View Full Version : NHC Germany v Scotland - the pre-match buid up

10-06-2024, 07:55 PM
So, who is getting excited about the game on Friday at 8pm. I can't wait.

What are your memories of Scotland v Germany games from the past?

Our record against them isn't great in recent years. It's 4 Scotland wins, 5 draws and 8 German wins, with Scotland's last win on the 28th February 1999, with Don Hutchison scoring a memorable goal. Since then it has been a draw and three defeats in a row, albeit only by a single goal. Will Friday be the same, or will the Scots get something out of the game. Also to note that all our four wins have been in friendlies, so we've never won in a competitive game against them. Time to change that, I hope.

Gordon Strachan's goal at the World Cup in 1986 was a memorable one. Pity we conceded after only 5 minutes and then again in the second half to lose 2-1.

And who can forget Christian Dailly's rant from the match in 2003.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhhrHcYidGw

What are your memories of Scotland versus Germany (West and/or Unified)?

10-06-2024, 08:06 PM
I was at the Dailly game in Dortmund, brilliant trip from start to finish (based in Cologne). We got friendly with a couple outside one of the pubs in Cologne and got invited to the girls parents house for tea, turned out her dad was a Panzer commander during WW2 and he had an absolutely huge collection of bagpipe music albums. We felt like we had stumbled onto the set of an Auf Weidersehen Pet episode! 😂

10-06-2024, 08:35 PM
First ever Scotland game the 1-1 draw with Germany in 2003. Sure Miller scored and we had Stevie Crawford playing upfront.

10-06-2024, 08:39 PM
I was at the Dailly Dortmund game. We had tickets right on the half way line half way back in the stand amongst the Germany fans. Great few days.

10-06-2024, 09:02 PM
My first trip to a Scotland away game was the 2-1 loss in Dortmund in 2014. A great trip, Anya scoring to give us hope before we gifted them the winner about 5 minutes later 😂

10-06-2024, 09:41 PM
Big Tam Gemmell chasing a German player roond the pitch trying to kick him up the bahooky in retaliation in a World Cup 2-3 defeat in Germany

10-06-2024, 09:45 PM
I think we'll get pumped, but the Scottish supporters will make it a great occasion.

11-06-2024, 05:35 AM

Our record against them isn't great in recent years. It's 4 Scotland wins, 5 draws and 8 German wins, with Scotland's last win on the 28th February 1999, with Don Hutchison scoring a memorable goal. Since then it has been a draw and three defeats in a row, albeit only by a single goal. Will Friday be the same, or will the Scots get something out of the game. Also to note that all our four wins have been in friendlies, so we've never won in a competitive game against them. Time to change that, I hope.

Gordon Strachan's goal at the World Cup in 1986 was a memorable one. Pity we conceded after only 5 minutes and then again in the second half to lose 2-1.

That record against Germany sounds a bit better than i thought it might have been.

11-06-2024, 06:20 AM
Christian !

11-06-2024, 06:21 AM
That record against Germany sounds a bit better than i thought it might have been.

Agree, though Scotland wins were in 1936, 1957 and 1959 prior to the 1999 win. In fact, we were unbeaten in our first six games against them until a 3-2 defeat in 1969. Of our 8 defeats, only one was by more than one goal, a 2-0 defeat in 1992.

11-06-2024, 08:12 AM
I vividly remember Scotland losing 2-1 in Dortmund.

We were denied a (possible) penalty in the first half and then Germany should have been down to ten in the second half, when Naismith had a clear run at goal and he was brought down by Howedes... one of the most blatant and cynical fouls I've ever seen.

Not that I hold a grudge.

Green forever
11-06-2024, 08:18 AM
Being in the blazing sunshine in Queretaro in Mexico 86, Gordon Strachan scored a cracker to take the lead then went south after that. Also being in the pubs with the German fans after the game, had a great laugh with them.

11-06-2024, 12:20 PM
The Euro 92 match was a sore one. No reason apart from luck that we lost that.

Let's face it, we're due a competitive win against them (most of Europe could say the same, right enough!).

