View Full Version : NHC Germany v Scotland (8pm)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

14-06-2024, 08:29 PM
People are writing Hungry off which is mental. When you look at their record in recent years 😲. They'll also have some support with them in Germany too.

Boys against men. Struggling to see any positives here.

Duck me Clarke has really thrown the towel in now

14-06-2024, 08:30 PM
Deary me....

Ffs

You would think but ages with myself (mid 50’s)

I just cannot see how anyone can say it want a penalty and shocking challenge.
Plenty on twitter saying no red, no penalty.

that's probably game now

14-06-2024, 08:31 PM
that's probably game now
Some goal, this could be embarrassing.

Boys against men. Struggling to see any positives here.

He hasn't brought Shankland on?

Have we even had a shot at goal

Plenty of other people who have seen the replay from the TV are saying otherwise…….

Greensunshine
He didn’t really though did he!
He barely got a toe to it after he had planted his left foot onto the players ankle.

He got the ball first and I’m sticking to that! 🤣🤣👍

14-06-2024, 08:32 PM
What a strike. Like watching Real Madrid vs Bathgate Thistle…

StockholmHibs
Have we had a shot on goal yet?

Plenty of other people who have seen the replay from the TV are saying otherwise…….
And they're right

Have we even had a shot at goal

What a strike. Like watching Real Madrid vs Bathgate Thistle…

No…

Watching on telly, bloody obvious red

14-06-2024, 08:33 PM
Watching on telly, bloody obvious red

Agree

I think this has been utterly terrible. There’s no way, with the players we have, there should be such a big gulf.

Expected defeat, but not like this.

Was that Hanley at fault?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240614/ff8d17b67150419caee3ad504649a55c.jpg

I just don’t see how this was not a penalty or a red card!

Opinions eh

Put it this way if that was a German player making that challenge they over would call be shouting for a penalty and red card.

14-06-2024, 08:34 PM
Let’s face it Scotland are going to be the whipping boys of this group….

14-06-2024, 08:34 PM

Think it was. Perfect lay off

14-06-2024, 08:35 PM

It was probably the fault of the 20kg bag of cement he seems to be carrying with him

14-06-2024, 08:35 PM
No…

Hyperbole of course, but it’s men against boys. Let’s not pretend we’ve even come close to laying a glove on them…

Exuberance1875
14-06-2024, 08:36 PM
Brutal and Porteous continues to make rash challenges

Opinions eh

tbf the German player tried to attack Ryan's studs with his shin, but anyone watching on the radio will say it's not a penalty

Hyperbole of course, but it’s men against boys. Let’s not pretend we’ve even come close to laying a glove on them…

Couldn’t agree more, it’s quite embarrassing but symptomatic of the lack of quality in depth in the squad

Never in this game Stuart. Have we even been in their box yet ?

One touch in the German box, first half header by Porto.

14-06-2024, 08:37 PM
I think the term is men against boys. ☹️

Just **** off now Clarke…

Germany go nap

14-06-2024, 08:38 PM
tbf the German player tried to attack Ryan's studs with his shin, but anyone watching on the radio will say it's not a penalty

This made me laugh [emoji122]

Gunn looks like a deer in the headlights, not impressed at all.

Up-the-slope
offside but Gunn palms it into the net... like many others he has not being great

oooohh result, goal chalked off

Angus Gunn is to football what Angus Deayton is to football.

No medals for stating the obvious, ODS. How the hell we qualified, I have no idea.

Because we were very good in a number of different games including beating Spain?

StockholmHibs
I think this has been utterly terrible. There’s no way, with the players we have, there should be such a big gulf.

Totally agree. Pathetic performance.

Agree

1875M
14-06-2024, 08:39 PM

He’s dreadful

14-06-2024, 08:39 PM

Obviously we’re veterans of “difficult days out in Glasgow” but this feels particularly abject. It’s been a disgraceful performance.

14-06-2024, 08:40 PM

His dad would probably have played better today and he is 60.

14-06-2024, 08:41 PM

Opinions eh

Put it this way if that was a German player making that challenge they over would call be shouting for a penalty and red card.
To be clear I think it was a Stonewall penalty, just mentioning about twitter opinions 👍

StockholmHibs
14-06-2024, 08:42 PM
I don't mind getting beat but this performance is possibly the worst Scotland performance I can remember..

14-06-2024, 08:42 PM
To be clear I think it was a Stonewall penalty, just mentioning about twitter opinions [emoji106]

I thought that’s what you meant Lago.

14-06-2024, 08:43 PM
Should have took Craig Gordon.

WTF is Shankland coming on for now

Agree

Im not surprised as wouldnt say our players are that great maybe 1 or 2 are good. Think Germany have been underestimated by many ahead of this tournament

Obviously we’re veterans of “difficult days out in Glasgow” but this feels particularly abject. It’s been a disgraceful performance.

It’s utterly *****. If Gunn is our best keeper we’re going nowhere in this tournament or afterwards. I mean we are guff, but we’ve managed to play well below even that level.

Why?????

Greensunshine
Kinda wishing Craig Gordon was back between the sticks!

possession 72%/28%

Shots 16/0

shots on target 8/0

shots off target 3/0

total touches in the box............................................... ............... 24/1

14-06-2024, 08:44 PM
I thought that’s what you meant Lago.

What the actual ****! Bringing the slowest, immobile striker we have on with 9 mins to go 🤣

Thank God we’re only being humped by a supposedly poor German side. :rolleyes:

14-06-2024, 08:45 PM
I’m old enough to remember when we had a decent team but we were seen as disgusting hooligans. No coincidence, I’m blaming the cuddly Tartan Army for this. :greengrin

14-06-2024, 08:45 PM
i think Shankland will start against Switzerland

14-06-2024, 08:46 PM
Thank God we’re only being humped by a supposedly poor German side. :rolleyes:

Aye, humped France 3-0 in their last game 🤔

14-06-2024, 08:46 PM
i think Shankland will start against Switzerland

Then we may as well pack our bags now.

Bridge hibs
14-06-2024, 08:48 PM
Yes comeback is on !!!

