View Full Version : Jacob Fearnley

Berwickhibby
03-07-2024, 09:46 PM
The tennis player from Dalkeith, does anyone know if he is a Hibby?

LewysGot2
04-07-2024, 03:43 PM
He's from Buckstone in Edinburgh and went to the £40K per year private school Merchiston.

Texas for university.

Why do you think he might be/would you like him to be a Hibs fan?

04-07-2024, 03:48 PM
He's from Buckstone in Edinburgh and went to the £40K per year private school Merchiston.

Texas for university.

What a weird post, he is just asking if he is a Hibs fan. I know plenty Hibs fans that went to the private schools in Edinburgh.

25-30% of kids in Edinburgh go to private schools, some will be Hibs fans.

04-07-2024, 03:48 PM
Dalkeith
Buckstone
Texas

life choices eh?

LewysGot2
04-07-2024, 03:53 PM
What a weird post, he is just asking if he is a Hibs fan. I know plenty Hibs fans that went to the private schools in Edinburgh.

Erm, it was the only information about him available publicly. Not a comment on the likelihood of his Hibs status. Not sure why the question arose to be honest- other than Andy Murray. That was the thought.

Anyhow...

04-07-2024, 03:54 PM

The overall percentage of the Edinburgh who got to ER and that other place is far less than that so it was a bit of a random ask re football.

Btw, I don't know any Hibs fan who went to a private school so you move in higher circles than me 😃

04-07-2024, 03:55 PM
Erm, it was the only information about him available publicly. Not a comment on the likelihood of his Hibs status. Not sure why the question arose to be honest- other than Andy Murray. That was the thought.

Anyhow...

The bit I found weird was "would you like him to be a Hibs fan?" as if at Hibs there is some kind of passable background you have to have to be a Hibs fan.

The overall percentage of the Edinburgh who got to ER and that other place is far less than that so it was a bit of a random ask re football.

Btw, I don't know any Hibs fan who went to a private school so you move in higher circles than me ��

There are plenty more that go to Tynecastle I can tell you that.

04-07-2024, 03:57 PM

Texas for university.

So, a poster is asking if a boy from Edinburgh who’s going big-time in sports is a Hibs (or Hearts for that matter) fan, much like other big sports names such as the Murray brothers, Stuart Hogg and Sir Chris Hoy? But because he went to a private school (as 1/3rd of Edinburgh children do) and then went to a prestigious college in the US, it’s not a reasonable question?

Very, very weird reply.

LewysGot2
04-07-2024, 03:58 PM
The bit I found weird was "would you like him to be a Hibs fan?" as if at Hibs there is some kind of passable background you have to have to be a Hibs fan.

There are plenty more that go to Tynecastle I can tell you that.

But why would we think "there's a sports player doing well is he a Hibs fan?" Other than the obvious.

It's not really something that crosses most folks mind at first time of asking. Bet you nobody had heard of the laddie before this week. :wink:

LewysGot2
04-07-2024, 03:59 PM
So, a poster is asking if a boy from Edinburgh who’s going big-time in sports is a Hibs (or Hearts for that matter) fan, much like other big sports names such as the Murray brothers, Stuart Hogg and Sir Chris Hoy? But because he went to a private school (as 1/3rd of Edinburgh children do) and then went to a prestigious college in the US, it’s not a reasonable question?

Very, very weird reply.

I've already expanded. Not going to again :thumbsup:

04-07-2024, 04:00 PM
But why would we think "there's a sports player doing well is he a Hibs fan?" Other than the obvious.

It's not really something that crosses most folks mind at first time of asking. Bet you nobody had heard of the laddie before this week. :wink:

Course they hadn't, but you seemed to be using the lads background as some kind of reason that he couldn't be a Hibs fan.

Anyhoo, it was a fair question IMO. OP was just wondering.

LewysGot2
04-07-2024, 04:01 PM
Course they hadn't, but you seemed to be using the lads background as some kind of reason that he couldn't be a Hibs fan.

