View Full Version : Glastonbury highlights

Bridge hibs
30-06-2024, 11:20 AM
Been catching up with some highlights on tv, Kasabian were class as was Paul Heaton ably supported by the brilliant Glaswegian singer Rianne Downey

30-06-2024, 11:31 AM
Enjoyed the Sugababes, I know! Nitin Sawney was my highlight so far of what I've watched.

30-06-2024, 11:33 AM
Paul Heaton was great, he's about the nicest man in music into the bargain. I saw a few people moaning about Rianne Downey but most of the complaints seemed to boil down to 'she's not Jacqui Abbott'.

I wasn't sure about Dua Lipa headlining. She's not my thing so I was never likely to be blown away but her whole set seemed more designed for a TV audience rather than people actually attending. I think it might have worked better in an arena rather than a field.

30-06-2024, 11:43 AM
I wasn't sure about Dua Lipa headlining. She's not my thing so I was never likely to be blown away but her whole set seemed more designed for a TV audience rather than people actually attending. I think it might have worked better in an arena rather than a field.

It was like a 2 hour MTV video. Definitely not my thing.

I'm looking forward to seeing The National on The Other Stage tonight.

Dmas
30-06-2024, 11:44 AM
Coldplay last night was incredible must have been something actually being there quite enjoyed the streets too saw a couple songs from dexys as well enjoyed those

Bridge hibs
30-06-2024, 11:54 AM
Coldplay last night was incredible must have been something actually being there quite enjoyed the streets too saw a couple songs from dexys as well enjoyed those

Just watched a bit of Dexys this morning, Rowland has such a unique and brilliant voice

Looking forward to James tonight

30-06-2024, 01:08 PM
My days as an avid Glasto viewer have long gone but I might see if I can catch Squeeze and Keane on the iPlayer some time.

30-06-2024, 01:08 PM
I happened to see Cyndi Lauper and yesterday. I thought she was awful.

30-06-2024, 01:33 PM
Looking forward to catching up with the Lankum set.

30-06-2024, 01:39 PM
I happened to see Cyndi Lauper and yesterday. I thought she was awful.

I heard that there were issues with the sound for most of her set. Only bit I saw was I Drove All Night which was fine.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cl4ylmzv4z1o

30-06-2024, 01:43 PM
Kevin Rowland from Dexys was singing in keys and hitting notes that don't actually exist in the musical world he was that bad, and jeezo he looks like death warmed up, yea I know he's 70 but just looks ridiculous now and sounds it.

30-06-2024, 02:48 PM
Kevin Rowland from Dexys was singing in keys and hitting notes that don't actually exist in the musical world he was that bad, and jeezo he looks like death warmed up, yea I know he's 70 but just looks ridiculous now and sounds it.

Too-rye-ay used to be one of my favourite albums but I couldn't watch that, painful.

30-06-2024, 04:03 PM
Tried to get tickets but it's not a great lineup this year. Some brilliant stuff on the smaller stages but the big stuff not really my cup of tea.

Camilla Cabello has to be the worst this year, one of worst sets I've seen from anyone ever.

Will try again next year. Gotta get in one year.

Sloop67
30-06-2024, 04:12 PM
Idles ,Fontaines dc , PJ Harvey , Paul Heaton , The Mary Wallopers

MountcastleHibs
30-06-2024, 04:13 PM
I’m not a massive fan of Coldplay, but they know how to put on a show. Must’ve been incredible to have been there last night. And bringing Michael J Fox on stage and singing Fix You got me.

Enjoyed Paul Heaton’s set - Rianne Downey is brilliant. Kasabian looked brilliant - they get a lot of stick for keeping on going without Tom as front man but Serge is a superb front man.

Watched Keane too - they’re sounding as good as they ever have. Shania Twain may look good but she didn’t sound overly brilliant.

Must confess I have never heard of SZA so might tune in just to see what she’s about. Otherwise I’m not sure who I’ll turn in to tonight.

Bridge hibs
30-06-2024, 04:43 PM
I’m not a massive fan of Coldplay, but they know how to put on a show. Must’ve been incredible to have been there last night. And bringing Michael J Fox on stage and singing Fix You got me.

Enjoyed Paul Heaton’s set - Rianne Downey is brilliant. Kasabian looked brilliant - they get a lot of stick for keeping on going without Tom as front man but Serge is a superb front man.

Watched Keane too - they’re sounding as good as they ever have. Shania Twain may look good but she didn’t sound overly brilliant.

Must confess I have never heard of SZA so might tune in just to see what she’s about. Otherwise I’m not sure who I’ll turn in to tonight.I like Serge, he brings a lot of radge energy to Kasabian, although I must admit to not really seeing much of them before Serge gave Tom the boot

bringbackbenny
30-06-2024, 04:46 PM
Idles x 10, P J Harvey, Dexys

patch1875
30-06-2024, 06:46 PM
LCD Soundsystem were excellent seeing them tomorrow night.

Kasabian and Idles were superb.

30-06-2024, 07:13 PM
Only watched Paul heaton ,Coldplay & James so far .hopefully everyone’s avaliable via the bbc red button so I can look later

30-06-2024, 07:30 PM
I like Serge, he brings a lot of radge energy to Kasabian, although I must admit to not really seeing much of them before Serge gave Tom the boot

Serge's goal at soccer aid and his effort on soccer am are legendary. He's some lad.

Also, they a gave tom the boot cause he's a wife beating p.o.s.

30-06-2024, 08:25 PM
Only watched Paul heaton ,Coldplay & James so far .hopefully everyone’s avaliable via the bbc red button so I can look later

30-06-2024, 08:39 PM
I like Serge, he brings a lot of radge energy to Kasabian, although I must admit to not really seeing much of them before Serge gave Tom the boot

They are playing the Corn Exchange on Wednesday and there’s still tickets available if anyone fancies it

Bridge hibs
30-06-2024, 08:55 PM
They are playing the Corn Exchange on Wednesday and there’s still tickets available if anyone fancies it

**** no chance I can make it, will most def catch them sometime 👍

30-06-2024, 09:04 PM

Crazy that there’s still tickets available. They’ll fill the Hydro later this year.

30-06-2024, 09:22 PM
Crazy that there’s still tickets available. They’ll fill the Hydro later this year.

Their new stuff isn't exactly up there for me.

Tried watching the streets there. It was awful.

Wtf is up with Mike skinner these days?!?

30-06-2024, 09:23 PM

They only announced it a couple of weeks ago to be fair. Seems a bit odd as they had a gig scheduled in Greece that day which got cancelled recently “due to a scheduling conflict”.

30-06-2024, 09:36 PM
Sitting in the garden listening to the View headlining Heartland Festival, Idle wild last night. Plus skerryvore and Tide Lines.

Dmas
01-07-2024, 05:35 AM

Saw them in the corn exchange after their first album release, one of the best gigs I’ve ever been to

Stairway 2 7
01-07-2024, 06:33 AM
They were completely right to boot Tom regardless if his wife is back with him, he was a **** bag. Unfortunately they were ten times the band with him. Serge sings it so soft whilst Tom snarled through it, he was some front man. Unfortunately with band it's the lead singers voice when you hear when you think of the songs, if they replace him it sounds like a cover band.

babahibs
01-07-2024, 09:46 AM
LCD Soundsystem were excellent seeing them tomorrow night.

