View Full Version : Match Updates 2024-25 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

22-09-2024, 02:58 PM
Have Celtc dropped a lot of their first picks for this game, or is it their usual line-up?

Loads of first choice players being rotated out

He's here!
22-09-2024, 02:58 PM
Under-rated? He won Manager of the Year last season!

Yes, well deserved. I just meant he's one of those managers who has never been seriously considered for some of the bigger jobs despite the fact he'd probably have done well.

22-09-2024, 03:04 PM
Loads of first choice players being rotated out

22-09-2024, 03:08 PM
He wasn’t red carded.

My bad👍

badabing67
22-09-2024, 03:11 PM
Cracking goal by Celtic tbh

https://x.com/i/status/1837861153529012702

Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 03:12 PM
Might be in the minority here though I hope Celtic come back and win this!

22-09-2024, 03:13 PM
Might be in the minority here though I hope Celtic come back and win this!

Falkirk were a constant thorn in our side for years around the relegation era. Cant stand them.

Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 03:17 PM
Falkirk were a constant thorn in our side for years around the relegation era. Cant stand them.

That’s one of my reasons too , I also can’t stand them and it would give Sevco a better chance . Not particularly keen to see Aberdeen win it either .

22-09-2024, 03:18 PM
Celtic panicking now

22-09-2024, 03:20 PM
That’s one of my reasons too , I also can’t stand them .

I lived in Falkirk for a few years fairly close to the old Brockville stadium. That's a good reason to dislike Falkirk.

22-09-2024, 03:24 PM
Celtic 4 changes about the hour mark. Let’s see how this goes.

22-09-2024, 03:28 PM
2-2

Looks like he might be offside

Looked offside

22-09-2024, 03:29 PM
i think that's offside :rolleyes:

ouch 3-2

22-09-2024, 03:30 PM
3-2 Celtic

22-09-2024, 03:30 PM
Sean Mackie ..what are you doing son.

HarpOnHibee
22-09-2024, 03:31 PM
That was offside.

Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 03:31 PM
Some turnaround that :greengrin

22-09-2024, 03:32 PM
Booooooo......

22-09-2024, 03:33 PM
Pretty clearly well onside.

NC1875
22-09-2024, 03:33 PM
Sean Mackie ..what are you doing son.

Just realised that’s who that is. Looked familiar. Shocker from him.

22-09-2024, 03:34 PM
That was offside.

He was in front of the defender but not the ball.

22-09-2024, 03:37 PM
Rhodri what an actor

22-09-2024, 03:39 PM
4-2

22-09-2024, 03:39 PM
4-2
that'll be that for the Falkirk weans

22-09-2024, 03:41 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖

100 up

22-09-2024, 03:41 PM
Haaland is a machine.

22-09-2024, 03:42 PM
Ooft, goal Holland from a smashing ball from Savinho

5-2 Celtic

5-2

Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 03:44 PM
100 goals in a 105 games . What a player Haaland is

Celtic 4 changes about the hour mark. Let’s see how this goes.
Didn’t work then. :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

100 goals for Haaland in 105 games

not too shabby

22-09-2024, 03:45 PM
Arsenal bottling it again against Citey :greengrin

22-09-2024, 03:49 PM
falkirk red card

22-09-2024, 03:49 PM
Rhodri is some thespian

HarpOnHibee
22-09-2024, 03:52 PM
Haaland being showered with praise for that goal. But it would have been impossible for any player to miss at that near post, it was wide open.

22-09-2024, 03:53 PM
That's brilliant football

22-09-2024, 03:53 PM
What a goal from Arsenal

22-09-2024, 03:54 PM
What a hit that is.

22-09-2024, 03:55 PM
Rhodri is some thespian

TBF he hobbled off and been subbed.

Yep, some goal for Arsenal.

22-09-2024, 03:55 PM
wow poor chair pep has just assaulted

bringbackbenny
22-09-2024, 03:56 PM
Pep is such a weapon

Coach Jon
22-09-2024, 03:57 PM
WTF is Pep greetin' about??

Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 03:58 PM
Missed part of the Arsenal goal , was there a free kick taken from the wrong place?

22-09-2024, 03:59 PM
wow poor chair pep has just assaulted

Who was the Hibs manager that was booked for kicking a water bottle?

22-09-2024, 04:01 PM
Great game this, it's good when the big games live up to their billing.

22-09-2024, 04:02 PM

Was it Mixu?

22-09-2024, 04:03 PM

Sure Hecky did it and it hit the fourth official

22-09-2024, 04:04 PM
Missed part of the Arsenal goal , was there a free kick taken from the wrong place?

Aye, about 10 yards from where it should have been, that's what Pep's moaning about.

Dmas
22-09-2024, 04:08 PM
Aye, about 10 yards from where it should have been, that's what Pep's moaning about.

Saying on sky it’s cause the refs pulled Walker over to speak to him then allowed a quick free kick before he could get back into position.

Good game ref is close to losing it though cards will start coming out shortly I think

22-09-2024, 04:08 PM
Doku kicks it away, no yellow. Strange.

22-09-2024, 04:10 PM
Sitter by Gabriel.

22-09-2024, 04:17 PM
Gabriel again! What a header of the ball he is

22-09-2024, 04:19 PM
Arsenal number 11 knows what he's doing by stopping ederson

22-09-2024, 04:19 PM
Arsenal so dangerous on set plays

Arsenal better to team last 10 mins or so

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

22-09-2024, 04:20 PM
Arsenal number 11 knows what he's doing by stopping eddisonOfcourse he does, it's smart play and a big part of successful set plays

Never a foul

HarpOnHibee
22-09-2024, 04:21 PM
There's just something about Arsenal. Very much a different side these days and can see them going all the way this season.

22-09-2024, 04:23 PM
There's just something about Arsenal. Very much a different side these days and can see them going all the way this season.

Still think they're lacking some quality up top. Most of their threat still comes from set pieces or midfielders.

But they look good here so far. I still fancy Citeh will win.

22-09-2024, 04:24 PM
What is Trossard doing man.

