View Full Version : NHC Scotland v Switzerland - the pre-match build-up
16-06-2024, 07:14 AM
Focus is now on the Switzerland game on Wednesday night!
Our record against Switzerland is much better than against Germany. We've 8 wins, 3 draws and 5 defeats. We won our last competitive game against them, thanks to Super Ally's goal in Euro 1996. Apart from that game, I can't recall many games against them. What are your memories of Scotland v Switzerland?
They'll go into the match in a good mood following yesterday's 3-1 win against Hungary, whereas we had an exceptionally poor result against the Germans. We need to perform much better, if we want to get anything out of this game.
16-06-2024, 07:20 AM
Wednesday night is soon, but right now, it seems a long way away!
We really need to be at it. Having watched the game yesterday I reckon both they team can be got at. Hungary look poor at the back.
Hopefully Gilmour starts, no idea why he was dropped when he’s played all through the qualifiers.
Attitude needs to be MILES better. At the very least you expect fight from Scotland. Lets see it.
16-06-2024, 07:28 AM
We have to get Gilmour in the team. He is the one player who is really comfortable taking the ball under pressure at this level and using it smartly.
I thought Switzerland were good yesterday but a fair few levels below Germany. The German team were just constantly bouncing triangle passes and cut through us at will, the Swiss yesterday were much less fluent, particularly in the 2nd half.
We need to be far more aggressive. I know you can't just press high against a team of Germany's quality but we were so passive on Friday night. With the pressure we invited on to ourselves a humping was an inevitablity.
I'm not sure Wednesday is a must win but it is most certainly a must not lose and we need to play with the right intensity from the off.
JammyDoidger
16-06-2024, 07:28 AM
Lose this and its curtains, get at them none of this sitting back carry on, Christie out Gilmour in. Defence is a concern but if we keep the ball better it will help take the pressure of them massively.
16-06-2024, 08:07 AM
Basically need to win this match or it’s auf wiedershen Schottland
16-06-2024, 08:18 AM
It’s must not lose rather than must win. We need 4 points from the two games, doesn’t matter what order they come in.
16-06-2024, 08:19 AM
A draw would keep us in it. Draw Wednesday and beat Hungary and we would still go through.
16-06-2024, 08:25 AM
Lose this and its curtains, get at them none of this sitting back carry on, Christie out Gilmour in. Defence is a concern but if we keep the ball better it will help take the pressure of them massively.
I would drop McGregor rather than Christie.
16-06-2024, 08:29 AM
Their main striker, who scored the first goal yesterday is a 27 year old who plays in the Bulgarian league. Before yesterday he'd played a whopping 45 minutes of international. Questions were raised that he was in the squad yet alone starting the game. Tournament football needs a goal scorer and we simply don't have one.
16-06-2024, 08:37 AM
Their main striker, who scored the first goal yesterday is a 27 year old who plays in the Bulgarian league. Before yesterday he'd played a whopping 45 minutes of international. Questions were raised that he was in the squad yet alone starting the game. Tournament football needs a goal scorer and we simply don't have one.
We’ve got someone who just scored 30 odd goals and I don’t think the Bulgarian league is vastly superior to ours. Also, Adams got a pretty reasonable 16 in the Championship which, again, is probably a better standard than the Bulgarian league.
We don’t have anyone who is top class up front, but it wouldn’t matter who we had if we set up in the same way as we set up on Friday where we just completely gave up the ball and left Adams standing on his own for 45 minutes.
16-06-2024, 09:11 AM
Our record against Switzerland is much better than against Germany. We've 8 wins, 3 draws and 5 defeats. We won our last competitive game against them, thanks to Super Ally's goal in Euro 1996. Apart from that game, I can't recall many games against them. What are your memories of Scotland v Switzerland?
They'll go into the match in a good mood following yesterday's 3-1 win against Hungary, whereas we had an exceptionally poor result against the Germans. We need to perform much better, if we want to get anything out of this game.
I remember being in the Wankdorf (ooh er Mrs) Stadium in Berne in the early nineties, 2-0 down at halftime wondering what the hell I was doing there, got it back to 2-2 in the 2nd half before Switzerland scored in injury time which was fortunately disallowed for offside. Stayed in Offenburg (German version of Musselburgh) just over the border.
EGL2000
16-06-2024, 10:06 AM
Need to be much more up for it and get in their faces from the off. They are obviously going to have spells of dominance as they are an experienced tournament side. However, we need to create much more than we did against Germany and be confident on the ball. You could argue we have a stronger midfield most of their talent is at the back and Goalkeeper.
16-06-2024, 10:22 AM
Think we'll get a point on Wednesday and win next Sunday.
Mcbizz1998
16-06-2024, 11:08 AM
Why was the Germany thread closed? Do the admins get to decide what we talk about on here now?
Anyway, struggle to see how we recover from Friday to be completely honest. We need a draw from this at least but it’s going to take a massive turnaround. Fingers crossed, I’m desperate to be wrong!
16-06-2024, 11:30 AM
Steve Clarke presser coming up around 12:30 on sky sports, apparently
He's wanting to address the media early to ensure focus on Swiss
There's been a wee bit of focus on England so far today though, but hopefully they can show it live
16-06-2024, 11:37 AM
Why was the Germany thread closed? Do the admins get to decide what we talk about on here now?
Anyway, struggle to see how we recover from Friday to be completely honest. We need a draw from this at least but it’s going to take a massive turnaround. Fingers crossed, I’m desperate to be wrong!