Anyhoo, it was a fair question IMO. OP was just wondering.

Hopefully someone can oblige then :wink:

04-07-2024, 04:05 PM
I went to a public school in Edinburgh and I've always been a Hibs fan.

04-07-2024, 04:06 PM
He used to be in Block7 if that helps.

SickBoy32
04-07-2024, 04:10 PM
Little wonder Hibs and Hearts are so poorly supported (relative to the size of Edinburgh and the Lothians) if that figure of 33% bairns in Edinburgh being privately educated is accurate. Wow.

FWIW (not much!), through work I must know about 15-20 people that went to Edinburgh private schools, zero are Hibs fans. 2 jambos, but for most football is not on their radar whatsoever.

vercol36
04-07-2024, 04:15 PM
I went to a private school and almost everyone in my class was a Hibs fan. Bit of reverse snobbery on this thread, methinks

04-07-2024, 04:15 PM
Little wonder Hibs and Hearts are so poorly supported (relative to the size of Edinburgh and the Lothians) if that figure of 33% bairns in Edinburgh being privately educated is accurate. Wow.

FWIW (not much!), through work I must know about 15-20 people that went to Edinburgh private schools, zero are Hibs fans. 2 jambos, but for most football is not on their radar whatsoever.

WTF does the school they went to make any difference. A really stupid statement to make and you've made many. Plenty young lads / men near us that attended private schools. Make no difference where you were educated.

Green Reaper
04-07-2024, 04:18 PM
I went to Ainslie Park, definitely not private, but know quite a few Hibby's that went to Private school, mostly Melvilles

vercol36
04-07-2024, 04:21 PM
WTF does the school they went to make any difference. A really stupid statement to make and you've made many. Plenty young lads / men near us that attended private schools. Make no difference where you were educated.

Indeed. I’d also like to point out that there are members of our casuals firm who also attended private school. Just in case you thought we were all like Jacob Reese Mogg.

04-07-2024, 04:22 PM
Very Hibs.net of this thread to mange to descend into bickering

04-07-2024, 04:24 PM
I went to a private school and almost everyone in my class was a Hibs fan. Bit of reverse snobbery on this thread, methinks

This. I would agree that most public school kids , or the ones that went to my school, were not football fans but that was 47/48 years ago lol I was always a Hibs fan though, I got that from my father.

04-07-2024, 04:26 PM
Indeed. I’d also like to point out that there are members of our casuals firm who also attended private school. Just in case you thought we were all like Jacob Reese Mogg.

Exactly. Some "fans" really have no idea.

04-07-2024, 04:31 PM
I turned down a scholarship for Heriots and I am a Hibs fan. We don't know he was paying fees at Merchie
Hope the lad goes on to do well and is a Hibs fan. The higher profile we have the better and it is always nice to cheer on a fellow Hibs fan doing well. Not his fault he went to Private School as it was probably his parent's choice(my parents let me have the choice but that is unusual) and Merchiston has huge success nurturing athletes.

Mark05
04-07-2024, 04:39 PM
Anyway I thought he played a great game today.Hopefully he pushes on so we have another Scot to cheer on at tennis,and I hope he is a hibby🤣

04-07-2024, 04:40 PM
I turned down a scholarship for Heriots and I am a Hibs fan. We don't know he was paying fees at Merchie
Hope the lad goes on to do well and is a Hibs fan. The higher profile we have the better and it is always nice to cheer on a fellow Hibs fan doing well. Not his fault he went to Private School as it was probably his parent's choice(my parents let me have the choice but that is unusual) and Merchiston has huge success nurturing athletes.
This is definitely a weird thread. “Not his fault”. FFS

04-07-2024, 04:41 PM

That's a coincidence Si, I knocked back a bursary position at Heriots too, my parents left it up to me as well, can't help thinking that that was a mistake. 🙄

ruthven_raiders
04-07-2024, 04:47 PM
Anyway I thought he played a great game today.Hopefully he pushes on so we have another Scot to cheer on at tennis,and I hope he is a hibby��

Forgot he was playing djokovic today, he came thru the college system in the USA, toughens you up and let's you develop rather than struggling in the ATP tour, so he should start to shoot up the rankings, don't care who he supports just great that someone from Scotland might keep my interest in tennis alive. Cam Norrie beating draper just now too ��

Bridge hibs
04-07-2024, 04:49 PM
I went to a public school in Edinburgh and I've always been a Hibs fan.