22-09-2024, 04:25 PM
man city have a chance now, arsenal down to 10

22-09-2024, 04:25 PM
Arsenal have just jambottled it 😁

22-09-2024, 04:26 PM
he doesn't want to go so maybe best giving him another red card :greengrin

NC1875
22-09-2024, 04:26 PM
Pure stupidity from Trossard.

22-09-2024, 04:27 PM
The first foul isn't a yellow

Has he been booked for kicking the ball away?

Man city guy done a much more obvious one earlier with no action

Ref bowed to the growing pressure imo

HarpOnHibee
Still think they're lacking some quality up top. Most of their threat still comes from set pieces or midfielders.

But they look good here so far. I still fancy Citeh will win.

I fancy them to win now. Utter stupidity from Trossard there.

Stairway 2 7
Trossard what an idiot, so unneeded. Arsenal will have to keep it tight but are capable

How much extra time is being played?

That's crazy

Dmas
What a half of football

22-09-2024, 04:28 PM

He absolutely booted the ball away…it’s nowt to do with ref bowing to pressure.

HarpOnHibee
22-09-2024, 04:28 PM

Regardless, he knew he was already on a yellow then goes and does that in the middle of the pitch. Beyond foolish.

22-09-2024, 04:30 PM
Well **** me, I go away to put on the potatoes and veg, come back and Arsenal are 1-2 up and Trossard has been sent off, never seen that coming after the 1st 15 mins.

22-09-2024, 04:30 PM
If it's for kicking the ball away, it's unreal. Arsenal the only side in that league that get punished for that.

Oliver should be nowhere near this game.

22-09-2024, 04:31 PM
He absolutely booted the ball away…it’s nowt to do with ref bowing to pressure.What happened when the city player kicked the ball away earlier?

And that wasn't right after the whistle was blown?

The ref was losing a bit of control of the game earlier - how can he know trossard heard the whistle?

If it's for kicking the ball away, it's unreal. Arsenal the only side in that league that get punished for that.

Nottingham forest player got booked for it late in their game earlier

What is Trossard doing man.

Stupidity

Finally, game finished... Mansour City FC lose.It's half time.

22-09-2024, 04:34 PM
What happened when the city player kicked the ball away earlier?

And that wasn't right after the white was blown?

The ref was losing a bit of control of the game earlier - how can he know trossard heard the whistle?

Doku should’ve been booked.

Doesnae change anything for Trossard though

22-09-2024, 04:35 PM

It's the rule, he should know not to be so stupid. Especially after Damien Rice getting sent off for similar actions recently.

Trossard at fault.

22-09-2024, 04:35 PM

You’d think they’d maybe have learned then. Stupidity and not exactly subtle.

22-09-2024, 04:36 PM
It's the rule, he should know not to be so stupid. Especially after Damien Rice getting sent off for similar actions recently.

Trossard at fault.

Good point about Rice

22-09-2024, 04:37 PM

Trossard at fault.

Absolutely it's the rule. Why is it only applied to one team?

Doku done it 10 minutes before, nothing. Szbozlai done it last week for Liverpool. Literally blootered it across the park. Nothing. Joao Pedro, nothing.

Refs are a dreadful standard.

22-09-2024, 04:39 PM

Doku done it 10 minutes before, nothing. Szbozlai done it last week for Liverpool. Literally blootered it across the park. Nothing. Joao Pedro, nothing.

You don't have to be paranoid to support arsenal but it helps? 😁 No idea, I don't want every game so can't say how consistent it's being applied.

But Trossard should not have even taken the risk, especially when on a yellow already.

22-09-2024, 04:40 PM

It was applied to Nottingham forest earlier today

HibbyDave
22-09-2024, 04:41 PM
Amazingly, the twin cheeks are kept apart again for a semi draw.
Only met each other in a semi final 12 times since ……………….1889!!!

22-09-2024, 04:42 PM
You don't have to be paranoid to support arsenal but it helps? 😁 No idea, I don't want every game so can't say how consistent it's being applied.

But Trossard should not have even taken the risk, especially when on a yellow already.

It goes unpunished in nearly every game. There will be plenty times where Arsenal players have got away with it. It’s been highlighted lately because they’ve had two players who have been daft enough to do it when already on a yellow.

Newry Hibs
22-09-2024, 04:46 PM

How many times have they been kept apart?

22-09-2024, 04:46 PM
It was applied to Nottingham forest earlier today

Don't let facts get in the way of a good old victim complex.

22-09-2024, 04:52 PM
If anyone can hold out here it’s Arsenal. City get to the edge of the box and have absolutely nowhere to go.

22-09-2024, 04:52 PM
Thought Man City looked a wee bit ponderous midweek and similar today.

They are missing something.

22-09-2024, 04:54 PM
If anyone can hold out here it’s Arsenal. City get to the edge of the box and have absolutely nowhere to go.

Yeah they are absolutely brilliant defensively. City are used to the low block though, if there is any team you'd back to break it down, it's them.

22-09-2024, 04:57 PM
Hot baws cauld baws :agree:

22-09-2024, 04:58 PM
Grealish for Doku

Get Foden on

22-09-2024, 04:59 PM
109 passes to 2 in the 2nd half so far, 15 mins

that's some stat

22-09-2024, 05:00 PM
Mind that time some couldn't believe how Arsenal were dropping Ramsdale for Raya?

Looking pretty sound decision making now

22-09-2024, 05:01 PM
Yeah they are absolutely brilliant defensively. City are used to the low block though, if there is any team you'd back to break it down, it's them.

There’s a low block then there’s this. Never seen anything quite like it. The City defence are pretty much lined up on the Arsenal 18 yard line.

22-09-2024, 05:02 PM
There’s a low block then there’s this. Never seen anything quite like it. The City defence are pretty much lined up on the Arsenal 18 yard line.

Need to have some kind of threat though City are brilliant with the ball

22-09-2024, 05:06 PM
109 passes to 2 in the 2nd half so far, 15 mins

that's some stat

Think that was passes in the opposition half, in the second half. Still a stunning stat

22-09-2024, 05:08 PM
Mind that time some couldn't believe how Arsenal were dropping Ramsdale for Raya?