Kasabian and Idles were superb.

I'm seeing Lcd Soundsystem tomorrow, have you seen them before?

Not seen any Glastonbury yet, I'll catch some during the week.

01-07-2024, 12:38 PM
They were completely right to boot Tom regardless if his wife is back with him, he was a **** bag. Unfortunately they were ten times the band with him. Serge sings it so soft whilst Tom snarled through it, he was some front man. Unfortunately with band it's the lead singers voice when you hear when you think of the songs, if they replace him it sounds like a cover band.

I agree that they were right to bin Tom. I also think Tom deserves a 2nd chance. He ****ed up and was punished. His now wife can forgive him therefore who am I to hold a grudge. Having seen both Kasabian without Tom and Tom with his new band, I actually preferred the Serge led Kasabian gigs. I also enjoyed Tom at the O2, despite the very small crowd. He performed like he was playing Wembley not ti a couple of hundred lol

01-07-2024, 01:03 PM
Still wading through all the acts on the iPlayer.

Highlights so far:-

Mary Wallopers
Rowland's trousers :greengrin
Heilung (meditate or take drugs first)
Seasick Steve, perfect for Sunday afternoon
2 of the Housemartins together again
Steel Pulse taking me back to my first flirt with reggae
Barry Can't Swim (Edinburgh guy)
Jamie XX (ideal for Sunday night come-down)

Glasto always throws up someone new for me. This year, my favourite so far has been the Black Pumas.

MagicSwirlingShip
01-07-2024, 08:34 PM
Saw them in the corn exchange after their first album release, one of the best gigs I’ve ever been to

I was at the Corn Ex for their second album tour. Was wild. Kind of fell out of love with their later stuff but still listen to the first album.

01-07-2024, 08:56 PM
Been watching Janelle Monáe tonight, what an energy?!!! Now watching Noname, not a fan of rap but pretty good.

01-07-2024, 09:23 PM
I’m not sure how to word this correctly but Coldplay were the only proper headliners.

Dua Lipa and SZA are very talented young ladies but for me are not headliners. Huge stars in their own right and having two daughters I’ve listened to a fair bit of both. Think the organisers hit it wrong, especially on Sunday.

Paul Heaton and Rannie Downes
Sugababes
Bloc Party
Vaccines

Were all excellent but Coldplay stole the show with an amazing show.

I did think Little Simz was superb too

Bridge hibs
02-07-2024, 05:28 AM
I’m not sure how to word this correctly but Coldplay were the only proper headliners.

Dua Lipa and SZA are very talented young ladies but for me are not headliners. Huge stars in their own right and having two daughters I’ve listened to a fair bit of both. Think the organisers hit it wrong, especially on Sunday.

Paul Heaton and Rannie Downes
Sugababes
Bloc Party
Vaccines

Were all excellent but Coldplay stole the show with an amazing show.

I did think Little Simz was superb tooWatched James set yesterday, flawless as always, Tim has some energy for a 64 year old 😲

02-07-2024, 07:39 AM
Watched James set yesterday, flawless as always, Tim has some energy for a 64 year old 😲

I saw James at my only trip to Glasto in 1992. Thirty two years ago! Age is a funny old thing. I think they were substituted in for a stropped up Morrissey but my memory is hazy.

patch1875
02-07-2024, 08:06 AM
I'm seeing Lcd Soundsystem tomorrow, have you seen them before?

Not seen any Glastonbury yet, I'll catch some during the week.

Seen them once before. What did you think? Thought it was an amazing gig fantastic atmosphere at the Barrowlands.

babahibs
02-07-2024, 01:10 PM
Seen them once before. What did you think? Thought it was an amazing gig fantastic atmosphere at the Barrowlands.

They're doing 2 nights at Barrowlands, I'm on my way through to Glasgow just now for tonights one.
This'll be the 7th time I've seen them, I think, 3rd at Barrowlands ,which is always rocking.
First saw them 20 years ago at The Venue.

02-07-2024, 01:48 PM
They're doing 2 nights at Barrowlands, I'm on my way through to Glasgow just now for tonights one.
This'll be the 7th time I've seen them, I think, 3rd at Barrowlands ,which is always rocking.
First saw them 20 years ago at The Venue.

The Venue, much missed.

I have hazy memories of seeing Hot Chip there in 2005ish and I'm sure LCD Soundsystem were there around the same time (might even have been the same night).

Can remember the closing night like it was yesterday. Fred Deakin (then of Lemon Jelly fame and a well kent face on the Edinburgh club night scene) played the last night and invited a few of us as guests (we would have been there anyway). A group of about 30-40 were still sitting in about 10am the next morning and no one wanted to leave as they knew that was it.

Hard to imagine anywhere in Edinburgh will ever compare again. As the graffiti said 'the best, RIP'.

02-07-2024, 03:10 PM
The Venue, much missed.

I have hazy memories of seeing Hot Chip there in 2005ish and I'm sure LCD Soundsystem were there around the same time (might even have been the same night).

Can remember the closing night like it was yesterday. Fred Deakin (then of Lemon Jelly fame and a well kent face on the Edinburgh club night scene) played the last night and invited a few of us as guests (we would have been there anyway). A group of about 30-40 were still sitting in about 10am the next morning and no one wanted to leave as they knew that was it.

Hard to imagine anywhere in Edinburgh will ever compare again. As the graffiti said 'the best, RIP'.

He did a fab show at the Fringe last year, and of course his Edinburgh experiences were a big part of that. It's back this year, for 8 nights only.

Sloop67
02-07-2024, 08:17 PM
Watched James set yesterday, flawless as always, Tim has some energy for a 64 year old 😲
James were superb, their set from The Isle of White festival a few years back is on Sky Arts it's a great watch too

02-07-2024, 08:36 PM
Tonight I watched paloma faith and shania twain. Both worth watching, crowd reaction was brilliant. Saw paloma at the corn exchange years ago, still got it. Shania, for having voice problems was still giving it laldy. Good on them both.

02-07-2024, 10:52 PM
I just watched Coldplay.

Not my favourite band by a million miles, but wow, that was a brilliant show.

03-07-2024, 08:48 AM

I seen them back in 2013 and they were awful back then.

03-07-2024, 08:50 AM
I just watched Coldplay.

I seen them in 2009 at Hampden- I was on a training course and was staying overnight. This is when you could get gig tickets on eBay and if you looked the day before a lot of arena and stadium shows had impossibly cheap tickets.

Got a ticket as the only bidder - 99p, and Jay-Z and White Lies supported. Coldplay are an absolutely brilliant live band, not my thing on record but they know how to put on a show.

babahibs
03-07-2024, 09:30 AM

Gig last night was superb, they just get better I think, Barrowlands is such a great venue on nights like that.

Feeling kinda rough today though.

babahibs
03-07-2024, 09:39 AM
The Venue, much missed.

The one I was at was Hot Chip supporting Lcd Soundystem, 2004 I think, was absolutely rammed.

I started going to The Venue in 1987, when I turned 18, went to few gig's and a couple of acid house all nighters, then Pure started and that was it, was a regular at Pure, Tribal Function and Wave for far too many years to be healthy.