14-06-2024, 08:49 PM
Fight back

Kinda wishing Craig Gordon was back between the sticks!He's been off crutches for a while, no?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

lets be honest, Switzerland and Hungary games far more important than this one

having said that it's many many years since i saw such a weak pathetic performane from a scottish side

anyway

game on 4-1 we've tired them out this half :)

14-06-2024, 08:50 PM
Here we go, here we go, here we go!!! 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

0 shots, 0 on target, one goal 😂😂😂

That goal could be massive :greengrin

14-06-2024, 08:51 PM
the swiss will be wary of us now :greengrin

lol "you're not singing any more" :greengrin

14-06-2024, 08:52 PM

Agree Shankland isn’t anywhere near International level,

14-06-2024, 08:53 PM
get the ball in the box Scotland

anything can happen :)

at least we're drawing the 2nd half

14-06-2024, 08:54 PM
We looked so lethargic, passive and out our depth.

If Scotland have any chance they need the first goal on Wednesday. If it goes against us we are humped as clearly confidence is shot. A utterly moronic move from Clarke to line up those friendlies V England, Holland and France when we were in a good run of form. Just killed all the momentum we had.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

14-06-2024, 08:55 PM
Gunn is not a very good keeper
Glad that's over

Deed as a country

oh for the love of god this is scandalous

couldn't even hold out another freakin 20 seconds

more brilliant closing down again

Utter ****ing Pish

Angus Gunn again.

Another complete embarrassment from our national team.

14-06-2024, 08:56 PM
Btw, Gunn should save again

He’s terrible

Gunn is dreadful.

1875M
Gunn is woeful.

Dmas
Finished as a country

He should’ve played mcginn tonight

14-06-2024, 08:57 PM
We've died as a country.

Btw, Gunn should save again

He’s terrible

Initially thought that but it takes a deflection off a Scottish boot and it takes it away from Gunn

Never mind, let the party begin.

That result ends us as a nation I presume…

Might have to start Clark after all.

What a bloody mess.

Not just down to Gunn and Porteous of course, SJM dreadful again, McTominay and McGregor miles off it.

oh for the love of god this is scandalous

couldn't even hold out another freakin 20 seconds

more brilliant closing down again

20 seconds from jubilation

I’ll get ma coat

14-06-2024, 08:58 PM
He should’ve played mcginn tonight

We definitely could’ve done with McGinn and McTominay in midfield tonight.

Initially thought that but it takes a deflection off a Scottish boot and it takes it away from Gunn

Still got a decent hand to it

i have a feeling Germany will face tougher opposition, from now

Mom the Jocks :saltireflag:saltireflag

It might be mad, but I think we could get something from it. Germany aren’t great just now. No pressure on us; have a go and enjoy it.

Crackpot :bye::bye:

Gunn really bad for two of the goals. We didn’t get close to them from the first minute, miles off it.

That was an embarrassing humiliation. I’m not sure any other side in this tournament will get spanked 5-1.

Just_Jimmy
14-06-2024, 08:59 PM
At least that games done.

2 games to go. Let's see if we can actually turn up for any

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

I’ll get ma coat

lol :(

I’ll get ma coat

Today was awful but as hungry men we must look for our supper.

14-06-2024, 09:00 PM
So who's up next for Scotland and when?

The two Hibs fans in the squad absolutely let us down tonight. Porteous and Gunn

So who's up next for Scotland and when?

Switzerland, Wednesday

Up-the-slope
14-06-2024, 09:01 PM
i agree with other posters.... wishing Gordon was in squad...

John McGinn looked like he had done too much Bavarian dancing this week... worst I have seen him play for Scotland no pressing / tackling or aggression

Gilmour should be a first choice pick in midfield for me.

That's the largest opening game win in the history of the Euros.

Expected a defeat but was hoping we'd t least make a match of it, unfortunately we are rank rotten, players look tired and off the pace and some like Gunn and Ralston are just bang average, brutal watch tonight.

Germany faster quicker slicker from the off

Scotland chasing shadows

Better team won

Scotland’s future wasn’t decided tonight but must play better

Onwards and upwards

14-06-2024, 09:02 PM
i agree with other posters.... wishing Gordon was in squad...

John McGinn looked like he had done too much Bavarian dancing this week... worst I have seen him play for Scotland no pressing / tackling or aggression

McGinn was rotten against Finland too. No idea why he looks so far off it

That was awful. We never laid a glove on them before the sending off which was criminal. I predicted we’d lose this game but we were poor. We can beat Switzerland but it’s going to take a big turn around.

Plus side is I had tickets for all 3 games but I’ve saved about 2 grand not going!

Switzerland, Wednesday
👍

14-06-2024, 09:03 PM
Btw andy gray has it spot on. Tournaments came 6 months too late from us

All they friendly losses have our confidence shot to bits

14-06-2024, 09:03 PM
Gunn is dreadful.

The whole team was outclassed.

hibbytam
14-06-2024, 09:04 PM
The two Hibs fans in the squad absolutely let us down tonight. Porteous and Gunn

Not sure if gunn let us down, he's just an average goalkeeper playing at a level above where he normally would.

Hibees1973
14-06-2024, 09:05 PM

Scotland chasing shadows

Better team won

Onwards and upwards

Was going to post something similar Billy.

Germany were just more nimble, faster and athletic all over the park.

Nowhere near it and really can't see it getting much better in the next 2 games.

Scotland chasing shadows

Better team won

Onwards and upwards

Yes, we didn’t defend properly at all . Germany are several levels above us, and the red card was the ultimate nightmare situation. Huge improvement needed, but the situation isn’t hopeless.

The whole team was outclassed.

Agreed. As I said earlier I can't believe Steve Clarke is getting off scot free. They were way above us but we didn't even make it difficult for them

hfcok
14-06-2024, 09:07 PM
Pains me to say, Craig Gordon, would not have let in 5 goals, the most experienced keeper Scotland had.

14-06-2024, 09:08 PM
Roy Keane is angrier than we are :greengrin

14-06-2024, 09:09 PM
Agreed. As I said earlier I can't believe Steve Clarke is getting off scot free. They were way above us but we didn't even make it difficult for them

Keane just summed it up. Showing more passion than our bench did.

Hibees1973
14-06-2024, 09:09 PM
Pains me to say, Craig Gordon, would not have let in 5 goals, the most experienced keeper Scotland had.

Even Marshall would not have......erm, he probably would

14-06-2024, 09:10 PM
keane is right, where the heck was any aggression, none whatsoever wtf is wrong with our players lately

14-06-2024, 09:11 PM
keane is right, where the heck was any aggression, none whatsoever wtf is wrong with our players lately

Home nation and one of the stronger teams. We probably gave them too much respect.

Aye agree with that.

All the passion coming from the support, not so much the players

Keane just summed it up. Showing more passion than our bench did.

👍👍👌

14-06-2024, 09:12 PM
Used up all our luck last year, everything was going in. Taking on top nations in friendlies was a stupid idea by Clarke, it totally destroyed all the momentum we had.