Raya has been world class since his Brentford days.
Great keeper.

22-09-2024, 05:08 PM
Think that was passes in the opposition half, in the second half. Still a stunning stat

It was aye. 👍

22-09-2024, 05:11 PM

Raya went through a spell of making some serious mistakes for Arsenal.

He’s playing great now, but the chat about bringing in Ramsdale was fair at the time.

22-09-2024, 05:12 PM

yup, i should have been a bit clearer :agree:

22-09-2024, 05:14 PM
yup, i should have been a bit clearer :agree:

All good mate, mental stat, even though arsenal have set up so deep

22-09-2024, 05:20 PM
All good mate, mental stat, even though arsenal have set up so deep

Arsenal will still leave with at least a point

i think

anyway, time for NFL

22-09-2024, 05:22 PM
City look totally out of ideas here.

22-09-2024, 05:23 PM
Cramp doesn't exist according to the referee

If arsenal can hang on here it's an incredible performance

22-09-2024, 05:27 PM
No guile for City here

22-09-2024, 05:28 PM
This has been weird from City. To just continue with their centre halves having all of the ball that close to Arsenal’s goal is mental.

22-09-2024, 05:28 PM
+7 mins

Not sure about that but here we are

22-09-2024, 05:29 PM
Tremendous defensive performance from Arsenal in the 2nd half here.

22-09-2024, 05:29 PM
This has been weird from City. To just continue with their centre halves having all of the ball that close to Arsenal’s goal is mental.

Just spent 3 solid minutes going back and forth across the arsenal box, no creativity at all

22-09-2024, 05:35 PM
Well deserved you'd have to say. Arsenal can't have any complaints, I'm sure they will know knowing them.

22-09-2024, 05:37 PM
Excellent, equaliser!

22-09-2024, 05:38 PM
That's a boot in the Stones for Arsenal. 🤭

Lovely

There should have still been the best part of two minutes to play there. Ref has just wanted the game done.

Shame for Arsenal that.

22-09-2024, 05:39 PM
Good result for Arsenal 12 Vs 10. 7 from Villa, City and Spurs away is very impressive.

I'm not sure I could've taken the immense scale of Arsenal's posturing celebrations, so on that level that equaliser is quite welcome.

Gave up playing to 99 Minuts it seems

Ref decided just to get it over with [emoji1787]

Scored 97, played no more football and blew the whistle

Feel for arsenal there - absolutely tremendous defensive performance by Arsenal

22-09-2024, 05:40 PM
Gave up playing to 99 Minuts it seems

Ref decided just to get it over with [emoji1787]

Scored 97, played no more football and blew the whistle

Feel for arsenal there - absolutely tremendous defensive performance by Arsenal

Outstanding keeper, best centre back pair in the league. They have a chance with that base.

Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 05:41 PM
No more than City deserved.

22-09-2024, 05:42 PM
I'm not sure I could've taken the immense scale of Arsenal's posturing celebrations, so on that level that equaliser is quite welcome.

Aye. They'd have celebrated like they'd won the league when the likelihood is even if they had they'd not win the league.

It was an excellent defensive performance, but about as anti football as you can get so I think justice was served in the end.

HibbyDave
How many times have they been kept apart?

Every other time they both reached the semis😂

Every other time they both reached the semis[emoji23]They played each other in the semi final the year we won it

22-09-2024, 05:44 PM
Aye. They'd have celebrated like they'd won the league when the likelihood is even if they had they'd not win the league.

It was an excellent defensive performance, but about as anti football as you can get so I think justice was served in the end.

What other option is there a man down at City?

That is absolutely sickening for Arsenal.

Crazy amount of stoppage time added on at the end of games these days compared to what it used to be

A very entertaining and tense game, second half was attack vs defence, fair result for me.

Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 05:46 PM
77.6 possession
33 shots , 11 on target for City shows how good they are !

22-09-2024, 05:48 PM
77.6 possession

130 charges too, got to mind that.

22-09-2024, 05:48 PM
That is absolutely sickening for Arsenal.

Crazy amount of stoppage time added on at the end of games these days compared to what it used to be

There was quite a few injury stoppages in the second half, a couple of them even looked genuine :greengrin

22-09-2024, 05:49 PM
Jackson Irvine playing for St Pauli v RB Leipzig just now

22-09-2024, 05:51 PM
77.6 possession

Nah, I don’t think the stats show that at all. Arsenal surrendered possession of the ball for second half, and chose to play a tactic of defending their box (as is their right when a man down at the etihad). Most of those shots on target were from distance and fairly comfortable for raya, although he made a couple of excellent saves as well

If the stats had looked that way for the first half I’d agree with you

22-09-2024, 05:57 PM
Tremendous defensive performance from Arsenal in the 2nd half here.

Agree thought they did very well. poorly caught out at the corner though

He's here!
22-09-2024, 06:07 PM

Turning in a superb defensive performance for nearly an hour against the strongest side in the league isn't really anti-football when you're down to ten men. I thought it showed how well the Arsenal side have matured.

22-09-2024, 06:09 PM
Turning in a superb defensive performance for nearly an hour against the strongest side in the league isn't really anti-football when you're down to ten men. I thought it showed how well the Arsenal side have matured.

Ultimately it cost them though. As Keane pointed out post match they aren't the only team to have went down to 10 men.

It was extremely unlikely they could keep City out for a whole half playing like that.

You'd never see City or Liverpool playing like that regardless of who they played or where. Unlike Arsenal however those teams have winning mentalities.

22-09-2024, 06:14 PM
Ultimately it cost them though. As Keane pointed out post match they aren't the only team to have went down to 10 men.

It was extremely unlikely they could keep City out for a whole half playing like that.

You'd never see City or Liverpool playing like that regardless of who they played or where. Unlike Arsenal however those teams have winning mentalities.

Liverpool and City absolutely would sit in with 10 men against opposition of that quality. City sat in at Arsenal last season.

