View Full Version : Scotland v Finland (7:45pm)
07-06-2024, 08:00 AM
Last game before Germany next Friday!
Hoping for a moral boosting win, live on the BBC!
What are ticket sales like?
07-06-2024, 08:13 AM
Last game before Germany next Friday!
Hoping for a moral boosting win, live on the BBC!
What are ticket sales like?
It looks like between 47k and 50k
07-06-2024, 08:24 AM
Heading through with my daughter. Her first Scotland game.
Looking forward to it, first time I have driven to Hampden in about a hundred years so heading through early and might divert via Cathkin Park which I have always meant to do but never got round to it.
07-06-2024, 08:32 AM
Looking forward to it, first time I have driven to Hampden in about a hundred years so heading through early and might divert via Cathkin Park which I have always meant to do but never got round to it.
Brilliant mate, enjoy!
I took my eldest to her first game a couple years ago. Tempted to take her and her younger sister (6) tonight but they're not overly invested in football so feel like I'm dragging them along for my entertainment
Hopefully a win for the team and some goals for you and your daughter to celebrate together
07-06-2024, 08:33 AM
Head up to East Kilbride then take the round down the hill through Cathkin etc
Bridge hibs
07-06-2024, 09:02 AM
Looking forward to it, first time I have driven to Hampden in about a hundred years so heading through early and might divert via Cathkin Park which I have always meant to do but never got round to it.Theres a big metal fence around the Cathkin pitch now but you will still get onto the old terraces
pollution
07-06-2024, 09:25 AM
It looks like between 47k and 50k
That's some crowd.
Only 30000 saw Scotland off to the World Cup in 1978 !
07-06-2024, 10:04 AM
That's some crowd.
Yeah but there was no game. The last time I saw Finland was at Easter Road before the World Cup in 1998
Groathillgrump
07-06-2024, 10:04 AM
That's some crowd.
Aye, but on that day in 1978 they weren't playing a game.
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 03:16 PM
I have purchased some Bratwurst to get into the German Euro Mood... wondering whether to go the whole hog and do as Currywurst.... best street food ever :hyper
07-06-2024, 03:37 PM
On the Edinburgh Tartan Army ‘late’ bus at Edinburgh Park about to set off for Hampden. Hoping for a win to set us up for next Friday.
07-06-2024, 03:39 PM
I have purchased some Bratwurst to get into the German Euro Mood... wondering whether to go the whole hog and do as Currywurst.... best street food ever :hyper
Never got into the powdered curry, now a beer wi half a chicken that is real street food.
07-06-2024, 04:35 PM
That's some crowd.
Roughie said about the send off in 1978; “When we left Scotland, the scenes were unbelievable. I've never seen anything like it and I don't think I'll see anything like it again. I was playing for Partick Thistle in front of 3,000 people every week - going to a World Cup was something out of this world for me.
We left Hampden, where thousands of fans cheered us off, and travelled to Prestwick Airport. Supporters were lined up all the way on the road, on the flyovers with flags. When we got to the airport, there were thousands there too. I didn't even get a chance to say cheerio to my wife.
We were on a good run as well. In my first 16 games for Scotland, we won 14 of them. “
Fairly clear it was a much bigger deal then than today. It was total euphoria , i was only 7 at the time and was aware that it was alll anyone was talking about.
07-06-2024, 05:52 PM
Gunn
Ralston
Hendry
Hanley
Tierney
Robertson
Christie
Gilmour
McGregor
McGinn
Shankland
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 06:04 PM
Never got into the powdered curry, now a beer wi half a chicken that is real street food.
It was awesome... was going to take a pic... But scoffed it pronto and forgot. :greengrin
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 06:38 PM
I'm really hoping Square Heid has a great game and scores... without Dykes we really need to be finishing the chances we create.....
now im off to wash my mouth out with beer
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 07:03 PM
im liking Fins strip.... exactly the same with Hibs green where its blue and i'd be queuing to buy
07-06-2024, 07:05 PM
Crowd sounds like there is a couple of thousand in the ground, completely flat as a pancake
07-06-2024, 07:05 PM
Is McCann the co commentator?
He’s been watching Shankland ‘make run after run’
07-06-2024, 07:08 PM
Is McCann the co commentator?