I wasn't at the final night, I was at the final Pure the night before, amazing night, the Hartnoll brothers played, carnage, the after parties didn't finish till Monday morning.

Indeed, the best RIP.

03-07-2024, 04:11 PM
That's my youngest (24) just back and he had a great time although he says the line up didn't impress him much 😉

Luxury coach down and back, a private camp site with its own food places (free) and bar AND proper toilets and showers AND he was paid handsomely he tells me!

He was working the punter bars while his partner did the VIP bar, hobb nobbing with the celebs.

No [naughty word] danger he'd go as a punter he tells me!

06-07-2024, 07:40 PM
I just watched Coldplay.

Great show and some great songs, love most of their stuff, but he just cant sing in tune. :greengrin

06-07-2024, 09:11 PM

I watched it yesterday as well, outstanding. They played there after Laid had come out, and I remember sitting up in my room to watch the highlights to tape them (I would have been about 14 I reckon). I'm sure it was on ITV at that time, and they showed Out to Get You and Jam J (from the Wah Wah album).

I must have watched that tape 100 times. Yesterday, when the opening notes of Out to Get You played it honestly took me back 30+ years, I actually got a bit emotional at it.

Other highlights were LCD Soundsystem and Kasabian, who were incredible.

Coldplay stole the show though, I know they're not a cool band to like but there was only one headline act the whole weekend and it was them, miles ahead of anyone else and genuinely up there with one of the best headline sets that Glastonbury has ever seen.

07-07-2024, 03:13 PM
James are one of the best live bands around. The way they've evolved over the last 10 years is incredible. Think there's about 12 of them on stage these days, including 2 full drum kits. To be producing new music as regularly as they are and to such a high standard after what, 40 years (?) is amazing. Their latest album is superb and the recent gig at the Hydro was probably my favorite of the 15 or so times I've seen them. You never have any clue of the setlist they're going to play and often even the band don't.

27-06-2025, 06:20 PM
She’s had a bit of work done, Alanis Morissette is still one fine looking women. Quite enjoyed her set.

27-06-2025, 06:43 PM
Never been a Lewis Capaldi fan music wise but it's brilliant seeing him back up on stage. Quite inspirational really 💪

27-06-2025, 06:57 PM
Never been a Lewis Capaldi fan music wise but it's brilliant seeing him back up on stage. Quite inspirational really 💪

27-06-2025, 07:35 PM
I have a feeling Rod Stewart my surprise a lot of people this year. In a good way. :greengrin

27-06-2025, 07:40 PM
I have a feeling Rod Stewart my surprise a lot of people this year. In a good way. :greengrin

By announcing tonight that he has retired? 😄

27-06-2025, 07:44 PM
By announcing tonight that he has retired? 😄

He has invited jokes like that over the years. :greengrin

27-06-2025, 08:06 PM
Biffy Clyro nailing it. Loved the Brian Wilson tribute, nice moment.

27-06-2025, 08:12 PM
Favourite so far was En Vogue 😁 They were that perfect I thought they were miming?!

27-06-2025, 08:18 PM

27-06-2025, 08:19 PM

Missed that bit, saw the rest which was incredible. Going to catch up on it now. They get better and better.

27-06-2025, 08:27 PM
Self Esteem. Outstanding.

27-06-2025, 08:29 PM
Franz Ferdinand ripping it up. Great to see some actual rock music. Doubt that much else over the weekend will interest me 😁

27-06-2025, 08:40 PM
I don't know anything about Biffy Clyro but this is great 😁

27-06-2025, 08:46 PM
I don't know anything about Biffy Clyro but this is great 😁

They've made about 14 albums. Ignore the 1st 3 then listen to the rest.

27-06-2025, 08:48 PM

I think I may 👍

bringbackbenny
27-06-2025, 08:49 PM
Self Esteem. Outstanding.

She's magnificent - such a talented and authentic performer.

27-06-2025, 08:50 PM
Not listened much to Biffy Clyro but thought they were fab. Killie boys I think? Thoroughly enjoyed their set.

27-06-2025, 08:50 PM
Franz Ferdinand ripping it up. Great to see some actual rock music. Doubt that much else over the weekend will interest me 😁

I will need to catch up with their set later. So much good music. :greengrin

27-06-2025, 09:02 PM

He supports Reform!!🙄

27-06-2025, 09:04 PM

Give brandi carlile a listen tomorrow. She rocked the Glasgow concert hall last night.

27-06-2025, 09:10 PM
Done 20-30 years ago oan eckies. They have never lived.
It's such a shame that this is a middle class event now.

27-06-2025, 09:11 PM

Ignore this man, Wembley...the first 3 albums are equally worth the listen! I've been a fan since Blackened Sky, and that rawness is quintessentially Biffy.

27-06-2025, 09:12 PM
Ignore this man, Wembley...the first 3 albums are equally worth the listen! I've been a fan since Blackened Sky, and that rawness is quintessentially Biffy.

Haha I will do!

27-06-2025, 09:15 PM

My daughter played these 1st 3 to death. Not for me, but Puzzle is in my all time top 10. Big shout out to their soundtrack album Balance, Not Symmetry....surprisingly brilliant.

27-06-2025, 09:21 PM
Done 20-30 years ago oan eckies. They have never lived.
It's such a shame that this is a middle class event now.

File under “It was much better in my day.” :greengrin

27-06-2025, 09:21 PM

I loved the first 3 albums too. Saw them at Aberdeen Music Hall just after they released Infinity Land. Was ****ing mental. Their sound has changed but one of those bands who have remained consistently good throughout their career imo.

27-06-2025, 09:50 PM
Biffy are always great, one of the most consistent bands out there

Only a few things left I'm really interested in, will watch Rod, don't think Neil Young is being televised and can't wait to see the Prodigy,

don't like it when they put dance music on at the end of a Festival though, everyone has normally already shot their bolt by then, get them on the first couple of days, I love the Chemical Brothers but they once had them on as the closing act at T in the Park on a Sunday and I was a broken man by then

Suppose Glastonbury is a different flavour to 2002 T anyway :faf:

27-06-2025, 09:51 PM
Biffy was awesome but I’m a big fan of them anyway.

How absolutely ****** is Matt Healy of the 1975 btw? Initially thought he was way worse than he is then realised he was on some sort of travelator. Nonetheless he’s absolutely out of his face on something.

His pish about being the best songwriter of his generation and being a poet didn’t seem to go down well either.

27-06-2025, 09:57 PM

How absolutely ****** is Matt Healy of the 1975 btw? Initially thought he was way worse than he is then realised he was on some sort of travelator. Nonetheless he’s absolutely out of his face on something.

His pish about being the best songwriter of his generation and being a poet didn’t seem to go down well either.

I’m guessing I’m too old to get the 1975. They look like a group of guys cosplaying being in a band to me.

27-06-2025, 09:59 PM
I’m guessing I’m too old to get the 1975. They look like a group of guys cosplaying being in a band to me.

Yes. You're too old.

27-06-2025, 10:00 PM
Give brandi carlile a listen tomorrow. She rocked the Glasgow concert hall last night.

Will do, I've listened to her before but didn't think it was really my thing. I'll give her another chance.

27-06-2025, 10:04 PM
Yes. You're too old.

Damn. I knew it. :greengrin

27-06-2025, 10:12 PM

I’m not a fan either. My wife wanted to watch them. Seems it’s mostly women in the audience.

