27-06-2024, 11:50 AM
Tumescent

27-06-2024, 11:58 AM
Snuffly

27-06-2024, 12:00 PM
I really like the 'team' approach. Young Head Coach supported by experienced Manager. Way to Go Hibs. GGTTH

27-06-2024, 12:03 PM
Still not started, sign of things to come 😅

27-06-2024, 12:04 PM
Interesting start. Malky leading off!

27-06-2024, 12:05 PM
Typical Hibs. Not started yet :greengrin

27-06-2024, 12:06 PM
Basics Hibs🙄😂

We're off! Partial sound, slow video

Anyone else’s stream jumping?

Hibees1973
27-06-2024, 12:07 PM
Can't view you tube just now. Ian & Ben are they there?

TrinityHFC
27-06-2024, 12:08 PM
Well I’m getting sound I suppose.

Nope just SDG and Malky

Just the fitba folk, thank God!

HibsGW
27-06-2024, 12:11 PM
Just the fitba folk, thank God!

They ken wits gaun oan

27-06-2024, 12:11 PM
I have nothing on YouTube

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

27-06-2024, 12:12 PM
Poor quality, gave up.

27-06-2024, 12:13 PM
I have nothing on YouTube

Refresh. Sound is good video crap but hey - we know what they look like

Hibees1973
27-06-2024, 12:17 PM
Nope just SDG and Malky

I very much doubted they would have the bottle to appear and be humiliated. And there you have it a key result of this 'review'

27-06-2024, 12:18 PM
I very much doubted they would have the bottle to appear and be humiliated. And there you have it a key result if this 'review'

A positive, no?

27-06-2024, 12:27 PM
More buffering than hibs TV, I give up🙄

27-06-2024, 12:28 PM
What an absolute disaster of a stream that was

Was enjoying listening to it and then it randomly stopped

I think the live link has been stopped

TrinityHFC
Totally off now.

27-06-2024, 12:29 PM
What a shambles. Club should be embarrassed. And can we please get reporters who actually ask a new qn. 15 mins of Why is David Gray right for the job. It’s been done to death.

I liked the fact Gray said the aim has to be to win a trophy and finish in a European place. No pishy managerial chat about progress, getting in to the top six and all that.

ruthven_raiders
What an absolute disaster of a stream that was

Yup totally stopped now, will have to wait for it being streamed later in the day...

Logie
Shambles buffered throughout then cut off stream ended with nothing said. Poor show. DG saying all the right things as expected though!!

27-06-2024, 12:30 PM
39 minutes or so in and then bosh nothing

I very much doubted they would have the bottle to appear and be humiliated. And there you have it a key result of this 'review'What would you have said if they were there?

Well done for fronting up?

Hibees1973
A positive, no?
Yes Cropley a positive from me. And as someone posted earlier on the week this can be screenshot if anyone wishes.

Paul1642
I’m sure the whole thing will be posted once it’s over. Think I’ll just wait until then.

Someone needs to ask if Ian Gordon is involved in identifying players.

Yes looks like there’s a problem, was enjoying what I was hearing up to that point. Sounds promising especially the bit about Boyle. He would be a big loss but sounds like he’s going nowhere. 👍

27-06-2024, 12:31 PM
They ken wits gaun oan

They don’t know how to run a live stream tho 😂

27-06-2024, 12:32 PM
Someone needs to ask if Ian Gordon is involved in identifying players.Absolutely agree

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

They don’t know how to run a live stream tho [emoji23]We need a Director of Technology. Was quite enjoying that until it went pear shaped.

Yes looks like there’s a problem, was enjoying what I was hearing up to that point. Sounds promising especially the bit about Boyle. He would be a big loss but sounds like he’s going nowhere. [emoji106]Funny - I interpreted that as general staying on the fence

I wouldn't be surprised to see Martin go

TrinityHFC
27-06-2024, 12:33 PM
What a shambles. Club should be embarrassed. And can we please get reporters who actually ask a new qn. 15 mins of Why is David Gray right for the job. It’s been done to death.

It is a shame reporters generally don’t know or care much about the club. Would have been good to hear more specifics about how he wants to play, the type of players we are looking for and how the link with the investors is helping with that.

