View Full Version : Time to bin the Ultras
21-06-2024, 06:32 PM
Watching the Euros with the spectacular colour and joy the fans from all countries have added to the games, is it time to get rid of this black clad dirge? Bringing your colours to a game is what it’s all about and it’s a breath of fresh air seeing it rather than two sets of supporters dressed in black, banging a drum and singing the same songs.
If we take anything from this competition I hope the younger football fans watching it copy and try to recreate this sort of atmosphere back home. It’s so so much better.
21-06-2024, 06:40 PM
I've said before that Block 7 should be wearing Hibs colours if they want to support Hibs rather than being generic ultras that happen to attend our games.
21-06-2024, 06:41 PM
Maybe once we are selling out Easter Road on a regular basis we can start talking about banning fans because they don’t dress in a manner which you find acceptable.
21-06-2024, 06:45 PM
Maybe once we are selling out Easter Road on a regular basis we can start talking about banning fans because they don’t dress in a manner which you find acceptable.
I never said banning anyone, I said binning the ultras as a ‘thing’. Get the same folk at all clubs wearing team colours. It’s so refreshing to see it in the Euros.
21-06-2024, 06:48 PM
Can we bin the angry men who attend football too.
The folk who turn up drunk and the ones who do coke in the toilets ?
Plus the folk who shout out random crap during the games.
Anyone else ?
Scotland for some reason decides to play loads of games in the colder months and most folk wear darker jackets etc.
As much as it would be ideal to have everyone in green and white (cup finals - semi finals ?!) - it seems it’s the opposite these days and many folk prefer not to wear colours to games - pubs / bars etc often say no football colours too which makes it hard of meeting before or after the game.
21-06-2024, 06:49 PM
Need the whole Hibs support to turn up before one section disappears?
21-06-2024, 06:50 PM
Anyone else ?
Scotland for some reason decides to play loads of games in the colder months and most folk wear darker jackets etc.
As much as it would be ideal to have everyone in green and white (cup finals - semi finals ?!) - it seems it’s the opposite these days and many folk prefer not to wear colours to games - pubs / bars etc often say no football colours too which makes it hard of meeting before or after the game.
You need to change your username to greycastle then. 😁
21-06-2024, 06:55 PM
Can we ban fans that abuse our own players instead?
Tully
21-06-2024, 07:14 PM
The way hibs have been going lately they’ll be no fans there to ban anyway
21-06-2024, 07:42 PM
Can we ban fans that abuse our own players instead?
[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
jamie_1875
21-06-2024, 07:44 PM
Grumpy Gibby the North Stand Hibby.
Am I showing my age?
(In no way suggesting the OP is like this as I agree the colors would be better)
Paul1642
21-06-2024, 07:45 PM
Anyone else ?
We’re not unique in this but club football is such a toxic atmosphere when you compare it to international games. I probably care more about Hibs than Scotland but much more enjoy a good international atmosphere than a Hibs game.
The friendly banter with the opposition rather than the borderline hatred we see at club games probably helps a lot.
Fuzzywuzzy
21-06-2024, 08:16 PM
I went to Sainsbury's earlier and there were two separate groups of youtz top to toe in black
It's a gen z uniform
147lothian
21-06-2024, 09:27 PM
Anyone else ?
If anyone wants to do this and think they will be successful, I suggest they go to Portobello beach and try to push back the waves.
People who want to ban the Ultras seem to forget that for younger fans its part of their match day experience and it adds a bit of atmosphere to the games, for me they can wear what they want and make as much noise as they like, football is the working class equivalent of the Theatre for the middle and upper class, let them have their fun, at least they are attending the games.
21-06-2024, 10:58 PM
Ultras have obviously been about for decades.
Happy to be shot down on this, but I always thought that, on the European mainland, they were violent groups that influenced their club through intimidation.
As for the black clobber, might be my ignorance but first I saw that sort of thing was the Carpathian Brigade at Euro 20/21.
Our lot aren't remotely fascist, but if they have any sense they'll ditch the black nonsense.
And do many other things, but let's start with not looking like Euro fascists.