The OP did it, but I agree should be an admin call
16-06-2024, 11:43 AM
Clarke doing his best to protect the players
16-06-2024, 11:43 AM
Nothing to do with the Admin team, we didn’t touch it.
Down to the thread starter who is perfectly entitled to close it if they want.
16-06-2024, 11:44 AM
The game's done mate. Let's move on to the Switzerland game. Which I'm guessing is what the OP has done
16-06-2024, 11:46 AM
Clarke doing his best to protect the players
The reporter asking him who he’ll be supporting tonight was shocking.
16-06-2024, 11:51 AM
The reporter asking him who he’ll be supporting tonight was shocking.
Fantastic response. And not the headline one I suspect they wanted
16-06-2024, 12:49 PM
Not seen it, did he say Denmark?
Think we'll get a point on Wednesday and win next Sunday.
I admire your optimism following Friday's display.
16-06-2024, 12:54 PM
What did he say?
16-06-2024, 01:18 PM
What did he say?
Asked the reporter who England were playing. Then replied he'd be supporting Gareth and the team
Arturo Duncano
17-06-2024, 03:21 PM
UV
17-06-2024, 03:43 PM
Porteous banned for the next 2 games.
ardecos
17-06-2024, 03:56 PM
I remember being in the Wankdorf (ooh er Mrs) Stadium in Berne in the early nineties, 2-0 down at halftime wondering what the hell I was doing there, got it back to 2-2 in the 2nd half before Switzerland scored in injury time which was fortunately disallowed for offside. Stayed in Offenburg (German version of Musselburgh) just over the border.
Wait until you see the name of the mountain beside Scotland's base in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.
17-06-2024, 04:04 PM
Wait until you see the name of the mountain beside Scotland's base in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.
Aye, there was a 2 page story about it in The Sun pre tournament.
17-06-2024, 04:07 PM
Porteous banned for the next 2 games.
As expected - could easily have been more.
Gets selected for the Euros and given a start then sent off after 44 mins and misses next 2 games.
Absolute shocker !
17-06-2024, 10:45 PM
I think the Swiss will have us in their back pocket and Hungary will come out on top in a close match. I really can’t see us recovering from the battering from Germany. If I’m wrong, I’ll be delighted to take the flack. :tin hat:
18-06-2024, 12:35 AM
Aye, there was a 2 page story about it in The Sun pre tournament.
The name of the local restaurant is brilliant
Been in Cologne since Sunday - started to ramp up with Scots from last night .. every second person almost.. tremendous fun
18-06-2024, 06:23 AM
As expected - could easily have been more.
Gets selected for the Euros and given a star then sent off after 44 mins and misses next 2 games.
Absolute shocker !
And unlikely to start the last-16 game, if we qualify.
18-06-2024, 06:37 AM
We have to get Gilmour in the team. He is the one player who is really comfortable taking the ball under pressure at this level and using it smartly.
I thought Switzerland were good yesterday but a fair few levels below Germany. The German team were just constantly bouncing triangle passes and cut through us at will, the Swiss yesterday were much less fluent, particularly in the 2nd half.
We need to be far more aggressive. I know you can't just press high against a team of Germany's quality but we were so passive on Friday night. With the pressure we invited on to ourselves a humping was an inevitablity.
I'm not sure Wednesday is a must win but it is most certainly a must not lose and we need to play with the right intensity from the off.
Couldn't agree more was ridiculous Gilmour never played against Germany
18-06-2024, 07:06 AM
I’m no so sure, I think McGregor is a better player than Gilmour, and far more experienced.
It wasn’t the fact that we missed a player who was always available for the ball that was the issue against Germany, it was that all of McGregor, McTominay and McGinn had terrible games.
McGregor is usually as reliable as anyone for being able to get on the ball.
supermcginn
18-06-2024, 07:25 AM
Yip a huge mistake, there's a reason McGregor is playing against the likes of Ross County and Motherwell and Gilmour against the likes Of Man City and Liverpool. If Gilmour played in Scotland he would be the best player in the league by a mile.
18-06-2024, 07:50 AM
Gilmour doesn't or wouldn't have replaced McGregor. It'll be Christie that he replaces.
Problem wasn't even the 4 midfielders that played, it was the tactics that were all wrong. Midfield was way to narrow for starters.
18-06-2024, 08:00 AM
Gilmour doesn't or wouldn't have replaced McGregor. It'll be Christie that he replaces.
Problem wasn't even the 4 midfielders that played, it was the tactics that were all wrong. Midfield was way to narrow for starters.
Steve Clarke has got off pretty lightly once again. His tactics were non existent. Was like a rabbit in the headlights on Friday night.
18-06-2024, 08:23 AM
I’m no so sure, I think McGregor is a better player than Gilmour, and far more experienced.
It wasn’t the fact that we missed a player who was always available for the ball that was the issue against Germany, it was that all of McGregor, McTominay and McGinn had terrible games.
Gilmour is one of the only players we have that can receive the ball anywhere on the pitch and give us some time on the ball (other than McGinn and his arse). It was painful to watch us chase an entire game.
18-06-2024, 09:07 AM
We beat Spain and Norway with the same midfield 4 that played on Friday. I'd have played Gilmour over Christie personally but there's clear evidence that midfield has worked against top nations and players
As a poster said above its not necessarily the players but the instructions and what they were being asked to do. Something Clarke himself has acknowledged
18-06-2024, 09:23 AM
Need gilmour in. I'd consider putting Christie up front and having a midfield 4 of gilmour, mcgregor, mcctominay and mcginn.
Need Germany to batter Hungary when they play.
That makes sure Switzerland know a draw is enough and Hungary have nothing to play for on day 3.
18-06-2024, 09:24 AM
Need gilmour in. I'd consider putting Christie up front and having a midfield 4 of gilmour, mcgregor, mcctominay and mcginn.
Need Germany to batter Hungary when they play.
That makes sure Switzerland know a draw is enough and Hungary have nothing to play for on day 3.
Very good point
And ties in with me having Havertz top scorer and Germany to win the tournament
18-06-2024, 09:48 AM
Would play both
18-06-2024, 09:54 AM
The Germans gave us no space to play on the left and Ralston/Porto/McTominay on the right were woefully out of their depth, hence we barely got out at all. Unless the Swiss coach was blindfolded last Friday I think we're going to end up in the same mess tomorrow night, sadly.
18-06-2024, 09:59 AM
Remember Charlie Nicholas coming on at Hampden and scoring a ridiculous goal straight away. Might have been his first cap? He was some player when he broke through at Celtic. You wonder how good he could've been if he'd gone to Liverpool instead of Arsenal.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emzbMy5Mrwo The Dalglish/Wark combo for our first goal isnae bad either.
18-06-2024, 09:59 AM
Would play both
I'm surprised this has evolved into an either / or conversation in many places - looks to me like we need both.
McGregor is an excellent player, as is Gilmour, as are McGinn and McTominay.
The problem we have is that we have plenty of good players in the centre of midfield and at left back and an absolute dearth of talent in certain other positions - which means Clarke is often forced into weird and wacky approaches to games that attempts to shoehorn all the good players in.
It's obviously a bit eyebrow raising that Gilmour was left out but I don't know how we get a cohesive team without leaving up to 3 (!!!) good players out?
18-06-2024, 10:24 AM
I'm surprised this has evolved into an either / or conversation in many places - looks to me like we need both.
The problem we have is that we have plenty of good players in the centre of midfield and at left back and an absolute dearth of talent in certain other positions - which means Clarke is often forced into weird and wacky approaches to games that attempts to shoehorn all the good players in.
It's obviously a bit eyebrow raising that Gilmour was left out but I don't know how we get a cohesive team without leaving up to 3 (!!!) good players out?
Scotland have 10 quality outfield players. They all play left back, centre mid or are injured unfortunately.
We've not got a great centre forward. We've not even got our workhorse.
We've got championship players at the heart of defence.
A 3rd/ 4th choice right back who got roasted against Germany.
We're in trouble.
18-06-2024, 10:57 AM
The Swiss looked pretty decent against Hungary, we will do well to get a draw out of this. But if we do then it's in our own hands and we will know we have to beat Hungary. In fact it's probably better to draw this one rather than going into the Hungarian game with a not knowing whether to stick or twist situation on our hands.
Somebody ... possibly the manager .... needs to remind these guys that they all play at a decent level, at least as good as most of the Swiss or Hungarian players, and to try and play like they are aware of it.
18-06-2024, 11:27 AM
The name of the local restaurant is brilliant
Well, are you going to let us into the secret?:greengrin
18-06-2024, 11:38 AM
Probably wouldn’t get past the bad language filter.
Think “solo pleasure house” for the restaurant and “mount solo pleasure” for the hill
Opposition manager talking to players about tactics against Scotland....
"They have one strong area. Midfield. Most of their goal threat will come from that area. So you need to stick to the following tactics.
Look out for these two Premier League players, McTominay and McGinn. If they get the ball, pounce on them in a pack
Play the ball well away from them, either over the top or to the wings
Go long or put the ball into the box. Maximise your goal-scoring opportunities
They only have one striker. Double up on him
On Friday we watched Germany fight hard to keep control of the ball. If they lost it, they hunted it down aggressively. By constantly bypassing McGinn and McTominay we couldn't get in the game.
We had so little threat, they barely had to mark anyone. If the Swiss and Hungarians are smart, they will copy the Germans.
I pray that Steve has thought of counter-measures
18-06-2024, 01:27 PM
The Swiss looked pretty decent against Hungary, we will do well to get a draw out of this. But if we do then it's in our own hands and we will know we have to beat Hungary. In fact it's probably better to draw this one rather than going into the Hungarian game with a not knowing whether to stick or twist situation on our hands.
Somebody ... possibly the manager .... needs to remind these guys that they all play at a decent level, at least as good as most of the Swiss or Hungarian players, and to try and play like they are aware of it.
Definitely better with the safety net of a draw being enough rather than having to win!
Hardly a drop of rain in ‘tornado hit cologne’
Get the fan zone back open
18-06-2024, 03:29 PM
I think we should have played without Adams -he was never going to get a sniff. Gilmour could have been added to the midfield and we could have tried to clog up the middle of the park and have more legs to harass them. Even if it only kept the score down it would have been worthwhile.
18-06-2024, 06:58 PM
Scotland have 10 quality outfield players. They all play left back, centre mid or are injured unfortunately.
We've not got a great centre forward. We've not even got our workhorse.
We've got championship players at the heart of defence.
A 3rd/ 4th choice right back who got roasted against Germany.
We're in trouble.
We are unlikely to get out of this group, especially not if Shankland starts.
