View Full Version : Edinburgh City

ChuckNor
28-06-2024, 10:54 PM
Anyone know if the game is on Hibs TV tomorrow, or streaming elsewhere?

29-06-2024, 08:46 AM
It's not on Hibs TV. Also, from the club email:

https://i.imgur.com/opdGYmN.png

Dave Gray???

29-06-2024, 10:48 AM
Youan and Boyle not in the squad - Rocky and Henderson also missing

McKirdy, Kenneh , Harbottle and Amos start

Jair on the bench

Bridge hibs
29-06-2024, 10:55 AM

Jair on the bench

No Wollocott either

29-06-2024, 10:56 AM
No new outfield signings either

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

29-06-2024, 10:56 AM
Rocky, NMW, Boyle and Wollocott all had extended leave due to internationals.

29-06-2024, 10:57 AM
Rocky, NMW, Boyle and Wollocott all had extended leave due to internationals.

Ah yes.. we’ve got a big squad that’s for sure .. forget who’s in and out

29-06-2024, 10:57 AM
No new outfield signings either

They won't have trained with squad much yet so understandable.

29-06-2024, 10:59 AM
Would like to see McKirdy and Harbottle get another chance.

Only the new goalie playing,thought the other new guys would get a few minutes.

https://i.ibb.co/rZV8mjB/IMG-2750.png (https://ibb.co/rZV8mjB)

1 Bursik 6 Levitt 9 Vente 11 Newell (C) 12 Cadden 14 Amos 17 McKirdy 24 Kenneh 26 Harbottle 27 Megwa 37 O MacIntyre

Subs:

25 Boruc 2 Miller 8 JDH 21 Obita 29 Jair 32 Campbell 35 Molotnikov 40 McAllister 42 Whittaker 44 Landers 45 McGrath 47 Calder

29-06-2024, 11:02 AM
Amos (14), McKirdy (17) and Megwa (27) all have new squad numbers.

29-06-2024, 11:12 AM
3-5-2?

Kenneh, harbottle, megwa

Cadden Amos newly Levitt mcintyre

Mckirdy vente

Mikey_1875
29-06-2024, 11:13 AM
3-5-2?

Bursik
Cadden Megwa Kenneh Harbottle Macintyre
Amos Newell Levitt
McKirdy Vente

Edit - Beaten to it!

29-06-2024, 11:13 AM
3-5-2?

Kenneh, harbottle, megwa

Cadden Amos newly Levitt mcintyre

Mckirdy vente

4-4-2 diamond perhaps

29-06-2024, 11:20 AM
Official site article says it's 2 different sides per half with Owen Calder as a sub overall.

sauzeelegod
29-06-2024, 11:25 AM
433 with Cadden at RW according to the fishy

29-06-2024, 11:30 AM
Official site article says it's 2 different sides per half with Owen Calder as a sub overall.

That's great coms from Hibs

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/june/29/team-news--edinburgh-city--a-/

Greenworld
29-06-2024, 11:45 AM
Only the new goalie playing,thought the other new guys would get a few minutes.More important to get them settled accomodation and all that stuff for them to sort after all they have just arrived

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk

29-06-2024, 11:46 AM
A good mixture in both 11's of youth and experience, would have been nice for one of the new CB's to play some minutes, first chance to see Bursik.

Any updates would be great 👍

29-06-2024, 12:00 PM
Lovely day. Nice food. Found a bin to put our drinks and chips on. Here with brother and son in the Side enclosure opposite the main stand.

Looking forward to it. Teams out.

29-06-2024, 12:13 PM
Still 0-0, Gray oot. :wink:

29-06-2024, 12:15 PM
Rocky, Boyle, NMW all in attendance

29-06-2024, 12:16 PM
Rocky, Boyle, NMW all in attendance

Good lads!

Have to imagine Youan is leaving then.

29-06-2024, 12:17 PM
Is Youan not even back to pre season training?

29-06-2024, 12:17 PM
1-0 Cadden.