Not sure I care about how Malky felt losing his job at Ross County.

27-06-2024, 12:35 PM
Funny - I interpreted that as general staying on the fence

I wouldn't be surprised to see Martin go

Really, Gray said he was important to Hibs and was coming back to do his best for Gray and the club and full of enthusiasm. Sounded to me he was focused on Hibs but I appreciate you took it in a different way.

27-06-2024, 12:37 PM
Well gave up on that as the stream was awful.

Why do we make things so hard for fans to engage at times.

I’ve not been impressed with Hibs media for a while - some of the content is rubbish and totally out of touch with how fans are feeling.

Was there anything interested said or just the usual cliches?

27-06-2024, 12:37 PM
F me. Owned by a family with 5 Grammys in the cupboard from Ron's work in television and we can't manage a live stream a 15 year old kid could do from their bedroom.

Sigh !!!

Trinity Hibee
27-06-2024, 12:38 PM
It is a shame reporters generally don’t know or care much about the club. Would have been good to hear more specifics about how he wants to play, the type of players we are looking for and how the link with the investors is helping with that.

Agreed but that’s reflected in most reporters nowadays. Roll out the standard questions and they can say they’ve done their jobs. None have a good insight into Hibs and it just comes across as lazy journalism.

27-06-2024, 12:43 PM
The steam is live again but it’s private

27-06-2024, 12:46 PM

Scottish fitba hacks are generally the absolute dregs.

Maybe worth taking into account that they are generally there to create drivel for dying OF heavy publications and the questions / subsequent content will reflect that.

The “Ian Gordon question” needs asking though.

AT8
27-06-2024, 12:46 PM
All in all, rather embarrassing. If people can produce successful streams from their bedrooms, what's going on with Hibs?

Hibees1973
27-06-2024, 12:50 PM
All in all, rather embarrassing. If people can produce successful streams from their bedrooms, what's going on with Hibs?

Haven't watched. Probably best as it would have given me something else to moan about.

27-06-2024, 12:52 PM

Spot on. Reporters are utterly useless these days. Ask something interesting. TBH none of this would have happened under Monty. :greengrin

HendoDelivered
27-06-2024, 12:59 PM

Chill out man 😂

27-06-2024, 01:00 PM
We need a Director of Technology. Was quite enjoying that until it went pear shaped.

I think that's one of Marshalls roles?

Donegal Hibby
27-06-2024, 01:00 PM
Haven't watched. Probably best as it would have given me something else to moan about.

Probably :greengrin

27-06-2024, 01:04 PM
I think that's one of Marshalls roles?Possibly, I'm maybe mixing up my technicals with my technologies?[emoji6]

A not to be missed opportunity for a director of something to be created?

27-06-2024, 01:13 PM
Heard the review had meant Ian Gordon was now head of streaming services.

WeAreHibs
27-06-2024, 01:20 PM
Heard the review had meant Ian Gordon was now head of streaming services.

Been taking advice from Gary Locke?!

27-06-2024, 01:22 PM
Very excited about this season. I think he'll do well. Don't think i've ever wanted a manager to succeed as much.

27-06-2024, 01:30 PM
Very excited about this season. I think he'll do well. Don't think i've ever wanted a manager to succeed as much.

He knows what's needed and I don't think he will shirk from the hard decisions when they need made.

27-06-2024, 01:32 PM
Been taking advice from Gary Locke?!

“Head of streaming services” being possibly the only role at Hibs Locke would ever consider.

27-06-2024, 01:34 PM

How do you know it was the fault of Hibs that the stream went breasts up , most likely it would be the internet provider that had a problem, folk on here need to give it a rest regards finding fault with the club.

27-06-2024, 01:36 PM

Do we really want to know what a 50-year old streams from his bedroom in Bankok though? :wink:

27-06-2024, 01:39 PM
We have an interview :hyper
Yipee:aok:

HFC93
27-06-2024, 01:54 PM
So it went well then?