27-06-2025, 11:07 PM

By having a few bevvies and getting Stubbsy up on stage to do a cup draw with him. 🤔

27-06-2025, 11:16 PM
I’ve got to say, I’ve not much time for Noel Gallagher, but if he’s says The 1975 are a load of ****, he has come up in my estimation.

27-06-2025, 11:33 PM
By having a few bevvies and getting Stubbsy up on stage to do a cup draw with him. 🤔

28-06-2025, 12:07 AM

I commented on some Lad Bible article on Facebook about their set being **** and commented about the state he was in and I’ve just got a barrage of abuse from their uber fans that I’m missing the point of him that he is always sober and he acts like he’s in that state as some sort of character development work and that I must be some sort of moron for not knowing that.

Lost on me. The shakes his hand seemed to be making would suggest otherwise but hey ho, I’m a moron. Thought they were crap. The worst thing I’ve watched by far on the Glastonbury coverage and I watched the woman that’s called something like Calmac Ferry

28-06-2025, 01:33 AM
I commented on some Lad Bible article on Facebook about their set being **** and commented about the state he was in and I’ve just got a barrage of abuse from their uber fans that I’m missing the point of him that he is always sober and he acts like he’s in that state as some sort of character development work and that I must be some sort of moron for not knowing that.

Lost on me. The shakes his hand seemed to be making would suggest otherwise but hey ho, I’m a moron. Thought they were crap. The worst thing I’ve watched by far on the Glastonbury coverage and I watched the woman that’s called something like Calmac Ferry

I’m actually enjoying getting into drunken Facebook wars with 1975 fans. Some guy in his 20s retorted to me about my receding hairline. I’m in my 40s and with the exception of a widows peak I had but no longer do, my hairline is the same as it was when I was in my teens. This guy is peak Bobby Charlton :faf:

MountcastleHibs
28-06-2025, 05:21 AM

I don’t understand the love for The 1975. But like others, I’m probably not their target audience. Dreadful imo and a really poor Glastonbury headliner.

His bit about being the best songwriter of his generation was a dig at Noel Gallagher who he has a bit of beef with because NG called them out for what they are. Pish.

28-06-2025, 05:32 AM
Never understood the love for the 1975 sound like an average boring jazz funk band from 1975 that I wouldn’t give a second listen to

Lead singer has zero presence and charisma but his mother loves him 😀

Switched off after three numbers watched Biffy instead

Zero albums in my collection

28-06-2025, 06:47 AM
I was actually in disbelief they were headlining over Biffy. Stinking decision.

28-06-2025, 06:57 AM
My daughter played these 1st 3 to death. Not for me, but Puzzle is in my all time top 10. Big shout out to their soundtrack album Balance, Not Symmetry....surprisingly brilliant.

I do understand, they're not for everyone and they definitely polished and refined their sound from Puzzle onward. Puzzle is hard to top, but Only Revolutions equally great!

28-06-2025, 07:25 AM
I do understand, they're not for everyone and they definitely polished and refined their sound from Puzzle onward. Puzzle is hard to top, but Only Revolutions equally great!

I'm sure I remember Simon Neil saying years ago that their first 3 albums were all about critical acclaim, after that they realized they had to sound more mainstream to be more commercially successful.

28-06-2025, 08:34 AM

I loved Glitter And Trauma and the obvious ones on Blackened Sky but I felt they were just trying too hard to be unpredictable on the first 3. I usually go off bands once they become more "commercial" but Puzzle got the balance just right. I felt they were a bit Biffy by numbers on Opposites and most of Ellipsis but they've bounced back and I'm more comfortable with their "poppier" numbers.

28-06-2025, 08:58 AM
Never understood the love for the 1975 sound like an average boring jazz funk band from 1975 that I wouldn’t give a second listen to

Lead singer has zero presence and charisma but his mother loves him 😀

Switched off after three numbers watched Biffy instead

Zero albums in my collection

The 1975 always remind me of the songs you hear at a kids disco on holiday. It's just bland pop rock by numbers. For people who find Coldplay a bit too out there.

28-06-2025, 09:15 AM
Not a fan of most of Glastonbury, more of a Download fan.

28-06-2025, 09:18 AM
The 1975 always remind me of the songs you hear at a kids disco on holiday. It's just bland pop rock by numbers. For people who find Coldplay a bit too out there.

Prefer Coldplay they have lots of bangers that this old dude can instantly recall Yellow Clocks Fix You etc and a charismatic front man cannot think of one 1975 song

Matty tries to be edgy but he’s not

Might be an age thing ?

Mr Grieves
28-06-2025, 12:02 PM
Enjoyed the osees and franz Ferdinand but not much else

28-06-2025, 12:14 PM
He supports Reform!!🙄

Hardly a shock.

An rich 80 year old southerner who used to back the Tories lurching further right in his dotage. It would be more of a surprise if he wasn't a Farage fanboy.

28-06-2025, 01:21 PM
He supports Reform!!🙄

That will go down well with the GB.

28-06-2025, 02:54 PM
Meanwhile, in Pitlochry...

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1E9bZzXUPU/

The wind is in the right direction so I can hear some of it i my garden.

bringbackbenny
28-06-2025, 03:59 PM
Amyl and the Sniffers about to come on 😀

Hibspur
28-06-2025, 04:47 PM
'Glasto' always strikes me a self-satisfied w**k-fest. Likes to think of itself as counter-cultural but it's become the BBC's curtain-raiser to Wimbledon.

MKHIBEE
28-06-2025, 04:57 PM
I seen them back in 2013 and they were awful back then.

I seen them 4/5 months ago, they have got worse.

MKHIBEE
28-06-2025, 05:01 PM

He has been crap since about 1974.

28-06-2025, 05:15 PM
'Glasto' always strikes me a self-satisfied w**k-fest. Likes to think of itself as counter-cultural but it's become the BBC's curtain-raiser to Wimbledon.

I think a lot of people think Glastonbury is only the 2 or 3 stages the BBC show. It's a huge arts festival; the site covers 1000+ acres and has over 100 stages. It's diverse because of that; big chunks of it are mainstream and a tick box for suburban ******s who like their 'counterculture' to be in a safe space. There is the old crusties and hippies who have attended every year since day dot, there are the people off their faces dancing to industrial techno at 7am and there is everything in between. To try and pigeon hole 250K people is just daft.

I'm watching John Fogerty right now, he can't carry a tune in a bucket anymore, but I'm enjoying it immensely.

babahibs
28-06-2025, 05:16 PM

Have a day off ffs.

28-06-2025, 05:18 PM

Not holding my breath after the Castle told us he was retiring and had us all singing for him just the usual

More comebacks than Deacon Blue

Can come back for the Scottish Cup draw anytime 😀

28-06-2025, 05:21 PM
Gary Numan is putting on a good show but his voice isn't where it once was.

28-06-2025, 05:21 PM
Pulp revealed as mystery act on the Pyramid Stage

28-06-2025, 05:25 PM

I thought it might have been Jarvis! Such an iconic Glastonbury performer. Im enjoying most of the bbc coverage across the network but this pretending neither Neil Young or Kneecap are performing is a bit daft, especially as both performances are or will be all over social media.