Is it early to say we’re winning the league :hyper

29-06-2024, 12:19 PM
1-0 Cadden.

Is it early to say we’re winning the league :hyper

Levitt assist as well. We’re definitely winning something!

EHZERO7

He’s been back. I think he had 27 on his training kit 🤔

I don’t think so.

Not seen any photos etc of him at training.

Billyy
29-06-2024, 12:23 PM
He’s been back. I think he had 27 on his training kit 🤔

Megwa is 27.

29-06-2024, 12:23 PM

Development squad.

29-06-2024, 12:25 PM
Youan is there supporting the team as well, hope he’s staying

29-06-2024, 12:26 PM
Levitt assist as well. We’re definitely winning something!

Levitt scored too.

Treble is on.

29-06-2024, 12:26 PM
Levitt scored too.

Treble is on.

****ing hell, we’re unbelievable.

29-06-2024, 12:27 PM
Megwa is 27.

Didn’t think he was that old

29-06-2024, 12:27 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Q7VqQb3/Screenshot-20240629-132638.png (https://ibb.co/KcgQh0p)

29-06-2024, 12:28 PM
Youan is there supporting the team as well, hope he’s staying

That’s good to see. Hopefully that’s the case but I have a feeling he will be away!

29-06-2024, 12:29 PM
Levitt scored too.

Treble is on.We're going unbeaten for the treble!! :hyper

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

29-06-2024, 12:31 PM
What a goal by McKirdy.

29-06-2024, 12:32 PM
What a goal by McKirdy.

Now I know you're lying.

davemcbain
29-06-2024, 12:32 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Q7VqQb3/Screenshot-20240629-132638.png (https://ibb.co/KcgQh0p)

Never saw that costa sponsorship deal announced. Must have paid big money to get a cup in every pic :greengrin

29-06-2024, 12:33 PM
Could SDG be the guy that gets the best out of Levitt? If so we'll have a player on our hands.

29-06-2024, 12:35 PM
What a goal by McKirdy.

A 30 yard worldy. We had a fantastic side on view.

3-0

29-06-2024, 12:36 PM

Now I know you're lying.

29-06-2024, 12:38 PM
Mon the Hibs!

Cheers for the updates.

EHZERO7
29-06-2024, 12:38 PM
Megwa is 27.

Apologies was going on my sons know how 😡

29-06-2024, 12:40 PM
A 30 yard worldy. We had a fantastic side on view.

3-0

Did McKirdy do a machine gun celebration ?

29-06-2024, 12:44 PM
How is Amos looking?

29-06-2024, 12:44 PM
Harry McKirdy joint top goal scorer. Never thought I’d read those words

29-06-2024, 12:46 PM
I see Youan is there watching the game, appreciate other clubs may be showing interest in him but why is he not involved?

29-06-2024, 12:47 PM
Harry McKirdy joint top goal scorer. Never thought I’d read those words

Goalie just saved another good shot from Harry.

Half-time

badabing67
29-06-2024, 12:49 PM
I thought the game was meant to be on the Hibs YouTube channel

29-06-2024, 12:51 PM
Lovely day. Nice food. Found a bin to put our drinks and chips on. Here with brother and son in the Side enclosure opposite the main stand.

Looking forward to it. Teams out.

Any update on the bin ,is it full yet ?

HendoDelivered
29-06-2024, 12:52 PM
Hows Bursik looking? Any good saves?

Be keen to know how Harbottle, Kenneh and Amos are getting on too 👍🏼

badabing67
29-06-2024, 12:54 PM
Is JDH getting a run out in 2nd half

yerauldda
29-06-2024, 12:55 PM
Is JDH getting a run out in 2nd half

Yep.

badabing67
29-06-2024, 12:58 PM
Yep.

Cool

29-06-2024, 12:59 PM
Any update on the bin ,is it full yet ?

:rotflmao::rotflmao:

He's here!
29-06-2024, 01:00 PM
How does the new kit look?

badabing67
29-06-2024, 01:01 PM
How does the new kit look?