11-06-2024, 05:22 PM
Meeting up with a few friends to watch the game in a local pub for a few beers, a catch up and to enjoy the game.

We haven’t done that for many years for a game of football so Euro Opener fever is definitely starting to build.

11-06-2024, 05:52 PM
nice mural in the weeg

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/448088567_993640546097075_4114322761033018296_n.jp g?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5f2048&_nc_ohc=oSMi8Rcg9mgQ7kNvgGdFWeX&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AYAgwFnaztcC1AGIS52gLqIaKGuGqQStxfoSM3e0rbb9 sA&oe=666E7291

11-06-2024, 06:43 PM
The Euro 92 match was a sore one. No reason apart from luck that we lost that.

Let's face it, we're due a competitive win against them (most of Europe could say the same, right enough!).

I remember just shaking my head watching it unfold. I recently listened to a podcast with memories of all the euros since the Van Basten final 1988 which got me nostalgic, so i watched the highlights of the 92 germany game and it was just as i remembered.
We pass up all these chances first half, Gough and Big galoot Dave Mcpherson go close with headers, McStay dribbling like Zidane, Mcallister goes just past the post from 20 yards, Mcclair misses a 1 on 1, we’re the better team first half but Karl Heinze Riedle scores and its 1-0 somehow at ht. Then theres a ridiculous Effenberg shot, wild deflection, spins up in the air it goes over Goram who doesnt know whats going on and in off the post. Fin ridiculous.
But we’re still the better team. Mcclair misses anither free header, Pat Nevin comes on and causes loads of trouble, mcstay has a chance, in the middle of this to be fair Hassler hits the post twice with great strikes but we’re really really good, Andy Roxburgh id almost forgotten about him being up against Vogts in the dugout. Id live to have seen xg stats for that game, we battered them.

And not forgetting Germany had a really strong team, the first Euros after unification and had all those Dortmund players plus the east germans, and were to reach the final that year. Another glorious failure for us.

11-06-2024, 06:51 PM
Well I’m gonna set up a projector opposite (supposed German bar) Brehemia that rather disgracefully is NOT showing the game (when I enquired about my booking).

imagine an Italian bar overseas not showing the World Cup / Euros? Let alone a tourney hosted there.

what’s German for fraud?

Farage probably ;)

11-06-2024, 09:32 PM
I was at the Dailly game in Dortmund, brilliant trip from start to finish (based in Cologne). We got friendly with a couple outside one of the pubs in Cologne and got invited to the girls parents house for tea, turned out her dad was a Panzer commander during WW2 and he had an absolutely huge collection of bagpipe music albums. We felt like we had stumbled onto the set of an Auf Weidersehen Pet episode! 😂
Tremendous, absolutely oot ma heid, so many brilliant memories of a free keg of beer from hotel owner to a friendly mugging if you can believe it, trips with Scotland always memorable. Win, lose or draw

Mcbizz1998
11-06-2024, 10:37 PM
Well I’m gonna set up a projector opposite (supposed German bar) Brehemia that rather disgracefully is NOT showing the game (when I enquired about my booking).

imagine an Italian bar overseas not showing the World Cup / Euros? Let alone a tourney hosted there.

what’s German for fraud?

Farage probably ;)

What’s disgraceful about a hospitality business deciding not to show a football game on their premises?

12-06-2024, 03:50 AM
What’s disgraceful about a hospitality business deciding not to show a football game on their premises?

There'll be plenty of venues offering people a safe haven away from wall to wall football in Germany over the next few weeks. There will definitely be a market for it.

12-06-2024, 05:29 AM
Anyone recommend any decent podcasts to listen to building up to the euros?

I’ve listened to the athletic one with James Richardson, any other recommendations?

12-06-2024, 06:22 AM
Anyone recommend any decent podcasts to listen to building up to the euros?

I’ve listened to the athletic one with James Richardson, any other recommendations?

Hampden roar has been good. Think the terrace has just done a euros episode.

12-06-2024, 06:25 AM
Hampden roar has been good. Think the terrace has just done a euros episode.