Looks like the 3-5-1-1 or whatever it is has maybe had its day although we've looked even worse when we use another formation.

Midfield needs sorted for Wednesday. But it looks an impossible task the way we've been playing.

Chorley Hibee
14-06-2024, 09:13 PM

Too many with the mindset of the support, that it's all just a big laugh now that we've qualified.

Don't give me the small population crap either.

It's never stopped the likes of Croatia.

14-06-2024, 09:14 PM
Clarke has done superbly in qualification.

But both tournaments he’s qualified for he’s then set up terribly in the first game.

I never expected a win tonight but I didn’t expect that. With the players we’ve got we should have, at least, been competitive.

JimmyJazz1875
14-06-2024, 09:14 PM
Could be worse, guys. I was watching that in Guangzhou with a bunch of German fans. They were cheering us on after 3-0! 🤣

14-06-2024, 09:15 PM
Yes, we didn’t defend properly at all . Germany are several levels above us, and the red card was the ultimate nightmare situation. Huge improvement needed, but the situation isn’t hopeless.

You’re right, because we had such good form coming into this tournament and Hungary haven’t won in 18 matches….oops scrub that , Hungary haven’t Lost! In 18 matches, my apologies….

14-06-2024, 09:16 PM

Scotland chasing shadows

Better team won

Onwards and upwards

Realistically, we’ve got another two really tough games coming up. Hungary haven’t lost many games recently and Switzerland are a stuffy team who will be hard to beat, especially by the shell-shocked Scottish squad after tonight. Qualification will be a faint hope and we’ll probably be the bottom of the group.

14-06-2024, 09:16 PM
Could be worse, guys. I was watching that in Guangzhou with a bunch of German fans. They were cheering us on after 3-0! 🤣

That’s just cruel beyond belief …..

14-06-2024, 09:17 PM
It's ok folks, we'll beat Germany when we play them again in the final.

Hibees1973
14-06-2024, 09:18 PM

What has been at the root of our issues is we have lost loads of goals over the last year.

Having a solid defence which concedes few, breeds confidence throughout the team. Even in games when you are under the cosh but you have a good defensive structure, you can stay in games.

It was showing a bit too much bravado taking on friendlies against the likes of France, England and The Netherlands. Think these games shot the confidence out of the squad.

14-06-2024, 09:18 PM
Jesus.

Awful

14-06-2024, 09:19 PM
You’re right, because we had such good form coming into this tournament and Hungary haven’t won in 18 matches….oops scrub that , Hungary haven’t Lost! In 18 matches, my apologies….

Come on now, you just never know. It will be much more competitive….if we can keep all the players on the pitch :cb

14-06-2024, 09:20 PM
Come on now, you just never know. It will be much more competitive….if we can keep all the players on the pitch :cb

We weren’t competitive with all the players on the pitch.

14-06-2024, 09:21 PM
Also, can I just say I’m on holiday just now and Scotland have gave me the exact same feeling as hibs would 😂

The parallels are incredible

14-06-2024, 09:22 PM
We weren’t competitive with all the players on the pitch.

Chin up, mate. Our cry is No Surr…..

Our cry is on to the next yin :greengrin

BS44
14-06-2024, 09:23 PM

Remember when the unbeatables came to Easter Road!

LewysGot2
What the actual ****! Bringing the slowest, immobile striker we have on with 9 mins to go 🤣

Like being down to 9 men. Waddling around like he's towing a caravan. He's not an athlete.

Very disappointing show (or no show) from McGinn/McGregor/McTominay

We don't have a decent keeper any more.

Right hand side of defence not good enough- we can't help Hickey being out but...

Also, can I just say I’m on holiday just now and Scotland have gave me the exact same feeling as hibs would 😂

The parallels are incredible

Only Hibs and Scotland can bring you crashing down to earth like that.:agree:

14-06-2024, 09:25 PM
Jesus.

Awful

He didn’t play tonight.

JimmyJazz1875
14-06-2024, 09:26 PM
That’s just cruel beyond belief …..

They were nice enough lads, honestly. I think they felt bad for us...which made the whole situation worse.

F*** it. As I said to them, the result of this game is relatively inconsequential. We need to show we are better than Switzerland and Hungary.

JimmyJazz1875
14-06-2024, 09:27 PM
He didn’t play tonight.

😄

14-06-2024, 09:27 PM

Only Hibs and Scotland can bring you crashing down to earth like that.:agree:

Was in Tenerife for the league cup final v Ross county…I’m in the same place just now 😂

14-06-2024, 09:28 PM
Was in Tenerife for the league cup final v Ross county…I’m in the same place just now 😂

Stop going there then!

14-06-2024, 09:29 PM
Ryan Porteous Germany tackle has BBC pundit 'feeling a bit sick' as Scotland star offered no defence - Football Scotland (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/other-football/ryan-porteous-germany-tackle-bbc-29359267?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR2jFoNdSECj3JRn ETmJJQBW4WiPzZ0gUMnx8UPcKPVbUMlqEnOVholUnnQ_aem_Zm FrZWR1bW15MTZieXRlcw)

14-06-2024, 09:30 PM

Well now we know who to blame

14-06-2024, 09:31 PM

hope your back before wednesday night

14-06-2024, 09:32 PM
Ryan Porteous Germany tackle has BBC pundit 'feeling a bit sick' as Scotland star offered no defence - Football Scotland (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/other-football/ryan-porteous-germany-tackle-bbc-29359267?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR2jFoNdSECj3JRn ETmJJQBW4WiPzZ0gUMnx8UPcKPVbUMlqEnOVholUnnQ_aem_Zm FrZWR1bW15MTZieXRlcw)

Why are so many of these diddies making so much of that challenge 😂 It’s bad and red card/pen is correct but it didn’t cost us a thing, we were well beaten before then.

JimmyJazz1875
14-06-2024, 09:33 PM

Well said. Totally agree.

Greensunshine
14-06-2024, 09:36 PM
When I heard Steve Clarke was planning in not taking Craig Gordon to Germany and taking three inexperienced goalkeepers instead I have to say that I called it there and then!

Huge mistake!!! Didn’t sit right with me then and now I’ve been proved right!

Aye he might well be a Hearts caaaaaant but he’s a top keeper with bags of experience.