28-06-2025, 05:25 PM

Nobody is forcing you to watch it.

I'm picking what I watch. Lewis capaldi the best so far for me.

28-06-2025, 05:31 PM
Gary Numan is putting on a good show but his voice isn't where it once was.

Lorde has her fans eating out of her hand. Some of the fan-performer connections at Glastonbury are phenomenal. Also really enjoyed Wet Legs set, English Teacher were good. Alanis Morrissette still has a set of pipes.

28-06-2025, 05:46 PM
He has been crap since about 1974.

1978. I will forgive him for anything after giving me the greatest rock n' roll gig I've ever attended in the Playhouse in 1977. Absolute carnage.

But from Do You Think I'm Sexy onwards, aye, complete and utter pish.

28-06-2025, 05:51 PM
I think a lot of people think Glastonbury is only the 2 or 3 stages the BBC show. It's a huge arts festival; the site covers 1000+ acres and has over 100 stages. It's diverse because of that; big chunks of it are mainstream and a tick box for suburban ******s who like their 'counterculture' to be in a safe space. There is the old crusties and hippies who have attended every year since day dot, there are the people off their faces dancing to industrial techno at 7am and there is everything in between. To try and pigeon hole 250K people is just daft.

I'm watching John Fogerty right now, he can't carry a tune in a bucket anymore, but I'm enjoying it immensely.

Think John should consider retiring but looking good for 80, was he being booed by parts of the crowd.?

He's here!
28-06-2025, 05:56 PM

It's not for me. I used to like Paul Simonon's quote when he was asked if the Clash would ever have considered playing it:

'No, I'd have refused. It's a bloody hippy business. I know it's a nice family day out but I want nothing to do with family days out with rock stars. Joe (Strummer) used to go but Joe was always a bit of a hippy anyway. Do I still hate hippies? Well, I don't hate them but I prefer not to socialise with them. I know it's daft to still have these thoughts so many years later but you have to remember we grew up in a different generation.'

I was well disappointed in him when he succumbed years later and agreed to play there with Gorillaz - although he did say it was as a tribute to Strummer ('I had a look up at the stars before we went on and thought 'well Joe, I'm bloody here now!'

28-06-2025, 06:09 PM

Jarvis killing it

Even got a flyover from the Red Arrows during Common People

Legend

28-06-2025, 06:10 PM
Jarvis killing it

Outstanding.

cammy1969
28-06-2025, 07:16 PM
Thought brandi Carlisle was good earlier on 1st time I really listened to her but really enjoyed

babahibs
28-06-2025, 07:22 PM
Ezra Collective brought the party, suprerb stuff.

28-06-2025, 07:27 PM
Pulp smashed it out the park.

For a band who have been around for nearly 50 years they still sound totally relevant. Jarvis Cocker sounds and looks great as well for a guy in his 60s.

28-06-2025, 07:28 PM
Outstanding.

Didn’t realise I could still bounce about the living room, he has been superb.

28-06-2025, 07:28 PM
I thought it might have been Jarvis! Such an iconic Glastonbury performer. Im enjoying most of the bbc coverage across the network but this pretending neither Neil Young or Kneecap are performing is a bit daft, especially as both performances are or will be all over social media.

Is Neil Young's set not live on BBC2 later?

28-06-2025, 07:33 PM
Didn’t realise I could still bounce about the living room, he has been superb.

[emoji23][emoji23]

Definitely hasn’t lost his stage presence.

He's here!
28-06-2025, 07:37 PM
Is Neil Young's set not live on BBC2 later?

It is now. He has some sort of issue with the BBC around 'corporate control' and refused to have his set broadcast but has now backed down. He'll likely be pretty sh*t anyway.

Glad to hear those numpties Kneecap didn't get shown live. Red Arrows should have flown low over their set instead of Pulp's and drowned them out.

28-06-2025, 07:57 PM
It is now. He has some sort of issue with the BBC around 'corporate control' and refused to have his set broadcast but has now backed down. He'll likely be pretty sh*t anyway.

Glad to hear those numpties Kneecap didn't get shown live. Red Arrows should have flown low over their set instead of Pulp's and drowned them out.

The BBC have a precedent I suppose.........

https://youtu.be/UOUeauLWEaE?si=SNyvgHUe0UgAxd_z

28-06-2025, 08:08 PM

The bbc arent streaming it live, arent showing the whole set, and arent trailing him as the main headliner, which he clearly is. At least that was the position this afternoon.

28-06-2025, 08:19 PM
The bbc arent streaming it live, arent showing the whole set, and arent trailing him as the main headliner, which he clearly is. At least that was the position this afternoon.

The full full set is definitely being shown live on BBC2 now, as well as broadcast on Radio 2. Neil Young has confirmed that an agreement has been reached.

I wasn't even aware there had been issues tbh, although iirc when his full set wasn't shown a few years back it was at his insistence and it seems that has been at least part of the sticking point this time as well, but glad there seems to have been a rare outbreak of common sense.

28-06-2025, 08:23 PM
The full full set is definitely being shown live on BBC2 now, as well as broadcats on Radio 2. Neil Young has confirmed that an agreement has been reached.

I wasn't even aware there had been issues tbh, although iirc when his full set wasn't shown a few years back it was at his insistence, but glad there seems to have been a rare outbreak of common sense.

28-06-2025, 08:27 PM

What’s your point?

You don’t like it?

It’s pish?

It’s a **** fest because what?

28-06-2025, 08:28 PM
Raye putting on a hell of a show.

Paulie Walnuts
28-06-2025, 08:29 PM

I would never put her on by choice but at the same time I could happily just sit and listen to her all night.

28-06-2025, 08:34 PM
I would never put her on by choice but at the same time I could happily just sit and listen to her all night.

Same here man, but she’s brilliant.

Got a long drive on Monday but think we will be sticking an album on.

babahibs
28-06-2025, 08:41 PM

Superb, what a voice.

28-06-2025, 09:08 PM
Thought brandi Carlisle was good earlier on 1st time I really listened to her but really enjoyed

Yeah, my wife has been a fan for a while, went to Glasgow and saw her live! Over 2 hours on stage and had the audience up rocking and dancing but also doing ballads.

I'm a convert. Done 3 gigs over the last couple of weeks, Bonnie Raitt, Melissa Etheridge and Brandi carlile and she was the best.

28-06-2025, 09:11 PM

Love her energy!

28-06-2025, 09:13 PM
Beth Gibbons, always liked the trippy Portishead.

28-06-2025, 09:21 PM

A stunningly smooth voice, could listen to her all night.

28-06-2025, 09:25 PM
Bob Vylan and Kneecap now being investigating by the police due to comments made by both.

28-06-2025, 09:30 PM
Beth Gibbons, always liked the trippy Portishead.

Portishead were quality

28-06-2025, 09:37 PM
I love Neil Young and seen him before, but this isn’t good.

28-06-2025, 09:44 PM

An awful amount of swearing.

28-06-2025, 10:34 PM

Like a Hurricane absolutely beautifully done. nobody on the planet plays the guitar like Young can. Hoping for Rocking in the free world at some point.

28-06-2025, 10:44 PM
Here we go.

Keep on Rocking in the Free World.
Followed by Throw your Hatred down. Throw your weapons down.

Thank you Neil Young.