Perfect, thanks mate

12-06-2024, 07:02 AM

Our record against them is a lot better than I thought tbh.
Can't remember us beating them and i was born in 70.
Really looking forward to this one. Cmon Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

JammyDoidger
12-06-2024, 03:59 PM
Just drove down to Manchester, plenty Scotland fans at the services, and plenty colourful campers on the roads👍🏻🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

12-06-2024, 04:04 PM

I think there is a big chunk of classic Edinburgh snobbery about it and that irks people.

The same venue was quite happy to be used for the new Irn Bru advert set in the 'German beer hall'. It drops it's drawers for the rugby every year during the Six Nations and under a previous guise but same ownership it was all over the Superbowl every year as well. The football comes along and it's 'oh we don't want anything to do with that'.

12-06-2024, 04:05 PM
Just drove down to Manchester, plenty Scotland fans at the services, and plenty colourful campers on the roads👍🏻🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Flew from Manchester around lunch time. Quite a few Scotland fans in the airport.

12-06-2024, 04:19 PM
Flew from Manchester around lunch time. Quite a few Scotland fans in the airport.

The gathering has also started in Berlin. Saw a few small groups in and around the town centre.

JammyDoidger
12-06-2024, 04:40 PM

Ok to wear colours? Or keep under the radar until Germany🤣?

12-06-2024, 04:42 PM

Wear your colours with pride 🤣

JammyDoidger
12-06-2024, 04:45 PM
Wear your colours with pride 🤣

Thanks for the reassurance, never done this before mind🤣

12-06-2024, 04:50 PM
Perfect, thanks mate

Hampden roar have had experts on from Switzerland and Hungary to analyse their squads, results and feeling around the tournament

Well worth a listen

12-06-2024, 04:56 PM
Hampden roar have had experts on from Switzerland and Hungary to analyse their squads, results and feeling around the tournament

Well worth a listen

Yeah, listened to the Switzerland episode today and thought it was excellent. They said on the podcast the German episode was available too but I can’t see it?

12-06-2024, 07:12 PM
Enjoy guys, not been working for a while, got a new job recently, not got the funds to go, a tad devastated but, enjoy yourselves, nowt like a Scotland away trip.

12-06-2024, 07:18 PM
Got a feeling we will win on Friday.

12-06-2024, 07:27 PM
Got a feeling we will win on Friday.

Genuinely think we've got a chance at getting a result. Line up intrigues me. Midfield is key. Feels like we need the Mcgregor/Gilmour combo with McGinn and either McTominay or Christie depending on whether the former is fit

Suspect Adams will lead the line. We need pace in the final third as it's been acknowledged that Germany can concede position in their own first third so we need to be kn hand to pounce.

Huge pressure on Germany. Keep it tight opening 15. Sneak a goal in 20th and see how we do

12-06-2024, 07:42 PM
Genuinely think we've got a chance at getting a result. Line up intrigues me. Midfield is key. Feels like we need the Mcgregor/Gilmour combo with McGinn and either McTominay or Christie depending on whether the former is fit

Suspect Adams will lead the line. We need pace in the final third as it's been acknowledged that Germany can concede position in their own first third so we need to be kn hand to pounce.

Huge pressure on Germany. Keep it tight opening 15. Sneak a goal in 20th and see how we do

I really enjoyed the Hampden roar podcast that discussed the possible starting line up. After listening to it, I came away thinking that we really need to start Gilmour, McGregor, McTominay, Christie and McGinn. There’s no obvious striker out of Shankland and Adams, I wonder if Clarke could be tempted to go Craig Levein on us and play with no recognised striker and go with Christie up front with McTominay playing off him?! Is that crazy talk?

In terms of our chances on Friday, am I right in saying the opening game can regularly provide upsets or is that only in world cups?

12-06-2024, 07:58 PM
Thanks for the reassurance, never done this before mind��

Be loads of Scots moving through England. No bother.
BTW 1-1 on Friday, think it might just take Germany a game or two to get going. Atmosphere will be brilliant.

Enjoy

The Auld enemy.