I never went to school, Im as thick as a brick, but I support hibs

04-07-2024, 04:53 PM

👍👍👍

04-07-2024, 04:56 PM
I went to a private school and almost everyone in my class was a Hibs fan. Bit of reverse snobbery on this thread, methinksI didn't go to a private school, but any folks I know that did .... and know the team they support ..... are mostly Hibs with a couple of jambos and a St mirren fan also in the mix :greengrin

Mark05
04-07-2024, 05:06 PM
Forgot he was playing djokovic today, he came thru the college system in the USA, toughens you up and let's you vevelop rather than struggling in the ATP tour, so he should start to shoot up the rankings, don't care woh he supports just great that someone from Scotland might keep my interest in tennis alive. Cam Norrie beating draper just now too 😊
I wasn't sure what to expect as I've never seen him play before, but I was really impressed.I always like to see Scots do well in any sport so hopefully he will do well especially Andy Murray will be retiring 👍

one day maybe...
04-07-2024, 05:30 PM
It was mentioned on the bbc build up to the tennis this morning, that he was a Hibs fan.

04-07-2024, 05:37 PM
Am I the only one who opened this thread hoping to read about a potential signing and is disappointed to find no signing news but instead has learnt that you can't be a Hibs fan unless you've memorised Das Kapital?

green with envy
04-07-2024, 05:44 PM
I thought I was going to be reading about a new signing 🥴

04-07-2024, 05:51 PM

Very, very weird reply.

Do a third of Edinburgh children go to Private school? That seems really high

04-07-2024, 05:51 PM
Dalkeith
Buckstone
Texas

life choices eh?

I'm Buckstone, Fife, never been to the US and really struggle with my service game 🤣

04-07-2024, 05:52 PM
He used to be in Block7 if that helps.

😄

04-07-2024, 05:52 PM
I was mentioned on the bbc build up to the tennis this morning, that he was a Hibs fan.

What were you mentioned for?

04-07-2024, 05:57 PM
I love .net ! :rofl:

Groathillgrump
04-07-2024, 05:59 PM
Do a third of Edinburgh children go to Private school? That seems really high

Quick Google search tells me around 25-30% of Edinburgh kids are privately educated (figures as of May 2024) compared to only 4.1% across the whole of Scotland (2023 figure.)

That's a surprisingly high percentage (to me anyway) of kids in private schools in Edinburgh.

04-07-2024, 06:07 PM
Quick Google search tells me around 25-30% of Edinburgh kids are privately educated (figures as of May 2024) compared to only 4.1% across the whole of Scotland (2023 figure.)

That's a surprisingly high percentage (to me anyway) of kids in private schools in Edinburgh.

Agree seems too high but maybe not

Trinity Hibee
04-07-2024, 06:13 PM
So nobody knows if he is Hibs/hearts/even likes football?

04-07-2024, 06:19 PM

The jist is that because he went to a private school, his opinion/support is irrelevant.

04-07-2024, 06:24 PM

That’s a quite incredible figure, it seems unbelievably high.

04-07-2024, 06:24 PM
Not often 2 Hibs supporters are on Centre Court at the same time.

04-07-2024, 06:29 PM
That’s a quite incredible figure, it seems unbelievably high.

Edinburgh Private Schools: Fettes, Merchiston, St Georges, Mary Erskine, Stewart’s Melville, George Heriots, George Watsons (largest private school in Europe), Edinburgh Academy, Cargifield, Rudolph Steiners, and Loretto.