Winning mentality or 130 charges for financial doping? Yeah, deffo winning mentality that's bagged all those titles. Did you think Rangers had a winning mentality in the 90s too?

22-09-2024, 06:15 PM

That makes no sense at all. Any team playing away at the champion's ground going down to 10 in the first half, would take a point any day. It's the second time Arsenal have got a result 10v11 and that's a sign of a very good team.

22-09-2024, 06:17 PM
That makes no sense at all. Any team playing away at the champion's ground going down to 10 in the first half, would take a point any day. It's the second time Arsenal have got a result 10v11 and that's a sign of a very good team.

Correct. Klopps Liverpool went down to 10 at city once. Think they lost 5-0. Yep, 2017. Mane sent off. 5-0 City.

Mcbizz1998
22-09-2024, 06:18 PM
https://x.com/kvlmason/status/1837910705565000081?s=46&t=RCuKiBHhMKInuJv6TMJj_g

22-09-2024, 06:19 PM

It's about the mentality instilled into teams. Arsenal don't have that win at all costs mentality that winning teams do, and IMO it will be the reason they fail to win the title again this year.

22-09-2024, 06:22 PM

Nonsense. You mentioned’anti football’; a phrase that doesnt make sense when youre reduced to ten men. You play to your strengths in that scenario and make the opponent show the creativity to play through you. All teams do it, it’s ignorant to suggest otherwise.

22-09-2024, 06:23 PM
It's about the mentality instilled into teams. Arsenal don't have that win at all costs mentality that winning teams do, and IMO it will be the reason they fail to win the title again this year.

How did they win at Spurs without any first choice midfielders then?

22-09-2024, 06:26 PM
Always a shame seeing Manchester 115 celebrate anything.

22-09-2024, 06:29 PM

Would generally agree but think that is harsh on Arsenal today. They were unlucky there.

Don’t think they’ll win the league either though.

22-09-2024, 06:31 PM
Always a shame seeing Manchester 115 celebrate anything.

Amazes me the amount of fans these cheats have. Guess they think Lance Armstrong just had a winning mentality too :faf:

22-09-2024, 06:44 PM
Milan Derby about to kick off on TNT, Martinez due a performance for Inter, he's not hit the heights of last season yet.

22-09-2024, 06:48 PM
Amazes me the amount of fans these cheats have. Guess they think Lance Armstrong just had a winning mentality too :faf:

I think it’s possible to separate the players and manager from the cheating by the club. City deserve whatever punishments might be coming their way. As a football team it’s difficult not to admire the job Pep has done and the team he has created though.

I like an underdog, have enjoyed watching the job Arteta has done and watching Arsenal mature and go toe to toe with the best team there’s been in English football.

supermcginn
22-09-2024, 06:54 PM
Hilarious ending to the Man city game, it would have been a travesty if Arsenal had won that after all the antics and time wasting. City will still win the league comfortably.

22-09-2024, 06:58 PM
I think it’s possible to separate the players and manager from the cheating by the club. City deserve whatever punishments might be coming their way. As a football team it’s difficult not to admire the job Pep has done and the team he has created though.

I like an underdog, have enjoyed watching the job Arteta has done and watching Arsenal mature and go toe to toe with the best team there’s been in English football.

It's very easy not to admire a state funded team, who lie about their financial figures for 10 years straight imo.

Donegal Hibby
22-09-2024, 07:00 PM
Nah, I don’t think the stats show that at all. Arsenal surrendered possession of the ball for second half, and chose to play a tactic of defending their box (as is their right when a man down at the etihad). Most of those shots on target were from distance and fairly comfortable for raya, although he made a couple of excellent saves as well

If the stats had looked that way for the first half I’d agree with you

The sending off did change things alright though City usually dominate possession against other teams even last season in the 0-0 with Arsenal they had 73% possession and 700 passes to Arsenals 269 .

Incredible team that are a joy to watch who are still that bit better than the Gunners lMO.

22-09-2024, 07:08 PM
It's very easy not to admire a state funded team, who lie about their financial figures for 10 years straight imo.

Fair enough. I don’t think the likes of Pep and Halland are directly complicit in whatever City have been doing. They are just there to put a team on the park and to perform on the park, and have done it better than most. That’s why I appreciate and, generally, enjoy Man City’s football matches. All the other stuff is a separate conversation IMO. Don’t punish the son for the sins of the father and all that.

22-09-2024, 07:08 PM

Arsenal still gratefully accepting £10m a year from the Rwandan government?

22-09-2024, 07:09 PM
Arsenal still gratefully accepting £10m a year from the Rwandan government?

Yep. Horrible, disgraceful thing to do.

22-09-2024, 07:11 PM
Fair enough. I don’t think the likes of Pep and Halland are directly complicit in whatever City have been doing. They are just there to put a team on the park and to perform on the park, and have done it better than most. That’s why I appreciate and, generally, enjoy Man City’s football matches. All the other stuff is a separate conversation IMO. Don’t punish the son for the sins of the father and all that.

You don't think Pep, a guy who as a player was banned for doping, who's Barcelona side made payments to refs, and city bought a club for his brother, has any idea what's happening? Fair enough.

22-09-2024, 07:12 PM
Lovely goal from AC Milan 👌

22-09-2024, 07:13 PM
Yep. Horrible, disgraceful thing to do.

Does the fact Arsenal unashamedly sports washes for that country make it easy for you not to admire them or do you separate the players and managers from the corporate decisions of the Club owners/leaders?

22-09-2024, 07:14 PM
1 each Inter.

22-09-2024, 07:15 PM
Does the fact Arsenal unashamedly sports washes for that country make it easy for you not to admire them or do you separate the players and managers from the corporate decisions of the Club owners/leaders?

No. I don't support Arsenal. Id just prefer them to win over a state funded club with 130 financial doping charges.

I have pointed out when Arsenal have been wrong to do things in the past too. It's never been anything like the crimes commited by City or their owners.

22-09-2024, 07:16 PM

Leicester were an underdog. Arteta has spent £600m.

22-09-2024, 07:16 PM

The £50 million a year sponsor from Emirates Group who are owned by the ruling family of Dubai!

22-09-2024, 07:18 PM
1 each Inter.
Another lovely goal 👌

Mcbizz1998
22-09-2024, 07:19 PM
https://x.com/raithrovers/status/1837800013679808578?s=48&t=ENbIEoU8KAwzkUnLDA5G_g

Sign him up!

22-09-2024, 07:24 PM
Leicester were an underdog. Arteta has spent £600m.

Underdog possibly isn’t the correct term, but when Arteta took over Arsenal were a club going nowhere, a cup team at best. He’s taken them to now going toe to toe with Man City. He’s spent a fortune, but spending money and spending it well are two different things. Only have to look at Man U.

22-09-2024, 07:24 PM
https://x.com/raithrovers/status/1837800013679808578?s=48&t=ENbIEoU8KAwzkUnLDA5G_g

Sign him up!

Get him re-signed immediately.

jakedance
22-09-2024, 07:44 PM

Sign him up!

Is he playing midfield for them? Probably the championship goal of the season already.

22-09-2024, 08:34 PM
2-1 AC Milan.

22-09-2024, 08:35 PM
Lyon 1 Marseille 2, OM score two late on after playing 85 minutes with ten men. Will Go top with PSG and Monaco if hold on . Edit- Two further goals in added time, ridiculous 2-3.

22-09-2024, 09:02 PM
Is he playing midfield for them? Probably the championship goal of the season already.

Nah he played left back, I was at the game. Lewis was really good, Paul not so.

22-09-2024, 09:05 PM
No. I don't support Arsenal. Id just prefer them to win over a state funded club with 130 financial doping charges.

I have pointed out when Arsenal have been wrong to do things in the past too. It's never been anything like the crimes commited by City or their owners.

Presumably that extends to games not involving Man City too? Take the North London Derby as an example, would I be correct in thinking you’d prefer a Spurs win over Rwandan funded Arsenal?

22-09-2024, 09:20 PM
Presumably that extends to games not involving Man City too? Take the North London Derby as an example, would I be correct in thinking you’d prefer a Spurs win over Rwandan funded Arsenal?

No, not especially. I do prefer Arsenal as English clubs go, long before I knew what sports washing was. It's nothing compared to my feelings for Hibs of course. I only support Hibs.

Do you genuinely think a sponsor is anything even remotely like being owned by a country with thousands of years of human rights violations, and having 130 chargers of financial doping? Id much prefer Arsenal, and Hibs, didn't have dodgy sponsors. It's very different from ownership imo. I would stop attending Hibs matches immediately if we were taken over by owners like City or Newcastle.

Do you think 10 Hibs fans singing a sectarian song is the same as 50k Rangers fans signing a sectarian song?

22-09-2024, 11:05 PM
No, not especially. I do prefer Arsenal as English clubs go, long before I knew what sports washing was. It's nothing compared to my feelings for Hibs of course. I only support Hibs.

Do you genuinely think a sponsor is anything even remotely like being owned by a country with thousands of years of human rights violations, and having 130 chargers of financial doping? Id much prefer Arsenal, and Hibs, didn't have dodgy sponsors. It's very different from ownership imo. I would stop attending Hibs matches immediately if we were taken over by owners like City or Newcastle.

Do you think 10 Hibs fans singing a sectarian song is the same as 50k Rangers fans signing a sectarian song?

I don’t think I said they were the same thing but I certainly believe the intention of state ownership and state funding through sponsorships are ultimately the same - it’s all part of the same over-arching strategy of reputation washing through sports and furthering state interests abroad through soft power. Arsenal have been a willing participant in such a strategy for over 18 years, during which time they’ll have likely received in excess of half a billion pounds (£500,000,000+) from a nation with “thousands of years of human rights violations“ to promote Emirates.

If the intent is the same it is surely irrelevant how many people are involved. One person is too many, I don’t have a threshold below which bigotry is more acceptable.

23-09-2024, 04:52 AM
I don’t think I said they were the same thing but I certainly believe the intention of state ownership and state funding through sponsorships are ultimately the same - it’s all part of the same over-arching strategy of reputation washing through sports and furthering state interests abroad through soft power. Arsenal have been a willing participant in such a strategy for over 18 years, during which time they’ll have likely received in excess of half a billion pounds (£500,000,000+) from a nation with “thousands of years of human rights violations“ to promote Emirates.

If the intent is the same it is surely irrelevant how many people are involved. One person is too many, I don’t have a threshold below which bigotry is more acceptable.

So there are not levels to evil then? Watching an illegal stream is the same as genocide? Hibs fans as bigoted as Rangers fans?

I personally have my line. I dislike these sponsors, but I see it as massively different to ownership.

23-09-2024, 05:51 AM

Your point regarding Arsenals sponsorship over the years is absolutely spot on. Those in glass houses and all that.

23-09-2024, 05:54 AM
Your point regarding Arsenals sponsorship over the years is absolutely spot on. Those in glass houses and all that.

Do you genuinely believe all crimes are equal?

23-09-2024, 06:21 AM
Do you genuinely believe all crimes are equal?

Arsenal literally have their stadium name and their main shirt sponsor from a state owned government with a terrible human rights record. They've previously had sponsorship from the Rwandan government, sponsorships worth hundreds of millions.

Capital Green has taken apart your argument and shown it up for the nonsense it really is.

23-09-2024, 06:35 AM
CapitalGreen doing some proper schooling here. Love it.

23-09-2024, 06:42 AM

Oh aye, properly schooled :faf:

23-09-2024, 06:46 AM
Arsenal literally have their stadium name and their main shirt sponsor from a state owned government with a terrible human rights record. They've previously had sponsorship from the Rwandan government, sponsorships worth hundreds of millions.

Capital Green has taken apart your argument and shown it up for the nonsense it really is.

Just absolutely genius.

Again, I've strongly condemned Arsenal's affiliation with those things. And anyone else's. It's still not at all the same as those regimes literally owning the club, and breaking rules 130 times to fund it.

I do respect you having such strong sense of black and white. I've never come across someone who believes all crimes are exactly the same. Thank god this opinion isn't shared in the wider world of football, where man city, Newcastle and psg etc are seen as a whole different level of evil.

23-09-2024, 06:46 AM

Let's also remember that it was Arsenal who had their stadium partially funded and named after a company who are state owned by a country with a horrendous human rights record.

They did that years before new ownership took control at City and Newcastle.

23-09-2024, 06:49 AM
Let's also remember that it was Arsenal who had their stadium partially funded and named after a company who are state owned by a country with a horrendous human rights record.

They did that years before new ownership took control at City and Newcastle.

Yes, and that was also wrong. As I've said. Multiple times now.

23-09-2024, 06:56 AM
As boring as the Vente thread. Apart from my update on the Raith v Hamilton game of course :greengrin

23-09-2024, 11:37 AM
I missed it yesterday, but am I alone in thinking Trossards yellow for kicking the ball away is extremely harsh?

It was so close to the whistle going, surely theres got to be some mitigation?

23-09-2024, 02:40 PM
I missed it yesterday, but am I alone in thinking Trossards yellow for kicking the ball away is extremely harsh?

It was so close to the whistle going, surely theres got to be some mitigation?

Seems to be plenty mitigation if not playing for Arsenal.

Same ref 2 weeks ago.

https://x.com/NorthBankerAFC/status/1837892024898314737

No excuse for such inconsistency.

He's here!
23-09-2024, 02:45 PM
Underdog possibly isn’t the correct term, but when Arteta took over Arsenal were a club going nowhere, a cup team at best. He’s taken them to now going toe to toe with Man City. He’s spent a fortune, but spending money and spending it well are two different things. Only have to look at Man U.

Good summation. Personally think he's done a great job - and been given the time to do it.

23-09-2024, 02:46 PM
Seems to be plenty mitigation if not playing for Arsenal.

Same ref 2 weeks ago.

https://x.com/NorthBankerAFC/status/1837892024898314737

No excuse for such inconsistency.

Poor stuff. The guy had already started to kick the ball when the whistle blew, it's a rank decision.

23-09-2024, 03:46 PM
could they not just play around it :dunno: Massive 'sinkhole' opens up on AFC Wimbledon pitch after 'extensive flooding' (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-za/news/other/massive-sinkhole-opens-up-on-afc-wimbledon-pitch-after-extensive-flooding/ar-AA1r37yk?ocid=BingNewsSerp)

:)

23-09-2024, 08:19 PM
Very good article.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2024/sep/23/arsenal-defending-beauty-conspiracy-manchester-city-rodri

23-09-2024, 08:49 PM
The £50 million a year sponsor from Emirates Group who are owned by the ruling family of Dubai!

The Emirates cost £390m to build.They borrowed £260m from banks, secured on future revenues. They borrowed another £97m from fans. They got £130m from selling Highbury. Emirates sponsored them for 15 years for a total of £100m or £6.7m a year. Of course some of the money went to service the debt and repay the interest and capital. The Emirates contribution is tiny compared to the UAE and Saudi involvement in City and Newcastle.

23-09-2024, 09:00 PM
The Emirates cost £390m to build.They borrowed £260m from banks, secured on future revenues. They borrowed another £97m from fans. They got £130m from selling Highbury. Emirates sponsored them for 15 years for a total of £100m or £6.7m a year. Of course some of the money went to service the debt and repay the interest and capital. The Emirates contribution is tiny compared to the UAE and Saudi involvement in City and Newcastle.

Your numbers are off by quite a bit.

They have been sponsored by Emirates since 2006 - 18 years and will run for at least 22 years to 2028.

The current Emirates shirt sponsorship is worth £50m per season before accounting for performance related bonuses.

23-09-2024, 09:01 PM
Good summation. Personally think he's done a great job - and been given the time to do it.

getting beaten off Hibs in preseason was the catalyst ;)

Stairway 2 7
23-09-2024, 09:09 PM

The naming rights for the stadium was £100 million for 15 years, although they signed an extension so that will be higher. They also get £50 per year for 5 years from the shirt sponsorship from them, it was £40 million for 5 years previous to that and £25 per year before that.

They must be over £750 million from Dubai (Emirates) so far increasing by almost £60 million each year, add in another £100 from Rwanda too at £10 million per year

https://www.sportspromedia.com/news/arsenal-emirates-shirt-sponsorship-extension-renewal-2028/

23-09-2024, 09:16 PM
The naming rights for the stadium was £100 million for 15 years, although they signed an extension so that will be higher. They also get £50 per year for 5 years from the shirt sponsorship from them, it was £40 million for 5 years previous to that and £25 per year before that.

They must be over £750 million from Dubai (Emirates) so far increasing by almost £60 million each year, add in another £100 from Rwanda too at £10 million per year

https://www.sportspromedia.com/news/arsenal-emirates-shirt-sponsorship-extension-renewal-2028/

They also have an agreement with another Dubai based organisation to sponsor their training ground, Woman’s facilities some of the hospitality suites at the stadium worth about £50m.

23-09-2024, 09:21 PM

Not sure that was my point.

I mentioned their involvement with Emirates who are state owned to the tune of £50 million a year.

If you look at the numbers since 2018 and the end of the extended contract in 2028 it’ll be around £400 million in 10 years so that would average around £40 million a season? (If you add the previous years of sponsorship from emirates it’ll probably be closer to half a billion)

I would say £400 million is a substantial amount of money for any club,

24-09-2024, 06:08 AM

So not far off a billion quid from countries with terrible human rights records.

You could argue Arsenal were the trailblazers in sports washing in England.

24-09-2024, 06:41 AM
So not far off a billion quid from countries with terrible human rights records.

You could argue Arsenal were the trailblazers in sports washing in England.

There can be different levels of wrong. Arsenal are certainly wrong to have those sponsors. Same as Hibs are with bevvy.

It is still very clearly different from ownership. Although you know that.

24-09-2024, 08:02 AM
There can be different levels of wrong. Arsenal are certainly wrong to have those sponsors. Same as Hibs are with bevvy.

Alcohol is a bit different to human rights violations.

24-09-2024, 10:28 AM

Yes, of course. Not all crimes are equal.

24-09-2024, 10:31 AM

If we’re talking about a nefarious infustry that is literally ruining millions of lives and thriving on addiction and is in bed with the entire football industry, it’s gambling.

From a morality point of view, football is obviously a lost cause. That doesnt mean we shouldn’t aspire for it to be better, or we should want our teams to try and set the highest standards they can, and be disappointed when they don’t. Personally, i think Man City and PSG, the teams that are owned by petrostates that have manipulated FFP for over a decade to buy their titles, are a level of immorality beyond teams that take sponsorship money off Rwanda (who are probably nowhere near the top ten for human rights abusing nations globally) or the ridiculous number of championship clubs in particular that have gambling companies as sponsors. But it’s important to aspire to just do better instead of getting involved in whataboutery.

24-09-2024, 10:43 AM
Alcohol a crime. :faf::faf: You live in some ****ing bubble.

24-09-2024, 10:45 AM

I didn't say alcohol was a crime. Drink it plenty myself.

I think Hibs promoting it on their shirts is questionable on a few levels. Not criminal though.

I think you've badly missed the point of this discussion.

Stairway 2 7
24-09-2024, 11:00 AM

I think Hibs promoting it on their shirts is questionable on a few levels. Not criminal though.

Your the one that brought up bevvy and then said not all crimes are equal, implying it's a crime of a lesser extent. Have you ever lost an argument or is it win after win

24-09-2024, 11:14 AM

You lost the point not to mention the plot ages ago. That’s from someone who doesn’t drink.

24-09-2024, 01:31 PM
Your the one that brought up bevvy and then said not all crimes are equal, implying it's a crime of a lesser extent. Have you ever lost an argument or is it win after win

You lost the point not to mention the plot ages ago. That’s from someone who doesn’t drink.

Sorry guys. I'll spell it out more clearly next time that I don't actually believe alcohol consumption to be illegal. Thought that would've been taken for granted.

This entire conversation has been about morality. No one has been accused of breaking the law by association with certain brands.

24-09-2024, 06:55 PM
Porteous at fault for Man City's opener.

24-09-2024, 06:57 PM

They really don’t like him. Has been and continues to be on the brunt of their fans anger.. really poor goal to give to them mind

24-09-2024, 07:45 PM
Beat me to it, had my head in my hands with that comment 🙄

24-09-2024, 07:48 PM
Looks at Man City front 3,Porteous well out of his depth.

24-09-2024, 07:58 PM
Beat me to it, had my head in my hands with that comment 🙄

Did ye aye?

24-09-2024, 08:00 PM
Did ye aye?
Yip 😂

24-09-2024, 08:01 PM

He's done fine since the opener.

24-09-2024, 08:08 PM
Good always liked Ryan:aok:

InvertedFullBak
24-09-2024, 08:42 PM

he happily left one on foden just before the break. Lucky to escape a card for that.

24-09-2024, 08:51 PM
They really don’t like him. Has been and continues to be on the brunt of their fans anger.. really poor goal to give to them mind

I found him a very frustrating player for Hibs, still do for Scotland.

Looks to have all the attributes to be a top level player but there’s just an inexplicably daft streak in him that ruins it. If he was just plain pish then it would be easier but he looks to be a great player playing short of his potential and you just can’t explain his silly stuff at times.

I still wouldn’t rule him out finding himself in the right defence or playing under the right manager and it all just suddenly clicking.

24-09-2024, 08:53 PM

Hardly fair, how many championship defenders would be the the equal of Man City strikers?

andrew70
24-09-2024, 09:07 PM

Looks to have all the attributes to be a top level player but there’s just an inexplicably daft streak in him that ruins it. If he was just plain pish then it would be easier but he looks to be a great player playing short of his potential and you just can’t explain his silly stuff at times.

I still wouldn’t rule him out finding himself in the right defence or playing under the right manager and it all just suddenly clicking.

I still hope with the Italian connection at Watford he ends up in Italy.

Would be the making of him as a real, proper defender.

Very good player though.

ChicoM1875
24-09-2024, 09:10 PM

On what levels is it questionable? You promoted it yourself in the sentence before, saying you drink plenty on a public website. Is that hypocrisy?

24-09-2024, 09:46 PM

This is it, in a nutshell. The Porteous conundrum.

25-09-2024, 04:59 AM
On what levels is it questionable? You promoted it yourself in the sentence before, saying you drink plenty on a public website. Is that hypocrisy?

Any team having an alcohol or gambling sponsor is a bit dodgy. It's an addiction millions struggle with and it's papered everywhere at any football match.

Yes, me speaking about drink on here is the same as football clubs taking millions to advertise it on their shirt. Genius. You've got me.

ChicoM1875
25-09-2024, 06:41 AM
Any team having an alcohol or gambling sponsor is a bit dodgy. It's an addiction millions struggle with and it's papered everywhere at any football match.

Yes, me speaking about drink on here is the same as football clubs taking millions to advertise it on their shirt. Genius. You've got me.

Not just alcohol and gambling are addictive. What's a good subject in your opinion to advertise? I'm pretty sure whatever you pick, someone will take offence/have a backstory that means they disagree with it. I take it food companies are out too?

I'm glad you see the hypocrisy in you promoting alcohol online. I wouldn't say I was a genius. But I appreciate the compliment. :thumbsup:

25-09-2024, 07:07 AM
Not just alcohol and gambling are addictive. What's a good subject in your opinion to advertise? I'm pretty sure whatever you pick, someone will take offence/have a backstory that means they disagree with it. I take it food companies are out too?

I'm glad you see the hypocrisy in you promoting alcohol online. I wouldn't say I was a genius. But I appreciate the compliment. :thumbsup:

Perhaps he’ll just be getting in to the spirit of things🤔

25-09-2024, 07:11 AM
Can we please keep this thread on topic? I unsurprisingly pop into it to find out the latest discussion about non-Hibs football matches? But for the last 2-3 days, it's people trading opinions about subjects nothing to do with the post topic.

25-09-2024, 07:27 AM

Talented on his day no doubt but IMO one of the most overrated players to play in a Hibs shirt. Was bizarre how many people let him off with multiple howlers in a Hibs shirt whilst his colleagues would get it tight regularly for less.

Not surprised that Watford fans aren't too happy with him.

Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 07:31 AM
Talented on his day no doubt but IMO one of the most overrated players to play in a Hibs shirt. Was bizarre how many people let him off with multiple howlers in a Hibs shirt whilst his colleagues would get it tight regularly for less.

25-09-2024, 09:14 AM

If everyone is influenced to use the product Bevvy promote (high end whisky) then it's their wallet people need to be concerned about not their health. I don't love the name of the app but it's got nothing to do with promoting excessive drinking.

25-09-2024, 10:23 AM

Of course. I'm not exactly fuming about it, but yes, it isn't great. Many, many things we could be sponsored by that aren't addictive.

If you believe I was promoting alcohol you certainly aren't a genius. But aye.

25-09-2024, 10:34 AM

On only 4 occasions since the switch to a 12 team league in 2000 have we conceded less than 45 league goals in a season, 3 of those seasons had Ryan Porteous in defence. We went from having the tighest defence outwith the old firm in back to back seasons (2020-2022) conceding just 35 and 42 goals respectively, we’ve conceded 90 goals in just a season and a half since he left.

He was flawed but we have missed him massively.

25-09-2024, 10:37 AM
On only 4 occasions since the switch to a 12 team league in 2000 have we conceded less than 45 league goals in a season, 3 of those seasons had Ryan Porteous in defence. We went from having the tighest defence outwith the old firm in back to back seasons (2020-2022) conceding just 35 and 42 goals respectively, we’ve conceded 90 goals in just a season and a half since he left.

Absolutely miles ahead of any centre half we've had at the club since McGregor in around 2016/17.

25-09-2024, 10:44 AM
Absolutely miles ahead of any centre half we've had at the club since McGregor in around 2016/17.

Efe was comfortably better than Porteous and Mcgregor imo.

Ryan was good, though, as so was our defence with him in it.

25-09-2024, 12:28 PM
Hardly fair, how many championship defenders would be the the equal of Man City strikers?
Totally agree, that was my point championship v EPL, maybe should have been a bit clearer:aok:

ChicoM1875
25-09-2024, 03:01 PM
Of course. I'm not exactly fuming about it, but yes, it isn't great. Many, many things we could be sponsored by that aren't addictive.

If you believe I was promoting alcohol you certainly aren't a genius. But aye.

Make yer mind up pal!

25-09-2024, 06:08 PM
10 man Bodo Glimpt now leading 3-1 at home to Porto

25-09-2024, 06:13 PM
10 man Bodo Glimpt now leading 3-1 at home to PortoRyan is taking Bodo Glimpt on himself?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

25-09-2024, 06:38 PM
Runar Hauges brother got 2 goals, looks useful

25-09-2024, 06:40 PM
Runar Hauges brother got 2 goals, looks useful

Played for AC Milan and won the Europa League with Eintracht Frankfurt. Pity Runar wasn't half as good

25-09-2024, 07:12 PM
The Huns have invaded Copenhagen 😳

25-09-2024, 07:16 PM

Interesting stats. Number of variables of course during Porto's time that helped determine the effectiveness of the defense. For example Marciano was in goals for all three of those seasons, Josh Doig was at left back for 2 of them, and we had Jack Ross in charge for many of those games too.

Porto never won a derby in a Hibs shirt, his last derby a rash decision cost us the first goal. And there were plenty of those rash decisions over the years, shocker v St Johnstone in the run up to the up Final giving them momentum, shocker v Huns in the cup Semi (and so many others against the Huns where his head seemed to go, 2 red cards, penalty conceded, losing his man for goals). Red Card v Killie in the cup ( got away with that).

Overall , despite the fact he could be very good for us, I stand by the view that he was and still is overrated by some.

25-09-2024, 07:27 PM
Liverpool 1 West Ham 1

25-09-2024, 07:56 PM
Liverpool 1 West Ham 1

Glad there is no VAR. Liverpool’s goal was probably offside.

25-09-2024, 07:57 PM
Just seen that disallowed Watford goal yesterday. Incredible decision. No way that gets given if Haaland does it.

25-09-2024, 08:00 PM
The Huns have invaded Copenhagen 😳

Hope they all behave themselves but get leathered by the Danish Polis anyway then....

25-09-2024, 08:06 PM
Hope they all behave themselves but get leathered by the Danish Polis anyway then....

Carlsberg evening 🤭

25-09-2024, 08:07 PM
2-1 Liverpool

25-09-2024, 08:09 PM
Old Trafford like a morgue, welcome to the modern day fan, least there's no bloody drum.

25-09-2024, 08:24 PM
Sam Lammerds equaliser, awful mistake Erikssen. 1-1

25-09-2024, 08:25 PM
Ryan is taking Bodo Glimpt on himself?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Aye but he got sent off after 10 mins.

HarpOnHibee
25-09-2024, 08:26 PM
17 games in a row that Twente have scored. Impressive.

25-09-2024, 08:27 PM
Sam Lammerds equaliser, awful mistake Erikssen. 1-1

Quite strange that since Fergie left Man U has struggled to achieve what he did, occasional glimpses but I've never seen a Man U team this poor, just a mid table English team nowadays.

25-09-2024, 08:29 PM
Quite strange that since Fergie left Man U has struggled to achieve what he did, occasional glimpses but I've never seen a Man U team this poor, just a mid table English team nowadays.

Yep. Most of their overpaid stars look soft.

25-09-2024, 08:31 PM
Quite strange that since Fergie left Man U has struggled to achieve what he did, occasional glimpses but I've never seen a Man U team this poor, just a mid table English team nowadays.Same in the 70s when they were relegated . They struggled after Busby and repeating that post Fergie. Only Steve Naismith can bring back the good times.

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk