View Full Version : Can someone remind me, was Souness the England Captain?
bordergreen
14-06-2024, 08:09 PM
Let’s be honest, we have not been at the races tonight. Porteous made a last ditch challenge. Do we need the hot head comments? We are not at the races tonight. It is not Porteous’s fault how ***** we are.
I am in the Borders, so we get North West England ITV. I don’t know if you get the same on STV. It was 2 minutes Scotland, then all England chat pre match.
Souness is desperate to ingratiate himself with the English viewers.
#nashbacktaeenglandsouness
14-06-2024, 08:10 PM
Let’s be honest, we have not been at the races tonight. Porteous made a last ditch challenge. Do we need the hot head comments? We are not at the races tonight. It is not Porteous’s fault how ***** we are.
I am in the Borders, so we get North West England ITV. I don’t know if you get the same on STV. It was 2 minutes Scotland, then all England chat pre match.
Porto deserves those comments, hot headed man child who still makes lousy decisions on a football pitch.
bordergreen
14-06-2024, 08:46 PM
Porto deserves those comments, hot headed man child who still makes lousy decisions on a football pitch.
Hope you enjoy next season at Tynecastle
hibbytam
14-06-2024, 09:00 PM
It's funny because that was a sourness tackle, and one he would have gotten away with in his day.
And yes he really doesn't seem to like scotland.
14-06-2024, 09:04 PM
What?
14-06-2024, 09:05 PM
I’ve not seen that. He gave a realistic assessment of what to expect before the game. Odious player. Honest pundit.
tonyrougier123
14-06-2024, 09:09 PM
Porteous with a typical porteous rash challenge and dumping his team mates in the mire if it wasn’t already bad enough. Had a bad feeling when I seen he was starting and it played out so.
It is important to point out he wasn’t to blame for defeat it was a drubbing with 11 as well. If anything we can at least say we went to ten.
We are miles better than tonight and we will see a different Scotland next game.
Germans had the full works solid back line strong big experienced midfield fast strong attackers.
We need to start fast tracking sporting ability to academies and encourage and help them flourish.
14-06-2024, 09:10 PM
What a weird comment. Shows u know you were wrong tbh
HibsGW
14-06-2024, 09:21 PM
They’re correct, love Porteous but if he wants to leave Hibs level behind and be at this level, his decision making needs to massively improve, too rash. It’s a shame as he’s a great defender and footballer.
jamie_1875
14-06-2024, 09:25 PM
What does integrate himself with the English viewers mean? Don't get it?
LewysGot2
14-06-2024, 09:25 PM
Groundhog Day re Porto. Come on, son.😩
Idiotic comment
cameronw-hfc
14-06-2024, 09:39 PM
No player deserves abuse, but criticism is warranted tonight towards the team and Porto imo
JimmyJazz1875
14-06-2024, 09:50 PM
Aye, Porto has all the attributes to be a top class defender, but he's just so absent minded sometimes.
I wanted him to get the nod ahead of McKenna the night and I reckon that was a bad call on my part.
14-06-2024, 09:55 PM
Porteous was one of the few that started the game all right and had a couple of good early tackles. Any criticism properly deserved. When you’re playing at that level, you’re not just letting yourself down when you do that.
Aye, Porto has all the attributes to be a top class defender, but he's just so absent minded sometimes.
I wanted him to get the nod ahead of McKenna the night and I reckon that was a bad call on my part.
He has the physical attributes, but not the mental ones. You almost never see top class defenders making tackles like that one tonight, or getting some of the red cards he’s had. He gets too caught up in the moment
gaz1875
14-06-2024, 10:30 PM
Porteous was one of the few that started the game all right and had a couple of good early tackles. Any criticism properly deserved. When you’re playing at that level, you’re not just letting yourself down when you do that.
Agree with your view. At first I thought it was a brilliant tackle, his left leg looked at first viewing like he was throwing it out to block a potential shot, while his right leg was going for the ball, he either made a bad misjudgement or went for the player, I'm a bit divided on which one.
14-06-2024, 11:38 PM
:agree: He may just have ended his Scotland career tonight.
14-06-2024, 11:39 PM
He has the physical attributes, but not the mental ones. You almost never see top class defenders making tackles like that one tonight, or getting some of the red cards he’s had. He gets too caught up in the moment
14-06-2024, 11:42 PM
What do those who think it's a red card, expect Porteous to do? Stand up and let the guy score a tap in?
He threw himself in to stop a goal. I expect any defender worthy of the name to do the same. It's never a red card.
15-06-2024, 12:38 AM
What do those who think it's a red card, expect Porteous to do? Stand up and let the guy score a tap in?
He threw himself in to stop a goal. I expect any defender worthy of the name to do the same. It's never a red card.
Mate.
It WAS a red card….it was a potential leg breaker.
15-06-2024, 12:39 AM
This is what I thought too. But I’m admittedly drunk and will assess again in the morning.
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 01:07 AM
Mate.
It WAS a red card….it was a potential leg breaker.
Red card all day long .. if that had been on a Hibs player I'd be raging .
Don't think he meant it though it was an act of stupidity which he's done before . Keeper was at fault as well though leading up to it imo .
Septimus
15-06-2024, 04:41 AM
I think his left foot slipped. The penalty was punishment enough
Porteous lunged, won the ball but his left foot was off the ground and could've broke his ankle, terrible tackle and one we've seen all too often from him, sill not learnt after all these years.
15-06-2024, 05:32 AM
Graeme Souness awarded CBE for services to football and charity
Ally McCoist OBE
Paulie Walnuts
15-06-2024, 06:02 AM
It was a horrific tackle and I’ve little doubt it will be the worst tackle of the whole tournament.
15-06-2024, 06:08 AM
It was a horrific tackle.
Won the ball fairly and squarely with his right foot but it was the scissors motion with his left foot catching the boy above the ankle looked even worse in slo mo
Straight red
15-06-2024, 06:15 AM
Won the ball fairly and squarely with his right foot but it was the scissors motion with his left foot catching the boy above the ankle looked even worse in slo mo
Straight red
I still don't agree.
I guess Craig Gordon should have been red carded against Finland for winning the ball but punching the guys lights out?
15-06-2024, 06:41 AM
Porto was easily the best Scotland player last night, purely as he only had the opportunity to embarrass himself for 45 minutes rather than 90.
15-06-2024, 06:44 AM
I still don't agree.
I guess Craig Gordon should have been red carded against Finland for winning the ball but punching the guys lights out?
Got to say you are the only guy I have spoken to that did not think Porto deserved a red
You are entitled to your opinion I suppose
I haven’t heard any pundits or anyone from the Scotland camp say it wasn’t a pen
Need to take it on the chin and move on
15-06-2024, 06:51 AM
I'm not saying it wasn't a penalty but I don't agree it's a red card. He had to make a challenge, won the ball and hit the guy.
There is no difference between last night and Craig Gordon. Just feel it was a double punishment.
As you say, minority of one 😃
15-06-2024, 06:54 AM
I'm not saying it wasn't a penalty but I don't agree it's a red card. He had to make a challenge, won the ball and hit the guy.
There is no difference between last night and Craig Gordon. Just feel it was a double punishment.
As you say, minority of one
Have to say was surprised CG didn’t see red was rash but was only a friendly think the Ref took pity on him
Could have done with him last night Gunn was woeful
Edit:
’ If a player is put in danger particularly with a straight- legged tackle like that one then a red card would follow’
Roberto Rosetti
UEFA’s Head of Refereeing
15-06-2024, 08:05 AM
Winning the ball with one foot is totally irrelevant if you do what you did what he did with the other. I remember him getting sent off up at Aberdeen when I thought he was unlucky in trying to make a last ditch challenge to stop a goa. But you just cannae challenge like he did last night, anywhere on the park.
I think his left foot slipped. The penalty was punishment enough
Slipped into a straight leg in the opposite direction to the way the left leg was facing when he pushed off of it?
I think you’re being generous mate
Agree with your view. At first I thought it was a brilliant tackle, his left leg looked at first viewing like he was throwing it out to block a potential shot, while his right leg was going for the ball, he either made a bad misjudgement or went for the player, I'm a bit divided on which one.
I don’t think he’s a dirty player, but I’ve often thought the RP likes to leave a bit on a player, and sometimes misreads opportunities to do that, or gets caught up in the emotions of the moment and throws himself in when cooler heads would do something less rash. Last night, he could have went to block a potential shot, or just not thrown his left leg straight into gundogen’s leg. The right leg was going to win the ball, I don’t understand why he brings his left leg into it as he does
15-06-2024, 08:46 AM
Anyway, back to the Souness question....
15-06-2024, 08:51 AM
Yes, he had to make a challenge, but to quote Roy Keane - that’s his job. As a centre half, especially one playing for Scotland against Germany - he’s going to have to make tackles, make blocks, make last ditch lunges - and the timings of them will be critical.
Did it feel 100% necessary? Not for me. He was having to make some sort of a challenge but we were quite short of being in a position where his challenge was either justifiable or defensible.
He’s actually quite lucky we were already being pasted and it’s unlikely it’s cost us anything as we were getting f all anyway. It’ll blow over and he’ll get another chance eventually as it’s a position we’re criminally poor in.
15-06-2024, 09:39 AM
Porteous was one of our less bad players until that challenge. Looked fine live but the first replay made it clear he would be sent off.
As a defender you automatically react to a loose ball in the box but he has enough experience by now that his instinct should be to block any shot and not lunge at the ball when an opponent is so close.
jamie_1875
15-06-2024, 01:39 PM
Anyway, back to the Souness question....
I am not getting this, what's the accusation? You think he is English? What did he say last night that has got some people excited?
Ah so I see Scotland lost because Souness wasn't Scottish enough, interesting theory :greengrin
15-06-2024, 03:03 PM
I am not getting this, what's the accusation? You think he is English? What did he say last night that has got some people excited?
I don't have any views on it mate, just trying to inject a bit of lighthearted humour into a heated debate.
15-06-2024, 03:44 PM
Minority of 2. I thought double jeapordy had been got rid off
15-06-2024, 03:51 PM
I don't have any views on it mate, just trying to inject a bit of lighthearted humour into a heated debate.
Not to mention this thread about souness being England captain 🤔😉
He's here!
15-06-2024, 04:05 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cgll06r47dvo.amp
Fair play to Souness for his charity work. Whatever you thought of him as a player and manager (I couldn't stand him) he's clearly mellowed in later life, possibly after coming through his own very serious health scares. His tribute to Alan Hansen the other day was truly heartfelt
15-06-2024, 04:39 PM
Souness was very critical of Scotland last night, and rightly so.
If we want to be taken seriously at this level, we simply have to do better. Last night was abysmal.
15-06-2024, 04:41 PM
Minority of 2. I thought double jeapordy had been got rid off
If he denied a clear goal scoring opportunity then it’s a mandatory red, no?
When the foul leads to a penalty, if there’s a genuine attempt to play the ball, it’s deemed to be a yellow, as it’s a triple punishment for a single foul (red card, penalty, and a suspension).
RP did play the ball, so not sure if it’s deemed serious foul play which would still attract a red card :dunno:
15-06-2024, 06:12 PM
When the foul leads to a penalty, if there’s a genuine attempt to play the ball, it’s deemed to be a yellow, as it’s a triple punishment for a single foul (red card, penalty, and a suspension).
RP did play the ball, so not sure if it’s deemed serious foul play which would still attract a red card :dunno:
Spanish player only got a yellow for a similar situation today, so maybe Ryan has been harshly treated.
15-06-2024, 07:24 PM
Not to mention this thread about souness being England captain 🤔😉
Yep, that also confused me.
HibbyStardust50
15-06-2024, 07:48 PM
Spanish player only got a yellow for a similar situation today, so maybe Ryan has been harshly treated.
Sorry mate..have to disagree...For context..Watford are my wee English team through family and I’ve been watching Hibs live since 1979...season ticket holder since I stopped playing myself in 2000... so in short Ryan would always get my benefit of the doubt...I’ve always basically said that he technically has an inability as a defender to tackle properly and that’s really affected by emotion..so basically in big games he lunges in cos he is more pumped...that said, last night when I was playing the harp (get it, I was harpist!)...I was arguing that the sending off was a travesty...then I watched it again this morning ...gets the ball with right foot but left foot is a leg breaker over the ankle at the base of the shin..it’s a straight red...in the Spain one today..Rodri minimally makes contact from behind the guy..barely touches him..the guy kicks the ground and goes down..not caused by the contact...technically it is still a foul but not a sending off and actually as a football fan I wanted no pen and a booking for diving cos he bought it...but technically...with contact..it’s a pen
If you mean Rodri, he didn’t straight leg the opposition players leg, Ryan did.
Rodri was never going to be accused of serious foul play, RP absolutely would be.
Halifaxhibby
15-06-2024, 08:33 PM
Can’t even give an opinion!!!!….the hibs net powers at be won’t post….😂😂😂😂😂
15-06-2024, 08:36 PM
100% red card, you cant throw yourself at a ball like that and make the contact he did like that and NOT get a red card, as soon as the tackle went in I thought red card penalty, I was the only person in the boozer saying it. Anyhoos I dont believe he made for the player he just wanted a quick clearance and it ended up a bad tackle in which the boy didnt end up seriously injured. He has a bit to learn but will be playing for Scotland for years to come.
15-06-2024, 08:38 PM
He threw himself in to stop a goal. I expect any defender worthy of the name to do the same. It's never a red card. I'm more in this camp than the rash tackle camp on this particular incident. At least Porteous was close enough to actually make a tackle and it was one that had to be attempted as it was game over if it went in. Alright it ended up game over anyway but to me that was a stop the goal at all costs. He is still young for a centre half and may well learn to stand on his feet more as the years go buy
He's here!
15-06-2024, 08:39 PM
Souness did ruffle feathers many years ago when he said he sometimes wished he'd been able to play for England rather than Scotland. I remember his son being pictured with an England shirt on (at the last Euros I think) and 'Souness' on the back.
Don't recall him ever being anything less than 100% committed as a Scotland player but some fans were a bit cool towards him. He was certainly an arrogant sort back then and his kick on Beastie at ER was a disgrace.
15-06-2024, 08:55 PM
Souness did ruffle feathers many years ago when he said he sometimes wished he'd been able to play for England rather than Scotland. I remember his son being pictured with an England shirt on (at the last Euros I think) and 'Souness' on the back.
Don't recall him ever being anything less than 100% committed as a Scotland player but some fans were a bit cool towards him. He was certainly an arrogant sort back then and his kick on Beastie at ER was a disgrace.
Absolutely agree, and I suspect his son was born in England, so that’s the National team he supports, don’t see any conflict in that
Houston7
15-06-2024, 08:59 PM
I'm more in this camp than the rash tackle camp on this particular incident. At least Porteous was close enough to actually make a tackle and it was one that had to be attempted as it was game over if it went in. Alright it ended up game over anyway but to me that was a stop the goal at all costs. He is still young for a centre half and may well learn to stand on his feet more as the years go buy
I agree with most that it was a shocking tackle as a result of his desperation to stop a certain goal. However, my recollection was that he was put in that position as a result of one of Gunn’s many shockers. The keeper’s “clearance” virtually passed the ball back to the Germans.
Halifaxhibby
15-06-2024, 09:50 PM
Scotland were way off….i think we climaxed when we qualified…..🏴🏴😂😂 very good German team in Germany….porto is a clown….wants to be an enforcer but the games changed so much…plenty heart but no brains….unfortunately hair bands and shaved legs are the order of the day, these days……mccoist is such a grovelling hun…..sucking the English proverbial for his itv cheque….this was never our battle…..suck it up and beat the other 2.
Souness was a legend , Keane, a bawbag….nice to see that lady from master chef giving her opinion on tonight’s game…👍 Andi something or other….😜😂😂😂
Can we keep the politics for the Holy ground.
15-06-2024, 11:12 PM
Sorry mate..have to disagree...For context..Watford are my wee English team through family and I’ve been watching Hibs live since 1979...season ticket holder since I stopped playing myself in 2000... so in short Ryan would always get my benefit of the doubt...I’ve always basically said that he technically has an inability as a defender to tackle properly and that’s really affected by emotion..so basically in big games he lunges in cos he is more pumped...that said, last night when I was playing the harp (get it, I was harpist!)...I was arguing that the sending off was a travesty...then I watched it again this morning ...gets the ball with right foot but left foot is a leg breaker over the ankle at the base of the shin..it’s a straight red...in the Spain one today..Rodri minimally makes contact from behind the guy..barely touches him..the guy kicks the ground and goes down..not caused by the contact...technically it is still a foul but not a sending off and actually as a football fan I wanted no pen and a booking for diving cos he bought it...but technically...with contact..it’s a pen
Fair enough, not watched either tackle again tbf.
16-06-2024, 12:03 AM
Just so entirely wrong. He could’ve blocked the shot without throwing his studs halfway up the guy’s leg.
On the very first replay it was very clear what was coming next.
16-06-2024, 12:05 AM
I think when you see the replay there is also a genuine attempt to play the man and I suspect that’s why he walked.
16-06-2024, 01:25 AM
Stick on penalty and red card. Unless you've been shot to the future by a 1982 time machine, how could it be anything else??
16-06-2024, 01:58 AM
Porto gave himself away by his customary injury faking when he knows he's in bother.
16-06-2024, 07:56 AM
Porto gave himself away by his customary injury faking when he knows he's in bother.
Yep that was ridiculous, especially with a couple of the replays making it very clear he was at it.
16-06-2024, 08:57 AM
Yep that was ridiculous, especially with a couple of the replays making it very clear he was at it.
Its almost like he thinks folk dont notice. Unfortunately his reputation is 100% justified which is unfortunate because at his best like in the qualifying campaign he was immense.
16-06-2024, 09:12 AM
He looks good for a 71 year old who's had some pretty serious health issues in their life.
I think when you see the replay there is also a genuine attempt to play the man and I suspect that’s why he walked.
I have bud, I’ve said it’s a red all along
My post was in regards to the double jeopardy part of penalty decisions. I’d still say it’s a red even under those circumstances due to reckless manner he hits gundogan’s leg
16-06-2024, 10:00 AM
Porto gave himself away by his customary injury faking when he knows he's in bother.I actually said that to the boy I watched the game with. As soon as it happened I said that's a penalty simply cause you could tell from his reaction he'd made a **** of it.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
16-06-2024, 08:12 PM
I have bud, I’ve said it’s a red all along
My post was in regards to the double jeopardy part of penalty decisions. I’d still say it’s a red even under those circumstances due to reckless manner he hits gundogan’s leg
I think that’s out the window when it’s serious foul play, as this was.
Yeah, that’s what I think too