That’s a lot of school kids and private schools for a population of 550k.

04-07-2024, 06:43 PM
Not often 2 Hibs supporters are on Centre Court at the same time.

Andy & Jamie Murray:wink:

one day maybe...
04-07-2024, 06:49 PM
What were you mentioned for?

Changed that lol

04-07-2024, 07:01 PM

I went to Trinity which at the time was a grammar school and although it was Rugby we played, we were all football mad too with many being Hibs fans and a lot still going to games.

04-07-2024, 07:06 PM
Edinburgh Private Schools: Fettes, Merchiston, St Georges, Mary Erskine, Stewart’s Melville, George Heriots, George Watsons (largest private school in Europe), Edinburgh Academy, Cargifield, Rudolph Steiners, and Loretto.

You forgot St Serf and Loretto in Musselburgh, although historically Fettes, Heriots and George Watsons were built as orphanages.

I'd also add St Georges and Mary Erskines are all girls school, probably not many football fans from there.

04-07-2024, 07:08 PM

Thankfully there is only one of him

04-07-2024, 07:16 PM

According to a story in The Sun this morning he supported Hibs as a youngster but, pretty much sacked it when he moved to America.

04-07-2024, 07:21 PM
That Mogg gadgie is like something out of 1902 and I’m no talking aboot the play :greengrin

04-07-2024, 07:39 PM
That Mogg gadgie is like something out of 1902 and I’m no talking aboot the play :greengrinJambo written all over him, and written through the middle like a stick of rock if you cut him in half.

Form an orderly queue for the cutting in half bit.

04-07-2024, 07:43 PM
From what I`ve read about the tennis player it sounds like he was at Merchiston school because he was good at tennis , maybe something similar to American college syatem though at a much earlier age . He was playing at age 4 and in international tournaments at 11 .
In recent years , a few Hibbies have been ex private school ( Stokes and Alex Harris for example but I think others made reserve team and is Megwa not from a private sports college ? ) and many managers and players have sent their kids to privaye schools . We used to train and play friendlies at Edinburgh Academy when McLeish was manager and had his sons studying there .
As for supporters at private schools in Edinburgh area , I`ve no idea if number is much lower than at state schools but it probably is though I don`t think the % of ( ex ) pupils at Edinburgh schools whether private or state who support a club regularly will be very high . I remember when I was at uni in Edinburgh that a lot of folk had studied at private schools in Edinburgh but travelling from Fife , West Lothian etc and were supporters of Raith , Pars , Falkirk , Stenhousemuir etc .

MKHIBEE
04-07-2024, 08:10 PM
I really don’t mind if you sit this one out.

ruthven_raiders
04-07-2024, 08:32 PM
I wasn't sure what to expect as I've never seen him play before, but I was really impressed.I always like to see Scots do well in any sport so hopefully he will do well especially Andy Murray will be retiring 👍

Listening to commentators tonight, they said he was beating the likes of Alcatraz at age of 15, took a different route, so no reason he can't get to top ten....😊

04-07-2024, 08:33 PM
Merchiston have their own tennis academy - Google it - it’s pretty impressive and you could argue they have better indoor training space than Hibs. (Obviously different sports but the size of the dome).

Jock O
04-07-2024, 08:34 PM
From what I`ve read about the tennis player it sounds like he was at Merchiston school because he was good at tennis , maybe something similar to American college syatem though at a much earlier age . He was playing at age 4 and in international tournaments at 11 .

Merchiston have a specific tennis academy, that I thought was a separate entity, although I assume will be linked for academic resources.

darwenhibby
04-07-2024, 08:42 PM
I went to an approved school if that is the same as a private school
They were all Huns except me.
No Hibbys

04-07-2024, 09:00 PM
I didn’t go to a private school but life has brought me into contact with a fairly surprisingly high number of privately educated hibbies.

