View Full Version : Pubs in city centre for Switzerland game
Sioux
17-06-2024, 12:13 PM
Who was in town watching the game on Friday, and what pubs can you recommend for the Swiss game?
17-06-2024, 12:39 PM
Who was in town watching the game on Friday, and what pubs can you recommend for the Swiss game?
Finns Wake is perfect. Bands on. Good pint. Busy. No bother.
Sioux
17-06-2024, 12:42 PM
Finns Wake is perfect. Bands on. Good pint. Busy. No bother.
That had crossed my mind. Need to get in early?
17-06-2024, 12:52 PM
That had crossed my mind. Need to get in early?
We booked a table from 6 for 10 people. Worth doing that if you want a table - if not - people were still coming in up to about kick off. But it was pretty busy by then.
17-06-2024, 01:13 PM
Shandwicks was bouncing pre-match, rather subdued from about 2030 onwards.
17-06-2024, 02:45 PM
All of the cowgate pubs were absolutely heaving.
We were in Bar 50, which was fine except they couldn't get the volume up very high.
Staff were decent, no bother at all.
17-06-2024, 02:48 PM
How can anybody bounce on that sticky flair?
17-06-2024, 04:06 PM
How can anybody bounce on that sticky flair?
Nae point cleaning it now, place is shutting down on 8/7.
17-06-2024, 07:59 PM
Malones at Morrison St was great Vs Germany last Friday, would thoroughly recommend. Even played sunshine on leith to lift spirits!
17-06-2024, 08:27 PM
Are they likely to be open for the game on Wednesday? I’m due to finish work around that way at 8pm and might look in there.
Nae point cleaning it now, place is shutting down on 8/7.
What's replacing it?
17-06-2024, 08:52 PM
What's replacing it?
Nobody seems to know at the moment.
Victor
17-06-2024, 09:01 PM
Nobody seems to know at the moment.
Could be the hub for the Maroon Mile!
hibstag
18-06-2024, 07:00 AM
Pipers rest was good on Friday , Edinburgh TA members use it as a meeting point, Sells beer in steins as well helps get into the mood!
18-06-2024, 07:03 AM
Pipers rest was good on Friday , Edinburgh TA members use it as a meeting point, Sells beer in steins as well helps get into the mood!
Where is that pub?
18-06-2024, 09:28 AM
Where is that pub?
Hunters Square
18-06-2024, 09:43 AM
Hunters Square
18-06-2024, 10:14 AM
It's not great for watching sport IMO. We booked a table there for a game in the previous euros and they stuck us right underneath a television, was literally impossible to see the screen (when booking we mentioned it was to watch the game).
They don't have sky sports or TNT so it's not really setup for watching sport in my experience.
It's also ridiculously expensive. About £6 for a pint of tennents!
18-06-2024, 10:32 AM
It's also ridiculously expensive. About £6 for a pint of tennents!
Is it where The Tron used to be? As you say, certainly not shy with their prices after checking out their website.
18-06-2024, 01:17 PM
Is it where The Tron used to be? As you say, certainly not shy with their prices after checking out their website.
It's just up from the tron. Iirc a pint of Guinness was 7 quid! Absolutely crazy. No wonder locals barely drink in Edinburgh city centre these days.
18-06-2024, 01:28 PM
It's just up from the tron. Iirc a pint of Guinness was 7 quid! Absolutely crazy. No wonder locals barely drink in Edinburgh city centre these days.
Stewart's 80 shilling £7.95 🤭
18-06-2024, 02:25 PM
That's insane. £8 for a bottle of beer!
Fuzzywuzzy
18-06-2024, 02:54 PM
That'll be a pub I'll never set foot in. Those prices are brutal
18-06-2024, 03:10 PM
That's insane. £8 for a bottle of beer!
I think it's a pint, still grim though.
18-06-2024, 03:30 PM
I think it's a pint, still grim though.
It's for a 500ml bottle 🤣
That is genuinely the most I've ever seen a pub charge for a bottle of beer (albeit a bigger bottle, still less than a pint though).
Edinburgh city centre really isn't welcoming to your average Edinburgh punter. Prices are getting ridiculously high that loads of folk simply don't venture into town these days.
I suppose that pub is setup to cater to tourists and if they are making money then fair play to them but it wouldn't be me paying it.