ElginHibbie
27-06-2024, 01:56 PM
https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1806325278941020380?s=46&t=u96NS8Gdd-Bpm85EUt8LFA

27-06-2024, 02:05 PM
Do we really want to know what a 50-year old streams from his bedroom in Bankok though? :wink:

Was that Bangkok or Banknock? 😁

27-06-2024, 02:05 PM
Yes it was glitchy and then cut off after 39mins but we don’t know if that was a problem that Hibs could control. But crack on with bashing the club anyway!

hibeez1875
27-06-2024, 02:06 PM
https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1806325278941020380?s=46&t=u96NS8Gdd-Bpm85EUt8LFA

Loving what he says about recruitment. It doesn’t mean we’ll always get it right, but sounds to me as though the proper processes are in place now and surely that gives us a better chance.

27-06-2024, 02:09 PM
Yes it was glitchy and then cut off after 39mins but we don’t know if that was a problem that Hibs could control. But crack on with bashing the club anyway!

Thanks, will do.

Mackay out!!!

Donegal Hibby
27-06-2024, 02:14 PM

Thanks ElginHibbie 👍 . Gray comes across really well in that and find it encouraging that he mentions the plan ' A, B and maybe C ' in changing things for certain games which is something i think we need to do in our league for the different challenges we face.

27-06-2024, 02:16 PM
Hopefully the club post an interview with him.

Would be good to get the podcasts in with him as well, they are a LOT more in tune with us all (generally) and what we are all discussing.

Sioux
27-06-2024, 02:26 PM
So, is the video available anywhere now?

On Hibs' website it says "video unavailable
this video is private"

ElginHibbie
27-06-2024, 02:29 PM
https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1806333044615201175

Malky getting in on the Sky action as well

27-06-2024, 02:37 PM

SDG IS GOING TO SMASH IT!!!!!

Let the good times roll!

27-06-2024, 02:38 PM

So many positives to take from such a short clip.

He’s the f’ing man although we already knew that.

My excitement is almost child like.

27-06-2024, 02:42 PM
How do you know it was the fault of Hibs that the stream went breasts up , most likely it would be the internet provider that had a problem, folk on here need to give it a rest regards finding fault with the club.

You do connectivity tests before go live. Its pretty poor stuff from hibs tbh. and I back them up for everything. A live stream is basic. If they can't do it from HTC they should have had it at Easter Rd.

27-06-2024, 03:07 PM
So many positives to take from such a short clip.

He’s the f’ing man although we already knew that.

My excitement is almost child like.
How professional is Malky, how fortunate Hibs are to have him on board, terrific interview.

Ardenttwo
27-06-2024, 04:06 PM

Off topic Elgin Hibbie I was in past Borough Briggs this morning and got two tickets for Elgin City v Hibs.

27-06-2024, 04:11 PM
https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1806333044615201175

Malky getting in on the Sky action as well

It's just chat but I like what I'm hearing.

I really want him to do well. Come on SDG, bring back the smiles to ER 🇳🇬

27-06-2024, 04:13 PM
First Hibs interview

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XUKb-8CG7TY

27-06-2024, 04:14 PM
You do connectivity tests before go live. Its pretty poor stuff from hibs tbh. and I back them up for everything. A live stream is basic. If they can't do it from HTC they should have had it at Easter Rd.

He could smile on occasion 🤣

27-06-2024, 04:25 PM
First Hibs interview

How often does the interviewer respond to every answer with "absolutely"? :confused:

27-06-2024, 04:26 PM
How often does the interviewer respond to every answer with "absolutely"? :confused:

He does it all the time in every video 😂 once you notice it you’re done.

Dreaded ‘fresh start’ coming out SDG mouth. Do think that’s a sound bite though as we’re already moving players on.

The Tubs
27-06-2024, 04:31 PM
He does it all the time in every video 😂 once you notice it you’re done.

Dreaded ‘fresh start’ coming out SDG mouth. Do think that’s a sound bite though as we’re already moving players on.

He tempered it by saying some players know they won't get games so they should look to move. He kept it positive but made it clear that a few should bolt.

27-06-2024, 04:34 PM
He tempered it by saying some players know they won't get games so they should look to move. He kept it positive but made it clear that a few should bolt.

Aye, I actually agree. Think he will have been honest to players he doesn't see as first team about game time. Up to the players now if they want to go seek football somewhere else.

Chorley Hibee
27-06-2024, 04:37 PM

Pay peanuts you get monkeys.