Would rather the young lad up front starting with Adams and we play a 532 and have a go and give them something to think about.
Against Germany it was so low energy, negative and pedestrian and we didn't seem to have a plan to even try to hurt them.
AugustaHibs
18-06-2024, 08:19 PM
Steve Clarke is miserable to listen to. Not instilling much hope in me anyway in that interview at half time in the Portugal match
19-06-2024, 07:41 AM
I'm aware I'm a pessimist (comes with following this national side and seeing minimal successes in my lifetime), but I have a horrible feeling we're going to get horsed tonight.
I don't see goals in our team. I see frailties down our right side - Aebischer vs Ralston...bloody hell.
There are certain players Clarke simply will not drop, and we're extremely limited in other positions...
4-0 Switzerland :rolleyes:
19-06-2024, 07:59 AM
I'm aware I'm a pessimist (comes with following this national side and seeing minimal successes in my lifetime), but I have a horrible feeling we're going to get horsed tonight.
I don't see goals in our team. I see frailties down our right side - Aebischer vs Ralston...bloody hell.
There are certain players Clarke simply will not drop, and we're extremely limited in other positions...
4-0 Switzerland :rolleyes:
If we get beat 4-0 I would expect Clarke to tender his resignation.
We are the only team to have rolled over and had our tummys tickled. I understand if you get beat, but there are ways to get beat and shipping 9 goals (as in this hypothetical situation) in two games is not the way to get beat.
We need a big performance tonight. There are absolutely no excuses for us to get horsed. We are a far superior side than we have shown.
Whether that is enough to get a positive result or not, who knows.
19-06-2024, 07:59 AM
Think we’ll get something tonight. Can’t see us losing.
19-06-2024, 08:13 AM
I don't think McGregor and Gilmour is an either or. Get them both in the team and let them play a bit.
Either drop out Christie and push McTominay up (and the former is a more than decent impact sub) or make the bold choice, one that would attract all kinds of criticism if we lost, and play Christie as a false 9 similar to what Man Utd had Fernandes do in the FA Cup final.
19-06-2024, 08:29 AM
Gunn
McCrorie
Hendry
Tierney
Robertson
McGregor
Gilmour
McTominay
Christie
Mcginn
Conway.
That's my team. Conway is bigger than the other strikers and could hopefully hold the ball up.
19-06-2024, 09:15 AM
I hope we drop McGregor. Badly at fault for first 2 goals on Friday and Gilmour can do that job better. Christie is more dynamic and can get around the park and bring a goal threat.
If we do want a base with both McGregor and Gilmour then I'd be tempted to put Christie or McTominay at RWB just to accomodate our best players into the team.
We need to keep Adams up front IMO, his pace is required.
19-06-2024, 11:47 AM
Seen nothing from last few games to give me confidence in Scotland winning tonight sadly but my heart is hoping for a win
Musselbound
19-06-2024, 12:03 PM
Seen nothing from last few games to give me confidence in Scotland winning tonight sadly but my heart is hoping for a win
Same. I'd be very happy with a draw to still be in it for the last game.
K-Zazu
19-06-2024, 02:41 PM
Heart says 2-1 Scotland. Brain says 3-0 Swiss
19-06-2024, 02:43 PM
It’ll be a 1-1 draw.
19-06-2024, 03:22 PM
Heart says 2-1 Scotland. Brain says 3-0 Swiss
:agree: I can’t see my heart overriding my head.
19-06-2024, 05:01 PM
When’s the team announced?
19-06-2024, 05:10 PM
When’s the team announced?
7 ish
19-06-2024, 05:11 PM
There was a rumour doing the rounds earlier that we'd made 2 changes
Forest for Ralston
Gilmour for Christie
We'll see in the next 45 mins
Off the bar
19-06-2024, 05:15 PM
Forest for Ralston
Gilmour for Christie
Plus whoever comes in for Porteous
Sioux
19-06-2024, 05:15 PM
Forest for Ralston
Gilmour for Christie
That's not possible. RP is a change, so that would make 3. Rumours aint worth a F.
19-06-2024, 05:16 PM
https://www.google.com/maps/place/****/@47.5067468,11.1217254,14z/data=!4m6!3m5!1s0x479d07a20dc4203b:0x1b8c3deb7c210 341!8m2!3d47.5072222!4d11.1436111!16zL20vMGY0Nmg?e ntry=ttu
19-06-2024, 05:17 PM
Plus whoever comes in for Porteous
Apologies, yes in my head I was thinking non enforced
Probably Hanley
19-06-2024, 05:22 PM
I know football doesn't really work like this, but Hungary are pressing Germany here and making inroads (even if they haven't scored). Something we absolutely didn't manage.
I can see us going 0-3 in this group and not scoring a goal of our own making.
Let it be noted that I WANT people to quote this back at me, ridiculing me, when we're waiting on the lineup to our semi-final fixture :greengrin
19-06-2024, 05:28 PM
I know football doesn't really work like this, but Hungary are pressing Germany here and making inroads (even if they haven't scored). Something we absolutely didn't manage.
Let it be noted that I WANT people to quote this back at me, ridiculing me, when we're waiting on the lineup to our semi-final fixture :greengrin
The athleticism and ability to string two passes together displayed by all the other teams has put me in a right downward spiral as to how out of our depth we are here.
These two games at Hampden you'd typically be giving us every chance of going unbeaten. Feels miles off that at the moment - come on, prove me wrong :pray:
19-06-2024, 05:30 PM
Not alone my dad said before it started that a scotland forward wouldn't score
19-06-2024, 05:57 PM
Exactly the team I would have picked so if we get beat tonight it's because of bad luck rather than bad decision making😅
19-06-2024, 06:02 PM
looks braw with fans marching behind the pipers/drummer/s
19-06-2024, 06:08 PM
By now, I have viewed a considerable number of games and it's got to be said that imo Scotland are the weakest team in the competition - so come on Scotland prove me wrong tonight. !!!
Ralston and Hanley in the same defence is giving me the fear.
19-06-2024, 06:09 PM
Ralston and Hanley in the same defence is giving me the fear.
Hanley for Numpty and Gilmour for Christie.
Rather we had gone for 2 up front and got onto the front foot tonight.
19-06-2024, 06:09 PM
Less goal threat tonight than we had in the first game!
19-06-2024, 06:11 PM
Same set up as Friday.
Hopeless.
19-06-2024, 06:13 PM
I actually quite liked the team Kris Boyd had suggested earlier today (sent to me by a mate) - who had James Forrest at RWB.
There are aspects of this which make sense but it's all about the implementation - which was diabolical on Friday.
This isn't just about names and formations - there is just so much we need to do so much better.
Can't say I see this ending well but I've been wrong many times before - hopefully this is one of those times.
K-Zazu
19-06-2024, 06:19 PM
McGregor undroppable
pollution
19-06-2024, 06:25 PM
Disappointing line up
19-06-2024, 06:26 PM
McGregor undroppable
He is such an average player, just like a lot of our team and should be dropped as doesn't offer much at this level.
19-06-2024, 06:46 PM
He is such an average player, just like a lot of our team and should be dropped as doesn't offer much at this level.
And be replaced by an even more average player?
19-06-2024, 06:49 PM
He’s an excellent player and absolutely the least of our worries, even if he struggled the other night.
19-06-2024, 06:52 PM
Strap yerselves in this could get messy :saltireflag
cubehindthegoal
19-06-2024, 06:54 PM
Strap yerselves in this could get messy :saltireflag
Nothing new there … we need resilience to be Hibs and Scotland fans !
Come on Scotland, give us something to cheer !! 🏴
pollution
19-06-2024, 06:54 PM
Every cliché possible in the studio
19-06-2024, 06:55 PM
And be replaced by an even more average player?
Gilmour should be replacing him, pushing McGinn and McTominay further forward, behind Adams and Conway.
19-06-2024, 06:55 PM
He’s an excellent player and absolutely the least of our worries, even if he struggled the other night.
He is an excellent player in the SPL, not in out top 3 midfielders
Hendry is the one that puzzles me, played for a time in Belgium then disappeared in Saudi Arabia the invisible man.
19-06-2024, 06:59 PM
Hendry is the one that puzzles me, played for a time in Belgium then disappeared in Saudi Arabia the invisible man.
More worried about Hanley...
19-06-2024, 06:59 PM
Here we go again. What could possibly go wrong this time. :greengrin
19-06-2024, 07:00 PM
Please Scotland
19-06-2024, 07:03 PM
mon Mctominay lift the baw man
19-06-2024, 07:10 PM
Far more aggressive
19-06-2024, 07:10 PM
As usual the foreign nationals not singing their anthem 🤔
pollution
19-06-2024, 07:11 PM
The only name in ours is an English king...
19-06-2024, 07:12 PM
Hendry ffs
19-06-2024, 07:13 PM
get in :thumbsup:
Great goal on the break
Oh yes!!! McTominay!!
What a good goal, I love that boy.
pollution
Yahoo
19-06-2024, 07:14 PM
Gotta love an own goal lol
More worried about Hanley...
Yeah him to
Hibs4185
Nae Kamberi for the Swiss? Surprising
If the keeper has given a shout there then the defender needs an earful, if he's not then he does.
I'll take it though.
19-06-2024, 07:15 PM
Schär now Scotland's top scorer together with Rüdiger.
19-06-2024, 07:15 PM
we want two
we want two
OMG.
Seen more in first 15 than we did on Friday
19-06-2024, 07:16 PM
What a good goal, I love that boy.
Some folks won't like him as he isn't proper Scottish remember 😳
19-06-2024, 07:16 PM
Clarke deserves credit here. Set us up really well to be aggressive when pressing but not totally exposed.
19-06-2024, 07:19 PM
sair one for hanley landing
Some folks won't like him as he isn't proper Scottish remember
He can't do any wrong in my opinion.
A bit worried about the number of corners we're giving away.
19-06-2024, 07:22 PM
swiss corner count mounting
19-06-2024, 07:23 PM
aw man we're Brazil
19-06-2024, 07:24 PM
Why cant we not just go 3 up and stop it being so nervous? :greengrin
19-06-2024, 07:26 PM
RALSTON useless
Ralston :rolleyes: 1-1
he#s freakin awful
****ing Ralston man. Braindead football.
What a finish
Some strike
**** off ralston
Ralston my word that is horrendous. Hook him off now
Ralston WTF. Surely we can do better than him at right back
pollution
aw man we're Brazil
No we're not !
Shocking from Ralston. Terrible ball from Hanley into Gilmour too
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
19-06-2024, 07:27 PM
Ouch.
38 passes in 25 minutes is embarrassing.
What a defence splitting pass that was.
No we're not !
we were for 10 passes :)
Dreadful defending as per usual
19-06-2024, 07:28 PM
we appear to have taken our foot of the pedal for some reason :rolleyes:
Ralston eh
He’s not even Scottish premiership level
Awful from Hanley and Ralston. Our passing has been dreadful again barring one wee dangerous move in our own box.
19-06-2024, 07:29 PM
We need real composure now and keep it cool and let the game settle down.
19-06-2024, 07:30 PM
I’d hook Ralston now. The Swiss are going to rip him a new one for the rest of the game
19-06-2024, 07:31 PM
McGinn completely marginalised again.
Awful from Hanley and Ralston. Our passing has been dreadful again barring one wee dangerous move in our own box.
Ralston should be nowhere near a Scotland team, he's back up at Celtic and if it wasn't because of his club side he'd not even be considered.
Swiss happy to deploy the long ball while Scotland square ball passing in mid field
19-06-2024, 07:32 PM
great save gunn
Good save keeper
If Ralston wasn’t playing for Celtc, he wouldn’t be playing for Scotland
19-06-2024, 07:33 PM
Get Ralston off now and stick Forrest on.
oh wow what a break there
We’re seriously bad at the back like
Got away with that big time
Scotland need to get their act together, this is falling to bits quickly.
Good save but it was Tierney and Hendry who were challenging, where the **** was Ralston?
19-06-2024, 07:34 PM
Very lucky
19-06-2024, 07:34 PM
McGinn completely marginalised again.
He has hardly touched the ball.
We are getting nothing from this game. 2nd best all over the park, hardly any possession and another huge let off there (WTF was Gunn doing there)
TrinityHFC
19-06-2024, 07:35 PM
We are getting nothing from this game. 2nd best all over the park, hardly any possession and another huge let off there (WTF was Gunn doing there)
Yeah. Heads have gone I think. This could get messy from here.
Good summing up 👍
19-06-2024, 07:36 PM
Ralston is pish.
Cadden would have been a better option by a country mile.
19-06-2024, 07:37 PM
I'd have started forrest, at least he's going to take people on and go for it
19-06-2024, 07:39 PM
Nothing daft before half time now.
Moment of madness on Friday killed the game (I mean it was already dead but really killed it). Just get in at 1-1 and regroup.
SJM needs to get into the game a bit more
This system gives us very little possession, we have no natural wide players, Robertson flatters again and Ralston is pish. Go 4231 and get Forrest and Christie on out wide.
19-06-2024, 07:41 PM
Good effort
19-06-2024, 07:41 PM
I don't think Clarke is the man to make us a better team at international level. He has done OK and taken us to a level where we can compete, and sometimes qualify, but we won't go any further with him in charge
19-06-2024, 07:42 PM
This system gives us very little possession, we have no natural wide players, Robertson flatters again and Ralston is pish. Go 4231 and get Forrest and Christie on out wide.
Clarke isn't going to go for it for as long as we are level. 1-1 keeps us well alive after the Croatia v Albania result earlier.
19-06-2024, 07:42 PM
Gunn has had his hands warmed a few times too many
hfcok
19-06-2024, 07:43 PM
Must be someone better than Ralston to play in that position
Need HT quick. Re-set and go again.
19-06-2024, 07:44 PM
Judith Ralston would be better.
19-06-2024, 07:44 PM
I don't think Clarke is the man to make us a better team at international level. He has done OK and taken us to a level where we can compete, and sometimes qualify, but we won't go any further with him in charge
We won't go much further with anyone else in charge. We don't have good enough players, no manager is going to change that.
Clark has got us to two international tournaments and as it stands still in with a chance of qualifying here. Overall, he's done a fantastic job as Scotland manager.
Clarke isn't going to go for it for as long as we are level. 1-1 keeps us well alive after the Croatia v Albania result earlier.
Not so much going for it, I think it suits the players better.
19-06-2024, 07:45 PM
Every ball that Ralston plays is back the way
A bit more positive in the last 10 mins but I'll be amazed if our defence does not have one more brain fart in them.
StockholmHibs
Sorry. We are totally humpty. Second best all over. Cumbersome slow and ineffective.
Have we had a shot on goal yet?
19-06-2024, 07:46 PM
Every ball that Ralston plays is back the way
Tbf to him he has got his head together well after the mistake.
Would be easy for him just to panic and hoof it long but he is still willing to make a pass even if it isn't particularly adventurous.
19-06-2024, 07:46 PM
We should get mcginn and McGregor on
Sorry. We are totally humpty. Second best all over. Cumbersome slow and ineffective.
It's 1-1 so what do you think?
GreenPJ
19-06-2024, 07:47 PM
What does Che Adams give us, McGinn is non existent, Ralston is shocking, Hanley is so nervous and slow and Gunn is poor. Clarke it's up to you to see this and change shape and personnel.
19-06-2024, 07:47 PM
No. You imagined our goal.
19-06-2024, 07:48 PM
Chance to go forward with the throw 30 seconds before half time and we end up back in our own half
Hibees1973
Gilmour has made a difference and had to start.
The price to pay for this is that McGinn is too far up the park to impact the game.
Alan Sneddon now would be better.:rolleyes:
fs hanley that's humpty man
What does Che Adams give us, McGinn is non existent, Ralston is shocking, Hanley is so nervous and slow and Gunn is poor. Clarke it's up to you to see this and change shape and personnel.
Gunn has played well tonight.
2 huge saves that have kept us in the game.
hfcok
19-06-2024, 07:49 PM
Ralston!!!!Cadden is miles better, am I biased??
McGinn is absolutely wasted in this formation. O
One of our best players but we are getting nothing out of him.
SJM needs to get into the game a bit more
Understatement of the night.
Nah i'm no having that Gunn has been decent tonight
19-06-2024, 07:50 PM
I think its been a poor performance, and ill happily take the point. Not sure where the enthusiasm is coming from.
19-06-2024, 07:50 PM
McGinn played out of position two games in a row.
Criminal.
19-06-2024, 07:51 PM
I think its been a poor performance, and ill happily take the point. Not sure where the enthusiasm is coming from.
It's called supporting your team I suppose.
Yes. Scotland's goal came from a shot on goal.
I think its been a poor performance, and ill happily take the point. Not sure where the enthusiasm is coming from.I think it's been poor too. We look a bag of nerves anytime a defender has the ball at their feet or facing their own goal
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
TrinityHFC
It's 1-1 so what do you think?
It was an own goal so it doesn’t necessarily follow that there was a shot on target. Though it was.
McGinn has been rank rotten again.
Hibees1973
I find it puzzling why McTominay is taking corners.
Surely with his height he should be in the box.
19-06-2024, 07:52 PM
McGinn played out of position two games in a row.
Criminal.
Is this always going to be the excuse for Mcginn just playing crap?
Adams has been excellent.
Mcbizz1998
Ralston at fault for the equaliser, obviously. But Hanley just before that, ffs man. I’ve thought he is a big donkey since 14th August 2013. I checked the date to make sure it’s been 11 years since he got bullied for the England winner at Wembley.
It’s depressing that he is still involved.
Not you slagging McGinn again is it haha
19-06-2024, 07:53 PM
Ralston!!!!Cadden is miles better, am I biased??
Yeah Cadden would be worse. We have one good right back and one reasonable one, both are injured.
Playing a team 19th in the world and tournament veterans
I'm comfortable enough with this. Swiss certainly targeting Ralston and he's clearly our weak link
I'd get shankland on for Adams
We won't go much further with anyone else in charge. We don't have good enough players, no manager is going to change that.
Clark has got us to two international tournaments and as it stands still in with a chance of qualifying here. Overall, he's done a fantastic job as Scotland manager.
Players out of position in every game, shoehorned Tierney and Robertson in, dull, negative, terrible tacticslky, hasnt a clue on how to change the set up if needed, sets us up wrong regularly. He has done ok but we have 100% stalled and he cannot change games when we need it to happen
GreenPJ
Gunn has played well tonight.
2 huge saves that have kept us in the game.
And the one that was ruled out? One was a very good save the other one you would have been really disappointed if he hadn't saved it.
19-06-2024, 07:54 PM
He's done nowt so far this tournament.
GreenPJ
19-06-2024, 07:55 PM
Adams has been excellent.
What has he done?
19-06-2024, 07:55 PM
Cut out the errors at the back and get McGinn into the game.
To be honest I can't really see it happening but we're not done with yet.
19-06-2024, 07:56 PM
What has he done?
Seriously? Won loads of possession he had no right to win with no service whatsoever.
19-06-2024, 07:57 PM
And the one that was ruled out? One was a very good save the other one you would have been really disappointed if he hadn't saved it.
It was ruled out so it's not really relevant.
He's been comfortable with the ball at his feet, made decent decisions when coming for the ball , made one excellent save and whilst you would expect him to make the 2nd he makes a good decision to push it well clear of danger.
He had a mare the other night but he's been fine tonight.
19-06-2024, 07:58 PM
Very few pass marks, again.
Tierney, Hendry, Ralston, McGregor, McGinn, Adams...all absolutely bang average (certainly tonight). Gilmour, Robertson, McTominay, Hanley and Gunn get varying degrees of pass marks thus far.
We need some energy, some spark, some vision...I don't see where it comes from. Conway/Morgan potentially, but they're dealing with the same ***** service Adams currently is. I'd take 1-1 right now...
Again? I think Mcginn is a great player. Don't think I've slagged him much before.
You can't mean when I said he wasn't world class and plenty better players existed? That's a fact, not slagging him.
He's been poor tonight.
Loving the England chat at half time
19-06-2024, 07:59 PM
Scotland 2 shots on target
Switzerland 3 shots on target
So say the stats.
It was ruled out so it's not really relevant.
He's being comfortable with the ball at his feet, made decent decisions when coming for the ball , made one excellent save and whilst you would expect him to make the 2nd he makes a good decision to push it well clear of danger.
He had a mare the other night but he's been fine tonight.
Watching that save again at HT, he had almost no time to react and the shot was coming from about 4 yards away. It was a great bit of athleticism.
Again? I think Mcginn is a great player. Don't think I've slagged him much before.
You can't mean when I said he wasn't world class and plenty better players existed? That's a fact, not slagging him.
He's been poor tonight.
Agreed - he has won the ball defensively a few times and he's restricting Xhaka - he's wasted doing that type of work though.
Being utilised abysmally by Clarke.
19-06-2024, 08:00 PM
It has been poor… but still being in a game when playing poorly, with room to improve is always a cause for optimism imo.
A couple of goals down with a mountain to climb is when pessimism comes into it.
We’re not a good side, we’ve not got the ability to go toe to toe with teams like this… but by hanging in there we can still sneak unexpected results, as Clarke actually has a great record at doing.
19-06-2024, 08:01 PM
He's been poor tonight.
I don’t think McGinn has been playing well for Scotland for a while now. Need more from him.
19-06-2024, 08:02 PM
Switzerland are clearly better than us all over the park, it's a case of digging in and not making anymore mistakes and waiting for that chance we will get.
I'd take 1-1 now.
TrinityHFC
Loving the England chat at half time
That’s the BBC for you. The panel in the studio is not exactly dripping with relevant Scots either. English coverage of a Scotland game really.
Why are we getting an interview with Southgate during half time at the Scotland game? Genuine question, did we hear from Steve Clarke at half time in the England gane?
McKenna on for Ralston. Push Hendry out wider and get Tierney further up the pitch more often.
19-06-2024, 08:03 PM
I don’t think McGinn has been playing well for Scotland for a while now. Need more from him.
I think he’s been identified as a main threat and neutralised accordingly by savvy coaches and players.
19-06-2024, 08:04 PM
1-1 is a good result relatively speaking. Even a narrow defeat is potentially ok in a wider context because of the Spain, Italy etc group.
We started well tonight, fell out it after we scored but we were comfortable again for the last few minutes of the half and knocked the ball about ok.
I'm not being a happy clapper but we are the lowest ranked team in the group. It's going to be backs to the wall stuff for long spells, we aren't going to dominate games and it's unlikely to ever be pretty. Get a point here and it's job done, get 3 and it's something we have hardly ever seen: a Scotland win at a major tournament.
We are where we are as a team, I wish we were technically better and able to pass teams to death but we don't have those players. This kind of scrappy, ugly game is what we are going to see for the foreseeable.
e2los
Probably already said... The BBC should not be allowed to cover our games... England all the way through the half time break..
Very disappointing (although expected).
McKenna on for Ralston. Push Hendry out wider and get Tierney further up the pitch more often.
That would require a progressive coach who wants to go for the win at all costs. Clarke (like Moyes in the studio) will try and keep it at 1-1 til the 80th minute 'and then see what happens...'.
e2los
19-06-2024, 08:05 PM
Why are we getting an interview with Southgate during half time at the Scotland game? Genuine question, did we hear from Steve Clarke at half time in the England gane?
Spot on!
Disgusting show of disrespect.
19-06-2024, 08:05 PM
No idea. I have never said it before.
19-06-2024, 08:06 PM
We've nobody in the team who can run with the ball at his feet, and dare I say it, beat an opponent.
Poor stuff so far despite the upbeat comments.
19-06-2024, 08:06 PM
That would require a progressive coach who wants to go for the win at all costs. Clarke (like Moyes in the studio) will try and keep it at 1-1 til the 80th minute 'and then see what happens...'.
And rightly so.
19-06-2024, 08:07 PM
Much better from McGinn there.
Mcbizz1998
19-06-2024, 08:07 PM
Probably already said... The BBC should not be allowed to cover our games... England all the way through the half time break..
Very disappointing (although expected).
What? We got an interview with Steve Clark at HT of the Portugal game last night. They always build up the next home nations game. Stop sounding so bitter.
Terrible free kick by Robertson in a good area, he really is a disappointment compared to his club form.
19-06-2024, 08:10 PM
We don't need a win at all costs tonight though.
All costs could mean potential elimination from the tournament. If we draw tonight and are playing defensively at 0-0 with 30 to go against Hungary then it's infuriating. Tonight is must not lose (and potentially not even that) rather than must win.
"But tonight the focus is on Scotland" says Gabby Logan, immediately after giving up five minutes of the coverage to an interview with Gareth Southgate.
Sent from my moto g(30) using Tapatalk
19-06-2024, 08:14 PM
We don't need a win at all costs tonight though.
All costs could mean potential elimination from the tournament. If we draw tonight and are playing defensively at 0-0 with 30 to go against Hungary then it's infuriating. Tonight is must not lose (and potentially not even that) rather than must win.
I recall this same thinking during WC98. We don't need to beat Norway, we just need to not lose and then we beat Morocco and qualify.
I'd much rather see us get the 3 points tonight and have less pressure in the final game.
e2los
19-06-2024, 08:16 PM
What? We got an interview with Steve Clark at HT of the Portugal game last night. They always build up the next home nations game. Stop sounding so bitter.
I didn't know that, but do the English get Interviews with Steve Clark half way though their games?
For obvious reasons I was pointing out the usual BBC disrespect of Scotland and you accuse me of being bitter...
Anyway, we can agree to disagree and only hope we (Scotland), get something out of this..
19-06-2024, 08:17 PM
What A SAVE.
oh wow that shoulda been a swiss goal nice fingertip from Gunn
Mcbizz1998
I didn't know that, but do the English get Interviews with Steve Clark half way though their games?
For obvious reasons I was pointing out the usual BBC disrespect of Scotland and you accuse me of being bitter...
Anyway, we can agree to disagree and only hope we (Scotland), get something out of this..
if England were on tonight and we were on in a day or so, then yes we would get some Scotland build up at HT.
pollution
F me ! Close
Tierney injured, that's a blow.
19-06-2024, 08:18 PM
That was a great save. No idea how the ref missed that.
But unfortunately not a shock. Shame for him that.
Tierney injured, again :( hopefully just a dead leg
That will be Tierney out for another few months.
That was a really bad one. 2 CBs down now.
e2los
19-06-2024, 08:19 PM
Hope he isn't broken.
Edit... Not good, looks like he is...