18-06-2024, 03:41 PM
It's for a 500ml bottle 🤣
That is genuinely the most I've ever seen a pub charge for a bottle of beer (albeit a bigger bottle, still less than a pint though).
Edinburgh city centre really isn't welcoming to your average Edinburgh punter. Prices are getting ridiculously high that loads of folk simply don't venture into town these days.
I suppose that pub is setup to cater to tourists and if they are making money then fair play to them but it wouldn't be me paying it.
When I hit the big 5 0 I decided that it was time to knock the George Street type establishments on the head, price being the leading factor. As you say, good luck to them though.
18-06-2024, 04:34 PM
Under Twenty quid in the Malt Shovel (East Preston St) for two pints of Moretti, Pint of Tennent's, large glass of red wine. Great place to watch the fitba.
18-06-2024, 04:40 PM
Does Pipers not have a "regulars" discount card you can ask for? ... if you
Know about it ;-)
18-06-2024, 04:51 PM
Under Twenty quid in the Malt Shovel (East Preston St) for two pints of Moretti, Pint of Tennent's, large glass of red wine. Great place to watch the fitba.
Is the Malt Shovel not on Cockburn street?
18-06-2024, 05:08 PM
Is the tron shut now?
18-06-2024, 05:31 PM
Is the tron shut now?
Still seems to be open according to Google Maps..
18-06-2024, 06:51 PM
Those prices are stupid.
My local (The Argyle just off the Meadows) is £4.50 for a decent pint of cask beer.
TBH, I am pretty sure last time I was in the Guildford Arms a couple months back it wasnt much more than that so its not everywhere up town.
Places charging £7 a pint can GTF imo.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2024, 06:54 PM
Those prices are stupid.
My local (The Argyle just off the Meadows) is £4.50 for a decent pint of cask beer.
TBH, I am pretty sure last time I was in the Guildford Arms a couple months back it wasnt much more than that so its not everywhere up town.
Places charging £7 a pint can GTF imo.
Cracking price for Edinburgh that, before I moved house a few months back I was over £4 for Tennents in a wee village in Lanarkshire. Madness.
hibstag
18-06-2024, 07:11 PM
Does Pipers not have a "regulars" discount card you can ask for? ... if you
Know about it ;-)
Yes I have one Edinburgh TA issued them works in newsroom as welI saved a bit on Friday , enjoyed pipers on Friday as atmosphere was good, as others have said the pub not set up sports watching clientele it’s more of a tourist trap, some good live folky acts, use it around Scotland games usually last stop for eta bus prices are pretty brutal, Edinburgh as a whole suffer from that outside spoons, Friday before at the Scotland game the beechwood at hampden was 4.95 for best were as a pint before leaving in platform 5 was 6 .55
18-06-2024, 09:09 PM
Cracking price for Edinburgh that, before I moved house a few months back I was over £4 for Tennents in a wee village in Lanarkshire. Madness.
Just checked my banking..........I spend too much time in pubs :greengrin
Guildford Arms was £5.50 a pint a couple months ago.
My local, as I mentioned is £4.50.
Was in The Bow Bar for a bit on Friday, £4.60 a pint.
Sandy Bells was £4.95 last month for a pint of Jarl.
All this £6.50 / £7 a pint palaver could add up to a bloody expensive night out.:rolleyes:
19-06-2024, 06:59 AM
Is the Malt Shovel not on Cockburn street?
Aye, I meant Cask and Barrel. Old age sometimes befuddles the senses.
19-06-2024, 02:47 PM
Yes I have one Edinburgh TA issued them works in newsroom as welI saved a bit on Friday , enjoyed pipers on Friday as atmosphere was good, as others have said the pub not set up sports watching clientele it’s more of a tourist trap, some good live folky acts, use it around Scotland games usually last stop for eta bus prices are pretty brutal, Edinburgh as a whole suffer from that outside spoons, Friday before at the Scotland game the beechwood at hampden was 4.95 for best were as a pint before leaving in platform 5 was 6 .55
Are you one of those AI thingies?
hibstag
19-06-2024, 03:54 PM
Are you one of those AI thingies?
No dyslexic took me ages to type this, thanks for the feedback, you should take thumpers mums advice…
19-06-2024, 04:19 PM
No dyslexic took me ages to type this, thanks for the feedback, you should take thumpers mums advice…
Apologies bud. Was meant to be a light hearted comment.