He’s been watching Shankland ‘make run after run’
Mccann is a slaver. We need a striker, but I'm no sure shankland is "the answer".
zitelli62
07-06-2024, 07:09 PM
Commentators absolutely love shankland he's done nowt
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 07:10 PM
Crowd sounds like there is a couple of thousand in the ground, completely flat as a pancake
its really odd - would expect it to be bouncing
K-Zazu
07-06-2024, 07:10 PM
Why is the atmosphere so flat
07-06-2024, 07:12 PM
Are you watching the match? It's dull, dull, dull
07-06-2024, 07:12 PM
Maybe the Tartan Army have decamped to Murrayfield to watch Taylor Swift………🤣🤣
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 07:15 PM
Maybe the Tartan Army have decamped to Murrayfield to watch Taylor Swift………🤣🤣
its early in the game - you need to calm down
Are you watching the match? It's dull, dull, dull
That's the problem
07-06-2024, 07:18 PM
its early in the game - you need to calm down
Extremely calm here thanks very much, but the crowd reaction to the game tells it own story…
07-06-2024, 07:19 PM
Peltola of Finland is a player I recommended to hibs last season. They hadn't heard of him and didn't bother looking. He an excellent left sided player at CB and DM. He's now went to Dc United.
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 07:20 PM
That's the problem
if only the slow pace we are playing with we could - shake it of
07-06-2024, 07:22 PM
We keep playing it into blank space
Shankland should be doing better
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 07:24 PM
We keep playing it into blank space
i hope its just players not wanting injuries and its not going to be a cruel summer
You understand if they're being a bit cautious, so close to the main event.
07-06-2024, 07:32 PM
Hook Shankland and get Adams on…
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 07:32 PM
we have been a bit too Delicate in the first half while controlling the ball
Not sure I’m watching the same game as McCann
07-06-2024, 07:33 PM
Yep think we could be a little bit Swifter in the way we’re playing……
Donegal Hibby
07-06-2024, 07:33 PM
2nd half can only be better surely , would like to see Adams on for Shankland , think he'd offer Scotland more up front .
07-06-2024, 07:34 PM
Really struggle in the final third. Knock the ball about well but very ineffective.
07-06-2024, 07:35 PM
More possession but don't look anywhere near scoring. More chance in them scoring on the counter. Shankland an easy target but he needs to being doing more. Not the only one. Can appreciate no one will want to get injured and might be playing a gear or two below what's expected next week but need to give the support a little believe going in to the tournament.
07-06-2024, 07:36 PM
2nd half can only be better surely , would like to see Adams on for Shankland , think he'd offer Scotland more up front .
Bit embarrassing we are having to start a lardarse who can't run.
Hopefully Adams is 100% fit and will be starting all 3 games.
07-06-2024, 07:42 PM
Bit embarrassing we are having to start a lardarse who can't run.
Hopefully Adams is 100% fit and will be starting all 3 games.
Why would you have Adam’s in place of Hanley?…….
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 07:42 PM
this games going to feel like a Fortnight long if we don't speed it up
07-06-2024, 07:46 PM
Why would you have Adam’s in place of Hanley?…….
Hanley's just built like a tank and rumbles around. Shankland looks like he's been eating kebabs for 3 weeks.
07-06-2024, 07:48 PM
Three nil nils might be the best we can hope for at the euros.
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 07:51 PM
Three nil nils might be the best we can hope for at the euros.
with an attitude like that This is why we can't have nice things
07-06-2024, 07:52 PM
with an attitude like that This is why we can't have nice things
Three five nils with Shankland as golden Boot winner. Better? 😆
07-06-2024, 07:53 PM
Debatable.
Shankland is not exactly fast
Musselbound
07-06-2024, 07:56 PM
Better from Scotland but still no composure in front of goal. Would like to see one of the other strikers come on.
what a goal :greengrin:wink:
Shankland is not exactly fastHe would lose to Owain Tudor Jones in a foot race
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
07-06-2024, 07:57 PM
Shankland is not exactly fast
Don’t let McCann hear you, mentions him at every chance he can
Up-the-slope
I might feel like I was Dancing with my hands tied
The fact we needed Finland to score against Finland 😅
07-06-2024, 07:58 PM
Don’t let McCann hear you, mentions him at every chance he can
Crichton's the same. She has him starting ahead of Adams next week. No.
07-06-2024, 07:58 PM
Crichton's the same. She has him starting ahead of Adams next week. No.
