View Full Version : Jake Doyle Hayes
Dalkeith Boy
01-07-2024, 02:39 PM
Not travelling to Holland due to illness.....must be pretty frustrating for him and Hibs
01-07-2024, 02:42 PM
Shame for him but one of the worst decisions we made when giving him an extension so soon after joining.
01-07-2024, 02:56 PM
How long does he have on his contract?
01-07-2024, 02:57 PM
There is a player in there but it seems to be one thing after another with him. A good pre season was his chance to kick on.
Hibiza
01-07-2024, 03:03 PM
Another non performing passenger.
The Sundance Kid
01-07-2024, 03:04 PM
How long does he have on his contract?
Contract’s up at the end of this coming season
01-07-2024, 03:08 PM
Think he will go out on a season long loan. He's needing regular football if for nothing else than to prove to other clubs that he's worth signing at the end of his contract.
Hibiza
01-07-2024, 03:10 PM
Good luck Jake 👋
01-07-2024, 03:15 PM
As much as I feel like it's a shame for him that he can't seem to get fit enough to be part of the team, I don't think he's good enough anyway.
He's not good defensively, he's not good in an attacking sense. He does basically the same job that Joe Newell does, but absolutely nowhere near as well as Joe does it.
Chipper1875
01-07-2024, 03:23 PM
There is a player in there but it seems to be one thing after another with him. A good pre season was his chance to kick on.
When has there ever been a player in there. Signed for us June 2021.
01-07-2024, 03:27 PM
I dont know if this is the case here, but some players who have not travelled with teams on pre season tours are often said to be ill or injured because they are off somewhere else to play their football.
01-07-2024, 03:28 PM
He was totally fine on Saturday as was Delf - I assume there is bug going round camp.
Donegal Hibby
01-07-2024, 04:01 PM
He's been really unlucky in fairness . Hopefully he's back soon and gets a chance .
Paul1642
01-07-2024, 04:10 PM
Whilst he is always injured an illness is just complete bad luck on this occasion.
Paulie Walnuts
01-07-2024, 04:12 PM
As much as I feel like it's a shame for him that he can't seem to get fit enough to be part of the team, I don't think he's good enough anyway.
He's not good defensively, he's not good in an attacking sense. He does basically the same job that Joe Newell does, but absolutely nowhere near as well as Joe does it.
Even if he was fit every week I’d still rather see him moved on. Not good enough and his fitness issues just compound matters.
He was totally fine on Saturday as was Delf - I assume there is bug going round camp.
I take it that his attendance on Saturday means that Czech team didn’t take up the option to buy following his loan?
01-07-2024, 04:26 PM
Makes sense not to take anyone who's the slightest bit unwell to avoid the risk of it travelled round the full squad and interrupting training.
01-07-2024, 04:40 PM
So Joe Newell without the fitness, talent or hair?
01-07-2024, 04:43 PM
He’s a decent player.
Seems to be at his best against the old firm/hearts when he’s getting in amongst people or when he comes on as a sub as he injects some intensity and forward passing.
Unfortunately when he starts games against the ‘lesser’ he doesn’t seem to get as involved or play with the same intensity
leith lynx
01-07-2024, 04:45 PM
Think he will go out on a season long loan. He's needing regular football if for nothing else than to prove to other clubs that he's worth signing at the end of his contract.
Swap him for Simon Murray.
01-07-2024, 04:54 PM
So Joe Newell without the fitness, talent or hair?
That’s describing almost everyone
JDH was crocked by our then manager Johnson in training, the club will be obliged to honour his contract due to this and so they should, he seen a couple of specialist and it's still a niggly ankle injury.
01-07-2024, 05:35 PM
JDH was crocked by our then manager Johnson in training, the club will be obliged to honour his contract due to this and so they should, he seen a couple of specialist and it's still a niggly ankle injury.
Of course the club will honour his contract, not JDH’s fault some moron decided to offer him an extension after a few months here.
Would have been out of contract last year without the extension.
I do hope it’s just a bug and he’ll be back doing fitness work here within a few days. I like him as a player.
Of course the club will honour his contract, not JDH’s fault some moron decided to offer him an extension after a few months here.
Would have been out of contract last year without the extension.
I do hope it’s just a bug and he’ll be back doing fitness work here within a few days. I like him as a player.
That moron would've Jack Ross.
01-07-2024, 05:47 PM
The club are obliged to honour his contract because that’s the law, it has nothing to do with how he was injured.
01-07-2024, 05:53 PM
The club are obliged to honour his contract because that’s the law, it has nothing to do with how he was injured.
Indeed.
01-07-2024, 05:53 PM
He's a guy that I cannot believe is still here.
01-07-2024, 06:00 PM
He's a guy that I cannot believe is still here.
Sort of what happens when you offer a contract, it’s signed and it’s honoured.
I mean they can't be seen trying to push him out the door or offering him a cheap deal to cancel his contract, I know they're obliged to honour it, wasn't exactly what I meant.