There was a very funny moment in the pub in the aftermath of the rainy washout game at Central Park a few years ago. I was there with my brother and we met up with a mate of my brother’s, his mate’s dad and a few of his mates. Turns out my brother didn’t know his mate went to Watson’s (it really isn’t obvious) and upon discovery of this my brother managed the priceless line to his dad “FFS, money down the drain there, eh” which was a lot funnier at the time than it sounds here. Fortunately it was taken in the spirit it was intended. And my brother now sends his kids to private school, his son very much being a Hibs fan.

04-07-2024, 09:02 PM
That's a coincidence Si, I knocked back a bursary position at Heriots too, my parents left it up to me as well, can't help thinking that that was a mistake. 🙄 N'ah, good decision imo. At that age I may have tried to go with the flow and who knows how I would have ended up. One of my mates sons knocked Heriots back a few years back too. I wonder if they always end up with second best

04-07-2024, 09:04 PM
In recent years , a few Hibbies have been ex private school ( Stokes and Alex Harris for example but I think others made reserve team and is Megwa not from a private sports college ? ) and many managers and players have sent their kids to privaye schools . We used to train and play friendlies at Edinburgh Academy when McLeish was manager and had his sons studying there .
As for supporters at private schools in Edinburgh area , I`ve no idea if number is much lower than at state schools but it probably is though I don`t think the % of ( ex ) pupils at Edinburgh schools whether private or state who support a club regularly will be very high . I remember when I was at uni in Edinburgh that a lot of folk had studied at private schools in Edinburgh but travelling from Fife , West Lothian etc and were supporters of Raith , Pars , Falkirk , Stenhousemuir etc .

Jamie Gullan was at Watson’s . They’ve got a big picture of him in his Hibs kit in their sports hall besides Chris Hoy, Jamie Heatly and others.

hibbie02
04-07-2024, 09:33 PM
You forgot St Serf and Loretto in Musselburgh, although historically Fettes, Heriots and George Watsons were built as orphanages.

I'd also add St Georges and Mary Erskines are all girls school, probably not many football fans from there.

Heriots was not an orphanage. The school was set up to offer education to boys whose Father died. That continues today with the bursary scheme. I went there and I didn’t get a bursary. Left at 15 as parents couldn’t afford it. Went on to Leith Academy, which was an interesting experience. Good job I was a genuine Hibbie!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

04-07-2024, 10:07 PM

Loretto was at the end of his post actually. Fettes College, Merchiston Castle and Loretto are all public schools, Stewarts Melville (formerly Daniel Stewarts and Melville College), George Watsons and possibly Heriots (although I'm not sure about them) and possibly Gilsland Park were part of the Merchant Company group. I don't know if Clifton Hall, just outside Edinburgh is still on the go, that's another prep school like Cargilfield, as far as I know Cargilfield and Clifton Hall only go up to age 12 or 13 I think, although that might have changed. There used to be loads of all girls schools in Edinburgh but I think most of them are shut down now i.e St Denis, St Hilary's, St Margaret, St Margaret's Convent, Cranley etc.

He's here!
04-07-2024, 11:33 PM

Texas for university.

Why wouldn't he be a Hibs fan?

He won a bursary to attend Merchiston's tennis academy BTW and unless you're a boarder there nobody is paying anything like 40k fees.

One thing's for sure, he's a phenomenal tennis player.

He's here!
04-07-2024, 11:36 PM
Jamie Gullan was at Watson’s . They’ve got a big picture of him in his Hibs kit in their sports hall besides Chris Hoy, Jamie Heatly and others.

One of our greatest strikers, Tornado Alan Gordon, was a Heriot's boy.

On a sad note, some may recall youth player David Paul (a former Watson's pupil) passing away with a rare genetic condition a few years back.

He's here!
04-07-2024, 11:44 PM

Watson's occupies a vast campus. If you're ever driving through that part of town when the school's getting out it's like half the kids in the city go there. Stands to reason there would be Hibs fans among them (in fact I know a couple come to think of it) despite the maroon blazers.

Edinburgh's always been weel kent for its disproportionately high number of public schools. From Crewe Toll to Goldenacre a whole side of Ferry Road is taken up by their sports pitches.

05-07-2024, 12:21 AM
Watson's occupies a vast campus. If you're ever driving through that part of town when the school's getting out it's like half the kids in the city go there. Stands to reason there would be Hibs fans among them (in fact I know a couple come to think of it) despite the maroon blazers.

Edinburgh's always been weel kent for its disproportionately high number of public schools. From Crewe Toll to Goldenacre a whole side of Ferry Road is taken up by their sports pitches.

Mixu’s kids went there too.

05-07-2024, 06:41 AM
Why wouldn't he be a Hibs fan?

He won a bursary to attend Merchiston's tennis academy BTW and unless you're a boarder there nobody is paying anything like 40k fees.

One thing's for sure, he's a phenomenal tennis player.

Indeed why wouldn’t he be

05-07-2024, 07:06 AM
Heriots was not an orphanage. The school was set up to offer education to boys whose Father died. That continues today with the bursary scheme. I went there and I didn’t get a bursary. Left at 15 as parents couldn’t afford it. Went on to Leith Academy, which was an interesting experience. Good job I was a genuine Hibbie!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

On his death in 1624, George Heriot left just over 23,625 pounds sterling – equivalent to about £3 million in 2017 – to found a "hospital" (a charitable school) on the model of Christ's Hospital in London, to care for the "puir, faitherless bairns" (Scots: poor, fatherless children) and children of "decayit" (fallen on hard times) burgesses and freemen of Edinburgh.

Well not fully orphanage but built in the same vain, to educate poor fatherless children, still a charitable establishment or hospital as it was called, similar to Watsons.

He's here!
05-07-2024, 07:55 AM
Loretto was at the end of his post actually. Fettes College, Merchiston Castle and Loretto are all public schools, Stewarts Melville (formerly Daniel Stewarts and Melville College), George Watsons and possibly Heriots (although I'm not sure about them) and possibly Gilsland Park were part of the Merchant Company group. I don't know if Clifton Hall, just outside Edinburgh is still on the go, that's another prep school like Cargilfield, as far as I know Cargilfield and Clifton Hall only go up to age 12 or 13 I think, although that might have changed. There used to be loads of all girls schools in Edinburgh but I think most of them are shut down now i.e St Denis, St Hilary's, St Margaret, St Margaret's Convent, Cranley etc.

There was also John Watson's (different to George Watson's) which is now the Modern Art Gallery. The gallery later expanded across the road to incorporate the former Dean Orphanage. Nice part of town for a gentle stroll. Came across an orphans' cemetery in the woods behind the gallery a good few years back which I found a moving experience.

05-07-2024, 07:57 AM
he was beating the likes of Alcatraz

Not many do that

john18722
05-07-2024, 09:26 AM

This. Also went to a private school and I’m a Hibs fans as
are a lot of my mates.

05-07-2024, 11:35 AM

Many of the kids that attend those schools are not from Edinburgh.

05-07-2024, 11:37 AM
There was also John Watson's (different to George Watson's) which is now the Modern Art Gallery. The gallery later expanded across the road to incorporate the former Dean Orphanage. Nice part of town for a gentle stroll. Came across an orphans' cemetery in the woods behind the gallery a good few years back which I found a moving experience.

Yep, very near where I used to live. Really just round the corner from Stew/Mel. Quite near the Dragonara (if that's what it's still called, I haven't lived in Edinburgh for over 30 years). I used to play Squash near there as well, at the time it had the only doubles Squash court in Scotland but that's probably changed now too.

05-07-2024, 11:51 AM
Yep, very near where I used to live. Really just round the corner from Stew/Mel. Quite near the Dragonara (if that's what it's still called, I haven't lived in Edinburgh for over 30 years). I used to play Squash near there as well, at the time it had the only doubles Squash court in Scotland but that's probably changed now too.