28-06-2025, 11:06 PM
Loved the Neil Young gig. Thought he was excellent.

Mr Grieves
28-06-2025, 11:13 PM
Bob Vylan we're good,, hopefully catch some kneecap after the propagandists decide what's suitable for broadcast. Amyl and the sniffers were a good watch too. It ain't my thing but that was a brilliant show by Doechii and scissor sisters are great craic.

28-06-2025, 11:27 PM
Bob Vylan we're good,, hopefully catch some kneecap after the propagandists decide what's suitable for broadcast. Amyl and the sniffers were a good watch too. It ain't my thing but that was a brilliant show by Doechii and scissor sisters are great craic.

Just watching Doechii now, looks like a potential superstar with the stage presence and choreography.

28-06-2025, 11:27 PM

Doechii was off the scale. Quite brilliant.

29-06-2025, 01:44 AM

Yeah I’m pretty disappointed Corto Alto isn’t available on the BBC. My wife works in the music industry. They are a MASSIVE deal in the jazz industry she works in. But not available on the BBC coverage. Surely they can broadcast everyone on iPlayer.

29-06-2025, 02:06 AM
Pulp smashed it out the park.

For a band who have been around for nearly 50 years they still sound totally relevant. Jarvis Cocker sounds and looks great as well for a guy in his 60s.

They are a classic pub quiz question. People associate them with the 90s but they are actually a 70s band.

He's here!
29-06-2025, 08:23 AM
Bob Vylan and Kneecap now being investigating by the police due to comments made by both.

Hardly surprising if so. Some moronic stuff being spouted. I know Lisa Nandy quickly stepped in to grill the BBC about showing the Bob Vylan guff live.

Hibspur
29-06-2025, 09:53 AM
What’s your point?

You don’t like it?

It’s pish?

It’s a **** fest because what?

No problem with a lot of the music (and I gather Neil Young fought the good fight for rock'n'roll in incomparable style last night) but the event is insufferably smug. A middle-class Waitrose shoppers/Remoaner weekend out. I gather Pulp dedicated Mis-shapes to the 'misfits' in the crowd. You'd be hard pressed to find many of them there.

29-06-2025, 11:10 AM
No problem with a lot of the music (and I gather Neil Young fought the good fight for rock'n'roll in incomparable style last night) but the event is insufferably smug. A middle-class Waitrose shoppers/Remoaner weekend out. I gather Pulp dedicated Mis-shapes to the 'misfits' in the crowd. You'd be hard pressed to find many of them there.

You've been reading The Telegraph again then, complete with ultra-smug "remoaner" comment.

29-06-2025, 11:44 AM

A wee bit about the misfits of Glastonbury.

With the mystic misfits at Glastonbury – archive | Glastonbury festival | The Guardian https://share.google/rwAQ0HEVmxwpEfg49

The term misfits has been used about Glastonbury for over 50 years.

Hibspur
29-06-2025, 12:08 PM
You've been reading The Telegraph again then, complete with ultra-smug "remoaner" comment.

:greengrin Yep, that must be it. I couldn't possibly have formed that opinion by myself.

I actually voted remain incidentally, but the whinging after the vote was worse than after the Scottish independence referendum and it did my head in. I remember laughing at the absurdity of Damon Albarn saying 'Democracy has failed us' when Blur played Glastonbury in 2016.

29-06-2025, 12:09 PM
As Roy Harper headlines the acoustic stage tonight, playing as a duo with his genius guitarist son, Nick, I wonder if the BBC will film any of it?

Roy's 84 and doing three farewell gigs, aside from Glastonbury and is a national treasure.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2025, 12:55 PM

Full set available on BBC iPlayer now and it is absolutely fabulous. Nae red arrows though, sorry.

29-06-2025, 01:02 PM
Full set available on BBC iPlayer now and it is absolutely fabulous. Nae red arrows though, sorry.

babahibs
29-06-2025, 02:01 PM

I've been to Glastonbury a few times, I must know at least 50 people that go regularly.

None of us are what you would describe as middle class. None.

29-06-2025, 02:48 PM
The Libertines were superb there. Best I have seen them live in a long time.

29-06-2025, 02:51 PM
There is is. The obligatory Celtic top in the crowd for Rod Stewart. The perfect attire for festivals, weddings, funerals and everything in between.

29-06-2025, 02:52 PM
Racist Rod with a dreadful start. Suffering it because my wife wants to see it as there's nothing else on.

29-06-2025, 02:55 PM
Racist Rod with a dreadful start. Suffering it because my wife wants to see it as there's nothing else on.

We’ve got to give Rod Stewart a chance

29-06-2025, 02:56 PM
I like Rod, he has some **** hot tunes, amazes me that some people as huge as him don't know how to put together a set list, you need to come out the gates with a well known belter to get the crowd going

29-06-2025, 02:57 PM
He's obviously a cock but I don't think he's been too bad so far. His voice is shot but that's been the case since about 1997. He's trying to put on a show and he's a bit like a no bad karaoke singer hamming up Rod Stewart. The OTT backing band, singers and production is obviously all to hide his voice and it's working to an extent.

29-06-2025, 02:58 PM
Absolutely cackling at the sudden clamouring to decry Bob Vylan from the organisers. You surely knew who the **** you were booking when you reached out to their management pre-festival. I’ve seen them live twice and they’re incendiary across lots of social and cultural issues: unashamedly and explicitly so.

Not going to enter into debate on this thread about the political merits or problems with them (or Kneecap), but if you book acts like that, you get exactly what you expect. Don’t pretend or act surprised.

29-06-2025, 02:58 PM
We’ve got to give Rod Stewart a chance

29-06-2025, 02:59 PM
He's obviously a cock but I don't think he's been too bad so far. His voice is shot but that's been the case since about 1997. He's trying to put on a show and he's a bit like a no bad karaoke singer hamming up Rod Stewart. The OTT backing band, singers and production is obviously all to hide his voice and it's working to an extent.

‘Trying to put on a show’…This is a classic in the ‘damning with fake praise’ genre :faf:

29-06-2025, 03:00 PM
Absolutely cackling at the sudden clamouring to decry Bob Vylan from the organisers. You surely knew who the **** you were booking when you reached out to their management pre-festival. I’ve seen them live twice and they’re incendiary across lots of social and cultural issues: unashamedly and explicitly so.

Not going to enter into debate on this thread about the political merits or problems with them (or Kneecap), but if you book acts like that, you get exactly what you expect. Don’t pretend or act surprised.

The irony is that, much like Kneecap, all the furore will just send their career to another level. It's outstanding publicity for them.

29-06-2025, 03:01 PM
‘Trying to put on a show’…This is a classic in the ‘damning with fake praise’ genre :faf:

I'm feeling generous, it's a sunny Sunday🤣

29-06-2025, 03:04 PM
His singing is embarrassingly poor but most of the oldies suffer from this. They should retire gracefully.

He's here!
29-06-2025, 03:15 PM

Neil Young? I agree, he hugely exceeded my expectations.

Kneecap's set has been heavily edited for iplayer.

He's here!
29-06-2025, 03:16 PM

I wasn't aware he's racist?

29-06-2025, 03:18 PM

Racist by association.

29-06-2025, 03:19 PM
His singing is embarrassingly poor but most of the oldies suffer from this. They should retire gracefully.

