View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread
So Georgia a country with just over 4M qualify after beating Portugal, yet we lumber along and get knocked out too easily once again.
26-06-2024, 08:59 PM
And there you go. Little Georgia, full of energy and belief have qualified while Negative Norman's lads are home already.
Amazing what having a world class forward can do for a team.
Georgia have fully deserved that. A real sleeves rolled up performance. Outstanding hit on the break football
Terrific they really played for their country well deserved.
Saint Hibee
26-06-2024, 09:01 PM
Gary Neville acknowledging that England have a track record of lucky draws.
26-06-2024, 09:02 PM
England are winning it. In Germany. Nightmare
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 09:04 PM
So Georgia a country with just over 4M qualify after beating Portugal, yet we lumber along and get knocked out too easily once again.
So we should copy a team who were 9 points behind us in qualifying? They got lucky with a nations league qualification........or thats what Scotlands qualification was called at the time.
K-Zazu
Well done Georgia. Ronaldo is a tosser, the way he acts is embarrassing.
At least Hungary are out too. Nae luck lads. :aok:
ruthven_raiders
26-06-2024, 09:05 PM
Excluding Italy, England have a piss easy route to the final yet again. Slovakia, Italy and one of Romania, Austria, Turkey or Slovenia.
Bet Switzerland knock out Italy too.
Not sure England can be confident of beating any of these.teams, Switzerland or Austria are tough to beat....
So we should copy a team who were 9 points behind us in qualifying? They got lucky with a nations league qualification........or thats what Scotlands qualification was called at the time.
Their attitude has been spot on in these games, no negativity just having a real go, we were slow and ponderous and deserved nothing.
Slovakia, Slovenia,Georgia and Denmark all with similar or smaller populations than us qualified for last 16 we’re needing a review into the running of the game here this small nation thing doesn’t fly anymore
26-06-2024, 09:10 PM
Amazing what having a world class forward can do for a team.
We've got supposedly better players all over the pitch.
It's amazing what a positive attitude can do for a team.
26-06-2024, 09:11 PM
I think we'd have beaten Hungary reserves.
26-06-2024, 09:12 PM
Excluding Italy, England have a piss easy route to the final yet again. Slovakia, Italy and one of Romania, Austria, Turkey or Slovenia.
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 09:15 PM
Their attitude has been spot on in these games, no negativity just having a real go, we were slow and ponderous and deserved nothing.
Yeh im not disagreeing, but we qualified way ahead of them and had a couple bad games in a tournament. It happens. They played a 2nd string Portugal who already qualified, got a ridiculous penalty, and manged to win. Fair play to them, but thats tournament football.
Stairway 2 7
26-06-2024, 09:15 PM
Slovakia, Slovenia,Georgia and Denmark all with similar or smaller populations than us qualified for last 16 we’re needing a review into the running of the game here this small nation thing doesn’t fly anymore
Did Georgia and Norway have a review when we qualified from the groups and they didn't. It was all about the tactics in the finals, Georgia went for it we certainly didn't. Then again we were a terrible refereeing decision away from a penalty and beating hungry and drawing with Switzerland. Dykes and Hickey were also huge losses for us
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 09:16 PM
What about Poland Croatia Hungary etc with bigger populations, or Sweden or Norway who didnt even qualify.......dont see anyone making that excuse???
26-06-2024, 09:20 PM
What about Poland Croatia Hungary etc with bigger populations, or Sweden or Norway who didnt even qualify.......dont see anyone making that excuse???
Norway's got a smaller population than Scotland.
Yeh im not disagreeing, but we qualified way ahead of them and had a couple bad games in a tournament. It happens. They played a 2nd string Portugal who already qualified, got a ridiculous penalty, and manged to win. Fair play to them, but thats tournament football.
Our record in the run up to the tournament was poor and that continued into the tournament, it wasn't just 2 bad games.
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 09:23 PM
Yep never said they did, but they didnt qualify, are they now reveiwing everything and hoping to copy Scotlands model? Is that how it works?
26-06-2024, 09:24 PM
Last census had Norway 5.5m, Scotland 5.4m.
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 09:24 PM
Our record in the run up to the tournament was poor and that continued into the tournament, it wasn't just 2 bad games.
Stick up Steve Clarkes competitive record, see how that reads. He already said that he took some really tough friendlies in the run up to the Euros.....now thats getting used against him
DinkyTwo
26-06-2024, 09:29 PM
So we should copy a team who were 9 points behind us in qualifying? They got lucky with a nations league qualification........or thats what Scotlands qualification was called at the time.If it gets us to the knockout stages, playing exciting football... Yes. No brainer.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
26-06-2024, 09:29 PM
Can folk not just accept Scotland were totally pish at the tournament and if we want to progress to the groups we need to have a better mentality and that means wanting to win games. Not have the fear of losing / giving up a goal.