Dragonara, jeez nor heard it called that for many a year, it's a cheap and not so cheerful Brittania Hotel nowadays. Edinburgh Sports club at Belford Pl is still there.

He's here!
05-07-2024, 01:46 PM

There are definitely more coming in from places like East Lothian than there used to be but the vast majority live in Edinburgh. As I said you only need to drive through that part of town at the end of the school day and the Watson's kids heading home are everywhere. Not sure what the numbers are compared to those who go to Boroughmuir but it's clearly a massive school.

05-07-2024, 01:53 PM
There are definitely more coming in from places like East Lothian than there used to be but the vast majority live in Edinburgh. As I said you only need to drive through that part of town at the end of the school day and the Watson's kids heading home are everywhere. Not sure what the numbers are compared to those who go to Boroughmuir but it's clearly a massive school.

Boroughmuir is essentially a defacto private school these days. Only the very well off can afford to buy into the catchment.

05-07-2024, 01:56 PM
Plenty get on the train from Fife every morning.

05-07-2024, 02:00 PM
I think Watson’s is the biggest school in Scotland.

05-07-2024, 02:01 PM
Dragonara, jeez nor heard it called that for many a year, it's a cheap and not so cheerful Brittania Hotel nowadays. Edinburgh Sports club at Belford Pl is still there.

Wow, showing my age mate, it used to be owned by Ladbrokes I think.

05-07-2024, 02:08 PM
Another Heriot's Hibby here.

No wonder I despise maroon with Hearts & Watsons being my football and rugby rivals. Mon the Nails!

05-07-2024, 02:13 PM
So is he a Hibby or not ? :greengrin

scm70nyd1973
05-07-2024, 02:41 PM
So is he a Hibby or not ? :greengrin

Personally I just think we should tell him that he is as it’s customary for all v good and successful Scottish tennis players to be one - end of thread 🤭

The Pointer
05-07-2024, 03:08 PM
When I went to the League Cup Final in 1972, a couple of mates organised a coach and I was one of very few who didn't go to a private school (Boroughmuir).

David Wilkie the Olympic swimmer who went to Stewarts was on board. It didn't matter a jot where you went to school and was never mentioned. No Nails though!

He's here!
05-07-2024, 03:44 PM
I think Watson’s is the biggest school in Scotland.

I just noticed someone else has posted that it's the biggest private school in Europe.

He's here!
05-07-2024, 03:47 PM
Boroughmuir is essentially a defacto private school these days. Only the very well off can afford to buy into the catchment.

I thought the catchment went right out as far as Buckstone. Or is Buckstone only for the very well off these days? It wasn't the case when we stayed there, though we're talking a while back now.

Maybe I'm thinking of Firhill, though I'm pretty sure our old neighbours kids went to Boroughmuir.

Trinity Hibee
05-07-2024, 03:51 PM
I thought the catchment went right out as far as Buckstone. Or is Buckstone only for the very well off these days? It wasn't the case when we stayed there, though we're talking a while back now.

Maybe I'm thinking of Firhill, though I'm pretty sure our old neighbours kids went to Boroughmuir.

Aye buckstone still in the Boroughmuir catchment.

05-07-2024, 04:45 PM
😴😴😴😴😴😴

monarch
05-07-2024, 05:24 PM
Exactly. If you live in, let’s say the lesser affluent area to the north side of but almost up against Boroughmuir school, you have to attend Tyncastle High (ugh!) while Pippa and Rupert who live miles away in the Braids and Fairmilehead attend Boroughmuir. Can afford private tutors.

All to do with making sure Boroughmuir remains near the top of the Scottish schools performance table. Edinburgh snobbery at its worst.

By the way apologies to any Rupert or Pippas who attend ER. You’re excused. :greengrin

He's here!
05-07-2024, 05:37 PM
Exactly. If you live in, let’s say the lesser affluent area to the north side of but almost up against Boroughmuir school, you have to attend Tyncastle High (ugh!) while Pippa and Rupert who live miles away in the Braids and Fairmilehead attend Boroughmuir. Can afford private tutors.