F*** no
07-06-2024, 07:59 PM
Shankland looked disappointed that OG went in. Such a shame we don't have a decent number 9 that can also score regularly. Shankland is miles away at this level
07-06-2024, 08:00 PM
too easy 2-0 :)
Get him aff! :D
Hate to say it, but really important for us that the anti-vaxxer has his goal.
07-06-2024, 08:01 PM
Get in!
Well done shankland - important goal for him and us. Genuinely couldn't care he's a jambo. Tonight and for the next 3 weeks he's a SCOTLAND player
NC1875
07-06-2024, 08:01 PM
Couldn’t miss that heed.
07-06-2024, 08:02 PM
This means he will start next week, McCann wetting himself, watching a different game
Been excellent second half with a lot more intent. Think they had a bit of a rocket at half time as picked things up right from the off.
Hate to say it, but really important for us that the anti-vaxxer has his goal.
Green specs off and joking aside he deserves his place in the team. Do I think he's done enough to warrant a start next week. Nope. He's a different kind of player so a good option to have in in a squad devoid of much in the way of good strikers.
one day maybe...
Get in!
Well done shankland - important goal for him and us. Genuinely couldn't care he's a jambo. Tonight and for the next 3 weeks he's a SCOTLAND player
100%
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 08:03 PM
Get in!
:agree: Everything has changed with that goal
07-06-2024, 08:07 PM
What a strike tae.
O dear ‘Just for Men’ enters the park.
07-06-2024, 08:12 PM
What’s the point in bringing Gordon on if he’s not going. Better giving the minutes to someone that is surely.
07-06-2024, 08:14 PM
terrible defending, just terrible
nice header though
terrible defending, just terrible
I still think Hanley is pish.
Grant Hanley man
07-06-2024, 08:15 PM
Hanley got caught with a couple over his head in the first half too, let them bounce. It will be Porteous, Hendry and Tierney at the back next week.
07-06-2024, 08:15 PM
Gordon slow to it
07-06-2024, 08:16 PM
Grant Hanley man
He looks like he is completely off the pace, hopefully he is one of those not making the final selection
Grant Hanley man
Looked lost there
07-06-2024, 08:17 PM
What’s the point in bringing Gordon on if he’s not going. Better giving the minutes to someone that is surely.
Exactly what I said
07-06-2024, 08:17 PM
It's not a lot of time so doesn't matter too much in the grand scheme of things. Goal doesn't help but ultimately it's a show of respect and will sit well with the squad and will lift team spirit etc. Will do more good than harm.
07-06-2024, 08:19 PM
clarke punishing hanley by subbing him :greengrin
07-06-2024, 08:20 PM
I think the commentator said he's broken a record coming on (oldest player maybe?)
So Clarke wanting to respect our best GK of certainly the last 25 years
Personally I'd take him. Highly unlikely we'll need 2 never mind 3 keepers. His experience would be handy to have around the camp
07-06-2024, 08:22 PM
I think the commentator said he's broken a record coming on (oldest player maybe?)
So Clarke wanting to respect our best GK of certainly the last 25 years
Personally I'd take him. Highly unlikely we'll need 2 never mind 3 keepers. His experience would be handy to have around the camp
I’d take him as well. But if we’re not, which is apparently the case, I don’t see the point in playing him ahead of someone who is going.
07-06-2024, 08:25 PM
Classic Gordon there
07-06-2024, 08:25 PM
has craigy boy given away a penalty
07-06-2024, 08:26 PM
It's not a lot of time so doesn't matter too much in the grand scheme of things. Goal doesn't help but ultimately it's a show of respect and will sit well with the squad and will lift team spirit etc. Will do more good than harm.
Take that back. :D
What a send off 🤣
That’s no a penalty
memorable last game for Gordon :rolleyes:
tw@t :(
will we ever win a game again
apart from Gibraltar :)
07-06-2024, 08:27 PM
Useless hearts prick
I have a feeling that we are not getting out of our group
Ffs 😮🙄
That’s no a penalty
Dangerous play, theyll always give that.
Mccann talking rubbish.
07-06-2024, 08:28 PM
Two send offs f***** up, Scotlands and Gordon’s
That’s no a penalty
if you see the view from behind , he almost takes the guys head off with a double handed punch
Been poor defensively on the rare occasions Finland have went up the park. Disappointing as it was looking positive 15 minutes ago.
It isn't a penalty. He gets the ball.
Isn't dangerous play in the box an indirect free kick?
LunasBoots
07-06-2024, 08:29 PM
That’s no a penalty
Under the rules he makes high contact with the player, silly rule but is what it is
Talk about throwing away goals, both criminal defending.
But most worrying aspect of all is SJM's form. Another dreadful game tonight.
Gordon needs dropped
:)
same here, draw with Germany and then two losses is my bet
Up-the-slope
Never a Pen... even when its plooky.....
its like watching Hibs... cruising playimng sexy football.... 2 crosses into box and Everything has changed
07-06-2024, 08:30 PM
It isn't a penalty. He gets the ball.
Isn't dangerous play in the box an indirect free kick?
He punches him simultaneously. But it doesnt matter he gets the ball first or not anyway, blatantly dangerous play.
07-06-2024, 08:34 PM
Clarke oot
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 08:34 PM
He punches him simultaneously. But it doesnt matter he gets the ball first or not anyway, blatantly dangerous
play.
Nope nothing like it - clearly going for ball and getting man incidental (can't believe i'm defending the big Jumbo Cardigan wearer)
Hibees1973
07-06-2024, 08:35 PM
McTominay & Adams will improve us.
But not that much.
Fear three losses at the Euros.
Have to say Conway looks the real deal…
kin boooooooooooo
LunasBoots
07-06-2024, 08:36 PM
Hopefully Jack pulling a tractor ain't going
He does got something about him has to go to Germany
07-06-2024, 08:37 PM
Nope nothing like it - clearly going for ball and getting man incidental (can't believe i'm defending the big Jumbo Cardigan wearer)
Makes no odds whether he’s going for the ball or not, as far as i understand them rules.
07-06-2024, 08:37 PM
Know he didn’t score but he’s got a bit about him. Thought he did well.
LunasBoots
07-06-2024, 08:38 PM
McCann going om about a good time to play Germany is just laughable
07-06-2024, 08:38 PM
1 win in 9 is hardly ideal going into a major tournament.
Hopefully the players can raise the urgency levels next week. Germany are hardly flying but on their own turf at a major tournament with some quality players is going to be a tough ask.
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 08:39 PM
England still 0-1 down :cool2:
that will take the headlines
07-06-2024, 08:39 PM
If we have a tournament as underwhelming as the last one I think McInnes may be regretting being so quick to sign a deal at Killie.
Feels very much like it’s fizzling out.
07-06-2024, 08:41 PM
I don't think we needed any evidence to think that to be fair - it's not an easy group at all and the bookies have us as least likely to qualify.
Hibees1973
07-06-2024, 08:42 PM
Hopefully the players can raise the urgency levels next week. Germany are hardly flying but on their own turf at a major tournament with some quality players is going to be a tough ask.
Players such as Musiala & Sane could rip us a new one.
07-06-2024, 08:42 PM
Who cares next week is all thats matters
Musselbound
07-06-2024, 08:43 PM
Disappointing last quarter as we were playing well up till then. Some good and a few poor individual performances. Thought Ralston was good and doesn't look like a downgrade on Paterson.
07-06-2024, 08:44 PM
It’s too easy to say that we lost the game when Gordon came on, but who knows? It’s better than actually losing to a ‘—-land’ team. We’ll done Iceland.:greengrin
Up-the-slope
07-06-2024, 08:45 PM
Who cares next week is all thats matters
:agree: Decent in places but irrelevant next week hopefully we are The lucky one....
anyway whats the final result?
07-06-2024, 08:47 PM
I don’t think it’s about having more urgency next week. Game will be the opposite of today, we’ll have little of the ball. Biggest concern tonight, IMO, was that Finland rarely went up the park but whenever they did we gave them a chance.
Mark05
07-06-2024, 08:47 PM
Disappointing last quarter as we were playing well up till then. Some good and a few poor individual performances. Thought Ralston was good and doesn't look like a downgrade on Paterson.Yes that's what I was thinking, pleased with Ralston tonight thought he played well.He would be my pick against Germany for right back
07-06-2024, 08:48 PM
Do we start Shankland next week or Adams?
England :faf:
07-06-2024, 08:49 PM
Ralston has nailed down the RWB spot. Surely Porteous in for Hanley. Adams up front obviously. McTominay's fitness is the only issue. Apart from the fact that we're not very good...
07-06-2024, 08:50 PM
England result shows that games at this stage mean nothing, that's according to ch4 pundits as they are still on course to win it
LunasBoots
07-06-2024, 08:53 PM
Adams for the physical battle against Rudiger.
07-06-2024, 08:54 PM
Clarke bringing on a goalie based on sentiment who ain’t going over two goalies who might need to play was so cute
Glad it all worked out
Absolute joker!
07-06-2024, 08:55 PM
McCann going om about a good time to play Germany is just laughable
He is an absolute prik
babahibs
07-06-2024, 09:02 PM
Surely next week;
Porteous before Hanley,
Adams before Shankland.
Paul1642
07-06-2024, 09:03 PM
Surely next week;
Porteous before Hanley,
Adams before Shankland.
McTominay before Gilmore
Musselbound
07-06-2024, 09:05 PM
Yes that's what I was thinking, pleased with Ralston tonight thought he played well.He would be my pick against Germany for right back
Agree. Has taken his chance and shone more than McCrorie did the other day.
McInnes could be the new Scotland manager sooner than he thinks..
babahibs
McTominay before Gilmore
I've got a horrible feeling McTominays not fit
Musselbound
07-06-2024, 09:12 PM
It is a bit worrying he has not taken part in these two games. Hopefully he'll be fit for next week. I thought Gilmour was good tonight incidentally.
07-06-2024, 09:12 PM
Was on bench and was carrying injury after man u cup win no point in risking him at this stage
babahibs
07-06-2024, 09:16 PM
Was on bench and was carrying injury after man u cup win no point in risking him at this stage
Fingers crossed, we need him
babahibs
07-06-2024, 09:18 PM
Definitely
07-06-2024, 09:26 PM
Clarke bringing on a goalie based on sentiment who ain’t going over two goalies who might need to play was so cute
Glad it all worked out
Absolute joker!
Yes didn’t get that. Bring him on 5 to go to get a clap not let him play minutes the reserve goalie needs. In saying that not a pen for me.
07-06-2024, 09:27 PM
Better player and used to that position. Not great going forward however has a bit of heart about him
Donegal Hibby
07-06-2024, 09:42 PM
Only a friendly game . On a positive note for Scotland is everyone came through the game ok and I thought the young lad Conway was lively and unfortunate not to score , looks a good player imo .
07-06-2024, 10:43 PM
Shankland will get goals as a poacher but he doesn’t get involved enough for me. I don’t think you can have the luxury of just hanging around the penalty box waiting on a chance in top International football. However, if he gets a chance he will more often than not put it away. I’d maybe start Shankland and replace with Adams???
08-06-2024, 06:53 AM
I thought we played pretty well last night in spells.
Ralston played well and has probably locked in that spot on the right side. I thought Gilmour was very good and at the heart of everything good we did, he is like a Duracell bunny and never stops moving or wanting the ball. Shankland has that habit of popping up with a goal but he is painfully slow, we can't have him leading the line when we are up against it. I thought McGinn was off it for long spells but we know what he can do so not a great concern.
We notably weakened when we started to make a lot of changes but that is to be expected. There was a spell at the start of the 2nd half when it looked like we could score at will but we took our foot off the gas and were punished.
Not brilliant but a good exercise in terms of fitness and we can put unscathed. You only have to look at some of the friendly results this week to see that a fair few teams are just going through the motions and getting everyone on the plane in one piece is the aim of the game.
Fuzzywuzzy
08-06-2024, 07:17 AM
I thought shankland looked overweight last night. Not sure in the point in putting Gordon on and certainly changed things.
Not a great game to watch for the fans. Laddie liked his kebab pie though!
08-06-2024, 07:51 AM
Reminded me of a Hibs game, going 2 up then throwing it away.
08-06-2024, 07:53 AM
We were ahead and ended up drawing 2-2.
Sounds awfully familiar.
08-06-2024, 09:14 AM
I thought shankland looked overweight last night. Not sure in the point in putting Gordon on and certainly changed things.
Not a great game to watch for the fans. Laddie liked his kebab pie though!
It was for his 75th cap and a goodbye to the fans. Just a training game really.
As for Shankland he’s just built like that, if he was overweight he wouldn’t be near the squad with all the sports science that goes on nowadays.