View Full Version : The Moron Mile
What do you reckon?
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-explain-their-unique-heritage-plans-and-invite-fans-to-a-consultation-meeting-4644621
linlithgowhibbie
28-05-2024, 08:20 PM
What do you reckon?
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-explain-their-unique-heritage-plans-and-invite-fans-to-a-consultation-meeting-4644621
Someone else is paying for it but Dr Budge claiming the credit!
28-05-2024, 08:29 PM
Did I read that right ?
£207k for the project from National Lottery ?!
28-05-2024, 08:58 PM
Nobody will make it past Dickens Bar.
28-05-2024, 09:20 PM
I wonder if they will have little brass plaques on all business premises they stiffed during their administration misunderstanding.
28-05-2024, 09:22 PM
Will there be a chance to visit all their bumped creditors?
Wee tour of the Council offices before dropping in on the MacRaes Battalion trust, then cruising round to visit the Lady Haig Poppy fund, quick whistle stop at the Big Hearts Community Trust before heading off to the British Virgin Islands on a jolly to see £1.2m creditor Milson Capital Corp?
Shameless then, shameless now. Somebody else's money again?
28-05-2024, 10:48 PM
Did I read that right ?
Even if it was Hibs I'd think that's a terrible use of lottery money.
Rumble de Thump
29-05-2024, 07:39 AM
Self indulgent, pompous, a massive waste of someone else's money that should be going to a good cause. It's very Hearts.
Stairway 2 7
29-05-2024, 07:47 AM
They pay thousands on players and get millions of Bailey Gifford dirty money each year but want to take 200k charity money. I'm sure some residents won't be happy especially "feniens" who's blood the jambos want to stand in
Gloucester Hibs
29-05-2024, 08:49 AM
Still thieving the charity money even today it seems, Budge has no shame.
SickBoy32
29-05-2024, 08:55 AM
This the same mob who bumped the Poppy charity and Ambulance bills ?
Shameless using charitable money for something like this 👎
fiolex1
29-05-2024, 09:19 AM
The Jobby mile will be a flop!
29-05-2024, 10:55 AM
This the same mob who bumped the Poppy charity and Ambulance bills ?
Shameless using charitable money for something like this [emoji107]The Frank Gallagher's of Scottish football
29-05-2024, 11:12 AM
They pay thousands on players and get millions of Bailey Gifford dirty money each year but want to take 200k charity money. I'm sure some residents won't be happy especially "feniens" who's blood the jambos want to stand in
Interestingly enough I was listening to The Blindboy Boatclub podcast this morning and he made mention of a literary event he was appearing at that had been threatened with cancellation after artists opposed the sponsorship of the event by Bailey Gifford due to their links with Israeli Defence industries.
Bailey Gifford then withdrew in the end and the event did take place.
29-05-2024, 11:58 AM
Interestingly enough I was listening to The Blindboy Boatclub podcast this morning and he made mention of a literary event he was appearing at that had been threatened with cancellation after artists opposed the sponsorship of the event by Bailey Gifford due to their links with Israeli Defence industries.
Bailey Gifford then withdrew in the end and the event did take place.
Not sure where the line is here.
Hearts get personal donations from a former partner in Baillie Gifford.
Our vice-chair is a current partner in BG, and chair of BG Overseas.
Another of our Board is a former partner in BG.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/club/directors/
mcohibs
29-05-2024, 12:10 PM
Actually fell asleep reading that. Is there a more stuffy, colourless, culturally insignificant, boring club to ever exist?
Stairway 2 7
29-05-2024, 12:15 PM
Not sure where the line is here.
Hearts get personal donations from a former partner in Baillie Gifford.
Our vice-chair is a current partner in BG, and chair of BG Overseas.
Another of our Board is a former partner in BG.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/club/directors/
When the money funding you comes from profits from oil and gas profits and Israeli arms manufacturers. The books festival last year was getting stick because BG is so invested in oil companies this year its due to arms. Both wouldn't be getting boycotted if a partner from BG was on the board of the festival, its usually the funding that is the line
29-05-2024, 12:25 PM
When the money funding you comes from profits from oil and gas profits and Israeli arms manufacturers. The books festival last year was getting stick because BG is so invested in oil companies this year its due to arms. Both wouldn't be getting boycotted if a partner from BG was on the board of the festival, its usually the funding that is the line
Yet Hearts' funding is a personal donation.
Stairway 2 7
29-05-2024, 12:40 PM
Yet Hearts' funding is a personal donation.