What a *****y decision and I’m aff for more 🍺

14-06-2024, 09:37 PM
This night gets better. Scotland lose and all the Huns seem to be getting honours from the King. Happy days ��

sorrow sorrow
14-06-2024, 09:37 PM
2 nil is recoverable if unlikely, 3 with 10 men gives us no chance. Porto was a prick.
Still in it😂
you clearly have absolutely zero idea about top level football

14-06-2024, 09:39 PM
Roy Keene’s face as Souness and McCoist talked about OBEs :faf::faf:

The most uncomfortable looking guy you could ever see.

14-06-2024, 09:41 PM
When I heard Steve Clarke was planning in not taking Craig Gordon to Germany and taking three inexperienced goalkeepers instead I have to say that I called it there and then!

Huge mistake!!! Didn’t sit right with me then and now I’ve been proved right!

Aye he might well be a Hearts caaaaaant but he’s a top keeper with bags of experience.

What a *****y decision and I’m aff for more 🍺

He's played about 4 games all season and made dreadful mistakes in 2 of them.

We don't have any keepers.

Tommy75
14-06-2024, 09:43 PM
Why are so many of these diddies making so much of that challenge 😂 It’s bad and red card/pen is correct but it didn’t cost us a thing, we were well beaten before then.

Banned for next game so has let his team mates and manager down.

Potty78
14-06-2024, 09:43 PM
Just **** off now Clarke…

One of the worst comments on Hibs.net ever

Paulie Walnuts
14-06-2024, 09:45 PM

Still doing the same ridiculous ***** he was doing at us.

Find him impossible to look to be honest. Guys a liability.

14-06-2024, 09:53 PM

He’s probably finished in the tournament now. If we do well on Wednesday he’ll not be back in for the final group game, if we’re beaten then Clarke will probably give some of the other players a match for the Hungary game, either way I don’t think he’ll be back in the side, certainly as a starter anyway

Regardless of the score line or the opposition, it’s a shocker of a tackle, no need to have his left leg there, a total brain fart of a challenge that was always going to be punished in the VAR era

14-06-2024, 09:54 PM

The thing that pissed me off about him though was that he didn’t tend to do this sort of thing for Scotland. He was like a bad boy on his best behaviour when he played for Scotland and tbf to Porteous, when he plays well and cuts out the silly stuff he’s very good.

Tonight had a very familiar feeling about it - we had “Hibs Porto” playing for Scotland tonight.

He’s just not that good. I hate to bring up the “bombscare” subject but what were the reputations Bamba and Ambrose arrived with and how did that compare to their largely immaculate performances for us? Porteous has possibly been the most prone to a hot-headed error I’ve ever seen at Hibs.

K-Zazu
14-06-2024, 10:03 PM

He’s brutal, the Watford fans have been on his case all season.

14-06-2024, 10:06 PM
He’s probably finished in the tournament now. If we do well on Wednesday he’ll not be back in for the final group game, if we’re beaten then Clarke will probably give some of the other players a match for the Hungary game, either way I don’t think he’ll be back in the side, certainly as a starter anyway

Regardless of the score line or the opposition, it’s a shocker of a tackle, no need to have his left leg there, a total brain fart of a challenge that was always going to be punished in the VAR era

Gundugan lucky to get away unhurt it was a shocker

14-06-2024, 10:06 PM
Banned for next game so has let his team mates and manager down.

The penalty was a compilation of everything which drove me nuts while he was at hibs. Porto's greatest hits!

Crazy tackle - tick. Pretend to be injured after making it - tick. Get card - tick. Complain to ref - tick.

Birkenhead hib
14-06-2024, 10:07 PM
Gutted about the whole thing

LewysGot2
14-06-2024, 10:09 PM
The penalty was a compilation of everything which drove me nuts while he was at hibs. Porto's greatest hits!

Crazy tackle - tick. Pretend to be injured after making it - tick. Get card - tick. Complain to ref - tick.

Definitely stayed down as he knew fine well that he was in bother

14-06-2024, 10:11 PM
Gundugan lucky to get away unhurt it was a shocker

It was, but it wasn’t malicious. It was a desperate last ditch clearance, though definitely a red card.

14-06-2024, 10:12 PM
The thing that pissed me off about him though was that he didn’t tend to do this sort of thing for Scotland. He was like a bad boy on his best behaviour when he played for Scotland and tbf to Porteous, when he plays well and cuts out the silly stuff he’s very good.

Tonight had a very familiar feeling about it - we had “Hibs Porto” playing for Scotland tonight.

He’s just not that good. I hate to bring up the “bombscare” subject but what were the reputations Bamba and Ambrose arrived with and how did that compare to their largely immaculate performances for us? Porteous has possibly been the most prone to a hot-headed error I’ve ever seen at Hibs.

I genuinely think it’s because he lets his emotions take over that he gets so reckless.

We all know he’s a Hibs fan, we’ve all seen him dive into endless needless tackles that he didn’t need to do, as if he had something extra to prove.

I know a Watford fan and they are adamant he’s not like that for them.

Clearly he doesn’t care as much about them and I’ve over thought this :greengrin

LeithMike
14-06-2024, 10:14 PM
Used up all our luck last year, everything was going in. Taking on top nations in friendlies was a stupid idea by Clarke, it totally destroyed all the momentum we had.

Looks like the 3-5-1-1 or whatever it is has maybe had its day although we've looked even worse when we use another formation.

Midfield needs sorted for Wednesday. But it looks an impossible task the way we've been playing.

Yep agree. Really rapid decline. No confidence or fight tonight. I also don’t get why we play our most competitive player as a wide forward - crying out for McGinn in the middle.

It was a tough ask tonight but Scotland didn’t even try to compete. Hugely disappointing but also predictable following the last few months.

Mcbizz1998
14-06-2024, 10:17 PM
I’m not saying I expected a win but ffs man. That was absolutely ****ing tragic.

14-06-2024, 10:20 PM
It was, but it wasn’t malicious. It was a desperate last ditch clearance, though definitely a red card.

Agree with this. People are just parroting the pundits and fellow fans who seek a scapegoat.

It’s like they think Porteous somehow calculated his bad tackle in a split second.

He reactively lunged to stop the ball. His lunge ended up in the wrong place. Not a cynical challenge - misplaced one.

14-06-2024, 10:27 PM
We should just come home tonight and give our place to Norway. They'll make a far better fist of it starting from -4 in the next two games than we will.

14-06-2024, 10:28 PM
Porteous, fn liability, wtf was that tackle all about? I thought he had cut that 2hit out after leaving us, evidently not. We were so poor it was unbelievable, even against a good Germany I expected more, what has happened to the Scotland of a year ago, free flowing, exciting good to watch? Ah well two games to go, sitting here in sunny Spain and my cheap beer. Cmon Scotland GERINTAETHUM....