We also need to develop better players to play at a higher level. SPL players aren’t going to cut it.
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 09:34 PM
If it gets us to the knockout stages, playing exciting football... Yes. No brainer.
So Croatia, Hungary Poland, Czech Rep and all the countries who didnt qualify should copy Geogia who finished 9 points behind us im qualifying......gotcha.
26-06-2024, 09:38 PM
Not sure England can be confident of beating any of these.teams, Switzerland or Austria are tough to beat....
You could see England lumbering to an agonising penalty shoot out defeat against any of these teams.
You could also see them doing what they need to do all the way to the final then their big players turning it on when they get there.
An unpredictable bunch.
DinkyTwo
26-06-2024, 09:48 PM
So Croatia, Hungary Poland, Czech Rep and all the countries who didnt qualify should copy Geogia who finished 9 points behind us im qualifying......gotcha.Maybe, not really sure. I didn't watch their games.
What do you think Scotland should do next time to be more competitive?
Surely we should try to learn from countries with similar limitations that are performing better than we've ever done.
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 09:55 PM
Maybe, not really sure. I didn't watch their games.
What do you think Scotland should do next time to be more competitive?
Surely we should try to learn from countries with similar limitations that are performing better than we've ever done.
We were terrible in the 2 games we lost. I think the tanking we got in the first game really put us on the back foot. Clarkes tactics were the same at Killie as they are at Scotland, they havent changed, try and keep it tight, keep the ball and then try and take chances that come our way. It didnt work, we were prob a bad decision away from qualifying though. Its such small margins. I genuinely think had be not been spanked of Germany we would have been a bit more expansive. Just my opinion.
He's here!
26-06-2024, 09:57 PM
At least they gave their fans a win in the tournament.
He's here!
26-06-2024, 10:02 PM
Stick up Steve Clarkes competitive record, see how that reads. He already said that he took some really tough friendlies in the run up to the Euros.....now thats getting used against him
Finland, Northern Ireland and Gibraltar were the friendlies in the immediate run-up to the Euros...
Gordy M
26-06-2024, 10:03 PM
Finland, Northern Ireland and Gibraltar were the friendlies in the immediate run-up to the Euros...
Yep we lost one out those three, who were the ones before that? Put up his competitive record in last 2/3 years....you know the games that count
DinkyTwo
26-06-2024, 10:06 PM
We were terrible in the 2 games we lost. I think the tanking we got in the first game really put us on the back foot. Clarkes tactics were the same at Killie as they are at Scotland, they havent changed, try and keep it tight, keep the ball and then try and take chances that come our way. It didnt work, we were prob a bad decision away from qualifying though. Its such small margins. I genuinely think had be not been spanked of Germany we would have been a bit more expansive. Just my opinion.I hope it was just a blip due to the Germany game, but can't say I share your faith.
Let's hope we do learn from it at least.
26-06-2024, 10:10 PM
Italy have been amongst the biggest disappointments so far.
World class goalkeeper and a whole bunch of bang average everywhere else.
England would be very confident if they hadn't been as poor as they have so far.
They just have that habit of getting the job done right now with the absolute minimum to spare though.
That is the long time hallmark of Italian tournament play.
26-06-2024, 10:37 PM
Spain look the most likely winners, France the deepest squad and best defence, Portugal allround mastwrs of the dark arts and long game and the hosts Germany started well and despite a suspect defence probably fourth favourites. Shame theyre all in the same half of the draw.
Italy have Donnarumma player of the tournament. Austria the hipsters choice, Switzerland very hard to beat and magnificent spine. England massively flawed, tactically inept but hard to write off some of the talented players. Eight teams can win it IMO.
Musselbound
26-06-2024, 11:10 PM
Shows how much wishful thinking was involved in the idea Scotland could qualify with 2 points. Was never going to happen. So the late Hungary goal was immaterial really.
cubehindthegoal
27-06-2024, 12:37 AM
You could see England lumbering to an agonising penalty shoot out defeat against any of these teams.
You could also see them doing what they need to do all the way to the final then their big players turning it on when they get there.
An unpredictable bunch.
Or you could see what they have always done save one year on home ground in an international tournament 58 years ago. That’s pretty predictable I’d say. They ain’t no Brazil, Germany, etc .. just wannabes that neverbe. That’s the truth of it.
cubehindthegoal
27-06-2024, 12:42 AM
Spain look the most likely winners, France the deepest squad and best defence, Portugal allround mastwrs of the dark arts and long game and the hosts Germany started well and despite a suspect defence probably fourth favourites. Shame theyre all in the same half of the draw.
Italy have Donnarumma player of the tournament. Austria the hipsters choice, Switzerland very hard to beat and magnificent spine. England massively flawed, tactically inept but hard to write off some of the talented players. Eight teams can win it IMO.
Germany got to be favourites from historic reflection on tournaments … but it’s tight this time … and the quality is spread a bit more than usual. Tough to call.
cubehindthegoal
27-06-2024, 12:51 AM
That is the long time hallmark of Italian tournament play.
They could always win it … and Germany are the same from European teams … Spain threaten to be up there … France moreso are there you could say … England should be you would think … but never have been … the mentality isn’t there perhaps. England are lucky this year in that some of the others could knock each out, and leave only one to beat. That’s the only way I can see that outcome, that and a poor day from their opponents … they over-rate themselves, year after year.
27-06-2024, 04:42 PM
some Belgium players had lasers shone in their eyes in the game with Ukraine yesterday
shame the tw@t wasn't caught
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 11:52 AM
Looking forward to the games this evening . I wouldn't be surprised if Switzerland were to beat Italy . Germany will be to strong for the Danes and probably win by a couple of goals.
29-06-2024, 12:09 PM
Looking forward to the games this evening . I wouldn't be surprised if Switzerland were to beat Italy . Germany will be to strong for the Danes and probably win by a couple of goals.
Agree with the first part but quietly fancy Denmark to give Germany a fright at least.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 12:25 PM
Agree with the first part but quietly fancy Denmark to give Germany a fright at least.
It's possible , I have been impressed with Germany so far . If had to pick a score I'd go 3-1 Germany though .
29-06-2024, 12:37 PM
Hanlon and Stevenson on the bench today for Raith.
pollution
29-06-2024, 04:00 PM
Italy are slow to begin a tournament but will pick up as they go along.
I can't see them losing today ..
29-06-2024, 04:05 PM
Think tonight is Clive's last game with itv after 28 years. Itv binning him. Crazy I think, he's miles better than Matterface.
29-06-2024, 04:12 PM
I honestly cannot stand Danny Murphy! I hate watching games on mute but I have to when Murphy is on co-comms. Just a miserable slaver.
29-06-2024, 04:15 PM
I honestly cannot stand Danny Murphy! I hate watching games on mute but I have to when Murphy is on co-comms. Just a miserable slaver.
Pat Nevin on the 5 live coms. Red button or switch over on iPlayer.
29-06-2024, 04:17 PM
Pat Nevin on the 5 live coms. Red button or switch over on iPlayer.
Good man! 👍
29-06-2024, 04:22 PM
Italy are slow to begin a tournament but will pick up as they go along.
I can't see them losing today ..
They always count the Italians out. And then they end up getting to the final and often winning.
They are not such a strong pool as in previous years but with that goalie behind them anything is possible.
29-06-2024, 04:26 PM
Could the Swiss striker have telegraphed it any clearer where he was putting that shot 😳
29-06-2024, 04:35 PM
Swiss look better at this point.
29-06-2024, 04:36 PM
Italy look poor
Saint Hibee
29-06-2024, 04:37 PM
How did Italy go from so good to so bad in just four years?!?
29-06-2024, 04:38 PM
Italy look absolutely *****.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Green Reaper
29-06-2024, 04:39 PM
1-0 Swizz, totally deserved
Up-the-slope
How poor have Italy been... managers head on the block after 6 changes
Swiss... been good. Makes you wonder how it could have been
Donegal Hibby
Switzerland 1- 0 Italy . Been coming . Italy really poor
29-06-2024, 04:41 PM
Spaletti
29-06-2024, 04:43 PM
Danny Murphy says brilliant touch got the goal what is he watching 😄
29-06-2024, 04:46 PM
This is why I'm a bit more cautious about Spain than others, good performance against Croatia but then could only beat this piss poor Italian team 1-0 and that was an own goal. This game is men against boys, Switzerland have been far, far better.
29-06-2024, 04:48 PM
Just like the whole tournament, all Italy have shown at this point is a great goalie.
29-06-2024, 04:50 PM
Spaletti is a very good manager, but he's miles off it here. Theyve been *****
pollution
29-06-2024, 04:51 PM
Never a corner
29-06-2024, 04:58 PM
Could the Swiss striker have telegraphed it any clearer where he was putting that shot 😳
Poor finish as well
29-06-2024, 04:59 PM
They lost huge characters and leaders like Chiellini and Bonucci
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 05:03 PM
And now more on England again and again ........:rolleyes:
29-06-2024, 05:05 PM
And now more on England again and again ........:rolleyes:
They could get knocked out tomorrow and we will still have a report on them for every game until the final.
29-06-2024, 05:06 PM
2-0 Switzerland.
29-06-2024, 05:07 PM
Stunning finish, but brutal defending.
Just standing watching.
Bye bye Italy!
pollution
This should be different this half
Green Reaper
Great strike
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 05:08 PM
That's Italy out as I don't think they have a goal in them never mind 2 or 3.
29-06-2024, 05:09 PM
Hopefully Switzerland will knock England out in the Quarter-Final.
Green Reaper
29-06-2024, 05:10 PM
Hopefully, Slovakia will knock them out tomorrow
Up-the-slope
29-06-2024, 05:19 PM
Took me until last game he was co-commentating on to realise that Danny Murphy sounds more and more like Ron Atkinson with every passing match :greengrin
29-06-2024, 05:19 PM
You expecting England to get through to the quarters? 😁
29-06-2024, 05:25 PM
Took me until last game he was co-commentating on to realise that Danny Murphy sounds more and more like Ron Atkinson with every passing match :greengrin
Not sure about that. Big Ron was an excitable character. I’m not sure what it would take to shake Murphy out of his permanent moribund state.
Green Reaper
29-06-2024, 05:26 PM
2-0 down to the Swizz with 24 mins to play, leaves Italy with a mountain to climb
29-06-2024, 05:28 PM
Not sure about that. Big Ron was an excitable character. I’m not sure what it would take to shake Murphy out of his permanent moribund state.
Big Ron was a racist. Id take Murphy over that.
29-06-2024, 05:28 PM
2-0 down to the Swizz with 24 mins to play, leaves Italy with a mountain to climb
They looked beaten the second the game kicked off.
The Swiss have been good but Italy have made it easy for them with a total lack of energy or desire.
A goal might spark them to life but hard to see where it’s going to come from.
Switzerland strolling this game, high press and talented players working a treat, this is as poor an Italian side I've seen in a long while.
Up-the-slope
29-06-2024, 05:38 PM
I know the current lack of jeopardy not helping in this game, but the stadium must be the worst for atmosphere of all those in tournament - rich mans Hampden :wink:
Real shame final is there
Paul1642
29-06-2024, 05:44 PM
Switzerland strolling this game, high press and talented players working a treat, this is as poor an Italian side I've seen in a long while.
Hopefully they turn up playing like this against England (if England make it that far)
Trinity Hibee
29-06-2024, 05:44 PM
Italy have no urgency. Losing all 50/50s
29-06-2024, 05:48 PM
How poor have Italy been? Think it's the worst I've ever seen them in a major tournament 😮
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 05:56 PM
Italy had no fight or urgency at all there . Poorest Italian side I've seen in a long time.
Stairway 2 7
29-06-2024, 06:00 PM
We should have beat Switzerland aswell
29-06-2024, 06:00 PM
Few results from today
East Fife 0-0 Raith (someone on their twitter said they was impressed with both Hanlon and Stevenson)
Dundee Utd 2-0 Annan
Huntly 0-2 St Johnstone
Arbroath 1-3 Dundee
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 06:13 PM
Incase you haven't heard about England...... Boring :yawn::zzzzz!:
Up-the-slope
29-06-2024, 06:14 PM
We should have beat Switzerland aswell
yup which is why I said earlier makes you think what could have been
How poor have Italy been? Think it's the worst I've ever seen them in a major tournament 😮
How poor, very very poor and now out and away home.
29-06-2024, 06:36 PM
Switzerland become the latest in a long line of tier 2 teams to knock out one of the favourites and subsequently stand down meekly for England. :aok:
29-06-2024, 06:38 PM
Switzerland become the latest in a long line of tier 2 teams to knock out one of the favourites and subsequently stand down meekly for England. :aok:
They’re already in the Semi Finals now don’tcha know ! 🤔
29-06-2024, 06:40 PM
Spooky
But once again that shower get all the luck, Mon’ Slovakia
29-06-2024, 06:54 PM
Daft PGMOL ref Michael Oliver will ruin this game.
29-06-2024, 07:04 PM
Daft PGMOL ref Michael Oliver will ruin this game.Well....
29-06-2024, 07:06 PM
Daft PGMOL ref Michael Oliver will ruin this game.
Nailed it
pollution
29-06-2024, 07:06 PM
Commentators are so behind the play.
Obviously off side look at fans' lack of celebration
29-06-2024, 07:07 PM
Nailed it
He's absolutely woeful. Dunno why Newcastle's owners pay him so much on the side. Must be better options.
29-06-2024, 07:09 PM
Obviously off side look at fans' lack of celebrationHuh?
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 07:13 PM
He's absolutely woeful. Dunno why Newcastle's owners pay him so much on the side. Must be better options.
Newcastle United don't have to pay this one actually :aok:......https://images.app.goo.gl/FUtLW4aSGd87246d8
29-06-2024, 07:14 PM
Wasn't offside though.
HarpOnHibee
29-06-2024, 07:16 PM
As was every player on the field, which is generally the case from corners. :wink:
29-06-2024, 07:22 PM
Newcastle United don't have to pay this one actually :aok:......https://images.app.goo.gl/FUtLW4aSGd87246d8
They still do :aok:
29-06-2024, 07:37 PM
Games stopped because of a storm ? Man up ffs !
29-06-2024, 07:38 PM
Cowdenbeath was worse than this!
29-06-2024, 07:39 PM
We’ve been at Easter Road in much worse conditions 😂
29-06-2024, 07:40 PM
Exactly :greengrin
pollution
29-06-2024, 07:41 PM
Health and safety ha
29-06-2024, 07:42 PM
Games stopped because of a storm ? Man up ffs !Wondered how long it would take for a comment like that
[emoji38]
29-06-2024, 07:42 PM
Plenty times I've been at ER that getting hit by lightening would've been ideal.
29-06-2024, 07:43 PM
Bloody light weight bunch to Europeans!
29-06-2024, 07:44 PM
Plenty times I've been at ER that getting hit by lightening would've been ideal.
29-06-2024, 07:45 PM
Can't be taking chances with lightning. Been a few nasty incidents over the years.
Quite common to have stoppages for electric storms in the NFL, particularly the Florida teams.
29-06-2024, 07:46 PM
Wondered how long it would take for a comment like that
[emoji38]
Players up the tunnel whilst the fans ( That could be struck by lightning) remain as they are :cb
29-06-2024, 07:47 PM
Rangers are demanding a penalty for this delay.
29-06-2024, 07:48 PM
Christ it's just a wee bit smirr!
29-06-2024, 07:59 PM
Is there a recent precedent for a match being suspended for adverse weather that they could use to help explain what is likely to happen?
Rangers are demanding a penalty for this delay.
Hope the cranes okay
29-06-2024, 08:30 PM
1-0 Denmark
29-06-2024, 08:31 PM
Denmark defending well and then they score!!
29-06-2024, 08:33 PM
Didnt that come off the german for the offside??
29-06-2024, 08:35 PM
On first viewing two joke decisions.
if only he kept his hand down/in
On first viewing two joke decisions.
Offside was clear. Close but that's the rule.
29-06-2024, 08:37 PM
if only he kept his hand down/in
Thats what you do when you run. It’s total nonsense
29-06-2024, 08:37 PM
Technically it's a penalty apart from the fact that it's not a penalty.
29-06-2024, 08:38 PM
Offside was clear.
Not according to the replay where it seems to be a toenail.
A terrible handball as well. No wonder the defender is laughing in disbelief. Football is getting this all wrong.
29-06-2024, 08:38 PM
What’s this Stickometer now ???
Dearie me !
29-06-2024, 08:39 PM
A terrible handball as well. No wonder is laughing in disbelief. Football is getting this all wrong.
So offside, then?
Wed be screaming for that penalty at Easter road.
29-06-2024, 08:41 PM
Oliver is a dreadful ref. Inevitable this game would be chaos.
Sensational penalty by the brilliant Havertz.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 08:41 PM
Handball rule is ridiculous now .
29-06-2024, 08:42 PM
Fitba insae science. That's why we fell in love with it. VAR is Skynet, man.
29-06-2024, 08:42 PM
So offside, then?
Wed be screaming for that penalty at Easter road.
You said it was clear offside 😂
I may well have been. Does not make it right though.
29-06-2024, 08:43 PM
Thats what you do when you run. It’s total nonsense
many other defenders would still have their hands down by their sides, they know the rules
his arm/hand was wayyyy out
29-06-2024, 08:43 PM
Was closer than I thought but ultimately offside.
Foul by Danish player costs Germany an easy goal though.
Stairway 2 7
29-06-2024, 08:46 PM
Does make it right, it was offside. I'd prefer the Wenger rule with the striker getting the benefit but that's not the rules. Penalty was clear defenders know the rules.
Haverts then scores a great penalty but misses a sitter after great play
29-06-2024, 08:49 PM
Why are we just accepting that this automated offside is right? There's no way they can make a call that tight that quickly. Not saying I want long delays by the way!
29-06-2024, 08:49 PM
Denmark are responding really well to this.
29-06-2024, 08:51 PM
2-0
29-06-2024, 08:51 PM
Long ball. Hearts goal.
29-06-2024, 08:52 PM
Why are we just accepting that this automated offside is right? There's no way they can make a call that tight that quickly. Not saying I want long delays by the way!
You think in 2024 technology can't make a decision that quickly? It's right, no doubt.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 08:53 PM
Amazing how a couple of decisions can change a game so quickly!
A terrible handball as well. No wonder the defender is laughing in disbelief. Football is getting this all wrong.
They have to amend the rules then.
29-06-2024, 09:08 PM
Germany v Spain/Georgia
without looking at the way the draw could go i was hoping for a Germany/Spain final :( ah well
29-06-2024, 09:15 PM
Why does Michael Oliver lick his var mic like that? Absolute pervert
29-06-2024, 09:19 PM
There’s something unconvincing about the Germans for me. Think Spain will beat them.
29-06-2024, 09:24 PM
Long ball. Hearts goal.
There was about 30 passes before the long ball ffs.
29-06-2024, 09:30 PM
The game is done with all those decisions, I’m kinda losing interest in the game now and can see me not going in a few years if it’s going down this road.
Donegal Hibby
29-06-2024, 09:35 PM
Probably in the minority here though I don't agree with either decisions , a toe offside and a penalty for the ball getting blasted at a defender .
Dodgy rules , to much technology are spoiling the game.
29-06-2024, 09:39 PM
It’s really quite hard to listen to the rules expert explain why all those decisions went the way they did and know they were “technically” correct… yet still feel they were wrong, and feel slightly short changed by the whole spectacle.
Not sure what needs to be done to sort it, really.
29-06-2024, 09:42 PM
Probably in the minority here though I don't agree with either decisions , a toe offside and a penalty for the ball getting blasted at a defender .
Don't think you are in the minority.
People are getting utterly fed up with this nonsense. Football isn't much fun anymore
29-06-2024, 09:43 PM
That’s how most normal football fans think. Definitely not in the minority
29-06-2024, 09:57 PM
Surely the offside is offside?
It’s done by computer, takes away the ambiguity and gives a definite yes/no decision?
29-06-2024, 10:05 PM
It’s done by computer, takes away the ambiguity and gives a definite yes/no decision?
Correct.
30-06-2024, 06:36 AM
No idea if it's true or not but the Denmark manager said in his post match interview they've been told it's not 100% accurate as they cannot tell exactly when the ball leaves the players foot.
If true then I think when it's as close as it was then I think they have a case that it's just too close to call and in that instance it should be a goal.
30-06-2024, 08:52 AM
Totally agree.... If those are the rules, then the rules are clearly wrong.
Denmark were robbed last night by two ridiculous decisions.
30-06-2024, 09:01 AM
That’s how most normal football fans think. Definitely not in the minority
That’s for sure, football being ruined by this nonsense
renato
30-06-2024, 09:30 AM
Italy had no fight or urgency at all there . Poorest Italian side I've seen in a long time.
That was the worst 90 mins I’ve seen from an Italian side in my lifetime. Worse than frauds like Ventura too.
And the poorest in terms of quality too, lacking all over the pitch. Utterly depressing.
Donegal Hibby
30-06-2024, 10:16 AM
No idea if it's true or not but the Denmark manager said in his post match interview they've been told it's not 100% accurate as they cannot tell exactly when the ball leaves the players foot.
If true then I think when it's as close as it was then I think they have a case that it's just too close to call and in that instance it should be a goal.
Ange Postecoglou mentioned this to about when the ball leaves the players foot too .
The Danes imo were shafted in that game , bad enough for it to happen once but twice is terrible.
If decisions like this are happening in a major tournament were they have probably the best of everything , what hope is there for the Scottish premier League this season.
30-06-2024, 03:12 PM
Is today the day England's stars shine in this euros 😁
30-06-2024, 03:15 PM
2 or 3 zip today you’d suspect.
30-06-2024, 03:33 PM
Is today the day England's stars shine in this euros 😁
Who the **** cares, can only hope they get gubbed, am away to the launderette, cannie listen to them overpaid plonkers spraffing a whole load o sheite.
30-06-2024, 03:41 PM
from last night
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/449133556_794013516202713_9144132554305545903_n.jp g?_nc_cat=103&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=833d8c&_nc_ohc=xfTWvKFw77wQ7kNvgHhjaQm&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AYA3C9KWWjbLejuCYrEwEdKqXlFKboSWhfBV3VtqjqXP XA&oe=66875B33
30-06-2024, 03:42 PM
These pundits man :blah:
30-06-2024, 03:50 PM
Think England will win comfortably tonight. Thought that the other day in fairness but their good players have to show up at some point.
30-06-2024, 03:53 PM
Wow Wright and Neville have really been drinking the koolaid today.
Why do England wear white and navy blue trim when their flag is red and white. Also still annoys me that they use the British anthem as an English one.
30-06-2024, 04:00 PM
Going for 6 minutes today on the Foden dive watch
30-06-2024, 04:08 PM
Two English players booked in the first 6 mins!
Curried
30-06-2024, 04:10 PM
Get inty this pis$
30-06-2024, 04:13 PM
Trent gets stick for being unable to defend but holy **** Walker can't attack or defend anymore.
Ben White must be chuckling away from his holiday home. Him and James are miles clear.
30-06-2024, 04:16 PM
Slovaks could easily be a few goals up here
Quite an open game
Ref seems determined to book everyone
30-06-2024, 04:17 PM
England will get a player sent off at this rate.
crash
30-06-2024, 04:18 PM
The best player on the planet gets a yellow too
Is getting like that Chile Italy game in the early 60s when they just kicked each other for 90 minutes.
Green Reaper
England will get a player sent off at this rate.
🤞
30-06-2024, 04:19 PM
As much Jude Bellingham is a fantastic player there’s something I just can’t stomach about the guy. Only me ?
30-06-2024, 04:22 PM
Switzerland will be fancying their chances against either of these sides on what we have seen so far in this tournament and today.
30-06-2024, 04:23 PM
Foden. An absolute embarrassment
crash
30-06-2024, 04:23 PM
Going for 6 minutes today on the Foden dive watch
22 mins
crash
30-06-2024, 04:25 PM
Ha ha ha
Yasss
1-0 Slovakia :greengrin
About deserved. England are ****ing dreadful.
Sioux
Gettin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf: Giruy
Curried
get in
30-06-2024, 04:26 PM
Do England players know they are allowed to move, it's like statues
pollution
Good goal
Green Reaper
Get in there!!
Disaster for England.
30-06-2024, 04:27 PM
Can't they also book Guehi for trying to foul him
[emoji23]
It’s coming home ! Wait I meant they’re coming home !! 😅
That defending is laughable. Gueh absolutely ragdolled by the striker and Stones ball watching standing 3 yards away not anticipating the ball in behind.
30-06-2024, 04:28 PM
Do England players know they are allowed to move, it's like statues
It's like a really expensive Pat Fenlon Hibs team.
30-06-2024, 04:32 PM
That defending is laughable. Gueh absolutely ragdolled by the striker and Stones ball watching standing 3 yards away not anticipating the ball in behind.Stones filling the Harry Maguire role there.
Shame[emoji16]
30-06-2024, 04:33 PM
It's like a really expensive Pat Fenlon Hibs team.
Kane seems to have been taking fitness tips from Christian Nade
30-06-2024, 04:34 PM
Loads be made of England obviously, but Slovakia been really good.
How do these wee countries manage it and we don’t.
30-06-2024, 04:35 PM
It's honestly mental he's persisted with this Foden Bellingham mess. And Mainoo is his 10 senior marches.
Some lovely booing from the England fans.
HarpOnHibee
Can see the headlines now.
"Pitch knocks out competition favourites".
30-06-2024, 04:37 PM
Some lovely booing from the England fans.Think I heard as many as 37 of them with a rousing mumble of the UK national anthem.
30-06-2024, 04:37 PM
😆😆😆😆
30-06-2024, 04:39 PM
At least they’ve lost the fear of losing the first goal…
30-06-2024, 04:40 PM
That defending is laughable. Gueh absolutely ragdolled by the striker and Stones ball watching standing 3 yards away not anticipating the ball in behind.
I enjoyed the Trippier carousel cameo as well.
Passing so slow and ponderous and got what they deserve, although they got through their group, they've been pretty poor.
30-06-2024, 04:42 PM
I enjoyed the Trippier carousel cameo as well.
In a country of 50 million people you think Gareth could have found a left footed left back
30-06-2024, 04:44 PM
Loads be made of England obviously, but Slovakia been really good.
How do these wee countries manage it and we don’t.
It's infuriating isn't it! They look so tidy and comfortable on the ball. And Scotland are anything but.
30-06-2024, 04:46 PM
This is so boring.
30-06-2024, 04:48 PM
Why’s Foden got his IQ tattooed behind his ear?🤔
HarpOnHibee
30-06-2024, 04:48 PM
Saka screaming as he goes down there from the slightest of touches. You have to wonder if they ever look at these clips back and have a chuckle to themselves.
30-06-2024, 04:50 PM
For a team with so much supposed talent and had so much of the ball they've done nothing with it. Not that I'm complaining but they look clueless.
Mainoo probably England's most positive player but that is damned with faint praise.
Looking forward to Roy Keane snickering his way through half time whilst the other pair lose the plot.
Still reckon England will win this. Slovakia can't just sit in like they did for the last 5 minutes of the 1st half. It's just inviting trouble.
In a country of 50 million people you think Gareth could have found a left footed left back
Round and round and around :greengrin
Why’s Foden got his IQ tattooed behind his ear?🤔
Haha! Just googled that.
30-06-2024, 04:51 PM
I still don't get the point of a Declan Rice, doesnt offer anything
30-06-2024, 04:51 PM
Over £100M though :faf:
30-06-2024, 04:53 PM
Rice was outstanding at Arsenal last season. Just another example of Southgate not being able to get anywhere near as much out of players as they’re capable of.
30-06-2024, 04:54 PM
Not 1 shot on target for England
Crazy given there attacking talent
The definition of not playing like a team
hibsfan7
30-06-2024, 04:55 PM
Is getting like that Chile Italy game in the early 60s when they just kicked each other for 90 minutes.
it was actually chile v spain and it was called the battle of santiago
30-06-2024, 04:59 PM
England unimpressive as they have been the whole tournament.
30-06-2024, 05:00 PM
Slovakia with a full deserved half time lead, wouldn't be surprised to see some subs second half.
30-06-2024, 05:01 PM
Slovakia will need to pick up again second half. They got pinned back latter part of the half and lacked any threat themselves. Can’t do that for 45 minutes.
Coach Jon
30-06-2024, 05:04 PM
The worry is that Slovakia are sitting back now,Englands weak defence has not been tested since they conceded.
If this continues England will definitely score, Slovakia have to get after a second goal.
bournehibby
30-06-2024, 05:05 PM
Chile v Italy
Bh
30-06-2024, 05:05 PM
It was Chile against Italy. 1962.
ErinGoBraghHFC
30-06-2024, 05:07 PM
Saying absolutely nothing until the final whistle.
30-06-2024, 05:07 PM
It’s also funny he selected Shaw who is no where near match fit and hasn’t played since Feb.
30-06-2024, 05:09 PM
**** off Foden
30-06-2024, 05:11 PM
Lol. Hurrah for VAR
pollution
Love var
crash
**** off Foden
You were right Off Foden
Green Reaper
Offside
Oh ma sides 😆 offside 😆
30-06-2024, 05:12 PM
Goal was offside but feels like only a matter of time before it’s 1-1
30-06-2024, 05:12 PM
There’s going to be tears and snotters if this continues :greengrin
30-06-2024, 05:14 PM
Ffs, can I unpack my travel bag or not.
30-06-2024, 05:14 PM
Slovakia ball retention very poor this half. I fancy England at this point.
pollution
30-06-2024, 05:15 PM
Bring back Maguire!
30-06-2024, 05:15 PM
Slovakia have stopped doing what was working for them before the goal went in
Stairway 2 7
30-06-2024, 05:18 PM
Slovakia surely can't sit like this for 30 odd minutes. Problem is if England score Slovakia have to switch pace completely
Curried
30-06-2024, 05:18 PM
What’s with the aprons ?
Green Reaper
30-06-2024, 05:20 PM
Slovakia need to make some changes
30-06-2024, 05:20 PM
Slovakia lucky not to be down to 10 there.
30-06-2024, 05:21 PM
Slovakia lucky not to be down to 10 there.
Should definitely have been a second yellow. Ref was card happy first half, really surprised he didn’t book the guy therr
Up-the-slope
30-06-2024, 05:24 PM
just turned on the football :faf:
judging by commentary... its going worse than even the score suggests
30-06-2024, 05:25 PM
Referee is shocking. Hilarious, but terrible.
30-06-2024, 05:25 PM
Lee Dixon is a clown. How was that a booking he tried to pull out a shot [emoji23]