I don’t think his voice is that bad, it’s improved as the set has gone on. He’s slowed down a bit as well:greengrin.
He’s doing what the legend should do, throw out a selection of his greatest hits and he has some belters from the early seventies. He is a bit of a backside but I can park that and enjoy it for what it is. :greengrin

babahibs
Rod Stewart is painful, switched to Black Uhuru, Motherwell F.C flag at the front of the crowd.

Not starting up another debate on this thread. As I said in 1977 he gave the best live performance I've ever seen (maybe other than The Clash) and I'll leave it there.

29-06-2025, 03:22 PM

Racist? His misguided support for Farage dies him no favours but I think you would struggle to make the case for him being racist.
I fell out with an old friend in Facebook because of his support for reform. Played the racist by association card. The next week he put up his wedding pictures, his West African wife looked stunning. Lesson learned.

29-06-2025, 03:23 PM
He'll likely be pretty sh*t anyway.

Well you certainly got that prediction wrong. By a long way. Still, I'm sure all your other comments are spot on.

29-06-2025, 03:26 PM

The Farage thing I could almost overlook.

The Enoch Powell support from his heyday is more problematic.

29-06-2025, 03:26 PM

Kneecap's set has been heavily edited for iplayer.

Not from what i saw of the original stream, they showed every bit of it all on iplayer. Excellent set and you see him say ‘for the avoidance of any doubt im NOT calling for a riot at the Mo’s court case’, a clarification which the MSM neglected to mention he made. Nothing they said was really that controversial. Unless you really like Keir or Rod Stewart that is.

29-06-2025, 03:29 PM
Not from what i saw of the original stream, they showed every bit of it all on iplayer. Excellent set and you see him say ‘for the avoidance of any doubt im NOT calling for a riot at the Mo’s court case’, a clarification which the MSM neglected to mention he made. Nothing they said was really that controversial. Unless you really like Keir or Rod Stewart that is.I'm afraid I struggled to hear what they were saying. Needs subtitles for us old folks.

29-06-2025, 03:32 PM
Racist? His misguided support for Farage dies him no favours but I think you would struggle to make the case for him being racist.
I fell out with an old friend in Facebook because of his support for reform. Played the racist by association card. The next week he put up his wedding pictures, his West African wife looked stunning. Lesson learned.

Your old friend may well have remained racist despite finding black women attractive and wanting one for a wife. The two things aren’t mutually exclusive.

The Farage thing I could almost overlook.

The Enoch Powell support from his heyday is more problematic.

Eric Clapton says hold my pint. Elvis Costello throws his hat in the ring. People say dumb things sometimes that they live to regret. Knowing more than three chords doesn’t make you any less stupid.

It was a sort of joke but he backed Powell back in 1971 so I doubt that side of him has ever gone away.

Anyway his singing is pitiful, I'm away for a walk with the dog 😁

29-06-2025, 03:34 PM
Your old friend may well have remained racist despite finding black women attractive and wanting one for a wife. The two things aren’t mutually exclusive.

When I worked with him his best mate was a black Glaswegian. They were inseparable. Well up until the point they decided to join the French Foreign Legion and only one of them made it as far as basic training. :greengrin
Anyway back to Rod the Mod. He needs to get Ron Wood on soon to save this.

29-06-2025, 03:38 PM
Bizarrely with Rod this is about the best he has sounded and it's probably the hardest song to sing and the one that's least forgiving (thus far).

Edit: The heeeyyyyyy babuuuuuuuu at the end was painful right enough.

29-06-2025, 03:39 PM
When I worked with him his best mate was a black Glaswegian. They were inseparable. Well up until the point they decided to join the French Foreign Legion and only one of them made it as far as basic training. :greengrin
Anyway back to Rod the Mod. He needs to get Ron Wood on soon to save this.

I was enjoying hearing about your Farage-loving non racist mate with the cojoined twin black Glaswegian foreign legionnaire other best mate, but another time maybe :greengrin

29-06-2025, 03:42 PM
I was enjoying hearing about your Farage-loving non racist mate with the cojoined twin black Glaswegian foreign legionnaire other best mate, but another time maybe :greengrin

Riveting stuff eh? I really can bore for Scotland sometimes. :faf:

29-06-2025, 03:46 PM
I just caught myself dancing on the way back from the oven getting a pizza to do you think I'm sexy, that means Rods doing fine here :faf:

29-06-2025, 03:46 PM

I should be put in the public stocks and pilloried for this post. :greengrin

29-06-2025, 03:47 PM
I just caught myself dancing on the way back from the oven getting a pizza to do you think I'm sexy, that means Rods doing fine here :faf:

Good grief. :greengrin

29-06-2025, 03:48 PM
Riveting stuff eh? I really can bore for Scotland sometimes. :faf:

Not at all! There was a short-lived soft rock band in the 90s called the Quireboys, they sounded more like Rod Stewart than Rod Stewart does himself. An odd direction for a band to take.

29-06-2025, 03:48 PM
Has he just given up and handed over to the backing singers now? She's a fine chanter btw.

29-06-2025, 03:49 PM
Good grief. :greengrin

What can I say, I'm not like Bollah, I'm no really into obscure Malian Zylophone bands unless Konte is accompanying them :faf:

29-06-2025, 03:52 PM
What can I say, I'm not like Bollah, I'm no really into obscure Malian Zylophone bands unless Konte is accompanying them :faf:

:grr: Amadou and Mariam ****ing ROCK

29-06-2025, 03:53 PM

:grr: Amadou and Mariam ****ing ROCK

Knew that would trigger you haha

29-06-2025, 03:57 PM
The audience are way way more in tune than Rod. He did a good version of I'd Rather Go Blind mind you.

Christ here's Mick Hucknell.

29-06-2025, 03:57 PM
Knew that would trigger you haha

Im all about Manu Dibango at the moment

(I actually challenge you to listen to The Panther and not immediately start throwing shapes, will take 3 minutes of your time)

Hibspur
29-06-2025, 03:58 PM
It was a sort of joke but he backed Powell back in 1971 so I doubt that side of him has ever gone away.

Anyway his singing is pitiful, I'm away for a walk with the dog 😁

Because he backed Powell more than half a century ago those views are somehow hard-wired into him for life? Plenty of people change as they get older.

29-06-2025, 03:59 PM
Mick Hucknall sounding more like the David Brent version of Mick Hucknall than Gervais ever managed.

Reminds me of one of the great pub debates of my youth. Would you rather batter fat Mick Hucknall or dreadlocked Mick Hucknall.

29-06-2025, 04:02 PM
Im all about Manu Dibango at the moment

(I actually challenge you to listen to The Panther and not immediately start throwing shapes, will take 3 minutes of your time)

I actually really liked that, anyone that has an album called Saxy Party is alright by me 🤣

29-06-2025, 04:02 PM
Not holding my breath after the Castle told us he was retiring and had us all singing for him just the usual

More comebacks than Deacon Blue

Can come back for the Scottish Cup draw anytime 😀

Told you all :greengrin

29-06-2025, 04:05 PM
Mick Hucknall sounding more like the David Brent version of Mick Hucknall than Gervais ever managed.

Reminds me of one of the great pub debates of my youth. Would you rather batter fat Mick Hucknall or dreadlocked Mick Hucknall.

