are, no goals conceded and (as far as we know) no new injuries to worry about. We need to win on Saturday, when it matters, but I'm very confident for that game - and the season ahead, now.

07-07-2024, 07:46 PM
I think the pre-season games have been a big success, tbh. Good football, a solid test against a team who are at a higher level than we are, no goals conceded and (as far as we know) no new injuries to worry about. We need to win on Saturday, when it matters, but I'm very confident for that game - and the season ahead, now.

Confident for Saturday given the level of opposition

We still need another 4 or 5 signings and some outs before I’m confident for the league campaign

07-07-2024, 08:54 PM
Highlights from a Hibs perspective
http://tinyurl.com/56ym5mez

LewysGot2
09-07-2024, 12:04 PM
Indeed.

3 straight wins, no goals conceded. I like this start to campaign. Starts on Saturday in Elgin but early signs of improvement

OHora looks a very promising signing. Noisy organiser, reads the game and can play a bit.
Like the look for Bursik, too.