All to do with making sure Boroughmuir remains near the top of the Scottish schools performance table. Edinburgh snobbery at its worst.

By the way apologies to any Rupert or Pippas who attend ER. You’re excused. :greengrin

As pointed out though, Buckstone is in the Boroughmuir catchment. Pleasant enough place to stay (if a bit over-populated) but I never regarded it as 'snobby'. We'd certainly never have been able to stay there if it was only for the wealthy.

There will presumably be plenty of Edinburgh state schools which draw from more affluent areas (Scienes, Royal High, Broughton?) simply due to the fact Edinburgh is a small, relatively posh city (reflected by the disproportionate number of fee paying schools it has).

Bottom line, it seems mad to be weighing up whether folk are suitable Hibs fans based on what school they happened to attend. We should surely be welcoming of all fans?

05-07-2024, 07:26 PM
As pointed out though, Buckstone is in the Boroughmuir catchment. Pleasant enough place to stay (if a bit over-populated) but I never regarded it as 'snobby'. We'd certainly never have been able to stay there if it was only for the wealthy.

There will presumably be plenty of Edinburgh state schools which draw from more affluent areas (Scienes, Royal High, Broughton?) simply due to the fact Edinburgh is a small, relatively posh city (reflected by the disproportionate number of fee paying schools it has).

Bottom line, it seems mad to be weighing up whether folk are suitable Hibs fans based on what school they happened to attend. We should surely be welcoming of all fans?

ruthven_raiders
05-07-2024, 07:55 PM

I am sure buckstone is in the firrhill catchment area, live near this area and there is certainly a good mix of population...

05-07-2024, 08:36 PM

You wouldn't want to send your daughter Pippa to Greece or Italy or Sweden anytime as her name will raise a few laughs from the locals.

He's here!
05-07-2024, 08:53 PM
I am sure buckstone is in the firrhill catchment area, live near this area and there is certainly a good mix of population...

I ended up texting my old neighbour to check this out. Buckstone definitely feeds into Boroughmuir and the Firrhill catchment starts on the other side of the main road (the Swanston side I think?).

As you say a mixed bag of residents up there.

05-07-2024, 10:01 PM

Yeh there'll be a thread next asking everyone to say what foot they kick with.:greengrin

He's here!
06-07-2024, 11:30 AM

Alex Harris really exploded on to the scene under Fenlon. I remember Leigh Griffiths raving about him after that Falkirk semi. He really looked like something special but from what I recall he was badly handled by Butcher who (I think) threw him back in too soon after injury and his confidence never really seemed to return.

CentreForward
07-07-2024, 12:21 PM
Alex Harris really exploded on to the scene under Fenlon. I remember Leigh Griffiths raving about him after that Falkirk semi. He really looked like something special but from what I recall he was badly handled by Butcher who (I think) threw him back in too soon after injury and his confidence never really seemed to return.

He was the victim of a shocking tackle (think may have been against M’Well?) He never really recovered from that. As you say Butcher may have been partly to blame by throwing him back in too early. Such a shame as he really could have turned into some talent.

He's here!
07-07-2024, 04:03 PM
He was the victim of a shocking tackle (think may have been against M’Well?) He never really recovered from that. As you say Butcher may have been partly to blame by throwing him back in too early. Such a shame as he really could have turned into some talent.

Yep, there was a derby at Tynie (featuring a spectacular Griffiths free kick) where he looked dangerous every time he got the ball. Pacy, good passer and a powerful shot. He seemed like the most exciting prospect to emerge from the youth system I'd seen. Think you're right about him getting badly crocked against Motherwell.

IIRC he was also a high quality rugby player but opted for football.

07-07-2024, 04:03 PM

Yes Shaun Hutchinson of Well done him with a shocker