View Full Version : Meet your technical performance manager.,

10-06-2024, 03:06 PM
None other than David Marshall.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/june/10/david-marshall-retires---joins-hibs-football-department-/?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR1R5COLxE_lzZ_drflbK87T IWFqbnK8H_bJwkikUt90Esc9h71XDwAqoPE_aem_AS9pCj1gx-DD-exhJrVeV88R1VSBfQ0e6DuZ_3VN6kWhjTKE0QfLeG2yBYl_B_j vcxPhD2dtshKrx7uAZMn55Sb3

10-06-2024, 03:07 PM
Great. Didn't know we needed one. Now I'm wondering why we never had one sooner.

What is it?

10-06-2024, 03:12 PM
Good luck to him in his new role

10-06-2024, 03:14 PM
I actually like the idea of experienced and good pro’s like him getting jobs at the club. Think it can only be a positive and having played the game they will be realistic about the standards and demands.

No idea what he’s actually doing but he’s done a masters so clearly has an interest and passion and not just doing it as a hobby - he’ll have plenty money

10-06-2024, 03:14 PM
We have managers for managers at Hibs these days. Biggest jobs for the boys con going. Another wage wasted that can’t be spent on a player.[emoji35]

Fuzzywuzzy
10-06-2024, 03:15 PM
Would have been great if he could have technically managed his own performances

10-06-2024, 03:16 PM
No idea what that job entails, but at least he's retired and we dont have to endure another season of his poor goalkeeping.

10-06-2024, 03:19 PM
We have managers for managers at Hibs these days. Biggest jobs for the boys con going. Another wage wasted that can’t be spent on a player.[emoji35]

LunasBoots
10-06-2024, 03:19 PM
I'm raging.
don't know what about yet but thought I'd get in early.

😁

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 03:20 PM
I'm raging.
don't know what about yet but thought I'd get in early.

10-06-2024, 03:24 PM
Meh !

Sounds as though he will be working closely with MM

Were at Cardiff City at the same time

Hibees1973
10-06-2024, 03:24 PM
Correct decision given his inconsistent performances since he joined us. I had hoped when he signed he would be a rock and a mainstay as our goalkeeper for 3 -4 years, but sadly not.

Not convinced by the new role given to him as I thought this kind of thing would be under MacKay's remit as Sporting Director of the whole Football Operations at the club. No doubt a good pro throughout his career so may have something to add.

10-06-2024, 03:26 PM
Is it not basically just Mackays role with a view to him eventually taking over from him? Didn't Bournemouth do a similar thing with Richard Hughes ect

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

10-06-2024, 03:26 PM
Correct decision given his inconsistent performances since he joined us. I had hoped when he signed he would be a rock and a mainstay as our goalkeeper for 3 -4 years, but sadly not.

Not convinced by the new role given to him as I thought this kind of thing would be under MacKay's remit as Sporting Director of the whole Football Operations at the club. No doubt a good pro throughout his career so may have something to add.

I’ve no idea what the job entails but I’m sure we are now working on getting him an assistant and a PA to make sure he isn’t worked too hard.

10-06-2024, 03:28 PM
I’ve no idea what the job entails but I’m sure we are now working on getting him an assistant and a PA to make sure he isn’t worked too hard.

You’ve no idea what the job entails but know it’s a wasted wage?

10-06-2024, 03:28 PM
They seem to be just making up roles these days

However best of luck to Marshall. He’s a good pro and like others have said probably good to keep someone like him round the club.

Bridge hibs
10-06-2024, 03:36 PM

However best of luck to Marshall. He’s a good pro and like others have said probably good to keep someone like him round the club.

Its not a made up role, loads of clubs have the same or variations of that role

Arsenal: Sporting director - Edu Gaspar
Aston Villa: President of football operations - Ramon Rodriguez Verdejo (Monchi); Director of football - Damian Vidagany
Bournemouth: Technical director - Simon Francis
Brentford: Director of football - Phil Giles, technical director- Lee Dykes
Brighton: Technical director: David Weir
Burnley: Director of football - Paul Jenkins
Chelsea: Co-sporting directors - Laurence Stewart and Paul Winstanley; Technical director - Christopher Vivell
Crystal Palace: Sporting director - Dougie Freedman
Everton: Director of football - Kevin Thelwell
Fulham: Sporting director - Tony Khan
Liverpool: CEO of football - Michael Edwards; Sporting director - Richard Hughes
Luton: Chief recruitment officer - Mike Harford
Man City: Sporting director - Txiki Begiristain
Man Utd: Technical director - Jason Wilcox
Newcastle: Sporting director - formerly Dan Ashworth
Nott'm Forest: Sporting director - Ross Wilson
Spurs: Technical director - Johan Lange
West Ham: Technical director - Tim Steidten
Wolves: Sporting director - Matt Hobbs

Explained here

https://www.premierleague.com/news/3991780

10-06-2024, 03:36 PM
Did he not say recently that he was doing a degree in Sporting Directorship or am I getting him mixed up?

Yes him, I should have read the article.

10-06-2024, 03:37 PM
The performance director is the person inside a club or a federation in charge of overseeing the different performance departments of the club such as sports science, medical, nutrition, S&C or analytics, in order to ensure the players' optimal fitness and performance on the game day, following the coaching philosophy

10-06-2024, 03:39 PM
Any day now we will sign a few players for the technical manager to technically manage, whatever that entails.

10-06-2024, 03:41 PM
The football dept was failing, we were due to carry out a review, and I'd assumed that the review would suggest we had to make certain changes.

This fits with us changing stuff hopefully to bring about an improvement in our footballing fortunes.

Sounds good to me.

10-06-2024, 03:49 PM
How lucky are we as a club btw?

Needed a head of football operations and the best man for the job just happened to be unemployed and pals with the chairman.

Needed a head coach and the best man for the job just happened to be at the club already.

Needed a person to fill this role and best person for the job just happened to be at the club.

Hope this luck holds through to next season

10-06-2024, 03:51 PM
How lucky are we as a club btw?

Needed a head of football operations and the best man for the job just happened to be unemployed and pals with the chairman.

Needed a head coach and the best man for the job just happened to be at the club already.

Needed a person to fill this role and best person for the job just happened to be at the club.

Hope this luck holds through to next season

You’ll be chuffed when you find out our new midfield is Newell, JDH and Campbell.[emoji6]

10-06-2024, 03:51 PM
No idea what that job entails, but at least he's retired and we dont have to endure another season of his poor goalkeeping.

Harsh :greengrin

10-06-2024, 03:52 PM

Assume feedback from Black Knights?

10-06-2024, 04:02 PM
Is it not basically just Mackays role with a view to him eventually taking over from him? Didn't Bournemouth do a similar thing with Richard Hughes ect

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

We cannae be employing a replacement for Mackay a week after he's in the job.

But I do think technical performance director does sound like something we were told would be part of Mackays remit.

10-06-2024, 04:04 PM
You’ll be chuffed when you find out our new midfield is Newell, JDH and Campbell.[emoji6]

Reported😏

Greensunshine
10-06-2024, 04:09 PM
Good luck David and welcome to Hibernain. 😜

Keepthefaith
10-06-2024, 04:10 PM
Is it possible that this has come out of the review? Folk were crying out suggesting that appointing Gray was counterintuitive to the review, yet when we have an appointment that clearly points to a further restructuring of the club, akin to the findings of the review, it's suddenly a waste of money?

IMO he appears to be a good pro and someone who knows the demands of the club. Surely that's positive?

10-06-2024, 04:13 PM
Is it typical for a club of our size and budget to have so many non playing staff?

On the one hand we have the club mentioning compensation when discussing a potential new manager, on the other we are creating more new posts, have existing posts (McDermott where we have no idea what he really does. It would be good to hear more from the key figures at Hibs. Maybe they can enlighten us on the strategy? It might even make sense

10-06-2024, 04:14 PM
It’s a made up role.
If it’s not, just how unprofessional was this club not to have such an important role before now.

10-06-2024, 04:16 PM
It’s a made up role.
If it’s not, just how unprofessional was this club not to have such an important role before now.

How the hell he's supposed to work a laptop with goalie gloves on, I've no idea!

Typical hibs.

Gordy M
10-06-2024, 04:17 PM
We demand change, we are crap and we want a change in management and how the club is run......review......change in structure/management......no we dont want that change we want something else.....jeez, folk just bash the club at all quarters now......this place is relentess.

10-06-2024, 04:18 PM

But fair 😂

TrinityHFC
10-06-2024, 04:21 PM
More football people in the football dept was what people wanted.

10-06-2024, 04:28 PM

Yeah probably the kind of non job that exists at loser clubs like Celtc or Man City.

Who’d want their record eh?

10-06-2024, 04:31 PM
There is nothing, NOTHING that Hibs do on anything that some folk will piss and moan about. Well done Hibs to have had a review, identified a gap and filled that with a guy who has won multiple titles and dozens of international caps

10-06-2024, 04:31 PM
Yeah probably the kind of non job that exists at loser clubs like Celtc or Man City.

Man City's maybe. Never been a big fan of the fields of Athenry.

10-06-2024, 04:38 PM
There is nothing, NOTHING that Hibs do on anything that some folk will piss and moan about. Well done Hibs to have had a review, identified a gap and filled that with a guy who has won multiple titles and dozens of international caps

There is nothing, NOTHING that most hibs fans won’t find a positive in……………

Someone posted a bunch of clubs further up, probably turning over more a year than we’ve done in decades.

Made up job for the boys.

10-06-2024, 04:42 PM
We demand change, we are crap and we want a change in management and how the club is run......review......change in structure/management......no we dont want that change we want something else.....jeez, folk just bash the club at all quarters now......this place is relentess.
It really is relentless

10-06-2024, 04:43 PM

Do you know what his day to day role will be at the club, and do you know if having international caps helps that?

Maybe it’ll come out in the next weeks, but I think it’d be beneficial for Hibs to explain what various folks jobs actually entail at the club. I’ve nae idea.

What does Malky Mackay do, what does Brian McDermott do, what does David Marshall do?

Were we just not doing the things Malky and Marshall are doing now last season?

Gordy M
10-06-2024, 04:43 PM

Someone posted a bunch of clubs further up, probably turning over more a year than we’ve done in decades.

Why would they do that?

10-06-2024, 04:46 PM

Absolute pish. Other than playing fir us for two seasons then Marshall has no connection to Hibs so classing him as one of the boys is garbage. And so because other clubs, successful clubs, have more money than us means we shouldn't do what they do?

10-06-2024, 04:50 PM

I was hoping for better players when I was wishing for change. [emoji2369]

10-06-2024, 04:53 PM

Lucky we have a budget to match theirs as well.[emoji849]

10-06-2024, 04:53 PM
It’s a made up role.

Aye

It’s either not a job at all and we’re just wanting to pay Marshall a wage for some bizarre reason, or it’s a very, very important one that we definitely should have had someone(better than Marshall) in for years ago.

Whichever angle.. **** sake hibs!!!!

10-06-2024, 04:56 PM

Some folk on this site can't wait to moan about anything hibs related, it's getting boring now seeing the same posters constantly having a go at the club for something its no wonder so many folk stop coming to the site as much now

10-06-2024, 04:57 PM
Absolute pish. Other than playing fir us for two seasons then Marshall has no connection to Hibs so classing him as one of the boys is garbage. And so because other clubs, successful clubs, have more money than us means we shouldn't do what they do?

😂😂 absolute pish? It’s absolute pish that we seem to have created an understudy role to malky mackay?

Garbage though, cool.

10-06-2024, 04:57 PM
I was hoping for better players when I was wishing for change. [emoji2369]

Same.

I’d have been happy enough with Monty sacked and new manager in who was allowed to sign players he felt we needed.

I wasn’t sure of the benefit of Malky Mackay coming in, and what it’d achieve/add. Adding Marshall, I’m not sure we need either of them.

We were told Brian McDermott would be a good appointment but I cannae see any benefit we’ve had from him being employed here.

Just give me a better team to watch! That’s all I’m bothered about.

10-06-2024, 05:00 PM
Fitba' folk ken whits gaun oan

10-06-2024, 05:01 PM
Same.

I’d have been happy enough with Monty sacked and new manager in who was allowed to sign players he felt we needed.

I wasn’t sure of the benefit of Malky Mackay coming in, and what it’d achieve/add. Adding Marshall, I’m not sure we need either of them.

We were told Brian McDermott would be a good appointment but I cannae see any benefit we’ve had from him being employed here.

Just give me a better team to watch! That’s all I’m bothered about.

Is he still here?

10-06-2024, 05:04 PM
It’s a made up role.

****in unreal.

So either the way the club was wrong, and the only way it could be rectified is time travel?

Mrimbetween
10-06-2024, 05:04 PM
Nout wrong with employing with in but it does suggest to me that money isnt a plenty and be careful for what we wish for

I like big Marshal, top lad

10-06-2024, 05:05 PM
Is he still here?

I dunno, I've not seen anything saying he's left.

He was Director of Football, Malky is what? Sporting Director? 2 different jobs? Same job? Different titles so we can get rid of BMc and make that role "redundant"?

Was McDermott just ***** at his job and Malky is replacing him? Are they both going to work here?

Where does Marshall fit in?

10-06-2024, 05:06 PM
Same.

Just give me a better team to watch! That’s all I’m bothered about.Same, give us a team to cheer on!... maybe these appointments are to help that happen but I'm getting to the stage where I'll be giving them less time to show performance improvements than I initially thought I'd be giving them.

10-06-2024, 05:17 PM
For those that didn’t read the article around basically what he’ll be doing:

He will work on strengthening the Football Operations Department on the performance side, working directly to support the Sporting Director and First Team operation.

During his playing career, Marshall completed a Master’s degree in Sports Directorship whilst also joining the Board of the Hibernian Community Foundation and is now eager to put that experience to good use.

Upon announcing his retirement, David Marshall said: “Having made the decision to retire from football, I’m delighted to be given the opportunity in this role at the Football Club. I’ve got to know and understand the Club over the last two seasons and I look forward to working closely with Malky Mackay to create an environment which can deliver success both on and off the pitch.

"This new role is a great opportunity for me to work across various different performance departments within the Football Club and to learn from Malky who has years of experience in the game.

"The fans' support will be vital to our success and I know, as always, you’ll be there for the team, David Gray and his coaching staff. I am looking forward to getting started for the 2024/25 campaign.”

Hibernian FC Sporting Director, Malky Mackay, added: “I am delighted that David will stay with our club in a new role in which I know he has a real passion for.

“I’ve known him a long time and his work ethic, values and standards are exactly what are required.

“He will work closely with me to bring sustained success to our club and will be a major asset to Hibernian FC.”

10-06-2024, 05:17 PM
Happy to give Malky the benefit of the doubt. It's his job to put the right people in the right places. He's making changes. Marshall is obviously a smart cookie who has gone and got himself a degree to do the role he's been appointed to do. Malky sees something in it. Let's see how it pans out.

10-06-2024, 05:21 PM
For those that didn’t read the article around basically what he’ll be doing:

He will work on strengthening the Football Operations Department on the performance side, working directly to support the Sporting Director and First Team operation.

During his playing career, Marshall completed a Master’s degree in Sports Directorship whilst also joining the Board of the Hibernian Community Foundation and is now eager to put that experience to good use.

Upon announcing his retirement, David Marshall said: “Having made the decision to retire from football, I’m delighted to be given the opportunity in this role at the Football Club. I’ve got to know and understand the Club over the last two seasons and I look forward to working closely with Malky Mackay to create an environment which can deliver success both on and off the pitch.

"This new role is a great opportunity for me to work across various different performance departments within the Football Club and to learn from Malky who has years of experience in the game.

"The fans' support will be vital to our success and I know, as always, you’ll be there for the team, David Gray and his coaching staff. I am looking forward to getting started for the 2024/25 campaign.”

Hibernian FC Sporting Director, Malky Mackay, added: “I am delighted that David will stay with our club in a new role in which I know he has a real passion for.

“I’ve known him a long time and his work ethic, values and standards are exactly what are required.

“He will work closely with me to bring sustained success to our club and will be a major asset to Hibernian FC.”

If you think that tells anyone what he’s doing then I must be reading it wrong

Chipper1875
10-06-2024, 05:22 PM
Is it typical for a club of our size and budget to have so many non playing staff?

On the one hand we have the club mentioning compensation when discussing a potential new manager, on the other we are creating more new posts, have existing posts (McDermott where we have no idea what he really does. It would be good to hear more from the key figures at Hibs. Maybe they can enlighten us on the strategy? It might even make sense

They think they are running a prem
Club . Hence we have a 7 million operating loss

10-06-2024, 05:23 PM
If you think that tells anyone what he’s doing then I must be reading it wrong

Well we’re unlikely to see the job description so can only go with what has been released. Some people were asking, “what is this role?”

A broad overview does explain some of it.

10-06-2024, 05:24 PM
No real thoughts on the role in itself. It’s how far reaching the review and recruitment search has been. Mainly people either already at the club, friendly with those running the club and all free. Are we fortunate they were all the best candidates from the whole wide world of football? Paul Hanlon next and to return as assistant?

10-06-2024, 05:28 PM
No real thoughts on the role in itself. It’s how far reaching the review and recruitment search has been. Mainly people either already at the club, friendly with those running the club and all free. Are we fortunate they were all the best candidates from the whole wide world of football? Paul Hanlon next and to return as assistant?

Hanlon could come back as Director of Football Decisions. That role helps the club with making decisions about the football side of things.

Then we could get Lewis back too, Director of Implementation of Football Delivery. Assisting with making sure we play football.

We asked for change so we should be happy with those appointments.

10-06-2024, 05:31 PM
Hanlon could come back as Director of Football Decisions. That role helps the club with making decisions about the football side of things.

Then we could get Lewis back too, Director of Implementation of Football Delivery. Assisting with making sure we play football.

Wtf is the problem with people right now, not even giving the club the chance to improve before throwing the toys out the pram again.

It's ****ing painful.

10-06-2024, 05:33 PM
Wtf is the problem with people right now, not even giving the club the chance to improve before throwing the toys out the pram again.

It's ****ing painful.

What toys? What pram?

I’m saying I don’t understand what we’re employing people to do.

I’m not saying I’m not supporting the club.

Relax.

10-06-2024, 05:37 PM
What toys? What pram?

Relax.

Yeah the toys are well and truly mile away from the pram these days, and this wasn't really aimed at you, but going through this thread is pretty painful.

Hibs are making changes, seemingly to improve and provide some kind of continuity and putting a structure in place to support our Millennial head coach, maybe we could just go with it a while? 😁

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 05:45 PM
Mackay appointment .... Negativity .

Gray gets appointed. He's no experience , cheap option ....More negativity.

Marshall retires and gets appointed TPM . Jobs for the boys , waste of money .... Lots more negativity.

Probably done as part of the review from the BKs and should be seen as something positive moving the club forward in changing the structure .

I think it's good news in all honesty 👍

Rumble de Thump
10-06-2024, 05:50 PM

David Marshall has a Masters in Sports Directorship, along with a wealth of football knowledge and good understanding of how Hibs operates. Paul Hanlon also has great knowledge of the game and, of course, deep understanding of Hibs, along with a degree in Business and Enterprise in Sports. I wouldn't be surprised to see him back at Hibs in some capacity in the future. It's nice to have knowledgable, experienced and qualified people at the club.

10-06-2024, 05:52 PM

Marshall retires and gets appointed TPM . Jobs for the boys , waste of money .... Lots more negativity.

Probably done as part of the review from the BKs and should be seen as something positive moving the club forward in changing the structure .

I think it's good news in all honesty [emoji106]

You might be right but it’s also fair that the club have lost the benefit of the doubt with many fans. People complaining about lack of trust in the club? What have they done recently to earn it?

10-06-2024, 05:59 PM

I could be remembering it wrong...but weren't you negative about Mackay being appointed??

10-06-2024, 06:15 PM
You might be right but it’s also fair that the club have lost the benefit of the doubt with many fans. People complaining about lack of trust in the club? What have they done recently to earn it?

Sometimes it's just nice and healthy to think positively about Hibs you know...

Paul1642
10-06-2024, 06:34 PM
The man had a great career. 700+ career appearances. Captain of a premiership team, well traveled with European football and the Scotland squad, and a Masters degree on top.

He lost his edge as a a player with age but there’s no doubting he knows the game. I’m not a fan of recruiting internally for the sake of it (hence why Paul and Lewis have moved on), but on the rare occasion we have someone as experienced as Marshall at the club, I don’t grudge the club at all for trying to make use of that experience.

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 06:34 PM

What have they done recently to earn it ?

They are obviously making alot of changing within the club after the review with Mackay's appointment , new manager and his staff to come in , Marshall is just another part of this , is what they've done recently.

As to the club losing the benefit of the doubt from fans , lack of trust in the club and what their doing to earn it ? .
( See above ) .

We've got to give them a chance to put things right without criticizing or being negative about every decision they make now and show a little faith .

10-06-2024, 06:38 PM

It's ****ing painful.
Just wait till Gray loses his first game

10-06-2024, 06:40 PM
What have they done recently to earn it ?

They are obviously making alot of changing within the club after the review with Mackay's appointment , new manager and his staff to come in , Marshall is just another part of this , is what they've done recently.

As to the club losing the benefit of the doubt from fans , lack of trust in the club and what their doing to earn it ? .
( See above ) .

We've got to give them a chance to put things right without criticizing or being negative about every decision they make now and show a little faith .

I guess if we knew what the plan was we could maybe buy into it? [emoji2369]
Right now it seems to be appoint loads of middle management. Some of the recent appointees, we don’t even know if they are still here.
If they start signing some top quality players soon then this won’t matter at all but if they don’t get it right on the pitch next season then the massive non playing payroll is going to be an issue.

Hibees1973
10-06-2024, 06:42 PM
Sometimes it's just nice and healthy to think positively about Hibs you know...

You are obviously a glass half full guy.

Hopefully, Hibs are at the start of turning things round. But surely it is understandable for loads of Hibs supporters on here to show a fair degree of cynicism due to the way things have gone in the last couple of years. A hire and fire approach by the club regarding the Head Coach/Manager and if you have a look at the playing squad we currently have on the transfer thread it really is a mess. This is why anything announced by the club just now is met with ridicule by some.

Players will come and go between now and September but this ridicule is likely to continue until the start of the League campaign.

A new pitch, standing areas, development of the Famous Five stand are all fine and well. I am getting bombarded by Hibs with emails with all these things that are going on and I must admit I find it incredibly irritating when the team on the park at the end of last season was awful and the mood in the stadium depressing. Only wins on the park will change this.

I do admire your positivity. But for some on here there has to be something tangible on the park to be positive.

10-06-2024, 06:44 PM
David Marshall has a Masters in Sports Directorship, along with a wealth of football knowledge and good understanding of how Hibs operates. Paul Hanlon also has great knowledge of the game and, of course, deep understanding of Hibs, along with a degree in Business and Enterprise in Sports. I wouldn't be surprised to see him back at Hibs in some capacity in the future. It's nice to have knowledgable, experienced and qualified people at the club.

Absolutely 100%.

Equally - it is galling to see people like that walk out the door.

I don't know how the football department at a professional football club works so there are things I simply cannot comment on, but this move sounds reasonable and logical to me.

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 06:44 PM
I could be remembering it wrong...but weren't you negative about Mackay being appointed??

Yes though I had a rethink about that one and think Mackay could very well work out to be a good appointment .

Happy with all our recent appointments in Mackay, Gray and Marshall.

Glass half full here mate 👍

10-06-2024, 06:45 PM
I’m really looking forward to next season now. We finally have a Director of Football, a Sporting Director and a Technical Performance Manager. Along with the appointment of the best available manager, it looks like we have everything we need to forge ahead. It also looks like we’ll be getting shot of most of our better players to free up space for the influx of superstars. Things are fairly coming along. Bring it on.

Victor
10-06-2024, 06:55 PM
What toys? What pram?

Relax.

But do you trust the Club? They obviously think that this is a role that is required and that Marshall is the person to do it. Just because you don’t understand what his role is doesn’t mean that it is something they have made up, like the job tiles you created. I don’t know what a nuclear physicist does, but if someone says they need one, I’ll accept that they do.

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 06:59 PM
I guess if we knew what the plan was we could maybe buy into it? [emoji2369]
Right now it seems to be appoint loads of middle management. Some of the recent appointees, we don’t even know if they are still here.
If they start signing some top quality players soon then this won’t matter at all but if they don’t get it right on the pitch next season then the massive non playing payroll is going to be an issue.

The club won't tell us what the plan is , don't think any club would tell their fans that .

I honestly think after last season the club will do everything possible so we have a good season .

New structure , manager and staff , new players , abit of a clear out . I honestly think we will have a decent season and might surprise a few folk .

10-06-2024, 07:05 PM
To me it sounds like Ben Kensell and Ian Gordon are actually going to let football people do the football operations bit. I'm all for it.

Murphys Touch
10-06-2024, 07:08 PM
I’m not against these kind of positions but can we invest is some decent players.

These guys don’t matter a jot if we are going into the season with Josh Campbell as one of our main midfielders and the same defence that has cost us for years.

Some football review that has got us employing the same voices telling the same under performing voices to improve.

Sometimes if just needs freshened up!

TrinityHFC
10-06-2024, 07:21 PM
I’m not against these kind of positions but can we invest is some decent players.

These guys don’t matter a jot if we are going into the season with Josh Campbell as one of our main midfielders and the same defence that has cost us for years.

Some football review that has got us employing the same voices telling the same under performing voices to improve.

Sometimes if just needs freshened up!

It isn’t one of the other. Who is identifying the decent players? Making sure they are supported, coached, kept healthy while they are here?

Davy Mac
10-06-2024, 07:22 PM
Proper governance of a club is crucial, I get it, so fair enough.

But time is ticking to get a new full squad signed up, prepared for the new season and unwanted players offloaded.

A marquee signing would help the mood.

10-06-2024, 07:23 PM
Proper governance of a club is crucial, I get it, so fair enough.

But time is ticking to get a new full squad signed up, prepared for the new season and unwanted players offloaded.

A marquee signing would help the mood.

Window isn't even open yet, plenty of time for signings.

10-06-2024, 07:30 PM

David Harshall

10-06-2024, 07:34 PM
It isn’t one of the other. Who is identifying the decent players? Making sure they are supported, coached, kept healthy while they are here?

Is Mrs Doubtfire available?

10-06-2024, 07:55 PM
The football side of the club has been gantin' for ages, something needed to change. This is evidence of fairly significant change happening that is being made specifically to better the football operation. It *should* be a win for us.

Marshall is at least qualified with his Masters degree, and like SDG, he's seen the club up close for some time so should be very aware of where the strengths and weaknesses are and where he can make an impact.

I'm not sure the club is so big that we need a Director of Football, a Sporting Director, and a Technical Performance Manager, but it may well be the case that this is getting us set up for the sort of growth that we want to see.

Best of luck, Marsh.

10-06-2024, 08:17 PM
I don't think it's that much of a shock that such appointments get met with negativity when the chips are down. I'm not saying that's right but it's somewhat inevitable. If we were flying there would be a lot more positivity around such a move.

We do feel a bit top heavy though. We have McKay and McDermott in post with the latters role apparently being redefined but I haven't seen that officially confirmed. We now have Marshall coming in. We also have a Head of Football Operations which seems to be a role largely dealing with logistics and administration and that role has a further 2 people as part of the team working in the department.

A Sporting Director, Director of Football (officially at any rate), Technical Performance Director and Head of Football Operations seems a lot for a club of Hibs size. You then have an extensive analysis team as well which previously reported to the Head of Recruitment but I'd assume will now report to one of the three former roles above.

I daresay Hibs don't intend on paying salaries to people unless their roles are strictly necessary and if we get off the a great start next season I'm sure such moves will be viewed far more favourably. The opposite is also true of course.

10-06-2024, 08:36 PM
But do you trust the Club? They obviously think that this is a role that is required and that Marshall is the person to do it. Just because you don’t understand what his role is doesn’t mean that it is something they have made up, like the job tiles you created. I don’t know what a nuclear physicist does, but if someone says they need one, I’ll accept that they do.

I don’t trust the club at all, no. When they start showing they can get things right, I’ll start to trust what they do.

Football isn’t nuclear physics. It’s far simpler. It’s Hibs that are trying to make it complicated.

Do Killie or Dundee or St Mirren have a Malky Mackay, Brian McDermott or David Marshall role at their clubs? Clubs who finished above us. What are these roles giving us that we need?

Why can’t we just do the simple things first, like get a winning team?

7Hero
10-06-2024, 09:11 PM
So we have a technical performance manager with no experience in that role, a head of a football department ( Ian Gordon) with no experience in that role and now a manager with no experience in that role.

Firstly that's 3 roles with no experience in our football dept.

Secondly, if we include the appointment of Malcoms chum Malky Mackay then surely we have to ask what did the root and branch review of the club by the black knights actually achieve as id be surprised if their experience in football or indeed global sporting matters brought them to these conclusions.

cameronw-hfc
10-06-2024, 09:21 PM
I think his role will be almost akin to an apprenticeship for Maklys role. Think he's looking to go behind the scenes rather than coaching.

Just from the vague description of the role I think he's there to work with them, possibly taking over the role himself later down the line.

Rumble de Thump
10-06-2024, 09:27 PM
So we have a technical performance manager with no experience in that role, a head of a football department ( Ian Gordon) with no experience in that role and now a manager with no experience in that role.

Secondly, if we include the appointment of Malcoms chum Malky Mackay then surely we have to ask what did the root and branch review of the club by the black knights actually achieve as id be surprised if their experience in football or indeed global sporting matters brought them to these conclusions.

How many years of experience does Ian Gordon need before we acknowledge he has experience?

10-06-2024, 09:30 PM
Blimey there's a lot of Hibs "supporters" desperate to find fault and express their indignation at the moment. It's hard work this forum sometimes.

10-06-2024, 09:41 PM
At the moment Hibs seem to be creating an infrastructure which IMO seems way beyond the current size of the club, it's an infrastructure that most people would associate with English Premiership clubs who have considerably more money than us and can afford to employ these people, but I can only hope that BK have a considerable influence in what's happening with Hibs just now and have instructed the powers that be that this is the way to go, so we'll see. They obviously seem to think it's important to have all these new posts up and running before we actually bring in any new players and move at least some of the dross on.

andrew70
10-06-2024, 09:41 PM
Blimey there's a lot of Hibs "supporters" desperate to find fault and express their indignation at the moment. It's hard work this forum sometimes.

Very much so. Insufferable at times.

Too many couch potato fans and not enough match going supporters.

Hibs can’t do right, for doing wrong.

10-06-2024, 09:45 PM

Negative Normans. Love that description :agree:

10-06-2024, 09:47 PM

No experience in the role, but he does have a professional qualification and is likely serving an apprenticeship under MacKay in a similar fashion to David Gray doing coaching roles before becoming manager. The succession planning part of David Gray's route to management wasn't flawed, the managers employed while we waited for him to be ready were. Similarly get Marsh up to speed as an in-house appointment he's probably cheaper (I'm not saying we're penny pinching, it's just a good use of budget vs hiring someone with decades of experience in England) and he'll also be incredibly familiar with the club when MacKay steps aside and Marsh steps up.

As long as we still recruit well for the first team by the time the window closes then I've I problem with ourselves bringing in people to do specialist roles behind the scenes allow the coaching team to focus on football and the corporate guys to stay away from it.

11-06-2024, 04:02 AM

You're not any less of a supporter for questioning the actions of these owners and board members. In fact, it's the sheep that are following them blindly that are worrying. Thinking this or anything else is a good move simply because Hibs are making it doesn't make you a good supporter.

11-06-2024, 04:20 AM
I’m not negative about Marshall’s appointment.

I’m just unsure what his role is, and don’t understand why someone from the club has not explained what it is.

11-06-2024, 04:54 AM
Don't know about this one. And frankly, not sure how anyone can say it's either a good or bad appointment with the scant detail available and his lack of real experience in a similar role.

A lot of change at the club this summer, and we now need all minds focused on getting the best team on the park as we're just over a month away from the first game of the season.

11-06-2024, 05:37 AM
Don't know about this one. And frankly, not sure how anyone can say it's either a good or bad appointment with the scant detail available and his lack of real experience in a similar role.

A lot of change at the club this summer, and we now need all minds focused on getting the best team on the park as we're just over a month away from the first game of the season.

It’s the overwhelming negative responses that are so draining.

As a self-confessed happy clapper I see someone with DM’s experience being kept at the club as a positive thing, but there’s now a significant chunk of people on this forum who will jump on anything the club does and find fault immediately.

11-06-2024, 05:39 AM
The performance director is the person inside a club or a federation in charge of overseeing the different performance departments of the club such as sports science, medical, nutrition, S&C or analytics, in order to ensure the players' optimal fitness and performance on the game day, following the coaching philosophy

Did John Collins not try to introduce this approach based on his experience at Monaco. I recall he was met by hostility from Scottish players who were not keen to forego their deep fried sausage suppers and Tartan Special.

thebausburst
11-06-2024, 05:50 AM

Crazy, what happened to the much talked about BK review, seems to have delivered the square root of hee haw.

11-06-2024, 05:59 AM
Crazy, what happened to the much talked about BK review, seems to have delivered the square root of hee haw.

Since the review we've appointed a new Head Coach. A new Technical Director and a new Performance Manager. BK's hae also appointed a President to over see things.

11-06-2024, 06:05 AM
Since the review we've appointed a new Head Coach. A new Technical Director and a new Performance Manager. BK's hae also appointed a President to over see things.

Agreed, these are exactly the sort of changes I would have expected from the review - which, imho, wouldn't have been to recruit for these roles, but to identify that they're needed.

11-06-2024, 06:13 AM
It’s the overwhelming negative responses that are so draining.

As a self-confessed happy clapper I see someone with DM’s experience being kept at the club as a positive thing, but there’s now a significant chunk of people on this forum who will jump on anything the club does and find fault immediately.

Not wrong with that reasonable critique of things fine full on negative about everything pathetic.

11-06-2024, 06:17 AM
Agreed, these are exactly the sort of changes I would have expected from the review - which, imho, wouldn't have been to recruit for these roles, but to identify that they're needed.

My worry is that if the roles are important and I’m not thinking this new one is it isn’t at the moment then filling the head coach/manager and technical performance manager roles from within a structure that is plainly failing is a mistake. Surely appointing experience in both these roles would be preferable due to it being the start and foundation of the changes. Change had to happen but it’s the manner of it. Struggling to be positive about these two appointments but really do wish them well for everyone’s sake.

Paul1642
11-06-2024, 06:55 AM
My hope is that the recent changes are the beginning of us having some continuity as a club.

In recent years we have had a total overhaul of the staff averaging less than once a year. Not surprisingly it hasn’t worked out well for us.

11-06-2024, 08:13 AM
My worry is that if the roles are important and I’m not thinking this new one is it isn’t at the moment then filling the head coach/manager and technical performance manager roles from within a structure that is plainly failing is a mistake. Surely appointing experience in both these roles would be preferable due to it being the start and foundation of the changes. Change had to happen but it’s the manner of it. Struggling to be positive about these two appointments but really do wish them well for everyone’s sake.

That’s my concern too. Who we have recruited rather than the roles themselves. Maybe naively, but I had hoped we might get managers, sporting directors, technical directors etc through our link in with Bournemouth/Black Knights. Folk that have an eye on progressing in those roles and ultimately working their way up to doing those roles at Bournmouth/at that end of the food chain. Much like the player model. As it is our list of candidates seems to have been compiled from who won’t cost any compensation and who we already know from Scottish football.

The current, non player, recruitment seems to have the ceiling of being Hearts. A poor but solid side, consistently less dire than most of the other 9 clubs but who also don’t unearth many gems to sell and re-invest. That’s immeasurably better than the last 5/10/15 years, but not what I thought the Black Knights were getting involved for.

11-06-2024, 08:38 AM
You're not any less of a supporter for questioning the actions of these owners and board members. In fact, it's the sheep that are following them blindly that are worrying. Thinking this or anything else is a good move simply because Hibs are making it doesn't make you a good supporter.

I have no issue with people questioning the actions of our owners and senior management team. I've done it myself, when I feel it is justified and I have the information to back up my complaints. However I think there are a lot of people who seem desperate for any possible opportunity to find a way to slate the club. Many of the comments are not balanced, critical views, they are a pile-on that takes every single piece of news that comes out of the club and tries to give it a negative spin. I don't think that is productive, fair or beneficial to the club that I support.

The criticism of Marshall getting a job behind the scenes is a perfect example. If in two years time it becomes obvious that he has done a poor job, then fine, criticise him and the club for employing him. If in two years time he has been an integral part of a real upswing in our perfromances on the park, then equally I would expect people to be praising him. However for a lot of the posts it's just a chance to say "jobs for the boys" "typical modern football rubbish...just get them running on the beach" type quotes. Pointless, self opinionated, rubbish based on nothing.

It's an open forum..everyone has the right to post their opinion and my opinion is that a lot of the comments on the board at the moment are unecessarily negative and people seem very, very quick to pour scorn on everything Hibs do. I don't think that's helpful.

11-06-2024, 09:08 AM
I have no issue with people questioning the actions of our owners and senior management team. I've done it myself, when I feel it is justified and I have the information to back up my complaints. However I think there are a lot of people who seem desperate for any possible opportunity to find a way to slate the club. Many of the comments are not balanced, critical views, they are a pile-on that takes every single piece of news that comes out of the club and tries to give it a negative spin. I don't think that is productive, fair or beneficial to the club that I support.

The criticism of Marshall getting a job behind the scenes is a perfect example. If in two years time it becomes obvious that he has done a poor job, then fine, criticise him and the club for employing him. If in two years time he has been an integral part of a real upswing in our perfromances on the park, then equally I would expect people to be praising him. However for a lot of the posts it's just a chance to say "jobs for the boys" "typical modern football rubbish...just get them running on the beach" type quotes. Pointless, self opinionated, rubbish based on nothing.

It's an open forum..everyone has the right to post their opinion and my opinion is that a lot of the comments on the board at the moment are unecessarily negative and people seem very, very quick to pour scorn on everything Hibs do. I don't think that's helpful.

I kind of agree with your sentiments. Me being one of the negative nelly’s.

I personally think the same could also be said for people who comment the other way.

For example, there’s an assumption that this ridiculous review that no one knows the outcome of has somehow created this role for DM. I suppose it’s not that far out to suggest it has, yet we have no idea if it has or hasn’t?

Another example was the the insane clambering for SDG being more than ready, etc etc etc. it’s just nonsense.

It’s all very well saying, let’s judge it in two years. All these things cost money, we’re a business that’s failing at the one thing people actually pay for! What if it doesn’t work out after one year? There’s a real danger we could spiral and the clubs accounts don’t really legislate for relegation (no I don’t think it’ll be that bad but what if it is?).

I’m torn on all this as I’m someone who said to all my pals, we need football people running this club and I’m actually quite happy that someone like DM is staying on at hibs, I’m just not sure I’m all that happy with us promoting from within when we’ve been an absolute shambles for years.

I’m certain every single negative poster wants this all to be a success, we all have the same agenda, I suppose some are just more cynical right now with how things have been going.

Just this morning I heard some rumours about our senior management team that if true are absolutely, well and truly bat **** mental. If true, I think I’m right to have cynicism in any decisions made.

Paulie Walnuts
11-06-2024, 09:09 AM

Comments like ‘This can only be a good appointment’ etc and criticising folk who don’t think the same way is a nonsense. Theres absolutely nothing to base Marshall’s ability for the role on, so it absolutely cannot ‘only be a good appointment’.

I can’t say I really care about the Marshall appointment, but the idea you’re not a Hibs fan, not the right type of Hibs fan etc if you aren’t just willing to be blindly optimistic and declare Marshalls appointment in a role he has no experience in, or David Grays appointment in a role he has no experience as ‘only a good thing’ is quite simply, stupid.

My biggest concern really is that the 3 big appointments we’ve made so far all seem to have been very convenient. I find it hard to believe we’ve found the best person for all 3 posts and they all happen to have been pals of the chairman, already on the coaching staff, or players who are retiring from playing for our club. That would be one hell of a coincidence.

SickBoy32
11-06-2024, 09:12 AM
Just this morning I heard some rumours about our senior management team that if true are absolutely, well and truly bat **** mental. If true, I think I’m right to have cynicism in any decisions made.

Let’s hear the rumours ?

Nothing would surprise me with that lot.

11-06-2024, 09:15 AM
Let’s hear the rumours ?

Nothing would surprise me with that lot.

It involves youan and the breakdown of transfer. Potential scam involved and hibs losing money. I don’t want to say too much as it may be nonsense but it came from someone who I trust.

SickBoy32
11-06-2024, 09:26 AM
It involves youan and the breakdown of transfer. Potential scam involved and hibs losing money. I don’t want to say too much as it may be nonsense but it came from someone who I trust.

Appreciate the clarification.

I don’t think anyone could be surprised if that turns out to be true.

11-06-2024, 09:28 AM

Good point, totally agree.

11-06-2024, 10:19 AM

Comments like ‘This can only be a good appointment’ etc and criticising folk who don’t think the same way is a nonsense. Theres absolutely nothing to base Marshall’s ability for the role on, so it absolutely cannot ‘only be a good appointment’.

I can’t say I really care about the Marshall appointment, but the idea you’re not a Hibs fan, not the right type of Hibs fan etc if you aren’t just willing to be blindly optimistic and declare Marshalls appointment in a role he has no experience in, or David Grays appointment in a role he has no experience as ‘only a good thing’ is quite simply, stupid.

My biggest concern really is that the 3 big appointments we’ve made so far all seem to have been very convenient. I find it hard to believe we’ve found the best person for all 3 posts and they all happen to have been pals of the chairman, already on the coaching staff, or players who are retiring from playing for our club. That would be one hell of a coincidence.

Completely agree with everything you’ve said. At a time when we need to make sure we make the right choices going forward we get people in with no previous experience or track record in the posts they are taking over. It may work (hopefully) but for me it’s an absolute leap of faith to suggest it’s a good thing.

11-06-2024, 10:30 AM

Just say it, nonsense or otherwise. Not sure how it would be possible for Hibs to be scammed over a transfer fee, but it sounds intriguing.

11-06-2024, 11:03 AM
The only thing that will really change our fortunes is the arrival of good players. Until that happens then the club will be criticised.
I don’t really care about the size of our non playing payroll if the team are winning but when they are as poor as they are just now then it’s an issue.
Let’s see what the next few weeks will bring. The only thing that makes the criticism go away is good quality arrivals on the playing staff.

11-06-2024, 11:04 AM
I dunno, I've not seen anything saying he's left.

He was Director of Football, Malky is what? Sporting Director? 2 different jobs? Same job? Different titles so we can get rid of BMc and make that role "redundant"?

Was McDermott just ***** at his job and Malky is replacing him? Are they both going to work here?

Where does Marshall fit in?

The comms from the club are atrocious tbh.

They have been for quite some time.

hibsforeurope
11-06-2024, 11:05 AM

Was it an emailed offer from Ian or Ben's long lost uncle who is president of Remo Stars looking to buy Youan but needed a payment first to allow the transfer fee to be sent to Hibs?

11-06-2024, 11:13 AM
Appreciate the clarification.

I don’t think anyone could be surprised if that turns out to be true.

I imagine everyone would be surprised if it was true.

If we really got done by someone sending an email from [email protected]. then that would be pretty surprising.

Considering we have been in talks with them for over a year i doubt it will have anything to do with that deal.

11-06-2024, 11:25 AM

I would love to stay away from the negativity, I would perhaps say my post will be realistic. Dealing only in facts.

In determining that things were going wrong, the club sanctioned a review of all things football.

The results of the review have, so far, seen them hire people with no real experience of the roles they are taking.

Gray has no ‘real’ head coach/manager experience beyond 10 games or whatever, and each of those have come in a situation that have seen a manager sacked so not really a fair representation of the actual day to day life of a head coach.

Marshall has no experience of his role, whatever that may be, I have no idea based on what was released.

Mackay has no experience of his role at a club. Mackay is probably the one I am most trusting of because he does have some similar experience at the SFA but ultimately, it was a different job so there remain concerns.

Marshall I am less bothered about because I have no idea what it is he will be doing.

In a time of crisis, and I believe we are firmly in a crisis, the inexperienced board/owners have plumped for inexperience.

We should not be a testing ground for people for roles of this magnitude, in my opinion.

We are a big Scottish club, that may not mean anything internationally, but domestically we are one of the biggest clubs in the country. That means we should, in theory, be taking people from similar jobs at smaller Scottish clubs, with records of success.

Now hopefully the people selected for their respective roles are a roaring success, that goes without saying.

However, this board (appreciate it has changed recently to a small extent) have made error after error throwing good money after bad.

It is absolutely no wonder that people who have mostly kept faith for a long time are sick fed up and extremely doubtful to trust the decisions they are making.
They have it ALL to prove that they are capable.

As it stands, their legacy reads something like:
Fired successful sporting director after mistake.
Hired inexperienced son.
Hid that they had hired inexperienced son as DoF/SD.
Fired successful manager after blip, despite being a week out from a(nother) cup final and having sacked the S/D (suggesting HE was the issue) and not backing the manager appropriately in the summer previous having finished fairly comfortably in third position and a position of strength.
Changed recruitment direction.
Hired and fired 3 managers.
Hired a ‘dof’ who doesn’t do a dof role.
Generated a great deal of debt.
Have a massive squad of players as a result of constant recruitment plan changes, of which perhaps 75-85% are not good enough.

Add to the mix that they seem to gaslight us, drip feed bits out to certain people without providing any additional info (people were talking about the FF refurb for months before it was official -may be a small frivolous example but they all add up - is the development squad still a thing? Who replaced Steve Keane?) and in general provide fairly terrible ‘updates’ it’s a fairly heady mix of *****.

HendoDelivered
11-06-2024, 11:40 AM
Football people in football roles, yes please 👍🏼

WestStandWillie
11-06-2024, 11:48 AM
"During his playing career, Marshall completed a Master's degree in Sports Directorship whilst also joining the Board of the Hibernian Community Foundation and is now eager to put that experience to good use."

So it would seem DM will be supporting Mackay - nothing wrong with that :dunno:

Folk are just bumpin their gums cause there's no transfer news or kits yet :rolleyes:

11-06-2024, 11:53 AM
I imagine everyone would be surprised if it was true.

If we really got done by someone sending an email from [email protected]. then that would be pretty surprising.

Considering we have been in talks with them for over a year i doubt it will have anything to do with that deal.

Maybe the deal was agreed because Ben and Ian saw a poster on here saying "I'll drive him there myself!" and now they're needing to stump up the taxi fare?

It's all a little fantastical in my opinion. We've recruited managers poorly, and under performed in the league for sure. The corporate/business side of things seems to be going well but suddenly we're being scammed and losing money in dodgy transfer deals?

11-06-2024, 11:57 AM
Maybe the deal was agreed because Ben and Ian saw a poster on here saying "I'll drive him there myself!" and now they're needing to stump up the taxi fare?

It's all a little fantastical in my opinion. We've recruited managers poorly, and under performed in the league for sure. The corporate/business side of things seems to be going well but suddenly we're being scammed and losing money in dodgy transfer deals?

Wouldn't be the first time. Who remembers Sportemongo and we also had a betting company on our shorts and the start of the season that had mysteriously been removed from the shorts by the end of the season...

Due diligence hasn't been a core strength so far.

11-06-2024, 12:02 PM
Wouldn't be the first time. Who remembers Sportemongo and we also had a betting company on our shorts and the start of the season that had mysteriously been removed from the shorts by the end of the season...

Nor have comms explaining they’ve ****ed these things up.

11-06-2024, 12:02 PM

The Rocky transfer deal, where we possibly didn't read the small print:greengrin

11-06-2024, 12:12 PM
Anyone else picturing the big African guy with the old school mobile phone held to his ear, Cheshire grin on his face with the beach and palm trees in the background?

11-06-2024, 12:21 PM
Was it an emailed offer from Ian or Ben's long lost uncle who is president of Remo Stars looking to buy Youan but needed a payment first to allow the transfer fee to be sent to Hibs?

😂😂

I was told we were scammed by a fake medical team, who asked for money to do a medical, which we paid.

11-06-2024, 12:24 PM
😂😂

I was told we were scammed by a fake medical team, who asked for money to do a medical, which we paid.

Why would Hibs pay for the medical of a departing player.

11-06-2024, 12:25 PM
Why would Hibs pay for the medical of a departing player.

No idea, something to do with it being off season and kensell getting involved.

As I said, it could be complete and utter nonsense.

11-06-2024, 12:28 PM
I would love to stay away from the negativity, I would perhaps say my post will be realistic. Dealing only in facts.

In determining that things were going wrong, the club sanctioned a review of all things football.

The results of the review have, so far, seen them hire people with no real experience of the roles they are taking.

Gray has no ‘real’ head coach/manager experience beyond 10 games or whatever, and each of those have come in a situation that have seen a manager sacked so not really a fair representation of the actual day to day life of a head coach.

Marshall has no experience of his role, whatever that may be, I have no idea based on what was released.

Mackay has no experience of his role at a club. Mackay is probably the one I am most trusting of because he does have some similar experience at the SFA but ultimately, it was a different job so there remain concerns.

Marshall I am less bothered about because I have no idea what it is he will be doing.

In a time of crisis, and I believe we are firmly in a crisis, the inexperienced board/owners have plumped for inexperience.

We should not be a testing ground for people for roles of this magnitude, in my opinion.

We are a big Scottish club, that may not mean anything internationally, but domestically we are one of the biggest clubs in the country. That means we should, in theory, be taking people from similar jobs at smaller Scottish clubs, with records of success.

Now hopefully the people selected for their respective roles are a roaring success, that goes without saying.

However, this board (appreciate it has changed recently to a small extent) have made error after error throwing good money after bad.

It is absolutely no wonder that people who have mostly kept faith for a long time are sick fed up and extremely doubtful to trust the decisions they are making.

Hired inexperienced son.
Fired successful manager after blip, despite being a week out from a(nother) cup final and having sacked the S/D (suggesting HE was the issue) and not backing the manager appropriately in the summer previous having finished fairly comfortably in third position and a position of strength.
Have a massive squad of players as a result of constant recruitment plan changes, of which perhaps 75-85% are not good enough.

Add to the mix that they seem to gaslight us, drip feed bits out to certain people without providing any additional info (people were talking about the FF refurb for months before it was official -may be a small frivolous example but they all add up - is the development squad still a thing? Who replaced Steve Keane?) and in general provide fairly terrible ‘updates’ it’s a fairly heady mix of *****.
Decent summary Steve Kean was the guy that persuaded Ron Gordon to set up and invest in a B Team
That turned out to be an unmitigated disaster in the main with the odd exception
Ron got diverted from investing in quality players for first team at the point we could of consolidated third place the following season had we done so
The money wasted since then must be considerable and is one of the main reasons our debt has risen
Also paying higher wages is fine . But if it’s on dross it’s just wasted
The up shot of all you have highlighted is season ticket sales are down and stagnating at best , at a time we really needed a decent product on the pitch ,to attract more customers and more revenue in all these new bars we have created
I cant have blind faith that things are now turning . The proof will be in results on the pitch

11-06-2024, 12:29 PM
No idea, something to do with it being off season and kensell getting involved.

As I said, it could be complete and utter nonsense.

Is your source fond of the keg?

Next it’ll be Jair being sent to the local hardware store in Tranent to get tartan paint.

It’s silly season indeed.

11-06-2024, 12:34 PM
Is your source fond of the keg?

Next it’ll be Jair being sent to the local hardware store in Tranent to get tartan paint.

It’s silly season indeed.

No, he’s been sent out on a cocktail masterclass for the new behind the goals 😜

11-06-2024, 12:34 PM

Hired inexperienced son.

yes, good post. All things considered it's not been a great five years under the Gordons. I've largely stayed on board with them due to difficult circumstances (Covid, followed by the heartbreaking loss of Ron) and the commercial work they have done plus stadium improvements.

But in a football sense, it's hard to come to any other conclusion than they've been a disaster. We were a solid well run club from relegation to 2019. Now we're a shambles.

11-06-2024, 12:54 PM
Anyone else picturing the big African guy with the old school mobile phone held to his ear, Cheshire grin on his face with the beach and palm trees in the background?

"Good afta-noon Meester Kensall, this is George Adogdodwengo calling from the Bank of Uganda.There eez a pigeon in theee FC Hibernians bank account. Please provide me with your bank account details, mothers maiden name and 4 deegit secyoooority pin so I can remooooove da pigeon from your account"

11-06-2024, 01:53 PM

Sounds totally legit

11-06-2024, 02:34 PM
Decent summary Steve Kean was the guy that persuaded Ron Gordon to set up and invest in a B Team
That turned out to be an unmitigated disaster in the main with the odd exception
Ron got diverted from investing in quality players for first team at the point we could of consolidated third place the following season had we done so
The money wasted since then must be considerable and is one of the main reasons our debt has risen
Also paying higher wages is fine . But if it’s on dross it’s just wasted
The up shot of all you have highlighted is season ticket sales are down and stagnating at best , at a time we really needed a decent product on the pitch ,to attract more customers and more revenue in all these new bars we have created
I cant have blind faith that things are now turning . The proof will be in results on the pitch

Steve Kean. I’d forgot about him. That was another one we just had to trust the club on. [emoji849]

11-06-2024, 02:39 PM
😂😂

That wouldn’t be much would it

11-06-2024, 02:42 PM

Couldn’t agree more

Mikey_1875
11-06-2024, 04:21 PM
Not sure what thread to put it on but it’s interesting to note that Laurent Koscielny has just been promoted from Youth Coach to Sporting Director at Lorient. Possibly a theme or focus of the BK group to promote from within.

Rumble de Thump
11-06-2024, 04:25 PM

Some people have become obsessed with attacking Hibs and trying to cause as much disruption and as many problems for the club as possible, and obviously in denial of them doing just that. It would be understandable if they were opposition fans. But for Hibs fans to be doing it is just creepy behaviour.

11-06-2024, 04:36 PM
Not sure what thread to put it on but it’s interesting to note that Laurent Koscielny has just been promoted from Youth Coach to Sporting Director at Lorient. Possibly a theme or focus of the BK group to promote from within.

He’s also a former player at Lorient.

At Bournemouth I count at least 6 former players in their first team backroom staff last season (Francis, Elphick, Cooper, Moss, Stewart & Fletcher) in addition to Richard Hughes who has just departed. They also have former player and manager Harry Redknapp in an advisory role.

Mikey_1875
11-06-2024, 05:12 PM

At Bournemouth I count at least 6 former players in their first team backroom staff last season (Francis, Elphick, Cooper, Moss, Stewart & Fletcher) in addition to Richard Hughes who has just departed. They also have former player and manager Harry Redknapp in an advisory role.

Wow, definitely not a coincidence then!

In theory I like the idea as long as there is some balance and it doesn’t end up hiring our own at the expense of much better candidates. It’ll be interesting to see how it plays out in practice.

11-06-2024, 05:41 PM

Pre-Black Knight investment I think we had Gray, McGregor, Boozy, Eddie May, Kevin Harper, Gareth Evans all working in roles at the club.

11-06-2024, 06:12 PM
Pre-Black Knight investment I think we had Gray, McGregor, Boozy, Eddie May, Kevin Harper, Gareth Evans all working in roles at the club.

But only SDG of that bunch working directly with the first team. You could include the likes of Stanton and Joelle Murray too if we are including non-first team roles.

11-06-2024, 06:16 PM
Some people have become obsessed with attacking Hibs and trying to cause as much disruption and as many problems for the club as possible, and obviously in denial of them doing just that. It would be understandable if they were opposition fans. But for Hibs fans to be doing it is just creepy behaviour.

Didn’t realise Ian Gordon had an account on here...

Seriously though, what "disruption" and "problems" do you think Hibs fans are causing by voicing opinions on this site?

And do you think the last 5 years have shown our current owners to be competent enough to be totally immune from any scrutiny of their decision making?

Bizarre post the more I read it.

11-06-2024, 06:31 PM

Have they?

Have the club not just been utter pish for 3 years now and fans are annoyed? Is that not the more likely option?

12-06-2024, 07:51 AM
Have they?

Have the club not just been utter pish for 3 years now and fans are annoyed? Is that not the more likely option?

And for many the club can now do nothing right. It’s become habitual to see the worst in things for some now.

12-06-2024, 08:02 AM
And for many the club can now do nothing right. It’s become habitual to see the worst in things for some now.

Yes, which is what happens when you do nothing right for so long, folk don't trust you.

12-06-2024, 08:23 AM
Yes, which is what happens when you do nothing right for so long, folk don't trust you.

Theres nuance to everything and some can see that. The club have not "done nothing right", they've got a lot of things right off the park but have been shambolic on it.

Paulie Walnuts
12-06-2024, 09:49 AM
Theres nuance to everything and some can see that. The club have not "done nothing right", they've got a lot of things right off the park but have been shambolic on it.

And the only part fans care about is on the park. So in terms of the stuff the fans actually care about, it wouldn’t be a million miles off to say they’ve done nothing much right.

The idea that the fans are the ones causing the disruption and problems as was suggested is hilarious.

12-06-2024, 09:53 AM
I think the problem is - and it certainly is for me - that the idea of "bumper transfer fees" is fine if the problem that we've had is a lack of investment in the team. It clearly hasn't been, we've been throwing money around left, right, and centre but awful recruitment has left us with an abysmal squad.

I'd be much happier if a statement was to come out explaining each peoples roles - e.g. "Malky Mackay will be overseeing recruitment and mid to long term football strategy, David Gray will oversee the day to day football stuff, David Marshall will oversee this, Ben Kensell will stick to bringing money into the club, and Ian Gordon will oversee this and take no part in footballing decisions".

The problem is that we've had awful decisions made that have set us back as a football club by people who aren't as good as they think they are, and we've spent big money to become pretty dreadful.

If we were to know that the footballing department were to be trusted with the footballing side of things, and the business people look after the business then I think we would all be a lot happier.

If it's "Let's throw more money onto the big skip fire that we've created" then we're ****ed.

12-06-2024, 11:02 AM
When I started reading this I was a bit :rolleyes: but seeing that Big Dave has a masters degree in Sports Directorship gives me a lot more faith in him to do the job than Malky MacKay who might have a smidge more experience in the game but, from what I can tell, just as little in the role.

Anyway, they are very separate things so it feels less job for the boys and rather an astute appointment to bring in someone who clearly has a hunger to succeed off the pitch and whose name will carry some gravitas in the football world, UK at least.

I wouldn't be surprised if Paul Hanlon ended up joining us at this level down the road too as he's studying something similar. It makes a lot more sense to me to bring in guys who have a hunger for the role, coupled with an affinity for the club rather than someone who has just been round the block. Especially when they are doing it without unnecessary baggage.

'Mon Big Marsh!

12-06-2024, 11:08 AM
And the only part fans care about is on the park. So in terms of the stuff the fans actually care about, it wouldn’t be a million miles off to say they’ve done nothing much right.

The idea that the fans are the ones causing the disruption and problems as was suggested is hilarious.

I care about the club doing well off the pitch, not as much as on the park but I still think it's an important cog in the machine. It all ties together which I think is a point being forgotten.

I agree its not the fans, in fact I think it's ridiculous to suggest it.

12-06-2024, 11:15 AM
When I started reading this I was a bit :rolleyes: but seeing that Big Dave has a masters degree in Sports Directorship gives me a lot more faith in him to do the job than Malky MacKay who might have a smidge more experience in the game but, from what I can tell, just as little in the role.

Anyway, they are very separate things so it feels less job for the boys and rather an astute appointment to bring in someone who clearly has a hunger to succeed off the pitch and whose name will carry some gravitas in the football world, UK at least.

I wouldn't be surprised if Paul Hanlon ended up joining us at this level down the road too as he's studying something similar. It makes a lot more sense to me to bring in guys who have a hunger for the role, coupled with an affinity for the club rather than someone who has just been round the block. Especially when they are doing it without unnecessary baggage.

'Mon Big Marsh!

Aside from his 4 years in a similar role with the SFA?

12-06-2024, 11:18 AM
Aside from his 4 years in a similar role with the SFA?

It was a very different role and at national level. He took over from Mark Wotte who had put the foundations in place and can take a bit of credit in Gilmour & Patterson. Seemed to go backwards after he left in terms of players coming through it.

I know this is a daft metric but he doesn't have a LinkedIn profile. That seems pretty basic these days for former footballers looking to move upstairs. Anyway, this isn't about MM but rather I'm trying to put a positive light on Marshall who I think could be a good appointment.

Get Mitov in.

Skol
12-06-2024, 11:21 AM
Didn’t realise Ian Gordon had an account on here...

Seriously though, what "disruption" and "problems" do you think Hibs fans are causing by voicing opinions on this site?

And do you think the last 5 years have shown our current owners to be competent enough to be totally immune from any scrutiny of their decision making?

Bizarre post the more I read it.

Let me think. Hecky out, Ross out, Maloney out, Johnson out, Monty out