27-06-2024, 04:46 PM
Two things I’ve taken out of the interviews I’ve seen today.

First thing, he’s setting proper expectations. None of this top six chat.

Second thing, he realises the season starts two weeks on Saturday. That might sound an obvious thing to say, but we’ve had a couple of idiots previously telling us that the League Cup is pre season when it’s no.

Obvious that he going to try and raise the standards around the place.

Paul1642
27-06-2024, 04:47 PM
Really positive viewing that. I’ve said before that whilst Gray wasn’t my first choice, I have really come around to him being manager, and that interview has cemented that.

No bull**** in that interview. He just talks sense.

Things i have always wanted to see from Hibs are intensity and a willingness to change when it’s not going well and that sounds like part of Grays plan.

He’s not necessarily a natural speaker like the car salesman Lee Johnston was but when you listen to what’s actually being said he comes across very well IMO.

27-06-2024, 04:48 PM
It’s so refreshing hearing him speak.

Nothing fancy about free flowing football etc etc

All about standards he wants to instill at the club from the moment people walk through the door. The work rate they’ll need to give every training session and game and for them to realise “what hard work feels like”. Him saying his team will be aggressive…..I really like that as that’s what we’ve missed lately, especially under Maloney and Monty.

He says he’ll be adaptable and play based on the opposition, venue etc.

He looks and talks like a man who knows exactly what he wants the club as a whole to look like.

Chipper1875
27-06-2024, 04:56 PM
It’s so refreshing hearing him speak.

Nothing fancy about free flowing football etc etc

All about standards he wants to instill at the club from the moment people walk through the door. The work rate they’ll need to give every training session and game and for them to realise “what hard work feels like”. Him saying his team will be aggressive…..I really like that as that’s what we’ve missed lately, especially under Maloney and Monty.

He says he’ll be adaptable and play based on the opposition, venue etc.

He looks and talks like a man who knows exactly what he wants the club as a whole to look like.

Agreed. No BS . No flannel. Back to basics

27-06-2024, 05:08 PM

Second thing, he realises the season starts two weeks on Saturday. That might sound an obvious thing to say, but we’ve had a couple of idiots previously telling us that the League Cup is pre season when it’s no.

Second point is huge.

We should be absolutely romping our LC group and looking to blow a couple of teams away.

We have 2 realistic shots at winning a trophy. The League Cup is only pre season chat is utter tripe trotted out in the past to try and excuse poor performances and poor governance. If we want to reach the latter stages, have days out at Hampden and maybe win a trophy then we have to perform in these early competitive games. Our season starts against Elgin and everyone knows it.

TrinityHFC
27-06-2024, 05:14 PM
Second point is huge.

We should be absolutely romping our LC group and looking to blow a couple of teams away.

We have 2 realistic shots at winning a trophy. The League Cup is only pre season chat is utter tripe trotted out in the past to try and excuse poor performances and poor governance. If we want to reach the latter stages, have days out at Hampden and maybe win a trophy then we have to perform in these early competitive games. Our season starts against Elgin and everyone knows it.

I don’t think any of our managers said the LC was only pre-season. I think what they tried to say was that the timing of it, especially those that arrived when reporting back dates were already set, placed it within the usual pre-season period and therefore unfortunately they still had to worry about what players were getting the right amount of minutes to make sure they weren’t getting injuries and would be ready for a long season.

That and you are playing before being able to get your full squad in especially if you are in a bit of a rebuild.

The teams we play we should still have more than enough but it is a reasonable observation that we are playing games when we would normally be in pre season training and games only.

27-06-2024, 05:16 PM
I enjoyed the one-on-one interview on YouTube where he says he doesn't believe in sticking religiously to a formation. Playing Celtic is different to playing Ross County. Good we'll see a manager mix it up a bit. A back to basics common sense approach by someone who knows the league inside out. The more I hear from him the more I'm liking it. It's a trap I've fallen into before though but this time it just feels different. Roll on St Mirren away!

ElginHibbie
27-06-2024, 05:18 PM
I enjoyed the one-on-one interview on YouTube where he says he doesn't believe in sticking religiously to a formation. Playing Celtic is different to playing Ross County. Good we'll see a manager mix it up a bit. The more I hear from him the more I'm liking it. It's a trap I've fallen into before though but this time it just feels different. Roll on St Mirren away!