01-07-2024, 06:16 PM
I dont know if this is the case here, but some players who have not travelled with teams on pre season tours are often said to be ill or injured because they are off somewhere else to play their football.
Yes.He’s probably got the “this is your chance to talk to other clubs”bug.
01-07-2024, 06:16 PM
I mean they can't be seen trying to push him out the door or offering him a cheap deal to cancel his contract, I know they're obliged to honour it, wasn't exactly what I meant.
why?
He was injured in training. No different from a teammate injuring him, which happens all the time.
EGL2000
01-07-2024, 06:29 PM
Doubt they would lie. Henderson not included and not said anything about him. Imagine he's off.
02-07-2024, 07:19 AM
Given his recent spells of injuries there’s no danger a club will take a risk with him so no doubt we’re stuck with him for another year.
02-07-2024, 07:38 AM
Have always felt he's a bit "meh". Not a bad player, but not great and always injured. Has been a very poor investment for the club.
02-07-2024, 07:43 AM
That moron would've Jack Ross.
I very much doubt it.
Aside from the idiocy of that and other similar moves from our mystery contracts guru, I very much doubt whether Hibs are bothered about being seen to be enticing JDH to find a new club.
He has a year to go at Hibs, if he were offered a two year deal elsewhere then he would be offski now. However, I doubt any club is going to be giving him that after his recent injury history.
FWIW, he's symptomatic of the malaise at ER over recent years. A very average player, signed then awarded an overly long contract extension, subsequently contributing very little , injury or not.
tonyrougier123
02-07-2024, 07:47 AM
Definitely a player we should be moving on if possible. Just not good enough for a Hibs midfield. Sulky player as well personally don’t like that.
02-07-2024, 08:11 AM
I feel he'd be a very good squad player, but he's never fit.
I'd be looking to offload him asap if possible.
02-07-2024, 08:13 AM
Sort of what happens when you offer a contract, it’s signed and it’s honoured.
Thanks...
02-07-2024, 08:31 AM
Thanks...
Apologies for being a bit arsey.
Should probably have just made the point that it’s not that easy to shift under performing and injury prone players who are on good contracts and who are likely to want to sit tight.
All of which means I’m not remotely surprised he’s still here.
02-07-2024, 08:35 AM
He has a year to go at Hibs, if he were offered a two year deal elsewhere then he would be offski now. However, I doubt any club is going to be giving him that after his recent injury history.
Ironically, the only team I can think of who'd sign a player with his injury record, would be us :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2024, 10:07 AM
I very much doubt it.
Aside from the idiocy of that and other similar moves from our mystery contracts guru, I very much doubt whether Hibs are bothered about being seen to be enticing JDH to find a new club.
FWIW, he's symptomatic of the malaise at ER over recent years. A very average player, signed then awarded an overly long contract extension, subsequently contributing very little , injury or not.
Was he not playing well before he got contract extension . Seems to think fans were happy enough about it at the time. I might be wrong though.
02-07-2024, 10:44 AM
Was he not playing well before he got contract extension . Seems to think fans were happy enough about it at the time. I might be wrong though.
My recollection of it is that he was offered a new contract soon after joining Hibs on a two year deal. It wasn't necessary and we have paid the price for it.
02-07-2024, 10:46 AM
My recollection of it is that he was offered a new contract soon after joining Hibs on a two year deal. It wasn't necessary and we have paid the price for it.
I think you are right. I’m sure there was a thread on here after the first few months saying huge upgrade on Gogic, why have we only got him on a 2 year deal, get extension asap etc
02-07-2024, 10:47 AM
November after he signed, crazy.
big gogs
02-07-2024, 10:58 AM
I feel he'd be a very good squad player, but he's never fit.
I'd be looking to offload him asap if possible.
Part of the problem is,if he has injury problems ,who ever signs him takes on the risk.
TrinityHFC
02-07-2024, 11:05 AM
I see this .the has taken hold. That was one flair up of the injury and not the reason he's been out so long.
I'm sure if you dislike Johnson there's enough factual things you could use.
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2024, 11:29 AM
Fair enough mate , wasn't sure tbh . I just thought he had hit some good form where fans were quite happy about his contract extension at one point.
02-07-2024, 12:47 PM
Part of the problem is,if he has injury problems ,who ever signs him takes on the risk.
Aye, will be hard to get rid, hopefully someone wants him, maybe Killie, we pulled the wool over there eyes with Magennis.:greengrin
02-07-2024, 02:38 PM
I see this .the has taken hold. That was one flair up of the injury and not the reason he's been out so long.
It is factual that Johnson smashed him in training and until recently he didn't recover from that. He has had an ongoing issue with floating bone fragments. The wee fat man shouldn't have been on the pitch, and certainly shouldn't have been sliding in on players. There is no doubt he has had other injuries but that challenge clearly didn't help.