22-06-2024, 12:17 PM
Surely the point of them dressing the same is to band them together as a distinct group from the rest. Young guys dressing in a style that their elders did not approve of must go back centuries. I would prefer Hibs fans wore mainly green, but I wouldn't police it. I have seen people wear maroon (which I thought was mental), but it's up to them.
Young guys are always going to do stuff that annoys older guys and if you find yourself getting annoyed by young guys, it means you have turned into the old fart that you hated when you were a cool young dude.
linlithgowhibbie
22-06-2024, 12:29 PM
Surely the point of them dressing the same is to band them together as a distinct group from the rest. Young guys dressing in a style that their elders did not approve of must go back centuries. I would prefer Hibs fans wore mainly green, but I wouldn't police it. I have seen people wear maroon (which I thought was mental), but it's up to them.
Young guys are always going to do stuff that annoys older guys and if you find yourself getting annoyed by young guys, it means you have turned into the old fart that you hated when you were a cool young dude.
Also helps to make identification harder if someone does something dodgy!
22-06-2024, 12:59 PM
I never said banning anyone, I said binning the ultras as a ‘thing’. Get the same folk at all clubs wearing team colours. It’s so refreshing to see it in the Euros.
Some of these folk wearing tops will go back to ultra life after the euros are finished.
DIXIHIBS
22-06-2024, 02:38 PM
Ultras have obviously been about for decades.
Happy to be shot down on this, but I always thought that, on the European mainland, they were violent groups that influenced their club through intimidation.
As for the black clobber, might be my ignorance but first I saw that sort of thing was the Carpathian Brigade at Euro 20/21.
Our lot aren't remotely fascist, but if they have any sense they'll ditch the black nonsense.
And do many other things, but let's start with not looking like Euro fascists.
You do realise that 90% of young teens dress like that at school? It's the latest fashion statement for them. Euto fascists...behave.
Hibiza
22-06-2024, 02:47 PM
Time to bin some underperforming Directors.
Mcbizz1998
22-06-2024, 03:22 PM
These wee fuds all turned up to the Ron Gordon charity game today with their block 7 tops on. Cringe.
22-06-2024, 03:52 PM
These wee fuds all turned up to the Ron Gordon charity game today with their block 7 tops on. Cringe.
What did you want them to wear, Umbro?
22-06-2024, 03:56 PM
There are plenty reasons to criticise some members of Block 7.
Turning up en masse once again to support the Community Foundation isn’t one of them.
22-06-2024, 04:55 PM
You do realise that 90% of young teens dress like that at school? It's the latest fashion statement for them. Euto fascists...behave.
As a fashion statement in a football stadium, it's got a bad connotation.
Bridge hibs
22-06-2024, 05:02 PM
Maybe it was our new signings in disguise
I much preferred it when we had a top team wearing Pringle, Burberry, Fila, Stone Island, Fiorucci, Pepe, Benetton, Ralph Lauren, Henri Lloyd, Ben Sherman, Fred Perry, Kappa and Slazenger.
No doubt the old farts in our support railed against these young delinquents for turning their backs on club colours.
Where are those young rebels now you ask? Probably living in bought hooses, pillars of the community and elected as councillors. Blimey I wouldn't put it past one to even be an MBE by now!!
22-06-2024, 06:57 PM
I much preferred it when we had a top team wearing Pringle, Burberry, Fila, Stone Island, Fiorucci, Pepe, Benetton, Ralph Lauren, Henri Lloyd, Ben Sherman, Fred Perry, Kappa and Slazenger.
No doubt the old farts in our support railed against these young delinquents for turning their backs on club colours.
Where are those young rebels now you ask? Probably living in bought hooses, pillars of the community and elected as councillors. Blimey I wouldn't put it past one to even be an MBE by now!!
They probably are the ones moaning about the ultras
Or walking about Germany in kilts Chris? 😉
Can we ban people who want to ban people too
147lothian
23-06-2024, 05:53 AM
Its why I was a punk rocker 40 odd years ago, the boring old farts disapproved just like the boring old farts who disapprove of the ultras now.
jakedance
23-06-2024, 06:56 AM
Every generation finds their culture, and every older generation disapproves of it. As sure as night follows day.