14-06-2024, 10:29 PM
Agree with this. People are just parroting the pundits and fellow fans who seek a scapegoat.

It’s like they think Porteous somehow calculated his bad tackle in a split second.

He reactively lunged to stop the ball. His lunge ended up in the wrong place. Not a cynical challenge - misplaced one.

I’ve stuck up for Porteous in the past, I remember him getting sent off up at Aberdeen when I thought he’d genuinely tried to get the ball.

There is absolutely no way that can be defended. You just can’t go in like that, whether you’re going for the ball or not. It was a terrible challenge.

14-06-2024, 10:37 PM

14-06-2024, 10:38 PM
Germany were ruthless but yet again Clsrke was exposed for picking players unfit, not playing regularly and a horrific formation- what chance however has he got when Ralston is your preferred full back and you have a three of Porteous, Hanley and Hendry - none of whom are playing top level football- that was utterly embarrassing tonight, and it’s only going to be worse !

Time and time again they had players unmarked on the flanks - and he never changed it, adjusted, or made early tactical subs - he’s not as good a manager as the media make out. That was an utter embarrassment tonight.

14-06-2024, 10:41 PM
Germany were ruthless but yet again Clsrke was exposed for picking players unfit, not playing regularly and a horrific formation- what chance however has he got when Ralston is your preferred full back and you have a three of Porteous, Hanley and Hendry - none of whom are playing top level football- that was utterly embarrassing tonight, and it’s only going to be worse !

Time and time again they had players unmarked on the flanks - and he never changed it, adjusted, or made early tactical subs - he’s not as good a manager as the media make out. That was an utter embarrassment tonight.

Hanley wasn't in the starting line up. If he was, we might only been embarrassed.

14-06-2024, 10:42 PM
Hanley wasn't in the starting line up. If he was, we might only been embarrassed.

How often did he play for Norwich ?

14-06-2024, 10:44 PM
Not long watched the highlights(damn 2-10 shift)
Tough one to take no doubt for the Scots, some cracking goals though from Germany.

14-06-2024, 10:46 PM

I thought Clarke got it massively wrong again. But I’ll cut him some slack about Ralston being his preferred choice. He’s not, he’s third choice.

I thought he bottled it in trying to wait until half time to change it. Should have done it earlier as we were totally unable to get a foothold on the game.

14-06-2024, 10:46 PM
How often did he play for Norwich ?

He wasn't in the starting line up.

I didn't make a point of that to defend Clarke, more that I was surprised Porto got the nod.

14-06-2024, 10:53 PM
I thought Clarke got it massively wrong again. But I’ll cut him some slack about Ralston being his preferred choice. He’s not, he’s third choice.

I thought he bottled it in trying to wait until half time to change it. Should have done it earlier as we were totally unable to get a foothold on the game.

He yet again shoe-horned Robertson and Tierney into a defensive formation when the wise choice would have been playing Tierney further up as an outside left - he’s great at getting up the park and committing defenders - ultra cautious, super defensive and we played deep from the first minute. The amount of space on left and right was astonishing (for Germany)

14-06-2024, 10:54 PM

I didn't make a point of that to defend Clarke, more that I was surprised Porto got the nod.

True, wasn’t a dig at you buddy - just the fact what hope have we got when your three centre halves aren’t playing anywhere near top level football

14-06-2024, 11:01 PM
That was terrible. No passion, no skill nothing. I thought we’d lose but not so badly. I predicted we’d beat Switzerland but it’s going to be a huge turn around in performance.

14-06-2024, 11:04 PM

:agree::agree::agree:

There have been many Hibs centre halves labelled bomb scares over the years, many of them unfairly. Porteous is however without doubt the biggest correctly described bombscare of the lot. Never seen a player at Hibs have so many mistakes overlooked by the fans. Totally bizarre.

Saint Hibee
14-06-2024, 11:57 PM
:agree::agree::agree:

There have been many Hibs centre halves labelled bomb scares over the years, many of them unfairly. Porteous is however without doubt the biggest correctly described bombscare of the lot. Never seen a player at Hibs have so many mistakes overlooked by the fans. Totally bizarre.

Sorry, but simply not true. That was his only red card this entire season.

K-Zazu
15-06-2024, 05:57 AM
Have we got any pace in the team at all? Any wingers? Or some decent centre half’s too. Can’t believe how far off it we looked

Chipper1875
15-06-2024, 06:00 AM

Porto has been excellent for Scotland. Fully deserved to start. A terrible tackle last night.

15-06-2024, 06:16 AM
Porto has been excellent for Scotland. Fully deserved to start. A terrible tackle last night.

I was really critical of him in his last season at ER but I agree and he'll be back. Look at Romero for Spurs. A different class of player yes but still made a couple of these tackles last season.

Porto will know he can't afford any more of these but he's managed to eradicate them from his game with Watford so this stuff about it being his last chance for Scotland is obviously complete nonsense.

15-06-2024, 06:28 AM

I agree with you to a point but McGregor put in a block from a similar position in the second half but didn't go in feet first.

Trinity Hibee
15-06-2024, 06:33 AM

As a pro footballer you know how to make a tackle last ditch or not. He has done that challenge far too often and isn’t learning. Horrific and he will break someone’s leg one day

15-06-2024, 06:34 AM
Well it was good while it lasted. As usual with Scotland.

15-06-2024, 06:38 AM
Punting the ball to a target man to bring in the advancing McGinn and McTominay is Scotland’s sole asset and that has now been diminished as 1) those players are leg weary at the end of a long season and 2) it’s been sussed out - all you need to do is track them with pacy players.

The truth is Scotland are a poor team with terrible defenders and no forwards and have been found out. Whether they made Germany look better than they are or whether this German side have come of age, time will tell. Scotland fans should be hoping it’s the latter and we get improved performances and results against the Swiss and Hungarians.

15-06-2024, 06:46 AM
The performances in the friendlies had me worried and we certainly didn’t look any better last night. Going to be a tall order to get out the group

Trinity Hibee
15-06-2024, 06:50 AM
The performances in the friendlies had me worried and we certainly didn’t look any better last night. Going to be a tall order to get out the group

In reality we are nowhere near the level of most other teams in these tournaments. Our achievement is getting there. Last night was a reality check

Bridge hibs
15-06-2024, 07:06 AM
Punting the ball to a target man to bring in the advancing McGinn and McTominay is Scotland’s sole asset and that has now been diminished as 1) those players are leg weary at the end of a long season and 2) it’s been sussed out - all you need to do is track them with pacy players.