Aye he made it from betting on the horses not his Bailey Gifford portfolio
29-05-2024, 12:45 PM
Aye he made it from betting on the horses not his Bailey Gifford portfolio
To which the devil's advocate response is:-
What was his portfolio? (there's a poster on here who will be along in a bit to answer that :greengrin)
Where have our 2 Baillie Gifford-related board members made their money, so that they can now give us the benefit of their time and expertise for nothing?
We also have an ex-NatWest director on our board. How are their credentials?
I'm not necessarily disagreeing with you. But these questions are rarely simple.
Actually fell asleep reading that. Is there a more stuffy, colourless, culturally insignificant, boring club to ever exist?Nope
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Stairway 2 7
29-05-2024, 02:24 PM
To which the devil's advocate response is:-
What was his portfolio? (there's a poster on here who will be along in a bit to answer that :greengrin)
Where have our 2 Baillie Gifford-related board members made their money, so that they can now give us the benefit of their time and expertise for nothing?
We also have an ex-NatWest director on our board. How are their credentials?
I'm not necessarily disagreeing with you. But these questions are rarely simple.
As I've said most people draw the line at direct funding so time and expertise isn't going to get a book festival boycotted. Bailey Gifford and Scottish mortgage trust were directly implicated in the morning star article exposing the links to Israel, hundreds of millions in investmens effected. They should get out of Israel just as they have removed themselves from Russia
29-05-2024, 02:25 PM
Are they going to put little stars in the pavement like Hollywood boulevard?
They could list all their creditors.
Looking at it from a different perspective (and avoiding the strong temptation to mock them) there is a point here about promoting Edinburgh’s football teams as part of Scottish heritage.
Most people will really only know about the OF so telling the history of Hibs and Hearts (and St Bernard’s) may be of interest. Our connection to Ireland might attract Irish and US tourists. Our culture trail would be centred around Cowgate and Leith. James Connolly connection for one.
Feels like there should be a joined up approach here to take some advantage of the huge heft of Edinburgh in world culture and do both clubs and the city a favour.
Our part would, of course, be much better. Kind of silly them doing this in isolation. Edinburgh needs to work in a coordinated way to counterbalance the old firm’s prominence
Hibiza
29-05-2024, 03:38 PM
Will there be a chance to visit all their bumped creditors?
Wee tour of the Council offices before dropping in on the MacRaes Battalion trust, then cruising round to visit the Lady Haig Poppy fund, quick whistle stop at the Big Hearts Community Trust before heading off to the British Virgin Islands on a jolly to see £1.2m creditor Milson Capital Corp?
Shameless then, shameless now. Somebody else's money again?
10/10.
Looking at it from a different perspective (and avoiding the strong temptation to mock them) there is a point here about promoting Edinburgh’s football teams as part of Scottish heritage.
Most people will really only know about the OF so telling the history of Hibs and Hearts (and St Bernard’s) may be of interest. Our connection to Ireland might attract Irish and US tourists. Our culture trail would be centred around Cowgate and Leith. James Connolly connection for one.
Feels like there should be a joined up approach here to take some advantage of the huge heft of Edinburgh in world culture and do both clubs and the city a favour.
Our part would, of course, be much better. Kind of silly them doing this in isolation. Edinburgh needs to work in a coordinated way to counterbalance the old firm’s prominenceThat's one way of looking at it. I think it's a flaccid attempt at a breadcrumb trail to sucker rube tourists into their weirdo hotel. Opinions, eh.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
cubehindthegoal
29-05-2024, 03:41 PM
Our part would, of course, be much better. Kind of silly them doing this in isolation. Edinburgh needs to work in a coordinated way to counterbalance the old firm’s prominence
Too much ego in gorgie one(s) calling the shots for that, I’d say. If they had made a deal of paying back all the creditors with some of the money their special investor props them up with, then I’d retract that … but no, self promotion is more important. Bury the past.
29-05-2024, 03:42 PM
Can't help but agree.
It's not about scoring points..... the fans can do that fine between themselves.... but it is about recognising the cultural impact on the city that football has. There is definitely a niche there that is currently being missed.
29-05-2024, 04:04 PM
Can't help but agree.
It's not about scoring points..... the fans can do that fine between themselves.... but it is about recognising the cultural impact on the city that football has. There is definitely a niche there that is currently being missed.Okay, for the sake of debate I'll bite[emoji6]
Where were they when it came to promoting the culture and good name of Edinburgh during the Romanov years and shortly after?
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240529/0df93e4414e47471795297f36267f24b.gif
29-05-2024, 04:24 PM
I was thinking the same to be honest, fair play to them for thinking a bit creatively and trying to add a bit of substance. Imagine from a hibs perspective visiting landmarks and areas key to our clubs past with a plaque dedicated to that, maybe even a QR code to scan to watch a video or read more about it.
AngloHibs
29-05-2024, 08:01 PM
To be honest, as an outsider, I'd love Hibs to be involved in something like this.
TrinityHFC
29-05-2024, 08:38 PM
To be honest, as an outsider, I'd love Hibs to be involved in something like this.
I can see that with Hibs. Hearts have all the cultural significance of a 1970s bowling club.
29-05-2024, 09:34 PM
Are they going to put little stars in the pavement like Hollywood boulevard?
They could list all their creditors.
wee bronze turds
cubehindthegoal
29-05-2024, 09:41 PM
Can't help but agree.
It's not about scoring points..... the fans can do that fine between themselves.... but it is about recognising the cultural impact on the city that football has. There is definitely a niche there that is currently being missed.
I can see that this is SO not Hearts ensuring that niche isn’t missed Crops, but then you see things differently perhaps.
cubehindthegoal
29-05-2024, 09:48 PM
Okay, for the sake of debate I'll bite[emoji6]
Where were they when it came to promoting the culture and good name of Edinburgh during the Romanov years and shortly after?
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240529/0df93e4414e47471795297f36267f24b.gif
Ssshhh .. Hearts fans, that I know anyway, know how they have no answer for how they celebrated theft … as it happened … and many of us watched their club do it .. as did many hearts fans who had a brain and mind and used it, at the time .. these few as I remember that I knew, found it quite hard .. but then also rejoiced too in their cup win … as you do .. I mean … lol … was quite sad to see.
Our cup win was the opposite … 😊😊😊😊😊😊
30-05-2024, 07:14 AM
What do you reckon?
Just another load of blether from the most boring club in Scotland.
They will spend a few quid tarting up the war memorial, and putting up some plaques.
Nobody but the idiots who drag their wives to their award winning restaurant* will care.
*only open Thur to Sat
30-05-2024, 09:49 AM
Still into robbing money from charities then.
30-05-2024, 10:10 AM
I wonder if they will have little brass plaques on all business premises they stiffed during their administration misunderstanding.
surely not true? i remember several of the spam farts supporters telling me "they were only due money to themselves/Ukios bank" :greengrin
I was thinking the same to be honest, fair play to them for thinking a bit creatively and trying to add a bit of substance. Imagine from a hibs perspective visiting landmarks and areas key to our clubs past with a plaque dedicated to that, maybe even a QR code to scan to watch a video or read more about it.
Quite a low cost way to start. Cowgate, St Patricks, The Meadows, Picardy Place (if we are claiming Arthur Conan Doyle)…..
A mile of all the local businesses they shafted.
I'm Spartacus
30-05-2024, 12:23 PM
All good until someone wades in with that language, it's not even how you spell it. Just proves all clubs have morons who can't detatch themselves from bigoted language.
30-05-2024, 02:08 PM
Did I read that right ?
Absolute joke
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2024, 03:02 PM
All good until someone wades in with that language, it's not even how you spell it. Just proves all clubs have morons who can't detatch themselves from bigoted language.
Think it's went over your head, hope you're not calling me a moron or youd better be spartacus. Hearts fans are singing Billy boys more and more with the sectarian language included, they don't even pretend any more with the hibby blood. I'm saying their are catholics living in Gorgie that the jambos sing vile songs about, that will have to look at their maroon mile.
Stairway 2 7
30-05-2024, 03:06 PM
Absolute joke
Not as if real charities aren't struggling right now and closing down in their hundreds. Think how much 220k could do to a foodbank rather than a plaque showing where combat 18 used to sell their magazines to the jambo hoards
Bridge hibs
30-05-2024, 07:54 PM
A mile of all the local businesses they shafted.
I heard they are getting the hearts legend Levein to open it and its getting renamed Skid Row
30-05-2024, 08:40 PM
Walked that route after the 7 nil game to get a bus at Haymarket,that day it was the Green Mile.
Haymarket Bar to Tynecastle Park walking route is not a full mile but we won't mention that.
30-05-2024, 10:42 PM
I heard they are getting the hearts legend Levein to open it and its getting renamed Skid Row
Levein left a maroonish trail a mile long from the Dens Park bogs in ‘86, but not one that merits many commemorative plaques along the route.
30-05-2024, 11:57 PM
I'll say one thing for the Yambos. When they spout their pompous pish ye deh half learn good.
Vomitoriums
Undercrofts
Sesquicentennial