Not a fan of ultras personally. It’s all a bit too rehearsed and poe faced for me. It seems like our culture as a support is being overly influenced by what the singing section can find on YouTube. It just doesn’t seem inclusive or authentic. The tartan army has been great at the euros for the spontaneous joyful and good hearted daftness of them. That’s just me though (another grumpy middle aged man moaning about the youth of today).
23-06-2024, 10:01 AM
Ultra culture will never really catch on here because it just doesn't fit our wider football supporting culture, it's even less likely to catch on when people just try to ape what works elsewhere rather than putting their own spin on it.
I've been fortunate to watch football in a few countries and the fandom is different in each. In Spain there isn't a huge away fan culture. I went to a Betis v Sevilla game and expected to be blown away. Certainly pre match it was loud, a huge tifo and loads of pyro but there was hardly any away fans. There was a cluster of about 200 Sevilla fans stuck away in a top corner so there was none of that back and forth 'banter' that typifies a derby here. After the first 5 minutes the atmosphere was a bit like Hibs V Motherwell here, one group singing songs that hardly anyone else joined in with. Sevilla won and there was none of that taunting and peacocking you get at Tynecastle when we get a result. In Germany I found the fans really unreactive. In a big game here a solid challenge or winning a throw in will be celebrated like a goal, Shankland skies a chance in front of the FF stand and there are thousand of people mockingly cheering. That never seemed to happen at games I was at in Germany. Goals conceded didn't seem to break the rhythmic, rehearsed chanting and goals scored were celebrated then it was back to the rhythmic, rehearsed chanting. Denmark and Sweden seemed similar.
It's not about one being better than the other but I'm not sure you can totally transplant the way another country supports to a totally different football culture that has been ingrained for generations. I think the ultras here such as they are would have far more success and get far more engagement if they took what was good about how we support and tried to enhance it rather than ploughing their own furrow and failing to get anyone beyond their core group of 2 or 3 dozen on board.
23-06-2024, 10:50 AM
The everybody in black thing does my nut as well. Even if it's just a scarf I don't get anybody not going to the game and wearing something in their club's colours.
Mind you ... when you see the Dutch fans where every single one of them wears orange it looks a bit strange :confused:
23-06-2024, 11:04 AM
The everybody in black thing does my nut as well. Even if it's just a scarf I don't get anybody not going to the game and wearing something in their club's colours.
Mind you ... when you see the Dutch fans where every single one of them wears orange it looks a bit strange :confused:
We need more middle and old aged men proudly displaying their beer guts as they squeeze in to the latest replica top. That’s what will get the team fired up. :greengrin
23-06-2024, 11:35 AM
Get the black bin bags on wi the balaclava, real street gear.
Ultra culture will never really catch on here because it just doesn't fit our wider football supporting culture, it's even less likely to catch on when people just try to ape what works elsewhere rather than putting their own spin on it.
I've been fortunate to watch football in a few countries and the fandom is different in each. In Spain there isn't a huge away fan culture. I went to a Betis v Sevilla game and expected to be blown away. Certainly pre match it was loud, a huge tifo and loads of pyro but there was hardly any away fans. There was a cluster of about 200 Sevilla fans stuck away in a top corner so there was none of that back and forth 'banter' that typifies a derby here. After the first 5 minutes the atmosphere was a bit like Hibs V Motherwell here, one group singing songs that hardly anyone else joined in with. Sevilla won and there was none of that taunting and peacocking you get at Tynecastle when we get a result. In Germany I found the fans really unreactive. In a big game here a solid challenge or winning a throw in will be celebrated like a goal, Shankland skies a chance in front of the FF stand and there are thousand of people mockingly cheering. That never seemed to happen at games I was at in Germany. Goals conceded didn't seem to break the rhythmic, rehearsed chanting and goals scored were celebrated then it was back to the rhythmic, rehearsed chanting. Denmark and Sweden seemed similar.