12-06-2024, 08:12 PM
I really enjoyed the Hampden roar podcast that discussed the possible starting line up. After listening to it, I came away thinking that we really need to start Gilmour, McGregor, McTominay, Christie and McGinn. There’s no obvious striker out of Shankland and Adams, I wonder if Clarke could be tempted to go Craig Levein on us and play with no recognised striker and go with Christie up front with McTominay playing off him?! Is that crazy talk?

In terms of our chances on Friday, am I right in saying the opening game can regularly provide upsets or is that only in world cups?

I'm off the same opinion regarding that midfield 5 bingo but A) there's no chance we'll move to a back 4 or B) we'll go 5-5-0

The only conclusion I reach is that we will alternate between Christie and Gilmour depending on opponent. So gilmour plays against Germany then Christie comes in from the start vs the Swiss. Depending on the 2 results will see which approach we take vs Hungary

All my assumptions hinges on McTominay being fully fit which we don't know yet, given he sat out both warm up matches

12-06-2024, 08:26 PM

Adam’s is an obvious striker

12-06-2024, 08:30 PM
I think there is a big chunk of classic Edinburgh snobbery about it and that irks people.

The same venue was quite happy to be used for the new Irn Bru advert set in the 'German beer hall'. It drops it's drawers for the rugby every year during the Six Nations and under a previous guise but same ownership it was all over the Superbowl every year as well. The football comes along and it's 'oh we don't want anything to do with that'.

Agree bit of a joke

12-06-2024, 08:42 PM
Adam’s is an obvious striker

No, I know, but I mean no obvious pick out of Adams or Shankland. I don’t think either have impressed enough to make themselves undroppable and neither likely to get any change out of the German defence.

cubehindthegoal
13-06-2024, 01:16 AM

Classic Edinburgh snobbery ? Define what that is ? Being from Edinburgh I’m curious … and does it include classic Leith snobbery ? lol I went to school in Leith so I might be doubly snobby myself …

All sounds a bit dictatorial … so who should decide what they show ..non-snobs presumably.. lol

13-06-2024, 06:29 AM
No, I know, but I mean no obvious pick out of Adams or Shankland. I don’t think either have impressed enough to make themselves undroppable and neither likely to get any change out of the German defence.

Imo if between the two of them there is only one choice however you may be right and given Adams not fully fit wouldn’t be a huge surprise as you say Christie playing up and packing midfield area.

Trinity Hibee
13-06-2024, 06:29 AM
Classic Edinburgh snobbery ? Define what that is ? Being from Edinburgh I’m curious … and does it include classic Leith snobbery ? lol I went to school in Leith so I might be doubly snobby myself …

All sounds a bit dictatorial … so who should decide what they show ..non-snobs presumably.. lol

Think his post has explained it perfectly. These venues are all keen to take advantage of Taylor swift and 6 nations/rugby related stuff but when it comes to football none of them are interested as they think football fans are ****

13-06-2024, 06:31 AM

Looking down on football same establishment embracing other sports yet ignoring a huge international event. Maybe the same way the huge financial institutions in the city have completely ignored the national game and local clubs in terms of sponsorship

13-06-2024, 06:44 AM
Think his post has explained it perfectly. These venues are all keen to take advantage of Taylor swift and 6 nations/rugby related stuff but when it comes to football none of them are interested as they think football fans are ****

Hear hear

13-06-2024, 09:42 AM
Yeah, listened to the Switzerland episode today and thought it was excellent. They said on the podcast the German episode was available too but I can’t see it?

Just released this morning mate, will give it a listen at some point

13-06-2024, 09:43 AM
Just released this morning mate, will give it a listen at some point

I just listened to it, was ok but the German guy was a bit dull. Wasn’t the best listen I don’t think.

Mcbizz1998
13-06-2024, 09:51 AM

well there is obviously a reason for it. They aren’t passing up the chance to make a lot of money because they don’t like football.

football fans cause trouble, that’s an unfortunate reality. Some venues weigh up the risk of trouble vs the opportunity to cash in and decide not to bother. There have been pubs on Easter Road that don’t allow football colours for the same reason but will allow you to have a rugby top on.

Having said that, I think pretty boy mentioned Brewhemia were happy to use their venue for a Euros advert as a German beer hall or something? If that’s the case then it’s a bit of a joke they aren’t showing it.

13-06-2024, 10:04 AM

I flew to Kyiv from Luton during the 2012 Euros wearing a (green) Germany top. Got some good-natured abuse but no problems.

People tend to take the worst of a fanbase and assume it applies to all of those fans – obviously England have some of the most obnoxious ersehole fans going, but the majority are fine.

We had bought tickets for a random quarter-final before the groups were drawn – it turned out to be England v Italy so there were huge numbers of England fans in the city. We did encounter a few absolute weapons but most were really decent. Pirlo's panenka quietened them down.

13-06-2024, 12:46 PM
Imo if between the two of them there is only one choice however you may be right and given Adams not fully fit wouldn’t be a huge surprise as you say Christie playing up and packing midfield area.

Personally happy with either Shankland or Adams for the Germany game.

I’d be absolutely against Christie playing up-top instead of either of them and don’t see any chance of Clarke doing that either.

13-06-2024, 12:52 PM
Nerves starting. Will only grow until the pre-match beers.

13-06-2024, 12:54 PM

13-06-2024, 01:29 PM
Started on the Scotland tunes now. Cannot wait

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/2TgKjYbbboamv2WiY56QeO?si=jJkttKOMQJiTcJGK-6HvYg&pi=P_Ttx9CES4Ont

13-06-2024, 01:31 PM
I hope whatever village or town you're in there's more euro fever than down here in peebles

Walked the high street earlier on and not a single flag out for it

13-06-2024, 01:33 PM
I remember just shaking my head watching it unfold. I recently listened to a podcast with memories of all the euros since the Van Basten final 1988 which got me nostalgic, so i watched the highlights of the 92 germany game and it was just as i remembered.
We pass up all these chances first half, Gough and Big galoot Dave Mcpherson go close with headers, McStay dribbling like Zidane, Mcallister goes just past the post from 20 yards, Mcclair misses a 1 on 1, we’re the better team first half but Karl Heinze Riedle scores and its 1-0 somehow at ht. Then theres a ridiculous Effenberg shot, wild deflection, spins up in the air it goes over Goram who doesnt know whats going on and in off the post. Fin ridiculous.
But we’re still the better team. Mcclair misses anither free header, Pat Nevin comes on and causes loads of trouble, mcstay has a chance, in the middle of this to be fair Hassler hits the post twice with great strikes but we’re really really good, Andy Roxburgh id almost forgotten about him being up against Vogts in the dugout. Id live to have seen xg stats for that game, we battered them.

And not forgetting Germany had a really strong team, the first Euros after unification and had all those Dortmund players plus the east germans, and were to reach the final that year. Another glorious failure for us.

Thanks (I think) for reminding me of that one. It all came back to me as I read your post. Brian McClair :bitchy:.

It put me in mind of when Graeme Sharp used to be selected. I remember Hugh McIlvanney during a game referring to his "mystifying off the ball movements".

Scotland at international tournaments: it's the football equivalent of serial heartbreak. If our performances were a film character we'd be Col. Ryan in Von Ryan's Express every single time.

13-06-2024, 01:46 PM
I hope whatever village or town you're in there's more euro fever than down here in peebles

My boys school has done absolutely nothing for it and it’s really annoyed me. Not even so much as a flag in a window.

I’m sending him in wearing his Scotland strip tomorrow, hopefully a few other families do the same with their kids.

13-06-2024, 01:50 PM
My boys school has done absolutely nothing for it and it’s really annoyed me. Not even so much as a flag in a window.

I’m sending him in wearing his Scotland strip tomorrow, hopefully a few other families do the same with their kids.

It's all been quite low key, apart from the usual flags etc outside pubs.

Have been in Glasgow a lot recently and it's the same there - some pubs with flags, a few big advertising boards and that's about it.

13-06-2024, 02:13 PM

It's world childrens rights day tomorrow and my bairn's school have encouraged kids to wear a colour representing their favourite right (there is a colour chart for such a thing apparently). They have however strongly suggested they choose the 'right to nationality and statehood' and wear a national team football top. They have been making flags all week and had a beat the goalie competition the other day as well. They seem to be pretty into it.

There are loads of flags flying in gardens near me, pubs are decked out and a few folk have flags in their windows or flying from their cars as well. Seasonal aisle at the local supermarket is full of Scotland flags, bunting etc.

I'm definitely picking up a real buzz but others I have spoken with have said differently, suppose it just depends where you are and who you are speaking to.

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-06-2024, 03:15 PM
Anyone else really not getting that “buzz” yet? Finishing time tomorrow I’m sure that’ll all change mind you

MKHIBEE
13-06-2024, 03:26 PM

Cant let the football get in the way of the Beltane Festival coming up

13-06-2024, 03:44 PM
When I lived in County Durham most houses had a St George’s Cross out the window and loads of cars had wee flags attached. 2002 World Cup. Nothing comparable here.

13-06-2024, 03:54 PM
When I lived in County Durham most houses had a St George’s Cross out the window and loads of cars had wee flags attached. 2002 World Cup. Nothing comparable here.

Was all the rage back then. Hardly any flags out and the car flag fad is well and truly over. Pretty low key in England right now I'd say.

13-06-2024, 04:07 PM
Was all the rage back then. Hardly any flags out and the car flag fad is well and truly over. Pretty low key in England right now I'd say.

Interesting. My house stood out like a sore thumb back then not having a flag.

Jim Herriot
13-06-2024, 04:10 PM
Speaking of flags, got this year's ABE flag ready...

13-06-2024, 04:15 PM

"No one likes us we dont care"😃

14-06-2024, 06:12 AM
Going to be a long day.

:hyper

14-06-2024, 06:35 AM
Greggs sausage roll and a tin of Tennents for breakfast before heading for the airport.

Feels like a lifetime ago all this was booked but finally getting the trip to a major tournament that was commonplace for generations before.

14-06-2024, 06:37 AM
Sitting in Mannheim Hauptbanhof having breakfast before train to Munchen

14-06-2024, 07:01 AM

14-06-2024, 07:06 AM

Just got on the train in Augsburg to head to Munich.

14-06-2024, 07:32 AM

I hope most people are as boring as me and know these as Serbia and Slovenia… ?

14-06-2024, 07:37 AM
I hope most people are as boring as me and know these as Serbia and Slovenia… ?

Yep, mountains = Slovenia, some kind of cross thing = Slovakia.

14-06-2024, 07:41 AM
Got serious FOMO seeing all the pics and videos on social media of fans in Germany.

For those of us stuck here, I’m assuming it is the English ITV and BBC presentation that we are being lumbered with for our games rather than a BBC Scotland or STV presentation? In other words, smugness from English presenters and pundits with a token Souness or McFadden thrown in.

14-06-2024, 07:50 AM
Got serious FOMO seeing all the pics and videos on social media of fans in Germany.

For those of us stuck here, I’m assuming it is the English ITV and BBC presentation that we are being lumbered with for our games rather than a BBC Scotland or STV presentation? In other words, smugness from English presenters and pundits with a token Souness or McFadden thrown in.

I’ve already had to switch off this morning. 40 seconds or so of Scotland on BBC then the rest about Alan Shearer and England.

Even Mrs A commented on lack of coverage and even suggested it would have been different if England had been playing.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-06-2024, 07:55 AM
Yep, mountains = Slovenia, some kind of cross thing = Slovakia.

Wrong way around I think, double headed eagle thing with the cross is Serbia.

14-06-2024, 07:56 AM
Another example of this. Teuchtars Landing in Leith showed neither the Scottish Cup or FA Cup finals the other week, as there was a ‘big game’ of rugby on

Pretentious as anything and sums Edinburgh up. I hate rugby snobs, worst *****

14-06-2024, 08:02 AM
Wrong way around I think, double headed eagle thing with the cross is Serbia.

Yes that's the Serbian flag, but I'm talking about the Slovakian flag which should be included (in place of the Slovenian flag). Slovakia and Slovenia's flags are the same other than the coat of arms (cross thing vs mountains).

14-06-2024, 08:30 AM
:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

Day of the match, build up over. Let's get some points on the board.