Sticking to a formation and not being able to or unwilling to change it up been a big issue for couple of recent managers so that is very promising to hear

27-06-2024, 05:27 PM

Totally agree, at least he’s saying the right things and sounds like he knows what’s required. He’s not talking about high presses, low blocks etc. which for me is refreshing. Getting the right players in is obviously very important but so far I’m impressed.

27-06-2024, 05:28 PM
Good Luck SDG. With his reputation he will surely have upmost respect from everyone at Hibs and the players will want to do well for him.

I couldn't help but be distracted by the board behind him with spaces for three players for each position.

27-06-2024, 05:31 PM
I enjoyed the one-on-one interview on YouTube where he says he doesn't believe in sticking religiously to a formation. Playing Celtic is different to playing Ross County. Good we'll see a manager mix it up a bit. A back to basics common sense approach by someone who knows the league inside out. The more I hear from him the more I'm liking it. It's a trap I've fallen into before though but this time it just feels different. Roll on St Mirren away!

You would actually think that the approach to a game against Celtic in Glasgow versus a game against Ross County does need a different approach. I could never get my head around why NM failed to see that. But it’s a good positive and encouraging interview by Gray. No bull…

27-06-2024, 05:34 PM
Private video. Same old Hibs amateurism.

27-06-2024, 05:45 PM
First Hibs interview

Came across very well, pleased with interview sounds confident in his and the coaching teams ability to get results.

27-06-2024, 06:03 PM
SDG comes across very well, straight talking no BS, seems clear in what he expects of himself and the players. Obviously it’s what happens on the pitch that matters but I’m encouraged by what he had to say.

27-06-2024, 06:29 PM
Really enjoyed the interview, there were a lot of things that either addressed doubts I had or filled in gaps that I didn’t know - same good for Malky’s interview on Sky Sports.

Hard work, standards, fitness, non-negotiables, expectations, flexibility, results driven. There’s a lot to like about that messaging.

27-06-2024, 06:43 PM
I don't think I've ever remember wanting a Hibs manager to succeed more than SDG.

27-06-2024, 06:43 PM
I don't think I've ever remember wanting a Hibs manager to succeed more than SDG.

Sauzee?

27-06-2024, 06:57 PM
It was interesting to hear Malky stress how important it was to keep Marsh at the club, his role and how Malky is effectively training him up in Sporting Directorship alongside his Masters Degree.

He also confirmed that DM is involved with the recruitment department and that will be a steep learning curve as it can take years to build expertise in that area of football management.

So effectively, we now know that 15 hour days are being worked by both players and management. In the past we have seen us recruiting players who were show ponies but in some games, lacked the intense work ethic that we fans expected.

It's a start.

27-06-2024, 07:32 PM
I really really want SDG to absolutely smash it.
I am however still of the mindset that right now what we needed after the last three appointments was an experienced successful manager that had been and done it at several clubs.
They don’t grow in trees but right at this moment thars what I think we needed.

Paul1642
27-06-2024, 07:45 PM
I really really want SDG to absolutely smash it.
I am however still of the mindset that right now what we needed after the last three appointments was an experienced successful manager that had been and done it at several clubs.
They don’t grow in trees but right at this moment thars what I think we needed.

I’m personally content that Malky fills all the gaps in Gray’s experience. Both of their interview left no doubt that he’s there to support him 100%.

The experience of Malky with the fresh ideas, knowledge of the club and enthusiasm of Gray could work out really well.

GreenGray
27-06-2024, 08:19 PM
The standards chat it was stands out to me.

Our standards as a club have seriously slipped in recent years, both on the field and off it.

I’m pretty confident that Gray and Mackay will set a minimum standard that must be kept, that’s a good start for me.

Paul1642
27-06-2024, 08:28 PM
An interesting line for me was about wanting visitors to HTC to see a real high performance working environment (or words to that effect).

I wonder if Gray feels this hasn’t been the case recently.

27-06-2024, 08:33 PM
An interesting line for me was about wanting visitors to HTC yo see a real high performance working environment (or words to that effect).

I wonder if Gray feels this hasn’t been the case recently.

Remember McGeady doing an interview about Gray getting the job (think it was last time round) and he basically said that Gray wasn’t happy with standards around the place (a view McGeady shared).

subcom mixu
27-06-2024, 08:58 PM
Great interview. He's giving me confidence. I'm happy to trust in SDG - he and his team delivered one of the finest days of our lives.

Hibees1973
27-06-2024, 09:18 PM
Really hope Gray gets the tools to do the job properly.

Remember from reading another legend Pat Stanton's book 'The Quiet Man' that when he took on the Hibs manager job he got very little support and was doomed to fail. I'm still suspicious of some of the characters at Hibs. It is hugely significant the absence of you know who today.

I doubt Gray would have taken the job on permanently if MacKay wasn't there as a buffer between him and the upper hierarchy at the club.

Gray has my full support, but he has a massive job on his hands. With the resources he will have at his disposal 5th in the league should be the target in his first season, but there will be bumps in the road. I just hope the support is there for him when he hits these bumps, unlike what they did with Jack Ross.

27-06-2024, 09:33 PM
Well, I'm still where I've been for a while on all this now. Talk is cheap, let's see results.

If they'd given a crap, average or fantastic interview I'd have had the same response: what happens on the park is what matters - and I think Gray knows that.

27-06-2024, 09:50 PM
SDG may not turnout to be amazing as the manger. BUT I’m very confident he won’t be rubbish. And TBH that’s an improvement on the last 3 managers we have had. I think he’ll bring a bit stability and steel to the team.

if we can start with that I’ll be happy.

In this league not rubbish gets you into Europe!

Silky
27-06-2024, 10:05 PM
Poor quality, gave up.

Has the season started already?

27-06-2024, 10:15 PM
Also good how he mentioned numerous times he knows everyone’s strengths and weaknesses, there is no settling in period to get to know people and is able to to action things quickly as a result,

Doesn’t sound like there will be any clean slates

27-06-2024, 11:27 PM
I pray he's a success. It would be awful to see another Hibs legend sacked after doing the manager's job.
There have been several.

28-06-2024, 06:37 AM
I pray he's a success. It would be awful to see another Hibs legend sacked after doing the manager's job.
There have been several.

How many on your list had been coaching for 3 seasons? Neither Stanton nor Sauzee had IIRC. 2016 was memorable but was more than 8 years ago now.

28-06-2024, 07:31 AM
Sauzee?

Let me think, ageing French star for whom Hibs were a mere footnote in a glittering career or the man who scored the goal that won the Scottish Cup after 114 years and who has served us for ten years as captain and coach?

Nah, I'll stick with my feeling on this one :agree::greengrin

28-06-2024, 07:54 AM
Remember McGeady doing an interview about Gray getting the job (think it was last time round) and he basically said that Gray wasn’t happy with standards around the place (a view McGeady shared).

McGeady was pretty scathing of just about everything and everybody except SDG.

From someone as forthright as him I would say that's a pretty solid endorsement.

29-06-2024, 08:53 AM
How many on your list had been coaching for 3 seasons? Neither Stanton nor Sauzee had IIRC. 2016 was memorable but was more than 8 years ago now.Stanton and Blackley had managed before taking on the job at ER.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

01-07-2024, 02:56 PM
Stanton and Blackley had managed before taking on the job at ER.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Where did they manage? Thought Pat came from Aberdeen as assistant under Fergie

01-07-2024, 04:04 PM
Where did they manage? Thought Pat came from Aberdeen as assistant under Fergie

Stanton was at Cowdenbeath and Dunfermline.

Blackley was at Hamilton.

01-07-2024, 04:26 PM
There is probably no other manager who we all want to succeed more than SDG, he will know more than anyone what is needed for that to happen, and he will probably get a bit more leeway than someone with no affiliation to Hibs.

Saying that, he does need a good start in the league cup in games a club our stature should be winning, league wise a steady start will be good, and making us competative each week will be a start.

I dont see him being a cavalier manager, which wont suit some, but for me a winning side or a side that picks up points most weeks is enough for me.

The proof will be in the pudding as usual, and all the talk in the world means nothing when the serious stuff starts.

Good luck SDG, although i have a feeling you are not going to need it.:thumbsup:

01-07-2024, 05:35 PM
There is probably no other manager who we all want to succeed more than SDG, he will know more than anyone what is needed for that to happen, and he will probably get a bit more leeway than someone with no affiliation to Hibs.

Saying that, he does need a good start in the league cup in games a club our stature should be winning, league wise a steady start will be good, and making us competative each week will be a start.

I dont see him being a cavalier manager, which wont suit some, but for me a winning side or a side that picks up points most weeks is enough for me.

The proof will be in the pudding as usual, and all the talk in the world means nothing when the serious stuff starts.

Good luck SDG, although i have a feeling you are not going to need it.:thumbsup:

I liked when he was asked about the start of the season league games being when it all starts and he said the 13th July is when the season starts, league cup campaign, priorities correct right there.

06-07-2024, 08:10 AM
Every time I hear either of them talk I get a little bit more hopeful that better times lie ahead.

Am I deluding myself or are other Hibbies picking up positive signals too?

RMQ1967
06-07-2024, 08:15 AM
Every time I hear either of them talk I get a little bit more hopeful that better times lie ahead.

After recent years shenanigans I don't take anything from the talk - nothing at all. Happy to hear it but it doesn't make me hopeful or otherwise.

Ultimately what happens on the pitch will tell us if the coaching team have any substance, not the good intentions being spoken about off it

McGruber
06-07-2024, 08:24 AM
Enjoyed the interview from Gray in the Hibs Observer this morning, exactly what you'd want to hear.

06-07-2024, 10:49 AM
After recent years shenanigans I don't take anything from the talk - nothing at all. Happy to hear it but it doesn't make me hopeful or otherwise.

Ultimately what happens on the pitch will tell us if the coaching team have any substance, not the good intentions being spoken about off it

Rightly or wrongly i'm the same, i've heard so much pish from countless managers i barely even listen now.

Just put a good side on the park and perhaps i will start to listen more.

06-07-2024, 11:04 AM

I’m definitely liking what I'm hearing from Hibs at the moment, certainly from Gray and Malky. There are no willd promises or claims that we're going to do this or that, but lots of sensible chat, which is what I think we need at the moment.

It's certainly helped calm some of the concerns I had about the direction we were heading and the appointments we had made.

As always, we'll need to wait and see what transpires on the pitch. I always thought SDG would be a good appointment and the things he has said back up the reasons I thought he'd do well, so that helps.

I'm certainly more optimistic about things now than I was a few weeks back.

Hibees1973
06-07-2024, 11:36 AM

Nothing wrong in hoping Flash.

I'm not one for all these videos/interviews with MacKay/Gray or whatever Hibs player is put up for them. I don't hang on the words they say. I haven't watched any of them and would prefer not to. I think they are more aimed at the media to provide them with stuff to either write about or create some podcast. This is for any club, not just Hibs. Fine if they fill some Hibs supporters with optimism.

Even after 10 games into the league season, we will know then if Gray/MacKay/new players have improved things.

All I'm hoping for are better performances, more points and a much better vibe at ER when I go along.

07-07-2024, 12:44 PM
The best thing I've heard from our management team recently is that David is focused on improving the players we already have.

After six decades of watching Hibs, I still have a good laugh at the loons who claim that we need to 'ship out' most of the squad, cos otherwise we are 'accepting mediocrity'.

Where's the analysis of players we signed over the past ten years and how many of them were still in the first team five years later?

How few signings have the hoped for impact and make a noticeable difference to our League and Cup form?

A good Head Coach should always focus on improving players and tactics and leave most of the medium to long term squad building to others to worry about.

07-07-2024, 12:53 PM
I am just amazed that David Gray got the job at all, seeing as we have so many excellent managers in waiting on here.
Time will tell but he is doing the right things in my humble, lets see what we all say around Xmas time.

07-07-2024, 01:03 PM

I feel the same. I feel like we've done a hard reset and stopped trying to be too clever. I'm very encouraged so far.

07-07-2024, 01:36 PM
Gray mic'd up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YodIM774dpM&ab_channel=HibernianFootballClub

We are cooking

07-07-2024, 04:09 PM
Stanton was at Cowdenbeath and Dunfermline.

Blackley was at Hamilton.

Ok cheers