The truth is Scotland are a poor team with terrible defenders and no forwards and have been found out. Whether they made Germany look better than they are or whether this German side have come of age, time will tell. Scotland fans should be hoping it’s the latter and we get improved performances and results against the Swiss and Hungarians.Agree, its frightening how passive McGinn, McTominay and McGregor were in the middle, McGinn looked lost at times and on a number of occasions hit the ball a yard ahead of himself or just ran straight into a German player

Christie I may add is soft as ****ing ****, so many times easily shoved off the ball. Tierney bypassing the midfield often and just lumping it up to the anonymous Adams, Robertson not much better to be honest

Defence was a shambles and when Germany attacked they ran about like headless chickens, Hanley jumped like he was wearing concrete wellies. Up front ? Say no more

Watching those Scotland players stroll about chasing shadows for 90+ minutes reminded me of a Maybury Sunday league team the morning after an all night sesh on the hard stuff

HibsGW
15-06-2024, 07:10 AM
Still all to play for, terrible performance and result last night but plenty other teams will take a hammering off one of the big teams. Every chance we go through still but need to play better in the next 2. They’ll be totally different games, nothing like the quality of player Germany has.

15-06-2024, 07:34 AM
Sorry, but simply not true. That was his only red card this entire season.

It is true. I never mentioned red cards.

15-06-2024, 08:04 AM
Still all to play for, terrible performance and result last night but plenty other teams will take a hammering off one of the big teams. Every chance we go through still but need to play better in the next 2. They’ll be totally different games, nothing like the quality of player Germany has.

I expect a dreary draw against Switzerland to give us a glimmer of hope, then humped by Hungary who seen to be a pretty good team.

15-06-2024, 08:11 AM
Nothing to offer anywhere on the park. The plan was obviously to hold the Germans to a 0-0 draw and that went out the window after a few minutes with no plan B.

The Germans are bigging themselves in tv interviews after that game but I honestly have no idea how good they are because Scotland were so poor.

I'm struggling to see where we go from here.

15-06-2024, 08:14 AM
Clarke's biggest problem has been trying to shoehorn players into the team, Robertson/Tierney, McGinn in the wrong position and too many bang average players from the Championship. Sad state of affairs having Gunn, Adams and Ralston in our starting 11 against Germany.

15-06-2024, 08:15 AM
It was like watching Celtic or Rangers in Europe against a top team. Could barely get the ball and when they did they shat themselves and immediately gave it away. Embarrassing performance. It's done now though.

The type of team we are, I'd still expect us to be running Switzerland and Hungary close. That's the standard we should always be at, and as long as our key players are fit then we'll be competitive.

Our shortcomings are so obvious though that you'd be hard pushed to find any qualifier that were less competitive than we were last night. Those friendlies didn't really do us much good...

darwenhibby
Nothing to offer anywhere on the park. The plan was obviously to hold the Germans to a 0-0 draw and that went out the window after a few minutes with no plan B.

The Germans are bigging themselves in tv interviews after that game but I honestly have no idea how good they are because Scotland were so poor.

I'm struggling to see where we go from here.
I’ve near enough said the same.
As good as the Germans were we were equally as bad.
Will the Germans win it??

I think they will be one of those teams that start on fire and run out of steam against better opposition.
Hopefully we improve and get the points we need.

15-06-2024, 08:27 AM
I still can’t get over our lack of aggression last night.

Germanys pressing was about as good as you’ll see but simple things like Adam’s dropping in to harass their midfield in the way Vente did for us against Celtic last season seems a no brainer to me.

15-06-2024, 08:45 AM

Germanys pressing was about as good as you’ll see but simple things like Adam’s dropping in to harass their midfield in the way Vente did for us against Celtic last season seems a no brainer to me.

I think it all came from the way we were set up. The distances they all had to cover to try and get to the ball were too great. By the time they thought about it, the ball was already away to the next German in 10 yards of space.

Germany are obviously a superior team to Scotland but there shouldn't have been the type of gulf that there was last night. It was a really embarrassing performance.

15-06-2024, 08:51 AM
Clarke's biggest problem has been trying to shoehorn players into the team, Robertson/Tierney, McGinn in the wrong position and too many bang average players from the Championship. Sad state of affairs having Gunn, Adams and Ralston in our starting 11 against Germany.

Adams is a premier league player and our best option as a centre forward, he got no service or support then was hooked for Hanley when we tried to shore it up.

It's a match where Dykes would at least of harassed the defenders and closed them down.

15-06-2024, 08:54 AM

I thought it was interesting that even Nagelsmann was surprised by our lack of aggression.

15-06-2024, 08:57 AM
Neither Shankland or Adams are athletic enough to do the running needed to be a nuisance off the ball in a game where we will have little of the ball.

But There's nothing either could've or would've done in that first half when all we did in the few times we did have the ball was hoof it up to them with zero support.

Adams is still our best forward but it's a very low bar.

Greensunshine
15-06-2024, 09:04 AM
Porto being made a bit of a scape goat for that last night is ridiculous.

Steve Clarke needs to hold his hands up and take the pressure off the players for that performance.

The way we set up was awful. Huge gaps down both our flanks.

Players standing ten yards and more off their man ( in and around our own box is unacceptable) Leaving huge pockets of space in and around every Scotland player.

Players rigid in their shape not going with runners. Schoolboy stuff.

When we did manage to start closing down it was one player at a time.That never works, it needs to be as a collective and that’s something that the manager and coaches need to instill into the players.

We needed to do what the Germans done to us. Not give them anytime on the ball and make them compete for absolutely every ball.

We can all point fingers at Porto but let’s look at the players who really let us down last night.

McGregor, lost lamb.

McGinn, stood ten yards off his man trying his best to prevent a ball being played through the channels.

Robertson was like a headless chicken, no composure whatsoever.

So before everyone starts to point fingers at Porto, have a good look at the manager first and foremost and then the three senior players mentioned.

We should have had a plan to close them down and be in their faces physically. Instead we stood off them and when we did get possession it was the Germans who employed that tactic on us.

Steve Clarke was the real failure last night.

15-06-2024, 09:09 AM
Haven’t read this thread but felt a bit sorry for Porteous, particularly as that’s his tournament over. Definite red card and a bad challenge, but it was made in desperation and don’t think there was any malice in it, just panic. If he had managed to plant his left foot in the ground and not Gundogans ankle it would have been tackle of the tournament. Based purely on his Scotland career I don’t think this is further proof of rashness he’s not got rid off. For Scotland I think he has matured remarkably well and last night was just a split second decision that went wrong.

15-06-2024, 09:10 AM

Steve Clarke needs to hold his hands up and take the pressure off the players for that performance.

Players standing ten yards and more off their man. Leaving huge pockets of space in and around every Scotland player.

When we did manage to start closing down it was one player at a time.

We needed to do what the Germans done to us. Not give them anytime on the ball and make them compete for absolutely every ball.

We can all point fingers at Porto but let’s look at the players who really let us down last night.

McGregor, lost lamb.

McGinn, stood ten yards off his man trying his best to prevent a ball being played through the channels.

So before everyone starts to point fingers at Porto, have a good look at the manager first and foremost and then the three senior players mentioned.

We should have had a plan to close them down and be in their faces physically. Instead we stood off them and when we did get possession it was the Germans who employed that tactic on us.

Clarke has been great for us but that was a terrible line up last night

SickBoy32
15-06-2024, 09:13 AM
Porto getting the level of abuse he is (particularly on a hibs site!!) just goes to show how effective the smear campaign was by the Scottish media, after he had the gumption to wind up the hun 😂

Let’s start by calling out that goalie , chucked the game early - he’s no even Scottish ffs

15-06-2024, 09:17 AM
The game was lost long before the red card and penalty. Souness and Keane slagging Porteous is a bit of a joke after some of the tackles they put in.

We have three top players in Robertson, McGinn and McTominay. They are having to carry the rest of the team and if they are not on top form then we are always going to struggle.

I cannot see Scotland getting through the group stage but if they do there may be more heavy defeats to come.

15-06-2024, 09:17 AM
I’ve near enough said the same.
As good as the Germans were we were equally as bad.
Will the Germans win it??

I think they will be one of those teams that start on fire and run out of steam against better opposition.
Hopefully we improve and get the points we need.

I'm really not sure. The Germans had a tough time against Greece last week and were struggling when the Greeks took the game to them in the first half. The Greeks came out in the 2nd half trying to defend a 1 goal advantage and the Germans found their rhythm and ran out winners.

I think we made them look better than they were last night and think they will struggle with teams that actually try and attack them.

The statistics from last night are embarrassing and I just can't see where goals are going to come from. Wish I'd put a tenner on Rüdiger being Scotland's top scorer at the Euros.

15-06-2024, 09:18 AM

The truth is Scotland are a poor team with terrible defenders and no forwards and have been found out. Whether they made Germany look better than they are or whether this German side have come of age, time will tell. Scotland fans should be hoping it’s the latter and we get improved performances and results against the Swiss and Hungarians.

I don’t think either Switzerland or Hungary will be too concerned about Scotland after that horrendous performance….

Porto getting the level of abuse he is (particularly on a hibs site!!) just goes to show how effective the smear campaign was by the Scottish media, after he had the gumption to wind up the hun 😂

Let’s start by calling out that goalie , chucked the game early - he’s no even Scottish ffs
Porto wasn’t very good tho. Hes the kind of CB that many on here cry out for. But he’s really not a very good defender. Far too many sliding tackles and far too many tackles in general. Top defenders dont have to do that.

I'm really not sure. The Germans had a tough time against Greece last week and were struggling when the Greeks took the game to them in the first half. The Greeks came out in the 2nd half trying to defend a 1 goal advantage and the Germans found their rhythm and ran out winners.

I think we made them look better than they were last night and think they will struggle with teams that actually try and attack them.

The statistics from last night are embarrassing and I just can't see where goals are going to come from. Wish I'd put a tenner on Rüdiger being Scotland's top scorer at the Euros.

😊😊😊

15-06-2024, 09:19 AM
Porto getting the level of abuse he is (particularly on a hibs site!!) just goes to show how effective the smear campaign was by the Scottish media, after he had the gumption to wind up the hun [emoji23]

Let’s start by calling out that goalie , chucked the game early - he’s no even Scottish ffsIve defended Porteous multiple times on here (still don't think either red card V the Huns were a red) but last night's was a shocker. I don't think it was intentional but he's not a young laddie anymore and should have a bit more nous to know not to dive in directly at the german. He was always running the risk of that happening once he dives in. It reminded me of McPake. He used to do the same kind of thing.

15-06-2024, 09:21 AM

Players standing ten yards and more off their man ( in and around our own box is unacceptable) Leaving huge pockets of space in and around every Scotland player.

Players rigid in their shape not going with runners. Schoolboy stuff.

When we did manage to start closing down it was one player at a time.That never works, it needs to be as a collective and that’s something that the manager and coaches need to instill into the players.

McGregor, lost lamb.

Brilliant summation.

Chorley Hibee
15-06-2024, 09:21 AM
As bad a tackle as it was, I can't help but feel the Scottish media have been waiting on the first opportunity to jump on Porteous, and here it is.

I bet the trial by media wouldn't have been as harsh had he signed for the Huns.

Perhaps there should be an inquest into the manager and the more senior players in the squad.

15-06-2024, 09:23 AM
Adams is a premier league player and our best option as a centre forward, he got no service or support then was hooked for Hanley when we tried to shore it up.

It's a match where Dykes would at least of harassed the defenders and closed them down.

We could have had Gerd Müller playing up front for us last night and still not had a sniff at scoring. We just couldn't get out of our own half and with barely 22% possession, 0 shots on goal and only 2 touches of the ball in their box I doubt any striker would have made a difference.

Mcbizz1998
15-06-2024, 09:24 AM
Not entirely sure what Porteous was supposed to do other than fling himself at the ball? It was going to be another goal so he just went for it, ended badly. Last night wasn’t his fault.

15-06-2024, 09:31 AM

Could also point at McTominay or Adams or others who aren't "really" Scottish if you want to open that particular can of worms as a smokescreen for just how bad we were, Scottish or not Scottish.

And Porto was an idiot and was rightly sent off.

Greensunshine
15-06-2024, 09:42 AM
Could also point at McTominay or Adams or others who aren't "really" Scottish if you want to open that particular can of worms as a smokescreen for just how bad we were, Scottish or not Scottish.

Trying his best and giving his all to try and prevent us losing another goal with a last ditch tackle. He’s far from being an idiot.

There’s just nae need.

15-06-2024, 09:46 AM
Trying his best and giving his all to try and prevent us losing another goal with a last ditch tackle. He’s far from being an idiot.

There’s just nae need.

Nobody else in that squad would have made that tackle. But as I said before, there are others far more to blame. Porto will get over this, it's the first time in ages he's done it.

Greensunshine
15-06-2024, 09:46 AM
Not entirely sure what Porteous was supposed to do other than fling himself at the ball? It was going to be another goal so he just went for it, ended badly. Last night wasn’t his fault.

Agreed. Actually got good contact on the ball before contacting Gundogan in the follow through.
On reflection it wasn’t the best tackle but it’s not like he’s in the midfield trying to win the ball back, he’s a defender putting in a last ditch tackle to prevent a goal ffs!

I just think he’s getting it because people are so frustrated with everything that happened last night and he’s an easy target.

There’s plenty others who need mentioned

15-06-2024, 09:51 AM
Agreed. Actually got good contact on the ball before contacting Gundogan in the follow through.
On reflection it wasn’t the best tackle but it’s not like he’s in the midfield trying to win the ball back, he’s a defender putting in a last ditch tackle to prevent a goal ffs!

I just think he’s getting it because people are so frustrated with everything that happened last night and he’s an easy target.

There’s plenty others who need mentioned

It's a weird way to go into a tackle in that situation - most would probably go for the ball and try and spread themselves in case the forward got the shot away? If he keeps his left leg wide then there's no issue.

I can't think he's thought in that millisecond that he wants to do an opponent, but if that's any player's instinctive way of tackling then it's not going to be their last red card and they'd be well advised to coach themselves differently.

raeburnhibs
15-06-2024, 09:51 AM
As bad a tackle as it was, I can't help but feel the Scottish media have been waiting on the first opportunity to jump on Porteous, and here it is.

I bet the trial by media wouldn't have been as harsh had he signed for the Huns.

Perhaps there should be an inquest into the manager and the more senior players in the squad.

Tom English even mentioned the glass incident (again) pre-match in his article. English is hard to like!

15-06-2024, 09:54 AM

The boy who scored for us isn't really Scottish either.

The dalmeny
15-06-2024, 09:55 AM

Seriously gtf with this ****. born in England when his dad played for Norwich.

And Porto made the tackle not the media.

So much crap on social,media, this is up there.

15-06-2024, 09:58 AM
Seriously gtf with this ****. born in England when his dad played for Norwich.

And Porto made the tackle not the media.

So much crap on social,media, this is up there.

Exactly, his Dad the Scottish international! Some folk bending over backwards for RP, just like before

Porteous didn’t cost us the match last night, but he certainly didn’t help, and no one is responsible for that ankle and red card except him

15-06-2024, 10:02 AM
At 2-0 you’re always in a game

We weren't even in the game at 0-0

SickBoy32
15-06-2024, 10:04 AM
Porteous didn’t cost us the match last night, but he certainly didn’t help, and no one is responsible for that ankle and red card except him

You’re right - the English goalie did

SickBoy32
15-06-2024, 10:05 AM

There’s just nae need.

Yep agreed. A really poor post

15-06-2024, 10:09 AM
The boy who scored for us isn't really Scottish either.

His Grandad is Jamsie McRudiger, of the Elgin McRudigers...

15-06-2024, 10:10 AM

Jesus wept 😳

15-06-2024, 10:11 AM

It was a ridiculous tackle. He actually won the ball with his right foot but the positioning of his left leg and foot going into the challenge was reckless. Strange technique. Gundogan is lucky he’s not wearing a stookie today.

15-06-2024, 10:12 AM

He was an idiot, two footed lunge with studs showing is always going to be a red and a penalty, lucky he didn't seriously injured the player.

The Porto fanboys still out to defend all of his brain farts though, weird behaviour.

15-06-2024, 10:13 AM
Personally not really in the business of piling on any of the players for our national team. They'll be feeling worse than any of us right now.

15-06-2024, 10:17 AM
Folk on here are only defending Porto cause he used to play for Hibs. It was a shocker of a tackle

15-06-2024, 10:18 AM

Keep digging bud, that hole's getting deeper every post.

15-06-2024, 10:21 AM

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 10:39 AM
The game between Hungary v Switzerland , what would be the best outcome for Scotland in it today ? .

Groathillgrump
15-06-2024, 10:40 AM
The game between Hungary v Switzerland , what would be the best outcome for Scotland in it today ? .

It would be ideal if they could both lose.

15-06-2024, 10:47 AM

Draw for sure.

Then we need Germany to beat both of them. Then one win one draw for us will see us second in the group. Easy. Even one win one defeat for us should see us qualify in 3rd.

15-06-2024, 10:53 AM
Used to watch Porto play for the development team - not much has changed. Always got a rash challenge in him.

There is a reason he’s at Watford and not EPL - even at Watford not been convinced.

Plenty of better ex Hibs centre backs.

Last night summed him up with that tackle.

Scotland were awful but not surprised - not one player would get in that Germany team.

Add in a dodgy keeper - some poor tactics and having Che Adam’s up front who felt like playing with 10 men early on.

Scotland could easily be out by Wednesday night if Hungary beat Swiss. Hungary draw with Germany and Scotland lost to Swiss - would mean 4 points all round and 0 for Scotland.

Greensunshine
15-06-2024, 10:54 AM

Both very good sides. Our best hope is that they draw.

Hopefully a win and draw might be enough for us to progress but after last night, the question has to be do we really want to propane risk another embarrassment. …..of course we do 🤣

15-06-2024, 11:03 AM
Used to watch Porto play for the development team - not much has changed. Always got a rash challenge in him.

There is a reason he’s at Watford and not EPL - even at Watford not been convinced.

Plenty of better ex Hibs centre backs.

Last night summed him up with that tackle.

Scotland were awful but not surprised - not one player would get in that Germany team.

Add in a dodgy keeper - some poor tactics and having Che Adam’s up front who felt like playing with 10 men early on.

Scotland could easily be out by Wednesday night if Hungary beat Swiss. Hungary draw with Germany and Scotland lost to Swiss - would mean 4 points all round and 0 for Scotland.

Agree with you re Porto.

On your last para, Switzerland would only have 3 points, so we could match their points total. Think you are right we would still be out though as the fact they beat us counts as head to head record.

15-06-2024, 11:09 AM
Just don’t lose on Wednesday now. After last night I’d snap you’re hand of to get to the last game knowing a win gets us through.

Donegal Hibby
15-06-2024, 11:12 AM
Draw for sure.

Then we need Germany to beat both of them. Then one win one draw for us will see us second in the group. Easy. Even one win one defeat for us should see us qualify in 3rd.

Might be wrong though I thought I heard one of the commentators saying somebody actually winning today was the best outcome?.