Rod obviously googled find me a singer more ridiculous than myself. :greengrin

29-06-2025, 04:05 PM
I actually really liked that, anyone that has an album called Saxy Party is alright by me 🤣

:faf: just honoured you made time to give it a listen :greengrin

29-06-2025, 04:07 PM
Because he backed Powell more than half a century ago those views are somehow hard-wired into him for life? Plenty of people change as they get older.

Aye maybe he was a socialist in between.

29-06-2025, 04:10 PM
Aye maybe he was a socialist in between.He was a poser communist while it was trendy in the mid 60s. Supported Powell, Thatcher, Boris Johnson and now Farage.

Some people can change over time. Rod, a disgrace to his father's memory btw, apparently isn't one of them.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

29-06-2025, 04:10 PM
Mick Hucknall had to cut off his dreadlocks after Martine McCutcheon vomited on him in a car and for me that makes Martine McCutcheon a hero.

29-06-2025, 04:13 PM
Lulu out now after deciding if she's using the nauseating faux American accent or the nauseating faux weegie one. Which is it going to be?

29-06-2025, 04:16 PM
Lulu out now after deciding if she's using the nauseating faux American accent or the nauseating faux wedeie one. Which is it going to be?

I make no apologies for loving Lulu. :greengrin

29-06-2025, 04:20 PM
Turned it off now, season isn't even started yet and I don't want to get the rage :faf:

29-06-2025, 04:20 PM
The Sailors hat. :greengrin
He has jumped the shark now.

29-06-2025, 04:21 PM
Turned it off now, season isn't even started yet and I don't want to get the rage :faf:

I’m just glad they aren’t wearing Hibs strips. The entire Celtic support should be cringing. :greengrin

29-06-2025, 04:24 PM
Got my 7 year old jumping about mad excited because Olivia Rodrigo is on soon.

Quite looking forward to it myself tbh.

29-06-2025, 04:32 PM
Got my 7 year old jumping about mad excited because Olivia Rodrigo is on soon.

Quite looking forward to it myself tbh.

Engages old man mode.

Who? :greengrin

babahibs
29-06-2025, 04:33 PM

The most racist guy I know is married to a Thai.

29-06-2025, 04:34 PM
Engages old man mode.

Who? :greengrin

The latest one to come off the Disney talent production line🤣

Just watched Sam Ryder's interview there. He seems like the nicest man in the world.

He's here!
29-06-2025, 04:36 PM
He was a poser communist while it was trendy in the mid 60s. Supported Powell, Thatcher, Boris Johnson and now Farage.

Some people can change over time. Rod, a disgrace to his father's memory btw, apparently isn't one of them.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Who was his dad?

I must say all this racist Rod stuff is new to me. But then I've never been a fan. I always thought he was regarded as a kind of national treasure/adopted Scot.

Best legends slot I've seen at Glastonbury was Dolly Parton.

29-06-2025, 04:39 PM
The latest one to come off the Disney talent production line🤣

Just watched Sam Ryder's interview there. He seems like the nicest man in the world.

He does.
I hate him for it. :greengrin

29-06-2025, 04:42 PM
The most racist guy I know is married to a Thai.

Fair enough. But did he try to join the foreign legion?

29-06-2025, 04:44 PM
Who was his dad?

I must say all this racist Rod stuff is new to me. But then I've never been a fan. I always thought he was regarded as a kind of national treasure/adopted Scot.

Best legends slot I've seen at Glastonbury was Dolly Parton.

I was there for that one - was a bit disappointed by her.

Ray Davies in the sunshine in 2010 was just perfect.

29-06-2025, 04:46 PM
Burning Spear. Superb

29-06-2025, 05:05 PM
Nile Rodgers Chic a Glastonbury institution on now

29-06-2025, 05:07 PM
As Roy Harper headlines the acoustic stage tonight, playing as a duo with his genius guitarist son, Nick, I wonder if the BBC will film any of it?

Roy's 84 and doing three farewell gigs, aside from Glastonbury and is a national treasure.

It has been a festival of 80 year olds :greengrin but what it does tell me is that music or plastic surgery keeps them all looking good and gives them a long life.

29-06-2025, 05:14 PM

**** off. :greengrin

29-06-2025, 05:14 PM
Nile Rogers Chic a Glastonbury institution on now

He’s good though. :greengrin

29-06-2025, 05:16 PM
He’s good though. :greengrin

Quality

Takes me back to Clouds Tollcross

29-06-2025, 05:25 PM
Nile Rodgers Chic a Glastonbury institution on now

Hes so so good.

babahibs
29-06-2025, 05:35 PM

If he did, he would've went to the british legion, he was thick as mince.

Peanut Shaz
29-06-2025, 05:38 PM
Hes so so good.

Seen him live 3 times. His live shows are fantastic

29-06-2025, 05:42 PM
Brian Jonestone Massacre as chaotically brilliant as ever.

Missed them in Edinburgh the other night unfortunately.

babahibs
29-06-2025, 05:51 PM
Seen him live 3 times. His live shows are fantastic

Seen him twice, he's a genius

29-06-2025, 06:08 PM
So what’s been everyone’s highlight? Biffy Clyro for me with special mention for Self Esteem.

29-06-2025, 06:09 PM
So what’s been everyone’s highlight? Biffy Clyro for me with special mention for Self Esteem.

The night is young

29-06-2025, 06:11 PM
It has been a festival of 80 year olds :greengrin but what it does tell me is that music or plastic surgery keeps them all looking good and gives them a long life.

Roy's definitely not botox kind of guy, I'm crediting the music :greengrin and restorative powers of the ganja.

29-06-2025, 06:14 PM

Doechii blew me away, having known nothing about her before, so she’d be mine.
Jarvis and Neil Young two of my favourites anyway and both did great sets.

Trinity Hibee
29-06-2025, 06:28 PM
Nile Rogers & Chic best of the weekend

babahibs
29-06-2025, 06:30 PM
Brian Jonestone Massacre as chaotically brilliant as ever.

Missed them in Edinburgh the other night unfortunately.

They all look melted

29-06-2025, 06:40 PM
Nile Rogers & Chic best of the weekend

Really enjoyed them, and although I never really fancied them through the years, I thought Pulp were excellent.

29-06-2025, 06:41 PM

Thanks for the recommendation, she was great and I will be listening to her a lot this week! I actually knew a couple of her songs but had never heard of her.

Just_Jimmy
29-06-2025, 06:45 PM
80 year old, looking every minute of it and sounding even worse, Rod Stewart parading around with his celtic drum.

Chronic.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

29-06-2025, 06:59 PM
80 year old, looking every minute of it and sounding even worse, Rod Stewart parading around with his celtic drum.

Chronic.

Mate. He is 80.

Sounds bloody good to me!

29-06-2025, 07:24 PM
Future Islands are smashing it as expected ♥️

babahibs
29-06-2025, 07:28 PM

A contender I reckon

29-06-2025, 07:40 PM
Noah Kahan ….. very good.

29-06-2025, 07:43 PM

Absolute class!

Just_Jimmy
29-06-2025, 07:53 PM
Mate. He is 80.

Sounds bloody good to me!I know, thats why I said. Big celtic love in.

I dont mind his stuff but hes chronic.