Just like the last one

29-06-2024, 01:07 PM
4-0

McAllister.

29-06-2024, 01:08 PM
We want seven

29-06-2024, 01:11 PM
We are winning the league.

Paul1642
29-06-2024, 01:12 PM
I see Youan is there watching the game, appreciate other clubs may be showing interest in him but why is he not involved?

Presumably don’t want to risk a £2.5million+ transfer with an injury. Luck must be confident he’s away.

29-06-2024, 01:19 PM
I know it's a friendly against Edinburgh City but I am so happy we're scoring goals for fun here.

29-06-2024, 01:24 PM
5-0 Campbell.

Been really impressed with the way we’ve played today.

29-06-2024, 01:25 PM
It would be nice to see City get a goal just to give us something to moan about.

29-06-2024, 01:27 PM
Some fans need to cool it, this is just a friendly.

On a seperate topic, will hibs have to ask uefa to give us a copy of the champions league anthem for 13 months time or do we just download it ourselves likes???

👌🏻

HendoDelivered
29-06-2024, 01:29 PM
Goals and winning in pre season breeds confidence going forward. Really happy with how todays game sounds like it’s going. Even more encouraging it’s been weakened sides both halves from us.

29-06-2024, 01:29 PM
Excellent ball control from Rudi. City having to foul more now as they tire. Obita close with a shot from left of penalty box

He's here!
29-06-2024, 01:31 PM
Just like the last one

Thought we were going with green shorts this season?

29-06-2024, 01:31 PM
Young McGrath looking cool at the back without a lot of threat. Shot from Rory from right well held by City keeper

29-06-2024, 01:33 PM
Long ball from keeper falls to Jordan whose shot hits the far post

29-06-2024, 01:43 PM
McGrath hits post from a Hibs corner. Seagulls circling for dropped chips. Another Hibs corner. And another.

29-06-2024, 01:51 PM
McGrath hits post from a Hibs corner. Seagulls circling for dropped chips. Another Hibs corner. And another.

How far inland do gulls go in the hope of dropped chips?

The games gone

29-06-2024, 01:51 PM
Good start - hopefully same in league cup. Dominate teams !!

29-06-2024, 01:55 PM
Sounds like a decent run out for the boys.

Hibiza
29-06-2024, 02:06 PM

Jair on the bench

Jair 😫

29-06-2024, 02:13 PM
Josh O’Connor not involved, either injured or heading back out on loan soon

29-06-2024, 02:18 PM
I used to work with his dad.

Makes me feel old......

29-06-2024, 02:19 PM
Gray parading about on the touchline in some ghastly 'smart casual' get up looking like an over the hill dad pitching up when his son and his mates are out for a beer and he's not really invited.

He can get a suit or a tracksuit on or GTF for me. Terrible start to a new season.

Billy McKirdy
29-06-2024, 02:23 PM
What a goal by McKirdy.

At last !!!
I can cash my bet in now 😂

29-06-2024, 02:24 PM
I used to work with his dad.

Makes me feel old......

Good Hibby - was involved with Working Together back in the day.

Victor
29-06-2024, 02:24 PM
Gray parading about on the touchline in some ghastly 'smart casual' get up looking like an over the hill dad pitching up when his son and his mates are out for a beer and he's not really invited.

He can get a suit or a tracksuit on or GTF for me. Terrible start to a new season.

What is he wearing chinos and a polo, or has he gone Burberry? We fashionistas need to know!

29-06-2024, 02:27 PM
What is he wearing chinos and a polo, or has he gone Burberry? We fashionistas need to know!

Chinos, long sleeve polo, big chunky watch and THOSE shoes with the white soles that are the uniform for anyone involved in football between 30 and 70.

McAllister was the best player on the pitch 2nd half. A proper talent.

Chinos, long sleeve polo, big chunky watch and THOSE shoes with the white soles that are the uniform for anyone involved in football between 30 and 70.