Chipper1875
02-07-2024, 03:16 PM
I spoke to JDH and he said it was Johnson’s fault
Chipper1875
02-07-2024, 03:17 PM
It is factual that Johnson smashed him in training and until recently he didn't recover from that. He has had an ongoing issue with floating bone fragments. The wee fat man shouldn't have been on the pitch, and certainly shouldn't have been sliding in on players. There is no doubt he has had other injuries but that challenge clearly didn't help.
Spot on wee fatso shouldn’t have been
Training with the team
02-07-2024, 04:14 PM
I spoke to JDH and he said it was Johnson’s fault
I spoke to Johnson and he said if a leopard had been chasing JDH it’d have been worse.
I spoke with JDH a while back and he'd been seeing a specialist to sort it out, keeps getting near fitness and his ankle would flare up again, sounded very peed off.
LewysGot2
02-07-2024, 04:21 PM
I spoke to Johnson and he said if a leopard had been chasing JDH it’d have been worse.
You’re lion :wink:
02-07-2024, 06:27 PM
JDH was bang average even before his injury, another in a long line of ineffective centre midfielders. Hopefully a fit Amos and NMW can inject some energy into midfield next season, however, I feel we need another dynamic midfielder.
Cabbage-Patch
02-08-2024, 08:52 PM
Another wall of silence around this guy. Dosent even get asked about in the pressers now. Was originally in the pre season squad for Holland but withdrew through "illness" and hasnt been mentioned since. Starting to think he may have serious issues? Will he ever play again...
02-08-2024, 09:05 PM
Another wall of silence around this guy. Dosent even get asked about in the pressers now. Was originally in the pre season squad for Holland but withdrew through "illness" and hasnt been mentioned since. Starting to think he may have serious issues? Will he ever play again...
I was shot down in this thread but Brooster absolutely nailed it also in a similar thread. Let’s just say his heart isn’t in it. Moving him on will be the issue.
02-08-2024, 09:06 PM
I was shot down in this thread but Brooster absolutely nailed it also in a similar thread. Let’s just say his heart isn’t in it. Moving him on will be the issue.
“Let’s just say” = I don’t know either way but we should just say it anyway.
02-08-2024, 09:11 PM
“Let’s just say” = I don’t know either way but we should just say it anyway.
Okay Easty, JDH isn’t interested in playing for Hibs 👍 satisfied mate ?
02-08-2024, 09:14 PM
Okay Easty, JDH isn’t interested in playing for Hibs 👍 satisfied mate ?
I dinnae even want him playing for Hibs, but I’m no really keen on fans just making out like he’s shirking it. Footballers want to play football.
02-08-2024, 09:22 PM
I dinnae even want him playing for Hibs, but I’m no really keen on fans just making out like he’s shirking it. Footballers want to play football.
I’m not falling out with a fellow supporter over it but the clue is in your reply - he doesn’t want to play for Hibs. I question as others do his ‘injuries’. As far as I know he’s not currently injured. He’ll be moved on if there’s a suitor.
02-08-2024, 10:19 PM
Not all of them. With so many ex-players doing podcasts now, you hear them talking about teammates who were forever 'injured' and had no interest in playing. Jack Rodwell at Sunderland being one of the more well known ones. Although it's definitely not the norm, some players are perfectly happy to pick up their wage for the length of their contracts while contributing almost nothing.
02-08-2024, 10:22 PM
I’m not falling out with a fellow supporter over it but the clue is in your reply - he doesn’t want to play for Hibs. I question as others do his ‘injuries’. As far as I know he’s not currently injured. He’ll be moved on if there’s a suitor.
He played v Edin city and didn’t hold back. He’s not played since then and none of us know why. To suggest he doesn’t want play is brutal.
TrinityHFC
02-08-2024, 11:50 PM
He played v Edin city and didn’t hold back. He’s not played since then and none of us know why. To suggest he doesn’t want play is brutal.
Yes says way more about the folk suggesting it than him. Pathetic.
21sMay
03-08-2024, 12:33 AM
Heard JDH refused a move to Ross county earlier in window . May be the reason he's out the picture while actually fit for once
Paulie Walnuts
03-08-2024, 08:00 AM
Not all of them. With so many ex-players doing podcasts now, you hear them talking about teammates who were forever 'injured' and had no interest in playing. Jack Rodwell at Sunderland being one of the more well known ones. Although it's definitely not the norm, some players are perfectly happy to pick up their wage for the length of their contracts while contributing almost nothing.
Which is no real surprise. If my work wanted to pay me while I contributed nothing, I’d happily let them. Footballers won’t be any different.
That’s not to say JDH falls into that category, but there absolutely will be footballers who will be more than happy to do nothing and pick up a wage.
03-08-2024, 09:05 AM
Heard JDH refused a move to Ross county earlier in window . May be the reason he's out the picture while actually fit for once
Maybe Simon Murray wouldn’t come here ? :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
03-08-2024, 09:36 AM
I find it abit odd that we mention our injured players here but no mention of JDH at all ....
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/august/03/update-on-o-hora--cadden--mckirdy---youan/