It's not about one being better than the other but I'm not sure you can totally transplant the way another country supports to a totally different football culture that has been ingrained for generations. I think the ultras here such as they are would have far more success and get far more engagement if they took what was good about how we support and tried to enhance it rather than ploughing their own furrow and failing to get anyone beyond their core group of 2 or 3 dozen on board.
That’s really interesting to hear about football culture in other countries.
I watched some youth football matches whilst in Holland a few years ago, a few different matches from u12s up to u21s. What struck my Dad and I was how quiet the players were. They talk to each other quietly, but no shouting at all, no ‘man on’, or ‘keepers’, or anything like that at all. This also extended to the referee, there was no remonstrating, arguing, no cajoling or pleading, just getting on with the game.
malcolm
24-06-2024, 11:29 AM
Teenagers dressing differently from adults started in the 50’s up to then they wore the same as their parents :wink:
24-06-2024, 07:18 PM
I used to get stick in the 80s for dressing in colourful Adidas trainers, stupidly expensive Hugo Boss jeans and Benetton jumpers (I couldn't afford them now!)
I then switched to a black Lyle and Scott hoodie.... yet more disparaging comments from my Dad :greengrin
Funny how things change, yet stay the same
24-06-2024, 07:55 PM
I used to get stick in the 80s for dressing in colourful Adidas trainers, stupidly expensive Hugo Boss jeans and Benetton jumpers (I couldn't afford them now!)
I then switched to a black Lyle and Scott hoodie.... yet more disparaging comments from my Dad :greengrin
Funny how things change, yet stay the same
My Benetton jumper was my pride and joy. Loved that top lol
25-06-2024, 07:26 AM
We need more middle and old aged men proudly displaying their beer guts as they squeeze in to the latest replica top. That’s what will get the team fired up. :greengrin
I can apply for that, I meet the criteria. Where do I sign up.
25-06-2024, 03:38 PM
My Benetton jumper was my pride and joy. Loved that top lol
Are you saying it doesn't fit you anymore?
Alan62
25-06-2024, 05:08 PM
Why do the ‘Ultras’ look like they have just come from the Boys’ Brigade?
Ship of Hope
26-06-2024, 05:52 PM
Whilst the drum can be a bit annoying it has to be said that without the ultras making some noise the stadium would be pretty much lifeless. The new east stand has changed the atmosphere. The old shed was bouncing and the atmosphere fantastic. The majority of fans now only seem to come to life when the team is playing badly and the only atmosphere we seem able to create is a bad one.
I go to the football with my young-ish son now, mostly to spend some time together and have an enjoyable afternoon. The results on the park obviously impact this but the attitude of the fans and the negative attitude created is the real spoiler. We stay to the end every game and applaud the player efforts even when the result has gone South. Booing the team is something I have never done and never will no matter how disappointed I am.
I also want to teach my son some correct values like treating others how you would wish to be treated; supporting the team through thick and thin; even when things are not going how you want to stick with it.
Some will no doubt say I am a happy clapper. I don’t believe I am. I do know how to deal with adversity without resorting to childish behaviour that does nothing to boost the teams morale. It just becomes a downward spiral. It is ironic how much effort and feeling that is put into booing the team, whilst so little effort is put into singing and creating a positive atmosphere.
Again some will no doubt say the team has got to perform for that to happen. I would argue it is a bit yin and yang where the two elements need to feed off each other. We demand so much from the players yet have recently delivered very little in the way of vocal support for them. We really do only sing when we are winning and even then not very loudly. So instead of slating block 7 how about trying to out sing them?