Think Jack Ross but from Next rather than Reiss.

29-06-2024, 02:29 PM
McAllister was the best player on the pitch 2nd half. A proper talent.I thought we only paid silly money for him cause he was our assistant managers son

[emoji28]

Victor
29-06-2024, 02:29 PM

I see what you mean. Think he’s heading up toon, after?

29-06-2024, 02:31 PM
McAllister was the best player on the pitch 2nd half. A proper talent.

He looked the part down at Blackpool last year. Hopefully a year down the line he is ready to play more of a part this season. Looks a player.

Trinity Hibee
29-06-2024, 02:41 PM
How was Kenneh? Was wondering if he might be like a new signing in a Gray team

29-06-2024, 02:42 PM

Sounds pretty cool to me🤷🏼😂

DIXIHIBS
29-06-2024, 02:43 PM
Just back from game. Bit one sided but good positive start, few goals and a clean sheet. Good to see quite a few youngsters get a run out too.

29-06-2024, 02:45 PM
5-0 Campbell.

Been really impressed with the way we’ve played today.

goal machine

29-06-2024, 02:53 PM

Played at RCB and was totally fine. It’s the only area he will be able to play in this squad though. Doesn’t have the legs or close ability to play in that midfield 3. I suspect we will look to move him on.

InvertedFullBak
29-06-2024, 02:58 PM
How did Harbottle play ? Cheers.

jakedance
29-06-2024, 03:03 PM
Sounds like a lot to be positive about then, albeit with some concern of Gray’s trainers.

29-06-2024, 03:05 PM
How did Harbottle play ? Cheers.

Again totally fine. Goalie was very loud behind them too.

29-06-2024, 03:06 PM
My only minor negative would be landers tbh. The boy is a unit but his movement wasn’t great

29-06-2024, 03:09 PM

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240629/7a62ca82a9e403db28cf961bb87833b9.jpg

100% sure those trainers are from Arne.

HIBS NUTS
29-06-2024, 03:10 PM
I actually thought he was excellent at centrehalf.
Josh Campbell, Mcallister, best in second half .

29-06-2024, 03:11 PM
Wasn’t much of a game after they ran about like dafties for the first 15 minutes. Must be a few Jambos in their side as there were a few interesting challenges.

Main thing I noticed was that when we didn’t have the ball, they were all after it.

HIBS NUTS
29-06-2024, 03:11 PM
Mckirdys goal was absolutely brilliant, although he was bang average

29-06-2024, 03:13 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240629/7a62ca82a9e403db28cf961bb87833b9.jpg

100% sure those trainers are from Arne.

Can’t beat a bit of Arne!

29-06-2024, 03:13 PM
I see what you mean. Think he’s heading up toon, after?

Off to Elios with his mum for dinner...

29-06-2024, 03:16 PM
Think Jack Ross but from Next rather than Reiss.
😂😂😂

29-06-2024, 03:16 PM

😅😅

29-06-2024, 03:17 PM
How did Amos play?

29-06-2024, 03:17 PM
He looked the part down at Blackpool last year. Hopefully a year down the line he is ready to play more of a part this season. Looks a player.
How old is he?

29-06-2024, 03:18 PM

We don't do food!!!! Last time he was here I bought him a drink.

29-06-2024, 03:20 PM
How old is he?

Just turned 18.

29-06-2024, 03:20 PM

Agreed. :agree:

29-06-2024, 03:21 PM
How did Amos play?

Probably our best player in the first half imo.

29-06-2024, 03:29 PM
Probably our best player in the first half imo.

Agreed. If he stays fit I think he could be a big player for us, I really like him.

Not sure if it was just because of the opposition but I thought he played quite an advanced midfield role. If we’re trying to win the ball high up the park, he could be useful there.

Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 03:51 PM
Just read this ..

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/june/29/report--edinburgh-city-0-5-hibernian-fc/

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/june/29/gray-on--positive--edinburgh-city-outing/

Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 04:05 PM
How did Vente and Campbell play today ?

Hedlund12
29-06-2024, 04:06 PM

OMG.... words fail me!
Still can't fathom out if this post is a P!$$ take...🙄

DIXIHIBS
29-06-2024, 04:08 PM
OMG.... words fail me!

Think he might be joking....

DIXIHIBS
29-06-2024, 04:11 PM
How did Vente and Campbell play today ?

Vente not involved enough for me. Thought Campbell played well, scored good goal.

29-06-2024, 04:16 PM
We don't do food!!!! Last time he was here I bought him a drink.

Maybe LJ considers the olives in his dirty martini as dinner? 😁

29-06-2024, 04:17 PM
OMG.... words fail me!

Hibs win and Hibs.net has nothing to moan about so Gray is getting the fashion police on his case.

Think it was a joke post before - think he looked fine and glad he’s not a tracksuit “head coach”.

Could do with Vente getting some goals and his confidence up in pre-season.

Hopefully Mckirdy can push on after scoring too.

When do Hibs fly abroad ?

Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 04:17 PM
Vente not involved enough for me. Thought Campbell played well, scored good goal.

Thanks 👍

29-06-2024, 04:18 PM
Can’t be bothered to go back and check so apologies if it’s already been covered but I thought Megwa appeared to have changed shape completely since I last saw him play. He looked like a wee boy before but it looks like he’s hit the gym hard since then it over the summer. Physically he looks like a man now.

With us already having Cadden and Miller as Right Back, I wonder if he might be considered for cover at centre back as I think that was originally his position before being moved to right back?

29-06-2024, 04:20 PM
Can’t be bothered to go back and check so apologies if it’s already been covered but I thought Megwa appeared to have changed shape completely since I last saw him play. He looked like a wee boy before but it looks like he’s hit the gym hard since then it over the summer. Physically he looks like a man now.

With us already having Cadden and Miller as Right Back, I wonder if he might be considered for cover at centre back as I think that was originally his position before being moved to right back?

Too wee. Not many 5-10 (at a push) CBs

29-06-2024, 04:20 PM

Arne? When he got his trainers he should of said "I'll be (sending these) back"

He needs to work on his attire, it's just not Hibs level of quality or style, he would never have got into the Piano bar at Quinn's dressed like that.

Say what you want about Monty, he did well with that green half zip merino.

29-06-2024, 04:23 PM

Martinez at Man Utd is 5ft 9!

29-06-2024, 04:29 PM

Not many 😂

29-06-2024, 04:29 PM
Sounds like a lot to be positive about then, albeit with some concern of Gray’s trainers.

They are Marmaris Mcqueens 2 for 25

29-06-2024, 04:30 PM

David alaba
Puyol
Cannavaro
Baresi
Nathan Ake

He's definitely not too small. All about ability.

29-06-2024, 04:31 PM

Roberto Carlos done no too bad at 5 foot 6 inches

29-06-2024, 04:32 PM
Not many 😂

They only have the one as far as I know? 😁

29-06-2024, 04:32 PM
Hibs win and Hibs.net has nothing to moan about so Gray is getting the fashion police on his case.

Think it was a joke post before - think he looked fine and glad he’s not a tracksuit “head coach”.

Could do with Vente getting some goals and his confidence up in pre-season.

Hopefully Mckirdy can push on after scoring too.

When do Hibs fly abroad ?

Jeezo it was tounge in cheek…saying that shoes with white soles are minging.

29-06-2024, 04:34 PM
Good Hibby - was involved with Working Together back in the day.

Works for Hibs now as scout

29-06-2024, 04:36 PM
David alaba
Puyol
Cannavaro
Baresi
Nathan Ake

Unfortunately you are just comparing him to top class players 🙂 Think he could do ok in a back 3

29-06-2024, 04:36 PM
David alaba
Puyol
Cannavaro
Baresi
Nathan Ake

I’ll stick with I think he’s too small to be a CB in this Hibs team moving forward. In other news Lewis Miller showed today that he could easily do a job if we had to at CB. Megwa will be a decent RB. Let’s just work on developing that.

29-06-2024, 04:46 PM
Works for Hibs now as scout

Full time now, been doing it p/t for a fair while.

His dream job TBF !

Exuberance1875
29-06-2024, 04:51 PM
Thought we were good today, didn’t look really rusty or anything like that, albeit against a poor opposition.

Lots of positives in terms of some individual performances too

29-06-2024, 04:57 PM
I thought Lewis Miller would definitely get a run against City, but not in the squad.

Is he still injured,or is there another reason he seems to have disappeared?

29-06-2024, 04:58 PM
I thought Lewis Miller would definitely get a run against City, but not in the squad.

He played 45 minutes I think.

29-06-2024, 04:58 PM

Played the whole 2nd half at centre back.

29-06-2024, 05:09 PM
Full time now, been doing it p/t for a fair while.

His dream job TBF !

Yeah, I know he is happy. Good guy, passionate about the Club

FastEddieFelson
29-06-2024, 05:40 PM

https://images.app.goo.gl/UkTeMdRhXfNRajBN9

29-06-2024, 05:47 PM

We need DBS to be the attire arbiter here.

29-06-2024, 05:48 PM
Not many [emoji23]Cannavaro was no a bad player in his day.

29-06-2024, 05:50 PM
OMG.... words fail me!

🤭

BlackSheep
29-06-2024, 07:00 PM
Wonder if we will get a highlights edit at some point, would be nice to see extended ones too.

29-06-2024, 07:25 PM
Great strike from McKirdy

https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1807089490571178454

29-06-2024, 07:26 PM
Wonder if we will get a highlights edit at some point, would be nice to see extended ones too.

Sky highlights

https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1807133135294865605?t=lAsmGe3PIJ8W72-t_cWPIQ&s=19

29-06-2024, 07:28 PM
Sky highlights

https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1807133135294865605?t=lAsmGe3PIJ8W72-t_cWPIQ&s=19

Some good goals.

Bad Habits
29-06-2024, 07:33 PM
seen some suggestions that Vente didn't do enough, seemed to be involved in the first three goals with some intelligent movement and hold up play.

29-06-2024, 07:34 PM
Sky highlights

You can only beat what's in front of you and we absolutely skelped them! But my word, Edinburgh City look dreadful.

BlackSheep
29-06-2024, 07:38 PM
Sky highlights

Grand, thanks bud.

29-06-2024, 08:33 PM
A better angle of the Campbell goal.

https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1807142242089685480

Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 08:58 PM
A better angle of the Campbell goal.

https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1807142242089685480

Cracking goal from Josh , was he wearing the captains armband there ?

29-06-2024, 08:58 PM
Sky highlights

Awful camera angles and Meadowbank is just the worst place to watch a game so far away from the pitch.

w pilton hibby
29-06-2024, 09:00 PM
Cracking goal from Josh , was he wearing the captains armband there ?

Was captain for the 2nd half.

30-06-2024, 06:43 AM
David alaba
Puyol
Cannavaro
Baresi
Nathan Ake

Some aren’t centre halves and some aren’t as small as Megwa.

However they’re all world class players who play in leagues where it’s a lot more tactical or the ball played on the floor.

Think Megwa could struggle as a a centre back in this league. Looks a right good player at right back though.

Even think what Fletcher done to CJ Egan Riley at centre back when he played against them.

30-06-2024, 06:47 AM

However they’re all world class players who play in leagues where it’s a lot more tactical or the ball played on the floor.

Think Megwa could struggle as a a centre back in this league. Looks a right good player at right back though.

Even think what Fletcher done to CJ Egan Riley at centre back when he played against them.

How many players in the SPL history can we think of that have been that are 5ft 8 and been a big success at centre half? I can't think of any to be honest.

JDT
30-06-2024, 07:32 AM
How did Oscar McIntyre look? Could be a big season for the boy with Stevenson away and a LB slot available with Obita.