26-06-2024, 07:17 PM
Whilst the drum can be a bit annoying it has to be said that without the ultras making some noise the stadium would be pretty much lifeless. The new east stand has changed the atmosphere. The old shed was bouncing and the atmosphere fantastic. The majority of fans now only seem to come to life when the team is playing badly and the only atmosphere we seem able to create is a bad one. I go to the football with my young-ish son now, mostly to spend some time together and have an enjoyable afternoon. The results on the park obviously impact this but the attitude of the fans and the negative attitude created is the real spoiler. We stay to the end every game and applaud the player efforts even when the result has gone South. Booing the team is something I have never done and never will no matter how disappointed I am. I also want to teach my son some correct values like treating others how you would wish to be treated; supporting the team through thick and thin; even when things are not going how you want to stick with it. Some will no doubt say I am a happy clapper. I don’t believe I am. I do know how to deal with adversity without resorting to childish behaviour that does nothing to boost the teams morale. It just becomes a downward spiral. It is ironic how much effort and feeling that is put into booing the team, whilst so little effort is put into singing and creating a positive atmosphere. Again some will no doubt say the team has got to perform for that to happen. I would argue it is a bit yin and yang where the two elements need to feed off each other. We demand so much from the players yet have recently delivered very little in the way of vocal support for them. We really do only sing when we are winning and even then not very loudly. So instead of slating block 7 how about trying to out sing them?
Nothing personal but this is incredibly difficult to read in one block like that.
26-06-2024, 08:32 PM
Nothing personal but this is incredibly difficult to read in one block like that.
Tl:dr
Ship of Hope
26-06-2024, 08:38 PM
edited but not sure it makes much difference
26-06-2024, 08:42 PM
edited but not sure it makes much difference
Much easier thanks.
27-06-2024, 09:58 AM
What a load of nonsense. What about everyone else who turns up to Easter Road in black, which is probably more than turn up in green especially in the winter
27-06-2024, 10:16 AM
Whilst the drum can be a bit annoying it has to be said that without the ultras making some noise the stadium would be pretty much lifeless. The new east stand has changed the atmosphere. The old shed was bouncing and the atmosphere fantastic. The majority of fans now only seem to come to life when the team is playing badly and the only atmosphere we seem able to create is a bad one.
I go to the football with my young-ish son now, mostly to spend some time together and have an enjoyable afternoon. The results on the park obviously impact this but the attitude of the fans and the negative attitude created is the real spoiler. We stay to the end every game and applaud the player efforts even when the result has gone South. Booing the team is something I have never done and never will no matter how disappointed I am.
I also want to teach my son some correct values like treating others how you would wish to be treated; supporting the team through thick and thin; even when things are not going how you want to stick with it.
Some will no doubt say I am a happy clapper. I don’t believe I am. I do know how to deal with adversity without resorting to childish behaviour that does nothing to boost the teams morale. It just becomes a downward spiral. It is ironic how much effort and feeling that is put into booing the team, whilst so little effort is put into singing and creating a positive atmosphere.
Again some will no doubt say the team has got to perform for that to happen. I would argue it is a bit yin and yang where the two elements need to feed off each other. We demand so much from the players yet have recently delivered very little in the way of vocal support for them. We really do only sing when we are winning and even then not very loudly. So instead of slating block 7 how about trying to out sing them?
Agree with most of the sentiments here. I like an occasional moan about Hibs on here, but never give abuse to individual players (well not in the last 30 years or more). I'm not applauding them when they are mediocre though, that's a clap too happy for me.
You mention the atmosphere in the auld east, and it's true that the place could rock like I've never seen in the rebuilt stadium, but being honest it was pretty grim in the days of crowds of 7000 (or less) v the likes of Motherwell or St Mirren etc.
Block 7 and their culture are part of the modern game. I'm not against them, but they would help themselves if they didn't act like twats to other Hibs fans and if their hangers on didn't besmirch the good name of the club with horrific stickers and chants about the dead at the Ibrox disaster.
They can wear all the black they want and bangs drums until their ears ache, but just show a bit respect to their fellow Hibs fans and cease the brutal nonsense.
Edina Street
29-06-2024, 08:25 PM
Watching the Euros with the spectacular colour and joy the fans from all countries have added to the games, is it time to get rid of this black clad dirge? Bringing your colours to a game is what it’s all about and it’s a breath of fresh air seeing it rather than two sets of supporters dressed in black, banging a drum and singing the same songs.
If we take anything from this competition I hope the younger football fans watching it copy and try to recreate this sort of atmosphere back home. It’s so so much better.
But scientists say that the human brain does not reach maturity and adulthood until approximately 25-years of age on average.
Kids will be kids and boys will be boys. It is not their fault that they are impressionable youngsters with undeveloped brains involving themselves in childish nonsense. We just have to let them make their mistakes and be ready to intervene and deescalate things in their defence when things go Pete Tong for them.
In the meantime we just have to put up with that drum which totally sedates everyone including the players that start playing the game to the same slow boring pace of that bleeding drum.
30-06-2024, 09:43 AM
Hibs are not in a position to dump any group of fans. We need as many fans at games as possible. Yes the B7 guys can be annoying especially at away games but we were all daft laddies or lassies at some point.
30-06-2024, 10:11 AM
Hibs are not in a position to dump any group of fans. We need as many fans at games as possible. Yes the B7 guys can be annoying especially at away games but we were all daft laddies or lassies at some point.
I'm not sure the OP's intention was to stop them attending.
It's maybe just their Ultra's 'culture', as they like to call it, that doesn't appeal to a lot of fans. It's very different to the colourful, party atmosphere the Scotland Fans enjoyed in Germany.
FWIW, I've decided not to take sides... as I'm just a grumpy old man 😉
30-06-2024, 02:12 PM
There have been plenty of good atmospheres since the East was rebuilt so there’s no way it’s down to that. Even with crowds of less than 10,000 sometimes.
The previous iterations of the ‘ultras’ were certainly much keener on existing purely to generate a greater atmosphere at the ground (the “12th man” days in particular) whereas, as has been posted on here a thousand times, the current lot almost take pride in the fact that they don’t join in with any of the chants started by ‘normal’ fans and are only interested in their own posturing and semi-decipherable chants.
01-07-2024, 12:31 PM
Good post agree with every word.
Paul1642
01-07-2024, 01:07 PM
I'm not sure the OP's intention was to stop them attending.
It's maybe just their Ultra's 'culture', as they like to call it, that doesn't appeal to a lot of fans. It's very different to the colourful, party atmosphere the Scotland Fans enjoyed in Germany.
FWIW, I've decided not to take sides... as I'm just a grumpy old man 😉
Nothing to do with age. Young and old were having a great time in Germany and getting in great with the other fans as is mostly the case with the Tartan Army abroad. It’s just so much more enjoyable although hard to replicate at club level, the anger and hatred we see at club level is a bit crap.
01-07-2024, 02:12 PM
Nothing to do with age. Young and old were having a great time in Germany and getting in great with the other fans as is mostly the case with the Tartan Army abroad. It’s just so much more enjoyable although hard to replicate at club level, the anger and hatred we see at club level is a bit crap.
To be fair my experience of European trips away with Hibs has been just that, everybody mixing in and enjoying the party.
01-07-2024, 08:25 PM
The way the police have treated fans in Germany is completely different to the way football fans are treated in this country.
Keepthefaith
01-07-2024, 10:33 PM
Well said. I really hope with SDG in charge there is a lot more encouragement and respect shown too. Where I sit in the middle of the east, it can be deadly quiet, most folk don't even clap!
Here's hoping for good times ahead
stuart-farquhar
01-07-2024, 11:22 PM
Ah yes, Glasgow twin cheek fans on holiday springs to mind. A glorious sight of zero self awareness.
03-07-2024, 09:03 PM
We were on a tram after the Hungary game which was packed with Hungarians . One of them was a complete 🔔 end. He was causing trouble with one of only 6 Scots in the carriage, the Scots guy’s father soon stood up and threatened to scatter the lot of them, he was about 6 feet tall and 5 feet wide, an absolute monster. The Hungarian guy kept on sniping and it was so close to kicking off, a whole load of decent Hungarians made sure it didn’t happen but the journey was really tense
03-07-2024, 09:09 PM
Apparently the Broxburn v Edinburgh City friendly was abandoned at HT tonight because the 'ultras' from each team had a square go in the stand😅😅😅
04-07-2024, 07:49 AM
Apparently the Broxburn v Edinburgh City friendly was abandoned at HT tonight because the 'ultras' from each team had a square go in the stand😅😅😅
04-07-2024, 07:50 AM
Not sure what your point is but the only reference I made to age was my own.
04-07-2024, 07:55 AM
Not exactly Green street is it 😄