Up-the-slope
30-06-2024, 07:32 AM
Was captain for the 2nd half.

A fully fit Campbell back to his best will be like a mega bucks signing. His ability to arrive around the box at the right time and score from midfield is something we have totally lacked since his long lay offs... and a long time since a player in a hibs shirt did that regularly

30-06-2024, 07:41 AM
Brilliantly taken goal from Mccalister

Sells the defender with the dummy and good finish

Fuzzywuzzy
30-06-2024, 07:49 AM
That was a cracking goal from mckirdy

30-06-2024, 07:50 AM

All of those players are centre backs or have played centre back for years. I would not have listed them otherwise.

It's much different in a 3. Can definitely work.

Pointless discussion anyway, as we're obviously not making Megwa a centre back. Just think a good player can deal with the height issue. Same as a lack of pace.

30-06-2024, 08:29 AM
How did Oscar McIntyre look? Could be a big season for the boy with Stevenson away and a LB slot available with Obita.

Did fine, looks like he’s bulked up a fair bit since last summer.

30-06-2024, 08:32 AM
Small central defenders do struggle in Scotland mainly because of the way football is played. We defend crosses a lot more than they do in mainland Europe. Even in England there are very few small central defenders in the supposedly best league in the world.

30-06-2024, 08:39 AM
seen some suggestions that Vente didn't do enough, seemed to be involved in the first three goals with some intelligent movement and hold up play.

Vente did loads.

30-06-2024, 08:57 AM
What a ***** 'stadium'. They'd be as well playing in a public park

He's here!
30-06-2024, 09:52 AM
What a ***** 'stadium'. They'd be as well playing in a public park

Granted the old Meadowbank stadium had past its sell-by date (and was also an awful place to watch football) but the new version seems inadequate too. Some decent sized sports halls but a tiny, awkward car park, a cafe that seems rarely open and just a couple of rows of seats for spectators trackside. I don't really get the thinking behind it.

30-06-2024, 10:00 AM
Granted the old Meadowbank stadium had past its sell-by date (and was also an awful place to watch football) but the new version seems inadequate too. Some decent sized sports halls but a tiny, awkward car park, a cafe that seems rarely open and just a couple of rows of seats for spectators trackside. I don't really get the thinking behind it.

I was on the job for a few weeks just before COVID. At that point, it was said Edinburgh City wouldn't be returning there. No idea if true and something changed or just pish, but it wasn't built with football in mind.

See the Scottish open snooker is there now. Tickets are quite reasonably priced too.

30-06-2024, 10:10 AM
I was on the job for a few weeks just before COVID. At that point, it was said Edinburgh City wouldn't be returning there. No idea if true and something changed or just pish, but it wasn't built with football in mind.

See the Scottish open snooker is there now. Tickets are quite reasonably priced too.

The site lines for the track means it's not compliant for competitive athletics either. We have designed an athletics venue with a football pitch in the middle which is unusable for one and barely passable for another. It was a monumental mess up when it was designed.

I wonder what is happening with the replacement velodrome that was supposed to be built at the Jack Kane Centre. That seems to have just been forgotten about as well.

The internal areas at Meadowbank are pretty decent but the outside is just a shocking design that is now just a glorified training facility rather than a venue for hosting competitive sport.

Lendo
30-06-2024, 10:42 AM

My ex-partner was involved in the redevelopment and it’s true that Edinburgh City’s indecisiveness as to where they wanted to play has left the stadium in the mess it’s in now. Initially saying they weren’t going to return to Meadowbank then changing their mind. Meaning plans had to be reworked after construction had already started.

30-06-2024, 11:20 AM
Vente did loads.

Boy behind me said Vente did more in the 2nd half than he did in 1st half which sums it up for me.

Daydreamer
30-06-2024, 12:16 PM
Boy behind me said Vente did more in the 2nd half than he did in 1st half which sums it up for me.

Hey Brooster, I agree:wink: